Audio-Technica ATH-M50 X

1238 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.7 /5
  • sound
  • comfort
  • quality
Total
sound
comfort
quality
One of the two best pairs of monitor headphones in this price range
Diogo N., 25.11.2020
After doing a lot of research for what monitor headphones to buy around the 100-150€ price range, I narrowed it down to these or the Beyerdynamic DT-770 Pro.
I chose these mostly for the practicality: they are very portable, since you can collapse them, and the cables are removable and exchangeable (two characteristics that the Beyerdynamics do not have).
Having also tried the Beyerdynamics, I can say that these two pairs of headphones are different, but neither is necessarily better. As monitor headphones, they both do an excellent job, and I would say that they are the two best choices in this price range.
The only thing about the Audio-Technicas that I do not rate at 5 stars is the comfort. They are not uncomfortable - in fact, they are very comfortable to wear for the first 30 minutes to an hour. But, after long periods of time wearing them, the band does start do hurt my head, and I find myself having to shift the headphones back and forth so as to change the placing of the band. Keep in mind, this only happens when I wear them for long periods of time, and even then, I think very few headphones would be better in this regard. However, the Beyerdynamics do have a reputation for being the most comfortable headphones out there, so I think they might win in this aspect (although I don't actually have experience wearing the Beyerdynamics for long periods of time).
So, if you value the collapsibility and cable-exchangeability of the Audio-Technicas, choose these. If you value the apparently unbeatable comfort of the Beyerdynamics, chose them.
Hope this review helped!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Very good purchase
GJmoon, 05.11.2020
I would like to say I'm overall very pleased with the purchase as well as with the fast Thomann service. Item exceeded my expectations sound-wise, specially considering the price even though many people praise them.

At first glance headphones might sound a bit too sharp if used to warmer and flatter sound but you get quickly used to and they eventually become your sound benchmark. Lots of clarity and more than enough bass for regular listener who just likes to enjoy the music. They are not perfect monitor (not very flat) but perfect listeners headphones and in general very good headphones in every aspect.

My conclusion would be: They are very reliable partner, go grab them! ;-)

1. Usage:
- home recording
- HiFi
- studio
- rehearsals

2. Used with:
- laptop
- iPhone
- amps
- soundcard

3. Pros:
- good & punchy sound
- good built quality
- three included cables (thumbs up!)
- good weight
- simply fun to listen all kinds of music
- detailed
- no signs of wear after constant use over the 9 months use

4. Cons:
- lack of microphone (cable or built-in)
- can get a bit uncomfortable (not disturbingly) after long listening sessions
- a bit too wide head band for me personally which certainly isn't a deal breaker
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Great experience
Bored, 30.10.2020
I'm a mixing engineer and I bought this headphones to control my low end more precisely and it does it job. Very good quality sound, clear lows and mids. High frequencies are little bit strong I think. I wouldn't recommend to mix in headphones, but if you have small budget or you're looking for a good pair of headphones for better monitoring control you won't be disappointed with ATH-M50X.

Pros
Great sound quality for great price. There is no leakage when you record vocals with it.

Cons
My head hurts and numb when I put headphones for too long. I also mentioned that your ears can easily sweat after 20 mins of listening.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Awesome, professional and very versatile headphones !
Andre Six, 10.04.2020
As a music producer and audio engineer, I tend to spend hours every day wearing headphones and these have been my choice since the day I got them.

Short version : very comfortable, good separation, lovely yet balanced and transparent sound, useful cable options, great price.

Long version : these are being used in my studio for all professional audio tasks.

In tracking/recording, their comfort and separation make it easy to use them for hours on end and without almost any spill into the mics.

In mixing and post-production, they are my main tool besides my monitors and I have mixed full productions using only these, when needed. As with all monitoring situations, they do require a bit of learning of their sound and are a bit on the "gentle" side, so make sure you have something else to check the aggressive/sibilant sounds in your mixes.

And for personal use, they come with a short, mini-jack only cable, perfect for running, listening to things on the go etc. In addition, they are quite sleek and good looking, unlike a lot of other studio options :).
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
A Modern Studio Standard for a Reason
Schengis, 31.01.2021
I originally picked these headphones as a contrast to my other studio headphones. I wanted to have a more present low end when checking my mixes and these headphones offer that and more.

If you've done any research, you probably already know by now that these are far from the "flattest" headphones on the market, but that does not mean that they are not valuable in a monitoring setting. If your mix is harsh in the highs/high-mids, then it will most certainly come through on these. Muddy lows/low-mids? You bet they'll be exposed.

