Rode NT-USB

353 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.7 /5
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
features
sound
quality
A microphone of solid quality, at a mostly reasonable price
Eddlicious, 15.01.2018
I've used the Rode NT-USB to play and record my singing and guitar playing at the same time, and for my first ever condenser microphone it has been a delight.

PROS:
+ The quality of sound is very good, with high pitched sounds not causing any distortion if you've got your audio settings in check
+ Microphone has an audio jack built in to it, so that you can listen to your own voice through a headset, which is practical for those learning to sing
+ Quite literally plug and play, with it only taking as long to get working as your computer takes to recognize it
+ I've had no complaints about background noise when used to converse with VOIP (Voice Over IP, voice chat - e.g. Skype)
+ Microphone's build is very robust, it being primarily made out of metal, yet comfortably weighed

CONS:
- The plastic stand is not quite heavy enough to support the microphone in most positions
- Microphone doesn't have its own gain and volume knobs, which limits the amount of adjustments you can make to its sound.

Overall the Rode NT-USB is a microphone of decent quality, at a relatively affordable price.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
No more micro/voice complaints
cha*, 22.03.2021
This is a great microphone for both work and streaming/gaming. The sound is crystal clear and pleasant to listen to. The first reaction I received, without mentioning a new mic was "you sound crystal clear, what a difference..new mic?" Safe to say, this was an excellent purchase.

The microphone is well built and has some weight to it, It looks nice too. If I had to pick one con, it would be the plastic stand but this is not an issue at all. I do not believe this microphone has a mute option, but I must say I have not looked much into this as I use a stream deck to mute/unmute my mic.

Furthermore, this microphone is significantly larger than the rode usb mini. Something to bare in mind.

Before I made the purchase, I was looking at the Shure SM7B Microphone, which adds a bit more body to the voice; This is a very popular mic among streamers, but it also costs 2-3x the amount of the rode nt-usb and does not come with a stand (I think).

All in all, a great microphone for everyday use.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Cannot be used with iPad
Demi_A, 10.05.2021
It is a decent mic, the audio quality is good but unfortunately mine came with a defect as it gives a shriek feedback-like noise from the left ear when the headphones are plugged. I am sending it back.

Another thing is that it cannot be used with the iPad (mine is 2019) as advertised. Even though I bought the adapter also from here as advised, the iPad gives the error saying the equipment is taking too much power so it doesn't work.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Amazing
Ptorts, 14.05.2021
I have been using this mic for my remote voice-over jobs, and it is just great
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Bought one for a friend and one for my own.
Danster, 22.08.2020
I first bought this microphone for an oversea-friend, to do some voice-over for a short animated film I was working on. She delivered nicely sounding voice-over, and this made me decide to buy one for myself to be used recording some software-related tutorials.
Since the pandemic it now is used on a daily base to communicate with colleagues, as we're all working from home. It might be overkill for this type of job, but I haven't heard any complains from colleagues about bad quality of sound.
The only drawback (might be an advantage, depending point of view) is that co-workers are reporting they are filled with delight each time they call me, hearing birds singing in my backyard, as I have the window open right behind me.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Geluid en gemak
Benharim, 15.12.2019
Eindelijk een mic die makkelijk af te stellen is. De meeluisteroptie voor de koptelefoon is prima. Het geluid helder. Gewoon af!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great little desktop USB mic with headphone port
Peegeebee, 08.02.2021
If you don't want the hassle of a dedicated USB audio device and are looking at a simple way to get very good audio into your computer, look no further. I use it to record basic audio tracks to a DAW and, even more so, to dictate very good audio to my computer's speech recognition engine. For pro recording work I think I'd still recommend a dedicated audio interface and an XLR mic (there are so many good bargains to be found), but for anything else this is a perfect (and portable) solution. And, from which I've seen and heard, the audio quality is considerably better than the more recent midi desktop version. Recommended
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
A easily settable condenser mic
Home Recorder, 18.11.2018
I use this mic for a simple or rough home-recording. The driving forces that made me choose this product over other condenser mics are: can be set up without audio interface; comes with a metal pop filter; light weight.

The first driving force can also be a restraint force for someone who really is looking for a high quality recording, as the internal audio interface that this mic has only supports upto 16bit/48khz. However, this was enough for me as I use a studio which has definitely better (and a way more expensive) condenser mics for formal recording sessions.

Secondly, the metal pop filter functions well. They are washable, which means that you don't need to worry about spending on changing pop filters due to the smell and unsanitary condition.

So far, I have been using the mic throughout half a year, and I have no complaints at all.

Pros:
-Easy to set up
-Metal pop filter included
-Distinguished recording quality

Cons:
-Nothing so far
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
10 STARS - NOT 5!!!!
jordanjulian, 24.05.2020
Lemme' start by saying that I am a professional musician, I am not paid by Thomann nor anyone else tho to post this - Id like y'all to actually realize how GOOD this thing is.

