Behringer U-Phoria UMC202HD

790 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.6 /5
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Not using all the features, but it's a great DAC for the price!
musicinprag, 15.11.2019
I was using a 20 year old Roland USB audio interface until I burned it up after moving to another country with different voltage and didn't realize the wall PSU was not universal voltage.

I wanted to replace it with a similar device. Most of the time the use is just as a DAC which takes input over USB from a Linux box and the analog out goes to a mini stereo system. I was using the recording features on the Roland but I have not tested the Behringer yet.

I was pleased to find not only does the UMC202HD run my Sennheiser HD 25s perfectly well but even the HD 600s sound good via the headphone jack. I think it is surely the best DAC you can buy for 64 Euros...

It runs off USB and even supplies phantom power if you need it. Quite an amazing device. The audio over the headamp is not perfect, it's a little thin, but it is very clear, clean, absolutely without any noise. You will not be able to turn the volume past 50% without the HD 600s becoming uncomfortably loud.

I'd like to see a power button on the front panel and for recording some kind of useful level metering is absent but seems pretty important. However given the tiny size I don't see there is room for it. Personally I wouldn't mind a larger enclosure to get the metering.

Summary: deal of the century on a 192 KHz DAC.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Easy Setup. Solid Build
Kasman123, 08.07.2020
This is my first audio interface. Using it in conjuction with Bandlab for some band projects during lockdown. First off, excellent service from Thomann, well package item and arrived in good time. My first order with them as well.

The setup of this is really easy. Basically for the Windows setup go to the Behringer site and find the latest drivers. Download, unzip and run the setup file. Then plug it in and away you go. Two inputs on this so I can plug my bass and a mic in. Level input is easy, just make sure the clipping light isnt flashing. Best to play throught whatever your planning to record and set the gain for each input. Easy enough. The direct monitoring is great and works at the press of a button.

Only issue I've had is some latency with Bandlab. There is a way of doing a latency test on that to change this but I managed to get round it by fiddling with the sound control panel setting.

Build quality of this unit is really solid. Metal case all round and the controls are smooth and easy to use. Excellent value for money.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
The best cheap 2i2 interface
Sifu, 27.02.2021
I needed it to record bass, guitars and singing.
Pros:
It does the job very well. Solid built, unique sound and for the bass I prefer this from the other budget 2i2s interfaces. Overall this interface is a very good buy and I recommend it without a doubt.
Cons:
1) As other users have stated, when you use direct monitoring you hear the instrument only in the side of the input. For example when I record from the first input I listen from only the left side of headphones/ speakers and that can be annoying
2) I use ableton as a daw and when I close the sound card driver to listen something else from my pc (outside of the daw), the drivers get stuck and I have to unplug and connect again the interface. This is a driver problem however so it may be fixed someday
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great Value, if you don't want to monitor your inputs
FredJB, 12.01.2021
I bought this to interface between my new sm57 and my PC and well, it's great. It delivers excellent sound quality, it's cheap, has midas preamps and has 2 inputs! What else could you want? Well, the reason this gets 4 stars and 2 stars for features is because when monitoring is enabled as it's a mono input it outputs only out of the left channel on your headphones which is so annoying I can't even say. This is why I'm returning and, like another review I've seen, buying the umc204hd which has a downmix to stereo option as well as many more extra features. I'd recommend if you just want a budget audio interface for your new mic and you don't want to do any recording and/or you don't plan on using the monitoring ever because it is really horrible

Definitely suits the use case of a streamer or gamer or anyone that could benefit from a good quality mic but aren't going to record.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Voice over use
newtonpix, 16.02.2021
works fine quality its good , can't say anything bad about it
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Poztman, 05.02.2020
This interface is the useful little brother of the Behringer UMC404HD.
It's perfect for a first setup and is definitely a steal.
Quality wise it's certainly good, whether it be for recording or playback.
Setting it up is easy, you just need a driver on windows.
I'm using it to record myself streaming and I'm happy.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Respectable budget USB interface
TheDude94, 05.02.2020
Bought it, so I could try my tube condenser mic I got as as gift (sadly don't know which brand, might be MXL, no branding), and it allows the mic to output decent output.

Works well with instruments as well, such as guitar & bass, but always recommend to use a pedal board or the likes to properly amplify the sounds on instruments.

