Focusrite Scarlett Solo 3rd Gen

887 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.7 /5
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
A great audio interface
Soheil JB, 13.08.2020
I'm not an expert when it comes to studio equipment but I'm pretty sure this audio interface won't let you down, The build quality is fantastic and I love the sound quality of this audio interface, It's super clean and It has a built-in Phantom power so you don't need to get a separate one for your condenser microphone and you can simply connect this to the computer with the USB-C cable that comes in the box.
The installation process was pretty straightforward and Focusrite has a step by step installation guide on their website.
Did I mention you get a bunch of VSTs and Ableton Live 10 for free? I'm pretty sure if you try to get each one of those it's gonna cost you more than the audio interface.

The only downside for me was some audio crackling when watching youtube ( which doesn't usually happen ) and you can't get any sound output for headphones unless your studio speakers are off which is a bit of hassle and having a volume control for your headphones would've been nice. The more expensive one of this audio interface comes with this feature but I feel Focusrite should've left the headphone volume knob on this model as well.
If you've got the budget and you need two instrument input and you do lots of recording, Get the more expensive one so you don't regret it in the future, For me, this is enough and I'm pretty happy with my purchase.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Get it.
MikeCrossJung, 14.12.2020
Sound surprisingly good, both the preamp's sound for recording as well as the monitoring output quality. Headphone amp sounds good too. Knobs and build are ultra-solid, looks and feels premium. Well done folks.

For me this tiny guy is an easy desktop workplace audio solution acceptable for basic reference. No need to get in the studio for quality assurance listening, just this and some DT770 headphones. ( I'm an audio director. ) Since it's small, cheap, and runs on bus power, it's a good benchmark for multiple audio office workstations.

The software app is the standard for the whole series, but it doesn't offer features for the Solo model. Install and forget.

Keep in mind on this model the monitor level and headphone level are hard linked. With a standby switch on your speakers within reach, that's workable.

Ah, a word to the wise if you're new, if you are planning on using ProTools on the included PT First license, be prepared, by today's standards (2020) it's abysmally poor software. Only go that route if you have specific career reasons.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Good as starting point
Onchky, 15.02.2021
I've never had experience using audio interfaces. I was searching for a nice sound card to help my Mac Mini drive Sony MDR-7506, and after an extensive search, I realised I got Samson Q2U mic, and hell, why not try XLR stuff while getting an amp. For the price of desktop Fiio, I got way better build quality, perfectly stable performance without any issues on boot both on Mac and Windows (which is a nemesis of Fiio devices), and a nice clean interface for my mic. Why 4 stars for sound then? See, Q2U is a dynamic mic, and requires tons of gain. I could not manage to make it work without literally eating the mic. Replacing its head with Shure A81WS windscreen for better performance with sibilance and plosives made things worse—gain is clearly not enough. Other than that, Solo got super clean noise floor, clean and nice headphone amp for my cans, and really good build.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Awesome piece of technology
Otterfinger, 05.01.2021
I use this interface to connect my electrical guiter to my Macbook Pro with Garageband. Setting this up was more than easy and it works perfectly fine. Before I purchased this, I was kind of worried because of the latency discussions and I was quite surprised that when I first connected this device to my Macbook that there was a huge delay of about 1 second. But I quickly found out that this was my own mistake because I used Bluetooth Headphones. I switched to speakers (or other headphones with a cable) and the latency disappears completely. I can highly recommend to purchase this product.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Nice for home recording!
Tuncy, 07.05.2020
I am super happy with it.
I thought its broken in the first place. I had a problem with the USB plug on my computer, so the sound was crackling especially on youtube videos. The USB port was probably bottlenecking the data transfer. I switched the USB port to the USB 3.0 one (even tho its a USB 2.0 device) and it solved the problem.

My only complain is that, it doesnt come with a dedicated headphone volume knob or a mute switch. So as long as my headphones are plugged in, they work. If you don't have a volume knob on your speakers, its very hard to balance the volume of monitors and headphones. If I knew it, I would buy the 2i2. And also, you cannot do a stereo recording from your stereo effects unit.

Good overall. Do consider its cons and pros. 2i2 may be a better option for you.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Outstanding quality for a very affordable price.
AKooymans, 18.03.2020
I got this interface as an addition to my home studio; I mainly use it to track bass and guitars. All I can really say is that I have no complaints whatsoever!

The design is very nice, the device itself feels very sturdy. The free software perks that are included are very nice as well. Focusrite provides several detailed instructional videos, so installation is also a walk in the park.

PROS:
- Beautiful and sturdy design;
- Easy to install, thanks to Focusrite's instructions;

CONS:
- I guess that a con for some people can be that you can only hook up one instrument and one microphone at the same time. For me this is no problem, since I'm only tracking one instrument at a time.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Sounds really good
Keepiko, 11.02.2021
Overall is a good product for the price. The build quality is solid with its metal body. The output sound quality is amazing for the prize, overall really satisfied with the product.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Disappointing interface which supports ONLY 1 OUTPUT!
DisappointedMan, 26.08.2020
Have no idea how this interface became so popular..

