Focusrite Scarlett 4i4 3rd Gen

222 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.6 /5
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Perfect for a beginner
Calin-Mihnea, 25.09.2020
It was my first audio interface and I must say that for a beginner I could have not chosen a better one. Right off the bat the build quality is solid, full aluminium, hard plastic, easy intuitive layout, very simple to get used to. At this price point, I think there is no other better option out there, 4ins 4outs and MIDI.
Pretty straight forward to use, love that I've got a bunch of free software to experiment and build up experience. There is such a large library of toys that it would be a pity not to play with them all.
Works great with both platforms Windows / Mac OS. Better with Mac OS, too be honest, and I have read a lot of posts where people had horrible experiences with Windows drivers. So, Mac is the safest way to go here. (although I would love to have a Linux alternative).
The hardware and sound is good enough for a beginner, I was very excited about it at first, and don't get me wrong, I still am, but I soon realized that compared to other interfaces the sound is not that clear and it tends to clip very easily, thus, I was kinda bummed for not being able to use it at it's full presented capacity. But also, it depends a lot on your setup, pickups and pedals.

Conclusion: Good for beginners, amazing hardware specs at this price, solid, decent sound, bunch of free software to try.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great interface, amazing focusrite support.
Sarasound, 09.11.2020
I'm using the focusrite 4i4 in two scenarios, connected to pc with digitakt and ipad as input, or connected to ipad through usb dataport, with digitakt and mic as input. Both setups work really well, although it took a while to figure out how to set up the focusrite control with usb hub (analogues need to be muted/removed in focusrite control). The focusrite control software/app is really clear and UI friendly once you know what you're looking at, I just wish that while connecting to iOS device you could use the focusrite control app (it only recognizes the interface when you're connected to computer).
I will mention that my first 4i4 had a hardware issue, but Focusrite have amazing customer support and the replacement is working perfectly. Thomann prices and shipping were great and customer service always helpful (though I got the replacement from Focusrite themselves).
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
I like the old one more
Primzi, 20.07.2020
It works as expected, does the job well.

They removed the knobs you had on the old ones, I liked the knobs because you could switch and turn on things pretty fast.
Now you need a program, that is not explained for specific Interfaces.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Good forprice
ScotchX, 29.07.2020
It is a good interface for price but there is some cpu problems time to time. Also it drives up to 200 ohm headphones and you cant go with 300 ohm headphones. Many openbacks are not good with it need an amp besides. Recording guitar is totally good there is no clipping until 60 percent of gain with the pads on. Mic preamps are fine but they are not blowing your mind. Thats why ı use some 73 type preamp plugin after a little dessing on recording chain. And ı use Eris 5s with it they also work just fine. for your home studio it connects almost everything together and in this price that cons are really nothing.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Always been a fan!
King Lyon, 07.05.2020
Always wanted to purchase one of these, and i purchased mine several days ago. Now then, i would have given this product 4 stars, the only reason that i didnt, is purely because i personally found this product and its plug-ins impossible to understand.

I spent several days trying to install this product, and i called the technical support numerous occassions, who were extremely helpful. Unfortunately, i have now given in, and decided to return this product using my 30 day returns policy. I will let you guys know how that goes at a later date.

The service that i recieved was absolutely spot on. If you are technically minded, you could well have this set up and be using it within the hour. Highly recommend this product, just too technical for me.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
standardised quality expands to 3rd gen
Zivca78, 13.07.2020
This is a great interface for small studios and setups.
Pros - great sound, air feature on first two inputs, low latency
Con - I am going insane with focusrite software on Mac. It quite often does not register that the hardware is connected. Also, switching direct on/off must be done through software ,so that is extremely annoying. I wish developer kept the physical buttons on the device.
Sound is clear and pristine, there is no noise and everything is great from sound - preamp perspective.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great interface with 4 inputs
ToneArt Sound, 28.11.2019
Having the two extra line inputs in the back really is an advantage if you have one or two external pre-amps!
The software is great and the pre-amps in the box sound really clean. Everything is quality, solid, and works like a charm.

Also Focusrite support is really responsive and very helpful :)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great audio interface
substance90, 18.05.2020
It does what it's supposed to do. Sadly it's still delivered with a USB C to USB A cable which means you can't be dongle free on a modern laptop. What's the point of having USB-C on the unit itself then?
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Focusrite Scarlett 4i4 3rd Gen

$203 €167.23
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.

The price in USD is a guideline price only!

Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Online Guides
Computer Based Studios
Computer Based Studios
This article will look at how to integrate a computer into different studio environments, and will highlight the issues of functionality and connectivity.
Online Guides
Recording E-Guitars
Recording E-Guitars
Our aim is to explain the basic process of recording the electric guitar!
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.