Behringer UMC1820

355 Customer Ratings:
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.5 /5
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great interface with very unique and clever features!
linux musician, 09.03.2020
My main purpose is to record several sound sources in a sophisticating quality in my home studio (2 keyboards (stereo), guitar, microphone, theremin).

I previously used a 2in/2out interface and due to the number of instruments a small mixer was necessary. The downside is more signal processing, thus affecting recording quality. Obviously a 4x4 interface wasn?t enough, so I was looking for a real capable solution (which is 8 INs).

I use this with two studio monitors. In addition I want to play music without the computer. Before this I had to unplug the interface and switch to the monitors manually every time.

My new solution is the MIX/MONITORING knob of the UMC1820. For me this is THE KEY FEATURE! It is just a knob and I didn?t really notice/understand it?s usefullness before I tried it the first time. I can switch between standalone monitor control (with a clever mode "stereo" - simple, but does the trick) or recording/playback. No mixer, one unit for all! Even more: I can monitor the real latency of the recording software. In the middle position one can hear the direct monitor and the sound with latency superpositioned and feel the latency.

I use this unit under linux (jack, ardour) and it works out of the box. With the KXStudio Kernel I get a roundtrip latency of 7,3 ms (this is independently measured folks, not a fancydandy Windows display number!), which is quite good for me.

Mic preamps were not my main focus (as I don?t own proper mics). By the way: Before Behringer acquired MIDAS: ... ohhh high quality preamps, excellent repsonse!!! After: ... sounds fairly OK, ... but obviously focusrite is superior! Really? Come on guys...
Digital signal I/O features are also not used (no suitable gear).

Other nice to have features:
- 2 MIDI ports with activity LED
- 2 loud! headphone jacks
- potential for a 7.1 surround mix setup: I will definetly run some experiments with such a setup later on!
- potential for live (software) mixing with a small band

and the bottom line: it?s sub 200 EUR!
To be honest: I would have paid more for it, if had to!
The 2,5 times more expensive Scarlett 18i20 has (in my opinion) inferior features (MIX/MONITORING knob).
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Game changing product
Just a customer, 30.08.2016
Firstly I'm really glad I bought this when I did, it's gone up in price significantly since I purchased, and I can see why. The price is still good for what you get.

I needed a 8-in 8-out interface (of course more I/O with ADAT) and I naturally looked at all the options from other makers, and because this was a secondary setup I decided to go for the cheap option.

out of the box you notice that Behringer have lifted their game in terms of construction. It's seems more than tough enough with good finishing. At this price point I don't expect pots with fastening nuts or exotic textures.

How do it sound? Very, very good indeed. I've heard some critics talk about how Behringer have just slapped the midas name on front of these products to make people think they are higher quality. I can assure you the preamps are as good as anything you'll get in the home to small project market. For instance they compare very favourably with my A+H ZED R16.It's also a noticeable step up from their Xenyx preamps (although they weren't bad at all), especially in terms of SNR. Indeed the SNR is very good and the sound is lovely and clear. I also achieved more than acceptable latency in DAW monitoring with no glitches. The first recording I made with this is one of the best sounding I've ever made, but this could be coincidental.

I tried out the ADAT with my ZED R16 out of interest and play back was fine. I found that I had glitches when recording that ended up being printed. The UMC was correctly slaved to the ZED so the glitches must be due to some other problem. I cannot blame the UMC1820 as I also tried SPDIF with a different input device and that was fine. So this is not conclusive, but I'm pretty confident with the right config the ADAT I/O will work fine and is no reflection on this unit. This kind of thing is sometimes tricky anyhow...

The provided control software is simple but effective. That suites me just fine. The only thing I had was that sometimes when turning on the PC, the UMC1820 was not recognised and needed reinstalling. i think this might be to do with USB 3.0 bus standards. However, I found that if I made sure the UMC was switched on before switching on my PC, the problem didn't occur. So I think it's mostly likely a glitch of some kind in one 'popular' operating system.

