Behringer U-Phoria UMC202HD

790 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.6 /5
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Almost perfect, but...
Matteus Warner, 22.07.2020
For the price it's obviously a no-brainer. The interface is solid and very well built. The pre-amps are amazing so as the sounds you can get from it. There's only a major drawback which made me return it and get the UMC204HD (for 20€ more): the direct output you get from the channels 1 and 2 is hard-panned,a nd by that I mean that if you plug a guitar or something else in for example the input 1 and you want to hear it directly without having to use a daw and avoid delays in the signal while playing, you will hear it only from your left headphone or left speaker. The UMC204 instead has a mono/stereo switch which allows to overcome that problem. All but that is very good in this interface, but I think that if you need to record an instrument it's a major issue (it's very annoying hear it through just one side of the headphones). I would strongly recommend the UMC204HD which is similar to this but gets you covered
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Not using all the features, but it's a great DAC for the price!
musicinprag, 15.11.2019
I was using a 20 year old Roland USB audio interface until I burned it up after moving to another country with different voltage and didn't realize the wall PSU was not universal voltage.

I wanted to replace it with a similar device. Most of the time the use is just as a DAC which takes input over USB from a Linux box and the analog out goes to a mini stereo system. I was using the recording features on the Roland but I have not tested the Behringer yet.

I was pleased to find not only does the UMC202HD run my Sennheiser HD 25s perfectly well but even the HD 600s sound good via the headphone jack. I think it is surely the best DAC you can buy for 64 Euros...

It runs off USB and even supplies phantom power if you need it. Quite an amazing device. The audio over the headamp is not perfect, it's a little thin, but it is very clear, clean, absolutely without any noise. You will not be able to turn the volume past 50% without the HD 600s becoming uncomfortably loud.

I'd like to see a power button on the front panel and for recording some kind of useful level metering is absent but seems pretty important. However given the tiny size I don't see there is room for it. Personally I wouldn't mind a larger enclosure to get the metering.

Summary: deal of the century on a 192 KHz DAC.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Excellent value for money
Pennylane Studio, 24.12.2020
This interface is very good especially if you consider the cost. I've had quite a few Behringer products over the years and they have in the most part been good.
The UMC202HD is a real asset if you need to make good quality recordings quickly and easily. The lay out of the inputs, outputs and controls is intuitive so easy to master and the quality of the preamps belies it's modest cost.
One small gripe is that channel 1 is routed to the left output, channel 2 to the right while monertering recordings, although it is in stereo when mixing down, I mono-d my head phones while recording, so not to much of an issue for me.
I would be happy to use this in my studio professionally as it slotted in to my DAW seamlessly with the drivers on the Behringer website.
So to recap, easy to set up and use, quality is at the higher end for this type of interface and the build quality is excellent for the cost.
Again great customer service from Thomann, thanks.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Be careful!
20.10.2016
It is a very good audio interface.I like to record with it, good quality sound and I love the direct monitoring without any latency. It is awsome that I can use XLR and 1/4 cable to connect instruments and microphones.

But be careful! With MAC you need no driver but with WINDOWS you do. You don't receive a CD with the driver so you have to download it from internet. The problem is that there is no driver for WINDOWS 7 64bits! Really Behringer?
If you contact them they will send you a link to download an uncertified beta driver that will be stopped by the OS because Windows 7 64 bits allow just certified driver to be installed.You can solve this problem by certifing it by yourself but this process its not for everyone.It took me a while to get it done.So Windows 7 64bits users be careful to this.This is the only con, but its a big one.

Concerning other things I like everything about it.I like the fact that I can use it instead of an amplifier for my guitars and then connect headphones or an audio sistem.

---------------------------
There is now official driver for Windows 7 to Windows 10 available at http://www.music-group.com/Categories/Behringer/Computer-Audio/Audio-Interfaces/UMC202HD/p/P0BJZ/downloads
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Easy Setup. Solid Build
Kasman123, 08.07.2020
This is my first audio interface. Using it in conjuction with Bandlab for some band projects during lockdown. First off, excellent service from Thomann, well package item and arrived in good time. My first order with them as well.

The setup of this is really easy. Basically for the Windows setup go to the Behringer site and find the latest drivers. Download, unzip and run the setup file. Then plug it in and away you go. Two inputs on this so I can plug my bass and a mic in. Level input is easy, just make sure the clipping light isnt flashing. Best to play throught whatever your planning to record and set the gain for each input. Easy enough. The direct monitoring is great and works at the press of a button.

