Steinberg UR22 MK2

888 Customer Ratings:
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.6 /5
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Good cheap interface
Priidik, 01.05.2020
For the price it is easily 5 star worthy product. I've used it for more than 2 years, here are my thoughts:

Cons:
- One annoyance is the driver as I haven't managed to get it to automatically follow the input bandwitch (44.1k; 88.2k etć).
- The headphone output has some 100 ohm resistor in series for presumably protection, but it degrades the sound a bit.
- The Cirrus Logic dac-adc codec inside is a bit dated, sounds dull but at the same time not offensive in any way. Sound quality is about on bar with better audiophile smartphones.

Pros:
-Very sturdy and compact, good to throw into a backback without concerns
- Mic pres sound very good, (tbh, it is from memory comparison of RME FF400)
- Value for money is high
- Uses 'vintage' JRC audio opamps inside that, while not impressive in spec, manage to sound nice

TL:DR
Output sound is good for the price.
Mic pres are very good.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
A workhorse
audiocan, 08.10.2018
This is a great interface in it's class (FocusRite Scarlett, Presonus Audiobox, Mackie Onyx, Tascam US, etc). I picked UR22 over the others because: Works at 192kHz, has midi in/outs; provides switchable external power; and it's fairly stable. Some of these features are missing in the above mentioned competitors.
Preamps are quite decent. Best thing is that the gain knob's resolution is quite high. And this thing is built like a tank.
Some negatives are: It doesn't come with a USB power, you have to buy your own; doesn't have a software interface to adjust settings or add FX digitally (other than sample rate and loopback); and I have some issues on Windows 10 on start up, sound device not defaulting to it (I have to restart the unit via it's power selection switch sometimes so the system recognizes it).
Despite it's perks and it's outdated and banal looks, it's a rather decent sounding, well-built and feature-rich workhorse. A good option in it's class.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
i like it
Bazk9, 11.02.2020
item arrived quickly and as described, i had a little trouble with some noise when listening through the headphones port of this device, but it was a software / drivers issue, few minutes on google and the item is perfect
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Works out of the box
Angelo Martino, 12.05.2020
Works very well, I use it to record my guitar and never had any problems, driver support is fantastic, many who had the Focusrite competitor had problems with the audio driver, I'm on Linux and it worked out of the box! Amazing, you plug it in with a USB cable and it works, fast, compact, beautiful.

The only cons I would pick it's when you have to move it to another place, you have to be careful handling it especially when posing, even if you drop it by a very little it will sound like you broke something, scared me.

Overall it's a really good product and the price is good!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
best buy
Club27, 13.03.2020
Very good and high-quality product. Ideal for home studio. High quality preamps and good dynamic range. Stable operation throughout the use and strong appearance. I recommend to buy.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Sonoquilibrium, 27.04.2020
The UR22 MK2 is well made and for my purposes for what I need it, it makes the work. I have another sound card in the studio (RME Hammerfall Multiface). The UR22 MK2 I need it outside when I do some presentations and experimental sound work.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Sturdy casing, very good pre-amps
Windgunner, 02.06.2019
Seeing various options regarding 2-channel USB interfaces, one might become hesitant to choose which one to purchase. My shot went to Steinberg, mainly because I knew they've had a long run in the audio business and thought they would have a reputation to maintain, seeing as the are one of the biggest names out there.

It's one of the cheapest options, the casing is almost indestructible (mine has already had two encounters with the ground and is as good as new). The pres are very good, they don't color the sound in any way that I can tell and the AD/DA converters are as good, capable of very high sampling rates.

Never had any problems with my unit.

