Boss RC-505

227 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.7 /5
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
THE Loop Daddy!
Hrks, 25.04.2020
If you want a high quality looper that can double as an Audio Interface - look no further!


PRO'S:

- Great physical interface, great ergonomic feel and visual impact
- Very easy to use, record and play with
- natural WORKFLOW - creators and composers know how important it is.
- 2 FX sections (About 40 various effects for voice and INSTRUMENTS) - INPUT and TRACK - both "global" and "per track" versions
- Many other global / per track customizable FEATURES
- AUDIO quality - Initially was worried about 16 bit/44 khz -wanted something around 24/96 - but no worries! - the recorded sound is strong and punchy, there's plenty of output gain and headroom to work with on the tracks and on the final mix!
- Various INPUTS

CON'S:

- Menu diving - but this is to be expected on a small screen. This is just for visibility mind you. The controls and response are very good, and the whole experience keeps being less annoying over time.
- Foot control - "Could" be a problem. Even with a FS-6 footswitch i still don't feel too comfortable to use it while looping. The firmware confuses pedal 1 for pedal 2 and vice versa so you have to sort that out in the menu but it's not a that big deal. Really hope they update this and also throw in an "arm dedicatet track" selector for footswitch operation.
- The enclosure and sliders - This isn't your everyday's plastic. It's HARDER than most plastic materials out there and light at the same time, BUT I'm not sure if a fall from the desk could damage it. Better take care of it.

Well, that's really all folks!

I use my 505 to layer ambient tracks into song ideas (1- drum machine, 2 - synth bass, or guitar to bass fx 3 - pads, guitar fills 4 -vocals, 5 - more vocals, lead piano, chorus etc. )

SO - If you want to step up your loop game - don't look any further. At this price point there hardly anything better out there. At least I think - I've tried almost all of them! Cheers and have fun!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Really nice product!!
zokiDkizo, 31.01.2020
I cannot say anything negative for this nice looper. I am using it with my Korg Krome and MicroKorg keyboards and hand-touch loop station is just perfect for me because I can have all off this at one table together and also for playing outside, live private party, on stands. Finnaly I can record faster my ideas than on mobile phone recorder "track by track". When the idea hits you, it's going away fast so this looper make you faster. That was the 1st reason why I have bought it. The rest is just plus, plus and plus. Thank you very much people from Thomann, will keep ordering from you.
Stay cool and have fun!!
Music is the way of living..
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Love it!
KOPRIVA, 29.03.2021
Great product. I recomend it. Very intuitive. Read the manual and it's easy to use :) There are lots of tutorials on the internet if you need them. It's easy to connect with other devices. If you are a live looping artist like me Boss RC-505 is a must have.
The only border is your own imagination.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
William BEST onemanradio, 22.02.2021
77 / 5000
an excellent miracle machine and music laboratory supporting musical creativity
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Awesome Loopstation
Marwayn, 15.02.2021
I've been using this pedal for a few years now. From room jams, to studios, to solo concerts, everything !
This pedal is top quality work. I used to own the Boss RC-300 Loop Station, but I sold it because it was too big and heavy, not practical for moving around. So i use the RC 505 on the floor like the RC 300, i just don't wear my shoes when i do so because it will break the knobs.
The precision, Midi in/out, integrated drum loops, audio effects as well as mix effects, usb export to laptop option, this looper has it all.
If you are looking for a loopstation, search no more !
And thanks Thomann for the top service too !
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
A dream come true!
V!VE, 26.11.2019
I love this SO much, it has taken my live gigs to a whole new level! It's so much fun and it has so many capabilities, a bit too many if you ask me! But then again, I haven't been active enough with studying the manual... It's harder to use if you are also using an instrument since it's hand operated, there are extra foot switches you can buy, but overall I am very happy with this! I call her "Flo" by the way ;)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Nicesest loopstation there is.
Infiniphil, 03.09.2020
I've been using this for the past few months and it is incredible.
I use mostly for live and to record instruments and I love how it works.
You can basically use only this and a mic and instruments or any hardware directly. I also love the effects on it.
It's quite expensive but you get what you pay for.
It's made out of plastic so it looks kind of cheap but it is solid.
The knobs and button work just fine and the user's guide is detailed and can help a lot when getting started with this machine.
I'll continue to use it and jam with my friends.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Easy looping
Martin2601, 13.05.2015
I bought this after seeing some videos online of DubFX performing some street live looping (he is amazing if you haven't heard of him), and also Nastya Maslova and Roz Firth.

