Audio-Technica ATH-M50 X

1238 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.7 /5
  • sound
  • comfort
  • quality
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Very good purchase
GJmoon, 05.11.2020
I would like to say I'm overall very pleased with the purchase as well as with the fast Thomann service. Item exceeded my expectations sound-wise, specially considering the price even though many people praise them.

At first glance headphones might sound a bit too sharp if used to warmer and flatter sound but you get quickly used to and they eventually become your sound benchmark. Lots of clarity and more than enough bass for regular listener who just likes to enjoy the music. They are not perfect monitor (not very flat) but perfect listeners headphones and in general very good headphones in every aspect.

My conclusion would be: They are very reliable partner, go grab them! ;-)

1. Usage:
- home recording
- HiFi
- studio
- rehearsals

2. Used with:
- laptop
- iPhone
- amps
- soundcard

3. Pros:
- good & punchy sound
- good built quality
- three included cables (thumbs up!)
- good weight
- simply fun to listen all kinds of music
- detailed
- no signs of wear after constant use over the 9 months use

4. Cons:
- lack of microphone (cable or built-in)
- can get a bit uncomfortable (not disturbingly) after long listening sessions
- a bit too wide head band for me personally which certainly isn't a deal breaker
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Solid work horse
prog_dnb, 10.10.2020
Very solidly built headphones, great for monitoring during tracking and for working on the go. Not the best sounding headphones I've ever heard (I was actually quite disappointed when I first heard them being used to my DT 880 pro) and not the most comfortable for long listening sessions, but they're really good headphones nonetheless, considering the price.
Recommended.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Good Product
Radoslaw L., 26.03.2018
Probably one of the best headphones in the price range.
The M50x are comfortable enough but after a longer while can get heavy. They are also quite a tight fit but seem very sturdy, and are well sound sealed, so you do get the full potential of the sound coming through your ears.
Sound-wise; The headphones are little bit bias on the low end, so if you are looking to use them as a mixing monitor, be aware of the sound spectrum that can be a little bit over the top on the bass side.
I feel that the high end of the headphones response is a little too compromised and can be drowned out , as the low range seems to take over a lot. Having said all that, the headphones do handle extremely well and you can really push them with high volumes and there are no issues whatsoever.
I would give it a 7.5/10 overall score mainly because of the handling and built quality. If you are looking for a good pair of headphones, the 50x are a good way to go without busting the bank. Other alternative is the Sennheiser HD 380 pro, which are slightly more delicate, but yet very comfortable, with a little bit more of the high end range and more realistic perspective one the Mid/low range, but then again not as sturdy and feel quite fragile.
I hope that helps.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Amazing Headphones
30.01.2017
I have been using this for a month, and I can say these headphones are amazing, I have been able to perceive certain elements that in other headphones I have never heard.

My only problem with this was I heard strange noises like a distortion on a few songs. But I asked to a friend that have studio monitors to listening the same songs and see if they listening it too. And yes, he hear it. So this prove a lot of the quality of the headphones, this proves that you will be able of listening the 100% of the quality of the mixing of the songs and be able to see what songs have amazing mixing and see what songs have bad mixing with a lot of distortion.

Another curious fact was when I watching movies, I wanted to take the headphones to the "limit" and although they are not made properly to watch movies but for music production.
I wanted to know how they behaved and once again, it's a difficult feeling to explain, but these headphones are really good, quality was really fantastic, all elements of the film were perfectly audible.
In terms of sound can't identify a negative point.

The quality of material of manufacture is the weak point, In my opinion the quality of the material could be a better for the price.

Pros:
- Sound:
Amazing sound for the price.
Improve a lot my mixing skills.
- Comfort:
Contrary to what I read before buying, I really like the comfort they offer.
- Be able of change cable.

Cons:
- Material of manufacture.
- Only be able of use Audio-Technica cables.


