Steinberg UR22 MK2

1038 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.6 /5
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
I would highly recommend it!
Orestesguitar, 29.12.2020
I bought that audio interface about 4 years ago and I've also recommended it to many friends/relatives /studentsw who are into DIY recording.
Really really reliable ,built like a tank ,decent preamps!Overall really happy with the purchase.At that pricepoint its the only choice for me!
The main competition does not have the MIDI I/O option .So yeah, defintely dig this!
Pros: Built like a tank, decent preamps, ideal for home recording, easy to use plug and play (unlike some cheaper interfaces which are plug and pray).
Cons: The only con for me is not having more outputs if you wanna use two sets of speakers for example.But at htat pricpepoint there is no other interface with more than 2 L/R outputs.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
A workhorse
audiocan, 08.10.2018
This is a great interface in it's class (FocusRite Scarlett, Presonus Audiobox, Mackie Onyx, Tascam US, etc). I picked UR22 over the others because: Works at 192kHz, has midi in/outs; provides switchable external power; and it's fairly stable. Some of these features are missing in the above mentioned competitors.
Preamps are quite decent. Best thing is that the gain knob's resolution is quite high. And this thing is built like a tank.
Some negatives are: It doesn't come with a USB power, you have to buy your own; doesn't have a software interface to adjust settings or add FX digitally (other than sample rate and loopback); and I have some issues on Windows 10 on start up, sound device not defaulting to it (I have to restart the unit via it's power selection switch sometimes so the system recognizes it).
Despite it's perks and it's outdated and banal looks, it's a rather decent sounding, well-built and feature-rich workhorse. A good option in it's class.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Good soundcard
Karl Õmblus, 16.11.2020
Good interface, better than I excpected at this price point.

Pro:
*) Sound quality
*) Easy front panel.

Cons:
*) included driver is old and buggy.
*) Power led is wery bright. Had put sticker on it.

I had random pops in sound every other minute and spent hours of debugging. After downloading new driver from homepage, all problems went away.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Awesome product
Novatune, 10.11.2020
I have been using it for 1 month now and its working really good . no lags or issues with it so far
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great budget interface
Emil O, 20.01.2018
The UR22 MKii packs a powerful punch in a small, robust package.
It's very easy to take with you on the go without having to worry about it getting damaged. It also looks pretty sleek.

The D-Pre pre-amps by Yamaha have a clean sound and go all the way up to 60 dB, although as with all interfaces, you'll definitely notice the noise when cranking the gain all the way up.
The line input sounds nice too and isn't nearly as susceptible to clipping as other similarly priced interfaces that I've tried.

The knobs are very sturdy and feel great. The monitoring mixing knob even has a stop about halfway through in between the input and the playback.
As far as handling goes, I haven't had any issues with latency whatsoever but an annoying issue I do have is that when I switch the phantom power on or off, the entire interface locks up for about 2 to 3 seconds, meaning that I'm unable to hear anything for a few seconds.

When it comes to monitoring, I mainly use headphones (Sony MDR7506) and I'm perfectly happy with the amount of gain but it might be worth looking into a separate headphone amp when using pairs with higher impedances.
Coming from the Focusrite 2i4 and the Zoom U24, I do find myself missing the option to output to both TRS and RCA, but I can't blame Steinberg for that. Hopefully that'll be included in a future iteration.

In short, if you're looking for a great budget interface, I'm happy to say that this one won't disappoint you.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Jacek Janicki, 17.12.2020
Well, I have many troubles with overall Cubase Performance with this interface. Many sound dropouts and system performance overload on my Cubase SX 9.5 after many many tweaks and countless hours on forums and even in deep system settings, changing USB cables, applying external power now is kinda ok, but well not perfect. Still, the money/ value ratio pretty ok, Use in my home studio with Cubase SX 9.5.5 Artist. I would love to try something better for USB;)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Good cheap interface
Priidik, 01.05.2020
For the price it is easily 5 star worthy product. I've used it for more than 2 years, here are my thoughts:

Cons:
- One annoyance is the driver as I haven't managed to get it to automatically follow the input bandwitch (44.1k; 88.2k etć).
- The headphone output has some 100 ohm resistor in series for presumably protection, but it degrades the sound a bit.
- The Cirrus Logic dac-adc codec inside is a bit dated, sounds dull but at the same time not offensive in any way. Sound quality is about on bar with better audiophile smartphones.