I will have to return this as soon as get another interface as this one costing 100 eur doesnt even handle separate audio via headpones or monitors.. I mean How stupid the interface has to be if when you have your monitors connected and plug your headphones, you wont hear anything until you unplug both monitors from the back.. This is ridiculous device and definitely not worth buying unless you know that you will be using only 1 output .

When buying this I had no idea it has such a huge issue and could not see anyone noting this at all..
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Scarlett Solo
MarijoCro, 08.02.2021
Great for recording guitars in your bedroom, I'm about to use it as a DAC as well, for the Sennheiser HD58X Jubilee headphones that I'm currently expecting.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Unbeatable for the money
go_faustino, 20.02.2021
Use it for some home recordings, and it works perfectly with a Mac / Garage Band. The build quality and looks are excellent, the sound quality can't be faulted for the price and has everything you need for quick and simple instrument / vocal recording. Small enough to carry around and looks really nice on your desk.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Xanti, 11.02.2021
Not had any issues with it, works perfectly. Definitely recommend it!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Perfect to me
Hostis, 21.01.2021
I use this audio interface to connect my monitors to my computer, as well as to plug a microphone in and record my voice.

The look is pretty cool, the color is nice, it is pretty small and fits well anywhere.

The different buttons feel really great to use, most of them have a little light showing when it's used (you can change the colors yourself on your computer).

I don't hear any white noise or anything, and never had any problem so far. The recording with my microphone went well too, which means the 48V button worked well. I don't hear any particular latency while playing music on my monitors.

I don't see any cons for now, the price is really reasonable and I like this audio interface very much! :)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great Product
Zhe Soyo, 19.01.2021
Really nice Audio Interface, Great Build Quality, Easy to use !
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Solid Litthe Thing
Tsvetan Tsvetkov, 17.12.2019
Well it's an industry leading product so a lot has been said and written about the Scarlett series. Here are my 2 cents.
Pros:
- Very well Built
- Usb C
- Air button
- Direct Monitoring (not all similar product have this)
- Small and Portable
- Sounds Decent
- Bunch of free software and plugins bundled with it

Cons:
- When I use my guitar with it it peeks super early so the volume levels in the monitors can't go that high
- No headphone volume control
- No combined XLR and audio jack
- A bit expensive

Overall it works great it does what it's made to do and it's very rigid. If the price doesn't bother you this is the usb interface for you.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Buy one and be happy!
ChrisMC, 10.11.2020
Only positive things to say about this interface! I do recommend to anyone :)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
Vey high quality
dimitrioufd, 20.02.2021
Way better than any interface i have used instrument wise. It records all instrument perfectly.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Excellent
colin p, 30.11.2020
Great sound quality,
Portable
Easy to use
Great software included
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Quality and features
Telesound, 03.10.2020
Great quality and super compact and lightweight. It does not need power adapter which is super handy. Easy to use and perfect for recording instrument and vocal at the same time. I really like to use air function for recording vocal. Definitely suggest to anyone who are looking for easy to use mobile solution.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Amazing piece of gear
GTooher, 09.06.2020
I bought this as a complete loop pedal novice. It is amazing, between looping vocals, gtr, 2 channels to go between and storage of up to 99 tracks. I have each track pre recorded for when I play a live gig and then can swap between both channels with my Boss FS-5U foot switch. I live loop as well and use the undo button to have a number of different looping sections of the song while playing live. The fact that as long as you record the first track in time any other recordings will stay in that timing. The metronome is handy as well. This is my favourite piece of gear and has really upped my live performance.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
just what you're looking for
Dmitry Stepanov, 08.10.2020
a simple compact and good sounding solution, everything works as intended
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Focusrite Scarlett Solo 3rd Gen
Rita W., 13.07.2020
This audio interface is brilliant. I use it when our Swing Band rehearses on Jamulus. It was so easy to set up on my Windows 8.1 pc. Headphones, mic and my electric guitar all plugged in and working well. I did try another audio interface which didn't seem to want to set up on my Windows pc so I was more than pleased that I spent a bit more money on the Focusrite. I can't thank Thomann enough for their help and very fast post.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Cheap but lovely
Joris T, 01.07.2020
I got this to replace my old Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 1st generation for one specific reason: the Hi-Z input on the Gen1 is terrible, and they said that this was much improved on the new version. I really only use it for scratch vocals and DI guitars, and yes, the new Hi-Z input is MUCH better than the 1st gen. It suits my needs perfectly, it's super-compact and solid, and the driver works great with no hitches.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Ideal solution for home use
akawe, 27.05.2020
I think it's a perfect solution for home recording. Sound quality is very good, nothing to complain about. It's super easy to set up, there's a very handy wizard that walks you through all the steps needed to start recording straight away. There's just one nitpick: it comes with USB-B/USB-C cable, so if you have a new MacBook then you need to get another cable or an adapter.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
My first Interface
hugodg, 09.02.2021
I use this in my bedroom setup to connect my synthesizer and record into my DAW. Does what it's supposed to do. Great build quality. Some nice free software included with new free software every few months.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great interface
Sebeic, 24.02.2021
Awesome hardware, feels like you could yeet it and it would still work. Maybe my only complain is that they could maybe pair it with a headphone jack adapter so that if you are a dum dum like me and dont know you will need one you still get it. Otherwise amazing.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Focusrite Scarlett Solo 3rd Gen

