Remo 14" CS Coated Black Dot Snare

891 Customer ratings

4.7 / 5

You have to be logged in to rate products.

Note: To prevent ratings from being based on hearsay, smattering or surreptitious advertising we only allow ratings from real users on our website, who have bought the equipment from us.

After logging in you will also find all items you can rate under rate products in the customer centre.

sound

quality

343 Reviews

Remo 14" CS Coated Black Dot Snare
$20.90
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.
In stock
In stock

This product is in stock and can be shipped immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
1
i
The head for every snare
itsallaboutthegroove 17.08.2019
I absolutely love the controlled sound head and use it on almost all of my snares, from a 14"x6.5" Supraphonic (aluminium) to a 13"x6" Mapex (walnut) to a 14"x5.5" Premier (birch) to a 14"x6.5" WorldMax (brass).

I find that for about 80% of snare drums it's in the sweet spot between lively and dead. Not as bright and ringy as an ambassador or G1 can be, but not too dead like a pinstripe or emperor can be either. The CS also gives you a really fat sound when you play in the centre of the head — perfect for rock and pop live and in the studio. Since it's still single ply at the edges you can get the press roll feeling and ghost notes that are missing from a 2-ply head, and the "reggae rimshot" sound is still there too.

The only downside of the Controlled Sound is that the centre dot feels a little less 'bouncy' than the single-ply edges, and this means the rebound isn't consistent all over the head. I find I get used to it quite quickly, but it's worth bearing in mind if you're playing very soft music or like a highly responsive feel, or you're used to a G1/Ambassador.

But don't let that discourage you — the Controlled Sound is so good that it's now the head I try first on a new drum. Most of the time, it's all I need.
sound
quality
5
0
Report

Report

A
Great sound!
Anonymous 24.03.2015
Used this on a few different snare drums and it's probably one of my favourite Remo heads. Nice and respnsive with plenty of attack. Being a single ply it's a bit more open then say an Emperor, but the dot helps to stop it becoming overly ringy like the ambassadors can be on some drums.

This head is my preferred choice for wood snare drums, which by nature can be a bit dry, so this helps give them some life.
For metal snares I like something a bit drier like a Powerstroke 3 or a Evans Genera dry as they tend to be a bit more ringy by nature so need something to control it. Though I'm sure the Remo CS would work great on metal snares with a bit of extra dampening using some moon gels or something similar.

One complaint I do have to make about Remo though is the quality of their coating. From my experience and that of many others recently it seems that the coating is flaking off very easily these days, with a few studio sessions enough to have the head looking absolutely wrecked compared to a coated head from Evans/Aquarian etc. For this reason I'd find it hard to recommend this head to anyone that's looking to play and gig alot and isn't able to afford regular head changes.
sound
quality
4
0
Report

Report

A
Anonymous 08.04.2015
The REMO Control Dot is a well engineered head, designed to have a killer 'fat' spot within the 'dot' area. At the edge of the dot the head produces a less-fat, and cleaner/brighter sound. As you get closer to the edge you get a timbale-like sound, making this a versatile head if you're likely to play (let's say) rock, latin, and jazz at the same gig. The head also produces a great rim-click, and has plenty of volume overall. The head really has, to be tuned well to get any kind of satisfying sound, otherwise it's a bit ring-y. Tune the bottom (of your snare) head to 'A' while the batter head is removed from the drum. Make sure you get a clean 'A' at each lug-point (worth the effort), then put on the batter head, tuning correctly to a 'C', or higher if you want. Mess around with the snare tension, and before you know it, your snare will sound better than ever. This is not a conventional head, and it does take getting used to the different sounds, but a sweeter rim-shot you've never heard ... my guitar players even noticed. Remember, the key is in the tuning ... snare side, than batter. Have fun, it's a great head!
sound
quality
2
0
Report

Report

A
Exacly what I was looking for
Anonymous 15.01.2017
I needed a controlled sound for my snare, and as the snare's "CS" refers, it was delivered what was promised. Being a heavy hitter drummer,I expected the head would snap in about a month or two (Regarding my experience with Ambassador Coated heads) . After about 5 months, I am still with the same batter head. Very easy to tune in my (somewhat) old maxtone snare. Even after all the drum stick marks in the head, it still looks astonishing. The only complaint I have, is that I don't live next to thomann to get this head more often, for this amazing price. (About 22? in my local music store). Thank you thomann, and remo for an amazing product.
sound
quality
1
0
Report

Report

D
Classic snare drum head
DrumScum 28.07.2020
Simple a classic, you cannot go wrong with this one. Still has a fair amount of overtones despite the reverse dot, so some mild muffling might be necessary (I have a piece of duct tape on it).
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

FA
Great Cutting sound with a tiny Setback
Faisal Al Zarouni 25.08.2023
This head is Absolutely incredible, it gives you a very focused sound with moderate control (especially on a high tuned snare) it also sounds decent when played with brushes, tho not as smooth as a Regular Ambassador head, the only problem that I faced with this head is that fact that although it’s controlled, there are still some strange overtones, not as much as an Ambassador but somehow nastier, I’ve tried everything I can (matching lugs, using drum dial etc..) and the only thing that seemed to work was muffling and a specific tuning, if you stray too far from the heads “ sweet spot” you might get those nasty overtones, I personally find it hard to tune to that specific tone but it comes down to your tuning skills, the type of drum and even the acoustics of the room, with that being said, it’s still a very high quality snare head.
sound
quality
1
0
Report

Report

JM
Durability and resonance at its finest
James Mc 11.05.2020
Hard to look past this head for snare. In my opinion, Remo offer durability that is hard to find with other head manufacturers. The dot also allows for controlled snare sound and also cracking rim shots.
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

j
Excellent
jojothebandit 12.04.2021
Excellent as always, this drumhead will see me again
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

G
Perfect
GilAmado 16.02.2021
Very nice drumhead for dryer tunings.
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

G
Remo controlled sound
Gerza 27.07.2018
Previously I used Ambassador coated head on my snares. Now I decide to try something else. This head is aweeesome for steel snares. Steel snares are pretty loud and has few overtones, so this head is perfect for them. Dot in the middle works perfectly. In my opinion, maybe the best snare head ever!
sound
quality
1
0
Report

Report

Remo 14" CS Coated Black Dot Snare