Harley Benton ST-20HSS SBK Standard Series

132 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.7 /5
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
features
sound
quality
Very nice guitar for the money
Plectrum, 02.04.2020
Ordered in early Jan, and was told to wait 7-8 weeks.
It arrived couple weeks ago, and here are my initial observations...

PROS
1. Looks even better than in the pictures. The red tortoise pick-guard really nice against the matte black body- which had no finish flaws.
2. Neck is fairly straight, and the fretwork is good - level with no sharp edges although I did polish them.
3. Stays in tune well, but I imediately replaced the basic tuners with Harley Benton brand locking tuners (black). Nut and bridge seem fine.
4. The pickups are pretty good, and all 5 positions are usable from clean to dirty tones & various points in between.
Note: Bridge pickup is quite hot, so some amp/pedal tweaking might be necessary to get the sound you're after (especially since it's not wired to the tone control - per usual Strat-style configuration).
5. Electronics are fine for what they are, and do the job without fuss. This can be considered another upgrade point in the future.

CONS
1. The strings are a bit heavy and flat feeling- personal taste thing.
2. Rough edges on the pickguard around the selector switch cutout. A quick 2-3 mins with a small file should do the trick if it bugs you.
3. Screw-in vibrato arm is either too loose or too tight, which is typical of this type of application. You'll need either a small spring or some tape to make it stay in your personal sweet-spot.

CONCLUSION
If you're a beginner or intermediate player looking for a good-quality HSS Strat that won't break the bank, this is a definite contender. Great deal and upgrade platform: as you get better and want to get to know a guitar by working on it, or someone who needs a backup guitar, or just to get a strat type w/ HSS layout?
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
rombo828, 12.03.2021
Hello, Thomann, the other day I received a package from your store. I ordered a guitar Harley Benton ST-20HSS SBK Standard Series, my happiness was no limit!!! I have been following various guitars from your store on the Internet for a very long time, and I have watched a lot of videos on YouTube. I especially singled out the Harley Benton brand, since (after many hours of watching the video) I liked the high value for money (from the videos), as I later saw, felt, listened to, and further strengthened my right choice. This is not my first guitar, and I had something to compare my new guitar with! I am very glad that I bought and menno this guitar from you. The quality of the guitar is on top, the quality of painting, fitting parts and fixing them together is above all praise, the sounds do not cut the ear and are very pleasant in sound, the electronics do not ring and do not rattle! As for ordering a guitar on your website: everything is very simple and accessible, does not cause any problems, even taking into account the lack of knowledge of the language. The guitar was well packed, I did not have to wait very long, everything was in the pedels of a reasonable and even faster, since the guitar came to me a week earlier than the estimated delivery time! I am very glad that I used your Thomann store, and from now on I will use Thomann to order tools and equipment! Thank you more
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great value
Pedro Gomez, 05.04.2021
As a beginner, this guitar has been a blast to pick up and practice almost daily.
I bought the kit with the amp, and it has been a great experience so far, really recommended for beginners.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great Guitar
JTSK, 22.09.2020
This is an excellent sounding guitar for the price. The pickups are no name pickups however they sound really good. I was surprised when playing the guitar how well it played. It came perfectly set up and the intonation was spot on. The matte finish is super cool looking. The guitar is well made, not a flaw at all on anything. The only complaint I have is purely from aesthetic and that's the plastic protective film on the pickguard. When removing the film parts of a 2nd layer of film underneath started to peel off as well and looked horrible. I have never seen 2 layers of film on a pickguard. The top came off very easy and with it some pieces of the 2nd layer however the 2nd layer is nearly impossible to get off all the way. I am still working at it and may have to remove the pickguard to get it off with heat or something that will soften the glue. So right now it looks a bit spotty. Other than that, I really have nothing to complain about. This is a great guitar for all levels. Advanced players will likely want to mod this. I actually love it the way it is however I can see adding some seymour duncan pickups, a tusq nut, an upgraded bridge and locking tuners. The tuners are ok but could be better. The tremelo bar is a little loose however I was able to fix that with plumbers tape which fixed the extra play in the bar and the looseness of it. All oi all, yes, this is a really good guitar for under $100 and has a ton of potential to be a really great guitar with a few mods. Absolutely incredible. Great work Harley Benton!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Beautiful and well made!
Igor Tkachenko, 07.06.2021
For your money, this is an excellent choice, you will not regret it! There are small accessories for pickups and tuners, but these are all little things and you can change them yourself! The main thing for me is the neck and the soundboard! Thank you very much Thomann and the team for this purchase opportunity for my budget!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Not to seem to be over the top, but............
TB TB TB, 19.11.2019
....this guitar is absolutely awesome; I'm not kidding; It is quite extraordinary, how a guitar that cost €79 can be so good. Its' finish is smooth and sexy; the sound is as good as any Squire Stratocaster that I have ever had. Clean, crunch and ripping distortion, its fab. The pick ups (to me) are surprisingly articulate. The only down aspect is the common problem with low cost guitars is the tremolo (or whammy bar as I like to call it); tuning goes down hill with whammying with gusto (for £70, I can deal with that). I also had a Chord Telecaster covered in the same material which is bliss to play, which made the delivery of this Strat style, even more anticipated. I think Harley Benton have created a Strat styled guitar that is so much more worthy than its price reflects (not an excuse to up the price mind LoL). This is a beauty of a guitar. I also have a Harley Benton ST-62MN, and I thought that was really good. Some may say this is a starter guitar, no, its a guitar. Well done HB, keep up the good work. TB
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
A triumph from Harley Benton!
Courie Amado, 16.01.2021
I can't believe how nice this guitar is! For the price it's stunning - the matte black is so classy (IMHO) and the neck being the same colour... well, it's a thing of beauty. The only thing that I would have changed looks wise is a more red pickguard (it's more brown).