In summary I think this unit will make the heart of a fairly serious home or project studio, especially if you also combine it with an ADA8000 or perhaps the ART Tube opto 8 for extra inputs/flavour.

UPDATE: the problem with the unitmnot being recognised sometimes is completely solved by switching to a USB 2 port. No problem for me.

UPDATE 2: managed to get the ADAT working perfectly now both ways too.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
!NoBrainer!
Sharon Munch, 14.05.2020
I bought the UMC to make a comparison video against my Focusrite 2i4 as i was originaly planning on buying the 18i20 for my ever expanding Studio. Its not going back and i have happily saved myself €300.

At first i was abit skeptical of the umc but after having bought some berhinger synths and seeing how well built they were and how good they sound i thought i can always buy this just to test it out and return if unhappy. I am exstatic about this purchase!!! If your in the market for a new soundcard LOOK NO FURTHER. I put it up agaisnt the focusrite and there is in NO WAY a €300 euro difference maybe a €20 difference at best.

Pros:
-amazing sounding Preamps
-Goddamn low latency (better than my focusrite)
-96khz capable (not that i ever go over 44.1)
-MUCH better build than expected

Cons:
-All knobs look the same so i quickly loose where my master or 1-8 input is (fixed by buying prettier knobs)
-Gets abit warm on the top left (leave 1u space in rack if possible)


This is an amazing product and i think anyone looking for a studio sound card that hasent got €10,000 euro monitors or €3000 euro mics should be looking at anything else.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Not bad for the price.
Matt Aquila, 26.05.2020
Initially, the sound quality of this interface seemed a little thin and harsh with low bottom end, but after a couple weeks usage it settled down and sounded good. Not really sure why, either it's psychosomatic or the circuitry needed to run in for a bit.

Build quality is quite reasonable, and the knobs feel smooth enough however after 6 or so months usage the headphone knob has started to crackle. Worth bearing in mind.

The front panel is laid out quite well. Monitoring can be a bit of a challenge though as you can only choose between inputs 1-2 or 3-4. There doesn't seem to be any way to monitor inputs 5-8 or SPDIF/ADAT inputs. You can also only monitor outputs 1-2.
There is a handy knob to crossfade between input and output monitoring, however it has a poor crossfade curve and setting it 50/50 will result in a significant volume loss.

Driver-wise, it's a standard Behringer affair. The ASIO drivers are very basic but does the job quite transparently. Latency-wise, It's not great but not terrible either. I've tested it with Propellerhead Reason v10 and it tends to struggle at 64-128 samples. I would recommend either 256 or 512 samples depending on CPU workload. Using it with ASIO4ALL seems to have an even worse result.

Overall, the price to performance ratio of this interface is still unmatched. If you can deal with its quirks then it is incredible value for money.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Quality with great price
Ronsthebg, 21.06.2020
I added this interface for my studio to accomplish some additional recording needs of multiple inputs and expandability with ADA. In reviewing many possible options, I felt this UMC 1820 had low noise and latency. So far I am happy with my results and the setup was simple and it was recognized by my DAW immediately with simple setup. The UMC has 10 outputs and 6 inputs on the back pannel with 2 inputs on the front with 2 headphone inputs as well with separate controls. I also have found the Midi in & out also helped with some additional midi needs.

The UMC isn't very deep, so if you are connecting it to a rack, I found connecting the cables before securing it. However, I guess that depends on your rack. The UMC is capable of being stand alone as well.

Anyways, I am happy with the UMC and even though Behringer doesn't have the best reputation I have found that Behringer has made many improvements in quality while maintaining a good price point. I know own several behringer products and have has great success in using this brand.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Bang for your buck!
JDeligero, 21.05.2020
If you want an interface for a cheap price this is the one! This does the job so well and the build material is quite impressive! Actually feels very sturdy.

One thing I wish was different is the Monitor knob. I wish it was a bit bigger and not identical to every knob but that's just me being knit picky.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great product and does what is says on the tin!
Jared Greenall, 13.06.2020
Love this product and it's perfect for my use. Don't actually need any of the audio inputs as I am using this as a multi channel USB audio out for my VenueMagic automated show control system.