Pros:
-Very sturdy and compact, good to throw into a backback without concerns
- Mic pres sound very good, (tbh, it is from memory comparison of RME FF400)
- Value for money is high
- Uses 'vintage' JRC audio opamps inside that, while not impressive in spec, manage to sound nice

TL:DR
Output sound is good for the price.
Mic pres are very good.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
German and Japanese Class
BrightLight, 09.07.2020
Maybe it is because I am new to this but what a revelation it has been using the Steinberg UR22 mkII. The clarity of the sound is out of this world and the longterm gain unmeasurable. This is solid hardware, and the combination with Yamaha makes it even sweeter.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
i like it
Bazk9, 11.02.2020
item arrived quickly and as described, i had a little trouble with some noise when listening through the headphones port of this device, but it was a software / drivers issue, few minutes on google and the item is perfect
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Sturdy casing, very good pre-amps
Windgunner, 02.06.2019
Seeing various options regarding 2-channel USB interfaces, one might become hesitant to choose which one to purchase. My shot went to Steinberg, mainly because I knew they've had a long run in the audio business and thought they would have a reputation to maintain, seeing as the are one of the biggest names out there.

It's one of the cheapest options, the casing is almost indestructible (mine has already had two encounters with the ground and is as good as new). The pres are very good, they don't color the sound in any way that I can tell and the AD/DA converters are as good, capable of very high sampling rates.

Never had any problems with my unit.

On features I only gave it 4 stars because there is no Hi-Z switch on channel 1, which would have been nice, meaning you would have to get a DI to record two instruments with mono jack outputs.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Works out of the box
Angelo Martino, 12.05.2020
Works very well, I use it to record my guitar and never had any problems, driver support is fantastic, many who had the Focusrite competitor had problems with the audio driver, I'm on Linux and it worked out of the box! Amazing, you plug it in with a USB cable and it works, fast, compact, beautiful.

The only cons I would pick it's when you have to move it to another place, you have to be careful handling it especially when posing, even if you drop it by a very little it will sound like you broke something, scared me.

Overall it's a really good product and the price is good!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
just what i expected from a known brand.
NicolaBH, 04.07.2020
I use this interface to plug my guitar amp into my desktop pc. With the front controls i can easily switch between sending the output to my speakers or listening on my headphones only.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Sehr gut verarbeitet, aber schwer
MalteHelmhold, 03.09.2019
Zwei Punkte abzug beim Handling, ansonsten ein sehr sehr qualitatives Gerät, dass wir täglich im Gebrau haben und seit 5 Jahren läuft ohne den Geist aufzugeben (2 davon). Für eine günstigere Alternative haben wir auch das U-Phoria von Behringer (gibt's auch hier bei Thomann). Das ist deutlich leichter und billiger (unser Reiseinterface für Podcasts). Aber wer keine Qualitätsabstriche für zu hause haben will, z. B. mit dem NT1-a von Rode, der sollte hier zugreifen. Vor allem die Übersteuerungsanzeige (PEAK) ist mega gut für Podcasting. Da kann nichts schief gehen.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Perfection!
Abdou's, 23.10.2018
I use it for my home studo and couldn't be any happier.
Sturdy and solid, great nobs feel, mobile and a great recording quality (especially if you help it with a decent mic and room acoustic treatment)

cons: the no latency monitoring is dry, can't use any effect with it.

But, at this price point im 100% satisfied! i think the UR44 is my next upgrade.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Really high quality and great sound response.
gidi.santos, 10.01.2019
I bought this interface for simple home recording of string instruments, i am really impressed with the whole construction. Nice and heavy metal case with solid buttons, looks like it will last for many years. Sound response is great and really easy to use with my laptop.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
best buy
Club27, 13.03.2020
Very good and high-quality product. Ideal for home studio. High quality preamps and good dynamic range. Stable operation throughout the use and strong appearance. I recommend to buy.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Constant dropouts!
Jakatone, 24.08.2018
A great product, very well built, everything you need in a small interface. BUT, the drivers are terrible and the frequent dropouts make it unusable. Apparently Steinberg still didn't address this issue and it's been a while since they were aware of the problem. Also, there are many users that have the same problem. A shame really.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
good interface
brunomaia, 16.07.2018
Pros:
does the job quite well as a USB interface ;
low noise ;
USB 2;
good sound resolution considering the price 192kHz/24bit;
sturdy ;
Hi-Z input;
48V phantom power;
can be powered by computer USB connection or separate USB