Two fret ends needed the slightest of gentle rubbing with a fret file at the fret end. 10 mins of gentle persuasion and it's perfect now. Otherwise the neck is straight and the frets are fine.

It's heavy. Perhaps I should say substantial? It plays really nicely but even if I couldn't play it I'd buy it again to hang on the wall - it's that lovely looking :-). In fact, it's so nice I've bought 4 more Harleys since!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
This guitar is WOW great
DThonian11, 02.08.2020
this was my first HB guitar and I will confess I was not a fan of Strat style guitars for playing until i got this one. I expected it to be okay and somewhat playable... I honestly got it because of the satin finish, and it was going to be an eyecandy in the room thing. It's very playable and I am happy with this guitar. I expected something similar in quality to that well known brands low end guitar, I got something that is much better all the way around. Its more than just eyecandy.
I really found nothing about this guitar that I wouldn't expect from a low cost guitar, I've paid more and regretted it for a guitar based on a branding.
this was a b stock $70 guitar that I'm honestly shocked its this good. As with all new guitars there are minor things you have to do to make them comfortable to you and this was an easy one to do that with. I would recommend this to someone who is just becoming interested all the way to someone who has been playing for years.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Outstanding instrument for the price!
Andrey Petukhov, 06.04.2021
Probably one of the best budget stratocasters out there. Excellent production quality, great black matter finish (which makes instrument look much more expensive)), awesome electronic (in my opinion better than on Squiers), and good playability of course. Feels and plays almost like the premium guitar. Outstanding for the price! Huge respect to Harley Benton and Thomann!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great Looking and sounding ST-20HSS SBK
Rene Anton , 16.02.2021
This Guitar is a great value , It looks just as impressive in person , for all real GTR players who know how to set up their Guitars the way they like them and love making them theirs , this ideal .. out of the box their was at most two or three filing of the frets, the pickups are great sounding, i use Tens on all my GTR's so after changing strings this Guitar Shines in sound .. as a Recording Engineer and Artist .. i believe in the right hands this Guitar can compete with guitars three times the price ... I would recommend this to intermediate players and pros as well ... as a fun Axe to enjoy as is or modify .. but it is well worth having !! To Harley Benton Cheers !! Rockin Design !!!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Mindblowing guitar for it's price
Akandesh, 28.02.2021
Ordered it with low expectations. When it arrived I noticed it sounds super cool even when not plugged in, much louder than any of my other guitars and a nice metallic sound. Not sure if this is because of the string type or the tension springs, I tried dampening those though but it still sounds neat.
It needed a bit of setup since strings were buzzing a little but as a complete beginner to setups I believe I fixed it quite easily by adjusting the rod. Now it's my favorite guitar, so much fun to play! The neck is super smooth and feels amazing to hold. Doing bends is not great though, believe the frets need to be polished.