I'm always looking to create music easier and quickly and this seemed to fit the bill nicely. Very simple controls, well laid out, the only extra thing I learn't from the manual is regarding the automatic power off feature that wasn't apparent without going through extra menu settings.

Before I even looked at the manual within 5 minutes after getting it out of the box I had managed to get all 5 tracks running with different effects with just a mic running into it. I'm looking to add a small mixer to select different instruments/keyboards/samples to integrate that as a different and quick way to come up with new songs and ideas.

The only complaint is that it misses the option to have individual foot switch controls to operate the separate record/loop buttons (via 5 x foot switches).

If you are primarily a guitarist you need to look at the foot pedal loopers but otherwise this is great.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
My favourite till this day
SushiSashi, 08.12.2018
I used Digitech's Jamman, Boss RC-50 for more then 15 years, but this one is really step forward with all effects, panning, 5 channels and all extra settings you can do. I really love free timing as you can achieve more unpredictable structures in compositions. Really great "toy" for musicians, for doing nice sketches, even some basics tracks for later studio work and mostly for live performances. I'm manly vocalist, but I play many instruments, so making recordings even with guitar in your hand it's being manageable.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
It's an loop station.
09.04.2017
I use it as beat-boxer it does what it says makes your beat looping over and over. Has effects list from witch only some 6 are useful rest effects are nearly pointless. Works as a charm for half year or so no problems or issues at all atm.

Only thing I dislike is its full plastic and the plastic looks so cheap that it really looks like an toy rather than instrument. And mic input connection have started to feel kind of lose and it moves around a tiny bit when u plug in or out mic cable, so that might become an issue in future.

Overall great device gives lots of fun with it, but if buying one keep in mind that u will have to handle it as unboiled egg especially with connections.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Amazing product
Supernoval, 04.10.2017
I use it for my voice (singing and beatbox). Surprisingly light weight, no to big, but amazing power, some will say that it's sound bad and it's difficult to use but just watch "9 step by Thorsen on youtube" and "5 tricks by tioneb", for a good setup and a good rendering with your rc-505. 480 euros is not cheap, but i promess you it's worth the shot! If i had to find a bad point on it it would be the L/mono output that doesn't work on my mono speakers, but it's working on the phones output anyway. Amazing product you can't get bored with it, infinite possibility. Long life to beatbox!!!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Friendly looper
aloevera, 05.09.2020
As a flutist this is the first gear that I started to have fun. The work flow is just very easy to get used to it. Fun and well thought.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
The Boss
mariri, 29.04.2020
This loopstation is the dream of any solo performer. Wether it's vocals, bass, guitar you can record and play anything on it. and you can adjust the sounds live with the fx and with the tempo adjustements. a whole other world of possibilities
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Going loopy!
HappyTree, 22.10.2020
This is a great loop station. Easy to use and encourages a quick work flow. Sound has excellent fidelity. The buttons have a positive, solid action. Faders are a little fragile in comparison; they could do with being stiffer. But this machine does what it says on the tin very nicely indeed, thank-you.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
The king of the loopers.
Gerardo5491, 31.08.2018
If you are a one-man band, this is the looper you really want to have.
This powerful looper being amazing because of the looping memory plus many other extra features, it even offers some rhythm patterns (not as cool as a drum machine itself but still better than any other looper), chorus effects, and many other things.
Its a great tool for any musician does not matter which instrument you play, if you are a drummer you can loop a latin percussions pattern and then play over it, if you are guitarrist or bass player is just like multiplying or cloning yourself to expand your musicality. This is the kind of powerful looper that can prevent you the need of inviting extra people to the rehearsal, you can be a whole band yourself.
Quality? well, it is Boss, the high quality we all know already, it looks super cool and modern, and despite being advertised for beatboxers, I can strongly recommend it for any musician.
P.S. If ordering from outside Europe, UPS is the best choice.
Thanks, Thomman team for always answering every question, dispatching super fast, amazing customer service. It is Thomman customer service why I would always choose Thomman from other music stores.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Amazing piece of gear!!
22.09.2016
I'm completely in love with my new RC-505. I'm a professional musician (singer and accordionist) but I never used technology to create/perform music before. I have a classical background, so I was a bit nervous to start with a loop station and afraid that I wouldn't "get it" and get discouraged or overwhelmed really quickly. BUT DEFINITELY NOT!! This is the best investment I made in a very long time.

