AKG K-240 Studio

1422 Customer Ratings:
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.6 /5
  • sound
  • comfort
  • quality
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Worth it
07.01.2016
There are quite a few good qualities in these headphones with only minor drawbacks.

I tend to listen to high-definition music, 320 kbps and the likes.
What initially struck me when listening to music through these headphones is the quality. After owning cheap 15euro headphones for so long, I immediately noticed a huge increase in clarity, especially in the low-frequency spectrum.
These speakers have higher impedance than some and this causes them to be slightly less-loud, but they are still perfectly capable of drowning out any background noise, such as a TV or radio playing.
These headphones are also semi-open, meaning their sound-insulation isnt very high. This can be seen as good or bad, as you may not want others hearing your music, but it also means I can speak to others while the speakers are still on my ears

For comfort, I didnt give a fifth star for some minor reasons.
First, the removable audio jack extrudes quite a long way out of the bottom of the speaker, and sometimes snags on the collar of my coat. I dont mind this too much as having a removable jack at all is great for me, but still this is worth noting.
Secondly, the material used to form the speaker pads, while soft and easy on the skin, is leathery, meaning that if i wear the phones for a long duration, they will leave sweat-marks on the skin.

The rest of the build quality is very satisfactory, with self-adjusting headband and a good flexible, agile feel to the product as a whole- these will probably last a long time. These headphones are also very light, meaning they dont leave that annoying headphone-hair indent on my head when using them for hours.

So to sum up, Very good quality sound, Very comfortable (usually), durable.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Excellent value for money
VladTheInstaller, 24.09.2017
I use these headphones for pretty much everything from monitoring, tracking, and listening to music outdoors and it does a very good job in all situations. The semi-open construction is useful for being able to hear traffic while in urban areas, which is usually difficult with closed-back designs. Unfortunately, that means there is not much rejection when tracking loud instruments like drums or a miked guitar cabinet in the same room.

The sound quality is great, but not as crystal clear as my AKG K-702 but these AKG K-240s are a fraction of the cost. The character is nice and clear but doesn't have an anaemic or over-present bottom end; The bass and low mids sound pretty good to my ears.

The construction is actually a lot tougher than it would appear, but beware that AKG headphones sometimes have a problem with wires popping loose inside the housing. Repairing this issue requires opening your headphones and re-soldering the loose wire. This has happened on 2 of the 3 AKG headphones I own. Also, the soft, plastic ear pads harden over time and need replacing. That being said, these are some of the hardest wearing headphones I've ever owned.

I highly recommend them to anyone looking for great value headphones that will serve them for years with the minimum hassle.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
I expected more in terms of comfort...
The Jamma, 26.10.2020
I recently returned a Focusrite Scarlet Solo because it didn't suit my needs and the headphones that came with it were far better than these at a similar price i guess (It was a bundle deal).

These headphone have an elastic system that 'auto adjusts' to your head/ear size and i really don't like it. Its not as comfortable as adjustable headphones and you cant 'overadjust' them a bit to reduce the weight/contact with you head so you've always got a plastic strip on your head.

For me the padding around the ears is too hard for long use comfort, and they are quite small - which, if like me you have chunky earrings, makes it really uncomfortable until you kind of tuck them into the headphones!

I also found the tension too much and feel too much pressure on my ears, again with no way to adjust it.

And finally, a small but irritating thing is the elastic adjuster means that (on one side) some of the auto adjusting sliding stuff hits the metal rim around the speaker scratching the gold colour off.

Overall they sound OK but for the reasons above, I cant wear them for long so i'm changing them
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
AKG K-240
cetvrtharry, 23.11.2020
very good headphones, with awesome sound. Recommended highly.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
JackP63, 09.10.2020
Great for home studio use
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
A Studio Standard for a Reason
Schengis, 28.06.2019
These are really just great all-around headphones, and at this price, they're very accessible. I mostly bought them because they have nearly a completely opposite sonic representation that the DT 770s, so if I'm ever questioning the quality of a mix that I'm working on I can switch between the two to make sure everything is well-represented in the mix.

In addition to being great in the studio, they can also just be great for listening. There's something magical going on around the mids in these cans and it can give you a completely new perspective on music that you thought you knew!