Only issue I've had is some latency with Bandlab. There is a way of doing a latency test on that to change this but I managed to get round it by fiddling with the sound control panel setting.

Build quality of this unit is really solid. Metal case all round and the controls are smooth and easy to use. Excellent value for money.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
good
pesh, 21.01.2021
As a person, doing this music "thing" mostly as hobby this piece of hardware does it for me. I wondered between this and the scarlet one but choose this in the end obviously for monetary reasons. Still for few months usage I've no major concerns or complaints. As I'm still learning and understanding the music system, my only problem comes with the buffering settings when I use my DAW and my regular pc software I often must switch the buffering samples otherwise youtube videos don't start for example. But I guess that's not a problem. Otherwise can't say nothing bad about it - when you have in mind it was twice cheaper than the other ones.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great, just great
Xico Jorge , 11.11.2020
I got this as my first introduction to recording, this is very easy to use and has great sounding preamps, I've recorded everything from electric guitar (straigt in to protools and miced amps), bass (staight to the pre-amp and miced amp), ukulele (miced), harmonica (miced), vocals and even used it as a recording device form my 8 channel mixing desk using the two inputs as the main, I've done podcasts with it and even took it to the studio where I'm recording my band's lattest EP and had our producer try it and his opinion of it was great, even if you don't record music yourself it's a great tool for working out parts for a song. it's a no thrills interface but it will do the job 10x better than any other on the same price range, you simply download behringers drivers straight from their website plug it in to any usb port on your computer and fire up your digital audio workstation (daw) and you are ready to record it takes less than 10 minutes, I've used it primeraly with pro tools 10 to work out guitar parts for songs I write and it sounds amazing, great buy
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
This interface aiming to a very specific group of user.
KienL, 10.03.2021
Not for recording/streaming. Very good for instrumental recording/live monitoring.
If you plug your mic/instrument on the left input, only the left channel will output that sound. Respectively on the right input.
There is an old driver version which let you choose to have your mic output to 1 channel instead which will enable you to hear sound from your mic on both side of your headset. But the newer/latest drivers wont let you do that.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Awesome
d_Marchi, 14.01.2019
I bought this interface to use for my band recordings. We already have a mixer containing enough channels and for this reason I just need 2 channels on the interface, cause in this way it's possible to record stereo using the main output of the mixer. Although this is the main plane, I'd like to use this device to personal recordings, like bass guitar or guitar and voice directly on the interface input.
For the first impression I need to say that this interface is really interesting, and for this price, I thing it wouldn't be possible to find something better. We have 24 bits, 2 channels, which fits very good to my situation and I'm very satisfied with the Midas preamp performance as well. Besides that, the headphone amp is really good and I hope you can enjoy this interface like me.
I use windows and I didn't have any problem to download and install the drivers, everything is fine. I highly recommend!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Just what I needed.
Vasislaw., 08.09.2020
I have been trying to connect my Yamaha keyboard to my laptop via midi for some without success. I came across audio interfaces on the Internet and decided to get the Behringer 202hd. All I needed to do was connect my keyboard to the Behringer using my electric guitar lead using the line out on my keyboard. Absolutely brilliant and now I can record my own backing tracks for myself and our daughter.
The build quality of the unit is excellent. Metal body instead of plastic. Being able to hear the recording using headphones via the unit instead through the laptop speakers is so much better. If you are not concerned about the complications with midi then this is an excellent buy.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Lou Weed, 07.01.2021
Has juuuust enough gain to comfortably drive my t.bone MB57 mic as a voice mic. Of course, I wouldn't recommend using that mic for that purpose. Plenty of gain on tap for instruments, and a pad switch for when the gain is too much.
I suspect it will have enough gain on tap for almost any headphones you can throw at it, my little mini headphones get TOO DAMN LOUD.

The knobs, the whole enclosure feel solid, feels like you can throw it against a brick wall and casually keep using it afterwards.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
U-phoria UMC202HD
Caldorean, 02.03.2021
An interface that does exactly what it is supposed to, so far I have had no issues with the interface itself and it has worked properly with both my electric guitar and looper pedal.