Positives: Allows a more surgical perspective when checking a mix against flat headphones, healthy low end lift in a closed environment

Negatives: Quick to cause ear fatigue (harsh), perhaps a bit of a tight fit for some head shapes

These cans also work great for vocal tracking since they prevent a lot of bleed from the headphone mix into the mic. A very worthy addition to any studio's headphone rack.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Comfortable
PuRe_AdDicT, 20.04.2021
I have a pair of these for years in grey. They are really comfortable and offer decent isolation and a solid low end. I've travelled extensively with them (with a hard case) and they have never broken on me through extensive use.

I bought this set so I could offer anyone I was recording the same SonarWorks tuned headphone response I was monitoring on. This really helps the recording process when you know you're listening to exactly what the talent is listening to.

What SonarWorks has showed me is that there are no perfect headphones (sonically). I've tried expensive DT's with SonarWorks and the correction is always noticeable.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
James Def, 07.05.2021
Amazing clarity love them!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
M50x a good upgrade to the solid M50 headphones
Maxwell M., 10.04.2014
I've been using a pair of the regular Audio Technica ATH-M50 headphones for a few years now and have been very happy with their sonic response. They sound great and are not fatiguing to listen to for hours at a time which is crucial for musicians who need to practice or record using headphones. However I wear glasses and found that over time it would get quite uncomfortable to have the headphones pressing my glasses against my head for long periods.

Thankfully the new M50x headphones have vastly improved ear pads. They are much softer and I now am able to wear my glasses and these headphones for long periods of time in comfort. The overall construction of the M50x also appears to be slightly improved, and the new detachable cable is a great idea. Sonically they appear to sound the same or very similar - my other pair has had countless hours of use so I guess these will slightly change over time however they sounded pretty great right out of the box. The only slight negative is that they have used an end connector sleeve that isn't a standard size so that it can lock in to the headphones, meaning that you couldn't easily make a replacement cable without using the proper connector sleeve. The headphones are ideal for using when tracking vocals or acoustic guitars as they are closed back and do not leak a lot of sound.

If you own regular M50s and are happy with the comfort I would probably not worry about buying the M50x headphones unless you need to buy a second pair. However if you were considering purchasing a pair of M50s I'd definitely recommend going straight for the M50x instead. Very nice closed back headphones indeed!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Solid work horse
prog_dnb, 10.10.2020
Very solidly built headphones, great for monitoring during tracking and for working on the go. Not the best sounding headphones I've ever heard (I was actually quite disappointed when I first heard them being used to my DT 880 pro) and not the most comfortable for long listening sessions, but they're really good headphones nonetheless, considering the price.
Recommended.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Exactly what I wanted!
cpos, 13.03.2021
Amazing headphones, do not hesitate to purchase. The only critique is the comfort as your ears might feel a little warm and pinched after a long period of time.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Brilliant (literally and figuratively!)
Reminiscence, 20.08.2020
Recommended by one of my sound engineer friends, who got it because one of his teachers used it! They both use it for mixing and mastering.

Compared to ANY headphone I've used so far (Vic Firth for drums, Roland, etc.), this one will have a CRISP high-end and will make the lows come ALIVE!

The sounds that come from it now MATCH what I hear in real life (for guitar gear reviews, bass gear reviews, drums and cymbal reviews, anything!!) so this has helped me a LOT to choose my gear online without needing to try it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
My Favourite Monitoring Headphones
AlexSaint, 23.12.2020
While my Sennheiser headphones sound great, they're meant for passive listening rather than monitoring use.

My tutor is a graduate of Berklee and the Abbey Road Studios engineering programme and, when I asked for his recommendation, these were what he suggested.

- They've got an unintrusive sound and fairly flat response.
- They're comfortable for long periods without pressure headaches (even with my fairly large head) or sweaty ears. Most of the headband is fairly flexible and nicely cushioned.
- Multiple, decent quality cables are supplied (both a shorter curly cable and a longer standard one) as well as a 3.5mm to 6.3mm adapter.
- The build quality is solid without being heavy or cumbersome.

They're not the cheapest studio headphones, but they are definitely worth the money.

Highly recommended.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Really nice sound
FabsOliveira42, 25.01.2021
The clarity on those is really good. It makes my Bose sound like crap. The cables supplied are really nice quality as well.