If you want a headphones for be able to produce music or hear music with a lot of quality this is the best option.
I think it was one of my best purchases. Worth it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Great headphones, but always check the sound before buying
Yarche, 19.03.2021
I am a huge fan of AT equipment from microphones to headphones: outstanding quality, sturdy materials, great sound, reasonably priced. Those headphones were not an exception, I'm fond of it's sound resolution, frequency balance, comfort and design. However, when I ordered another pair of headphones I found a huge balance shift at 320 Hz. So. be aware of the drawbacks, check the sound with a tone generator, and enjoy those headphones with no blaming: they are really great piece of equipment for recording, djing and vocal monitoring.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Very good
Fettina, 09.12.2020
I use it for listening and producing music in my studio. Defined sound, with very powerful bass. Excellent for listening and producing, less for mixing. Pretty satisfied for my need. (if you wear glasses it's a little bit painful)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Allrounders
Shay C, 07.01.2019
Good bang for the buck but I actually think that they feel a lot cheaper comparing them to the same ones I got back in 2013.

This edition doesn't feel as sturdy and to be honest they feel below the price point but the sound quality is solid.

So I do recommend them but don't expect the same quality as the generations before.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Awesome sound & great comfort, built a bit stiff though.
Marcel_NL_, 26.10.2020
The only downside of these great headphones is that the build quality is a bit stiff. If something (or someone) hits the headband, it's very loud. A bit more isolation with soft materials would have been better. Besides that: awesome sound, great comfort!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Ear pads crumble
Gonçalo Cabral, 22.11.2019
good sound quality for the price, but the only thing is that ear pads last 2 years, they start to crumble with
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Good but a bit over rated
26.04.2016
So, don't get me wrong they're really nice headphones but for all the hype that was around them I was a little disappointed. They're perfect for recording and for plugging into my guitar amp at night but, I don't like listening to music on them. They're boosted in the lower mids and I find it really irritating to my ear. I had a pair of akg k 271 mII before which I liked and I guess they were a bit flatter, at least in the lower end. Other than that I cant fault them.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Great all rounders!
03.05.2016
I listen to a broad range of music. From classical , to pop , techno and all the way thorugh to metal and in between. I have to say these headphones work well in all situations so far. Not a single problem with them in terms of sound quality , everything is very clear and defined. You can pick out instruments very easily while listening through these. Comfot wise they are lovely for a while , after a few hours of continuous wearing I will admit a bit of discomfort sets in from the headband but it's not overly troublsome. Just re-adjust slightly and you are okay again. Quality wise you can tell these are low to low mid range headphones, the construction if all plastic bar the inneer headband but that is fine. I found that inclusion of 3 different cables quite helpful also , one straight short cable for casual listening , a coiled cable with 3/4 inch adapter and a long straight cable both to more than likely be used in studio like environments . All in all worth every penny as they get better with use !
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Cable was broken.
onurr, 13.01.2021
Cable was broken in 4 months.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Speaks volumes
Paul1345, 21.04.2015
These headphones offer a high quality sound for a reasonable price. Very comfortable and they travel extremely well. Super versatile and I use them for both work and pleasure.
The high end can break up slightly at high volume, but the low end manages to stay surprisingly tight.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
the quality of line's connector is poor
Jason Hi, 17.05.2020
the quality of line's connector is poor
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Super versatile!
Zambi , 16.12.2015
I needed a pair of headphones that can be used for dj applications, mixing, recording and listening music from mobile devices and I can say that these pair can do it all!

Pros:
-They are very loud when connected to an iPad Air 2 for example keeping their clarity in sound and then connect them in a studio headphone amp and still perform very good. An all in one solution.

