Steinberg UR22 MK2

1043 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.6 /5
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
I would highly recommend it!
Orestesguitar, 29.12.2020
I bought that audio interface about 4 years ago and I've also recommended it to many friends/relatives /studentsw who are into DIY recording.
Really really reliable ,built like a tank ,decent preamps!Overall really happy with the purchase.At that pricepoint its the only choice for me!
The main competition does not have the MIDI I/O option .So yeah, defintely dig this!
Pros: Built like a tank, decent preamps, ideal for home recording, easy to use plug and play (unlike some cheaper interfaces which are plug and pray).
Cons: The only con for me is not having more outputs if you wanna use two sets of speakers for example.But at htat pricpepoint there is no other interface with more than 2 L/R outputs.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Good cheap interface
Priidik, 01.05.2020
For the price it is easily 5 star worthy product. I've used it for more than 2 years, here are my thoughts:

Cons:
- One annoyance is the driver as I haven't managed to get it to automatically follow the input bandwitch (44.1k; 88.2k etć).
- The headphone output has some 100 ohm resistor in series for presumably protection, but it degrades the sound a bit.
- The Cirrus Logic dac-adc codec inside is a bit dated, sounds dull but at the same time not offensive in any way. Sound quality is about on bar with better audiophile smartphones.

Pros:
-Very sturdy and compact, good to throw into a backback without concerns
- Mic pres sound very good, (tbh, it is from memory comparison of RME FF400)
- Value for money is high
- Uses 'vintage' JRC audio opamps inside that, while not impressive in spec, manage to sound nice

TL:DR
Output sound is good for the price.
Mic pres are very good.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Awesome product
Novatune, 10.11.2020
I have been using it for 1 month now and its working really good . no lags or issues with it so far
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
German and Japanese Class
BrightLight, 09.07.2020
Maybe it is because I am new to this but what a revelation it has been using the Steinberg UR22 mkII. The clarity of the sound is out of this world and the longterm gain unmeasurable. This is solid hardware, and the combination with Yamaha makes it even sweeter.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Good soundcard
Karl Õmblus, 16.11.2020
Good interface, better than I excpected at this price point.

Pro:
*) Sound quality
*) Easy front panel.

Cons:
*) included driver is old and buggy.
*) Power led is wery bright. Had put sticker on it.

I had random pops in sound every other minute and spent hours of debugging. After downloading new driver from homepage, all problems went away.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Sturdy casing, very good pre-amps
Windgunner, 02.06.2019
Seeing various options regarding 2-channel USB interfaces, one might become hesitant to choose which one to purchase. My shot went to Steinberg, mainly because I knew they've had a long run in the audio business and thought they would have a reputation to maintain, seeing as the are one of the biggest names out there.

It's one of the cheapest options, the casing is almost indestructible (mine has already had two encounters with the ground and is as good as new). The pres are very good, they don't color the sound in any way that I can tell and the AD/DA converters are as good, capable of very high sampling rates.

Never had any problems with my unit.

On features I only gave it 4 stars because there is no Hi-Z switch on channel 1, which would have been nice, meaning you would have to get a DI to record two instruments with mono jack outputs.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
just what i expected from a known brand.
NicolaBH, 04.07.2020
I use this interface to plug my guitar amp into my desktop pc. With the front controls i can easily switch between sending the output to my speakers or listening on my headphones only.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
i like it
Bazk9, 11.02.2020
item arrived quickly and as described, i had a little trouble with some noise when listening through the headphones port of this device, but it was a software / drivers issue, few minutes on google and the item is perfect
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Works out of the box
Angelo Martino, 12.05.2020
Works very well, I use it to record my guitar and never had any problems, driver support is fantastic, many who had the Focusrite competitor had problems with the audio driver, I'm on Linux and it worked out of the box! Amazing, you plug it in with a USB cable and it works, fast, compact, beautiful.

The only cons I would pick it's when you have to move it to another place, you have to be careful handling it especially when posing, even if you drop it by a very little it will sound like you broke something, scared me.

Overall it's a really good product and the price is good!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
best buy
Club27, 13.03.2020
Very good and high-quality product. Ideal for home studio. High quality preamps and good dynamic range. Stable operation throughout the use and strong appearance. I recommend to buy.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Excellent Interface
Trubshaw, 27.05.2019
Not the most expensive piece of kit but well worth the money - good features and connectivity. Great sound. Includes access to free download of DAW software that is easy o use and does nearly everything you need as a beginner with frequent updates. I got this becasue of other reviews and they weren;t wrong. Very happy - so is my son and his music technician teacher.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Dimitar Bakardzhiev, 05.02.2019
A good solid build(all metal casing) it has quite a heft to it, easy connectivity with my PC. Installed the drivers and firmware and i was ready to go. Come with nice software as well.
I still haven't checked out all of the functionalities (the inputs)
but as far as the sound quality goes i am very happy with the purchase
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great budget interface
Emil O, 20.01.2018
The UR22 MKii packs a powerful punch in a small, robust package.
It's very easy to take with you on the go without having to worry about it getting damaged. It also looks pretty sleek.