On features I only gave it 4 stars because there is no Hi-Z switch on channel 1, which would have been nice, meaning you would have to get a DI to record two instruments with mono jack outputs.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great product good value for money
Andrew822, 03.01.2018
Its a nice weighty desktop designed box that is metal construction. All the input jacks and knobs are plastic but fine. I chose this product mainly as it comes with a free with Cubase AI as a download and out of all the DAW's Cubase is my preference. It does offer an update to Cubase Elements for a further ¤50 Bit cheeky of them to try and sell you something else. Another good point is the fact that its portable so handy if you want to use it on a laptop for example in another location. I did have a bit of trouble installing it on my PC but the solution was to simply change to a different USB input on my PC and it worked with out an issue from then on. I noticed the device Volume output is a bit lower than expected and I had to turn up my amp to get it as loud as I needed. No noise or interference from this unit and thats the main thing really. So mic preamps are nice and quiet. Its also handy having the HI-Z on input 2 for your direct guitar input. This comes in handy when using a DAW's Guitar or Bass amplifier simulators. Although a dedicated external amp or device is recommended from me. Great product and good value for money.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Sehr gut verarbeitet, aber schwer
MalteHelmhold, 03.09.2019
Zwei Punkte abzug beim Handling, ansonsten ein sehr sehr qualitatives Gerät, dass wir täglich im Gebrau haben und seit 5 Jahren läuft ohne den Geist aufzugeben (2 davon). Für eine günstigere Alternative haben wir auch das U-Phoria von Behringer (gibt's auch hier bei Thomann). Das ist deutlich leichter und billiger (unser Reiseinterface für Podcasts). Aber wer keine Qualitätsabstriche für zu hause haben will, z. B. mit dem NT1-a von Rode, der sollte hier zugreifen. Vor allem die Übersteuerungsanzeige (PEAK) ist mega gut für Podcasting. Da kann nichts schief gehen.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Very functional interface
camatheson, 16.05.2020
I've been using this in my home studio for a while now, and it's been excellent. It does just what I need with my Macbook and Cubase without any fuss. The only odd thing I've noticed is that the knob which mixes the input sound with the DAW seems to make the input mono - not a big problem normally as I always listen via the DAW, but I was puzzled for a while when auditioning some inputs.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great budget interface
Emil O, 20.01.2018
The UR22 MKii packs a powerful punch in a small, robust package.
It's very easy to take with you on the go without having to worry about it getting damaged. It also looks pretty sleek.

The D-Pre pre-amps by Yamaha have a clean sound and go all the way up to 60 dB, although as with all interfaces, you'll definitely notice the noise when cranking the gain all the way up.
The line input sounds nice too and isn't nearly as susceptible to clipping as other similarly priced interfaces that I've tried.

The knobs are very sturdy and feel great. The monitoring mixing knob even has a stop about halfway through in between the input and the playback.
As far as handling goes, I haven't had any issues with latency whatsoever but an annoying issue I do have is that when I switch the phantom power on or off, the entire interface locks up for about 2 to 3 seconds, meaning that I'm unable to hear anything for a few seconds.

When it comes to monitoring, I mainly use headphones (Sony MDR7506) and I'm perfectly happy with the amount of gain but it might be worth looking into a separate headphone amp when using pairs with higher impedances.
Coming from the Focusrite 2i4 and the Zoom U24, I do find myself missing the option to output to both TRS and RCA, but I can't blame Steinberg for that. Hopefully that'll be included in a future iteration.

In short, if you're looking for a great budget interface, I'm happy to say that this one won't disappoint you.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
high performance with good cost
souz, 05.12.2019
This product should stay on top considering the cost in use. Quite close to border of pro quality (expensive) series.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Really high quality and great sound response.
gidi.santos, 10.01.2019
I bought this interface for simple home recording of string instruments, i am really impressed with the whole construction. Nice and heavy metal case with solid buttons, looks like it will last for many years. Sound response is great and really easy to use with my laptop.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Constant dropouts!
Jakatone, 24.08.2018
A great product, very well built, everything you need in a small interface. BUT, the drivers are terrible and the frequent dropouts make it unusable. Apparently Steinberg still didn't address this issue and it's been a while since they were aware of the problem. Also, there are many users that have the same problem. A shame really.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Awesome
Morning Conjacket, 13.04.2018
I was serching the net, looking for a budget usb audio interface and after quite a while until I stumbeled on this gem.

I use it almost every day on demo recordings. It deals with guitar, bass, keys and microphones with no problems. The software I use is mainly fl studio and Cubase and it is super easy to set the UR22 up.