It is a bit tight on the ears, but not uncomfortably as many other reviews say. Very happy with the purchase.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Good Product
Radoslaw L., 26.03.2018
Probably one of the best headphones in the price range.
The M50x are comfortable enough but after a longer while can get heavy. They are also quite a tight fit but seem very sturdy, and are well sound sealed, so you do get the full potential of the sound coming through your ears.
Sound-wise; The headphones are little bit bias on the low end, so if you are looking to use them as a mixing monitor, be aware of the sound spectrum that can be a little bit over the top on the bass side.
I feel that the high end of the headphones response is a little too compromised and can be drowned out , as the low range seems to take over a lot. Having said all that, the headphones do handle extremely well and you can really push them with high volumes and there are no issues whatsoever.
I would give it a 7.5/10 overall score mainly because of the handling and built quality. If you are looking for a good pair of headphones, the 50x are a good way to go without busting the bank. Other alternative is the Sennheiser HD 380 pro, which are slightly more delicate, but yet very comfortable, with a little bit more of the high end range and more realistic perspective one the Mid/low range, but then again not as sturdy and feel quite fragile.
I hope that helps.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Audio-Technica ATH-M50 X
iD14, 12.08.2020
Incredible sound stage, very confortable! They worth every penny.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Amazing Headphones
30.01.2017
I have been using this for a month, and I can say these headphones are amazing, I have been able to perceive certain elements that in other headphones I have never heard.

My only problem with this was I heard strange noises like a distortion on a few songs. But I asked to a friend that have studio monitors to listening the same songs and see if they listening it too. And yes, he hear it. So this prove a lot of the quality of the headphones, this proves that you will be able of listening the 100% of the quality of the mixing of the songs and be able to see what songs have amazing mixing and see what songs have bad mixing with a lot of distortion.

Another curious fact was when I watching movies, I wanted to take the headphones to the "limit" and although they are not made properly to watch movies but for music production.
I wanted to know how they behaved and once again, it's a difficult feeling to explain, but these headphones are really good, quality was really fantastic, all elements of the film were perfectly audible.
In terms of sound can't identify a negative point.

The quality of material of manufacture is the weak point, In my opinion the quality of the material could be a better for the price.

Pros:
- Sound:
Amazing sound for the price.
Improve a lot my mixing skills.
- Comfort:
Contrary to what I read before buying, I really like the comfort they offer.
- Be able of change cable.

Cons:
- Material of manufacture.
- Only be able of use Audio-Technica cables.


If you want a headphones for be able to produce music or hear music with a lot of quality this is the best option.
I think it was one of my best purchases. Worth it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Great headphones, but always check the sound before buying
Yarche, 19.03.2021
I am a huge fan of AT equipment from microphones to headphones: outstanding quality, sturdy materials, great sound, reasonably priced. Those headphones were not an exception, I'm fond of it's sound resolution, frequency balance, comfort and design. However, when I ordered another pair of headphones I found a huge balance shift at 320 Hz. So. be aware of the drawbacks, check the sound with a tone generator, and enjoy those headphones with no blaming: they are really great piece of equipment for recording, djing and vocal monitoring.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Good monitoring headphones
RayN, 05.05.2021
Light and comfortable with good sound insulation.
I particularly appreciate the 3 different leads that allow me to do different things unhindered - mixing sitting down, playing guitar sitting or standing, or playing upright electric bass (obviously standing)
4 on sound because they lack a little in the very low frequencies when I'm playing bass, but you need to pay a lot more than these headphones cost to get excellent low level quality and clarity
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Dimitrisg, 21.11.2020
Premium headphones with clean sound produced. Might feel uncomfortable pressing the ears after some hours
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Perfect for home studio work
KarolisSarkus, 26.04.2020
I bought a pair of these to use for studio related work at home and I am really satisfied with the sound they produce and how comfortable they are. Imo, they are even good enough to mix music to some extent. Also, the 3 cables that come together really come in handy in different situations.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Overhyped
Mr. Tee, 30.03.2020
I bought these headphones for their superb review all over the internet just to be disapointed.
There is very prominent 10khz peak (which sadly can be found on many other headphones too) that was unbearable and would result very muffled mixes unless compensated greatly.
Midrange sounds like its veiled behind and does not have clarity in it.
Bass there is plenty, and for music listening it sounds good on the low register, but for any critical work, better look elsewhere.

For music listening for someone that is used to peaky highs, these can deliver. For someone who wants balanced sound, nope.

For comfort side, you should be wary that although the cans are otherwise light and does not squeeze, ears are prone to hitting the inner mesh and could cause irritation in longer sessions.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Quality
Vontetley, 27.10.2020
First headphones for mixing and editing and could not be happier. Perfect for what i need them for and do exactly what they say on the tin
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Best for its value
Shandr, 14.11.2020
I bought them 2 years ago on the recommendation of one of the best sound producers. I have never regretted
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Now that's what I call headphones
jmill, 19.04.2020
Amazing.

If you're learning to play and make music, this is your set of headphones.

Not perfectly flat on the bass side, but that's a PRO, not a CON. Unless you're using them for mixing and mastering (get M40X in this case), this makes playing so much more enjoyable. This gets you to play more often, which gets you to sound better :)

Those 3 different cables, the bag they come with, the cups' rotation and foldability are all big pros.

