Shure SM58 LC

3587 Customer Ratings:
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.8 / 5.0
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
218 written ratings
Total
features
quality
sound
Industry standard for a reason
soulcat, 12.04.2019
The SM58 is Industry standard fo dynamic handheld mics for a reason. Maybe the Beta58 suits you better, though. A short omparison:

1) Beta58 Hypercardioid, SM58 Cardiod - so the Beta58 shows a significantly more directed pickup pattern, which can be good or bad, depending on how much you can control your mic positon and how the monitors are set up (cardioid is least sensitive on the rear, hypercardioid is least sensitive on the sides).

2) Beta58 has a significantly higher output level at similar SPL - if you are working with less expensive preamps this can be a big advantage. With the SM58, it depends a lot on the preamp used if you get pro level results or not.

3) Beta58 has an extended high frequency response, it's high mids / low highs ('presence') are a little faint, but can be easily EQed in, as it takes EQ very well.

4) Overall built quality is better at the Beta58: Hardenend grill, better damping of handling noise. In combination with midrange gear (Focusrite Scarlett series interfaces for example) I prefer the Beta58, as the missing mid / presence peak (it's only 'disadvantge' compare to the SM58) can be EQed in easily, but the higher output level is a real advantage: It gives you a better signal to noise ratio. If you use high end gear with good preamps the SM58 can deliver excellent results, too, though when the budget is big enough you'd rather go with a high-end handheld condenser instead (for example Neumann KMS105), unless you are very loud on stage...
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
For those of you who have still not been introduced to a SM58
Glenn9675, 16.09.2015
Personally I don't think a review is required for a SM58, but for those of you who are fairly new to the game, and are not just simply looking for a mic, but looking to invest in a piece of equipment that will be with you for MANY years.......... Read on!

As far as I'm concerned, if you had to look up the word "microphone" in the dictionary, it would say "See Shure SM58"
The SM58 has just about been around since the beginning of time. It's the ultimate vocal microphone. It's not only extremely robust, but is able to transfer all the vocal frequencies you throw at it though to your mixing desk, whether it be soft female vocals, or loud male vocals from a thrash metal band, so it can really take a beating on being shouted into and doesn't distort.

In an emergency you can use it pretty much across the stage, it will even handle the sound pressure from a snare drum, but there are better mics suited for that.

I have just purchased another two from Thomann, not because my others wore out, but just to add to my mic collection. I have got one particular SM58 that is 20 years old this year, and as expected, there is no audible difference between that one and the new ones I've just bought. The only thing I've done to the old one, eight years ago, was replace the grill, because many years of abuse being dropped by various musicians along the way.

So if you're still trying to make up your mind about whether to go for a SM58 or not, just buy one anyway, and make up your mind later.
Thanks to Thomann again for having them at such a good price!!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Love this mic!!
LizCJ, 08.02.2019
Use mine for gigging. Dropped it and dented it and it still works perfectly, but I did buy another two as spares just in case!! But I'll happily still use the dented one!
Rock solid microphone, would highly recommend it!!!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Amazing
RedRose, 08.09.2019
I use this product to record at a home studio. I use it if not daily then three times per week.
Pros:
It is a really good mic that captures a lot of detail. It's very good to record instruments as well, such as acoustic guitar what I mostly use it for. As well as vocals, which the mic will capture it very smoothly. It also looks like a classic mic and it is very strong.

Cons:
It can capture too much detail so if you have a loud neighborhood or too much noise going on around. The mic will capture it.

So overall I was very happy to buy this mic and I have started using it and I found the quality amazing. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to record and is on a budget, as the price is cheap compared to the quality of the product.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
PinkMafia, 18.06.2019
I bought this for my personal home karaoke needs...! It is excellent value for money and considering all the drunken shenanigans, it has proven to be remarkably resistant to "dropping the mike" (yes, awful, I know... but drunken non-musicians don't know you shouldn't do this!). For the price, an absolutely excellent mike.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
absolute top
Ruud de Korte, 09.04.2019
i'm smitten with these mics. not to expensive, good sound quality. sturdy, to withstand abuse. got a number of these mics and they remain my absolute favorite for live and studio.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
its shure
dj angelo p, 30.07.2019
Its the legendary SM58, good sounding and nice cardio appliance
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Janis
Skyjanis, 17.11.2019
Its the legendary SM58, good sounding and nice cardio appliance
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Classic
Toma(n), 23.02.2019
Nothing to add! Buy, it is very affordable. For live shows - perfect. Ofcourse there is a better mic out here in the world, but for that value... Hard to find..
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
thank you Thomann!!!
Alikhan, 19.12.2017
I use a microphone in a duet with a guitar and acus one 8 amplifier for performances at concerts. The sound is chic, very clean and natural. a small microphone and very comfortable, really a legend. A perfect solution for any musician and singer. thanks to Thomann for the great service, everything was cool and at altitude, I recommend this microphone to everyone, and you will not regret it. Many thanks Thomann that you are with us. I'm happy
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Really good for the prize
Rytmimuna, 15.02.2019
I have been using this microphone for over 5 years and it's been REALLY GOOD!

