Behringer U-Phoria UMC202HD

564 Customer Ratings:
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.6 /5
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Not using all the features, but it's a great DAC for the price!
musicinprag, 15.11.2019
I was using a 20 year old Roland USB audio interface until I burned it up after moving to another country with different voltage and didn't realize the wall PSU was not universal voltage.

I wanted to replace it with a similar device. Most of the time the use is just as a DAC which takes input over USB from a Linux box and the analog out goes to a mini stereo system. I was using the recording features on the Roland but I have not tested the Behringer yet.

I was pleased to find not only does the UMC202HD run my Sennheiser HD 25s perfectly well but even the HD 600s sound good via the headphone jack. I think it is surely the best DAC you can buy for 64 Euros...

It runs off USB and even supplies phantom power if you need it. Quite an amazing device. The audio over the headamp is not perfect, it's a little thin, but it is very clear, clean, absolutely without any noise. You will not be able to turn the volume past 50% without the HD 600s becoming uncomfortably loud.

I'd like to see a power button on the front panel and for recording some kind of useful level metering is absent but seems pretty important. However given the tiny size I don't see there is room for it. Personally I wouldn't mind a larger enclosure to get the metering.

Summary: deal of the century on a 192 KHz DAC.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Almost perfect, but...
Matteus Warner, 22.07.2020
For the price it's obviously a no-brainer. The interface is solid and very well built. The pre-amps are amazing so as the sounds you can get from it. There's only a major drawback which made me return it and get the UMC204HD (for 20€ more): the direct output you get from the channels 1 and 2 is hard-panned,a nd by that I mean that if you plug a guitar or something else in for example the input 1 and you want to hear it directly without having to use a daw and avoid delays in the signal while playing, you will hear it only from your left headphone or left speaker. The UMC204 instead has a mono/stereo switch which allows to overcome that problem. All but that is very good in this interface, but I think that if you need to record an instrument it's a major issue (it's very annoying hear it through just one side of the headphones). I would strongly recommend the UMC204HD which is similar to this but gets you covered
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Easy Setup. Solid Build
Kasman123, 08.07.2020
This is my first audio interface. Using it in conjuction with Bandlab for some band projects during lockdown. First off, excellent service from Thomann, well package item and arrived in good time. My first order with them as well.

The setup of this is really easy. Basically for the Windows setup go to the Behringer site and find the latest drivers. Download, unzip and run the setup file. Then plug it in and away you go. Two inputs on this so I can plug my bass and a mic in. Level input is easy, just make sure the clipping light isnt flashing. Best to play throught whatever your planning to record and set the gain for each input. Easy enough. The direct monitoring is great and works at the press of a button.

Only issue I've had is some latency with Bandlab. There is a way of doing a latency test on that to change this but I managed to get round it by fiddling with the sound control panel setting.

Build quality of this unit is really solid. Metal case all round and the controls are smooth and easy to use. Excellent value for money.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Excellent and affordable interface
Rares M, 18.07.2020
The Behringer U-Phoria UMC202HD is an excellent interface for the money you pay. The set up of the interface is really simple, just plug in, download the latest driver from the Behringer website, and you're ready.
The build of the interface is really good, the chassis is made of metal and feels solid, all ports grip the cables well and the buttons and knobs are decent and very responsive.
The MIDAS preamps of the interface are also very good regarding noise which is kept at a minimum. I have used it to record both vocals and guitars as well as bass, and the recordings have turned out clear. The latency is good, the fact that it comes with its own ASIO driver means that settings can be changed, which includes the latency if needed. I have found no issues with lag whatsoever and the direct monitoring feature (limited to one headphone/speaker at the time due to the fact that the interface is locked into 2 channel mode (I have not found a way to change it and can be seen as the only "downside") is very helpful.
Overall verdict, it is a worthy purchase and compares excellently with competitors.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Be careful!
20.10.2016
It is a very good audio interface.I like to record with it, good quality sound and I love the direct monitoring without any latency. It is awsome that I can use XLR and 1/4 cable to connect instruments and microphones.

But be careful! With MAC you need no driver but with WINDOWS you do. You don't receive a CD with the driver so you have to download it from internet. The problem is that there is no driver for WINDOWS 7 64bits! Really Behringer?
If you contact them they will send you a link to download an uncertified beta driver that will be stopped by the OS because Windows 7 64 bits allow just certified driver to be installed.You can solve this problem by certifing it by yourself but this process its not for everyone.It took me a while to get it done.So Windows 7 64bits users be careful to this.This is the only con, but its a big one.

Concerning other things I like everything about it.I like the fact that I can use it instead of an amplifier for my guitars and then connect headphones or an audio sistem.