Just 2-3 things I would improve:

- more cushion (after an hour of wearing them my ears hurt a little bit)
- a simple plug in/out for the cables (hard to change cables)
- sturdier design (the plastic feels nice but a bit vulnerable)

Still, not a reason not to buy them.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Perfect
daniel2123123, 08.04.2021
ATH-M50X have a nice overall sound, not too much bass or treble. All balanced.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Audio-Technica ATH-M50 X

$138
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-33
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Test Report
 
 
 
 
 
Online Guides
Headphones
Headphones
Headphones are basics for any studio or DJ. But not all headphones are created equal.
Online Guides
Home Recording
Home Recording
Home Recording can be very complicated. We're here to offer some advice!
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
2
(2)
Recently Viewed
Line6 Relay G10TII Transmitter

Line6 Relay G10TII Transmiiter, 2,4 GHz plug and play Wireless transmitter for Relay G10 systems or Spider V series from Spider V 60, with internal receiver, audio frequency range 10 - 20.000 Hz, automic frequency setup, 118 dB SPL max.,…

Recently Viewed
Arturia Pigments 3

Arturia Pigments 3 (ESD); virtual synthesizer; four sound engines with variable sound sources; Harmonic Engine with up to 512 partials; Wavetable Engine with a total of 164 wavetables; Utility Engine with sub-oscillator and two noise sample layers; Jup-8 V4 low-pass…

2
(2)
Recently Viewed
Universal Audio UAFX Starlight Echo Station

Effects Pedal Stereo delay, With tape, analogue, and digital effects, True or buffered bypass, Presets can be stored, Tap tempo mode, Additional effects can be downloaded, Dual processor UAFX engine, Live / preset mode, 2 Inputs: 6.3 mm jack…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Harley Benton TableAmp V2 BlueTooth

Harley Benton TableAmp V2 BlueTooth, compact amplifier with great features for play-along and sing-along with streamed music using the integrated Bluetooth feature, ideal for acoustic guitar, ukulele, electric guitar, vocals and music, 30 watt RMS, 1x 5" bass woofer +…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Korg SQ-64

Polyphonic Step Sequencer with 4 Tracks 3 Melody tracks with 8-fold polyphony and 16 patterns of 64 steps each, Drum track with 16 monophonic sub-tracks, 64-Key matrix with illuminated buttons, OLED display, Editing modes per melody track: gate, pitch…

Recently Viewed
Alesis Harmony 61 MKII

Alesis Harmony 61 MKII Keyboard with 61 piano style keys, 300 sounds, 300 rhythms and 40 demo songs, speakers, headphone output 3,5 mm, powered via batteries (6x AA not included!), incl. skoove 3 month premium online lessions, dimensions: 948 x…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Roli Lumi 1 Snapcase Black

Roli Lumi 1 Snapcase Black; sturdy and magnetic cover around the LUMI Keys for a slim and seamless fit; protects the LUMI Keys during transport and storage; easily folds into a stand for mobile devices; dimensions (W x D x…

Recently Viewed
SSL 500-Series SiX Channel

Solid State Logic 500-Series SiX Channel; Channel Strip; with SuperAnalogue mic preamp and 5-way LED indicator; +48V phantom power; with phase and HPF switches; separate instrument/line input on front panel with Hi-Z switch (1MO); switchable 2-band EQ with bell and…

Recently Viewed
Lewitt LCT 140 Air Matched Pair

Lewitt LCT 140 Air Matched Pair - 2 matched small diaphragm condenser microphones, polar pattern: cardioid, frequency range: 20 Hz - 20 kHz, sensitivity: 14.6 mV/Pa, -36.7 dBV/P, max. SPL: 135 dB, low-cut: 80 Hz (12 dB/oct), pad switch: -12dB,…

Recently Viewed
Rode VideoMic Me-C

Rode VideoMic Me-C; condenser directional microphone; suitable for Android devices with USB-C connector; integrated USB type-C plug; 1/2" condenser capsule; polar pattern: cardioid; front pickup angle: 90°; sturdy aluminium housing with ceramic coating; built-in microphone preamplifier with DA converter (24Bit…

2
(2)
Recently Viewed
Line6 Pod GO Wireless

Line6 Pod GO Wireless; Multi Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar; over 300 effects and models from Helix, M-Series and Legacy products, up to 6 simultaneous amp, cab, and effects models including a looper and a speaker cabinet simulation (Third-Party IR…

Recently Viewed
IK Multimedia UNO Synth Pro Desktop

Analog synthesizer Paraphonic analog synthesizer with step sequencer, arpeggiator and effects section, Three wave morphing oscillators with PWM, sync, frequency and ring modulation, dual state variable filter with 24 modes, amplifier, Original OTA filter from the UNO Synth as…

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.