I only have pros to say: The possibilities are endless and the way it's made is very intuitive and straight forward. It feels like another instrument. No heavy brain fucks wondering how to do this or that, it's all pretty clear and simple. The built-in effects are great and a lot of fun and it's great to have track effects as well as input effects. Track effects gives the freedom to manipulate each track post recording. The general Reverb and compressor is also a great feature.

There isn't much to say, everything is amazing about it and since I got it I barely left my room. I can't wait to take it on it's first gig. Also, Thomman's service was impeccable. Thank you Thomann!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
My very own Boss RC-505
SunRize, 30.04.2018
I ordered from this site and the service was very good. Delivery was very quick even though i live in asian part of Russia. The only problem was that i couldn't receive it straight away because of some issues with international deliveries in my country. Nonetheless, now i have the product and i can say that im not dissappointed, it was worth the price and everything.

Pros: Sound is very good, its very easy to move all of the sliders and press the buttons, its very convinient. Build quality itself is good, but i feel like you have to handle it very carefully, or else it will break, so you shouldn't do any harsh actions towards this equipment. But anyway, this is the best loopstation that the market has to offer right now. You have lots of features here to play around with, such as all of the different effects, playing your loops, one shot mode, reverse, input fx and track fx.
Cons: The only downside is that you have to get used to all of this, and i felt like there is still limitations, even though its a lot to handle when you use this.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Amazing and Creative Machine
Didgeridoo Jedi, 28.08.2020
Since I got this machine I am constantly inspired to create.
The possibilities are virtually unlimited (the only limitation here is your imagination)
It's easy to use once you get the idea.
The only down is the built quality (especially if you compare it to RC 300)
But overall its amazing piece, highly recommended!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Great unit.
03.04.2016
This is a cool beatbox tabletop effects unit. It's bright, clever colour coded system works well. The only wish I have with it is that there were more tracks and that there could be global effects set over the entire unit. But yeah, it's a great piece of kit. Hours of fun, and an essential tool if you're looking to step up from the Boss loop station that so many beatboxers use.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
best looper
emreyazgin, 07.09.2020
This is easily the best looper for hand use. Features, ease of use, sound quality and price are all very good. I can't complain. One con might be the plasticy feel of the whole thing. But at this price I think its quite good.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
By far the best looper on the market
CharisV, 09.12.2019
Amazing features, fully customizable for everyone needs, 5 channels to be able to simulate a whole band, great effects on the input and output but most most importantly great sound. You don't understand any difference between the live playing and the recorded playing. Very compact and lightweight to carry - I use it for guitar looping mostly. The build quality is not the most durable, and it needs sensitive handling , but it makes it lightweight as well.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Great fun
Muminek, 15.08.2017
This looping station is easy enough to use and yet has so many awesome options to play around with. The track effects can be assigned to different tracks at the same time and create unique combinations of sounds!! Enjoying it a loyt!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
The best looper I've tried so far
02.08.2016
I use RC-505 as a central instrument for my live performances. I combine acustic instruments with synths and sequencers which are midi-synced by the RC-505.

The RC-505 offers very versatile pre-progamming options for each preset so that each song can have it's own kind of track FX settings (e.g. delay time and feedback or whatever parameter can be pre-programmed), different ways in which the looper tracks are synced and also you can specify the loopswitch assigments. The included effects are surprisingly usable. I'm very satisfied with this looper. Only downside for me is the appearance which isn't quite to my taste.

Out of the many loopers I've tried the RC-505 has the best working midi clock which can function great both as master or slave. Cool thing is that it can calculate the bpm after the first loop, so no need for a beat or click before starting to play - I can just record an acoustic loop and then when I feel like it i can start my drum machine which is already running in sync with the loop.