PROS:
It's cheap, and delivers simple and easy setup on PC, and works well with variety of instruments. Has adequate amount of inputs, for personal use.

CONS:
Should note, that there is a noticeable input delay, even when changing the buffer size, in the UMC Control Panel, provided for the interface. Also, the small lack of audio controls besides of gain/line/instrument switch & pad, but it's quite acceptable for it's price range, so it shouldn't matter much.

Recommended, if you want to start using and learn USB interfaces, should work straight up.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Wonderful preamp
TheNameIsPanda, 13.06.2020
Wonderful preamp for the money, which I'd recommend easily.
I use it for a medium priced microphone, the audio is clear.
Pros good interface, many adjustment options, great audio.
Cons, can't really think of any, after about 4 years of use.

If I had the opportunity I'd buy it again.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
The king of budget interface
DESER90, 11.12.2020
This is an amazing little fella for the price. Bought this while waiting for my Focusrite Sapphire Pro 40 to get serviced. The preamps are OK, this is a great unit for beginners that need 2 mono tracks or 1 stereo track. On both Mac and Windows it was plug n play, no driver installation needed. Not much features (I'm thinking lack of SPDIF and direct listening).
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Possibly the best budget interface.
RennyS, 23.06.2020
I have had this interface for around 4 years now and it has been amazing. It powers my MXL 770 perfectly without any noise in the gain at all. for the price the midas preamps are amazing value and should be suitable for most condenser microphones. For mics like the SM7B you will still need something like a cloud lifter though. Quality is just okay, plastic build with cheap knobs on the front that do the job. One of the best parts of the interface is the balanced outputs on the back of the device, for speakers these outputs perform FAR beyond my expectations!

A definite recommendation from me.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Behringer U-Phoria UMC202HD
Pasqual, 07.03.2020
Easy to use. Great sound and does what it's supposed to do: record and reproduce the sound you put into it! Direct monitoring is a nice and helpfull feature to avoid latency.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
The best interface in this price range
Leo Castanheira, 24.10.2019
I've experimented with lots of other cheap interfaces and nothing beats this in that price range. Great sound and easy to set up in both mac and windows. Build quality is great.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Does what it's supposed to.
01.04.2017
Easy installation and everything worked as expected. I had a little trouble getting the levels right in terms of the 'pad' switch and input gains, moreso than on other units I have owned, but this was easily learned. Some nice plugins from the Behringer website, too. Documentation could possibly be a little better. Generally great, though, especially for the price.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great price, great features
Lcaz, 12.06.2019
Works as described. A neutral sound for recording at home and will be used on the road for recordings in hotel rooms and such.

Only complaint i might have is the driver. It's working great but coming from the RME eco-system it's a hassle being forced into exclusivity mode in windows. Which means I can't do any other audio playback when having my DAW open.

Build quality feels excellent. I have not had it long enough to really know but it gives a great impression.

If you are wondering if it's worth buying, just go ahead. You will be happy!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Good budget interface for the People
jonathanfischermusic, 16.04.2020
I use this in my writing studio (I'm a media composer) to drive some Fostex monitors and everything sounds fine.

I have been running my business on a shoestring budget (up until recently) and had to buy budget equipment. This little workhorse fulfills its function without complaint or malfunction.

I rarely record but occasionally use a dynamic mic connected to the interface to record vocals and small percussion with good results.

It is ideal for someone who needs an inexpensive interface.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great for the money!
lovrenzoo, 17.10.2018
This interface has really been serving me well for past few months. I use it as a preamp for my headphones, as well as to record music. It feels very solid and I would say that it's even on pair with Focusrite Scarlett. Sound is mostly good as well, the only thing that kinda sucks is the fact that it distorts sometimes when I plug my guitar directly into the line in, even though it's not really clipping. I dont know why is this happening, but im sure that a DI box can fix it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Perfect for what I need
20.06.2016
Very good for the price. It is perfect for what I need. Works and sounds excellent. I am using it for tracking guitars, vocals, bass and keybords and I never had a problem with it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Value for the price.
15.11.2016
This product is good as per its value. Sure thing that it can't be compared to a Roland or similar expensive product which are twice costly. Anyway, I used both and as per my requirement , this product works great. Surely recommended.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Behringer U-Phoria UMC202HD

