Focusrite Scarlett 4i4 3rd Gen

218 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.6 /5
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Focusrite Scarlett 4i4 - Great interface for home studio and more
rEMAKER, 02.01.2021
I got this for my home studio to record guitar directly and for the midi capabilities for the future hardware synths I am planning on buying.
I have it connected with my kali lp 6 and it sound great.

When I was reading reviews for this sound card everybody was talking about how good the preamps are and I wasn't convinced until I tried them myself and they do sound great indeed.
The gain knobs for analogue 1 and 2 inputs light up and gives an indication when it almost clips(yellow) and when it clips(red) these colors can be be changed through the Focusrite control software.

The analogue inputs 3 and 4 can be controlled though the software only they don't have a hardware controls.
The Phantom Power 48v Only exists for the 1 and 2 inputs
There is a pad for the 1 and 2 input that you can control through the software you also use the software to control whether the 1 and 2 inputs are line or instrument.
The big monitor knob works only for the 1 and 2 outputs the 3 and 4 outputs come out as unity gain (0db) so that's something I had to keep in mind of when I was calibrating my monitors.


Pros:
Great sounding pre amps
Great build quality you can take this to any gig without worries
midi in/out great for using with hardware synths or no DAW setups

Cons:
It would be really good if it had an indication of unity gain on the monitor control when everything is set to 0db on the software.
Other than that I don't see any other cons

Overall a great budget sound card I recommend!!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Perfect for a beginner
Calin-Mihnea, 25.09.2020
It was my first audio interface and I must say that for a beginner I could have not chosen a better one. Right off the bat the build quality is solid, full aluminium, hard plastic, easy intuitive layout, very simple to get used to. At this price point, I think there is no other better option out there, 4ins 4outs and MIDI.
Pretty straight forward to use, love that I've got a bunch of free software to experiment and build up experience. There is such a large library of toys that it would be a pity not to play with them all.
Works great with both platforms Windows / Mac OS. Better with Mac OS, too be honest, and I have read a lot of posts where people had horrible experiences with Windows drivers. So, Mac is the safest way to go here. (although I would love to have a Linux alternative).
The hardware and sound is good enough for a beginner, I was very excited about it at first, and don't get me wrong, I still am, but I soon realized that compared to other interfaces the sound is not that clear and it tends to clip very easily, thus, I was kinda bummed for not being able to use it at it's full presented capacity. But also, it depends a lot on your setup, pickups and pedals.

Conclusion: Good for beginners, amazing hardware specs at this price, solid, decent sound, bunch of free software to try.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
A must have
snakeyay, 11.09.2020
This right here is the real deal - I held off to write the review until I got the 770 Pro 80Ohm headphones and here it is:

Regarding the sound, there is a CLEAR difference when plugging into the audio interface and when plugging into whatever soundcard you might have. Also, it drives 80 Ohm headphones without any issues, to get really satisfactory volume (a bit loud) seems to be at 60% of the volume dial (keep in mind, this is without any headphone amps) - at 100% it is blazing and too loud.

As I am a guitar player, I bought this audio interface exclusively because it had the "Pad" option, and having a guitar with Active pickups (EMGs), I didn't want to invest in an additional DI box etc - the "padding" does wonders and there is no clipping/distortion caused with the feature turned on. If you have a guitar with active pickups (especially hot ones like EMGs), I really recommend this audio interface.

I also use the t.bone M85 Beta microphone for either some "riff idea" recording or simply using the microphone during gaming. There have been many times where I was deliberately close to the microphone and was speaking in an... ASMRish voice and everyone in the Discord or game voice chat went "DUDE WTF" - the signal is clear and there is no clipping (once you play a bit with the knob).

