Yamaha HS 7

1198 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.8 /5
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
features
quality
sound
Trustworthy
ThomasJames, 06.04.2021
In short, these speakers saw me through college and I always found them brilliant for as all around speakers. Regrettably, the hardware has developed crackling and humming after 3-4 years, which is double what most people get if forums are to be believed, but either way, having been attached to these speakers for those years, to see them fail in such a minute but ultimately decisive way is actually a bit upsetting.

They don't do well with phones or other electronics near them, which considering they're in my studio is also a bit baffling.

Pros: Cannot complain about sound. When they're at their best, I'll put them against anything else on the market in that price range. Also, a small thing but this is important, they look fantastic.

Cons: Very much has a finite lifespan. Rear port means consideration is needed as to where they will be located, perhaps not ideal for a bedroom producer
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Superb monitors to get started with!
Jimothy, 22.11.2020
Used these ones in my home studio for many years, and also brought them with me when producing music with other musicians. Great monitors to have when learning mixing and mastering but they do have their limitations as well.

Pros:
*Clear and crisp highs.
*Defined mids.
*Very affordable, amongst the best in its price range.
*Good looking design.
*Not too big in size.
*Great for beginners (from year 1-10 in the music carrier).
*Sounds very pleasant for purely enjoying music, and even watching movies.

Cons:
*Not so much lows, missing some depth and clarity.
*Will sound bad in poorly treated rooms (most speakers do).
*Not suited for mixing and mastering on a professional level.

Conclusion:
Great speakers that I would recommend to anyone within their beginning years making music, but do note as you evolve and start to close in on the real professionals you will need to upgrade for some more expensive speakers. But these ones will take you a long way without any problem!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
best price/performance ratio
meisterpropper88, 27.11.2020
Although they are not my favourite, they sound really nice for the price which is great! They offer some EQing possibilities the cut/enhance low/top end although hhe highs tend to greatly overcome the lows when driven at a high volume, better get used to that.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Good overall
mufi, 22.01.2021
I use them in a home studio, for editing dialogue / post and hobby music writing.
My biggest gripe with them was some high end sharpness. Something is "hissing" there, like a narrow band noise.
But after some months I don't notice it anymore, so they may need some burn-in (I haven't done that).
They have less precise highs than Adam A7's (the old model) which I use regularly at my studio, but still good to make decisions on.
For my usage I find them quite ok, dialogue sounds better than music on them. Maybe a subwoofer would make the setup complete.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Gut für den Preis
puri00, 14.02.2019
Ich habe mir ein Pärchen der HS7 als Zweitmonitore zu meinen Neumännern gekauft und bin zufrieden.

Verarbeitung:
Die Boxen wirken recht billig was die verarbeiteten Materialien betrifft, aber bei dem Preis ist das vertretbar. Allerdings gibt eine der Boxen nach noch nichteinmal einem halben Jahr durchgehende Knackgeräusche von sich, weshalb ich sie wohl zur Reperatur schicken werde.

Klang:
Klanglich gesehen kann man sich für den Preis wirklich nicht beschweren. Natürlich kein Vergleich zu den Neumännern, aber das Stereoabbild ist breit, die Stereomitte zentral und sauber und der Frequenzgang wirklich nicht schlecht. Ich nutze die Boxen zwar mit einem Subwoofer, aber auch ohne haben diese bereits einiges an Low-End zu bieten. Ich würde allerdings empfehlen eine Korrektursoftware ala Sonarworks empfehlen.