The D-Pre pre-amps by Yamaha have a clean sound and go all the way up to 60 dB, although as with all interfaces, you'll definitely notice the noise when cranking the gain all the way up.
The line input sounds nice too and isn't nearly as susceptible to clipping as other similarly priced interfaces that I've tried.

The knobs are very sturdy and feel great. The monitoring mixing knob even has a stop about halfway through in between the input and the playback.
As far as handling goes, I haven't had any issues with latency whatsoever but an annoying issue I do have is that when I switch the phantom power on or off, the entire interface locks up for about 2 to 3 seconds, meaning that I'm unable to hear anything for a few seconds.

When it comes to monitoring, I mainly use headphones (Sony MDR7506) and I'm perfectly happy with the amount of gain but it might be worth looking into a separate headphone amp when using pairs with higher impedances.
Coming from the Focusrite 2i4 and the Zoom U24, I do find myself missing the option to output to both TRS and RCA, but I can't blame Steinberg for that. Hopefully that'll be included in a future iteration.

In short, if you're looking for a great budget interface, I'm happy to say that this one won't disappoint you.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great
Windowlicker, 10.07.2020
Gets the job done, very robustly made, very straight forward and after 2 years of use not one isue whatsoever. I recommend it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great product good value for money
Andrew822, 03.01.2018
Its a nice weighty desktop designed box that is metal construction. All the input jacks and knobs are plastic but fine. I chose this product mainly as it comes with a free with Cubase AI as a download and out of all the DAW's Cubase is my preference. It does offer an update to Cubase Elements for a further ¤50 Bit cheeky of them to try and sell you something else. Another good point is the fact that its portable so handy if you want to use it on a laptop for example in another location. I did have a bit of trouble installing it on my PC but the solution was to simply change to a different USB input on my PC and it worked with out an issue from then on. I noticed the device Volume output is a bit lower than expected and I had to turn up my amp to get it as loud as I needed. No noise or interference from this unit and thats the main thing really. So mic preamps are nice and quiet. Its also handy having the HI-Z on input 2 for your direct guitar input. This comes in handy when using a DAW's Guitar or Bass amplifier simulators. Although a dedicated external amp or device is recommended from me. Great product and good value for money.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Solid!
John paul jones, 20.02.2020
in use since since 3 years, very good piece of gear.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
high performance with good cost
souz, 05.12.2019
This product should stay on top considering the cost in use. Quite close to border of pro quality (expensive) series.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Steinberg UR22 MK2
Lijo, 14.02.2019
Good Audio Interface... Sound is very good..built quality is very good..thanks Thomann...
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Amazing Preamps.
wedran84, 19.10.2020
Best for that money. Preamps are very good.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Best audio interface for any user level
manug1818, 22.08.2018
I must say I am a beginner in terms of music production.

First of all, the device comes with everything ready. It is very easy to install and start using it. The license included for CUBASE it is awesome. The device itself is heavy, not difficult to handle it... but you can not expect to be moving it around. The steel casing, however, provides a rigid and solid feeling, which is welcome.

The inputs are perfect for beginners and medium level users. All the features work perfectly and it is very useful to have manual controllers at the front to manage volumes, input signal, etc. The phantom option for microphones is another key point, as well as the high impedance input for those of us trying to start recording guitars with plugins.

I bought this interface looking for something to start recording, not something specially cheap, with all the necessary features, and either massively expensive. Therefore, I just can say it is all I expected.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Jack Rock, 04.03.2018
I use it for my home recording studio and it does the job great. Bought it mostly to use it with my Rode NT1-A, and it's a great pair. I have previously used a M-Audio FastTrack Pro, and this feels way better.

The materials used are high quality, and I like that it has a metal housing.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Nice interface - awesome sound!
Ilko Iliev, 02.04.2019
Nice, sturdy interface. Works well with iPad as well. The reason I gave it 4 stars on features is because it is not a true stereo interface. If you use a stereo source like a keyboard, you cannot separate left from right channels because both inputs are centered. You can only do it from your DAW.
As far as quality, every now and then I experience short audio cuts which I think is due to the drivers. I tun Windows 10 and I have gone through all steps of optimizing my PC and OS for music production but I think this is due to drivers.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Good quiality audio interface
Svett, 01.08.2019
It's a very good value audio interface. Everything is tight and nice working.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Decent piece of hardware
snufkin, 07.09.2017
I use it daily with Yamaha PX5 and custom made passive speakers, as an interface for flac files playback.
I feel a little hunger for high frequency reproduction especially on low volume - i compared this device with Yamaha MG10XU and i prefer Yamaha. Also, get external power supply instead of relying on PC to power this up.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Awesome
Morning Conjacket, 13.04.2018
I was serching the net, looking for a budget usb audio interface and after quite a while until I stumbeled on this gem.

I use it almost every day on demo recordings. It deals with guitar, bass, keys and microphones with no problems. The software I use is mainly fl studio and Cubase and it is super easy to set the UR22 up.