I am Jordan Julian Chase and you can just Google or find me on YouTube me (no promo intended please) and listen to what I have recorded with this microphone ACTUAL MUSIC I HAVE EVERYWHERE STREAMING NOW!! (which is all my songs) over the years (yes YEARS!! and the thing still going as new). On Ableton LIVE, FL STUDIO, LOGIC and any other DAW I threw it in (FL and LOGIC preferred) - the results were simply amazingly wonderful. My vocal range and is very wide and powerful and this device didn't even flinch nor fail - all functions excellent.

Now the review -
PLUG AND PLAY at its best in EVERYDAY, DAWs pick this thing up like a beautiful woman on a summer day lol... no latency, no shenanigans, no complicated setup nor configs, just plug and go make beautiful ♬ music.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Brilliant "anywhere" mic!
Marty M., 10.02.2019
Love it, used for broadcast OBs and voice overs while travelling. Plugs direct to iPhone, records, job done.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Nice mic overall
Avarage Music Enjoyer, 14.04.2021
Only thing missing is gain control, other than that its an amazing mic and you are definitely getting a good product for that price.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
I Expected Nothing Less
paniccoffee, 11.06.2019
The Rode NT-USB is a breeze to set up with excellent build and sound quality. Recording is loud and good isolation of ambient noise. While it seems expensive, it's really not, considering its features.

Pros:
+Excellent recording quality
+Sturdy
+Easy assembly and set up
+Pop filter included
+Records with lots of volume, but isolates most sounds out of the microphone's direction
+Includes 6m cable!

Cons:
-no case included for all components
-pouch included not enough to fit all of its components
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great mic! Recomending!
Tateos, 04.04.2020
I bought AT2020 USB+ but this one is much better.
More realistic, and natural. The bass and highs are not so extreme as in AT. Little bulky and massive, but its ok.
I like the pop filter as well, working perfectly.
I like the mic a lot.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Exceptional microphone
emanuelsan, 26.01.2018
Bought this microphone for use at my desktop PC during online calls. Everyone that hears me talk through it immediately noticed a huge increase in sound quality. It's quite literally the best microphone I've used: very well built (metal alloy body), very good sound quality, extremely easy to install (literally just plug it into your PC and it works with all of its features).

Regarding the features, it has a no-latency "talk-back" effect, meaning that it plays the sound that it picks up right back into a pair of connected headphones so that you can hear yourself speak.

Additionally, it's so sensitive that, when turned up, you can hear sounds via your talk-back headphone jack that you don't normally hear without it. It picks up sound from all around you with great accuracy. For me, this means that I can just leave it on the office desk far away from me and it will still hear me just fine.

Exceptional product. I strongly recommend it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
Versatility and Quality
RobertoFranco, 22.03.2017
I have this microphone for 2 years and i love it! Great cable length, comes with a beautiful windshield (pop filter), desk stank and nice pouch. It?s USB, means if you have an Apple USB to lightning adaptor you can record directly on an iPad or iPhone too. There is a monitor out (with volume) to have a perfect feedback without any delay. It?s solid built and an excellent sound quality that is expected from Rode.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Perfect !
Crunchips34IE, 08.05.2018
I have been using this microphone for 2 years now and I really enjoy it !

I use it both for Twitch live sessions and music recording and it is excellent for both situations.

I would definitively recommend this microphone !
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Good microphone !
Konodo, 09.04.2019
Good USB microphone, sturdy, well built, good looking, easy to use.

If I would have to do it again, I would probably get a standard microphone as I now have an audio interface and don't need a USB one... But that's definitely a good choice for anyone who wants to get a USB microphone !
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
Good microphone with good features at a good price.
12.01.2016
Rode stands for quality and standard. You cannot go wrong with it. Here are my views about this product.

Build: The body of the mic is a solid metal and has a similar built as other NT1 microphones. The pop shield also feels quite solid and comes with a metal filter. It fits well on the stand. Talking about stand, the stand is made up of good quality plastic and holds the mic very well. Overall, impressive looking, sturdy and solid.

Sound: The sound is extremely clear and it is very silent and does not have any static noise. Perfect for studio-grade sound recording at home.

Usage: Very simple plug and play. I just hooked it up to my Mac and that's all I had to do.

To sum it up - For the price, it is a very good microphone. I think I will be using it for a very long time.

Lastly, the shopping experience at Thomann has been great. I ordered the product on Tuesday evening and got it delivered at my door step on Friday afternoon. Also, I found the staff to be courteous and knowledgable.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
High quality sound for your speech recording or video conference
PE Toulouse, 09.08.2019
Great sound and features. I use the micro for audio recording of rich media and for video conferences. The sound is cristal clear, which means that all sounds like like sniffing or breathing will be captured as well. So: top quality sound, but care to be taken to get no unwanted noises transmitted.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
Rode Test!!!!
dodea, 24.02.2015
I have been using studio mics for years so when I saw the price of this I refused to believe that it was any good. How wrong was I? Buy this mic today and never look back. It is so easy to set up, in fact there is no 'setting up'! Take it out of the box, plug it in and away you go!!!!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Very nice!
Nikitka the Russian boi, 20.03.2019
Best microphone I've ever had. Great sound quality. No flaws (maybe I didn't find them yet)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
Brilliant!
02.12.2016
Performs much better that the price tag might suggest! This little beauty rivals the audio quality of the best mics around. I can't fault it!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
An amazing budget microphone
Talbi, 16.08.2018
The Rode NT-USB is a great microphone for beginners - it has great voice clarity and low background noise (of course not as good as an XLR microphone- but for USB its great).