Fazit:
Generell kann man die HS7 empfehlen. Wenn man allerdings ein Boxenpärchen als alleinige Referenz sucht, sollte man etwas mehr Geld in die Hand nehmen. Letztendlich ist das aber abhängig von dem Einsatzfeld. Für ein Homestudio ist die Qualität ausreichend, für mehr allerdings auch nicht.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
soundman 11, 16.01.2021
I use these monitors for mixing and for music in general.
They have overall great sound.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Satisfactory
Black Swan, 07.10.2019
Just does the job....quality monitors from yamaha.... Impressive build quality.... no noise....sounds are reproduced really well and are really flat.... Thomann employees been great with guiding me with the proper speaker size to match the size of my room.... these speakers are worth every penny.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Good for a budget
FranciscoTauer, 04.02.2021
Good for an entry point but lacks a few low freqs.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
BEST VALUE MONITORS
will10, 19.01.2021
Bought with the intention of these being my second source of listening in the studio, however I'm relying on these more and more every day. The crisp sound is amazing for achieving a clear mix and whether these are used for production, mixing or even casual listening. You'll find it hard to do better for the price!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Does the job
razzzz, 10.05.2019
Great construction, nice sound.
I wish the air holes were in the front so i could put them next to a wall. Depending on the room acoustics maybe a sub woofer its a good idea.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Strange static noise
V1NC3, 19.12.2018
This speaker is amazing in terms of quality, it only lacks some bass and requires a separate sub.
Problem though: You can hear weird static noise coming from the speakers when no sound or really quiet sound is playing. This also appears when no input source is connected.
This might be due to the electrical installation of my appartement but I can hear this sound even with all other electrical devices unplugged and I never experienced this issue with any other "sound" device I own.
When searching the internet about this issue, it appears I'm far from being the only one concerned so I'm afraid it does count as an electrical design issue.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Reliable nearfield for good money
27.03.2016
I use these speakers as a second set to complement my Adam A7X monitors during mixing. The build quality is very good, they feel sturdy, knobs and switches work fine, connectors are neither too loose nor too tight.

Regarding sound they have a clean, wide and balanced response with a bit mid-forward character. I find this very useful to listen into the mid-range in detail - you can really spot sibilance, too loud or quiet vocals or harshness. They are a bit bass shy so I'd recommend a sub if you have a treated room or a decent pair of headphones if you don't. They don't sound as full and detailed as the Adams but I still get valuable extra information out of them so for me it's essential to have this set around to produce even better mixes.

Overall this is a quality monitor for a great price, it translates well, easy to learn to mix on and work reliably (I've had them for almost 3 years).
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Good sound, good quality, good looks
Theo M, 28.06.2014
These monitors work great as my first mixing monitors, as I've previously only used headphones and my hifi speakers. I can easily distinguish between the instruments in my mix and you can get a decent volume and bass response from them, even though I'd recommend using a subwoofer as well, due to their relatively small drivers.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Good monitors
03.04.2015
I use these monitors with my Yamaha MOXF 6 synth.

I first wasn't satisfied with the sound. I didn't like the piano samples that had too much bass and the midrange sounding shut in. However, as the bass reflex port is located on the back its very important not to have the speakers too close to the wall. I also noticed (as documented in the manual) thats its very important to have the speakers at ear height. Buying speaker stands helped the issue a lot. I think also having the speakers standing up gives the bass a better air flow as it can travel below the speaker.

I'm still not 100% statisfied with the sound but its good enough not to irritate me about it anymore. I'm still probably having the speakers too close to the wall. They are 11cm from the wall in a slightly turned position. I've decreased the room control to -2db. I wished it was more detailed so I could set it to -3db as -2db is sometimes to little while -4db is too much.
I'm also having a close wall in front as the keyboard stands in a short hallway in the middle of two rooms (1,75cm between the speaker walls) which is not good for the sound either. They are probably better in the middle of a bigger room.

Much bad critisism there but otherwise from the wall positioning problem they are good monitors.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Nice speakers but prefer the Dynaudio Range
Leftism , 06.03.2017
Tried the HS7's and compared them with the JBL LSRs and the HS7s are amazingly in comparison, nice and clear, you wont have any issues mixing with them.

However I ended up buying the Dynaudio BM5iii - Although more expensive than the Yamahas they did show the HR7s flaws, those being: slightly harsh sounding, not such a wide or deep stereo image, and a 'so so' bottom end.. That said for the money the HS&s are highly recommended.