The build quality is superb. It's nice and heavy with no jiggly plastic bits.

From my experience (about a year now) I can say only positive things, and I would definietly recommend it
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Steinberg UR22 MK2

$131 €108.40
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.

The price in USD is a guideline price only!

Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Online Guides
Computer Based Studios
Computer Based Studios
This article will look at how to integrate a computer into different studio environments, and will highlight the issues of functionality and connectivity.
Online Guides
Recording E-Guitars
Recording E-Guitars
Our aim is to explain the basic process of recording the electric guitar!
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
(1)
Recently Viewed
1010music bluebox

Portable digital 12-channel audio mixer and recorder 12 Mono or 6 stereo tracks can be mixed live or already recorded tracks, Independent routing of each track to any combination of three stereo outputs, In mixer mode parameters for several...

Recently Viewed
the t.bone SC 425 USB Desktop-Set

the t.bone SC 425 USB Desktop-Set; USB Studio large diaphragm microphone with USB connection; no additional drivers required; controls for Microphone Gain and Headphone volume; polar pattern: cardioid; frequency response: 30Hz - 18KHz; sensitivity: 25 mV/Pa; max. SPL: 140dB (at...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Behringer 110 VCO/VCF/VCA

Behringer 110 VCO/VCF/VCA; Eurorack module; analog synthesizer voice; VCO with Triangle, Sawtooth and Pulse waveforms, adjustable pulsewidth with CV input, octave switch and fine-tune control, 2 CV inputs with attenuators; Lowpass filter with resonance, 2 signal inputs and 2 CV...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Arturia MiniLab MKII Orange Edition

Arturia MiniLab MKII Orange Edition; USB Controller Keyboard; 25 Mini-Keys velocity sensitive; 16 rotary encoders (2 of them are clickable); 2 banks of 8 Pads velocity & pressure sensitive with RGB backlighting; Touchstrips for Pitchbend and Modulation; Sustain Pedal Connection;...

Recently Viewed
iZotope Everything Bdl CG MPS4/RX8 Adv

iZotope Everything Bundle Crossgrade Music Production Suite 4 / RX 8 Advanced (ESD); software bundle; crossgrades iZotope Music Production Suite 4 or RX 8 Advanced to Everything Bundle; suitable for all studio applications and tasks; offers numerous creative effects, mixing...

Recently Viewed
Rode Vlogger Kit Universal

Rode Vlogger Kit Universal; mobile filmmaker kit; consisting of: VideoMicro, MicroLED, Tripod 2, SmartGrip, DCS-1 and Rycote Lyre Shock Mount; directional condenser microphone for connection to smartphones with 3.5mm jack; polar pattern: cardioid; angle: 90°; frequency response: 100Hz - 20kHz;...

(5)
Recently Viewed
EVO 8

4 in / 4 out USB audio interface EVO software monitor mixer, Smartgain, Loopback function, Conversion: 24 bit, 44.1 - 96 kHz, 113 dB dynamic range AD / DA, 4 High quality microphone preamplifiers with 58 dB gain, 4...

Recently Viewed
SKB iSeries Blackmagic ATEM Mini

SKB iSeries Blackmagic ATEM Mini/Mini Pro, 3i-1006-3atm, waterproof polypropylene copolymer resin case for Blackmagic ATEM Mini/ATEM Mini Pro and accessories, foam padded,Resistant to UV, solvents, corrosion, fungus, and impact damage (MIL-STD 810G), dimensions (LxHxW) exterior 298 x 98 x 203...

Recently Viewed
Behringer 305 EQ/Mixer/Output

Behringer 305 EQ/Mixer/Output; Eurorack module; 4-channel mixer with signal input, volume slider and panorama control for each channel; 4-band parametric mono EQ (normalised to mixer input 1) with bypass switch; output section with switchable tuning oscillator (220Hz, 440Hz, 880Hz), Master...

Recently Viewed
Rode Vlogger Kit USB-C

Rode Vlogger Kit USB-C; mobile filmmaker set; consisting of: VideoMic Me-C, Tripod 2, SmartGrip and MicroLED; directional condenser microphone for smartphones with USB Type-C connector; polar pattern: cardioid; angle: 90°; frequency response: 20Hz - 20kHz; max. SPL: 115dB; integrated 3.5mm...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Tascam US-2x2HR

2-Channel USB 2.0 Audio Interface 24-Bit / 192 kHz, 2 Microphone inputs with Ultra-HDDA microphone preamps with low, Inherent-noise (Input: -125 dBu): XLR, balanced, 2 Line outputs: 6.3 mm jack, balanced, Stereo headphone output: 6.3 mm jack, MIDI I...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Manfrotto MVKBFRT-LIVE Befree Alu Tripod

Manfrotto MVKBFRT-LIVE Befree Aluminium Tripod Twist with Video Head; camera tripod set consisting of tripod, fluid video head and bag; most compact travel video tripod especially designed for mobile journalists and vloggers; suitable for DSLRs, compact system cameras or small...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.