AKG K-240 Studio

1422 Customer Ratings:
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.6 /5
  • sound
  • comfort
  • quality
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Excellent value for money
VladTheInstaller, 24.09.2017
I use these headphones for pretty much everything from monitoring, tracking, and listening to music outdoors and it does a very good job in all situations. The semi-open construction is useful for being able to hear traffic while in urban areas, which is usually difficult with closed-back designs. Unfortunately, that means there is not much rejection when tracking loud instruments like drums or a miked guitar cabinet in the same room.

The sound quality is great, but not as crystal clear as my AKG K-702 but these AKG K-240s are a fraction of the cost. The character is nice and clear but doesn't have an anaemic or over-present bottom end; The bass and low mids sound pretty good to my ears.

The construction is actually a lot tougher than it would appear, but beware that AKG headphones sometimes have a problem with wires popping loose inside the housing. Repairing this issue requires opening your headphones and re-soldering the loose wire. This has happened on 2 of the 3 AKG headphones I own. Also, the soft, plastic ear pads harden over time and need replacing. That being said, these are some of the hardest wearing headphones I've ever owned.

I highly recommend them to anyone looking for great value headphones that will serve them for years with the minimum hassle.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
AKG K-240
cetvrtharry, 23.11.2020
very good headphones, with awesome sound. Recommended highly.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
JackP63, 09.10.2020
Great for home studio use
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
A Studio Standard for a Reason
Schengis, 28.06.2019
These are really just great all-around headphones, and at this price, they're very accessible. I mostly bought them because they have nearly a completely opposite sonic representation that the DT 770s, so if I'm ever questioning the quality of a mix that I'm working on I can switch between the two to make sure everything is well-represented in the mix.

In addition to being great in the studio, they can also just be great for listening. There's something magical going on around the mids in these cans and it can give you a completely new perspective on music that you thought you knew!

Having worked with 770s for a while, I was constantly battling ear-fatigue. After I added the K-240s to my toolbox, I was able to mix for longer periods of time without feeling completely washed out. They also work fantastically at low volumes, which can be a lifesaver.

I genuinely don't have much to say that's negative about these headphones. If you're looking for something to cancel out sound and thump your ears off with bass and be super crispy, then these simply aren't for you.

I won't ever work on a project without these again. Must-have headphones.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
So good it's a steal
Fenditaly, 04.11.2020
Neutral sound the way I like it, light, very comfortable for ear and lobes so I don't tear it apart with my earring; I am a huge fan of the jack adaptor as well. Overall quality good, though it does look a bit cheap, but hey... for this price it's way more than enough.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Very comfortable and not tiring
kikodoze, 18.11.2019
Purchase Reason:
I bought these headphones because there were already many friends I knew who would always recommended me these headphones every time I asked which one should I buy.

Goal:
I have been using these AKG K240 for over a year, constantly, and my intention with them since the beginning was and is to mix and master my projects and various works that I am having. I was very happy to have bought these ones because they are so worth the price which is very affordable.

Comfort:
These headphones sound great and are not tiring to hear for hours on end because they are very comfortable and both the outside and inside cushions are very soft and this is crucial for musicians and sound technicians that want to work without getting frustated after using it.

Sound:
What immediately caught my attention on these headphones was that when listening to music, the clarity of all the songs I listened to was very prominent. Low end not exaggerated, and very well defined mediums and highs. Whether listening to acoustic music down to metal, the clarity and detail are all very well present in these headphones.
And getting it all for less than 100 € is very good deal.

Conclusion:
I conclude that these are the headphones that I use most, whether for leisure and even for mixing and mastering. They are very comfortable and I can stay with them for hours on end and not get tired.
There is nothing I didn't like about these headphones, they're simply amazing.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Best headphones I ever had
Zeka, 05.05.2020
I may not be the most experienced person in relation to evaluating studio headphones, but I used a lot of different headphones in my life and these are the best I ever had.

I use these with Zoom G1 Four, for silent guitar practice, and I prefer this to a cheap amplifier. This is basically everyone one needs to practice guitar, great multi-effects device and a pair of great sounding headphones.

I particularly like that I can replace the cable if it's broken, which happens often on headphones.

They are very comfortable and I don't feel any discomfort wearing them for hours. I like that they are semi-open so I'm not completely isolated, and can still hear if someone is calling me.

