Steinberg UR44

301 Customer Ratings:
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.7 / 5.0
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
20 written ratings
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
High quality interface
Markus546, 06.05.2014
The UR44 is the latest edition of Steinberg's line of audio interfaces. It comes with a solid metal case which is suitable for mobile applications as well as for home recording purposes. Installation of the drivers (on a Windows 7 machine) was completely foolproof, an the drivers work well for ASIO-applications as well as in the Windows environment.

The four high-quality mic preamps have their dedicated gain control knobs on the front, phantom power can be switched on in pairs. The only hardware level control is a peak LED for each channel, but there is a software mixer which has level meters, mute and solo switches and many other useful things. In this mixer you can also add reverb and compression to your latency-free direct monitor mixes.

The interface was easily integrated into my desktop recording environment. The only thing that one might be missing are digital in- and outputs which you can find on some other products in this price range. Apart from that, it's a very good deal.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Worth the money
20.04.2016
I'm using the Steinberg UR44 in my home audio remix and mastering studio. I had the Steinberg UR22 for about three years and it did a great job but due to the expansion of my studio, I bought the UR44. The UR44 gave me more routing options with its many in and output slots. The good part is the flexibility from studio to stage or even recording yourself while djing in a club. The sound quality is great but not that woow sort of sound but with the Cubase download version that comes with it, one can create some cutting edge sound. One thing I miss or would suggest is a front audio level meter, in order to exactly see the volume of your mix. The front snake eyes lights when clipping are not that enough sound level informative. When recording eg. a bass guitar with effects from an amp with effects, the sound distort easily but this can be fixed easily with the software included. In live situations, this is a bit tricky though and you might need a computer on stage in order to loop and apply instant effects.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
A satisfied customer :)
AK808, 11.12.2017
I've been using this product for over 2 years now in my home studio, and I'm totally satisfied with it. I read about the features of it at the time of the order, and the product lived up to my expectations.

When I was about to order it I was thinking about buying UR22mkII instead, which is just as good, a smaller version of this. Even a friend recommended it to me. But after all I decided to get the UR44 because of the more inputs (meaning that I can have my digital piano connected to the line inputs on the back at all times, plus I have the four combo inputs on the front for vocals, guitars, etc.), and because of the two headphone outputs (without which I don't know how I could live so far... :) it is just super comfortable to hand a closed headphone to the singer or guitar player, adjust the volume, and then put on my usual open mixing headphones, monitor the play, and make adjustments on the fly).

All in all I am really satisfied with this product, and I eagerly recommend it to anyone who wants to have a solid nice interface in their home studio. :)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great offer
10.03.2017
I'll start with cons. Connections are little bit loose when you connect mic in. It's not sturdy as I hope for. One hint: when you put digital guitar effect in FX suite on one channel then hiss tone or white noise apears. Even if you exit that FX suite hiss sound will continue. You have to take off that efect from channel than it's ok.That's all cons.
It's excellent for home recording studio. It came with FX basic suite - digital mixer and Yamaha digital guitar efects, and the best thing is that it came with Cubase AI.
I also try live recording and it's great. I can connect 4 vocal microphones in connections 1-4. In stereo inputs 5 and 6 i connect mixer with couple instruments, and in Midi input plug keyboard. I can also connect couple of Midi keyboards in USB ports in my computer. Great thing is that all of it is recorded on separated channels in Cubase AI so I can edit later. Only instruments on mixer in inputs 5-6 have to be mixed before.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Steinberg UR44
John T, 04.07.2016
This is a very well made, compact and good quality interface for the money.

I have seen larger and more expensive Steinberg equipment being used over the years and I think they have not relaxed on the build quality for these smaller units.

The features are quite simple but the four mic inputs are of good quality and there are a number of 1/4 input/output jacks on the back of the unit.

I have been using it with microphones and D.I boxes to record guitars and it has performed both these jobs very well.

I have only used this with an older Cubase as my DAW and it integrates very well with it. No hassle with the device not showing up or driver issues etc and they also give you a few plugins to play around with too.

