Customer center login
Country and Language

Shure SM58 LC

4418 Customer Reviews

5 3694 Customers
4 664 Customers
3 58 Customers
2 1 Customer
1 1 Customer
4.8 / 5

features

sound

quality

Shure SM58 LC
$95
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
1
s
Industry standard for a reason
soulcat 12.04.2019
The SM58 is Industry standard fo dynamic handheld mics for a reason. Maybe the Beta58 suits you better, though. A short omparison:

1) Beta58 Hypercardioid, SM58 Cardiod - so the Beta58 shows a significantly more directed pickup pattern, which can be good or bad, depending on how much you can control your mic positon and how the monitors are set up (cardioid is least sensitive on the rear, hypercardioid is least sensitive on the sides).

2) Beta58 has a significantly higher output level at similar SPL - if you are working with less expensive preamps this can be a big advantage. With the SM58, it depends a lot on the preamp used if you get pro level results or not.

3) Beta58 has an extended high frequency response, it's high mids / low highs ('presence') are a little faint, but can be easily EQed in, as it takes EQ very well.

4) Overall built quality is better at the Beta58: Hardenend grill, better damping of handling noise. In combination with midrange gear (Focusrite Scarlett series interfaces for example) I prefer the Beta58, as the missing mid / presence peak (it's only 'disadvantge' compare to the SM58) can be EQed in easily, but the higher output level is a real advantage: It gives you a better signal to noise ratio. If you use high end gear with good preamps the SM58 can deliver excellent results, too, though when the budget is big enough you'd rather go with a high-end handheld condenser instead (for example Neumann KMS105), unless you are very loud on stage...
features
quality
sound
5
0
Report

Report

G
For those of you who have still not been introduced to a SM58
Glenn9675 16.09.2015
Personally I don't think a review is required for a SM58, but for those of you who are fairly new to the game, and are not just simply looking for a mic, but looking to invest in a piece of equipment that will be with you for MANY years.......... Read on!

As far as I'm concerned, if you had to look up the word "microphone" in the dictionary, it would say "See Shure SM58"
The SM58 has just about been around since the beginning of time. It's the ultimate vocal microphone. It's not only extremely robust, but is able to transfer all the vocal frequencies you throw at it though to your mixing desk, whether it be soft female vocals, or loud male vocals from a thrash metal band, so it can really take a beating on being shouted into and doesn't distort.

In an emergency you can use it pretty much across the stage, it will even handle the sound pressure from a snare drum, but there are better mics suited for that.

I have just purchased another two from Thomann, not because my others wore out, but just to add to my mic collection. I have got one particular SM58 that is 20 years old this year, and as expected, there is no audible difference between that one and the new ones I've just bought. The only thing I've done to the old one, eight years ago, was replace the grill, because many years of abuse being dropped by various musicians along the way.

So if you're still trying to make up your mind about whether to go for a SM58 or not, just buy one anyway, and make up your mind later.
Thanks to Thomann again for having them at such a good price!!
features
quality
sound
14
2
Report

Report

m
the most common good mic around
mbwhite 14.05.2021
It's by far the most used, well known, durable, sturdy, good sounding live mic around. There's not a single tech who doesn't know how it reacts and sounds. There's not a single stage anywhere in the world with a bunch of them ready to be used. Or abused, it never fails.
But, even if it's the standard that everybody use as a term of comparison, it may not be the best for YOUR voice.
I don't love it with mine for example. There's a thing on mid frequencies that doesn't marry that good with my voice. I prefer other similar priced mics, sometimes I prefer singing with a 57.
So it may not be the best for you, but you must start from here, it's the number 1 of any mic arsenal, along with its cousin SM57.
features
quality
sound
1
0
Report

Report

D
Great microphone, excellent sound
Dynosius 25.05.2021
Aside from the obvious fact that this microphone is one of the lowest outputting mics out there (which you can gather from many reviews online) everything about this exceeded expectations.

Pros:

- Built like a tank
- Very good for noisy rooms, as 90% of the sound it picks up is from 0-50 cm in front of it
- Warm sounding, but you can manage that depending on how far from it you're speaking/singing

Cons:

- Will need some sort of a preamp or post production if it's not loud enough for you, it's really quiet unless you put the sound source right on top of the microphone's head while recording. I personally don't mind it, but it's more quiet than I expected initially
features
quality
sound
0
0
Report

Report

A
You can't miss with SM58!
Anonymous 12.10.2016
Even amateurs know that this is the best all around mic for live performances and recording.

This is my second Shure SM58. The first one I bought 10 years ago and used it for vocals for band practice. I didn't take much care of it to tell you the truth and still works today!

It's really well made and it comes with a small storing back, which should be enough if you're not touring.

You really can't miss with this mic, if music legends use it for live performances it's good enough for you. Not to mention it's really not that expenside. A huge value for money in my opinion!
features
quality
sound
1
0
Report

Report

Rd
absolute top
Ruud de Korte 09.04.2019
i'm smitten with these mics. not to expensive, good sound quality. sturdy, to withstand abuse. got a number of these mics and they remain my absolute favorite for live and studio.
features
quality
sound
1
0
Report

Report

P
Panso 25.06.2021
What can you say about this mic that hasn't already been said. Since the moment you take it in your hands and you plug it in, you understand why it's an industry staple. Great value for money.
features
quality
sound
0
0
Report

Report

m
proven quality and sturdiness
mlaxx 29.04.2021
I bought three of these. The sound is beautiful. Even though people recommend them mostly for live gigs, we have zero problems with recording professional quality audio from these things. It works great even as a replacement for the SM57 for instrument recording if you don't have that. They are quite sturdy too, proven by unintentionally smashing one on the floor. The cap got dented, but nothing came loose. It just works.
features
quality
sound
0
0
Report

Report

R
Perfect handheld podcast microphone
RandomDev 08.09.2020
I was looking for a pair of handheld microphones for on-the-go podcast. What separated this from the rest of similar price range microphones, was the handling noise rejection and sound.

I really like the sound profile of this microphone. It sounds great when you listen to it live with headphones. I also like to add a bit more bass in post to get that perfect "studio radio/podcast" sound feel. Easy!

The handling noise rejection is extremely good. I don't use stands for my podcasts, since that'd require carrying microphone stands and a table on location, which is not always available. Me and a guest would just sit on whatever chairs or sofas are available and make ourselves comfortable. Holding the microphone is also fun.
If you want to save $50 for the same sound quality, you can, but you lose the low handling noise, which for me is worth it.

Durability is well-known and I don't need to worry about breaking this.

You get a carrying pouch for it, which is very useful. I wish it was a smaller.

If I had to say something negative about the microphone, then it'd be the weight. It's a little heavy.
features
quality
sound
0
0
Report

Report

R
Amazing
RedRose 08.09.2019
I use this product to record at a home studio. I use it if not daily then three times per week.
Pros:
It is a really good mic that captures a lot of detail. It's very good to record instruments as well, such as acoustic guitar what I mostly use it for. As well as vocals, which the mic will capture it very smoothly. It also looks like a classic mic and it is very strong.

Cons:
It can capture too much detail so if you have a loud neighborhood or too much noise going on around. The mic will capture it.

So overall I was very happy to buy this mic and I have started using it and I found the quality amazing. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to record and is on a budget, as the price is cheap compared to the quality of the product.
features
quality
sound
0
0
Report

Report

Your browser doesn't support javascript. Please update to the latest version or try another, modern browser.
Shure SM58 LC