Behringer UMC1820

207 Customer Ratings:
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.5 / 5.0
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
33 written ratings
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Game changing product
Just a customer, 30.08.2016
Firstly I'm really glad I bought this when I did, it's gone up in price significantly since I purchased, and I can see why. The price is still good for what you get.

I needed a 8-in 8-out interface (of course more I/O with ADAT) and I naturally looked at all the options from other makers, and because this was a secondary setup I decided to go for the cheap option.

out of the box you notice that Behringer have lifted their game in terms of construction. It's seems more than tough enough with good finishing. At this price point I don't expect pots with fastening nuts or exotic textures.

How do it sound? Very, very good indeed. I've heard some critics talk about how Behringer have just slapped the midas name on front of these products to make people think they are higher quality. I can assure you the preamps are as good as anything you'll get in the home to small project market. For instance they compare very favourably with my A+H ZED R16.It's also a noticeable step up from their Xenyx preamps (although they weren't bad at all), especially in terms of SNR. Indeed the SNR is very good and the sound is lovely and clear. I also achieved more than acceptable latency in DAW monitoring with no glitches. The first recording I made with this is one of the best sounding I've ever made, but this could be coincidental.

I tried out the ADAT with my ZED R16 out of interest and play back was fine. I found that I had glitches when recording that ended up being printed. The UMC was correctly slaved to the ZED so the glitches must be due to some other problem. I cannot blame the UMC1820 as I also tried SPDIF with a different input device and that was fine. So this is not conclusive, but I'm pretty confident with the right config the ADAT I/O will work fine and is no reflection on this unit. This kind of thing is sometimes tricky anyhow...

The provided control software is simple but effective. That suites me just fine. The only thing I had was that sometimes when turning on the PC, the UMC1820 was not recognised and needed reinstalling. i think this might be to do with USB 3.0 bus standards. However, I found that if I made sure the UMC was switched on before switching on my PC, the problem didn't occur. So I think it's mostly likely a glitch of some kind in one 'popular' operating system.

In summary I think this unit will make the heart of a fairly serious home or project studio, especially if you also combine it with an ADA8000 or perhaps the ART Tube opto 8 for extra inputs/flavour.

UPDATE: the problem with the unitmnot being recognised sometimes is completely solved by switching to a USB 2 port. No problem for me.

UPDATE 2: managed to get the ADAT working perfectly now both ways too.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Exactly what you should expect for that price and maybe more
DiuGGi, 23.06.2019
I use this interface in the studio sometimes but the main usage is for live sets and gigs. If you are looking for an high end studio designed ADC/DAC that's not what you need (obviously), subtile crackle and noises are ordinary with the UMC1820. But if you are looking for an affordable and easy to move and versatile interface...here it is, this Behringer black brick will follow you everywhere and everywhen you need it, fits in a backpack, in a keyboard bag or in a flight standard hand luggage. Essential In/Out (8 mic-line-inst in/Main L-R + 8 line out), gain knob, pad and line/inst switch for each tracks, two separated phones out with dedicated knobs , MIDI In/Out, SPDIF/ADAT...in conclusion everything you need to play around. I traveled all around Europe with this interface and it never let me down and never made problems. The value of the UMC1820 depends on your particular needs, as everything.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
home studio interface
shocka, 14.07.2019
This is a good value interface. It lets you hook up old analog consoles or digital desks that dont have usb recording like 01V96 that im using. It gives you 18 track mixer for live recording. The latency seems to be fine as i had no issue yet. I use cubase as my DAW and it works just fine with it. I cant see any reason why this interface wouldn't be in any home studio.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Love it!
SoulWorks, 18.06.2019
We haven't fully explored all that this piece of equipment can do, but so far we've been very impressed. We have done some 4 input recording, and the sound quality is excellent. We're new to recording, but this interface and the Tracktion DAW software (free licence included) have proven fairly easy to use. Really looking forward to using this equipment more in the future. Thanks Behringer for a great product!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Unmatched in price and features
LasseRosendahl, 23.02.2019
I know that there is alot of gear-shaming going on out there whenever Behringer is mentioned but I think that this could be something to silence some of that. For the price it cannot be matched.

I have used this almost everyday for two years. I have all my outboard gear connected to it as well as two ADAT extensions and I have not experienced any problems whatsoever.

The only thing worth mentioning is, that it can get a little hot when turned on for longer periods of time. It is a good idea to leave 1U of room both over and under it if it sits in a rack.

Besides that, it is a GOOD interface no matter what others say. In 5 years from now it will still sit in my rack.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Awesome!
Dimitarsk, 25.07.2019
This interface is awesome entry-level device! I'm using it for non-professional recording and I can't be more satisfied.