The build quality is superb. It's nice and heavy with no jiggly plastic bits.

From my experience (about a year now) I can say only positive things, and I would definietly recommend it
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Does what it's supposed to do
Izmotion, 16.01.2019
Fair warning: I don't use the UR22 MK2 to record.

For the price, it does everything its supposed to do. Midi works as it should, does not have compatibility problems with reaper or anything else I use, I would definitely recommend it as entry-level equipment!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Best audio interface for any user level
manug1818, 22.08.2018
I must say I am a beginner in terms of music production.

First of all, the device comes with everything ready. It is very easy to install and start using it. The license included for CUBASE it is awesome. The device itself is heavy, not difficult to handle it... but you can not expect to be moving it around. The steel casing, however, provides a rigid and solid feeling, which is welcome.

The inputs are perfect for beginners and medium level users. All the features work perfectly and it is very useful to have manual controllers at the front to manage volumes, input signal, etc. The phantom option for microphones is another key point, as well as the high impedance input for those of us trying to start recording guitars with plugins.

I bought this interface looking for something to start recording, not something specially cheap, with all the necessary features, and either massively expensive. Therefore, I just can say it is all I expected.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Jack Rock, 04.03.2018
I use it for my home recording studio and it does the job great. Bought it mostly to use it with my Rode NT1-A, and it's a great pair. I have previously used a M-Audio FastTrack Pro, and this feels way better.

The materials used are high quality, and I like that it has a metal housing.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
perfect
fl gp, 02.10.2017
it is the ideal thing for home recording.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Nice interface - awesome sound!
Ilko Iliev, 02.04.2019
Nice, sturdy interface. Works well with iPad as well. The reason I gave it 4 stars on features is because it is not a true stereo interface. If you use a stereo source like a keyboard, you cannot separate left from right channels because both inputs are centered. You can only do it from your DAW.
As far as quality, every now and then I experience short audio cuts which I think is due to the drivers. I tun Windows 10 and I have gone through all steps of optimizing my PC and OS for music production but I think this is due to drivers.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Decent piece of hardware
snufkin, 07.09.2017
I use it daily with Yamaha PX5 and custom made passive speakers, as an interface for flac files playback.
I feel a little hunger for high frequency reproduction especially on low volume - i compared this device with Yamaha MG10XU and i prefer Yamaha. Also, get external power supply instead of relying on PC to power this up.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great Interface for Ipad or computer
Jonathan G. 504, 04.01.2016
I bought this on a whim primarily to record using Cubasis on the ipad. I must say that this does an excellent job in this regard. It makes getting sound into and out of the ipad a very easy affair. There are only 2 criticisms that I have
1) There is no way to power the ipad from the interface. That would have been nice to have, especially as you have to power the interface separately so I would have thought it would have been quite a simple step to send power through to the ipad. Having said that, a fully charged ipad will give you hours of studio time so it's not too much of a headache (just make sure you have a fully charged ipad before you begin your recording session).
2) The headphone output is not very loud. It's good enough, but I do prefer headphones to be driven with more output.

The interface also works well on computer too (although I have that covered with Roland Octacapture, but it's good to have a standby).

In conclusion, a very useful device for hooking up to the ipad for occasional use.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Solid!
John paul jones, 20.02.2020
in use since since 3 years, very good piece of gear.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
The best
erossini, 05.07.2018
The best interface for the price!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Brilliant Interface
Cian_P, 26.09.2019
The interface is a brilliant easy to use interface. I am using it in a little home studio set up and is perfect for that. Sound quality is immaculate and the set up was simple.

One problem i had was a high pitched interference every now and then, all that needed to be done was to install the latest drivers. i had that all fixed within 20 minutes of taking it out of the box.

Overall very happy with the product, would definitely recommend!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Steinberg UR22 MK2

$122 €108.62
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.

The price in USD is a guideline price only!

Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Online Guides
Computer Based Studios
Computer Based Studios
This article will look at how to integrate a computer into different studio environments, and will highlight the issues of functionality and connectivity.
Online Guides
Recording E-Guitars
Recording E-Guitars
Our aim is to explain the basic process of recording the electric guitar!
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
(5)
Recently Viewed
Line6 Pod GO

Line6 Pod GO; Multi Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar; over 300 effects and models from Helix, M-Series and Legacy products, up to 6 simultaneous amp, cab, and effects models including a looper and a speaker cabinet simulation (Third-Party IR loading),...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Harley Benton Electric Guitar Kit CST-24T

Harley Benton Electric Guitar Kit CST-24T, ST Electric Guitar Kit; Body: Solidwood (wood color may vary) with Binding; Neck: Maple with Binding; Fingerboard: Amaranth; Neck Mount: Bolt On; Inlays: Dots; 24 Frets; Nut Width: 42 mm (1,65"); Scale: 635 mm...

(72)
Recently Viewed
Presonus AudioBox USB 96 Black

USB Interface 2 x 2 USB 2.0 interface 24-bit / 96 kHz, 2 Mic / instrument inputs: XLR combo jack, 2 Line outputs: 6.3 mm jack balanced, MIDI input and output, Stereo headphone output: 6.3 mm jack, USB 2.0...

Recently Viewed
Behringer CP1A

Behringer CP1A; power supply module for Eurorack systems; LED indicators for +12V, -12V and +5V rails; connectors for 2 flying bus boards; power rating: 1A (+12V) / 1A (-12V) / 0.5A (+5V); width: 4 HP; depth: 52mm: including: external power...

Recently Viewed
Sennheiser RR 5000

Sennheiser RR 5000 In-Ear wirelesss headphone - attention! no transmitter included! just for extension of RS5000! srechargeable wireless headphone, three different hearing profiles, up to 70 m range, 125 dB SPL, up to 12 h running time, frequency response: 15...

Recently Viewed
Thomann Guitar Rug

Thomann Guitar Rug; high-quality guitar rug in robust velour quality; flame resistant; certified; manufactured in Europe; dimensions 1.60 x 1.90 m;

Recently Viewed
Seymour Duncan Power Stage 200

Seymour Duncan Power Stage 200, compact pedalboard-mounted power amp, 200 Watts at 4 Ohms, can power cabinets with 4-16 Ohms, suitable for direct amplification of effects pedals, small enough for placement on pedalboards, Cab Sim and EQ switchable for phones...

Recently Viewed
Tascam Model 12 Bag

Tascam Model 12 Bag; carrying bag for Tascam Model 12; padded; external pocket for Accessories; incl. shoulder strap and carrying handle; internal Dimensions: 343 mm × 99 x 360 mm (WxHxD)

Recently Viewed
CAD Audio U49

CAD Audio U49; USB large-diaphragm condenser microphone; Frequency response: 20 Hz - 20 kHz; Conversion: 16 bit / 44.1 kHz; polar pattern: Cardioid; adjustable echo effect for microphone signal; Headphone output with 3.5 mm stereo jack; Class Compliant for MAC...

Recently Viewed
Behringer Eurorack Stand 3-Tier

Behringer Eurorack Stand 3-Tier; desktop stand for mounting up to 3 Eurorack 104 cases (item 463669) or 3 Behringer synthesizers (e.g. Pro-1, Wasp Deluxe, K-2, Neutron, Model D, Cat); variavle width (70 HP, 80 HHP or 104 HP); rugged aluminum/steel...

Recently Viewed
Nura nuraloop

Nura nuraloop bluetooth in-ear headphone - personalised Sound, 16+ hours wireless battery, Active Noise Cancellation, Social Mode, TouchDial controls, Wireless and wired, aptX HD Bluetooth® 5, Sweat resistant, Voice calls, Automatic on/off, In the box: 1x NuraLoop, 1x analog cable,...

Recently Viewed
Supro Blues King 10 Combo

Tube combo for electric guitar Channels: 1, Power: 5 watts, Preamp tubes: 1 x 12AX7, Power tubes: 1 x 6V6, Equipped with: Custom-Made 10" speakers, Controls: Volume, Treble, Bass, Reverb, Master, Switch: Boost, Drive, Effects: Spring Reverb, Input: 6.3...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.