Overall the highest value for your money I can imagine when it comes to a guitar and it looks amazing as well.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Excellent value
RolandsSh, 25.01.2021
+ low price
+ solid construction
+ looks cool
+ HSS pickups provide versatility

- tuners feel not so great
- minor tinkering with the neck may be necessary

I bought this as my first electric guitar to teach myself how to play. Guitar was shipped as soon as it was in stock (which matched the timeline provided) and it was packaged properly to protect it form damage.
The guitar feels well made with solid construction. I had a tiny bit of a glue spill where fingerboard attaches to the neck, but carefully cleaning it up myself was no big deal and took seconds to fix. I had no sharp fret ends, but it didn't look like they were rounded at the factory, so it may differ guitar from guitar. I really, really like the matte black finish with black hardware, it looks even better in person than in pictures. Matte black is a bit of a fingerprint magnet though. It was set up pretty well and after a quick tune I was ready to play. Pickups sound nice to my ears and I had no issues with them. I don't really like how the tuners feel, some of them feel much harder to turn than the others, I will probably swap them out at some point.

Overall the guitar is an outstanding value proposition.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
So good
HamzaO, 04.04.2021
This was my one of my better pickups, this guitar is so good and it's really remarkable for how low its price is.
Highly recommended.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Very good guitar. I really like it
axisnoob, 28.03.2021
She is wonderful.


Several months have passed since the purchase of this guitar and I can say that I am not disappointed. A very beautiful, pleasant and good sounding guitar. An ideal choice for a beginner or someone on a budget. The only thing that confuses me is that the guitar gets very dirty. I always wash my hand before picking up the instrument, but sometimes it doesn't help. The most important thing is that it fully fulfills its functions, attracts attention with its external and technical parameters, and was delivered to Russia safe and sound. Thanks!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Best guitar for the price !
yurakey, 06.01.2021
I have been using this guitar for 2 months. No complaints. The frets did not come out, the neck did not twist. In general, the guitar leaves the best impressions both from playing it and from the sound. The guitar has almost no downsides. A small minus is the rather mediocre tuning pegs and unpolished frets. But after a couple of hours of playing guitar the frets are already normal. At the moment, I set the distance of strings from 12 frets to 1 mm. Even doing two-tone bends there is no buz buz. True, to achieve this, it was necessary to grind frets 21 and 22. The appearance of the guitar is generally amazing. I used to have a Squier Bullet and I remember how long it took to tidy it up. This Harley Benton is definitely much better.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Perfect as a first guitar, or to a budget alternative!
Vinnie R., 23.03.2020
Was considering getting a new guitar to get back to playing in standard tuning and seeing as I mainly write in lower tunings, I wasn't looking at spending a lot on what could be something I maybe wouldn't play often.

Upon receiving this HSS strat I'm simply blown away by the value of this thing. It arrived pretty much perfectly set up and no visible blemishes or faults you'd expect on something so cheap.

The guitar is heavier than my Squier, which I don't mind at all.

The finish is really good, knobs are of a lighter plastic which is to be expected but more than adequate. The pickups sound surprisingly snappy, the only downside there being some noise most likely due to lack of shielding.