Recommend it to everybody with a tight budget!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Perfect for my home studio
Unluckypixie, 17.10.2019
I bought this interface for 96KHz recording into my Macbook with Logic Pro and it has worked flawlessly, no drivers, you just plug it in and it works.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Does everything it promises, but you may have driver problems AND heat
Valerio C, 08.09.2019
I'm actually quite satisfied with this product, the sound is pretty good (the pres are awesome), the in/out are what I needed, but there's two little flaws.
The first one is about the drivers not working properly on some devices/OSs, and even bringing to stupid problems like Youtube AND Reaper not playing simultaneously due to frequency mismatch (problems I didn't have with a small UR22). Plus, it actually heats up a bit.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Not dissapointed!
Mitlof, 24.05.2019
I bought this card as an upgrade to scarlett focusrite 2i4 because I needed more recording inputs:
1. I connected the device without any problems (butter smooth experience)
2. I was surprised that you have to conect it to pc's DAW for line outs to work (i figured it out and now it makes sence, couse I can route signals however I like)
3. Knobs are a little on the downside and the one for mixing live monitor and PC sound sometimes makes a shshsshsh sound.
4.Connection to PC is very stable (i had problems with focusrite)
5.Latency is depending on samples and efect you are using and I find my conputer handling it without notice on 32samples having my izotope on vocals and kontakt on guitar. But i do rock an asus gtx 970.
OVERall It is top for things i need it. So live recording and studio recording for demos.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Works without issue
The Singing Arc, 24.07.2019
Pre-amps are of good quality - fairly transparent, delivered in a timely fashion, well built, great price, excellent features.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Surprisingly good!
encoderaudio, 12.08.2019
This replaced my old MOTU, which, simply just stopped working...
Anyway, build quality is really good, pots are good, all-in-all, a really good interface.
Keep in mind the price and warranty, there is really no alternative...actually, below a certain level, there is no alternative to Behringer AT ALL!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
UMC 1820
31.05.2016
This interface is usb class compliant and does not require any drivers on Mac. I have used it with a MacBook Air running protools and an iPad running Auria. It runs faultlessly on both systems. The mic amps are a mid range spec but perfectly usable and quiet. All other controls are logically laid out and obvious. The unit arrived with a two pin mains lead useless to me in the uk and the manual is very thin on detail.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Good sound card for iPad
DanModular, 28.09.2019
Good sound card for iPad
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Trust me on this!
Ahm.in, 01.03.2019
This is an AWESOME interface. I was a little wary about it because of the Behringer's reputation so I first read reviews on different forums before buying it. Surprisingly, hardcore anti-Behringer people had good opinion for this interface. So I pulled the trigger and ordered it. In short, I recorded tracks for my band and got them mixed by real mixing engineers. All had a unanimous impression that how good the tracks sound.

I should also briefly mention that the mics we had were relatively low cost bought from Thomann's t.bone brand - not the cheapest ones but the higher end.

I think this is enough to prove the point that this interface and Thomann mics are good bang for the buck.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great for the price
JohnMcE, 30.07.2019
If you need 8 in and 8 out, and don't want to spend a lot of money you really cant go wrong with this. I've been using mine for about a month now with no issues.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Briljant product
Rockdwerg, 05.10.2019
Does what it needs to do and does it very very well. Great sound, insane frequency response and good sounding pre-amps. Very worth it's price and would definitely recommend. ASIO drivers work perfect on windows 10 as well, which is not always the case. Did not notice any latency issues in Pro-Tools not Ableton Live
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Wonderful interface, but be cautious of location.
Daniel C, 29.12.2016
I bought this interface after having to return an M-Audio MTrack 8 for internal PSU issues and channel crackling, so I was slightly cautious, particularly with the price.

The Front panel is filled with all your controls, including two combi jack/XLR sockts for easy input, with the other 6 round the back. Phantom power is in two banks of four, with easy sight if it's on or off. All inputs have pad and line/inst switches, which makes hot signals easier to manage, and the gain knobs control nicely. The monitoring section controls well, and the input/output mix control is exceptionally useful for pre-processing monitoring - great advantage for vocal recordings in high latency systems. Two headphone sockets with individual volume controls make a nice change to some other systems, and are completley independant of the main monitor control. The MIDAS pre amps are gorgoeus, but not sure if they're original MIDAS or MIDAS-style, but that would need more research.

The rack-mount size and wings make it great for a rack, but be careful - the top right hand side of does get a little hot, so it would suite a spaced rack or desktop better.