Honestly, I cannot imagine NOT having an audio interface going forward and this little red thing spoiled me.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great interface, amazing focusrite support.
Sarasound, 09.11.2020
I'm using the focusrite 4i4 in two scenarios, connected to pc with digitakt and ipad as input, or connected to ipad through usb dataport, with digitakt and mic as input. Both setups work really well, although it took a while to figure out how to set up the focusrite control with usb hub (analogues need to be muted/removed in focusrite control). The focusrite control software/app is really clear and UI friendly once you know what you're looking at, I just wish that while connecting to iOS device you could use the focusrite control app (it only recognizes the interface when you're connected to computer).
I will mention that my first 4i4 had a hardware issue, but Focusrite have amazing customer support and the replacement is working perfectly. Thomann prices and shipping were great and customer service always helpful (though I got the replacement from Focusrite themselves).
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Excellent product
Janie, 25.11.2020
It was one of my best choices, currently being my favorite interface. All the features work perfectly, connects at least two microphones, my monitors, has a MIDI entry, a headphones entry and phanton power of 48V. This product came very quickly to my possession, in perfect conditions, all wrapped in plastic in a color that i love, red, so I recommend it 100%, very happy with my choice.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Very good and comes with free software!
Emmanuel Bueno, 28.10.2020
I have done my first EP with this and I am no professional, so this means this is easy to use. Good and reliable. No fuss.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Hugo Antunes, 02.12.2020
users friendly, solid and small enough to carry around!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
The best quality for this price.
yukij, 29.10.2020
Good audio interface, nice drivers and software. I can recommend this product. The air function make sound more better then default parameters.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Nice, but unreliable
Dymaxion, 01.05.2020
I've had two of these die with hardware faults where they won't power-on and the host system doesn't recognize them, over about the course of six months. They're nice while they work, but I can't recommend them.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Focusrite 4i4 - "an effective solution"
AlejandroLacost, 07.01.2021
An interface with very powerful functions, constant flow of information.
Its characteristics are very effective, connections, quality potentiometers, arquitectura just and necessary for the model, and elegant finish that decorates.

The included software is very good, intuitive, making clear the anchors and supervision of each connected instrument or microphone.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Really good
lffonseca, 09.10.2020
Good sound and latency times. Would be better if it had more physical controls.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Plug and play
Joel David, 25.04.2020
I bought this audio interface to record at home. I am not profesional, although I have shared projects with many professionals. I did hesitate to buy a new audio interface as I am quite picky. However this audio interface is absolutely great. I use it with my MacBook Pro and is just as easy as plug and record. I usually plug a Shure sm7b, a Roland piano and a Stratocaster guitar simultaneously and works perfect every time. Monitoring is easy as well not delays or any other problems. I wish I had it earlier. Highly recommended
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
I like the old one more
Primzi, 20.07.2020
It works as expected, does the job well.

They removed the knobs you had on the old ones, I liked the knobs because you could switch and turn on things pretty fast.
Now you need a program, that is not explained for specific Interfaces.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Good forprice
ScotchX, 29.07.2020
It is a good interface for price but there is some cpu problems time to time. Also it drives up to 200 ohm headphones and you cant go with 300 ohm headphones. Many openbacks are not good with it need an amp besides. Recording guitar is totally good there is no clipping until 60 percent of gain with the pads on. Mic preamps are fine but they are not blowing your mind. Thats why ı use some 73 type preamp plugin after a little dessing on recording chain. And ı use Eris 5s with it they also work just fine. for your home studio it connects almost everything together and in this price that cons are really nothing.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Incredible performance for the price
PastaFari, 25.05.2020
For what this interface costs, it will be hard to beat!
A great step up was adding the Air function to the mic preamps. The unit is nice, sturdy and compact and fits in every bag easily.
The converters are really good for the price. The preamps perform great. In this price range, the 4i4 is a great contender.
Cons are the fact that I cannot switch phantom power for each channel individually and that some functions are only switchable via the controller software. A hardware switch on the front of the unit would have been a better idea.
This interface will travel with me for work on the road, and I can finish things of on my main Pro Tools rig in my studio.
Nice job Focusrite!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
A Great Beginner's Audio Interface
stevo873, 05.01.2020
This is my first audio interface and for reference I am using Windows 10 however the interface is compatible with Mac OS X also.

The product itself has a large amount of I/O, boasting two microphone pre-amps and a midi in and out. For the price I am happy with the scarlett's I/O.