---------------------------
There is now official driver for Windows 7 to Windows 10 available at http://www.music-group.com/Categories/Behringer/Computer-Audio/Audio-Interfaces/UMC202HD/p/P0BJZ/downloads
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Just what I needed.
Vasislaw., 08.09.2020
I have been trying to connect my Yamaha keyboard to my laptop via midi for some without success. I came across audio interfaces on the Internet and decided to get the Behringer 202hd. All I needed to do was connect my keyboard to the Behringer using my electric guitar lead using the line out on my keyboard. Absolutely brilliant and now I can record my own backing tracks for myself and our daughter.
The build quality of the unit is excellent. Metal body instead of plastic. Being able to hear the recording using headphones via the unit instead through the laptop speakers is so much better. If you are not concerned about the complications with midi then this is an excellent buy.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Order is delivered smoothly!
beebopalula, 08.09.2020
I don't have an issue about the delivery and the sound quality of the Behringer UMC202HD is great for beginners who would like to record their songs.

The chassis is perfect and is durable. I love the "built like a tank" description because that is what I want to label these Behringer Audio Interfaces (except for UM2 which is plasticky).
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
A good tool for little money
JaanusJ, 22.01.2020
Arrived quickly. The look and quality of the assembly are solid. Connection is easy. I don't remember if the Win 10 drivers were included, but I downloaded them myself from the Behringer website.
I've been using it daily for six months now. So far there have been no problems. Once or twice I have heard a slight buzz from PA, but when I move the USB cable, the buzz disappears. (I use a ca. 10+ year old USB cable that came with my printer to connect to my computer, hasn't remembered buying a new from store.)

I use this device daily to send music from my computer to home PA. I've recorded some song phonos with Audacity, playing keyboards, guitar and bass in separate rows at the back of my home office. Everything has been perfect. Latency not perceptible when recording.
I have used it for playing sound design of theater performances, also worked good.

Recommend. Affordable, easily connects to your computer and does what it is designed for.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Awesome
d_Marchi, 14.01.2019
I bought this interface to use for my band recordings. We already have a mixer containing enough channels and for this reason I just need 2 channels on the interface, cause in this way it's possible to record stereo using the main output of the mixer. Although this is the main plane, I'd like to use this device to personal recordings, like bass guitar or guitar and voice directly on the interface input.
For the first impression I need to say that this interface is really interesting, and for this price, I thing it wouldn't be possible to find something better. We have 24 bits, 2 channels, which fits very good to my situation and I'm very satisfied with the Midas preamp performance as well. Besides that, the headphone amp is really good and I hope you can enjoy this interface like me.
I use windows and I didn't have any problem to download and install the drivers, everything is fine. I highly recommend!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Faulty
interfaceissue, 04.08.2020
For the moment I received this interface it has not worked. With any microphone I plug in it results in fuzzy recordings.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Amazing product
Borik, 27.08.2020
Amazing product and very fast delivery to UK` the service is really good.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Ozzy Esen, 25.08.2019
I bought this interface in order to help our singer who is very non-technical to be able to record her songs using a mic, guitar and a keyboard.
Preamps sound very decent using a microphone or an highZ instrument. They also accept line level signals.

This interface is an excellent value for money. It operates on all realistic samplerates. Drivers are solid on PC and you don?t even need to install any drivers on Mac.

There?s no control software/app for monitoring and routing, you can only adjust the analog no latency input monitoring vs daw monitoring. But this makes everything simpler for people who are not into technical side of recording.
One downside of this is, in analog monitoring mode, there is no option to pan the signal - the left input is routed left and right is routed right - which may sound strange when you want to monitor analog ipout signal.

At this price, there?s nothing to complain, Just a great interface at great value.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Seems great so far
roberto4real, 01.06.2020
First day of testing. The objective was to use windows drivers and get low latency for multiple programs, so I could play along with guitar pro type programs using plugin amps for example. Seems great so far. Programs vary about how low latency I can set them, but the worst is 5ms, which is fine. Behringer web site not exactly the clearest when looking for drivers but soon worked it out.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Good decision
Zeljkoo, 13.04.2020
After some research I've decided to go with this product price wise and I can tell you I don't regret my decision.
The interface was instantly recognized in my linux setup and quick test was done using the Rode M2 mic hooked via XLR cable using Audacity for recording.
Everything worked as expected, no noticeable popping, hissing or anything strange picked up beside my voice.
Direct monitoring works well with headphones (I don't have proper studio grade ones, that's to be tested). Also ordered twin jack to rca cable here to hook up the interface to a good quality monitor, have a feeling it will work well.