Overall I'm very happy with it. It's a nice little portable interface that you can bring with you or leave on the desktop as it does not take up huge amounts of space.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Versatile and workflow positive
18.01.2016
Bought this UR44 on recomendation... Having migrated from protools 12 to cubase/steinberg I feared a slowdown or 'geographical' problems... Like landing in another country where you have never been before and where you dont speak the language.... After a few hours I was up and running...after a few days I had it all figured out. The Interface itself is where Im most impressed.. Clean noiseless preamps x 4....two headphone mix outputs, with seperate mix capabilities, clean monitored control...just a knob but no issues at all. Its a simple device and no learning curve problems. I was using Digi 001 - the dinosaur, for 12 years extremely happy with results......then upgraded to Avid pro/12... Not happy at all... Crackles.pops...Just like rice crispies....only it was me that went snap.... Steinberg/Cubase is a dream compared to where I was.. I dont use a lot of the midi/sequencing software..just mainly acoustic/mic recording.. Paul.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great Audio Interface
Dojin, 23.10.2019
Steinberg is a leader in DAW Recording and the hardware that comes wiith it. this interface comes with the latest Cubase LE DAW that lets you record and edit music at the highest possible quality. easy to use with lots of options!
highly recommended!!!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Excellent audio interface, low latency, good compatibility
bozy, 29.05.2015
I used USB audio interfaces for quite a while (mostly Roland/Edirol) and I thought nothing can be better. However, UR44 is definitely better than many others in terms of latency and integration with Pro tools (something where Edirol interface had problems). We use the interface for playing straight into DAW (and applying effects when playing) so latency is very important to us. It has no issues so far when plugged into USB 3.0 ports, at least on our laptops; other audio interfaces we got require to plug into USB 2.0. I am definitely recommending this interface, in its price range, of course.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
All in need
ifacoustic, 21.05.2019
Good and solid product.
Works perfectly as multi Input/output for both IOS or MAC OS (didn't try Windows)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great audio card for both iPad and laptop
19.09.2016
Steinberg rulez!
This audio card is great, heavy and robust thanks to the metallic chassis. All connectors are in good quality and knobs are soft and precise.
The connection with iPad is really easy, the device is immediately seen by all my audio apps (GarageBand, Cubasis, and some other "tools" I use to get the audio signal in the iPad).
I mainly use it for home-recording and support audio application on mi iPad.

I would only like to have combo jack/xlr connectors and phantom power on each input channel and then it would be perfect!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Jouriy, 06.06.2015
Steinberg UR44 This is the thing I need.
Until now I have three different sound cards
One of them was expensive one, but I can not compare with the Steinberg UR44
the great thighs on this one is very comfortable on recording guitar and voice.
The DSP on board, make that happened. Thanks to YAMAHA
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
As good as you expected.
30.03.2016
It does exactly what you are expecting. High end quality, quite heavy so it stay firmly on the surface and really good preamps.

Internal tools are useful sometimes but not necesary (dspmixer, channel strip...) Perfect integration with cubase.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
UR44
Albu Cristian, 05.03.2019
Best interface in that price range. Very well built. A lot of features.
Sound quality from D-PRE mic preamps is great!
Together with a Rode NT1A is a good start in home studio recording.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Good
RandomReaper, 25.04.2017
Very good sound in a heavy metal enclosure, almost perfect.

Drivers could be better, as always.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
An excellent interface.
Michael W. 151, 09.03.2015
Very easy to set-up and use and it delivers very clean sound. I had no problems with it and the bundled stuff is very useful too. Highly recommended.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great compact audio and MIDI interface
Tim3275, 29.06.2015
Great units, like the rest of the reviews. I bought it to use with Cubase on the PC and Cubasis on the iPad.
Be sure to update the firmware before installing the rest of the driver software for Cubase.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Steinberg UR44
K.A., 22.10.2018
Firstly, I chose Steinberg because I am a Cubase user and secondly I chose UR44 because of it's outputs. I've connected the main monitors
at the main outputs, the headphone amp at 1-2 line outputs and at 3 my grot box.

I am very satisfied with the build and sound quality of that interface, the integration with Cubase and it's features. Very happy I've got it!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Steinberg UR44
Bereg, 13.05.2019
very good Audio Interface
works fine without delay.
Online connected 4 tool
and midi keyboard-the
This Audio Interface- It's cool.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Steinberg UR44
Tarmo, 24.12.2014
Very impressive, specially the sound quality (pre amps sound and low noise). Design seems very durable, easy to handle. My ipad 3 gets a little bit too weak (cpu overload) if (re)recording 3-4 channels at once and a couple of tracks playbacking. Can't wait to try it out with a deacent computer.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Steinberg UR44
18.01.2017
Acquired for the home studio. Very pleased with the build quality. I liked the mic preamps. The company inspires confidence as well as all of its products.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Steinberg UR44

$244 €222.69
Plus $33 shipping

The price in USD is a guideline price only!

Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
gb
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Test Report
 
 
 
 
 
Online Guides
Computer Based Studios
Computer Based Studios
This article will look at how to integrate a computer into different studio environments, and will highlight the issues of functionality and connectivity.
Online Guides
Recording E-Guitars
Recording E-Guitars
Our aim is to explain the basic process of recording the electric guitar!
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
(8)
Recently Viewed
Behringer Pro-1

Analogue Synthesiser Dual VCO design based on CEM3340, Sawtooth and pulse waveform for VCO A, Sawtooth, Triangle and Pulse waveform for VCO B, Pulse Width Modulation, Noise generator, 24 dB low-pass filter with resonance, 2 ADSR envelopes for VCF...

Recently Viewed
Mackie ProFX12v3

12-Channel mixer 7 Microphone inputs with 3-band EQ, 4 Inserts and 4 one-button compressors, Channels 5-10 have microphone inputs and stereo line inputs, 1x 3.5 mm Stereo jack Line input, 2x4 USB Interface, Built-in GigFX effect unit with 24...

Recently Viewed
Singular Sound Aeros Loop Studio

Singular Sound Aeros Loop Studio; Effects Pedal; 4.3" touch-enabled screen with color coded cues and waveforms; 6 parallel tracks and 6 song parts for a total of 36 distinct loops per song and in simultaneous parallel and sequential looping; Unlimited...

Recently Viewed
Levys Pad. Garm. Leather Strap 3" BK

Strap for electric guitar and electric bass Strap material: Leather, Length adjustment: Ladder adjustment system, Upholstery: Foam, Width: 76 mm, Length adjustable from 94 cm to 130 cm, MSS2 BLK, Colour: Black, Made in Canada

Recently Viewed
Harley Benton PB-20 SBK Standard Series

Electric bass Body: Lime, Screwed neck: Maple, Fretboard: Amaranth, DOT fretboard inlays, Neck profile: Modern "C", Scale: 864 mm, Nut width: 42 mm, 20 Frets, Double-Action truss-rod, Pickup: 1 PB-Style split coil, 1 Volume and 1 tone control, Classic...

Recently Viewed
Yamaha Bag THRBG1

Yamaha Special Bag THRBG1; original Yamaha Bag with THR5, THR10, THR10II, THR10IIW and THR30IIW; with shoulder strap, and outer pocket

Recently Viewed
Casio CT-S300

Keyboard 61 Velocity-Sensitive keys, 48 Voice polyphony, 400 Sounds, 60 Preset-Songs, Reverb, Volume Sync EQ, Learning Function, Automatic accompaniment, 77 Preset rhythms, One-touch preset, Dance Music mode, Registering, Pitchbend wheel, Connect to the free Chordana Play For Keyboard learning...

(2)
Recently Viewed
Universal Audio Apollo Twin X Duo

10 x 6 Thunderbolt 3 Audio Interface With UAD-2 DUO processor for almost latency-free recordings via plug-in emulations of classic compressors, EQs, tape machines, microphone preamps and guitar amplifiers, 24 Bit / 192 kHz AD / DA converter, 2...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Roland JU-06A

Synthesizer module Digital replica of the Juno-60 and Juno-106 synthesizers, 4-Voice polyphony, Based on ACB technology, Switchable between Juno-60 / Juno-106 mode, Arpeggiator and 16-step sequencer, Chord memory function, Analog clock input (3.5 mm Jack), Integrated USB audio interface:...

Recently Viewed
JHS Pedals Cheese Ball - Fuzz Distortion

JHS Pedals Cheese Ball - Fuzz Distortion; Effects pedal; Lovetone Big Cheese replica; Analog mode; True Bypass; Volume, Gain and Tone controls; 4-way switch to select four gain and tone settings; Bypass footswitch; Status LED; Metal enclosure; 6.3 mm mono...

Recently Viewed
Takamine TKSS3 Guitar Strap Grasflower

Guitar strap Made by Levy's, Material: Suede leather, Width: 7 cm, Length adjustable from 100 cm - 140 cm, With Takamine Logo, Design: Grasflower, Colour: Black, Made in Canada

Recently Viewed
Mackie ProFX16v3

16-Channel mixer 11 Microphone inputs with 3-band EQ on all channels with variable medium-frequency control (channel 15/16 has a standard 3-band EQ), 8 Inserts and 8 single-knob compressors, The channels 9-14 have microphone inputs and stereo line inputs, 1x...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.