Steinberg UR22 MK2

898 Customer Ratings:
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.6 /5
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Good cheap interface
Priidik, 01.05.2020
For the price it is easily 5 star worthy product. I've used it for more than 2 years, here are my thoughts:

Cons:
- One annoyance is the driver as I haven't managed to get it to automatically follow the input bandwitch (44.1k; 88.2k etć).
- The headphone output has some 100 ohm resistor in series for presumably protection, but it degrades the sound a bit.
- The Cirrus Logic dac-adc codec inside is a bit dated, sounds dull but at the same time not offensive in any way. Sound quality is about on bar with better audiophile smartphones.

Pros:
-Very sturdy and compact, good to throw into a backback without concerns
- Mic pres sound very good, (tbh, it is from memory comparison of RME FF400)
- Value for money is high
- Uses 'vintage' JRC audio opamps inside that, while not impressive in spec, manage to sound nice

TL:DR
Output sound is good for the price.
Mic pres are very good.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
just what i expected from a known brand.
NicolaBH, 04.07.2020
I use this interface to plug my guitar amp into my desktop pc. With the front controls i can easily switch between sending the output to my speakers or listening on my headphones only.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
i like it
Bazk9, 11.02.2020
item arrived quickly and as described, i had a little trouble with some noise when listening through the headphones port of this device, but it was a software / drivers issue, few minutes on google and the item is perfect
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Works out of the box
Angelo Martino, 12.05.2020
Works very well, I use it to record my guitar and never had any problems, driver support is fantastic, many who had the Focusrite competitor had problems with the audio driver, I'm on Linux and it worked out of the box! Amazing, you plug it in with a USB cable and it works, fast, compact, beautiful.

The only cons I would pick it's when you have to move it to another place, you have to be careful handling it especially when posing, even if you drop it by a very little it will sound like you broke something, scared me.

Overall it's a really good product and the price is good!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
best buy
Club27, 13.03.2020
Very good and high-quality product. Ideal for home studio. High quality preamps and good dynamic range. Stable operation throughout the use and strong appearance. I recommend to buy.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Sturdy casing, very good pre-amps
Windgunner, 02.06.2019
Seeing various options regarding 2-channel USB interfaces, one might become hesitant to choose which one to purchase. My shot went to Steinberg, mainly because I knew they've had a long run in the audio business and thought they would have a reputation to maintain, seeing as the are one of the biggest names out there.

It's one of the cheapest options, the casing is almost indestructible (mine has already had two encounters with the ground and is as good as new). The pres are very good, they don't color the sound in any way that I can tell and the AD/DA converters are as good, capable of very high sampling rates.

Never had any problems with my unit.

On features I only gave it 4 stars because there is no Hi-Z switch on channel 1, which would have been nice, meaning you would have to get a DI to record two instruments with mono jack outputs.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great product good value for money
Andrew822, 03.01.2018
Its a nice weighty desktop designed box that is metal construction. All the input jacks and knobs are plastic but fine. I chose this product mainly as it comes with a free with Cubase AI as a download and out of all the DAW's Cubase is my preference. It does offer an update to Cubase Elements for a further ¤50 Bit cheeky of them to try and sell you something else. Another good point is the fact that its portable so handy if you want to use it on a laptop for example in another location. I did have a bit of trouble installing it on my PC but the solution was to simply change to a different USB input on my PC and it worked with out an issue from then on. I noticed the device Volume output is a bit lower than expected and I had to turn up my amp to get it as loud as I needed. No noise or interference from this unit and thats the main thing really. So mic preamps are nice and quiet. Its also handy having the HI-Z on input 2 for your direct guitar input. This comes in handy when using a DAW's Guitar or Bass amplifier simulators. Although a dedicated external amp or device is recommended from me. Great product and good value for money.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
high performance with good cost
souz, 05.12.2019
This product should stay on top considering the cost in use. Quite close to border of pro quality (expensive) series.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Very functional interface
camatheson, 16.05.2020
I've been using this in my home studio for a while now, and it's been excellent. It does just what I need with my Macbook and Cubase without any fuss. The only odd thing I've noticed is that the knob which mixes the input sound with the DAW seems to make the input mono - not a big problem normally as I always listen via the DAW, but I was puzzled for a while when auditioning some inputs.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Really high quality and great sound response.
gidi.santos, 10.01.2019
I bought this interface for simple home recording of string instruments, i am really impressed with the whole construction. Nice and heavy metal case with solid buttons, looks like it will last for many years. Sound response is great and really easy to use with my laptop.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great budget interface
Emil O, 20.01.2018
The UR22 MKii packs a powerful punch in a small, robust package.
It's very easy to take with you on the go without having to worry about it getting damaged. It also looks pretty sleek.