If this Behringer would ever get lost or damaged I would buy another one as this is a great solution with the much needed phantom power for all your quality condenser mics.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Behringer U-Phoria UMC202HD
AdeeH, 17.06.2020
Excellent value for money, very good quality construction, better than expected for the cost. Easy to set up and use, performs very well with little noise
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Possibly the best budget interface.
RennyS, 23.06.2020
I have had this interface for around 4 years now and it has been amazing. It powers my MXL 770 perfectly without any noise in the gain at all. for the price the midas preamps are amazing value and should be suitable for most condenser microphones. For mics like the SM7B you will still need something like a cloud lifter though. Quality is just okay, plastic build with cheap knobs on the front that do the job. One of the best parts of the interface is the balanced outputs on the back of the device, for speakers these outputs perform FAR beyond my expectations!

A definite recommendation from me.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Respectable budget USB interface
TheDude94, 05.02.2020
Bought it, so I could try my tube condenser mic I got as as gift (sadly don't know which brand, might be MXL, no branding), and it allows the mic to output decent output.

Works well with instruments as well, such as guitar & bass, but always recommend to use a pedal board or the likes to properly amplify the sounds on instruments.

PROS:
It's cheap, and delivers simple and easy setup on PC, and works well with variety of instruments. Has adequate amount of inputs, for personal use.

CONS:
Should note, that there is a noticeable input delay, even when changing the buffer size, in the UMC Control Panel, provided for the interface. Also, the small lack of audio controls besides of gain/line/instrument switch & pad, but it's quite acceptable for it's price range, so it shouldn't matter much.

Recommended, if you want to start using and learn USB interfaces, should work straight up.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Good budget interface for the People
jonathanfischermusic, 16.04.2020
I use this in my writing studio (I'm a media composer) to drive some Fostex monitors and everything sounds fine.

I have been running my business on a shoestring budget (up until recently) and had to buy budget equipment. This little workhorse fulfills its function without complaint or malfunction.

I rarely record but occasionally use a dynamic mic connected to the interface to record vocals and small percussion with good results.

It is ideal for someone who needs an inexpensive interface.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Bang for the buck!
mynvidia, 27.08.2020
For the price, this is hands down the best sub $100 audio interface on the market right now.

Pros:
- 192khz recording!
- metal build
- two inputs
- PAD
- separate volume controls for headphones

Cons:
- Direct monitoring is only one channel, so the sound is separated to either your left or right speaker only

Aside from the con, this is overall an excellent product!!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Yes to simplycity !
Renco, 11.05.2020
2 inputs with 48V phantom power, and 1 output - what more do you need ! For your basic homemade studio, this is probably the best option.
Rarely you can hear some noise, but you can easaly control it with gain - it's mostly caused by something around the interface or the device plugged in the input.
For the installation you just need to head on their official site and download the correct software.
If you dont need much and want a quality product with a good price - this one is for you !
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Good little interface
Chris Grimshaw, 09.07.2020
I like my UMC202HD. I typically use it for loudspeaker measurements, in conjunction with a Beyerdynamic MM1 (also recommended). The loop-through measurements indicate the headphone amp and mic inputs are extremely flat, and useful out to around 50kHz before significant rolloff occurs.

The preamps are very low noise (approaching the theoretical limit on thermal noise), and the sig/clip lights are calibrated well.

If you ignore the price, this is a very good interface.

When you consider the price, I think everyone in the audio industry should have one.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Affordabe and great
Dapapa, 20.12.2018
I needed an interface with two Line Ins for recording my keybaord and to be able to mic my guitar amp with two microphones.

This interface delivers good sound and very low noise (no noise at all if you set the Gain levels right)

One thing I have to complain about; when using only one Line input I get sound only out of one side of my headphones! Which side of the headphone depends which Line In Im using! Would be great if Behringer added a MONO switch to this box as the UCM204HD has it! Any way, I will keep this one as I bought it for recording stuff in Stereo. For Mono I still can use my old U-Phoria UM2 (another great box by Behringer which served me well for 4 years now and still going strong)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
OneHappyCamper, 20.10.2017
Very low latency when you use it to record guitar; only the slightest bit more when you record voice, but that could have to do with a variety of other factors. What matters is you get quality recordings with strong, transparent sound.

Excellent, solid build. The casing looks like it could take a hit (but I'm not going to test that, for obvious reasons!) and the same attention to detail and quality material is evident throughout. I would buy this again if I had to, no hesitation.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Wonderful preamp
TheNameIsPanda, 13.06.2020
Wonderful preamp for the money, which I'd recommend easily.
I use it for a medium priced microphone, the audio is clear.
Pros good interface, many adjustment options, great audio.
Cons, can't really think of any, after about 4 years of use.

If I had the opportunity I'd buy it again.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Fine
Sir Person McName, 03.04.2020
It takes a while to get all the drivers installed (Windows 10). Once installed and running, I realised the headphone jack is somewhat unreliable - the sound cuts from the left channel sometimes, and when a headphone jack is inserted into the slot the left and right channels bleed into each other. I have to pull the cord out slightly (one or two millimetres) to get proper stereo working.

