Roland SP-404MKII

69 Customer ratings

4.7 / 5

You have to be logged in to rate products.

Note: To prevent ratings from being based on hearsay, smattering or surreptitious advertising we only allow ratings from real users on our website, who have bought the equipment from us.

After logging in you will also find all items you can rate under rate products in the customer centre.

handling

features

sound

quality

48 Reviews

Roland SP-404MKII
$429
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.
In stock
In stock

This product is in stock and can be shipped immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
1
R
SP404 MK2
Rob23 08.03.2022
This is a very capable machine, and it seems that Roland will continue updating firmware to make better and better.
This is my first hardware sampler and it is so much fun!
I'm still learning this beast but I can definatly recommend it for a range of uses. I sounds great with my bass plugged in for make like riffs and bass lines to work into a mix. it is also an excellent vocal processor, so can add effects to live voals in real time. I does seem a shame that I can't plug my bass and mic in at the same time but not really a deal breaker.
It comes into its own with chopping up altering and layering samples, this is what it is mostly built for and it does this very well.
I like that I can power it thru USB C and also connect to computer to sample direct from that and swap out and arrange samples thru the free MK2 software. The chromatic mode is very useful and there is lots of little things that I wish were different, but it is exciting that the instrument will shift and change with communities wishes an Rolands updates. Also a big plus for me learning this machine is that there is a very active youtube community that are eager to share their learnings and tips and tricks. So all in all if you are looking for a portable tool for composing, finger drumming, sampling and chopping as someone new to the game I am very satified, but note I don't have much experience with other hardware samplers
handling
features
sound
quality
16
1
Report

Report

DG
SP404 on steroids
Da Geek 10.12.2021
Same form factor as the mighty sp404, it packs lot of features. 4 more pads, better pads, velocity sensitive pads, oled display, sample chopping, more FXs, 1/4 jacks for input and output. Good quality for the price.
handling
features
sound
quality
9
4
Report

Report

JB
A Unique way to Sample
James Bermingham 12.10.2023
A super Roland Product. You will need to invest some time to it as it has a more advanced learning curve, with some button combination macros to master. But Roland have 2 fantastic Video manuals on YouTube to help with this process.

It has had a major firmware update in 2023 which adds more features that are explained in the update video on YouTube.

Amazing effects, Clearly Laid out Functions and sub-functions, Just the right size mini screen and there is also a companion Computer Application to easily transport files and projects in either direction.

A very creative sampler that can be combined with any electronic musical instrument or vocal.
handling
features
sound
quality
4
0
Report

Report

a
been waiting forever roland !!!
abuse314 23.12.2021
my order came a month earlier than initially expected, well done thomann!
a worthy successor to the sp line. unlike the 404a, this seems like a well thought release and not a cash grab. its adding PITCH, envelope, an actually useful screen, new fx, quick chopping and others. the free updates gonna fix some minor workflow issues hopefully.
workflow seems a tad bit more tedious, being used to the 404og and its simplicity, as it was my only sampler for some years, but its a well worth trade for the features added and its still fun to use.
Sounds much cleaner and spacier/wider than the og. the fx are still in the same str8forward mindset, with more controls added, but also sounding different, which is good, 'coz i'm gonna keep my og which is the true classic, finding balance between speed-versatility-memory, quality- character.
handling
features
sound
quality
6
2
Report

Report

J
Sturdy
Jansu 15.12.2022
Good product to move SP-404 to new era. great features introduced after 2.0 upgrade.
handling
features
sound
quality
2
0
Report

Report

DB
The learning curve is worth the climb
Dr Bobby 17.01.2023
I am new to sequencing samples beat-making but was intrigued by the process and results. After much internet searching, I decided on the 404 mk2.
With the hardware update (V2), I think that it is a great little machine and a lot of fun once you have spent some time with it learning its features and the logic of how sounds are recorded and subsequently sequenced.
After 4 hours on my own, I figured it out, but I am sure younger buyers will find it a breeze. The sounds it reproduces and very good and the effects are amazing. I recommend it at the price.
handling
features
sound
quality
1
0
Report

Report

S
Roland 404
SVBNL 22.02.2024
Buy this or pay at least twice the amount for a better decision.
handling
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

M
Roland SP-404MKII is the best thing that happend to me
MortTheDude 27.07.2023
I wanted to write a huge review how i liked it and all. But, it's just so good i have no words.
Best thing i can say, that go and watch on youtube the workflow. Ad if it suits you, you will be amazed how much better it is in life than on video.
handling
features
sound
quality
4
0
Report

Report

s
Incredible!
slimemaco 10.10.2023
Constantly inspiring and innovative , gives light to so many cool ideas and even the learning slope is very exciting. 5 / 5
handling
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

B
Great service and equipment
Boika 16.12.2023
The delivery was quick and the equipment working as it should.
handling
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

Roland SP-404MKII