I can't wait for my new microphone to arrive to try it out properly with both items connected.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
The best cheap 2i2 interface
Sifu, 27.02.2021
I needed it to record bass, guitars and singing.
Pros:
It does the job very well. Solid built, unique sound and for the bass I prefer this from the other budget 2i2s interfaces. Overall this interface is a very good buy and I recommend it without a doubt.
Cons:
1) As other users have stated, when you use direct monitoring you hear the instrument only in the side of the input. For example when I record from the first input I listen from only the left side of headphones/ speakers and that can be annoying
2) I use ableton as a daw and when I close the sound card driver to listen something else from my pc (outside of the daw), the drivers get stuck and I have to unplug and connect again the interface. This is a driver problem however so it may be fixed someday
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
es funktioniert aber rauscht
the.palu, 26.03.2021
Es ist einfach zu benutzen und stabil gebaut, aber bei mir rauscht der Klinkeneingang massiv. es reicht zum jammen, aber nicht zum amateurhaften Aufnehmen.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great Value, if you don't want to monitor your inputs
FredJB, 12.01.2021
I bought this to interface between my new sm57 and my PC and well, it's great. It delivers excellent sound quality, it's cheap, has midas preamps and has 2 inputs! What else could you want? Well, the reason this gets 4 stars and 2 stars for features is because when monitoring is enabled as it's a mono input it outputs only out of the left channel on your headphones which is so annoying I can't even say. This is why I'm returning and, like another review I've seen, buying the umc204hd which has a downmix to stereo option as well as many more extra features. I'd recommend if you just want a budget audio interface for your new mic and you don't want to do any recording and/or you don't plan on using the monitoring ever because it is really horrible

Definitely suits the use case of a streamer or gamer or anyone that could benefit from a good quality mic but aren't going to record.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Bang for the buck!
mynvidia, 27.08.2020
For the price, this is hands down the best sub $100 audio interface on the market right now.

Pros:
- 192khz recording!
- metal build
- two inputs
- PAD
- separate volume controls for headphones

Cons:
- Direct monitoring is only one channel, so the sound is separated to either your left or right speaker only

Aside from the con, this is overall an excellent product!!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
High high quality
Gojka, 06.01.2021
Surprised with quality, metal casing, sturdy, every knob and button feels profesional and good, does everything as expected and described, highly recomended!!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
great interface for a nice price
midoriya, 12.04.2021
I actually come from more expensive interfaces and I have to say that I find the behringer warmer sounding and not so "thin" as higher end interfaces. Yea, it lacks the high end sparkle of the more expensive preamps/interfaces. But that's not important to me.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
To start recording is a good option.
Stefan Goncearov, 07.01.2021
As a guitarist, I record a lot of parts. This interface does a very good job in terms of price-quality ratio.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Amazing product
Borik, 27.08.2020
Amazing product and very fast delivery to UK` the service is really good.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Decent budget interface
RRowan, 12.02.2021
It does exactly what it needs to but one thing. The direct monitoring is hard-panned in stereo, meaning that the input to the first channel will be heard in the left and the input to the second channel will be heard in the left. This is my only complaint with this interface. In hindsight, I should have bought the UMC204HD - as it has the option for mono direct monitoring.

However, if you don't need this feature, this is a great budget interface.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Excellent and affordable interface
Rares M, 18.07.2020
The Behringer U-Phoria UMC202HD is an excellent interface for the money you pay. The set up of the interface is really simple, just plug in, download the latest driver from the Behringer website, and you're ready.
The build of the interface is really good, the chassis is made of metal and feels solid, all ports grip the cables well and the buttons and knobs are decent and very responsive.
The MIDAS preamps of the interface are also very good regarding noise which is kept at a minimum. I have used it to record both vocals and guitars as well as bass, and the recordings have turned out clear. The latency is good, the fact that it comes with its own ASIO driver means that settings can be changed, which includes the latency if needed. I have found no issues with lag whatsoever and the direct monitoring feature (limited to one headphone/speaker at the time due to the fact that the interface is locked into 2 channel mode (I have not found a way to change it and can be seen as the only "downside") is very helpful.
Overall verdict, it is a worthy purchase and compares excellently with competitors.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Yes to simplycity !
Renco, 11.05.2020
2 inputs with 48V phantom power, and 1 output - what more do you need ! For your basic homemade studio, this is probably the best option.
Rarely you can hear some noise, but you can easaly control it with gain - it's mostly caused by something around the interface or the device plugged in the input.
For the installation you just need to head on their official site and download the correct software.
If you dont need much and want a quality product with a good price - this one is for you !
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Seems great so far
roberto4real, 01.06.2020
First day of testing. The objective was to use windows drivers and get low latency for multiple programs, so I could play along with guitar pro type programs using plugin amps for example. Seems great so far. Programs vary about how low latency I can set them, but the worst is 5ms, which is fine. Behringer web site not exactly the clearest when looking for drivers but soon worked it out.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Panos!, 10.02.2020
Don't be fooled by the low price, its a great audio interface that records superbly on my computer. Amazing value for money!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Behringer U-Phoria UMC202HD