Once you get past the kinks its fine - mic and line inputs can handle very loud and very quiet sounds perfectly. Easy to use controls, and shows up correctly as 2 inputs in Reaper.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Behringer U-Phoria UMC202HD

$64 €55.17
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.

The price in USD is a guideline price only!

Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Online Guides
Computer Based Studios
Computer Based Studios
This article will look at how to integrate a computer into different studio environments, and will highlight the issues of functionality and connectivity.
Online Guides
Recording E-Guitars
Recording E-Guitars
Our aim is to explain the basic process of recording the electric guitar!
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
(7)
Recently Viewed
Behringer RD-6-SR

Behringer RD-6-SR; Analog Drum Machine; 8 Drum-Sounds: Bass Drum, Snare Drum, Low Tom, High Tom, Cymbal, Clap, Open Hi-Hat und Closed Hi-Hat; volume control for all instruments and the Accent track; build-in distortion effect with controls for intensity and tone;...

Recently Viewed
Fender Billie Eilish Concert Ukulele

Fender Billie Eilish Concert Ukulele, concert ukulele, signature, top and body sapele, nato neck, hardwood neck laminated, neck binding, 16 frets, nut width 35mm (1,375"), scale 381mm (15"), fishman kula preamp, open gear tuners, abalone rosette, finish black satin with...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Toontrack EBX Classic Rock

Toontrack EBX Classic Rock (ESD); expansion pack for Toontrack EZbass (item 493783); meticulous and detailed samplings of a classic electric bass from the 1960s; played with fingers and plektrum / pick; wide range of sound presets for different kind of...

Recently Viewed
iZotope RX 8 Advanced

iZotope RX 8 Advanced (ESD); audio restoration software; profound process control with extensive set of parameters and less artifacts; Spectral Recovery restores frequencies above 4 kHz, turning bandwidth-limited audio into clear, articulate recordings, e.g. from conferencing calls like Zoom or...

Recently Viewed
Presonus AudioBox 96 Studio Ult 25th An

USB Audio Interface Recording Set Consists of AudioBox USB 96 25th Anniversary Edition, Studio One Artist + Studio Magic Plugin Suite (Ableton - Live Lite, Arturia - Analog Lab Lite 3 and many more) (ESD download), Eris E3.5 active...

Recently Viewed
Nux Optima Air NAI 5

Nux Optima Air NAI 5; Effects Pedal for Electric & Acoustic guitar; dual-switch acoustic guitar simulator with a preamp for acoustic and electric guitar, 15 built-in acoustic guitar profiles with IR level control, 9 Preset slots; Controls: Reverb, IR Level,...

(2)
Recently Viewed
Harley Benton Dullahan-FT 24 Roasted IB

Headless Electric Guitar Ergonomically shaped alder body, Bolt-on neck: Roasted Canadian flamed maple, Roasted maple fretboard, Fretboard inlays: Black offset dots, Neck profile: Modern C, Fretboard radius: 350 mm, Scale: 648 mm, Nut width: 42 mm, Graph Tech TUSQ...

Recently Viewed
Fender CuNiFe Wide Range Humb. Neck

Fender CuNiFe Wide Range Humbucker Neck; Telecaster Humbucker; Resistance: 10.1 - 10.7k; Color: Chrome

(5)
Recently Viewed
Behringer RD-6-AM

Behringer RD-6-AM; Analog Drum Machine; Acid Smiley Edition; 8 Drum-Sounds: Bass Drum, Snare Drum, Low Tom, High Tom, Cymbal, Clap, Open Hi-Hat und Closed Hi-Hat; volume control for all instruments and the Accent track; build-in distortion effect with controls for...

Recently Viewed
RME HDSPe AIO Pro

RME HDSPe AIO Pro; 30-channel PCI Express audio interface; 192 kHz / 24 bit; ADI-2 Pro converters AK5572 and 2 x AK4490; the entire analog input range relies on the circuit design of the ADI-2 Pro (+24 / +19 /...

Recently Viewed
Toontrack SDX Legacy Of Rock

Toontrack SDX Legacy Of Rock (ESD); expansion pack for Toontrack Superior Drummer 3 (item 419735); produced and recorded at AIR Studios' Studio 1 in London by Eddie Kramer; 5 complete drumsets and a and a large selection of additional snares,...

Recently Viewed
iZotope RX 8 Standard

iZotope RX 8 Standard (ESD); audio restoration software; profound process control with extensive set of parameters and less artifacts; Guitar De-noise is a module dedicated to reduce or completely remove electrical amp noise and interference, fret or string squeaks, and...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.