$63
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Online Guides
Computer Based Studios
Computer Based Studios
This article will look at how to integrate a computer into different studio environments, and will highlight the issues of functionality and connectivity.
Online Guides
Recording E-Guitars
Recording E-Guitars
Our aim is to explain the basic process of recording the electric guitar!
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
(2)
Recently Viewed
Blackmagic Design Atem Mini Extreme

Blackmagic Design Atem Mini Extreme; video mixer; has all the features of the ATEM Mini Pro, plus an additional 8 HDMI inputs, 2 separate HDMI outputs, 2 USB ports and a headphone jack; In addition, this model has 4 chromakeys,...

(9)
Recently Viewed
Audient iD4 MKII

USB-C Audio Interface 24 bit / 44.1 - 96 kHz, ADC dynamic range: 121 dB, DAC dynamic range: 126 dB, @Class A Audient console microphone preamplifier, Mic Gain 58 dB,

Recently Viewed
Zoom G6

Zoom G6; Multi Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar; Pedal board with 6 stomp switches and expression/volume pedal; Amp modeling; 4,3" color LCD touch-screen interface; 240 Patches; 100 Presets; Chain up to 7 effects + amp simulation; IR load function for...

(1)
Recently Viewed
iZotope Spire Studio 2nd Generation

iZotope Spire Studio 2nd Generation; mobile recording studio with lithium-ion battery (up to 4 hours runtime); 2 tracks can be recorded simultaneously; up to 8 tracks per project can be played back; recording format: 24-bit / 48 kHz; up to...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Hercules DJ Control Inpulse 500 Gold LE

Hercules DJ Control Inpulse 500 Gold LE; Limited edition with golden highlights; limited to 1000 pieces worldwide; number engraved on console; All-in-one-DJ-Controller; controls per desk: 1x filter-control, 3 x equalizer-control, 1 x Gain control, 1 x volume control, 1 x...

Recently Viewed
Meinl TMDDGS Didgeridoo Stand

Meinl Didgeridoo Stand, TMDDGS, material: aluminum, two leg version, soft padding with protective rubber straps, hight, angle and depth adjustable

(1)
Recently Viewed
K&M 107 Music Stand Black Set

K&M 107 Music Stand Black Set, K&M Music Stand 10700-000-55 black incl. K&M 10711 Carrying bag, Total height max.ca.1.680mm, Made of steel, Music desk dimensions 485 x 240 x 42 mm, Desk angle fully adjustable, Music desk traditionally foldable, 3-piece...

(1)
Recently Viewed
LP Ridge Rider Cowbell Tommy Lee

LP 009TL Ridge Rider Tommy Lee Signature Cowbell, sitze: 8", patented vise clamp fits fits 3/8" to 1/2"diameter rods, bolted jenior protector protects cowbell and dampens the sound, made in USA,

(2)
Recently Viewed
Universal Audio UAFX Astra Modulation Machine

Enforcement Pedal Stereo modulation, With chorus, flanger and tremolo effects, True or Buffered Bypass, Preset storable, Additional effects downloadable, Live / Preset mode, Dual processor UAFX Engine, 2 Inputs: 6.3 mm pawl (input 2 for stereo connection), 2 Outputs:...

Recently Viewed
Zoom PodTrak P4

Podcasting Recorder Four microphone inputs (XLR, P48V phantom power switchable), Four headphone outputs with individual volume controls (3.5mm stereo jack), Gain control and mute button per input, Mix minus function for automatic feedback suppression for incoming calls, Connection of...

Recently Viewed
Blackmagic Design Pocket Cinema Camera Pro EVF

Blackmagic Design Pocket Cinema Camera Pro EVF; Viewfinder fits Pocket Cinema Camera 6K Pro; Viewfinder with internal proximity sensor, 4-piece glass diopter, built-in status info display and digital test chart; Video and power connections: via Pocket Cinema Camera 6K Pro...

Recently Viewed
Meinl Snarecraft Cajon 100 Green B.

Meinl Snarecraft Cajon 100 Green Burst, model: SC100GRB, special edition, body and front plate made of birch, colour: green burst, two integrated snare strainers, rounded corners for better playability, measures (H x B x T) in cms: 50 x 30...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.