$105
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Online Guides
Computer Based Studios
Computer Based Studios
This article will look at how to integrate a computer into different studio environments, and will highlight the issues of functionality and connectivity.
Online Guides
Recording E-Guitars
Recording E-Guitars
Our aim is to explain the basic process of recording the electric guitar!
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
Recently Viewed
Roland FP-30X BK

Roland FP-30X BK; Digital Piano; 88 keys PHA-4 keybed with Ivory Feel; Sound engine: 12 SuperNATURAL Piano tones, 20 E-Piano tones and 24 other tones; max. polyphony: 256 voices; Bluetooth Audio (V3.0) and Bluetooth MIDI (V4.0); build-in speaker system (two...

Recently Viewed
Roadworx Microphone Arm

Roadworx Microphone Arm, microphone desk arm with cable management, cables with a diameter of up to 8mm can be attached to the underside of the arms with a clip system, aluminum construction, locking central hinge, 3/8 "thread connector with 5/8"...

Recently Viewed
IK Multimedia AXE I/O + AmpliTube 5 MAX

USB 2.0 Audio Interface with Guitar Effects Software Audio interface specially designed for guitarists, 2 Inputs for instrument-, line- and microphone signals with discrete class-A preamps and switchable 48 V phantom power, Hi-Z instrument inputs at the front, of...

Recently Viewed
Zoom Am7

Zoom Am7, mid-side stereo microphone for Andriod devices; USB type C connection; 90º / 120º / M-S mode switchable; max. SPL: 120dB; resolution: 44.1kHz / 16Bit, 48kHz / 16Bit; for creating videos, podcasts, vlogs and more; two modes: audio and...

Recently Viewed
Electro Harmonix Nano Metal Muff Distortion

Electro Harmonix Nano Metal Muff Distortion; Effects Pedal; Intense, aggressive sound especially for modern Metal Styles; the 3-Band EQ offers a wide tonal range; The Noise Gate eliminates unwanted Noise when you stop playing; compact Footprint; Controls: Vol, Gate, Dist,...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Rode VXLR Pro

Rode VXLR Pro; Plug adaptor with transformer and power converter; TRS mini jack (3.5mm) to XLR3M; integrated voltage converter from phantom power (12 - 48V) to plug-in power (4V); for connecting VideoMic, VideoMic GO, VideoMicro, VideoMic Pro, VideoMic Pro+, VideoMic...

Recently Viewed
Showtec ACT Fresnel 50 WW

Showtec ACT Fresnel 50 WW; DMX controlled Fresnel theater spot complete with barndoor, filter frame and 1.5 m connection cable; 40 W COB LED; Color temperature: 3200 K; Luminous flux: 3400 lm; manual zoom (10 ° - 58 °); manual...

Recently Viewed
Stageworx BLS-315 Pro Light Stand Kit

Stageworx BLS-315 Pro Light Stand Kit; light and speaker stand with light adapter; set consisting of the Stageworx BLS-315 Pro Lighting Stand B and the Stageworx TS-1 Light Adapter:; Stageworx BLS-315 Pro Lighting Stand B:; professional and stable light stand;...

Recently Viewed
Roland FP-30X WH

Roland FP-30X WH; Digital Piano; 88 keys PHA-4 keybed with Ivory Feel; Sound engine: 12 SuperNATURAL Piano tones, 20 E-Piano tones and 24 other tones; max. polyphony: 256 voices; Bluetooth Audio (V3.0) and Bluetooth MIDI (V4.0); build-in speaker system (two...

Recently Viewed
Zaor Miza 88 Flex Wengé Grey

Zaor Miza 88 Flex Wengé Grey; studio desk with 19" rack and keyboard tray; offers space for computer monitors (2 x 30"), keyboard, mouse, DAW controller, monitor controller etc.; 2x 4U 19" racks and central drawer; extendable tray, height adjustable...

Recently Viewed
Walrus Audio ACS 1 Amp+Cab Simulator

Walrus Audio ACS1 Amp+Cab Simulator; Effectpedal; 3 amp models, based on combo classics from British and American music history; dual-amping option: 2 different amp/cabinet combinations possible for left and right channel; high-class, true-to-the-original IR cabinets matching the individual amps; 6...

Recently Viewed
Elation KL Fresnel 150W 6" CW

Elation KL Fresnel 150 W 6" CW; LED Fresnel spotlight incl. barn door and colour filter frame; infinitely variable manual zoom from 15° to 38°; homogeneous 16-bit dimming; dimmer mode, dimmer curve and dimmer delay can be adjusted according to...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.