the t.bone SC 420 USB Desktop-Set

258 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.6 /5
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
features
sound
quality
Good entry level microphone
Triodes, 07.12.2020
TIP FOR OWNERS:
I read a lot of comments about the headphone jack being to loud. This can be adjusted in the software on your computer!
On both windows and mac the mic registers itself as both an INPUT and OUTPUT device.

On windows the input device allows only the configuration of the mic volume going to the applications. But the output device allows you to set the level of PC sound going to the headphone jack AND the level of the mic going to the headphone jack. They can be set individually and the mic pass-through can even be muted altogether so you won't hear yourself anymore!

On mac you can adjust the mic through the MIDI application. I have not found a setting to adjust the pass-through volume of the mic to the headphone jack, but you can mute the pass-through using a checkbox.

Go try for yourself :P

On to THE REVIEW:

This microphone gives some absolute bang for the buck. The sound quality is good. It will pick up most sounds in the room though, so it won't be suitable in noisy environments. As soon as you move yourself away from the mic the sound will get more 'hollow' and will lose much of it's low end, but that is to be expected.

I have had the mic working on windows, mac and even android using a usb-c to usb-a otg adapter.

The build quality is not outstanding, but for this price I would rate it very good. The mic itself is lighter than I would have expected. The metal casing seems rather thin, but it is sturdy enough. The stand is perfect, it's heavy and has soft padding at the bottom. It can be easily moved but its weight makes sure it won't move by itself.

The mute button is very useful, but it's click when un-muting is picked up by the mic very badly to the point of clipping. They should have used a non-clicky button in my opinion.

I'm using this mic for discord/gaming and work conference calls. I'm not wearing headphones during these and I get no complaints about people hearing themselves, so the echo seems minimal. I would expect others to be able to hear my keyboard, but they haven't complained about it yet. I do often mute the mic using the button when I'm not speaking though.

One last thing to note is that the inside of the metal grating holding the diaphragm is lit up by a bright blue led. I don't really need this and it can be a tad annoying when the room is dark. I simply put the foam cover over it and now it is barely visible.

All things considered I would definitely recommend this microphone if you're on a budget.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
It's a saviour!
CayeMusic, 05.01.2021
As a pro, I own some great mics from Shure, AKG and Neumann.
Apart from the studio, I do Music Production lessons and seminars which turned out to be internet only (thanks Covid-19) and got really tired of having preamps or at least a soundcard open, get the mic out of the case, xlr cables etc....
I wanted something to help my voice get heard and super easy to work with, no matter if I'm with my laptop or the desktop, home or in the studio...
Well it does the job! And this is what counts the most!
Pros:
-plug n play
-well build
-great mini stand
-decent sound for internet calls and seminars

Cons:
-in that price range and for what it offers, I can't find any.

Conclusion:
DON't get it if you want to record for your next single or album.
GET IT if all you need is a mic to help you sound decent in the internet, podcasts and video tutorials.

I would happily spend 50€ ONLY for the great case, the mic foam, the popfilter and the mini mic stand. :)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great USB microphone for voice
IngvarJackal, 07.10.2020
Works great for voice, has vocal-specific microphones distortion.
Had a defect Mute button, when arrived, but I fixed it with some precision tools.
Stand is good and solid.
Totally would recommend to any, who wants some nice recording of voice for cheap.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
decent usb mic
luis-eire, 15.12.2020
// background - i use mostly xlr mics - dj / drummer / bass player background - these were meant for my backup setup

been using this mic for a couple weeks - connected with no hassle to any of my computers - the range is not impressive and wish there were more sound samples - a bit too muffled on the lows and even with mids adjusted it's not as crisp as other mics i've used - comes in a very fancy case with sock and pop filters

worth for the price - recommend if you don't want to cheap out on amazon bundles - if you have a cheap mic already, i'd recommend saving past this one instead

// thomann offered to take the hole bundle back ( mic / arm / earphones ) but the conditions were not to my liking - i own up to my choice and will keep the gear, but i will avoid shopping with thoman in the future and will not recommend it to friends and colleagues
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
t.bone, sorry, bang for the buck
Opravičujemo se za vse nevšečnosti, 13.11.2020
Simple setup (plug n' play on both Mac and Windows), sound quality is very good, especially considering the price. Would greatly recommend it as a starter mic, although even more experienced podcasters / audio freaks will find a few cons, especially with the sound of it.

Check YouTube reviews, it nicely compares with mics for couple hundred of dollars / euros or pounds.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
I highly recommend this product!!
MargeG, 06.06.2020
It's very easy to use and the quality is beyond expectations. I use this product in recording my songs and instruments. This is my first large diaphragm microphone and it did not fail me. So happy with this product! :)

Also, I had a smooth transaction with Thomman..updates are very useful and it arrived just on time.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Easy to use and set-up
TerryBull, 01.12.2020
Arrived on time and was as it says - plug and play - easy to set up and use. I am however struggling with the "Samplitude software"... while the Mic works with my computer, the software isn't picking up the audio so guess it is a setting somewhere that needs to be set. I'm hoping I just need to do a bit more research as the fix isn't obvious.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Mike: Lovely, Stand: OK
Celleur, 14.12.2020
The microphone itself is very nice, especially for the price. The sound is great for voice and the built-in monitor/headphone jack works well - even if I don't use it.

The mute button produces a loud click when pressed, it would have been great, if that would be edited out of the audio stream, but I see the difficulty in that.

The stand has one big issue: The microphone tends to drop to the front if the fixing screw is not tightened enough and the plastic inserts seem to give after a while which makes regular re-tightening necessary, or the mike will suddenly drop again. (Not like drop to the floor, but tilt to the front). I think that could have been solved with some rubber inserts / disks - which I did myself. Now it is very stable and the screw has not to be tightened that hard. The fix is simple and cheap to do.

You cannot change the height of the stand, but the height is fine for typical desktop use.

The little box it comes in is sturdy enough and allows for safe transport.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Bad fabrication!
TwelveMonkees, 25.12.2020
the structure of the mic, was over tightened causing the mute button to malfunction. We spent 2h trying to fix it and we did but the manufacturing was not how I would have expected.
After all, the mic is OK.
Happy xmas !
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
once you press mute it won't unmute
Skip89, 05.11.2020
I pressed the mute button and it stuck and I can't unmute it
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Kostullah, 02.10.2020
The rubber bands that are attaching the microphone to the set deteriorated very quickly.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Top Sound and Build Quality
JCabs, 28.11.2020
One of the best sound and compact build microphones out there.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
What I needed
prpp, 06.11.2019
I use this mic for either everyday comms on my desktop or recording music in front of my amp. In both cases it does an excellent job.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Excellent quality for the price
Louis111, 19.10.2020
Set up is instantaneous, and it works just as you would expect. Sound quality is great, and the included pop filter works very well.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Amazing!
Flynst, 29.06.2020
This set is just amazing. No complaints.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great quality mic
Paolo Bezzina, 12.03.2019
For the price you pay, you get an amazing quality mic which doesn't take up much space from your desk. Usb support is very handy to have.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Bang for your buck quality
Chr1357, 27.01.2020
Worked out of the box and gives a great quality sound for VoIP talking
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Spetsnave , 19.10.2020
Excellent microphone set.
So good I bought two.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

the t.bone SC 420 USB Desktop-Set

$59.99 €49.58
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.

The price in USD is a guideline price only!

Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.