AKG K-240 Studio

1422 Customer Ratings:
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.6 /5
  • sound
  • comfort
  • quality
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Worth it
07.01.2016
There are quite a few good qualities in these headphones with only minor drawbacks.

I tend to listen to high-definition music, 320 kbps and the likes.
What initially struck me when listening to music through these headphones is the quality. After owning cheap 15euro headphones for so long, I immediately noticed a huge increase in clarity, especially in the low-frequency spectrum.
These speakers have higher impedance than some and this causes them to be slightly less-loud, but they are still perfectly capable of drowning out any background noise, such as a TV or radio playing.
These headphones are also semi-open, meaning their sound-insulation isnt very high. This can be seen as good or bad, as you may not want others hearing your music, but it also means I can speak to others while the speakers are still on my ears

For comfort, I didnt give a fifth star for some minor reasons.
First, the removable audio jack extrudes quite a long way out of the bottom of the speaker, and sometimes snags on the collar of my coat. I dont mind this too much as having a removable jack at all is great for me, but still this is worth noting.
Secondly, the material used to form the speaker pads, while soft and easy on the skin, is leathery, meaning that if i wear the phones for a long duration, they will leave sweat-marks on the skin.

The rest of the build quality is very satisfactory, with self-adjusting headband and a good flexible, agile feel to the product as a whole- these will probably last a long time. These headphones are also very light, meaning they dont leave that annoying headphone-hair indent on my head when using them for hours.

So to sum up, Very good quality sound, Very comfortable (usually), durable.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Light and precise
Afromambo, 05.05.2020
Extremely light and comfortable headset, i can work long hours in the studio without feeling I am wearing headphones.
They're great for mixing but i would not use them in playing situation as they're not as tight on the head as others may be. If you're moving too much, they might just slide off your head before you realise.
Soundwise, they are very precise and clear but I tend to use another pair of (closed) headphones to compare and make sure I have the right 'mix', as those have a slightly mild rendering of the low-end.
In a nutshell, a good companion for mixing sessions in studio, less so for recording/playing sessions.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Bon rapport qualité prix
soumolino, 13.03.2020
Le son est correct, toutefois manque peut-être de rondeur dans les basses fréquences. La qualité de fabrication est au rendez-vous ! Attention par contre, au bout de quelques heures d'utilisation, je commençais à avoir des douleurs autour de l'oreille...
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Decent for the price
Niksad, 01.05.2020
I mostly these for over a year and for the most part they were great. Comfortable and pretty light. I wore them for hours at a time and didn't feel any discomfort.
I liked the fact that the frequency response was very flat which is why I used them for music production. That being said, the bass was lacking. It was really weak especially when it came to the sub frequencies.
The cable for these headphones is replaceable but very expensive.

Overall, pretty good for the price but I would suggest saving up a bit more to get headphones with a better bass response if you can.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Great Buy
ElectroHead, 30.11.2019
Those headphones are being used to produce music. And they do a great job.
Pros: Price+quality, comfort, it's possible to work for a longer period without fatigue to your ears, because they are halve open.
Cons: Although they are not very flat. the highs are a bit on the sharp side and the lows are weaker. But those little imperfection can be compensated with the right eq settings. Or sonarworks.
Overall a great Buy and worth every penny.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
AKG K-240 Studio
abdalrhmn, 23.03.2020
Good for the price value
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Handle with care!
Akibaidisto, 13.12.2018
Sound quality is perfect! No coloration whatsoever. Very comfortable, been using them for 2, 3h straight, with no fatigue to the ears or head, but beware that the fit is auto, you cannot adjust it as you please.
I do have concernes about the quality of the materials. I'm quite afraid I will break them if I'm not extremely careful taking them off.
I'm glad with the purchase, but wouldn't buy them again due to the fragile touch and feeling. Sound is great though, very clear.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Use them all the time
pidah, 08.01.2018
Very nice for vocalists and other people who rely on intonation. Because of the design you hear quite a bit of "you" while the spill is not too bad.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Very nice for the price
Penguin0, 09.05.2020
So my main headphones are audio technica msr7 . I needed a 2nd pair and I didn't like the beyerdynamics (I use these at work and I needed something different)
The sound is ok, they are very plane and responsive.
They are quite comfortable and 0 weight
The materials seems cheep plastic but I don't mind since they help me on mixing
It comes with long cable and 3,5 to 6 adapter.
For 55, it's very nice purchase, but I would get 2nd pair for that sound swap when your ears need a change.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Professional headphones for a good price
old_rich87, 12.05.2020
If you want to have closed headphones and at the same time do not want to be fully isolated from the surrounding sounds, then the model AKG K240 Studio MK II does the job. I use them for playing guitar and the biggest asset is the clarify of the sound. However, it lacks a bit of bass.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Guitar practice
KillY88, 18.07.2019
I bought this one for practicing quietly with my guitar. It's perfect for that.
On the plus side, listening to music through my phone (spotify) with the headphones is excellent. The first song i put on was "Welcome To the Jungle" and i heard parts of the song that I had never heard before.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Good but not really what I expected
Hoodoo, 12.07.2017
I bought these headphones recently for plugging them into my audio interface and using on making psychedelic music.