The D-Pre pre-amps by Yamaha have a clean sound and go all the way up to 60 dB, although as with all interfaces, you'll definitely notice the noise when cranking the gain all the way up.
The line input sounds nice too and isn't nearly as susceptible to clipping as other similarly priced interfaces that I've tried.

The knobs are very sturdy and feel great. The monitoring mixing knob even has a stop about halfway through in between the input and the playback.
As far as handling goes, I haven't had any issues with latency whatsoever but an annoying issue I do have is that when I switch the phantom power on or off, the entire interface locks up for about 2 to 3 seconds, meaning that I'm unable to hear anything for a few seconds.

When it comes to monitoring, I mainly use headphones (Sony MDR7506) and I'm perfectly happy with the amount of gain but it might be worth looking into a separate headphone amp when using pairs with higher impedances.
Coming from the Focusrite 2i4 and the Zoom U24, I do find myself missing the option to output to both TRS and RCA, but I can't blame Steinberg for that. Hopefully that'll be included in a future iteration.

In short, if you're looking for a great budget interface, I'm happy to say that this one won't disappoint you.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Best audio interface for any user level
manug1818, 22.08.2018
I must say I am a beginner in terms of music production.

First of all, the device comes with everything ready. It is very easy to install and start using it. The license included for CUBASE it is awesome. The device itself is heavy, not difficult to handle it... but you can not expect to be moving it around. The steel casing, however, provides a rigid and solid feeling, which is welcome.

The inputs are perfect for beginners and medium level users. All the features work perfectly and it is very useful to have manual controllers at the front to manage volumes, input signal, etc. The phantom option for microphones is another key point, as well as the high impedance input for those of us trying to start recording guitars with plugins.

I bought this interface looking for something to start recording, not something specially cheap, with all the necessary features, and either massively expensive. Therefore, I just can say it is all I expected.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Jack Rock, 04.03.2018
I use it for my home recording studio and it does the job great. Bought it mostly to use it with my Rode NT1-A, and it's a great pair. I have previously used a M-Audio FastTrack Pro, and this feels way better.

The materials used are high quality, and I like that it has a metal housing.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Solid!
John paul jones, 20.02.2020
in use since since 3 years, very good piece of gear.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Nice interface - awesome sound!
Ilko Iliev, 02.04.2019
Nice, sturdy interface. Works well with iPad as well. The reason I gave it 4 stars on features is because it is not a true stereo interface. If you use a stereo source like a keyboard, you cannot separate left from right channels because both inputs are centered. You can only do it from your DAW.
As far as quality, every now and then I experience short audio cuts which I think is due to the drivers. I tun Windows 10 and I have gone through all steps of optimizing my PC and OS for music production but I think this is due to drivers.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Decent piece of hardware
snufkin, 07.09.2017
I use it daily with Yamaha PX5 and custom made passive speakers, as an interface for flac files playback.
I feel a little hunger for high frequency reproduction especially on low volume - i compared this device with Yamaha MG10XU and i prefer Yamaha. Also, get external power supply instead of relying on PC to power this up.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Awesome
Morning Conjacket, 13.04.2018
I was serching the net, looking for a budget usb audio interface and after quite a while until I stumbeled on this gem.

I use it almost every day on demo recordings. It deals with guitar, bass, keys and microphones with no problems. The software I use is mainly fl studio and Cubase and it is super easy to set the UR22 up.