Great interface though.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Good sound and very useful features
gvozdedir, 30.11.2017
Got it for home studio use. While I don't necessarily need a lot of ins and outs, it is very convenient to set up all your instruments plugged in constantly, and have available outputs for reamp (for example). The setup with most inputs/outputs at the rear allows for a very neat setup with all the cables being behind and out of sight. Two separate headphone outs are very useful, as well as the two inputs on the front for "guests".
In summery, packed with useful features, easy to set up and use. Works well with ASIO4ALL, Sound quality is very good. I would highly recommend it for home recording studio over any 1,2 and 4 input interfaces of any price just for the shear convenience of use.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Good
olavsu1, 03.04.2019
Don't use it with the latest drivers from Behringer. Driver ver 3.29 are better.
It's windows driver looks like from 1995 and routing is impossible without DAW.

In/Outs can routed only in Linux using Jack2.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great product
Nik91, 03.07.2019
I am useing my Behringer UMC1820 for recording drums and band practice and it work great. Haven't had any problems with the interface and I have been useing it for almost a year now.
Makes solid drum recordings and demo tracks.
I am using mine with 8 mics and a MIDI in for my bass drum triggers.

Very happy with the product and the price!!!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Love it
Macbury, 11.08.2017
Very loud compared to my last interface but this has a dim button for the main output which is great. Sounds nice and clear through inout monitoring or computer output. Slightly higher latency than the Fast track Pro II I had last but not so much that it causes issues.
Plug and play/no drivers needed for Mac, works perfectly. Easy to install drivers for Windows.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Outstanding piece of gear at a killer price
17.06.2016
I purchased the UMC1820 for use in a home studio to record drums. It replaced a convoluted setup involving a couple mixers and an old M-Audio firewire interface. It's coupled with the Behringer ADA8200 (via ADAT) for 16 inputs total.

The unit is built very well. It's not especially heavy, but not too light or flimsy-feeling. I've had several Behringer rack units in the past and they have definitely stepped up their game with the build quality.

The UMC1820 packs a ton of features into a small single space rack unit and at an amazing price. The preamps have plenty of headroom and sound great. There are Line/Inst switches and a -15dB pad for each input. There are two +48v phantom power switches, one for channels 1-4 and the other for channels 5-8. It has MIDI I/O, SPDIF I/O and Optical ADAT I/O.

The main thing this unit is lacking is better software control over the features. The UMC Audio Control Panel is very bare bones, giving you only the very most essentials options. You can't select the operating frequency, it's determined by the DAW. There are no routing options and the unit cannot be used in stand-alone for anything other than stereo monitoring of the analog inputs.

If you're looking for a ton of inputs at a low price, look nowhere else. The bottom line is that this unit sounds great, looks nice and is extremely affordable.

Pros:
? Lowest price, hands down!
? Small footprint (single rack space and very shallow)
? Sleek look and sturdy feel
? Smooth knob control
? 8 MIDAS preamps with +48v phantom power
? ADAT SMUX and SPDIF inputs and outputs
? MIDI I/O
? 2 Headphone outputs with independent volume and channel selection
? Direct (zero-latency) monitor/DAW blend knob
? Per-channel Line/Inst buttons
? Per-channel Pad buttons
? Solid drivers allowing for low latency performance

Cons:
? No option for stand-alone operation
? UMC Audio Control software is very limited
? No LED meters (just a single LED for signal)
? Unit can run a little hot
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great interface for the price!
cormac69, 22.04.2019
I use this interface for my home studio. I originally bought it due to the amount of inputs for the price, making recording a drum kit a breeze. The extra mic pres allow for a lot more creativity in the recording process, as I can mic up the room and such. In terms of its sound, it's certainly not the clearest but with audio processing it's possible to get a great mix from the tracks recorded on it. I've also used this for recording theatre performances, and found it great for this task.

all round a great piece of kit for the price, making recording accessible to those on a budget.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Fine card, broke in spite of gentle care out of nothing.
Razpy, 10.05.2019
I used this sound card very sparingly and suddenly it just died, showing only blinking lights and not being detected by the computer turning it into a brick.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Good interface, but very bad drivers.
05.04.2017
I was very curious about this interface, so I wanted to give it a try, unless it's a Behringer with a very low price for a 8-channel AD interface. I spent two days to get the drivers working (Windows 7 64bit). The drivers on the website didn't work and after adiscussion with the Behringer helpdesk they offered me an (beta?) 3.34 version. Which worked (after trying again for a few hours). On my laptop (also W7 64 bit), the new driver didn't work, however, the most ancient version did (!). The sound of the interface is very good, also the dynamics and without any audible noise. But during a two-track recording suddenly the connection fell off between interface and computer, which stopped the recording suddenly. I am sure this was because of the drivers. After an endurance test of two days in which the interface was switched on constantly, the connection stopped suddenly. After that, the PC didn't 'see' the interface anymore, not even after a complete reinstall of the drivers ! The offered driver software is very bad. I failed to get the device working through ASIO4All. Unstable drivers are lethal to a recording, because a sudden breakdown isn't desirable. Therefore, So I have to send back the device unfortunately. The interface itself is fine (but rather primitive in terms of mixing, metering and routing). This quality is not enough if it has to operate without proper driver software.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Behringer UMC1820

$175 €158.82
Plus $33.37 shipping

The price in USD is a guideline price only!

Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
gb
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Online Guides
Computer Based Studios
Computer Based Studios
This article will look at how to integrate a computer into different studio environments, and will highlight the issues of functionality and connectivity.
Online Guides
Recording E-Guitars
Recording E-Guitars
Our aim is to explain the basic process of recording the electric guitar!
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
(8)
Recently Viewed
Behringer Pro-1

Analogue Synthesiser Dual VCO design based on CEM3340, Sawtooth and pulse waveform for VCO A, Sawtooth, Triangle and Pulse waveform for VCO B, Pulse Width Modulation, Noise generator, 24 dB low-pass filter with resonance, 2 ADSR envelopes for VCF...

Recently Viewed
Casio CT-S300

Keyboard 61 Velocity-Sensitive keys, 48 Voice polyphony, 400 Sounds, 60 Preset-Songs, Reverb, Volume Sync EQ, Learning Function, Automatic accompaniment, 77 Preset rhythms, One-touch preset, Dance Music mode, Registering, Pitchbend wheel, Connect to the free Chordana Play For Keyboard learning...

Recently Viewed
Singular Sound Aeros Loop Studio

Singular Sound Aeros Loop Studio; Effects Pedal; 4.3" touch-enabled screen with color coded cues and waveforms; 6 parallel tracks and 6 song parts for a total of 36 distinct loops per song and in simultaneous parallel and sequential looping; Unlimited...

Recently Viewed
Yamaha THR10II

Modeling combo amp for electric guitar 5 Memory locations, Realistic tube amp sounds and feel, Effects, Bluetooth and USB, New amplifier models for electric guitar and bass, Microphone models for acoustics and flat voicings, 3 Amp modes per amp...

Recently Viewed
Levys Pad. Garm. Leather Strap 3" BK

Strap for electric guitar and electric bass Strap material: Leather, Length adjustment: Ladder adjustment system, Upholstery: Foam, Width: 76 mm, Length adjustable from 94 cm to 130 cm, MSS2 BLK, Colour: Black, Made in Canada

Recently Viewed
Harley Benton PB-20 SBK Standard Series

Electric bass Body: Lime, Screwed neck: Maple, Fretboard: Amaranth, DOT fretboard inlays, Neck profile: Modern "C", Scale: 864 mm, Nut width: 42 mm, 20 Frets, Double-Action truss-rod, Pickup: 1 PB-Style split coil, 1 Volume and 1 tone control, Classic...

Recently Viewed
Mackie ProFX12v3

12-Channel mixer 7 Microphone inputs with 3-band EQ, 4 Inserts and 4 one-button compressors, Channels 5-10 have microphone inputs and stereo line inputs, 1x 3.5 mm Stereo jack Line input, 2x4 USB Interface, Built-in GigFX effect unit with 24...

(2)
Recently Viewed
Universal Audio Apollo Twin X Duo

10 x 6 Thunderbolt 3 Audio Interface With UAD-2 DUO processor for almost latency-free recordings via plug-in emulations of classic compressors, EQs, tape machines, microphone preamps and guitar amplifiers, 24 Bit / 192 kHz AD / DA converter, 2...

Recently Viewed
JHS Pedals Cheese Ball - Fuzz Distortion

JHS Pedals Cheese Ball - Fuzz Distortion; Effects pedal; Lovetone Big Cheese replica; Analog mode; True Bypass; Volume, Gain and Tone controls; 4-way switch to select four gain and tone settings; Bypass footswitch; Status LED; Metal enclosure; 6.3 mm mono...

Recently Viewed
Takamine TKSS3 Guitar Strap Grasflower

Guitar strap Made by Levy's, Material: Suede leather, Width: 7 cm, Length adjustable from 100 cm - 140 cm, With Takamine Logo, Design: Grasflower, Colour: Black, Made in Canada

Recently Viewed
Yamaha THR10IIW

Modeling combo amp for electric guitar Built-in wireless receiver compatible with the Line6 Relay G10 transmitter (Art.398255 - not included), Integrated rechargeable battery, 5 Memory locations, Realistic tube amp sounds and feel, Effects, Bluetooth and USB connectivity, New...

Recently Viewed
Mackie ProFX16v3

16-Channel mixer 11 Microphone inputs with 3-band EQ on all channels with variable medium-frequency control (channel 15/16 has a standard 3-band EQ), 8 Inserts and 8 single-knob compressors, The channels 9-14 have microphone inputs and stereo line inputs, 1x...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.