I don't have any cons to these headphones, and I feel the price was great (they were discounted at 55 euro).
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Feather in weight, neutral sound
Quincy jones, 18.10.2020
They feel very neutral while checking the mix, you don’t feel the influence of exagerated lows or highs.
Just perfect!
You really don’t need more than this.
They are industry famous for something...
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Nice headphones for mixing
goomovy_qrchuck, 18.11.2020
Nice, clear and comfortable headphones for mixing and nothing else really. These don't isolate at all (open back). The bass is almost not there but it is good when you hear it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
zimax, 12.07.2020
Amazing Headphones. Very recommended, great sound.
Greatest customer support.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Perfect for playing the guitar
Gncarv, 04.08.2020
Bought them because I wanted a headphone for playing guitar at night, they are perfect for it, also for listening music
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
"Never knew these frequencies could be heard!"
Plinio il Secchio, 31.01.2020
These are the first high quality headphones that I ever owned, so I don't know there is something better out there for this price, but they sound good to my hear. Sure I had slightly more comfortable ones, but I use them for my little home studio and they're great for the job.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Impressed!
BuzzAlex, 17.06.2020
I was genuinely impressed with these headphones! Great sound and sturdy! i wore for hours with no discomfort in my ears or head!
The only "problem"-albeit a minuscule one- i have is that hair are sometimes caught between the tiny space between the metal of the casing and the plastic arm.
Other than that, my mind was blown!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Incredible Value
Feeky B, 27.12.2018
These headphones have an astounding frequency range and I've been using them for producing for about 3 years now. They're quite comfortable however after extended periods of use the leather can make you sweat a little.

The balance between the different frequencies is brilliant and unlike many of today's commercial consumer and even some studio headphones - the bass response isn't overpowering. Everything has it's own space in a well made mix while wearing these. Once I got them I put on Bitches Brew by Miles Davis because of how intricate the mix is (3 pianos, 2 hard panned left and right, one down the centre, 2 drummers hard panned left and right plus the normal jazz setup) and I was blown away. It totally changed my perception of the album.

These are brilliant for listening, for producing, mixing, sound design, and anything else that requires hi fidelity sound. They are pretty much noiseless on their own which gives the sound clarity as opposed to being drowned out by a hiss or high pitched ringing in the case of noise cancelling headphones. Beware however, they don't have great isolation or volume because they are open backed. I highly recommend these.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Best value for money
17.09.2016
Clear sound as flat as possible for only 60euros. Also very convenient to wear them
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Amazing Headphones, Cheap Price and Good Longevity.
13.08.2016
I used this for my own work and little else. They're a nifty pair of headphones.

Pros: -Nice overall sound, doesn't meddle much with lows or highs.
-Comfortable, specially in the winter.
-Removable cable for replacement, giving it more lifetime.
-Overall good aesthetic design.
-Surprising good quality for the price.

Cons: -Will warm your ears up too much during summer time or hot days.
-While it can replace its cable, it's rather fragile on the headphone's end, so I advise buying a spare cable. The spare cable is also a bit too costly and insanely long, but the latter might also be a Pro for yourself.

Overall, I highly reccomend getting these. They're amazing for the price and will last a very VERY long time if you take care of them and have enough cables to replace overtime. AKG's doing fine work with this line.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
A classic headphone
Robbie S, 01.11.2020
My previous pair of AKG K240s broke after 38 years. I bought a new pair, to recapture the classic sound and comfort that they provided.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
11.01.2017
Hands down a classic in that price range and for the price tag provided here hard to beat. I got a set to go with my PreSonus Eris set and UMC404HD audio interface - I play guitar and bases through them and also do some mixing and they do the job perfectly.
Decent sound quality - I don't think it's fully flat EQ but close to it, sound quality comparable with the Eris 4.5 set (which I'm also really happy with).
4 star for comfort because the default pad cushions, although very pleasant to the ear warm up really quick and do not 'breathe' causing a bit of a sweaty ear;) Other than that they're spot on.
Definitely recommended:)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Great sound with guitar proccessor
Erynworn, 04.12.2019
I bought this product to use with my guitar processor Helix. I found the sound with very natural and tasty. Soi i definetely recommend it if you have a volume problem especially in nights.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Cool sound
andrew t, 17.03.2020
These headphones are very light and are not tiring for long wearing.

The sound is clean, using them for digital piano. Did not test them for music production on highs and basses.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Excellent quality at a great price.
Kevo, 15.06.2017
Being new to recording I painstakingly researched the best pair of cans to purchase for monitoring & mixing, I decided on the AKG K-240. I am over the moon.
The first piece of equipment I tried out. I listened to music for over 4 hours straight. Asthetically pleasing (look good), are extremely comfortable. The sound qaulity is excellent. I am hearing details in songs I previously never heard before.
If like me, you are setting up a home studio on a budget, I strongly recommend the K-240's.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Gorgeous, even if not *completely& neutral.
Con_E, 23.11.2017
I use these headphones every day, both for composing, mixing & tracking. I can wear them all day every day for weeks and weeks without any sort of fatigue, either from a sonic perspective, or from the physical weight / shape of the headphones.

The sound reproduction is absolutely dreamy, and it makes listening and writing an absolute joy -- as almost everything sounds good! Everything is also crystal clear, without ever being harsh or unrealistic.

My only critique is that in the very low-end (say, sub 120Hz) they are perhaps too smooth, making it difficult to get an accurate picture of how this frequency range will translate to other listening environments.