Setting up the audio interface was quite simple, with instructions on how to connect and instrument to the interface and download the appropriate software being included. The instructions were succinct and clear.

In terms of the sound quality so far I have plugged in a Fender mustang and a Squier Jazz bass. The sound from both instruments is clear and overall I am very happy with the sound.

I am very happy with my purchase and overall I have no complaints.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Dead on arrival
Artnat, 16.05.2020
Cannot recommend as this arrived dead on arrival - not working at all. It seems that a lot of people are having the very same issue - just look at the forums . Probably not the best Focusrite product. As such I cannot give it anything but one star.

One shining point here is Thomann's very quick response in getting this thing returned (15 minutes, kudos!) Gonna send it back on Monday.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Always been a fan!
King Lyon, 07.05.2020
Always wanted to purchase one of these, and i purchased mine several days ago. Now then, i would have given this product 4 stars, the only reason that i didnt, is purely because i personally found this product and its plug-ins impossible to understand.

I spent several days trying to install this product, and i called the technical support numerous occassions, who were extremely helpful. Unfortunately, i have now given in, and decided to return this product using my 30 day returns policy. I will let you guys know how that goes at a later date.

The service that i recieved was absolutely spot on. If you are technically minded, you could well have this set up and be using it within the hour. Highly recommend this product, just too technical for me.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Miloš, 15.01.2020
Using this one with KRK Classics, had some problems with connecting them at first, only outputs 1 and 2 used to play the sound, still havent tested both on 3 and 4, It might be just me. Theres a little delay when playing the sound sometimes but that doesnt really matter to me. Awesome product, would recommend!

NOTE: After products arrived in my country I had to pay customs services which I had no idea about, read up about it, it might save you a few bucks.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Amazing gear for beginners
Danny Inder, 01.01.2021
I bought this with no experience with recording music, and now I can record loads effortlessly. It's simple to use and intuitively designed. Comes with software that is perfect to get started with. Amazing purchase!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
standardised quality expands to 3rd gen
Zivca78, 13.07.2020
This is a great interface for small studios and setups.
Pros - great sound, air feature on first two inputs, low latency
Con - I am going insane with focusrite software on Mac. It quite often does not register that the hardware is connected. Also, switching direct on/off must be done through software ,so that is extremely annoying. I wish developer kept the physical buttons on the device.
Sound is clear and pristine, there is no noise and everything is great from sound - preamp perspective.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Absolutely solid
Bassios, 18.05.2020
I'm working my way towards a home studio, so upgrading from the 2nd Gen Scarlett Solo to this seemed like the perfect decision.

Setup was incredibly easy and the new Focusrite Control Centre program is really clear and easy to use.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Very good product
dpavon, 20.11.2020
I use this interface to connect my guitar to my pedal then to my PC.
Low latency input, very good pre-amp controls, plus headset output with volume control.
When working on a DAW, with ASIO4ALL plugin, I can hear everything through my headsets, from the guitar, to videos on the web, etc.
Very practical. Recommend!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Excellent budget interface
OrangeLogic, 06.12.2020
We bought this interface to compliment our existing setup (two thunderbolt interfaces) and it meets our expectations.

The build quality is good. The interface has mettal chassis and a decent weight to it. The Amphenol XLR connectors are high quality and will last a long time.

However, when plugging the interface into a Thunderbolt port, there is a clear whine present in the signal and the recording. This is mitigated by plugging it into a USB port instead.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Lots of features, included software is great
FuzzyDrumming, 11.05.2020
Nothing bad to note about this.
My first audio interface ever, and I am very pleased!
I plug both my guitar/bass and edrum set in, and make full use of this.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Focusrite Scarlett 4i4 3rd Gen

$203 €167.23
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.

The price in USD is a guideline price only!

Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Online Guides
Computer Based Studios
Computer Based Studios
This article will look at how to integrate a computer into different studio environments, and will highlight the issues of functionality and connectivity.
Online Guides
Recording E-Guitars
Recording E-Guitars
Our aim is to explain the basic process of recording the electric guitar!
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.