However if you can afford more $$$ then buy Dynaudio.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Happy owner
16.04.2014
after 7 months of usage i must say that these are great speakers for around 18-20m2 space. to make final mixing of songs u might need subwoofer along.
after all i'm very happy with these.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Great value for money
Cian H., 18.06.2014
Great studio monitors for there price range. They are extremely powerful, and nearly blew my ear drums when I first played them, so be careful. They have a flat frequency response which is essential when mixing. The build quality is exceptional, they certainly are built to last.

The only thing I feel that they are lacking is some extra frequencies in the lower range. Another downside is that the speakers are ported at the back, but as are most studio monitors in this price range and I don't feel like the bass response is inhibited hugely by this.

Arrived within three working days
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
very decent monitors
09.12.2015
been looking for a monitors withing the lower price range and wanted to go with HS5. but I have read reviews that those are lacking bass frequencies. so I have tried these. cannot compare with others, but I am pretty happy with them. I'm using them for everything. I am finding them excellent for daily use too.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
F5D, 15.08.2014
I use these monitors in a small appartment in my home studio. I have earlier owned monitors from Dynaudio, Mackie, Yamaha and Focal also. I ended up with a pair of HS7s, because I was after a small reasonably prices pair of studio monitors that have clear and good quality sound for mixing of electronic music, as well as for listening to any music. I actually ordered this pair without hearing one, but was really satisfied. For my use, these actually work better than the expensive Focals that I owned before. I need to use low levels to avoid problems with neighbours, and these little monitors can deliver clean sound with enough bass to hear differences in kicks and basslines. I have set my HS7s with the treble level 1 click down and I really like the sound. Smooth highs, midrange comes through very clearly with vocals and bass kicks nicely. The materials may not be as fancy as in some expensive monitors, but the cabinets are actually very well made, and although they look a little bit simple, they look clean and beautiful with the white cones. The electronics are surprisinly good at this price point. There is absolutely no hum or noise from these monitors, and no on/off thump. Compared to Yamaha MSP7, I would rate these almost equal in quality, but tonally different.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Great speaker
Colin3171, 15.05.2014
Great speaker, be warned though you only get one and not a pair, i thought i got a pair but i will be buying another one as they are very good value for money tone wise, frequency wise etc etc
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
nice monitors
28.10.2015
i use yamaha for first time in my life and generally this monitors but sound is little bit middy in general for the first look. for startting for mixing and producing good piece of equipment. specially in this price range hard to beat.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
05.06.2015
There's no doubt about the fact that these are good monitors - detailed, accurate sound and no noise even when volume is maxed. There are a couple of things I don't like about them as well. Most importantly, there's very little bass and you definitely need a subwoofer. However, if you do use a subwoofer, then the sound is excellent. The ever-burnign little LED lamps on front of the monitor can be a bit annoying in a dark room.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Yamaha HS 7

$195
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Test Report
 
 
 
 
 
Online Guides
Monitor Speakers
Monitor Speakers
In this guide we’ll outline the basic principles of studio monitors, and take a closer look at their most common features.
Online Guides
Home Recording
Home Recording
Home Recording can be very complicated. We're here to offer some advice!
 
 
 
 
 
Download
 
 
 
 
 
video
Yamaha aktive Monitore HS 5, HS 7, HS 8
3:48
Yamaha aktive Monitore HS 5, HS 7, HS 8
Rank #3 in Active Nearfield Monitors
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
2
(2)
Recently Viewed
iZotope Community Appreciation Bundle

iZotope Community Appreciation Bundle (ESD); plug-in bundle; contains 11 essential tools for audio editing and creative music production; consists of Nectar Elements, Neutron Elements, Ozone Elements, RX Elements, BreakTweaker, Stutter Edit 2, Iris 2, Trash 2 as well as Exponential…