Build quality is superb. I have dropped this microphone so many times that I cannot even count anymore and it is still working as new. Sound quality is good as expected from this mic.

I cannot think anything bad from this mic.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Great for singers
Lolmaz, 13.11.2017
My wife has used Shure microphones all of her working music career and has never been disappointed in their quality or performance.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
The Mic. The Myth. The Legend.
Schengis, 24.06.2019
Let's be honest, if you're sincerely reading this review and you have never held one of these microphones in your hand before, you aren't allowed to call yourself a musician just yet, and especially not a vocalist.

I've never known another mic to be able to take such a beating and still be able to perform up to standard. There is a reason that this thing is the workhorse of the live music industry and has been since 1966.

All of that being said, I don't there's anyone who would recommend this mic for any studio applications. Its life should certainly be lived out on the stage.

Do you perform live?
Do you sing?
Buy this mic.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Super!
Oriel, 15.11.2013
I was planning to buy the Beta 58 but at the end I have decided to go for SM58 for the reason that I will get experience first and get it next time. The time that I have tried it, I never expect that it is very good microphone and I am not sure if I am still going to upgrade soon but maybe. It is really a heavy duty microphone and well made. I would recommend it for newbies that starting to sing!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Exactly what you expect
Raaggnrs, 13.12.2018
It's pretty much a global standard and it's easy to see why. It performs excellently, and is exactly what you expect, and does not break the bank. Great product.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
sm58 mikes
Js Symbol, 21.05.2019
It is the best choice to make when you need to have a great reliable and solid mike for a minimal price. I tried to replace sm 58 with different other but never found the same stable quality even during harsh condition events. I'm very pleased with all the sm 58 I have.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Perfect product.
Ygg1g, 11.05.2019
It's not considered an industry standard for nothing.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
It's a pleasure...
Markus2717, 18.02.2014
I just wanna say that this is my best friend on stage!
I'm a singer in a Hard Rock Band and after trying different microphones, I decided in favor of the SM 58. Not any other tool can offer so many well balanced qualities that are necessary on stage. Even if you need to boost a snare drum or a guitar box (well I know, this isn't the ideal situation...).
At the moment, I've got six SM58 from different ages. One of them is now nearly 30 Years old!!! And it works, and works, and works...
Even when it fell down and if I sweat all over and kiss it too much... (all singers will know what I mean :-P)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Industry standard mic
25.01.2017
I can only really repeat what others have probably already said about this product.

Solid construction.

Well packaged.

Nice to have the little bag to keep the mic and its bracket handy and safe.

Industry standard for live vocalists.

I use mainly to do heavy metal growling style vocals for which it seems to match my voice perfectly.

Only one thing I can think would make this better would be an engraving service, so many people have these I worry about it getting swapped for a different one without me noticing.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
The benchmark among vocal mics.
arpikusz, 19.12.2018
We all know it. We all love it. There are better ones out there, but for 100 euros this is really a must have.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
shure sm 58
Miroslawa, 07.12.2018
Iconic microphone. undestroyable:) Highly recomended for amateurs and professionals .excellent price-quality ratio.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Invincible!
Garron, 25.10.2014
The mic sounds amazing! and i think the SM58 is well known enough that everybody knows how great it sounds! you will hear it used by most bands you go to see and that is for a reason! it just sounds fantastic!

but the best thing about this mic for me is not its amazing sound, its the durability!i am buying another one for use in my band, but i have had this microphone for years! and i have put it through some serious punishment, it has been dropped on hard surfaces probably hundreds of times, the grill on my old sm 58 looks as though it has been dropped off a building, but the microphone still works perfectly. Absolutely amazing piece of kit! i would recommend this above all over microphones for use in a live situation!

5/5
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
DO you need to read a review?
04.06.2016
It's the 58. What more do you need to know?

Extremelly durable, very good sound, reliable, cheap, resellable, iconic.

Still, since you're reading a review of this mic, you may actually not know about it. So keep this in mind:

It's a dynamic vocal mic. It's for singing live, or maybe tracking a guitar amp if you absolutely have to. It's good for having it lying around in your homestudio for vocoder use or recording drafts. It's NOT for studio recordings.

It's good for what it's made for, and every mic has it's use.