The build quality is superb. It's nice and heavy with no jiggly plastic bits.

From my experience (about a year now) I can say only positive things, and I would definietly recommend it
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
The best
erossini, 05.07.2018
The best interface for the price!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
SOLID!!!
mk22, 29.10.2019
The best for its price.
Top quality and easy to hande with.
Sound's great.
Would highly recommend to buy one.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Absolutely the best interface bellow 150¤!
F.ertah, 19.03.2019
If you're a guitar player, bass player, singer or anything in-between, Steinberg UR22 MK2 will find a place in your setup! It is the best choice for starting your home studio. I am using it to record bass guitar and the result is pretty good. I also use a condenser mic for on my cabinet, and with UR22 phantom power, I have absolutely no problems. If you're fiddling with electronic music, this interface lets you send and receive MIDI, so you can MIDI sync your external synths and rhythm machines to your DAW, or maybe you just have a MIDI controller that doesn't have USB but it has 5 pin MIDI connectors. This interface does it all.
It is small, lightweight and powerful! Not to mention the very affordable price!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Excellent, value-for-money interface
Berlin Music Maker, 18.08.2019
This is an excellent unit, with a good feel to the knobs and buttons. I haven't had any problems with this at all and the sound quality is perfectly fine for my (non-professional) use, recording both instruments and voice.

It works great with my 2 DAWs - StudioOne and Logic Pro - and the lights are not too bright and distracting - important when it sits in a public space in my home.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great Interface for Ipad or computer
Jonathan G. 504, 04.01.2016
I bought this on a whim primarily to record using Cubasis on the ipad. I must say that this does an excellent job in this regard. It makes getting sound into and out of the ipad a very easy affair. There are only 2 criticisms that I have
1) There is no way to power the ipad from the interface. That would have been nice to have, especially as you have to power the interface separately so I would have thought it would have been quite a simple step to send power through to the ipad. Having said that, a fully charged ipad will give you hours of studio time so it's not too much of a headache (just make sure you have a fully charged ipad before you begin your recording session).
2) The headphone output is not very loud. It's good enough, but I do prefer headphones to be driven with more output.

The interface also works well on computer too (although I have that covered with Roland Octacapture, but it's good to have a standby).

In conclusion, a very useful device for hooking up to the ipad for occasional use.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Good Interface / Great feature set for the price
sbusso, 17.05.2017
After trying the Focusrite Solo and Roland Capture EX, the UR22 is a clear winner for recording voice over. Sound is clearer / cleaner, and it has all the features expected from an interface at this price range, for a price equivalent or lower than the 2 others. What was missing on the 2 others and I really appreciate with this one, the volume control for headphones independent from the output volume and a power switch ! Drivers work good on mac.

I dont use them but it also has 2 midi interfaces like in the more expensive Roland unit.

So full feature set, excellent sound quality, perfect box for the price, I dont see any cons.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Brilliant Interface
Cian_P, 26.09.2019
The interface is a brilliant easy to use interface. I am using it in a little home studio set up and is perfect for that. Sound quality is immaculate and the set up was simple.

One problem i had was a high pitched interference every now and then, all that needed to be done was to install the latest drivers. i had that all fixed within 20 minutes of taking it out of the box.

Overall very happy with the product, would definitely recommend!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Steinberg UR22 MK2
Lijo, 14.02.2019
Good Audio Interface... Sound is very good..built quality is very good..thanks Thomann...
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Steinberg UR22 MK2

$123 €108.62
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.

The price in USD is a guideline price only!

In stock within 6-8 weeks
In stock within 6-8 weeks

This item is expected back in stock soon and can then be shipped immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Online Guides
Computer Based Studios
Computer Based Studios
This article will look at how to integrate a computer into different studio environments, and will highlight the issues of functionality and connectivity.
Online Guides
Recording E-Guitars
Recording E-Guitars
Our aim is to explain the basic process of recording the electric guitar!
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
(73)
Recently Viewed
Presonus AudioBox USB 96 Black

USB Interface 2 x 2 USB 2.0 interface 24-bit / 96 kHz, 2 Mic / instrument inputs: XLR combo jack, 2 Line outputs: 6.3 mm jack balanced, MIDI input and output, Stereo headphone output: 6.3 mm jack, USB 2.0...

