GHS Fast Fret

10722 Customer ratings

4.6 / 5

You have to be logged in to rate products.

Note: To prevent ratings from being based on hearsay, smattering or surreptitious advertising we only allow ratings from real users on our website, who have bought the equipment from us.

After logging in you will also find all items you can rate under rate products in the customer centre.

cleaning efficiency

protection

4274 Reviews

GHS Fast Fret
$8.80
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.
In stock
In stock

This product is in stock and can be shipped immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
1
V
Great way to prolong life of your strings
VitalyG 09.01.2018
I have been using Fast Fret for years now. It keeps my strings from drying out and helps me slide easily along the strings as well as feel slicker which makes it easier for me to play. It is also possible to use it after you finish playing to wipe off all the ?dirt? from fingers. Simple chemistry, as I would say. In my opinion this is the best string cleaner I have ever used. It includes the applicator and a cloth to wipe off the excess oil which both fit in a small plastic tube that can easily fit in a guitar case pocket. I really like that it lasts a long time. I have had my previous one that I use for 2-3 times a week for about two years in a row. So I think that this is great thing for its money. Just imagine ? one can for 2 years or even more!
I use it for my basses and guitar. And it perfectly works regardless material of strings (tried with nickel, chrome and steel) and roundwound of flatwound. Great thing is that it does not affect fretboard material ? maple, rosewood, ebony? It makes it in good shape anyways. So you may no worries for your oiled maple fretboard.
I found it a bit easier to use than cleaner by Dunlop because the applicator stays wet for all time, no need to shake as with Dunlop bottle.
It is definitely not the thing that make strings last forever, but it can helps out for gig or some demo recording if you need strings to sounds almost like new.
cleaning efficiency
protection
11
0
Report

Report

c
Waste of money!
cigilovic.com 27.08.2023
Recently I lots of items from Thomann and also added a wide variety of instrument care and maintenance products so I could feature them on my blog and share my views with you. I couldn't resist but finally wanted to give GHS Fast Fret a go.

All the claims that it has are pretty much made-up stuff. Does it clean your strings? Is it maybe just because you have rubbed your guitar strings and entire fretboard with mineral oil then you need to remove the excess oil, naturally you will be cleaning the gunk on your strings.

It's just white mineral oil and the specially formulated label is very misleading. The only thing that could happen to white mineral oil is that they may be using the highest quality of the oil. But it doesn't mean anything.

Just have a look at this calculation that I made;
The applicator contains a few grams of mineral oil at max. I think it's even less. That white/yellow applicator part weighs around 8g with mineral oil included.

The white mineral oil costs around 0.042 EUR per ml and this is a very expensive example. There are many products in the market that cost a lot less than this.

Mineral oil density is around 0.8 to 0.9g/ml.
Assuming the applicator part contains 4g of mineral oil;
How many ml of white mineral oil does GHS Fast Fret offer?

4/0.8 = 5ml and how much does this cost per ml? 9.6/5=€1.92 (And this is a very generous calculation!)

So you basically pay around 46 times more than a pretty expensive mineral oil in the market. If you calculate with affordable options, this number could even go up to 100 or more! Just imagine you would like to buy the same amount of mineral oil via buying Fast Fret, you would have to pay over €1000!!!

It's definitely not worth it at all. Apart from being extremely expensive, this is not how you should care for your guitars and guitar strings. To be honest, I find it very successful as they have been able to sell tens of thousands of this product.

Just look at Thomann's website and see the number of reviews! At the moment, there are around 10000 reviews and we know that not every person who buys a product writes a review. That means there have been probably 60000 to 80000 or more people who bought Fast Fret!

If you are looking for alternatives, here's my advice. Go grab some essential oils and a real string cleaner. For essential oils, I highly suggest you go pick up Sandberg Fingerboard Oil or Music Nomad F-One Oil.

There are natural essential oils that you can toss into your salad and still survive! Note that these are for your fingerboards! But if you ever thought rubbing mineral oil to your strings and the fingerboard is fine, you can do the same with these essential oils.

But if you are after a solid string cleaner, I highly recommend Dunlop Formula65 String Cleaner which will remove corroded particles, clean your strings and also make them slippery. While I was working in the musical instruments business, we would often use Formula65 String Cleaner when we needed to liven up factory strings and remove corroded parts on them.
cleaning efficiency
protection
15
3
Report

Report

IG
Surprisingly good
Ivan Getov 05.11.2021
Before i bought the GHS Fastfret, i used the Dunlop Ultraglide 65 to clean my strings. Dunlop's cleaner was cumbersome to use, left a weird feeling on the string and fingers and the effects were very short-term, plus it made the strings TOO bright and i play with clean, zingy tones so that means something.

The GHS Fastfret is completely opposite. It's super easy to use. No dabbing, shaking and waiting for the applicator to saturate with the substance in the bottle.

Smells faintly of almonds and you can moisten your fretboard with it, since it's based on mineral oil. The effect is longer term, doesn't feel greasy or weird on the strings and fingers and the strings don't get too bright and metallicy with it. Plus, the cloth that comes with it is very smooth and doesn't leave material between the windings or around the bridge/nut if nicked.
cleaning efficiency
protection
5
0
Report

Report

T
I only know that I play better when using it
Tannhauser 10.12.2022
EDIT:
Used it for about 2 months, about 1 or twice a week. Then it dried up. Disappointed, as I have read a lot of reviews that stated that you have enough oil in there to last you for much more. Did not buy another one, switched to the blue competitor's product and I found it to last longer with similar effects.