Remember: Vocals, live, and maybe taking notes.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Classic!
GuitarPlayerFromMinsk, 16.10.2017
It's classic and it's really deserve to be the best choice mic for rehearsals and band gigs. Really, take it if you even think what to take. Good for everything: vocal, instruments.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Old Favourite
Ewen F., 01.08.2018
You really can't go wrong with the SM58. So versatile and solid as a rock. Great all round vocal mic!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Shure SM58 LC

$91 €82.35
Plus $33 shipping

The price in USD is a guideline price only!

Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
gb
Phone: +49-9546-9223-35
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Online Guides
Dynamic Microphones
Dynamic Microphones
Dynamic microphones are the basic tools of live sound and play an important role in every recording studio.
Online Guides
Recording  Choirs
Recording Choirs
Recording choir music is always a challenge, even though it might not seem to be at first.
 
 
 
 
 
Download
 
 
 
 
 
video
Shure SM58 LC
0:17
Shure SM58 LC
Rank #1 in Dynamic Microphones
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
(15)
Recently Viewed
Behringer Pro-1

Analogue Synthesiser Dual VCO design based on CEM3340, Sawtooth and pulse waveform for VCO A, Sawtooth, Triangle and Pulse waveform for VCO B, Pulse Width Modulation, Noise generator, 24 dB low-pass filter with resonance, 2 ADSR envelopes for VCF...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Electro Harmonix Ram's Head Big Muff Fuzz

Effect Pedal for Electric Guitar & Bass Fuzz, A faithful reproduction of the popular 1973 V2 Violet Ram's Head Big Muff Pi sound, Controls: Volume, Tone, Sustain, True bypass, LED: Effect on, Footswitch: Effect bypass, Input: 6.3 mm jack,...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Soundboks The New Soundboks

Soundboks The New Soundboks, powerful portable battery powered outdoor speaker system, Mercus Audio Eximo® 3 x 72W intelligently class-d amplifiers that reach levels up to 126dB, 2 x10" low frequency speakers + 1x high frequency tweeters, connections: Bluetooth 5.0, TeamUP...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Mackie ProFX12v3

12-Channel mixer 7 Microphone inputs with 3-band EQ, 4 Inserts and 4 one-button compressors, Channels 5-10 have microphone inputs and stereo line inputs, 1x 3.5 mm Stereo jack Line input, 2x4 USB Interface, Built-in GigFX effect unit with 24...

Recently Viewed
Behringer Airplay Guitar ULG10

2.4 GHz Wireless System for Guitar 4 Channels, Plug & Play, Ultra-low latency of approx. 5 ms, Built-in 750 mAh lithium battery with up to 6.5 hours life, Maximum range: 30 m, Frequency response: 20-16,0000 Hz, Auto Sleep /...

Recently Viewed
Native Instruments Traktor S3

4-Channel DJ Controller and Audio Interface Sample Rate / Resolution: 24-Bit / 44.1 / 48 kHz, 2 Large 14 cm precision jog wheels, Illuminated jog-wheel rings for visual feedback, including deck selection, 16 RGB pads for triggering hot cues,...

Recently Viewed
Steinberg UR816C

16x16 USB 3.0 Audio Interface with iPad Connectivity 32-Bit integer / 192 kHz, 8 Class-A D-PRE mic preamp with +48 V phantom power, Latency-free DSP-assisted monitoring with REV-X Reverb, Channel Strip and Guitar Amp Classics - also included as...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Toontrack EZX Death Metal

Toontrack EZX Death Metal (ESD); expansion pack for Toontrack EZ Drummer 2 (item 399369) / Superior Drummer 3 (item 419735); produced and recorded by Mark Lewis at the Sonic Ranch in Tornillo / Texas; contains 2 complete drum sets, optimized...

Recently Viewed
Meinl Mike Johnston Groove Cowbell

Meinl Mike Johnston Signature Groove Cowbell, MJGB, vintage steel finish, optimized for using in acoustic drum setups, including 2 magnetic dampers for changing the cowbells decay,

Recently Viewed
Critter & Guitari Organelle M Blue

Music Computer Portable digital synthesizer with 25 keys, Integrated 3 watt speaker, Integrated microphone, 4 Real-time controllers, Organelle M is provided with a multitude of pre-installed patches that determine what function the device performs (e.g. various synthesizers, samplers, vocoders,...

Recently Viewed
Boss DD-3T Digital Delay

Effect Pedal for Electric Guitar Digital delay, New function - Delay tempi adjustable via the onboard switch or external footswitch, True bypass, Controls: Level, Feedback, Time, Mode, Effect on LED, Footswitch: Effect Bypass, Current consumption: 45 mA, Power supply...

(2)
Recently Viewed
Universal Audio Apollo Twin X Duo

10 x 6 Thunderbolt 3 Audio Interface With UAD-2 DUO processor for almost latency-free recordings via plug-in emulations of classic compressors, EQs, tape machines, microphone preamps and guitar amplifiers, 24 Bit / 192 kHz AD / DA converter, 2...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.