Rode PSA-1

780 Customer Ratings:
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.6 /5
  • handling
  • stability
  • quality
Total
handling
stability
quality
Very impressed
Andy, UK, 17.01.2019
This desktop stand works well.

I used the standard base to clamp it to my desk (instead of the option to drill a hole in the desk) and this is stable with zero wobble in the base. Everything seems well made and sturdy.

Without a mic when you move the arm the springs move it toward a neutral position when you release the arm. After mounting a mic, that stops.

I mounted a Rode NT1-A Complete Vocal Recording on the end. With that weight on the arm, it is nicely balanced, easy to move, and stays where I put it without adjusting any clamps. It has a reach of more than a metre, and rotates very easily - the arm turns smoothly on the base, and the mic turns freely on the arm. Nice and flexible.

One minor downside - the arm has parallel metal bars which move closer or further apart as you move the arm up and down. These have squared edges and you can nip your fingers a bit if you hold that wrong.

Very happy - very good stand
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Absolute must for any studio
Joe Fahy, 16.05.2017
Iv been in quite a few studios and there is nothing worse when you need to move the mic arm while live and you can hear it moving.

I have this setup at home with the Rode Procaster and PSM1 mount and im really happy with how it sounds.

One piece of advice is to take note of the warning when your unpacking the arm when it says that its spring loaded. I managed to catch my thumb in it.

Before I attached the mic I was concerned that the mic wouldn't be in the right location as the arm kept sticking up in the air due to the springs, however once I attached the procaster mic the arm sits exactly where I want it to be.

When the time comes to add further mic's to the home studio, the PSA-1 will definitely be on the shopping list.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
The Cadillac of Mic Boom Stands!
ThereIsNoNickOrMick, 26.06.2020
When it comes to boom arms for microphones, you can read all the reviews and online commentary you like... You're going to come back to this microphone stand if you're looking for the absolute best in performance. When I first went to install it with the screw down mount setup, I was concerned because the boom kept extending out so much and wouldn't hold a position; little did I think about the fact that I should probably mount the microphone! I mounted the Rode M2 microphone along all to the Rhode PSA1 and couldn't be more satisfied. No matter where I place this microphone, whether up, down, left or right, it just stays put and doesn't sway. This is the Cadillac of microphone boom stands. If you want the best that just works flawlessly, go no further.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Works well with my SM7B
Endre Ottem, 14.08.2018
I use the Rode PSA-1 with a Shure SM7B, which is a quite heavy microphone. The PSA-1 is perfect for this. It's stable and easy to adjust. Doesn't make any noises when you move it around (like some cheaper alternatives do) and stays into place.

I have just one small complaint, and that is the placement of the screws to adjust the tilt of the microphone. When using a SM7B, they come in the way of the cable attachment, so the microphone can't be turned more than 90 degrees or so. If you need it to turn all the way around, you will need an extension tube (like the Shure A26X).
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Perfect
Baggins, 23.04.2020
I am pleased with my Rode PSA-1 ! It is exactly what I wanted
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
really great and sturdy microphone arm from Rode
xplore, 06.07.2019
This table microphone arm (great for podcasters, streamers, small sound recording room, narrators, you name it) is really well built. Sturdy, metal, not too heavy but not too shallow too. It weighs around 3 kg or more, and I mounted it on my table when I got it in less then 5 minutes, not being in a rush. It is black, it comes armed (the spring is armed in the elongated position when it cames), you can easily mount the bottom of the whole thing that sustains the arm really quick, and everything seems well done. No cheap stuff here. The microphone can be mounted easily, and you have a lot of positions where you can keep your microphone on it. Because you can move this arm around, which is a great feature, and also make the mic stand lower or higher, you can rotate the whole thing also 360 degrees, comes from Rode, and if you get a Procaster, this arm is especially built for it. Australian quality.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
top class
irish73, 29.07.2020
great quality stock and service a bit pricy but thats to be expected
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Excellent desktop solution for any kind of mic !
Mariooo, 20.01.2020
One of the best desk mounting solutions
for the microphone. I use it with the Shure Super Deluxe 55 microphone.
However, use with this microphone requires an extension.
The Rode PSA-1 microphone mounting screw is too close to the body of the Shure Super Deluxe 55 microphone which is thick and should therefore have an extension.
I got one when I bought USB M-Audio Uber Mic, but extension for that mic could be purchased separately elsewhere.
With an extension it can very well be used with this microphone as well. I am very satisfied with the product purchased and thomann service and recommend the product to others.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Benharim, 15.12.2019
Handig in een kleine studio. Stabiel. Instelbaar op elke hoogte.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
can be set easily in position
damiendev, 27.10.2019
its really flexible, good for heavy microphone and does not pic vibration easily
price is a bit high, but it look really high end
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
surprisingly good
saar., 15.03.2020
reading a lot of reviews was a little bit skeptical but after using it it's definitely worth the money. great build quality, but a little bit of a weird mechanism.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Necessity for home studio
Tulah, 13.12.2018
PSA-1 microphone arm works really well for what it's ment for. It keeps the microphone where you set it and doesn't buckle under the weight or move otherwise on its own. It keeps the microphone where you set it.