Cons:
-Avoid them if you have big ears . They get super uncomfortable after a while.
-Of course they sound good but not so good like other headphones in this price range like Beyer dt770 pro(250ohms) which on the other hand lacks the versatile of M50X and lacks the high volume in mobile devices.
-The material of the earpad started to peel off after a month of use

An overall good product.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Decent studio headphones
24.07.2015
Quite compfy and good-sounding headphones for studio / home studio use. I've been using these headphones for several months and I'm satisfied with their quality and sound. A few drawbacks to mention: heavy weight and bulkiness - something that one may expect from studio monitors. Besides to that, for me it roughly takes no more than 1 hour before my ears get hot and sweaty. So at some point in future I'd definetly prefer to have more light-weight / better ventilated headphones. Otherwise - the product is very good for the price.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Great headphones but a little bit overpriced
Barnimir, 30.04.2020
The headphones are well made, they look awesome, quality seems high. The sound is great, but overall, I would give them 7/10.

You can find good headphones for less money!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Good headphones for monitoring
Gareth S., 25.07.2015
I bought these headphones for use primarily when practicising my guitar, and have been satisfied so far.

The headphones are well made and feel solid. Some care needs to be taken of the hinges when opening and closing, but no more than is typical for this type of design.

The sound is clear and balanced, with good (but not overpowering) bass response. Extended use is not fatiguing, although I have found the pressure on my ears a bit too strong. I have read that storing the headphones around something (e.g. a few books) to stretch the band can help, but I haven't tried this yet.

A final good point is the range of accessories which is supplied, including adaptable gold-plated jacks - a nice touch.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Leakage
DryDog, 08.04.2019
There is some leakage when using the headphones. This is not good for a recording situation. Otherwise, the headphones are great.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
It is a quality headphone..
tolga tuvay, 21.03.2018
This is a closed back headphone, dont expect that your ears are going to be comfortable like at the open air. But it offers a great frequency range for that price and dont worry ATH-M50X will get used to your head structure in time.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Best headphones in this price range for tracking and production
JTorpor, 01.05.2018
perhaps not quite up to the job of final mixes and masters but good for everyday production use if you don't have £££s to spend
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Nice Headphones
Eltron, 26.05.2019
I use them for mixing and listening to music. They are of good sound clarity with lots of bass but to tight on the head. Overall very good headphones for their price.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Very nice for the price
09.08.2016
I've had a set of Pioneer HDJ-1000 for nearly 10 years and they were starting to fall apart. I was going to buy a set of HDJ-1500 but Thomann stopped carrying them all of a sudden. I bought a set of Audio Technica ATH-M50 X and I'm very happy with them. They sound very close to the HDJ-1000 but with a little more mids and a little less bass. That's fine with me since I always thought the HDJ-1000 were a little heavy on the bass and a little lacking in the mids. Very nice headphones for the price.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Very good for the price
23.03.2017
Great sound.
Using for rehearsal with bass and guitar at home, connected to the amplis (amplifi/Fender rumble).
It sounds good, and good isolation.
I was concern for the bass, but it is pretty good for it also.
I recommend it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Excellent headphones!
06.07.2015
There comes a time in life when you feel as though a set of top quality headphones would be a sound investment, no pun intended. Inevitably every set of headphones will now be compared to the over-priced and aesthetically childish, Beats By Dre. Well, in my view they simply do not compare with Audio Technica's ATH M50xs. When purchasing the M50xs you receive headphones with an incredible level of clarity and a completely balanced sound that enables you to notice the most vague parts of songs, and fully appreciate every instrument without anything being too overpowering and harsh on the ears.

I use these headphones both for casual listening as well as using them for practicing through a guitar amp, which is facilitated by the interchangeable cables, which is an excellent feature and improvement on the M50s.

In terms of comfort, you quite frankly forget that they are even on your head, even after lengthy periods of using them. This is aided by both the cushioned ear pads as well as the foam top that adds extra comfort.