The most versatile looper on the market, I think.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Great
KBA , 24.10.2019
Really useful for beatboxers like myself, there is nothing else like this on the market and does it's job perfectly..
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
I love it
85dB, 17.12.2019
A great little toy that make's a huge boOM
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Boss RC-505

$449
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-33
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Phone: +49-9546-9223-441
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
9
(9)
Recently Viewed
Audient iD4 MKII

USB-C Audio Interface 24 bit / 44.1 - 96 kHz, ADC dynamic range: 121 dB, DAC dynamic range: 126 dB, @Class A Audient console microphone preamplifier, Mic Gain 58 dB,

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
iZotope Spire Studio 2nd Generation

iZotope Spire Studio 2nd Generation; mobile recording studio with lithium-ion battery (up to 4 hours runtime); 2 tracks can be recorded simultaneously; up to 8 tracks per project can be played back; recording format: 24-bit / 48 kHz; up to…

Recently Viewed
Electro Harmonix Ripped Speaker Fuzz

Electro Harmonix Ripped Speaker Fuzz; Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar & Bass; low Fuzz settings emulate Vintage Lo-Fi Distortion Sounds created by a Razor Blade applied to a Speaker Cone, a loose Tube or a faulty channel on a Recording…

Recently Viewed
Otamatone Neo White

Otamatone Neo, Electronic sound toy / synthesizer, standard size, selection of various sounds via new studio smart phone app, cross link of smart phone and Otamatone via cable, power plug for external power supply, stereo headphone jack, volume adjustable, playing…

Recently Viewed
Meinl TMDDGS Didgeridoo Stand

Meinl Didgeridoo Stand, TMDDGS, material: aluminum, two leg version, soft padding with protective rubber straps, hight, angle and depth adjustable

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Hercules DJ Control Inpulse 500 Gold LE

Hercules DJ Control Inpulse 500 Gold LE; Limited edition with golden highlights; limited to 1000 pieces worldwide; number engraved on console; All-in-one-DJ-Controller; controls per desk: 1x filter-control, 3 x equalizer-control, 1 x Gain control, 1 x volume control, 1 x…

Recently Viewed
Blackmagic Design Pocket Cinema Camera Pro EVF

Blackmagic Design Pocket Cinema Camera Pro EVF; Viewfinder fits Pocket Cinema Camera 6K Pro; Viewfinder with internal proximity sensor, 4-piece glass diopter, built-in status info display and digital test chart; Video and power connections: via Pocket Cinema Camera 6K Pro…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
K&M 107 Music Stand Black Set

K&M 107 Music Stand Black Set, K&M Music Stand 10700-000-55 black incl. K&M 10711 Carrying bag, Total height max.ca.1.680mm, Made of steel, Music desk dimensions 485 x 240 x 42 mm, Desk angle fully adjustable, Music desk traditionally foldable, 3-piece…

Recently Viewed
TAD 6L6GCM-STR Red Matched Pair

TAD 6L6GCM-STR Redbase Matched Pair; RT102; premium 6L6 power amp tubes, 2 pieces; matched by TAD in germany; Silky highs, defined, rich bass and plenty of headroom; combines latest manufacturing techniques with traditional design

Recently Viewed
Zoom PodTrak P4

Podcasting Recorder Four microphone inputs (XLR, P48V phantom power switchable), Four headphone outputs with individual volume controls (3.5mm stereo jack), Gain control and mute button per input, Mix minus function for automatic feedback suppression for incoming calls, Connection of…

Recently Viewed
Otamatone Neo Black

Otamatone Neo, Electronic sound toy / synthesizer, standard size, selection of various sounds via new studio smart phone app, cross link of smart phone and Otamatone via cable, power plug for external power supply, stereo headphone jack, volume adjustable, playing…

Recently Viewed
Aputure Accent B7c

Aputure Accent B7c; smart 7W RGBWW LED bulb; uses the same colour mixing technology as the Nova P300c, covering the same colour temperature spectrum from 2000 to 10000 Kelvin; built-in Li-Po battery with a runtime of up to 70 minutes…

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.