Only downside is that it's really hard to attach to certain kind of desks unless you drill a hole to the desk. My current desk has angled sides and the original clamp is only barely enough to hold. It doesn't reach well around the desk side.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Useful where space is limited
Jenna, 03.04.2014
The Rode PSA-1 has a found a permanent place in my home studio where space is limited. Mounted on a ledge 90cm from the floor, I find I can use it for vocals, violin and guitar equally well, seated or standing. It handles a range of different weights of microphone without any problem and stay put wherever I want it.

If I could only have one mic stand, this would be the one I'd choose.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Great for Blue Yeti Mic
Lisa M, 27.05.2017
I use this mic arm for my Blue Yeti microphone. I have been using this for 3+ months.

Pros: Very sturdy. Even with the weight of the Blue Yeti and a pop-filter, it doesn't become lax or weak. Initially I was worried it would dip under the weight, as the Blue Yeti mic is a bit heavy - but it works perfectly!

It has great range and it's 360º swivel ability is super useful, as I like to move from corner to corner of my L -shaped desks while using it.

It arrived with an adapter included, so I didn't have to worry about finding one to allow my microphone to attach to the arm.

It was very easy to attach the arm to my desk and as I went with the temporary attachment, I now find it very handy to move the mic arm when/where I see fit!

Cons: I have been using this mic arm for over 3 months and I have yet to find a problem with it.

To summarise: A great mic arm! It's a little more expensive than some other popular arms but I believe it's well worth the money.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Durable
HeimCrabs, 05.03.2020
Very flexible and durable.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Better than expected
lapsio, 08.06.2020
When I ordered this stand I didn't have really high expectations considering its low price and I rather considered it temporary solution. But it turned out to be really fair stand. Mic position adjustment mechanism at the end of arm is a bit weird and I had to oil my unit quite heavily because it didn't really want to move at all out of the box. But after some initial servicing it works quite well. It could be more stiff tho.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Come TAIWAN
Alienwu, 21.01.2020
Very good texture
Very cost-effective
Very magic stand
Very strong
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Really useful
Philip3830, 15.07.2020
The quality of this microphone arm is great, it's big with a good reach both in height and depth. I bought it to go along with a synth vocoder but I would think it is ideal for podcasting & other internet/radio platforms. Pieces of equipment like this are expensive and hard to get excited by but they make life and work easier and therefore more productive and enjoyable.
Cons - a bit expensive.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Cool accessory!
Aleksey Oschepkov, 14.01.2020
Flexible configuration, great quality, functionality and cool accessory!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Review
TheAlfredSource, 26.11.2019
Great product, it does get lose but just tighten the screws and it becomes new! Great studio acessory and very agile, it holds microphone in position and thats important.

Can also resolder the wire and move it through the frame to look professional, no hanging wires
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
excellent product
Mikhail_, 16.09.2019
The microphone pantograph is made of quality material, iron heavy, there are small scribbles at turns, but it is not so critical.
Product happy, it 's much better than the plastic bullshit Blue Compass
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Stable and stylish
chippenpuepp, 16.07.2020
Replacement of my previous mic arm. This one has no issues with the weight of my BP-40 mic. Smooth operation.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
good microphone arm
reve25, 24.01.2019
overall stable, for the price can't find any bad. it comes with the adapter for tables with drilled hole in it.
with lighter mics (sm57 like) doesn't hold the lowest positions
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Сool
AlexSemio, 11.10.2019
I bought a Rode NT-USB for the microphone, everything is fine. The stand is magnificent, it suits me. The quality is excellent. I advise you to buy.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Best workhorse for a working desk guy!
Alexandru Ghitulescu, 23.01.2020
It's just speechles...You are getting a robotic arm with no electronics on this price! Once you mount your microphone in it, the gravitation it's allowing you a huge variety of angles!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Rode PSA-1

$78 €66.38
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.

The price in USD is a guideline price only!

Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Phone: +49-9546-9223-35
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Online Guides
Microphone accessories
Microphone accessories
The right accessories bring out the best in your microphones. Find out what’s available and what you can do with it!
Online Guides
Drum Mics
Drum Mics
Miking up and recording a drum kit is a fairly complicated procedure, and this can apply equally to choosing the right mics for the job.
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
(4)
Recently Viewed
Behringer 140 Dual Envelope/LFO

Behringer 140 Dual Envelope/LFO; Eurorack module; two independent analog ADSR envelope generators; for each envelope: manual trigger button, Gate input, sliders for Attack, Decay, Sustain and Release, 2 signal outputs and inverted output; analog LFO with 5 waveforms; sliders for...

Recently Viewed
Novation Launchkey 49 MK3

USB MIDI kKeyboard 49 Velocity sensitive keys, 16 RGB illuminated velocity sensitive pads, Scale and chord mode, Arpeggiator, Capture MIDI function, MIDI mappings, Device lock, Pitch bend and modulation wheel, 2 x 16 Character display, 8 Controls, Keys for...

Recently Viewed
Stairville LED Vintage Bowl 50 RGBA

Stairville LED Vintage Bowl 50 RGBA DMX, 60 W LED, 50 cm; decoration element for stages, clubs and events; stable metal construction; illuminated reflector with unique look; technical data: Light source: 60 Watt RGBA 4in1 LED; Control: DMX (4/6/8 channels),...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Harley Benton Dullahan-FT 24 BKS

Headless Electric Guitar Ergonomically shaped alto body, Maple neck, Bolt-on neck attachment, Maple fretboard, Black offset dots fretboard inlays, Modern C neck profile, Fretboard radius: 350 mm (13.78"), Scale: 648 mm (25.51"), Nut width: 42 mm (1.65"), Graph Tech...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Electro Harmonix Oceans 12 Reverb

Electro Harmonix Oceans 12 Reverb; Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar & Bass; Based on the Oceans 11 with even more reverbs and functionality; two simultaneous, independent, stereo reverb engines; 24 Presets and advanced I/O allowing for stereo in/out or mono...

Recently Viewed
Blue Spark Blackout SL

Large Diaphragm Condenser Microphone Polar pattern: Cardioid, Frequency response: 20 - 20000 Hz, Sensitivity: 34.9 mV / Pa at 1 kHz (1 pa = 94 dB SPL), Output impedance: 50 ohms, Max. sound pressure level: 136 dB SPL (1k...

Recently Viewed
TC-Helicon Go Twin

2-Channel audio / MIDI interface for mobile devices Integrated microphone preamplifier, Phantom power: +48 V, 2 Microphone / line / instrument inputs: combo XLR / jack 6.3 mm, 2 Line outputs: 6.3 mm jack balanced, Stereo headphone output, 2...

Recently Viewed
Hohner Performer Melodica 37 Black

Hohner Performer 37 Melodica, for beginners and advanced, whether for jazz, pop, rock or reggea, the Performer 37 is the right instrument for all four styles, rich and accordion-like sound, perfect for itself and in combination with other instruments, 26...

Recently Viewed
Midas Compressor Limiter 522 V2

Midas Compressor Limiter 522; 500 Series Modular Compressor/Limiter; rotary knobs for Treshold, Ratio, Attack, Release, Gain and Dynamic Presence; HP Sidechain Filter (200 Hz); LED Meter for Gain Reduction and Output Level; Designed and engineered in the U.K.

(3)
Recently Viewed
Behringer 150 Ring Mod/Noise/S&H/LFO

Behringer 150 Ring Mod/Noise/S&H/LFO; Eurorack module; analog Ring Modulator; Noise Generator with two outputs for white noise and pink noise; Sample & Hold section with Clock Out, External Clock In and sliders for Clock Rate and Lag Time; analog LFO...

Recently Viewed
Novation Launchkey 37 MK3

USB MIDI Keyboard 37 Velocity sensitive keys, 16 RGB illuminated velocity sensitive pads, Scale and chord mode, Arpeggiator, Capture MIDI function, MIDI mappings, Device lock, Pitch bend and modulation wheel, 2 x 16 Character display, 8 Controllers, Keys for...

(2)
Recently Viewed
Harley Benton Dullahan-AT 24 TBK

Headless Electric Guitar Ergonomically shaped alto body, Maple neck, Bolt-on neck attachment, Maple fretboard, Black offset dots fretboard inlays, Modern C neck profile, Fretboard radius: 350 mm (13.78"), Scale: 648 mm (25.51"), Nut width: 42 mm (1.65"), Graph Tech...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.