Startone CG851 1/4

477 Customer ratings

3.8 / 5

You have to be logged in to rate products.

Note: To prevent ratings from being based on hearsay, smattering or surreptitious advertising we only allow ratings from real users on our website, who have bought the equipment from us.

After logging in you will also find all items you can rate under rate products in the customer centre.

features

sound

quality

11 Reviews

Startone CG851 1/4
$34
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.
In stock
In stock

This product is in stock and can be shipped immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
1
A
perfect for kids - nice travel guitar for adults
Anonymous 24.05.2016
I wanted a small portable guitar and to experiment with shorter scale lengths.

Specs

The guitar is very small, smaller than would you think from the pictures. What I didn?t notice before I bought the guitar is that it has narrow nut length. It?s a bit difficult to play especially with the big nylon strings. The quality is ok for such a cheap instrument, the intonation is quiet good. I made some adjustments on the bridge saddle to fine tune the intonation. One thing I don?t like is the string spacing at the nut. You can see from the pictures that the outer strings are not near the edge of the neck, and that makes the neck feel even narrower. I used some tools and open the slots toward the edge of the neck and the improvement is noticeable.

The scale of the guitar is quite small, so if you want to tune the guitar in standard tuning you have to use extra hard nylon strings.

Sound

It plays and sounds fine. You cannot expect big bass sound, but it?s good for its size.

Conclusion

PROS
-cheap
-small size
-decnet quality
CONS
-narrow nut
-not perfect string spacing at the nut

For kids the guitars is fine, for adults who want to experiment with shorter lengths scale guitars, or want a small, portable instrument some adjustment are required. I am satisfied with this product.
features
sound
quality
2
1
Report

Report

EL
Quality vs Price
Els Lopes 22.03.2022
It works for the amount paid.
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

R
Startone 1/4 Guitar
Renewy 15.08.2017
Got this tiny guitar as a birthday present for my brother, but before he got it I played a bit to tune it and check out the thing.

For this price you get a pretty nice piece! It would be great for your kid as first guitar to learn with, or cheap traveling guitar. As it's price is really low, I would get couple of these. The sound is okay, same goes for the quality, but the nut is narrow for big hands.

To sum up, I can tell you that if you're looking for a guitar for your kid, get this one. Tiny, smooth neylon strings, this guitar will serve good as the first one. Also nice, cheap traveling guitar, get this one and keep your expensive guitar home.
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

b
Great for the price, better with some modification
bvella 30.07.2018
I bought this primarily for my 5 year old daughter as a birthday present, and for that purpose it is very good. It mostly stays in tune and it is a good for a small child (my child is on the small side compared to other kids)

I play guitar and I tried this guitar out and was pleasantly surprised. It is pretty good for a grown up as well. The string spacing is pretty tight at the nut.

I did some modifications to try to make it more playable. I filed down the bridge and nut to get the action lower so it is more comfortable to play for my daughter and myself (if you do this, file a little at a time and check, because if you file too much you will need to shim). I plan to maybe replace the nut to make the string spacing wider at the nut, but it is good enough as it is.

Recommended at this price point. It is really good for this price
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

E
Great for children !
Eyði 31.12.2021
I work as a kindergarten teacher and this guitar is a big hit with the kids. More of a toy than a serious guitar but it defiantly works more than fine ! I think its worth the price and I might even buy more for the school. Overall Great buy!
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

A
Awesome gift to kids
Anonymous 29.12.2016
I just offer this guitar to my 4 year old kid, is his first guitar.
He love it! Great gift.

The sound is more than ok, the tinny hands can get into the string easily.

I wish that it have the best nail, but is not a big deal not have it.
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

B
good value
Bernard8458 28.01.2015
bought this for my 6 year old because he wanted to try and learn to play. Thats exactly what this is for and at the price range its basically disposable. It sounds like you would expect a ?29 guitar to but the build is fine and the finish is better than expected. My little lad has had fun making some strange noises and my too! All in all its good value.
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

T
Vous en avez pour votre argent
Tiben92 28.01.2024
Bien entendu il ne faut pas s'attendre à quelque chose d'exceptionnel mais en regard du prix c'est tout à fait adapté pour une introduction à la guitare auprès des enfants, ce qui n'en fait pas un jouet. Vous pourriez acheter une guitare jouet pour deux fois le prix, elle n'en fera pas autant !
Un achat raisonnable et un très joli cadeau pour un enfant qui s'intéresse à la guitare et veut en savoir plus.
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

M
cute guitar for a kid
Mama-Mia 01.03.2019
This is a descent guitar for a kid who wants to start playing, mine had a little paint or mark but as i was preparing to return it my son started playing it so we simply did not interfere, i have to thank the staff for the help in picking the right size, very much appreciate it!
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

SF
Ideal for Travelling
Sean F. 02.06.2013
Bought this to bring on a summer spent hitch-hiking and generally travelling around Europe. Fell in love with it as soon as it came out of the box. It is not a good guitar, nor did I expect it to be for the price. The fingerboard is designed for kids and not my thick fingers. The tone leaves a lot to be desired and it took a full week of constant tuning before it would stay for longer than one song. It does however, have soul and I hope it will have a few stories to tell by the end of the summer.
features
sound
quality
1
1
Report

Report

Startone CG851 1/4