Focusrite Scarlett 4i4 3rd Gen

222 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.6 /5
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Focusrite Scarlett 4i4 - Great interface for home studio and more
rEMAKER, 02.01.2021
I got this for my home studio to record guitar directly and for the midi capabilities for the future hardware synths I am planning on buying.
I have it connected with my kali lp 6 and it sound great.

When I was reading reviews for this sound card everybody was talking about how good the preamps are and I wasn't convinced until I tried them myself and they do sound great indeed.
The gain knobs for analogue 1 and 2 inputs light up and gives an indication when it almost clips(yellow) and when it clips(red) these colors can be be changed through the Focusrite control software.

The analogue inputs 3 and 4 can be controlled though the software only they don't have a hardware controls.
The Phantom Power 48v Only exists for the 1 and 2 inputs
There is a pad for the 1 and 2 input that you can control through the software you also use the software to control whether the 1 and 2 inputs are line or instrument.
The big monitor knob works only for the 1 and 2 outputs the 3 and 4 outputs come out as unity gain (0db) so that's something I had to keep in mind of when I was calibrating my monitors.


Pros:
Great sounding pre amps
Great build quality you can take this to any gig without worries
midi in/out great for using with hardware synths or no DAW setups

Cons:
It would be really good if it had an indication of unity gain on the monitor control when everything is set to 0db on the software.
Other than that I don't see any other cons

Overall a great budget sound card I recommend!!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
A must have
snakeyay, 11.09.2020
This right here is the real deal - I held off to write the review until I got the 770 Pro 80Ohm headphones and here it is:

Regarding the sound, there is a CLEAR difference when plugging into the audio interface and when plugging into whatever soundcard you might have. Also, it drives 80 Ohm headphones without any issues, to get really satisfactory volume (a bit loud) seems to be at 60% of the volume dial (keep in mind, this is without any headphone amps) - at 100% it is blazing and too loud.

As I am a guitar player, I bought this audio interface exclusively because it had the "Pad" option, and having a guitar with Active pickups (EMGs), I didn't want to invest in an additional DI box etc - the "padding" does wonders and there is no clipping/distortion caused with the feature turned on. If you have a guitar with active pickups (especially hot ones like EMGs), I really recommend this audio interface.

I also use the t.bone M85 Beta microphone for either some "riff idea" recording or simply using the microphone during gaming. There have been many times where I was deliberately close to the microphone and was speaking in an... ASMRish voice and everyone in the Discord or game voice chat went "DUDE WTF" - the signal is clear and there is no clipping (once you play a bit with the knob).

Honestly, I cannot imagine NOT having an audio interface going forward and this little red thing spoiled me.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Excellent product
Janie, 25.11.2020
It was one of my best choices, currently being my favorite interface. All the features work perfectly, connects at least two microphones, my monitors, has a MIDI entry, a headphones entry and phanton power of 48V. This product came very quickly to my possession, in perfect conditions, all wrapped in plastic in a color that i love, red, so I recommend it 100%, very happy with my choice.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Very good and comes with free software!
Emmanuel Bueno, 28.10.2020
I have done my first EP with this and I am no professional, so this means this is easy to use. Good and reliable. No fuss.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Hugo Antunes, 02.12.2020
users friendly, solid and small enough to carry around!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
The best quality for this price.
yukij, 29.10.2020
Good audio interface, nice drivers and software. I can recommend this product. The air function make sound more better then default parameters.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Focusrite 4i4 - "an effective solution"
AlejandroLacost, 07.01.2021
An interface with very powerful functions, constant flow of information.
Its characteristics are very effective, connections, quality potentiometers, arquitectura just and necessary for the model, and elegant finish that decorates.

The included software is very good, intuitive, making clear the anchors and supervision of each connected instrument or microphone.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Really good
lffonseca, 09.10.2020
Good sound and latency times. Would be better if it had more physical controls.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Plug and play
Joel David, 25.04.2020
I bought this audio interface to record at home. I am not profesional, although I have shared projects with many professionals. I did hesitate to buy a new audio interface as I am quite picky. However this audio interface is absolutely great. I use it with my MacBook Pro and is just as easy as plug and record. I usually plug a Shure sm7b, a Roland piano and a Stratocaster guitar simultaneously and works perfect every time. Monitoring is easy as well not delays or any other problems. I wish I had it earlier. Highly recommended
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
A Great Beginner's Audio Interface
stevo873, 05.01.2020
This is my first audio interface and for reference I am using Windows 10 however the interface is compatible with Mac OS X also.