Having worked with 770s for a while, I was constantly battling ear-fatigue. After I added the K-240s to my toolbox, I was able to mix for longer periods of time without feeling completely washed out. They also work fantastically at low volumes, which can be a lifesaver.

I genuinely don't have much to say that's negative about these headphones. If you're looking for something to cancel out sound and thump your ears off with bass and be super crispy, then these simply aren't for you.

I won't ever work on a project without these again. Must-have headphones.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
So good it's a steal
Fenditaly, 04.11.2020
Neutral sound the way I like it, light, very comfortable for ear and lobes so I don't tear it apart with my earring; I am a huge fan of the jack adaptor as well. Overall quality good, though it does look a bit cheap, but hey... for this price it's way more than enough.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Very comfortable and not tiring
kikodoze, 18.11.2019
Purchase Reason:
I bought these headphones because there were already many friends I knew who would always recommended me these headphones every time I asked which one should I buy.

Goal:
I have been using these AKG K240 for over a year, constantly, and my intention with them since the beginning was and is to mix and master my projects and various works that I am having. I was very happy to have bought these ones because they are so worth the price which is very affordable.

Comfort:
These headphones sound great and are not tiring to hear for hours on end because they are very comfortable and both the outside and inside cushions are very soft and this is crucial for musicians and sound technicians that want to work without getting frustated after using it.

Sound:
What immediately caught my attention on these headphones was that when listening to music, the clarity of all the songs I listened to was very prominent. Low end not exaggerated, and very well defined mediums and highs. Whether listening to acoustic music down to metal, the clarity and detail are all very well present in these headphones.
And getting it all for less than 100 € is very good deal.

Conclusion:
I conclude that these are the headphones that I use most, whether for leisure and even for mixing and mastering. They are very comfortable and I can stay with them for hours on end and not get tired.
There is nothing I didn't like about these headphones, they're simply amazing.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Best headphones I ever had
Zeka, 05.05.2020
I may not be the most experienced person in relation to evaluating studio headphones, but I used a lot of different headphones in my life and these are the best I ever had.

I use these with Zoom G1 Four, for silent guitar practice, and I prefer this to a cheap amplifier. This is basically everyone one needs to practice guitar, great multi-effects device and a pair of great sounding headphones.

I particularly like that I can replace the cable if it's broken, which happens often on headphones.

They are very comfortable and I don't feel any discomfort wearing them for hours. I like that they are semi-open so I'm not completely isolated, and can still hear if someone is calling me.

I don't have any cons to these headphones, and I feel the price was great (they were discounted at 55 euro).
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Feather in weight, neutral sound
Quincy jones, 18.10.2020
They feel very neutral while checking the mix, you don’t feel the influence of exagerated lows or highs.
Just perfect!
You really don’t need more than this.
They are industry famous for something...
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Light and precise
Afromambo, 05.05.2020
Extremely light and comfortable headset, i can work long hours in the studio without feeling I am wearing headphones.
They're great for mixing but i would not use them in playing situation as they're not as tight on the head as others may be. If you're moving too much, they might just slide off your head before you realise.
Soundwise, they are very precise and clear but I tend to use another pair of (closed) headphones to compare and make sure I have the right 'mix', as those have a slightly mild rendering of the low-end.
In a nutshell, a good companion for mixing sessions in studio, less so for recording/playing sessions.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Nice headphones for mixing
goomovy_qrchuck, 18.11.2020
Nice, clear and comfortable headphones for mixing and nothing else really. These don't isolate at all (open back). The bass is almost not there but it is good when you hear it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Does the job (mostly)
Patrick514, 18.06.2020
Decent for the low price. Not ideal for users with long hair as hair catches easily in the hinges. Cable seems rather flimsy but is replaceable.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Below expectations
IvanRoscoe, 13.11.2020
Poor low end and poor high end frequencies, generally sound is in middle range...and too much plastic...I have old cheaper model K-52, work much better...
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
AKG Headphones
Simon C, 20.12.2018
I'm not convinced !
I'm using headphones out of a Guitar amp. Up till now been using some cheap JBL branded headphones from the supermarket ! Thought I'd treat myself and purchase something a little more "grown up". My first and immediate impression was that the AKG's just seem "dead" in comparison. I'm sure they lack something around the 3/4 mid to high frequency, clarity, presence, life, whatever you want to call it.
Playing P90 or single coil Tele guitars, the old JBL'S sound alive and portray the character of those pickups. I put on the AKG's and it's like listening through cotton wool. I even give the pickup height a tweak on the treble side and / or push the EQ on the amp.