Cons:
no SPDIF,
no Coaxial,
no external clock word,
no ADAT I/O

Overall
I ended up getting the DAW Cubase AI to work on a Windows 10 64 bit. I like it.
I only use this interface now as a mic pre with phantom power input of a condenser mic on my double bass.
In my studio I recently upgraded another interface with more inputs, and USB 3 connection, with less latency.

After one year and a half, I conclude this interface would be suitable for entertainment projects. Cost effective.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great product good value for money
Andrew822, 03.01.2018
Its a nice weighty desktop designed box that is metal construction. All the input jacks and knobs are plastic but fine. I chose this product mainly as it comes with a free with Cubase AI as a download and out of all the DAW's Cubase is my preference. It does offer an update to Cubase Elements for a further ¤50 Bit cheeky of them to try and sell you something else. Another good point is the fact that its portable so handy if you want to use it on a laptop for example in another location. I did have a bit of trouble installing it on my PC but the solution was to simply change to a different USB input on my PC and it worked with out an issue from then on. I noticed the device Volume output is a bit lower than expected and I had to turn up my amp to get it as loud as I needed. No noise or interference from this unit and thats the main thing really. So mic preamps are nice and quiet. Its also handy having the HI-Z on input 2 for your direct guitar input. This comes in handy when using a DAW's Guitar or Bass amplifier simulators. Although a dedicated external amp or device is recommended from me. Great product and good value for money.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
SOLID!!!
mk22, 29.10.2019
The best for its price.
Top quality and easy to hande with.
Sound's great.
Would highly recommend to buy one.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Best audio interface for any user level
manug1818, 22.08.2018
I must say I am a beginner in terms of music production.

First of all, the device comes with everything ready. It is very easy to install and start using it. The license included for CUBASE it is awesome. The device itself is heavy, not difficult to handle it... but you can not expect to be moving it around. The steel casing, however, provides a rigid and solid feeling, which is welcome.

The inputs are perfect for beginners and medium level users. All the features work perfectly and it is very useful to have manual controllers at the front to manage volumes, input signal, etc. The phantom option for microphones is another key point, as well as the high impedance input for those of us trying to start recording guitars with plugins.

I bought this interface looking for something to start recording, not something specially cheap, with all the necessary features, and either massively expensive. Therefore, I just can say it is all I expected.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Jack Rock, 04.03.2018
I use it for my home recording studio and it does the job great. Bought it mostly to use it with my Rode NT1-A, and it's a great pair. I have previously used a M-Audio FastTrack Pro, and this feels way better.

The materials used are high quality, and I like that it has a metal housing.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
perfect
fl gp, 02.10.2017
it is the ideal thing for home recording.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Decent piece of hardware
snufkin, 07.09.2017
I use it daily with Yamaha PX5 and custom made passive speakers, as an interface for flac files playback.
I feel a little hunger for high frequency reproduction especially on low volume - i compared this device with Yamaha MG10XU and i prefer Yamaha. Also, get external power supply instead of relying on PC to power this up.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Nice interface - awesome sound!
Ilko Iliev, 02.04.2019
Nice, sturdy interface. Works well with iPad as well. The reason I gave it 4 stars on features is because it is not a true stereo interface. If you use a stereo source like a keyboard, you cannot separate left from right channels because both inputs are centered. You can only do it from your DAW.
As far as quality, every now and then I experience short audio cuts which I think is due to the drivers. I tun Windows 10 and I have gone through all steps of optimizing my PC and OS for music production but I think this is due to drivers.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Steinberg UR22 MK2

$131 €108.40
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.

The price in USD is a guideline price only!

Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Online Guides
Computer Based Studios
Computer Based Studios
This article will look at how to integrate a computer into different studio environments, and will highlight the issues of functionality and connectivity.
Online Guides
Recording E-Guitars
Recording E-Guitars
Our aim is to explain the basic process of recording the electric guitar!
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.