If you are looking for bass-heavy headphones, try something else, but if you are looking for headphones that make your work a dream, and encourage confidence when writing / composing, & recording -- then i haven't heard better than these :)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
i use every day
toma022, 27.11.2018
clear sound
full confort
i will buy a same again
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Greatly improved and excellent value for money
Peter F. 779, 18.02.2020
I bought my first pair of AKG K-240 over 20 years ago.
My cat (yes my cat!) chewed on the cable. Unfortunately back then the cables were permanently attached. The repair cost when you add the labour cost and parts was almost the same as the price of a new pair of headphones.
These new versions have detachable cables and feel more comfortable.
For monitoring while doing vocals or for close up listening of a sound that is making the mix difficult these will do the job.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Recommended purchase!
05.01.2017
First time when i tried out this headset i suprised.
I have never thought that for that price this headphones will be soo good.
It has warm lows and understoodable mids to, only the highs dont came through like th previouses.
Even so the the high freq.-s nice too.

I am happy with this purchase, lets try it out!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

AKG K-240 Studio

$50.50 €42.24
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.

The price in USD is a guideline price only!

Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-33
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Online Guides
Headphones
Headphones
Headphones are basics for any studio or DJ. But not all headphones are created equal.
Online Guides
Home Recording
Home Recording
Home Recording can be very complicated. We're here to offer some advice!
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
(4)
Recently Viewed
Thomann DP-28 Plus

Digital Piano 88 Weighted keys with hammer action, 25 Sounds, Metronome, 50 Rhythms, 192-Note polyphony, Modes: Layer, Split, Duo Mode, Twinova, Reverb and Chorus, Music library with 100 preset songs, Transpose function, Bluetooth Midi for Pianotool App (iOS and...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Blackmagic Design ATEM Streaming Bridge

Blackmagic Design ATEM Streaming Bridge; Video converter that can receive an H.264 stream from any ATEM Mini Pro and convert it back to SDI and HDMI video; this allows video to be distributed to remote locations on a local Ethernet...

Recently Viewed
Behringer Modamp Module 1005

Behringer Modamp Module 1005; Eurorack module; Ringmodulator and VCA; 2 ignal inputs with level controls; MOD and UNMOD modes for selecting Ringmodulator or Amplifier operation; 2 adjustable CV outputs for controlling external Oscillators; Gate inputs to switch modulation modes; build-in...

Recently Viewed
Stairville Green Screen Roll-Up 1.5x2m

Stairville Green Screen Roll-Up 1.5x2m; Mobile chromakey background; Easy transport and safe storage thanks to the roll-up system in the sturdy aluminium case; Quick assembly and disassembly thanks to two hydraulic supports; Sturdy and durable scissor system; Two folding feet...

Recently Viewed
Roland TD-07KV V-Drum Set

Electric Drum Set TD-07 sound module, 25 Preset kits, 25 user kits and 143 instrument sounds, V-Edit, EQ, ambience and 30 multi-effects, Bluetooth, Internal metronome, Coaching function, USB for audio and MIDI, Includes cabling and power supply Set configuration:...

Recently Viewed
Electro Harmonix Mainframe Bit Crusher

Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar & Bass Bit Crusher, Produces 80s-style lo-fi sounds reminiscent of early arcade games, home consoles and home computers, Reduces the sample rate from 48 kHz to 110 Hz, which leads to reduced audio quality...

Recently Viewed
Thomann 12H Ocarina C3 Roses blue

Thomann 12H Concert Ocarina AC Roses C3 Alto, size: 18.5 cm, tuning: C major, professional range: a1-f3, incl. 72-page instructions, in a colored cardboard box, made of ceramic, color: blue-white, weight: 326g, according to the world-famous ocarina virtuoso Satoshi Osawa,...

(2)
Recently Viewed
Presonus PD-70

Presonus PD-70; dynamic speaker and recording microphone; perfect for for spoken-word applications like podcasts, live streaming or traditional broadcast; polar pattern: cardioid; sensitivity: 1.6mV/Pa; frequency range: 20Hz - 20kHz; Output Impedance: 350 ohms; rugged construction; Integrated hard mount and...

(3)
Recently Viewed
Arturia MicroFreak Vocoder Edition

Hybrid Synthesizer with Gooseneck Electret Microphone Limited Edition, Compact performance intrument for experimental sounds and innovative textures, Touch keyboard with 25 keys, velocity sensitive and with polyphonic aftertouch, Digital oscillator with synthesis engines like the Karplus Strong, Harmonic OSC,...

(4)
Recently Viewed
Nux MG-300

Multi-Effect Pedal for Electric Guitar Realistic feel and playability, Studio sound quality, Quick Tone editing software for selecting and optimising patches, loading 3rd party IRs to extend the sound possibilities, 56 Drum beats, 60 Second phrase loop with rhythm...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.