All in all, I could 100% recommend this fine instrument to anyone wanting a simple practice guitar or if you get this as a first instrument, you'll be getting an instrument far superior to most other budget guitars.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Made of cheapest parts, but it's the way better, than a price
d00m4d, 29.09.2020
Playing it for 3 months and nothing broke yet. It actually amazed me by it's quality. Even more expensive guitars can have some defects, but this one came to me and was ready to play. Only 1 thing has to be fixed - tremolo is lying on a deck. The best guitar for a novice.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Very high-quality and inexpensive guitar!
IvanScout, 01.11.2020
Hello everyone! I bought this guitar in July 2020. This is my first guitar and it's really cool! It looks fantastic! Black matte color combined with red! The build is very high quality! The sound is great! A friend came by recently and I let him play my guitar. He was very surprised that for such money I bought such a high quality guitar! If you are a novice musician take this guitar without even thinking!!! All the best and good music!!!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Best cheap guitar you can find
Tine B, 12.02.2021
I bought this guitar to do some work on it and maybe change some parts but the guitar quality was amazing! So I only changed Neck pickup (the previous one was also very good).
Pros:
+great quality.
+great sound.
+looks amazing.
+low price.
+good tuners.
cons:
-one strap knob was little rusty.
-fretboard was really dry (buy some lemon oil).

It was worth buying it!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
SUCH A GREAT STRAT
lemi413, 03.10.2020
I currently have 12 harley bentons ... strats, teles and les paul i have one explorer and one jr. ... this strat was my last purchese ... and oh man what a great guitar ... i excpect good stuff from thomman but this guitar really floor me ... everything is perfect ... im not joking ... no sharp frets ... no fret buzz ... it came intonated and set up was as good as it gets ... and its beautiful ... mat finish and tortoase pickguard ... great ... and sounds ... pickups r superb ... humbucker is not shril and singlecoils r clear and powerfull ... it plays great ... love it love it ...
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
This is an nice and very, very cheap beginner guitar with an humbucker and 2 single coils.
kimme, 06.09.2020
I'm satisfied with the options you get with this beginner guitar and the tonal options this offers for an beginner guitarist.

With an good setup, cleaning the frets up with steel wool and humidifying the neck with citrus oil, this guitar works for anyone for an long, long time.

You need to fasten up the screws on the output jack, because it can get loose very easily.

The neck needs some steelwool grinding so it can get some shredding capabilities as it can get hard to move your hand up and down the neck when your hand gets some sweat after playing sometimes.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Nice guitar
Armankessilon, 18.03.2021
It is good. Not just for the price - just good.
pros:
beautiful finish
overall aestetics, well constructed, no major flawes
sound is quite good, humbucker is hot
cons:
-one tuner is a bit strange, but nothing crucial. It was loosing tune for some reason, but after several tunes it stopped.
-finish is fragile, be carefull fith your guitar. I have already scratched it a bit on the back side.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Amazing.
KeiFour, 28.08.2020
if I wanted to be extremely nitpicking, you'll need 4 mins to smooth out some frets.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great stuff
Nico1996, 07.01.2021
Coming back to play electric after some time;
very good in hands, very good production, fantastic strings given;
looks suberb!
decent sound, needs mini adjustments;
ready to play or to upgrade;
5/5 in its price range!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Fantastic
Chris Audley, 24.07.2020
What more could you want for a guitar of this price! Looks amazing, pickups have a decent sound and it feels amazing to hold and is lightweight. The knobs feel a little bit cheap but still look good. I'm sure over time I may upgrade pickups and various other parts but even if you keep it as it is he won't be disappointed.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Harley Benton ST-20HSS SBK Standard Series

$99
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.
Available shortly (2-5 days)
Available shortly (2-5 days)

This item has been ordered with our suppliers and should be in our warehouse in the next few days.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-20
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
1
(1)
Recently Viewed
iZotope Community Appreciation Bundle

iZotope Community Appreciation Bundle (ESD); plug-in bundle; contains 11 essential tools for audio editing and creative music production; consists of Nectar Elements, Neutron Elements, Ozone Elements, RX Elements, BreakTweaker, Stutter Edit 2, Iris 2, Trash 2 as well as Exponential…

