Steinberg UR22 MK2

686 Customer Ratings:
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.7 / 5.0
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
45 written ratings
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Joseph94, 17.10.2019
Pros : Everything is great
full metallic .. great and clear sound

Cons : none
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Brilliant Interface
Cian_P, 26.09.2019
The interface is a brilliant easy to use interface. I am using it in a little home studio set up and is perfect for that. Sound quality is immaculate and the set up was simple.

One problem i had was a high pitched interference every now and then, all that needed to be done was to install the latest drivers. i had that all fixed within 20 minutes of taking it out of the box.

Overall very happy with the product, would definitely recommend!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Sturdy casing, very good pre-amps
Windgunner, 02.06.2019
Seeing various options regarding 2-channel USB interfaces, one might become hesitant to choose which one to purchase. My shot went to Steinberg, mainly because I knew they've had a long run in the audio business and thought they would have a reputation to maintain, seeing as the are one of the biggest names out there.

It's one of the cheapest options, the casing is almost indestructible (mine has already had two encounters with the ground and is as good as new). The pres are very good, they don't color the sound in any way that I can tell and the AD/DA converters are as good, capable of very high sampling rates.

Never had any problems with my unit.

On features I only gave it 4 stars because there is no Hi-Z switch on channel 1, which would have been nice, meaning you would have to get a DI to record two instruments with mono jack outputs.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great product good value for money
Andrew822, 03.01.2018
Its a nice weighty desktop designed box that is metal construction. All the input jacks and knobs are plastic but fine. I chose this product mainly as it comes with a free with Cubase AI as a download and out of all the DAW's Cubase is my preference. It does offer an update to Cubase Elements for a further ¤50 Bit cheeky of them to try and sell you something else. Another good point is the fact that its portable so handy if you want to use it on a laptop for example in another location. I did have a bit of trouble installing it on my PC but the solution was to simply change to a different USB input on my PC and it worked with out an issue from then on. I noticed the device Volume output is a bit lower than expected and I had to turn up my amp to get it as loud as I needed. No noise or interference from this unit and thats the main thing really. So mic preamps are nice and quiet. Its also handy having the HI-Z on input 2 for your direct guitar input. This comes in handy when using a DAW's Guitar or Bass amplifier simulators. Although a dedicated external amp or device is recommended from me. Great product and good value for money.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Awesome
Morning Conjacket, 13.04.2018
I was serching the net, looking for a budget usb audio interface and after quite a while until I stumbeled on this gem.

I use it almost every day on demo recordings. It deals with guitar, bass, keys and microphones with no problems. The software I use is mainly fl studio and Cubase and it is super easy to set the UR22 up.

The build quality is superb. It's nice and heavy with no jiggly plastic bits.

From my experience (about a year now) I can say only positive things, and I would definietly recommend it
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Really high quality and great sound response.
gidi.santos, 10.01.2019
I bought this interface for simple home recording of string instruments, i am really impressed with the whole construction. Nice and heavy metal case with solid buttons, looks like it will last for many years. Sound response is great and really easy to use with my laptop.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Good quiality audio interface
Svett, 01.08.2019
It's a very good value audio interface. Everything is tight and nice working.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Nice interface - awesome sound!
Ilko Iliev, 02.04.2019
Nice, sturdy interface. Works well with iPad as well. The reason I gave it 4 stars on features is because it is not a true stereo interface. If you use a stereo source like a keyboard, you cannot separate left from right channels because both inputs are centered. You can only do it from your DAW.
As far as quality, every now and then I experience short audio cuts which I think is due to the drivers. I tun Windows 10 and I have gone through all steps of optimizing my PC and OS for music production but I think this is due to drivers.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Perfection!
Abdou's, 23.10.2018
I use it for my home studo and couldn't be any happier.
Sturdy and solid, great nobs feel, mobile and a great recording quality (especially if you help it with a decent mic and room acoustic treatment)

cons: the no latency monitoring is dry, can't use any effect with it.