What you need to know:

Long cable. You may not like it, but I love it, gives option to move around the room without needing to take them off and on all the time.

It originally comes not with the studio type jack (like guitar cables have) but with the small regular headphone jack. Fortunately, there is a qualitative adapter included. Not sure how it affects the quality though.

The quality itself is not really what I expected. I used iPhone 6 earbuds all the time, and benchmarking from them the lower frequencies are pretty weak. Too weak I'd say. Can't enjoy those groovy basslines as much I'd like to. The headphones themselves aren't too loud either, but aren't really quiet as well.

Also, remember, that they only isolate your ears partially, which maybe puts a toll on the sound quality a bit.

In general I don't feel quite content with them. I'd say you need to test them out and compare with others before buying.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Nice for bass players
29.04.2015
I looked around and settled on these. Couldn't be happier. I use these to play along with MP3's and my bass while practicing, I was using in ear monitors at home, but these sound 100x better. Comfortable, except in 30+ degrees, but still OK. Can't hear much outside noise (wife!) while practicing another bonus.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Great simple headphone
Niels VE, 03.02.2020
I bought this headphone for a gig where I needed a monitoring headphone asap. I am pleased to say the AKG K240 surpassed my expectations. Great audio quality, more then loud enough ,very comfortable, looks professional. Build quality is okay. It does not cancel out the noise of surroundings very well but that was not necessary in my case. Couldn't be happier with it. On top I had a very fast delivery of Thomann!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
geconja, 11.06.2018
OK for this price... But not very impressed about them
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Studio standard headphones
Ray Mincer, 03.11.2019
It sounds great. A little boomy, but that's normal with headphones I suppose.

I has a clear sound and it feels very comfortable on the head. The only flaw is that it is a little clunky to take outside and if feels a little flimsy.

Best of the price range
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Good for the right application
John paul jones, 20.02.2020
If you want this to be your main headphones for mixing, just go get closed headphones.
generally the lows are weak.
could be great for studio recordings with the band so you get a fair amount of the sound in the room.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Good headphones for home studio
Iv011, 10.07.2018
I bought them for mixing and using in home studio. They are semi open so I can hear door ring, phone or some other important sounds while I am listening music or working in DAW. Sound quality is good and neutral.

Pros: Inexpensive good sounding headphones.
Cons: These doesn't have spiral cable.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Very good headphones
Pianohustler, 21.12.2018
I use these for playback of my digital piano when exercising. Good sounding headphones that are comfortable to wear. The piano sounds more realistic through the headphones than through the built-in speakers. No audiophile quality but very good for my purpose at the price being asked.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Great value headphones
Cdbigman, 14.04.2019
I needed headphones for home use as my current ones were damaged.
I decided on these ones as other reviews were good. So far I am really pleased with them. They have a decent flat sound for monitoring/recording. Good long cable and very well built.
My only issue is that they don’t sit as comfortable on my head as other brands of headphones. They are lacking in adjustable features but for me it’s not a deal breaker.
this wouldn’t stop me for recommending them to you to use.
I hope this was helpful to someone.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Nice Headphone
C.Winardhi, 07.04.2020
This headphone is for me is very good for controlling the mixer. It's also good just to hearing music.