It comes with a 6m USB Type-B cable, a carrying bag, a pop filter and desk stand.

The microphone has a nice metal casing, and a purple LED to indicate its powered and ready. It also offers a 3.5mm headphone jack to hear yourself with no delay.

The microphone is of great build quality from Rode, I will be defiantly be buying from them again.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
Brilliant
sean61127, 08.08.2017
Sound quality is very good, look on youtube for a demonstration.
Very well built
There is a large plastic nut that holds the mic to the base/boom arm, i feel this could have been better quality as a rubber ring inside it got dislodged once (but only once). it was easily repaired.
Over all, would definitely recommend.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Super microphone
AlexSemio, 11.10.2019
I bought a microphone for streams. It fits perfectly. I advise. I arrived in Kazakhstan safe and sound.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Rode NT-USB

$158
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
2
(2)
Recently Viewed
Line6 Relay G10TII Transmitter

Line6 Relay G10TII Transmiiter, 2,4 GHz plug and play Wireless transmitter for Relay G10 systems or Spider V series from Spider V 60, with internal receiver, audio frequency range 10 - 20.000 Hz, automic frequency setup, 118 dB SPL max.,…

Recently Viewed
Arturia Pigments 3

Arturia Pigments 3 (ESD); virtual synthesizer; four sound engines with variable sound sources; Harmonic Engine with up to 512 partials; Wavetable Engine with a total of 164 wavetables; Utility Engine with sub-oscillator and two noise sample layers; Jup-8 V4 low-pass…

2
(2)
Recently Viewed
Universal Audio UAFX Starlight Echo Station

Effects Pedal Stereo delay, With tape, analogue, and digital effects, True or buffered bypass, Presets can be stored, Tap tempo mode, Additional effects can be downloaded, Dual processor UAFX engine, Live / preset mode, 2 Inputs: 6.3 mm jack…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Harley Benton TableAmp V2 BlueTooth

Harley Benton TableAmp V2 BlueTooth, compact amplifier with great features for play-along and sing-along with streamed music using the integrated Bluetooth feature, ideal for acoustic guitar, ukulele, electric guitar, vocals and music, 30 watt RMS, 1x 5" bass woofer +…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Korg SQ-64

Polyphonic Step Sequencer with 4 Tracks 3 Melody tracks with 8-fold polyphony and 16 patterns of 64 steps each, Drum track with 16 monophonic sub-tracks, 64-Key matrix with illuminated buttons, OLED display, Editing modes per melody track: gate, pitch…

Recently Viewed
Alesis Harmony 61 MKII

Alesis Harmony 61 MKII Keyboard with 61 piano style keys, 300 sounds, 300 rhythms and 40 demo songs, speakers, headphone output 3,5 mm, powered via batteries (6x AA not included!), incl. skoove 3 month premium online lessions, dimensions: 948 x…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Roli Lumi 1 Snapcase Black

Roli Lumi 1 Snapcase Black; sturdy and magnetic cover around the LUMI Keys for a slim and seamless fit; protects the LUMI Keys during transport and storage; easily folds into a stand for mobile devices; dimensions (W x D x…

Recently Viewed
SSL 500-Series SiX Channel

Solid State Logic 500-Series SiX Channel; Channel Strip; with SuperAnalogue mic preamp and 5-way LED indicator; +48V phantom power; with phase and HPF switches; separate instrument/line input on front panel with Hi-Z switch (1MO); switchable 2-band EQ with bell and…

Recently Viewed
Lewitt LCT 140 Air Matched Pair

Lewitt LCT 140 Air Matched Pair - 2 matched small diaphragm condenser microphones, polar pattern: cardioid, frequency range: 20 Hz - 20 kHz, sensitivity: 14.6 mV/Pa, -36.7 dBV/P, max. SPL: 135 dB, low-cut: 80 Hz (12 dB/oct), pad switch: -12dB,…

Recently Viewed
Rode VideoMic Me-C

Rode VideoMic Me-C; condenser directional microphone; suitable for Android devices with USB-C connector; integrated USB type-C plug; 1/2" condenser capsule; polar pattern: cardioid; front pickup angle: 90°; sturdy aluminium housing with ceramic coating; built-in microphone preamplifier with DA converter (24Bit…

2
(2)
Recently Viewed
Line6 Pod GO Wireless

Line6 Pod GO Wireless; Multi Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar; over 300 effects and models from Helix, M-Series and Legacy products, up to 6 simultaneous amp, cab, and effects models including a looper and a speaker cabinet simulation (Third-Party IR…

Recently Viewed
IK Multimedia UNO Synth Pro Desktop

Analog synthesizer Paraphonic analog synthesizer with step sequencer, arpeggiator and effects section, Three wave morphing oscillators with PWM, sync, frequency and ring modulation, dual state variable filter with 24 modes, amplifier, Original OTA filter from the UNO Synth as…

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.