But, at this price point im 100% satisfied! i think the UR44 is my next upgrade.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Excellent, value-for-money interface
Berlin Music Maker, 18.08.2019
This is an excellent unit, with a good feel to the knobs and buttons. I haven't had any problems with this at all and the sound quality is perfectly fine for my (non-professional) use, recording both instruments and voice.

It works great with my 2 DAWs - StudioOne and Logic Pro - and the lights are not too bright and distracting - important when it sits in a public space in my home.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great budget interface
Emil O, 20.01.2018
The UR22 MKii packs a powerful punch in a small, robust package.
It's very easy to take with you on the go without having to worry about it getting damaged. It also looks pretty sleek.

The D-Pre pre-amps by Yamaha have a clean sound and go all the way up to 60 dB, although as with all interfaces, you'll definitely notice the noise when cranking the gain all the way up.
The line input sounds nice too and isn't nearly as susceptible to clipping as other similarly priced interfaces that I've tried.

The knobs are very sturdy and feel great. The monitoring mixing knob even has a stop about halfway through in between the input and the playback.
As far as handling goes, I haven't had any issues with latency whatsoever but an annoying issue I do have is that when I switch the phantom power on or off, the entire interface locks up for about 2 to 3 seconds, meaning that I'm unable to hear anything for a few seconds.

When it comes to monitoring, I mainly use headphones (Sony MDR7506) and I'm perfectly happy with the amount of gain but it might be worth looking into a separate headphone amp when using pairs with higher impedances.
Coming from the Focusrite 2i4 and the Zoom U24, I do find myself missing the option to output to both TRS and RCA, but I can't blame Steinberg for that. Hopefully that'll be included in a future iteration.

In short, if you're looking for a great budget interface, I'm happy to say that this one won't disappoint you.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
The best thing i could ask for myself and my td 15 e drums
Mickgadd46, 10.07.2018
So, after using alesis i/o 2 audio interface and failed time after time to configure the asio process which is horrible, i came across this amazing product, it's not so cheap but hey you get the best for the most worlds, i just upgraded my life and this is the beast !!!

all the best, buy it you won't regret.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Very pleased
Driss El Bouacheri, 28.07.2018
I use all it's features. It's epic.

There is only one con, the headphone volume is low, and has nothing to do with my headphones. I have to use an headphone amp to get that bonus dBs.

It does what it says. Im very very very happy with it.
Hope you find this review useful
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Absolutely the best interface bellow 150¤!
F.ertah, 19.03.2019
If you're a guitar player, bass player, singer or anything in-between, Steinberg UR22 MK2 will find a place in your setup! It is the best choice for starting your home studio. I am using it to record bass guitar and the result is pretty good. I also use a condenser mic for on my cabinet, and with UR22 phantom power, I have absolutely no problems. If you're fiddling with electronic music, this interface lets you send and receive MIDI, so you can MIDI sync your external synths and rhythm machines to your DAW, or maybe you just have a MIDI controller that doesn't have USB but it has 5 pin MIDI connectors. This interface does it all.
It is small, lightweight and powerful! Not to mention the very affordable price!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Jack Rock, 04.03.2018
I use it for my home recording studio and it does the job great. Bought it mostly to use it with my Rode NT1-A, and it's a great pair. I have previously used a M-Audio FastTrack Pro, and this feels way better.

The materials used are high quality, and I like that it has a metal housing.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Best audio interface for any user level
manug1818, 22.08.2018
I must say I am a beginner in terms of music production.

First of all, the device comes with everything ready. It is very easy to install and start using it. The license included for CUBASE it is awesome. The device itself is heavy, not difficult to handle it... but you can not expect to be moving it around. The steel casing, however, provides a rigid and solid feeling, which is welcome.

The inputs are perfect for beginners and medium level users. All the features work perfectly and it is very useful to have manual controllers at the front to manage volumes, input signal, etc. The phantom option for microphones is another key point, as well as the high impedance input for those of us trying to start recording guitars with plugins.