3
(3)
Recently Viewed
DSM & Humboldt Simplifier DLX Amp/Cab Sim

DSM & Humboldt Simplifier Deluxe Amp/Cab Simulator; Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar; Pre-Amp, Power-Amp and Cab-Simulator; all Analog 0 Watt Dual Channel Amp, with Cab Simulator, multistage Reverb, and versatile connectivity options; All, in an extremely small format; 2 Studio…

Recently Viewed
XAOC Devices Moskwa II

XAOC Devices Moskawa II; Eurorack module; 8 Step Rotosequencer; 8 steps, each with CV control knob and on/off button; for each step programmable functions like slew (portamento), slew probability, gate/trigger probability; up to 8 gate/trigger pattern programmable for each step;…

Recently Viewed
Casio CT-S1WE

Casio CT-S1WE Keyboard with Piano-Look - 61 touch-responsive keys, 64-note polyphony, AiX Sound Source, 61 sounds, Reverb, Chorus, Delay, DSP, Master EQ, Volume Sync EQ, connection to free Chordana Play For Keyboard App, Midi, transpose, metronome, midi record, headphone/line stereo…

Recently Viewed
Fender SQ Aff. Jazz Bass MN Black

Fender Squier Affinity Jazz Bass MN Black; Electric Bass, Affinity Series; Body: Poplar; Neck: Maple; Neck Mount: Bolt On; Neck Form: C; Fingerboard: Maple; Inlays: Black Dots; 20 Medium Jumbo Frets; Nut: synthetic Bone; Nut Width: 38,1 mm (1,5"); Scale:…

3
(3)
Recently Viewed
Quilter Superblock US

Quilter Superblock US, Solid State Pedalboard Amplifier for Electric Guitar; Three Classic US Amplifier voicings: 60 Tweed, 62 Blonde & 65 Black; comparable power to a 25-Watt Tube Amp when powered by the supplied PS-24 Power Supply or 1 Watt…

Recently Viewed
Fender Squier Affinity Strat HH IL BM

Fender Squier Affinity Stratocaster HH IL BM; e-guitar; body poplar; maple neck, C-shape; fretboard indian laurel; radius 241mm (9,5"); 21 medium frets; nut width 42mm (1,650"); scale 648mm (25,5"); pickups 2 ceramic humbucker; electronic 1x volume and 1x tone, 3…

Recently Viewed
Zhiyun WEEBILL-S Gimbal

Zhiyun WEEBILL-S Gimbal; Three-axis gimbal for DSLR and mirrorless system cameras; simple and safe handling thanks to new algorithms and stronger motors even for fast movements; compact dimensions make the gimbal the perfect companion for reportage and action shots; ergonomically…

Recently Viewed
Zhiyun Smooth Q3 Gimbal

Zhiyun Smooth Q3 Gimbal; professional 3-axis stabiliser for smartphones; integrated fill light with three brightness levels; gesture control and Smart Following for automated tracking of people in the field of view; panorama mode with "Magic Clone" function; ZY Cami app…

Recently Viewed
RAV Vast B/H Kurd red

RAV Vast2 B Kurd red edition, B2/ F#3, G3, A3, B3, C#4, D4, E4, F#4, A4, Handpans-inspired steel tongue instrument, 2mm Steel, diameter 51cm, hight 17cm, weight 5,9kg, incl. bag

Recently Viewed
XAOC Devices Ostankino II

XAOC Devices Ostankino II; Eurorack Modul; expander for Moskwa II sequencer (item 521036); expands Moskwa II with CV inputs for Random Play, Slew, Probability, Transpose, Range, Clock Rate, First Step, Last Step; oputput for the internal clock signal; individual gate…

Recently Viewed
Casio CT-S1RD

Casio CT-S1RD Keyboard with Piano-Look - 61 touch-responsive keys, 64-note polyphony, AiX Sound Source, 61 sounds, Reverb, Chorus, Delay, DSP, Master EQ, Volume Sync EQ, connection to free Chordana Play For Keyboard App, Midi, transpose, metronome, midi record, headphone/line stereo…

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.