Racked nicely and had it patched to a rack panel on the read of the flightcase with a powercon chassis, USB chassis and 10x XLR (which convert to the Jack on the rear of the UMC1820) as XLR is a lot more useful for what I want, and this way it saves loads of adaptors.

Shame that I can't use the other 10x outputs as they are optical/SPDIF and don't want to pay a fortune for a 8ch digital to analogue interface, but it is great for what I need it for!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
peerless
sketchie, 15.04.2020
for the money you get 8 MIDAS preamps, need I say more? didn't think so!
A real no-brainer for the price!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great product. just what any studio needs. an audio powerhouse!
Westley1, 24.06.2020
I was just starting to buy equipment for my home studio and needed a decent audio interface. I bought UMC 1820 because of the good reviews its got, its amazing sound quality and great price. it arrived on time, not a scratch with everything it promised me on the Web page. works great and I generally surprised by the quality of the MIDAS preamps on the interface. I can't really think of any negative things to comment on for this interface. for its price and performance, it is definitely worth having. plus, having 8 combi-Jack inputs at my disposal at all times is very usefull.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Not dissapointed!
Mitlof, 24.05.2019
I bought this card as an upgrade to scarlett focusrite 2i4 because I needed more recording inputs:
1. I connected the device without any problems (butter smooth experience)
2. I was surprised that you have to conect it to pc's DAW for line outs to work (i figured it out and now it makes sence, couse I can route signals however I like)
3. Knobs are a little on the downside and the one for mixing live monitor and PC sound sometimes makes a shshsshsh sound.
4.Connection to PC is very stable (i had problems with focusrite)
5.Latency is depending on samples and efect you are using and I find my conputer handling it without notice on 32samples having my izotope on vocals and kontakt on guitar. But i do rock an asus gtx 970.
OVERall It is top for things i need it. So live recording and studio recording for demos.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Love this!
Io Eko, 29.01.2020
What this thing can do for its price is just amazing and the sound is great! I had no problems installing this at all on win10 and works great on Ubuntu too. My experience with it has been extremely positive so far. Something that very few are aware of is that you can get this to work as a mixer without a computer which is awesome for jamming. The only negative thing that I have to report is that the gain knobs do not turn the volume all the way down. Instead, there's some standard input level and the knobs can only add upon that. Worths every penny and I really don't see a reason for someone to pay 3x the price for this for more expensive products.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Outstanding piece of gear at a killer price
17.06.2016
I purchased the UMC1820 for use in a home studio to record drums. It replaced a convoluted setup involving a couple mixers and an old M-Audio firewire interface. It's coupled with the Behringer ADA8200 (via ADAT) for 16 inputs total.

The unit is built very well. It's not especially heavy, but not too light or flimsy-feeling. I've had several Behringer rack units in the past and they have definitely stepped up their game with the build quality.

The UMC1820 packs a ton of features into a small single space rack unit and at an amazing price. The preamps have plenty of headroom and sound great. There are Line/Inst switches and a -15dB pad for each input. There are two +48v phantom power switches, one for channels 1-4 and the other for channels 5-8. It has MIDI I/O, SPDIF I/O and Optical ADAT I/O.

The main thing this unit is lacking is better software control over the features. The UMC Audio Control Panel is very bare bones, giving you only the very most essentials options. You can't select the operating frequency, it's determined by the DAW. There are no routing options and the unit cannot be used in stand-alone for anything other than stereo monitoring of the analog inputs.

If you're looking for a ton of inputs at a low price, look nowhere else. The bottom line is that this unit sounds great, looks nice and is extremely affordable.