I bought this interface looking for something to start recording, not something specially cheap, with all the necessary features, and either massively expensive. Therefore, I just can say it is all I expected.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
perfect
fl gp, 02.10.2017
it is the ideal thing for home recording.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Decent piece of hardware
snufkin, 07.09.2017
I use it daily with Yamaha PX5 and custom made passive speakers, as an interface for flac files playback.
I feel a little hunger for high frequency reproduction especially on low volume - i compared this device with Yamaha MG10XU and i prefer Yamaha. Also, get external power supply instead of relying on PC to power this up.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Steinberg UR22 MK2
Lijo, 14.02.2019
Good Audio Interface... Sound is very good..built quality is very good..thanks Thomann...
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great Interface for Ipad or computer
Jonathan G. 504, 04.01.2016
I bought this on a whim primarily to record using Cubasis on the ipad. I must say that this does an excellent job in this regard. It makes getting sound into and out of the ipad a very easy affair. There are only 2 criticisms that I have
1) There is no way to power the ipad from the interface. That would have been nice to have, especially as you have to power the interface separately so I would have thought it would have been quite a simple step to send power through to the ipad. Having said that, a fully charged ipad will give you hours of studio time so it's not too much of a headache (just make sure you have a fully charged ipad before you begin your recording session).
2) The headphone output is not very loud. It's good enough, but I do prefer headphones to be driven with more output.

The interface also works well on computer too (although I have that covered with Roland Octacapture, but it's good to have a standby).

In conclusion, a very useful device for hooking up to the ipad for occasional use.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Excellent quality soundcard
21.12.2016
Sturdy chassis, excellent sound quality for the price, and easy to install and work with. Good build quality and easy to install drivers. The only downside is the Cubase software that accompanies the soundcard, which is somewhat difficult to install and make work properly. There are better solutions for DAW software out there, in my opinion.

But the soundcard itself is high quality and a good piece of hardware.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Works great on Windows 7
24.02.2016
I've had no problems with it while recording into Presonus Studio One or Reaper.

There's no detectable latency when I connect my guitar into one of the inputs and output the signal from the UR22 to my amplifier in real time, using Guitar Rig for processing the signal.

The preamps have good gain, if you're recording VERY quiet sources with low output microphones maybe you'll need something like a Fethead or Cloudlifter though, cos' the preamps are a little bit noisy when at 90%-100% gain.

The headphone output is a bit weak, that is the only bad thing I can say about this interface. Probably the best interface at this price point.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Good Interface / Great feature set for the price
sbusso, 17.05.2017
After trying the Focusrite Solo and Roland Capture EX, the UR22 is a clear winner for recording voice over. Sound is clearer / cleaner, and it has all the features expected from an interface at this price range, for a price equivalent or lower than the 2 others. What was missing on the 2 others and I really appreciate with this one, the volume control for headphones independent from the output volume and a power switch ! Drivers work good on mac.

I dont use them but it also has 2 midi interfaces like in the more expensive Roland unit.

So full feature set, excellent sound quality, perfect box for the price, I dont see any cons.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Very nice and usable interface
Joe H, 28.12.2018
For the price point - surprsingly good.
I do own a much more expensive UAD interface, with better preamps and AD/DA conversion, and much wider set of features.
I use the Steinberg at home, and for its price - it's just great.
Pros:
-usable mic amps and headphone outputs.
-Cubase software
-Midi interface
-Stable
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Excellent Interface
Trubshaw, 27.05.2019
Not the most expensive piece of kit but well worth the money - good features and connectivity. Great sound. Includes access to free download of DAW software that is easy o use and does nearly everything you need as a beginner with frequent updates. I got this becasue of other reviews and they weren;t wrong. Very happy - so is my son and his music technician teacher.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Steinberg UR22 MK2

$107 €96.64
Plus $33.37 shipping

The price in USD is a guideline price only!

Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
gb
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Online Guides
Computer Based Studios
Computer Based Studios
This article will look at how to integrate a computer into different studio environments, and will highlight the issues of functionality and connectivity.
Online Guides
Recording E-Guitars
Recording E-Guitars
Our aim is to explain the basic process of recording the electric guitar!
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
(8)
Recently Viewed
Behringer K-2

Analog semi-modular synthesizer Monophonic sound generation, 2 VCOs with 4 waveforms and ring modulation, VCO Mixer, Resonant high-pass and low-pass filters, LFO with triangular, sawtooth and rectangular waveforms, 2 Analog envelopes for VCA and VCF, Signal processor with amplifier,...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Zoom F6

14-Track Multitrack Field Recorder 32-Bit float recording via dual AD converter, 6 Inputs with XLR / TRS combo jacks, Compact and lightweight aluminium housing, High-quality microphone preamps with up to 75 dB gain, Noise: -127 dBu (A weight, gain...

Recently Viewed
Mooer Tone Capture GTR

EQ Sampler for Pickup Guitars Allows you to record the sound and tonal character of any guitar, Can be used as an EQ effects pedal without a sampler, 7 Built-in presets for EQ settings and saved guitar sounds, Awitchable...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Fender SQ LTD Bullet Strat TTQ

Electric Guitar Limited edition, Body: Poplar, Neck: Maple, Fretboard: Indian Laurel, Neck profile: C neck profile, Scale: 648 mm, Fretboard radius: 241 mm, Nut width: 42 mm, 21 Medium jumbo frets, Pickups: 3 Single coils, Standard synchronised tremolo, 5-Way...

Recently Viewed
Sony WF-1000XM3 Black

In-Ear Bluetooth Earphones Truly wireless, Wireless via Bluetooth, Optimisation of digital music files with DSEE HX, HD processor QN1e for noise reduction, Ergonomic tri-hold structure, Google Assistant, 6 mm Driver - dome (copper voice coil), Frequency range 20 -...

Recently Viewed
Thomann DP-51 WH

Thomann DP-51 WH Digital Piano - 88 weighted hammer action keys with three sensors, 40 sounds, polyphony 128 notes, 50 styles, 60 songs, reverb, chorus, sequencer, dual-mode, split-mode, metronome, Master EQ, transpose function, speaker system 2x 15W, 3x pedals, USB...

(2)
Recently Viewed
Yamaha PSS-A50

Keyboard 37 Velocity-sensitive slim keys, 32 Voice polyphony, 42 Voices (instruments), 138 Arpeggio types, Phrase Recorder, Motion effect, USB MIDI connection, Battery and USB bus power supply (USB power adapter sold separately), 1.4 W speaker, Headphone jack, USB to...

Recently Viewed
iZotope Ozone 9 Standard EDU

iZotope Ozone 9 Standard EDU (ESD); mastering software; Educational version (requires proof of eligibility); compact mastering toolkit with numerous editing possibilities; Master Assistant helps get to a logical starting point by using the sonic profile of the audio; choose from...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Roland MC-707

Roland MC-707; Groovebox; ZEN-Core Sound Engine with up to 128 voices polyphony; 8 parts; 8-track sequencer with 128 steps maximum; 16 clips per sequencer track; up to 8 Loop tracks with Time Stretch and Pitch Shift; 3000 preset tones and...

Recently Viewed
Fender Squier LTD Bullet Mustang HH S

Electric Guitar Limited edition, Body: Poplar, One-piece neck: Maple, Fretboard: Indian Laurel (Laurel), Neck profile: C-shape, Scale length: 610 mm, Nut width: 42 mm, 22 Medium jumbo frets, Pickups: 2 Dual humbuckers, 1 x Volume and 1 x tone...

(4)
Recently Viewed
Mooer GE150 Amp Modelling & Multi

Mooer GE150 Amp Modelling & Multi Effects; multi-effects processor; 55 high-quality amp models from the Micro Preamp series; 26 different default cabinet simulations (IRs); supports 3rd party impulse responses (IRs, 2048 pts.); in 10 free user presets; 40 drum rhythms...

Recently Viewed
Yamaha PSS-F30

Keyboard 37 Mini keys, 32 Voice polyphony, 120 Voices (instruments), 114 Styles and Smart Chord Function, 30 Songs, Free digital songbook, Various functions (sustain, metronome and more!), Power supply via battery or USB bus (USB power adapter sold separately),...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.