Sound is very subjective, which sound is right. Which speaker is correctly rendering what you've actually got at source, short of actually measuring with laboratory equipment. So maybe the AKG's are technically "faithful". They are nicely made and fairly comfortable, appear to be of a quality. But as I sit here and revue my Thomann purchases, I have listened through the same classical piano cd via headphones old and new and the old are a lot more dynamic and enjoyable to my hearing - I don't believe the JBL's have any "onboard" processing / enhancement.

The AKG's are okay. Are they good ? - I have no idea.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
zimax, 12.07.2020
Amazing Headphones. Very recommended, great sound.
Greatest customer support.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Bon rapport qualité prix
soumolino, 13.03.2020
Le son est correct, toutefois manque peut-être de rondeur dans les basses fréquences. La qualité de fabrication est au rendez-vous ! Attention par contre, au bout de quelques heures d'utilisation, je commençais à avoir des douleurs autour de l'oreille...
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Perfect for playing the guitar
Gncarv, 04.08.2020
Bought them because I wanted a headphone for playing guitar at night, they are perfect for it, also for listening music
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Decent for the price
Niksad, 01.05.2020
I mostly these for over a year and for the most part they were great. Comfortable and pretty light. I wore them for hours at a time and didn't feel any discomfort.
I liked the fact that the frequency response was very flat which is why I used them for music production. That being said, the bass was lacking. It was really weak especially when it came to the sub frequencies.
The cable for these headphones is replaceable but very expensive.

Overall, pretty good for the price but I would suggest saving up a bit more to get headphones with a better bass response if you can.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
"Never knew these frequencies could be heard!"
Plinio il Secchio, 31.01.2020
These are the first high quality headphones that I ever owned, so I don't know there is something better out there for this price, but they sound good to my hear. Sure I had slightly more comfortable ones, but I use them for my little home studio and they're great for the job.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Great Buy
ElectroHead, 30.11.2019
Those headphones are being used to produce music. And they do a great job.
Pros: Price+quality, comfort, it's possible to work for a longer period without fatigue to your ears, because they are halve open.
Cons: Although they are not very flat. the highs are a bit on the sharp side and the lows are weaker. But those little imperfection can be compensated with the right eq settings. Or sonarworks.
Overall a great Buy and worth every penny.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
AKG K-240 Studio
abdalrhmn, 23.03.2020
Good for the price value
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Handle with care!
Akibaidisto, 13.12.2018
Sound quality is perfect! No coloration whatsoever. Very comfortable, been using them for 2, 3h straight, with no fatigue to the ears or head, but beware that the fit is auto, you cannot adjust it as you please.
I do have concernes about the quality of the materials. I'm quite afraid I will break them if I'm not extremely careful taking them off.
I'm glad with the purchase, but wouldn't buy them again due to the fragile touch and feeling. Sound is great though, very clear.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Impressed!
BuzzAlex, 17.06.2020
I was genuinely impressed with these headphones! Great sound and sturdy! i wore for hours with no discomfort in my ears or head!
The only "problem"-albeit a minuscule one- i have is that hair are sometimes caught between the tiny space between the metal of the casing and the plastic arm.
Other than that, my mind was blown!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Incredible Value
Feeky B, 27.12.2018
These headphones have an astounding frequency range and I've been using them for producing for about 3 years now. They're quite comfortable however after extended periods of use the leather can make you sweat a little.

The balance between the different frequencies is brilliant and unlike many of today's commercial consumer and even some studio headphones - the bass response isn't overpowering. Everything has it's own space in a well made mix while wearing these. Once I got them I put on Bitches Brew by Miles Davis because of how intricate the mix is (3 pianos, 2 hard panned left and right, one down the centre, 2 drummers hard panned left and right plus the normal jazz setup) and I was blown away. It totally changed my perception of the album.