The only cons for me are the sound is leaking from the headphone to the outside. But overall is a good one.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
devnexen, 04.11.2020
Surprisingly decent sound quality for this price range, as 1/2 open, it is pretty much my style of head phones most of the time.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Excellent value for money
Scorpio, 31.10.2017
Non-fatiguing, light, very decent sound.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Not bad for the price
Santaklosie12, 13.03.2018
Getting some crackling at what i would call not high levels of sound, wasn't expecting the best so got what i paid for.

very comfy when wearing and over all finish feels great
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
PinupB, 13.08.2018
I use this pair of headphones as an all purpose kind of phones, the sound is clear and balanced, and honestly I like it very much, I've been using them for a year and the built quality is good i'm not a very careful guy with my equipment and they have resisted very well.
They are semi open headphones and if you like to listen music with a little bit of volume, the person next to you will be listening too because they bleed a lot.
I don't know why but the earpads, and the headband get very hot on our head after a 30m of use and on warm days they will make you sweat.
The Sound is good the built quality too but they are not very comfortable because of how hot they get in your head.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

AKG K-240 Studio

$50.50 €42.24
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.

The price in USD is a guideline price only!

Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-33
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Online Guides
Headphones
Headphones
Headphones are basics for any studio or DJ. But not all headphones are created equal.
Online Guides
Home Recording
Home Recording
Home Recording can be very complicated. We're here to offer some advice!
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
(4)
Recently Viewed
Thomann DP-28 Plus

Digital Piano 88 Weighted keys with hammer action, 25 Sounds, Metronome, 50 Rhythms, 192-Note polyphony, Modes: Layer, Split, Duo Mode, Twinova, Reverb and Chorus, Music library with 100 preset songs, Transpose function, Bluetooth Midi for Pianotool App (iOS and...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Blackmagic Design ATEM Streaming Bridge

Blackmagic Design ATEM Streaming Bridge; Video converter that can receive an H.264 stream from any ATEM Mini Pro and convert it back to SDI and HDMI video; this allows video to be distributed to remote locations on a local Ethernet...

Recently Viewed
Behringer Modamp Module 1005

Behringer Modamp Module 1005; Eurorack module; Ringmodulator and VCA; 2 ignal inputs with level controls; MOD and UNMOD modes for selecting Ringmodulator or Amplifier operation; 2 adjustable CV outputs for controlling external Oscillators; Gate inputs to switch modulation modes; build-in...

Recently Viewed
Stairville Green Screen Roll-Up 1.5x2m

Stairville Green Screen Roll-Up 1.5x2m; Mobile chromakey background; Easy transport and safe storage thanks to the roll-up system in the sturdy aluminium case; Quick assembly and disassembly thanks to two hydraulic supports; Sturdy and durable scissor system; Two folding feet...

Recently Viewed
Roland TD-07KV V-Drum Set

Electric Drum Set TD-07 sound module, 25 Preset kits, 25 user kits and 143 instrument sounds, V-Edit, EQ, ambience and 30 multi-effects, Bluetooth, Internal metronome, Coaching function, USB for audio and MIDI, Includes cabling and power supply Set configuration:...

Recently Viewed
Electro Harmonix Mainframe Bit Crusher

Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar & Bass Bit Crusher, Produces 80s-style lo-fi sounds reminiscent of early arcade games, home consoles and home computers, Reduces the sample rate from 48 kHz to 110 Hz, which leads to reduced audio quality...

Recently Viewed
Thomann 12H Ocarina C3 Roses blue

Thomann 12H Concert Ocarina AC Roses C3 Alto, size: 18.5 cm, tuning: C major, professional range: a1-f3, incl. 72-page instructions, in a colored cardboard box, made of ceramic, color: blue-white, weight: 326g, according to the world-famous ocarina virtuoso Satoshi Osawa,...

(2)
Recently Viewed
Presonus PD-70

Presonus PD-70; dynamic speaker and recording microphone; perfect for for spoken-word applications like podcasts, live streaming or traditional broadcast; polar pattern: cardioid; sensitivity: 1.6mV/Pa; frequency range: 20Hz - 20kHz; Output Impedance: 350 ohms; rugged construction; Integrated hard mount and...

(3)
Recently Viewed
Arturia MicroFreak Vocoder Edition

Hybrid Synthesizer with Gooseneck Electret Microphone Limited Edition, Compact performance intrument for experimental sounds and innovative textures, Touch keyboard with 25 keys, velocity sensitive and with polyphonic aftertouch, Digital oscillator with synthesis engines like the Karplus Strong, Harmonic OSC,...

(4)
Recently Viewed
Nux MG-300

Multi-Effect Pedal for Electric Guitar Realistic feel and playability, Studio sound quality, Quick Tone editing software for selecting and optimising patches, loading 3rd party IRs to extend the sound possibilities, 56 Drum beats, 60 Second phrase loop with rhythm...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.