To the page content
seventy years logo
Join Thomann's Anniversary! We award your loyalty with special offers! Get your deals

the sssnake SM10BK

9657 Customer ratings

4.5 / 5

You have to be logged in to rate products.

Note: To prevent ratings from being based on hearsay, smattering or surreptitious advertising we only allow ratings from real users on our website, who have bought the equipment from us.

After logging in you will also find all items you can rate under rate products in the customer centre.

quality

2804 Reviews

the sssnake SM10BK
$7.30
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.
In stock
In stock

This product is in stock and can be shipped immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
1
A
Good quality XLR lead
Adrian3174 09.12.2015
I bought some of these to use as microphone cables but they would be equally at home for use as connections between mixers and powered loudspeakers. These cables are extremely cheap at just 6.19 EUR. For that price I couldn't even buy the plugs let alone the cable! The plugs certainly aren't Neutrik's but they are good enough quality to use with microphones and I intend to use these for karaoke with some cheap T Bone MB 60's The female connector locks positively with the microphone and the cable certainly doesn't look and feel like a cheap and cheerful entry level cable. The cable itself is quite flexible and should give years of service before it fractures.

So how does the sssnake sound? Well I cannot distinguish any difference in sound quality between it and a Cordial CAM 9 which costs more than double the price. I cannot detect any restriction in the upper frequency response. There is no microphony produced when handling the cable and I cannot detect any hum or noise even when the cable is placed directly next to mains cabling.

Would I recommend these cables, definitely yes! and at the price I would suggest stocking up before Thomann realise what a bargain these are and put the price up!
quality
7
0
Report

Report

m
Still going strong after 7 years
markodarko 13.05.2014
I bought this cable nearly 7 years ago back in 2007 and I'm happy (and amazed) to report that it's still going strong! Now, I normally make my own cables (or used to until cables like this Snake came out meaning I can get a complete cable for cheaper than it'd cost me to buy one Neutrik XLR plug!) and ones I've bought in the past have nearly always failed - either in the cable itself or in the soldered joints. Not so with this one.

I initially bought it thinking that it was cheaper to buy this than buy the cable and plugs, then if it failed I'd replace the plug etc, but to my astonishment it's still going so I'm chuffed to bits about that.

Now, I must caveat this post with the information that I look after my equipment - especially my cables. I never, ever coil them tightly as that can cause breaks in the cable itself, and I never yank them or pull at them when they're plugged in - and that goes for Jack cables too. So I think if you look after this cable you'll have super cheap (price-wise), high-quality cable that'll last you years. Mine certainly has.
quality
7
1
Report

Report

Kk
Kreso k 25.10.2020
After 2 years of use, almost all of my 5 cables that i bought have problems. It's not problem near xlr connector, it's broken at 2,3 meters far from XLR connector. I have some cables from Eurosong contest 1990 Zagreb and they work without problems! Skip this cables
quality
3
3
Report

Report

KF
They get the job done
Kass Fir 20.11.2020
You get what you pay for – the sssnake cables are the cheapest there are. In my experience, there are three options about the cable quality: they arrive broken (happens about 1/20 cases), they last for a few uses (like 1/10) and the rest will totally exceed your expectations and last a few years (17/20). The wires seem elastic, the connectors are a little clunky, but, if you aren't doing anything more complex than attaching a mic to a soundboard, the quality is adequate.

If I were on tour, I would buy a load of these to be used in case of emergency. Additionally, these are good for simple, amateur tasks, such as (as in my case) connecting a couple of mics to a H6.
quality
0
0
Report

Report

I
Good audio cable
IvarsOzolsDB 13.06.2013
I have used this cable for PA work and after extensive use I'd say it is a good product for a price. Ideally I would choose this for some stationary application where you plug it in and forget about it, not wind-unwind it, constantly step on it on stage etc. Connector quality is good and durable, they fit and connect good. In heavy duty use screws, that secure connector to cable, may come loose and fall out, make sure to check them once in a while. Also if your singer (in case cable is connected to mic) is aerobics teacher or jumping rabbit on stage, in heavy use cable conductor may break near connectors so you'd need to cut it and resolder it. As for conductor quality, I don't believe in gold-silver-whatever-unobtanium made cables and all that myths, it's a cable all right, it works and it works good.

Overall it's good cable for a price. For stationary use it's perfect. For intensive PA & stage work I would recommend to cough up few euros and buy a PRO Snake one (TPM 10).
quality
8
1
Report

Report

j
Sturdy on the outside, not so sturdy on the inside.
jasper_8 09.05.2022
I was very content with this cable, until recently I've noted there are some artefacts when the cable is moved slightly into certain positions.

I always keep my cables well-stored and wrapped properly. I've also only used it to record vocals or perform vocals at quite mellow shows, so harsh handling was not the issue.

I wouldn't recommend this product if you're looking for a long-term cable.
quality
0
0
Report

Report

PB
Good value but don't loop easily. Outer too grippy.
PA Boi 27.11.2022
These cables are built fine but the outer casing is rubbery and grippy. That doesn't help it loop evenly in a nice circle when wound.

Also there's something about the stiffness of the inner conductors or the shielding which makes the cable keep its shape too much. The shape of the loop in the picture is what you're stuck with.

It's hard to explain but other 10m XLR cables I have easily wind into a nice neat loop and hang in your gathering hand. They therefore lay easily in my cable box with the others. These do not. When you're winding them after a gig you're battling them to hang nice and freely as you loop them.

Also as you do the 'under' loop, the grippy surface fights you.

It's a shame because they're good value. If you're installing them and forgetting them then they're fine but not if you want an easy install and get out.
quality
0
0
Report

Report

G
Fuerte
Gonzalo 07.02.2022
No mucho que decir. La calidad del cable es excelente, después de casi dos años usándolo no tuve ningún tipo de problema aún.
quality
0
0
Report

Report

S
Cable plug is sof very pure quality.
Slava 31.03.2018
Because of bad quality of cable plug it was blocked in a socket of expensive sound card, I was forced to use help of special service company to carefully dismantle it from card. Visually it looks similar to Neutrik plugs, but in reality it is very diferent, in the place where Neutrik has embossing, Thomann branded plug has a hole which is a reason of blocking. I refer to Thomann, but didn't get real service, still cable is unused.
quality
1
0
Report

Report

m
Useful
martinicu 17.01.2022
Good price quality relation.
quality
0
0
Report

Report

the sssnake SM10BK