These are brilliant for listening, for producing, mixing, sound design, and anything else that requires hi fidelity sound. They are pretty much noiseless on their own which gives the sound clarity as opposed to being drowned out by a hiss or high pitched ringing in the case of noise cancelling headphones. Beware however, they don't have great isolation or volume because they are open backed. I highly recommend these.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

AKG K-240 Studio

$50.50 €42.24
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.

The price in USD is a guideline price only!

Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-33
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Online Guides
Headphones
Headphones
Headphones are basics for any studio or DJ. But not all headphones are created equal.
Online Guides
Home Recording
Home Recording
Home Recording can be very complicated. We're here to offer some advice!
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
(4)
Recently Viewed
Thomann DP-28 Plus

Digital Piano 88 Weighted keys with hammer action, 25 Sounds, Metronome, 50 Rhythms, 192-Note polyphony, Modes: Layer, Split, Duo Mode, Twinova, Reverb and Chorus, Music library with 100 preset songs, Transpose function, Bluetooth Midi for Pianotool App (iOS and...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Blackmagic Design ATEM Streaming Bridge

Blackmagic Design ATEM Streaming Bridge; Video converter that can receive an H.264 stream from any ATEM Mini Pro and convert it back to SDI and HDMI video; this allows video to be distributed to remote locations on a local Ethernet...

Recently Viewed
Behringer Modamp Module 1005

Behringer Modamp Module 1005; Eurorack module; Ringmodulator and VCA; 2 ignal inputs with level controls; MOD and UNMOD modes for selecting Ringmodulator or Amplifier operation; 2 adjustable CV outputs for controlling external Oscillators; Gate inputs to switch modulation modes; build-in...

Recently Viewed
Stairville Green Screen Roll-Up 1.5x2m

Stairville Green Screen Roll-Up 1.5x2m; Mobile chromakey background; Easy transport and safe storage thanks to the roll-up system in the sturdy aluminium case; Quick assembly and disassembly thanks to two hydraulic supports; Sturdy and durable scissor system; Two folding feet...

Recently Viewed
Roland TD-07KV V-Drum Set

Electric Drum Set TD-07 sound module, 25 Preset kits, 25 user kits and 143 instrument sounds, V-Edit, EQ, ambience and 30 multi-effects, Bluetooth, Internal metronome, Coaching function, USB for audio and MIDI, Includes cabling and power supply Set configuration:...

Recently Viewed
Electro Harmonix Mainframe Bit Crusher

Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar & Bass Bit Crusher, Produces 80s-style lo-fi sounds reminiscent of early arcade games, home consoles and home computers, Reduces the sample rate from 48 kHz to 110 Hz, which leads to reduced audio quality...

Recently Viewed
Thomann 12H Ocarina C3 Roses blue

Thomann 12H Concert Ocarina AC Roses C3 Alto, size: 18.5 cm, tuning: C major, professional range: a1-f3, incl. 72-page instructions, in a colored cardboard box, made of ceramic, color: blue-white, weight: 326g, according to the world-famous ocarina virtuoso Satoshi Osawa,...

(2)
Recently Viewed
Presonus PD-70

Presonus PD-70; dynamic speaker and recording microphone; perfect for for spoken-word applications like podcasts, live streaming or traditional broadcast; polar pattern: cardioid; sensitivity: 1.6mV/Pa; frequency range: 20Hz - 20kHz; Output Impedance: 350 ohms; rugged construction; Integrated hard mount and...

(3)
Recently Viewed
Arturia MicroFreak Vocoder Edition

Hybrid Synthesizer with Gooseneck Electret Microphone Limited Edition, Compact performance intrument for experimental sounds and innovative textures, Touch keyboard with 25 keys, velocity sensitive and with polyphonic aftertouch, Digital oscillator with synthesis engines like the Karplus Strong, Harmonic OSC,...

(4)
Recently Viewed
Nux MG-300

Multi-Effect Pedal for Electric Guitar Realistic feel and playability, Studio sound quality, Quick Tone editing software for selecting and optimising patches, loading 3rd party IRs to extend the sound possibilities, 56 Drum beats, 60 Second phrase loop with rhythm...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.