The product itself has a large amount of I/O, boasting two microphone pre-amps and a midi in and out. For the price I am happy with the scarlett's I/O.

Setting up the audio interface was quite simple, with instructions on how to connect and instrument to the interface and download the appropriate software being included. The instructions were succinct and clear.

In terms of the sound quality so far I have plugged in a Fender mustang and a Squier Jazz bass. The sound from both instruments is clear and overall I am very happy with the sound.

I am very happy with my purchase and overall I have no complaints.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Amazing gear for beginners
Danny Inder, 01.01.2021
I bought this with no experience with recording music, and now I can record loads effortlessly. It's simple to use and intuitively designed. Comes with software that is perfect to get started with. Amazing purchase!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Excellent budget interface
OrangeLogic, 06.12.2020
We bought this interface to compliment our existing setup (two thunderbolt interfaces) and it meets our expectations.

The build quality is good. The interface has mettal chassis and a decent weight to it. The Amphenol XLR connectors are high quality and will last a long time.

However, when plugging the interface into a Thunderbolt port, there is a clear whine present in the signal and the recording. This is mitigated by plugging it into a USB port instead.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Very good product
dpavon, 20.11.2020
I use this interface to connect my guitar to my pedal then to my PC.
Low latency input, very good pre-amp controls, plus headset output with volume control.
When working on a DAW, with ASIO4ALL plugin, I can hear everything through my headsets, from the guitar, to videos on the web, etc.
Very practical. Recommend!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Miloš, 15.01.2020
Using this one with KRK Classics, had some problems with connecting them at first, only outputs 1 and 2 used to play the sound, still havent tested both on 3 and 4, It might be just me. Theres a little delay when playing the sound sometimes but that doesnt really matter to me. Awesome product, would recommend!

NOTE: After products arrived in my country I had to pay customs services which I had no idea about, read up about it, it might save you a few bucks.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Absolutely solid
Bassios, 18.05.2020
I'm working my way towards a home studio, so upgrading from the 2nd Gen Scarlett Solo to this seemed like the perfect decision.

Setup was incredibly easy and the new Focusrite Control Centre program is really clear and easy to use.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Lots of features, included software is great
FuzzyDrumming, 11.05.2020
Nothing bad to note about this.
My first audio interface ever, and I am very pleased!
I plug both my guitar/bass and edrum set in, and make full use of this.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Incredible performance for the price
PastaFari, 25.05.2020
For what this interface costs, it will be hard to beat!
A great step up was adding the Air function to the mic preamps. The unit is nice, sturdy and compact and fits in every bag easily.
The converters are really good for the price. The preamps perform great. In this price range, the 4i4 is a great contender.
Cons are the fact that I cannot switch phantom power for each channel individually and that some functions are only switchable via the controller software. A hardware switch on the front of the unit would have been a better idea.
This interface will travel with me for work on the road, and I can finish things of on my main Pro Tools rig in my studio.
Nice job Focusrite!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Very good USB interface
pazqal, 27.05.2020
I'm using this interface to connect my macbookpro to 2.1 monitoring speakers. As I'm doing video editing, this is perfect for me. There's 2 XLR inputs on the front and Jack output. The red design is very elegant on my desk, just under my double screens, which is a good point if you have to see this device every day. te interface is not very clear but I don't use it anyway. This is a very good product and recommand it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Excellent
George_P, 18.12.2020
Nothing more i could ask for,
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Flawless Product
Kevlogic, 06.12.2020
Worth every penny. Plug in and ready to go with no problems at all.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
nice for home studio
dvigorito, 21.01.2020
home studio needs handly and good quality..for me here you have all of this.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Focusrite Scarlett 4i4 3rd Gen

$203 €167.23
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.

The price in USD is a guideline price only!

Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Online Guides
Computer Based Studios
Computer Based Studios
This article will look at how to integrate a computer into different studio environments, and will highlight the issues of functionality and connectivity.
Online Guides
Recording E-Guitars
Recording E-Guitars
Our aim is to explain the basic process of recording the electric guitar!
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.