Pros:
? Lowest price, hands down!
? Small footprint (single rack space and very shallow)
? Sleek look and sturdy feel
? Smooth knob control
? 8 MIDAS preamps with +48v phantom power
? ADAT SMUX and SPDIF inputs and outputs
? MIDI I/O
? 2 Headphone outputs with independent volume and channel selection
? Direct (zero-latency) monitor/DAW blend knob
? Per-channel Line/Inst buttons
? Per-channel Pad buttons
? Solid drivers allowing for low latency performance

Cons:
? No option for stand-alone operation
? UMC Audio Control software is very limited
? No LED meters (just a single LED for signal)
? Unit can run a little hot
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Unmatched in price and features
LasseRosendahl, 23.02.2019
I know that there is alot of gear-shaming going on out there whenever Behringer is mentioned but I think that this could be something to silence some of that. For the price it cannot be matched.

I have used this almost everyday for two years. I have all my outboard gear connected to it as well as two ADAT extensions and I have not experienced any problems whatsoever.

The only thing worth mentioning is, that it can get a little hot when turned on for longer periods of time. It is a good idea to leave 1U of room both over and under it if it sits in a rack.

Besides that, it is a GOOD interface no matter what others say. In 5 years from now it will still sit in my rack.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
No complaints
Digitaldoug, 10.06.2020
Looks good. Works well. Needed an interface that wasn't as deep as the rest. Pleased.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great Product
joeefc9, 19.11.2019
this interface is a must! The Midas preamps are awesome and for the price is just amazing. The 2 headphone outputs are great and I have not experienced any problems yet. If you're on a budget and looking to start recording drums this is a must.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
good value/money
a guy, 24.06.2020
solid build, sound is ok nothhing better in this price range
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Perfect for my home studio
Unluckypixie, 17.10.2019
I bought this interface for 96KHz recording into my Macbook with Logic Pro and it has worked flawlessly, no drivers, you just plug it in and it works.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Good interface for good money
Pyranoja, 27.12.2019
I use two piece of this. One is connected via adat to ada8200 and to the usb and second is in other usb input in pc. In Mac I create a aggregate device and I have 24xlr inputs and 24 line outs for my mixing console and I mixing via console and using external hardware.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
home studio interface
shocka, 14.07.2019
This is a good value interface. It lets you hook up old analog consoles or digital desks that dont have usb recording like 01V96 that im using. It gives you 18 track mixer for live recording. The latency seems to be fine as i had no issue yet. I use cubase as my DAW and it works just fine with it. I cant see any reason why this interface wouldn't be in any home studio.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great on Budget
Mcoppin, 08.05.2020
So far so great!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great machine
Archil, 02.05.2020
It serves very well for its purpose.
I use it in my studio and it is very good.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Love it
Macbury, 11.08.2017
Very loud compared to my last interface but this has a dim button for the main output which is great. Sounds nice and clear through inout monitoring or computer output. Slightly higher latency than the Fast track Pro II I had last but not so much that it causes issues.
Plug and play/no drivers needed for Mac, works perfectly. Easy to install drivers for Windows.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
amazing value
sputnik303, 10.02.2020
This is an awesome product for this price. The only downside that I can see and why it's getting 4 stars instead of 5 for features is that it can't operate standalone and needs a DAW.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Awesome!
Dimitarsk, 25.07.2019
This interface is awesome entry-level device! I'm using it for non-professional recording and I can't be more satisfied.

Recommend it to everybody with a tight budget!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Briljant product
Rockdwerg, 05.10.2019
Does what it needs to do and does it very very well. Great sound, insane frequency response and good sounding pre-amps. Very worth it's price and would definitely recommend. ASIO drivers work perfect on windows 10 as well, which is not always the case. Did not notice any latency issues in Pro-Tools not Ableton Live
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Behringer UMC1820

$198 €167.24
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.

The price in USD is a guideline price only!

Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Online Guides
Computer Based Studios
Computer Based Studios
This article will look at how to integrate a computer into different studio environments, and will highlight the issues of functionality and connectivity.
Online Guides
Recording E-Guitars
Recording E-Guitars
Our aim is to explain the basic process of recording the electric guitar!
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
(3)
Recently Viewed
Behringer 140 Dual Envelope/LFO

Behringer 140 Dual Envelope/LFO; Eurorack module; two independent analog ADSR envelope generators; for each envelope: manual trigger button, Gate input, sliders for Attack, Decay, Sustain and Release, 2 signal outputs and inverted output; analog LFO with 5 waveforms; sliders for...