I highly rate these headphones, and would recommend them to any music lover looking for the best sound quality at an acceptable price!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Audio-Technica ATH-M50 X

$138
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-33
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Test Report
 
 
 
 
 
Online Guides
Headphones
Headphones
Headphones are basics for any studio or DJ. But not all headphones are created equal.
Online Guides
Home Recording
Home Recording
Home Recording can be very complicated. We're here to offer some advice!
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
2
(2)
Recently Viewed
Line6 Relay G10TII Transmitter

Line6 Relay G10TII Transmiiter, 2,4 GHz plug and play Wireless transmitter for Relay G10 systems or Spider V series from Spider V 60, with internal receiver, audio frequency range 10 - 20.000 Hz, automic frequency setup, 118 dB SPL max.,…

Recently Viewed
Arturia Pigments 3

Arturia Pigments 3 (ESD); virtual synthesizer; four sound engines with variable sound sources; Harmonic Engine with up to 512 partials; Wavetable Engine with a total of 164 wavetables; Utility Engine with sub-oscillator and two noise sample layers; Jup-8 V4 low-pass…

2
(2)
Recently Viewed
Universal Audio UAFX Starlight Echo Station

Effects Pedal Stereo delay, With tape, analogue, and digital effects, True or buffered bypass, Presets can be stored, Tap tempo mode, Additional effects can be downloaded, Dual processor UAFX engine, Live / preset mode, 2 Inputs: 6.3 mm jack…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Harley Benton TableAmp V2 BlueTooth

Harley Benton TableAmp V2 BlueTooth, compact amplifier with great features for play-along and sing-along with streamed music using the integrated Bluetooth feature, ideal for acoustic guitar, ukulele, electric guitar, vocals and music, 30 watt RMS, 1x 5" bass woofer +…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Korg SQ-64

Polyphonic Step Sequencer with 4 Tracks 3 Melody tracks with 8-fold polyphony and 16 patterns of 64 steps each, Drum track with 16 monophonic sub-tracks, 64-Key matrix with illuminated buttons, OLED display, Editing modes per melody track: gate, pitch…

Recently Viewed
Alesis Harmony 61 MKII

Alesis Harmony 61 MKII Keyboard with 61 piano style keys, 300 sounds, 300 rhythms and 40 demo songs, speakers, headphone output 3,5 mm, powered via batteries (6x AA not included!), incl. skoove 3 month premium online lessions, dimensions: 948 x…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Roli Lumi 1 Snapcase Black

Roli Lumi 1 Snapcase Black; sturdy and magnetic cover around the LUMI Keys for a slim and seamless fit; protects the LUMI Keys during transport and storage; easily folds into a stand for mobile devices; dimensions (W x D x…

Recently Viewed
SSL 500-Series SiX Channel

Solid State Logic 500-Series SiX Channel; Channel Strip; with SuperAnalogue mic preamp and 5-way LED indicator; +48V phantom power; with phase and HPF switches; separate instrument/line input on front panel with Hi-Z switch (1MO); switchable 2-band EQ with bell and…

Recently Viewed
Lewitt LCT 140 Air Matched Pair

Lewitt LCT 140 Air Matched Pair - 2 matched small diaphragm condenser microphones, polar pattern: cardioid, frequency range: 20 Hz - 20 kHz, sensitivity: 14.6 mV/Pa, -36.7 dBV/P, max. SPL: 135 dB, low-cut: 80 Hz (12 dB/oct), pad switch: -12dB,…

Recently Viewed
Rode VideoMic Me-C

Rode VideoMic Me-C; condenser directional microphone; suitable for Android devices with USB-C connector; integrated USB type-C plug; 1/2" condenser capsule; polar pattern: cardioid; front pickup angle: 90°; sturdy aluminium housing with ceramic coating; built-in microphone preamplifier with DA converter (24Bit…

2
(2)
Recently Viewed
Line6 Pod GO Wireless

Line6 Pod GO Wireless; Multi Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar; over 300 effects and models from Helix, M-Series and Legacy products, up to 6 simultaneous amp, cab, and effects models including a looper and a speaker cabinet simulation (Third-Party IR…

Recently Viewed
IK Multimedia UNO Synth Pro Desktop

Analog synthesizer Paraphonic analog synthesizer with step sequencer, arpeggiator and effects section, Three wave morphing oscillators with PWM, sync, frequency and ring modulation, dual state variable filter with 24 modes, amplifier, Original OTA filter from the UNO Synth as…

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.