Recently Viewed
beyerdynamic Phonum

beyerdynamic Phonum; speakerphone for conference calls via internet; Bluetooth technology for more freedom of movement; USB connection as a secondary interface; range up to 10 m; runtime of rechargeable battery < 12 hrs; audio codec: Low Complexity Subband Codec (SBC);...

Recently Viewed
American Audio DB Display MKII

American Audio DB Display MKII; Designed to set in an amp rack to view your decibel level; Creates a great light show in your amp rack; Display progresses from green through amber to red; Sensitivity adjustment on both left and...

Recently Viewed
Marshall Stockwell II Black

Marshall Stockwell II Black Bluetooth Speaker, 2x 10 W Woofer, 2x 5W Tweeter, class D amplifier, bluetooth 5.0, Multi-Host-Funktion (simply switch between two bluetooth devices), frequency 60-20000 Hz, input: 1x 3,5mm stereo jack, controls: volume, bass & treble, upt to...

Recently Viewed
Zoom G 11 Guitar Multi Effect

Multi-Effects Processor for Electric Guitar Integrated pedalboard with separate amplifier control panel, 5 foot switches and one expression/volume pedal, Coloured LCD touchscreen surface with drag-and-drop and swipe functionality for simple and quick operation, Effects chains with up to 9...

(1)
Recently Viewed
LAVA Music ME 2 Freeboost BL

Compact Steel String Guitar with Pickup Ideal as a travel guitar, With FreeBoost technology: Uses the back of the LAVA ME guitar as a speaker - reverb, Delay and chorus effects can be played without an amplifier, One-piece, injection...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Behringer CP1A

Behringer CP1A; power supply module for Eurorack systems; LED indicators for +12V, -12V and +5V rails; connectors for 2 flying bus boards; power rating: 1A (+12V) / 1A (-12V) / 0.5A (+5V); width: 4 HP; depth: 52mm: including: external power...

Recently Viewed
Nura nuraloop

Nura nuraloop bluetooth in-ear headphone - personalised Sound, 16+ hours wireless battery, Active Noise Cancellation, Social Mode, TouchDial controls, Wireless and wired, aptX HD Bluetooth® 5, Sweat resistant, Voice calls, Automatic on/off, In the box: 1x NuraLoop, 1x analog cable,...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Behringer MIC2200 V2

Behringer MIC 2200 V2 Ultragain Pro - Audiophile Vacuum Tube Microphone/Line Preamplifier; 2-channel; wide bandwidth from 10 Hz to 200 kHz for "open" sound; switchable 48V phantom power; Integrated fully parametric EQs with dedicated center frequency, bandwidth and level controls;...

Recently Viewed
Turbosound TS-12W350/8W

Turbosound TS-12W350/8W, 12" Woofer, 8 Ohms, 350 Watts RMS, 1400 Watt Peak, 61 Hz - 3 kHz, SPL: 95 dB (1 W / 1 m), Rigid aluminum die-cast frame, Mounting hole diameter: 299 mm (11.77"), Overall Diameter: 316 mm (12.44"),...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Source Audio SA 270 - One Series EQ2

Source Audio SA 270 - One Series EQ2 Programmable Equalizer; 10-band equalizer effects pedal, 10 adjustable frequency bands ranging from 31 Hz to 16 kHz with +/- 18 dB boost/cut for each band, parametric equalization capabilities to adjust the frequency...

Recently Viewed
Sennheiser RR 5000

Sennheiser RR 5000 In-Ear wirelesss headphone - attention! no transmitter included! just for extension of RS5000! srechargeable wireless headphone, three different hearing profiles, up to 70 m range, 125 dB SPL, up to 12 h running time, frequency response: 15...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.