$63
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Online Guides
Computer Based Studios
Computer Based Studios
This article will look at how to integrate a computer into different studio environments, and will highlight the issues of functionality and connectivity.
Online Guides
Recording E-Guitars
Recording E-Guitars
Our aim is to explain the basic process of recording the electric guitar!
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
(2)
Recently Viewed
Blackmagic Design Atem Mini Extreme

Blackmagic Design Atem Mini Extreme; video mixer; has all the features of the ATEM Mini Pro, plus an additional 8 HDMI inputs, 2 separate HDMI outputs, 2 USB ports and a headphone jack; In addition, this model has 4 chromakeys,...

(9)
Recently Viewed
Audient iD4 MKII

USB-C Audio Interface 24 bit / 44.1 - 96 kHz, ADC dynamic range: 121 dB, DAC dynamic range: 126 dB, @Class A Audient console microphone preamplifier, Mic Gain 58 dB,

Recently Viewed
Zoom G6

Zoom G6; Multi Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar; Pedal board with 6 stomp switches and expression/volume pedal; Amp modeling; 4,3" color LCD touch-screen interface; 240 Patches; 100 Presets; Chain up to 7 effects + amp simulation; IR load function for...

(1)
Recently Viewed
iZotope Spire Studio 2nd Generation

iZotope Spire Studio 2nd Generation; mobile recording studio with lithium-ion battery (up to 4 hours runtime); 2 tracks can be recorded simultaneously; up to 8 tracks per project can be played back; recording format: 24-bit / 48 kHz; up to...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Hercules DJ Control Inpulse 500 Gold LE

Hercules DJ Control Inpulse 500 Gold LE; Limited edition with golden highlights; limited to 1000 pieces worldwide; number engraved on console; All-in-one-DJ-Controller; controls per desk: 1x filter-control, 3 x equalizer-control, 1 x Gain control, 1 x volume control, 1 x...

Recently Viewed
Meinl TMDDGS Didgeridoo Stand

Meinl Didgeridoo Stand, TMDDGS, material: aluminum, two leg version, soft padding with protective rubber straps, hight, angle and depth adjustable

(1)
Recently Viewed
K&M 107 Music Stand Black Set

K&M 107 Music Stand Black Set, K&M Music Stand 10700-000-55 black incl. K&M 10711 Carrying bag, Total height max.ca.1.680mm, Made of steel, Music desk dimensions 485 x 240 x 42 mm, Desk angle fully adjustable, Music desk traditionally foldable, 3-piece...

(1)
Recently Viewed
LP Ridge Rider Cowbell Tommy Lee

LP 009TL Ridge Rider Tommy Lee Signature Cowbell, sitze: 8", patented vise clamp fits fits 3/8" to 1/2"diameter rods, bolted jenior protector protects cowbell and dampens the sound, made in USA,

(2)
Recently Viewed
Universal Audio UAFX Astra Modulation Machine

Enforcement Pedal Stereo modulation, With chorus, flanger and tremolo effects, True or Buffered Bypass, Preset storable, Additional effects downloadable, Live / Preset mode, Dual processor UAFX Engine, 2 Inputs: 6.3 mm pawl (input 2 for stereo connection), 2 Outputs:...

Recently Viewed
Zoom PodTrak P4

Podcasting Recorder Four microphone inputs (XLR, P48V phantom power switchable), Four headphone outputs with individual volume controls (3.5mm stereo jack), Gain control and mute button per input, Mix minus function for automatic feedback suppression for incoming calls, Connection of...

Recently Viewed
Blackmagic Design Pocket Cinema Camera Pro EVF

Blackmagic Design Pocket Cinema Camera Pro EVF; Viewfinder fits Pocket Cinema Camera 6K Pro; Viewfinder with internal proximity sensor, 4-piece glass diopter, built-in status info display and digital test chart; Video and power connections: via Pocket Cinema Camera 6K Pro...

Recently Viewed
Meinl Snarecraft Cajon 100 Green B.

Meinl Snarecraft Cajon 100 Green Burst, model: SC100GRB, special edition, body and front plate made of birch, colour: green burst, two integrated snare strainers, rounded corners for better playability, measures (H x B x T) in cms: 50 x 30...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.