I have no idea about how good/efficient this thing cleans or if it actually protects the strings and the fretboard. This can only be appreciated by close systematic observation for the duration of maybe on year or more, and compare it to a control group that doesn't use it. I am just a guy who likes to shred from time to time, so...yeah. But I know that whenever I use this on the strings and the fingerboard, it lubricates them and the playing is much faster and easier. But the tone gets affected, it cuts some of the highs. Overall I will buy more.
cleaning efficiency
protection
2
0
Report

Report

f
I've been using it for15 years now...
fommof 16.12.2019
...and fora good reason.

Every time I finish playing, I clean each string with a piece of cloth and then I apply the Fast Fret on each of the strings.

That's it. The strings will remain in a good condition for MUCH longer than anything else I've tried.

By the way, this product will last you for many years as long as you don't leave it exposed to air (just don\t forget to always put it in its box and secure the lid). I am still using a couple of Fast Frets that I had bought more than 5 years ago.

Big bonus, the new package is 10 times better than the old one. The new one will not accidentaly open and dry out, so good job GHS!

All in all, if you want to preserve your string's life for as long as possible, here's is a cheap and very handy product.
cleaning efficiency
protection
5
0
Report

Report

SH
Best of the best
Sarah H 27.01.2020
I've been using this stuff for years. Strings last longer, especially noticeable in humid climates (I'm in the sub-tropics) and sound better.

Pros: can't spill, can't overspray, can use on maple fretboards as long as you don't push the applicator down into it, doesn't stain clothes if you wipe you hands on your shirt, ridiculously long lasting (I'm talking YEARS).

Cons: I don't like the new smell of it, I don't think it had a fragrance last time.

This version of Fast Fret has an improved freshness pack, where a cap clips over the applicator before you put it back in the tube. I've never once used any of the included cloths but I'm sure they're very helpful. Highly recommend over any of the competition. Avoid any of the spray string protector/cleaners as they can get into your pickups.
cleaning efficiency
protection
2
0
Report

Report

S
ideal for quick care
Stephen2768 25.03.2014
I initially bought this from Thoman on recommendation of a regularly gigging guitarist. He told me that he got longer wear out of his strings by giving them a quick wipe down after each gig using GHS Fast Fret. I don't gig as often but I must confess that when i use this after gigs my guitar feels much nicer to play next time i come to it. I used to get an experience where the strings would feel as though they had a build up of residue on them and the fret board wouldn't feel as smooth. Since i've been using Fast Fret that feeling has pretty much gone away.
It's easy to use, comes with everything you need for a quick clean up and ergonomically it fits easily into your hand. The main pad on the end of the applicator has a lemon oil type substance (might be lemon oil! i've not really read the ingredients but it smels "lemony"!) which apparently maintains the guitar's fretboard and reuces the risk of damage due to the fret board drying out.
I would recommend it wholeheartedly for this particular kind of use. However, if you love your guitar and want the whole "treat it to a spa day" equivalent you will be looking for some alternatives such as type specific oils and cleaning products for your guitar (which i've also bought from Thoman)
Depending on how often you use it will determine how long it lasts. I think it's good value for money though and it has become a regular purchase for me, as one runs out of use i replace it with another, it's just such a handy and convenient item to pop into your gig bag and once you are in the routine of using it you wonder how you ever got by without it.i
cleaning efficiency
protection
1
0
Report

Report

S
Very pleasant
SoowRoel 06.04.2024
The product is very easy and pleasant to use. It makes sliding over the strings much more comfortable.
cleaning efficiency
protection
0
0
Report

Report

T
Love this magic fluid
TheGreatJayGatsby 01.12.2020
-This is for keeping the strings to your instrument, clean and protected.

Apply a little quantity on the fretboard, frets and strings, wait a minute or two, then carefully remove it with a cloth. The string cleaner will do its job, plus, it will also leave a subtle patina, which will protect the fretboard and the strings for a while.

Don't use too much of this, it's a great product but you need to use it sparingly. Just clean your strings with a cloth after you've played and they will stay fresh longer.

For those who have been using Fast Fret for a while, you might have noticed that, nowadays, the produce smells differently. This is because the new recipe contains petroleum. Nothing to worry about, just follow the guidelines and you'll be ok.

The rule of thumb is: use it sparingly, but regularly, every time you fingers start getting stuck on the fretboard, and using a clean cloth alone doesn't make a difference, apply a little dose. Timing depends on how much you play. For me, I use it once every ten days or so.

If you do this correctly, the cloth you use shouldn't get dirty.
cleaning efficiency
protection
1
0
Report

Report

C
great cleaner, poor package
Charaiveti 15.09.2022
the cleaner cleans well, but i was satisfied with the previous package -- metal case and inside the plastic tool i could put small screw drivers bits, for my guitar. now, with the new version of this product, i cannot do it anymore...
cleaning efficiency
protection
0
0
Report

Report

GHS Fast Fret