5
(5)
Recently Viewed
DSM & Humboldt Simplifier DLX Amp/Cab Sim

DSM & Humboldt Simplifier Deluxe Amp/Cab Simulator; Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar; Pre-Amp, Power-Amp and Cab-Simulator; all Analog 0 Watt Dual Channel Amp, with Cab Simulator, multistage Reverb, and versatile connectivity options; All, in an extremely small format; 2 Studio…

Recently Viewed
Fender SQ Affinity P Bass MN PJ OW

Fender Squier Affinity Precision Bass PJ Olympic White; Electric Bass, Affinity Series; Body: Poplar; Neck: Maple; Neck Mount: Bolt On; Neck Form: C; Fingerboard: Maple; Inlays: Black Dots; 20 Medium Jumbo Frets; Nut: synthetic Bone; Nut Width: 41,3 mm (1,63");…

Recently Viewed
Harley Benton EX-84 LH Modern BK

Harley Benton EX-84Modern BK, offset body-style lefthanded electric guitar; tribute series; body: mahogani (sapele entandrophrama cylindricum); neck: mahogani (sapele entandrophragma cylindricum); fingerboard: ebony (diospyros celebica); neck mount: set; neck shape: slim taper c; inlays: white dots; 22 extra jumbo frets;…

Recently Viewed
XAOC Devices Moskwa II

XAOC Devices Moskawa II; Eurorack module; 8 Step Rotosequencer; 8 steps, each with CV control knob and on/off button; for each step programmable functions like slew (portamento), slew probability, gate/trigger probability; up to 8 gate/trigger pattern programmable for each step;…

Recently Viewed
Casio CT-S1WE

Casio CT-S1WE Keyboard with Piano-Look - 61 touch-responsive keys, 64-note polyphony, AiX Sound Source, 61 sounds, Reverb, Chorus, Delay, DSP, Master EQ, Volume Sync EQ, connection to free Chordana Play For Keyboard App, Midi, transpose, metronome, midi record, headphone/line stereo…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
the t.bone Sync 2

Digital 2.4 GHz radio system with two transmitters and one receiver. The compact size is perfect for mobile applications such as interviews, micro-video recording and Vlogging, Transmitter can be used with integrated microphone or external microphone, Distortion-free signal…

Recently Viewed
Blue Microphones Snowball iCE USB Black

Blue Microphones Snowball iCE USB Black; Plug 'n Play USB microphone for recording and podcasting; USB condenser microphone; polar pattern: cardioid; perfect for vocal and music recordings as well as podcasts; frequency response: 40 Hz - 18 kHz; sample rate:…

Recently Viewed
Fender SQ Affinity Tele Lake Pl. Blue

Fender Squier Affinity Telecaster Lake Placid Blue; Telecaster Electric Guitar; Affinity Series; Body: Poplar; Neck: Maple; Fingerboard: Laurel; Neck Mount: Bolt-On; Neck Shape: C; Inlays: Pearloid Dots; 21 Medium Jumbo Frets; Nut: synthetic Bone; Nut Width: 42 mm (1,65"); Scale:…

Recently Viewed
XAOC Devices Ostankino II

XAOC Devices Ostankino II; Eurorack Modul; expander for Moskwa II sequencer (item 521036); expands Moskwa II with CV inputs for Random Play, Slew, Probability, Transpose, Range, Clock Rate, First Step, Last Step; oputput for the internal clock signal; individual gate…

Recently Viewed
Casio CT-S1RD

Casio CT-S1RD Keyboard with Piano-Look - 61 touch-responsive keys, 64-note polyphony, AiX Sound Source, 61 sounds, Reverb, Chorus, Delay, DSP, Master EQ, Volume Sync EQ, connection to free Chordana Play For Keyboard App, Midi, transpose, metronome, midi record, headphone/line stereo…

Recently Viewed
the t.bone Sync 1

2.4 GHz Digital radio system with one transmitter and one receiver The compact size is perfect for mobile applications such as interviews, micro-video recording and Vlogging, Transmitter can be used with integrated microphone or external microphone, Distortion-free signal…

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.