Recently Viewed
Novation Launchkey 49 MK3

USB MIDI kKeyboard 49 Velocity sensitive keys, 16 RGB illuminated velocity sensitive pads, Scale and chord mode, Arpeggiator, Capture MIDI function, MIDI mappings, Device lock, Pitch bend and modulation wheel, 2 x 16 Character display, 8 Controls, Keys for...

Recently Viewed
Stairville LED Vintage Bowl 50 RGBA

Stairville LED Vintage Bowl 50 RGBA DMX, 60 W LED, 50 cm; decoration element for stages, clubs and events; stable metal construction; illuminated reflector with unique look; technical data: Light source: 60 Watt RGBA 4in1 LED; Control: DMX (4/6/8 channels),...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Harley Benton Dullahan-FT 24 BKS

Headless Electric Guitar Ergonomically shaped alto body, Maple neck, Bolt-on neck attachment, Maple fretboard, Black offset dots fretboard inlays, Modern C neck profile, Fretboard radius: 350 mm (13.78"), Scale: 648 mm (25.51"), Nut width: 42 mm (1.65"), Graph Tech...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Electro Harmonix Oceans 12 Reverb

Electro Harmonix Oceans 12 Reverb; Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar & Bass; Based on the Oceans 11 with even more reverbs and functionality; two simultaneous, independent, stereo reverb engines; 24 Presets and advanced I/O allowing for stereo in/out or mono...

Recently Viewed
Genelec 8030 RAW

2-Way Active Studio Monitor Linear frequency response: 54 - 20,000 Hz (± 2 dB), Max. SPL level (sound pressure level): 110 dB SPL (peak per pair with music material at 1 m distance), Speakers: 105 mm (4") woofer, 19...

Recently Viewed
TC-Helicon Go Twin

2-Channel audio / MIDI interface for mobile devices Integrated microphone preamplifier, Phantom power: +48 V, 2 Microphone / line / instrument inputs: combo XLR / jack 6.3 mm, 2 Line outputs: 6.3 mm jack balanced, Stereo headphone output, 2...

Recently Viewed
Blue Spark Blackout SL

Large Diaphragm Condenser Microphone Polar pattern: Cardioid, Frequency response: 20 - 20000 Hz, Sensitivity: 34.9 mV / Pa at 1 kHz (1 pa = 94 dB SPL), Output impedance: 50 ohms, Max. sound pressure level: 136 dB SPL (1k...

(2)
Recently Viewed
Behringer 112 Dual VCO

Behringer 112 Dual VCO; Eurorack module; two identical analog VCOs in one module; selectable waveforms: triangle, sawtooth and squarewave/pulse; adjustable pulsewidth and PWM CV input with attenuator; octave-switch and fine-tune control knob; hard and soft sync; 3 pitch CV inputs...

Recently Viewed
Novation Launchkey 37 MK3

USB MIDI Keyboard 37 Velocity sensitive keys, 16 RGB illuminated velocity sensitive pads, Scale and chord mode, Arpeggiator, Capture MIDI function, MIDI mappings, Device lock, Pitch bend and modulation wheel, 2 x 16 Character display, 8 Controllers, Keys for...

(2)
Recently Viewed
Harley Benton Dullahan-AT 24 TBK

Headless Electric Guitar Ergonomically shaped alto body, Maple neck, Bolt-on neck attachment, Maple fretboard, Black offset dots fretboard inlays, Modern C neck profile, Fretboard radius: 350 mm (13.78"), Scale: 648 mm (25.51"), Nut width: 42 mm (1.65"), Graph Tech...

Recently Viewed
Darkglass Element Cabsim/Headph. Amp

Darkglass Element Cabsim/Headphone Amp; Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar & Bass; practical practice tool; intuitive operation using three fully-tactile slider potentiometers with positioning LED's; 5 cabinet simulations; Aux In & Bluetooth to listen to back in tracks while playing, rehearsing,...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.