Behringer U-Phoria UMC204HD

599 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.7 /5
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
AndreyGrey, 15.03.2021
Брал на репточку. по сравнению с домашней скарлетт 2на2 есть несколько моментов:
-Преампы чувствительнее. если скарлетт клипует на 10ч гейна, на той же гитаре бехр в клип уходит с 9. Но! есть понижение входа, хотя показалось, что частотку и динамику поджирает.
-ИМХО дико неудобная система мониторинга. на скарлетт тумблер вкл/выкл, тут надо постоянно рулями ловить баланс. и возможно из-за этого 3й косяк
-Перегруз на выходе наушников. после 13ч начинает срать в уши. Тестил и в байерах 770 на 250 Ом и в сенхах ХД180. все одно. После 13ч звук перегружается. на скарлет такого нет.
Из плюсов-пара выходов на мониторы, МИДИ, инсерты и конечно же цена. Собрано качественно, крепко, правда крутилки длинноваты. Дрова свои и немного мудреные, чтобы снизить с 48 до 44,1 пришлось через стандартную вин панель "звуки" поменять, а так неактивно было.
В целом 4/5. для того чтобы на репе демки накидать-за глаза, да и в принципе и посводить дома можно.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Impressive for the price!
TrEr, 29.05.2017
I got this interface for using at home on days when my studio is busy with other projects. Just to be able to do some recordings at home, for fun, but it turned out to be much better than expected and has also been used for serious work.

Lets get the bad stuff out of the way first:

-Pots have started crackling after just a few months use. Very disappointing!

-Jack line inputs/outputs feel VERY fragile. Especially the outputs on the back. So far they work fine but this is the kind of quality you just KNOW is going to break. I'm surprised they haven't used better connectors. The headphone and XLR connectors feels ok though,

-After using the interface for a couple of months I started having some trouble with losing connection to the laptop/DAW. It just suddenly was "disconnected" in the middle of a session. It happens very sporadically, perhaps once every 10 hours of use. Still very annoying. I guess I can live with it for home use but it completely rules out any professional applications. If this continues I will have to consider returning the Behringer for repacement/repair but I want to test it with another laptop/DAW first to make sure the problem is not elsewhere in my setup. It does seem very much like the problem is with the Behringer though as I've never had these problems before with the same laptop/DAW.

-I wish there were two headphone outputs. Obviously not a problem when I work alone but there are situations when two headphone outputs would have been nice. Using a splitter to connect two headphones did not work very well. The output could not handle it, causing distortion. I guess you can't have everything at this price/size so not a huge issue I guess.

Ok, so the good stuff:

-Price! Insanely cheap and excellent value for money!

-Sound. Based on sound quality I can easily use this for serious projects. My intention was to get the Behringer just for fun but more and more often I find myself using it to do overdubs for serious projects. I honestly can't tell any difference in sound quality to comparable recordings I do in my studio on RME/SSL interface/converters. I should add that I don't normally use the internal Midas micpres in the Behringer. I have brought home a small rack of gear that wasn't used in my studio. Cheaper stuff like Warm Audio, FMR, Toft etc. And I have to say: The difference between this gear and the more expensive outboard gear in my actual studio is a LOT greater than the difference between the cheap Behringer and my studio's more expensive interface/converters. I should also add that the Midas preamps in the Behringer are totally fine, just a bit characterless for my taste so I prefer to use outboard transformer based preamps if possible. Still, the Midas preamps are definitely not useless like the Behringer preamps of the past. For example, these Midas preamp are FAR superior to the preamps in the ADA8000. I might also add that I absolutely LOVE the fact that Behringer has included inserts on this cheap little interface. This means it's possible to use outboard compression/eq even when using the internal Midas preamps which is a HUGE improvement compared to many other cheap interfaces.

-Size. This was important to me. It fits nicely in a backpack together with a laptop so I can go anywhere (provided there's electricity...) and work on my music.

-Stability... Well, like I mentioned I've had some problems with the Behringer suddenly becoming "disconnected". I'm still not 100% sure if this is a fault with the Behringer or something else in my system (although everything points at the Behringer). But apart from these incidents it has been VERY stable and running efficiently at acceptably low latencies/buffer settings. I'd say the laptop it is connected to is far more likely to be the limiting factor for efficiency.

-Zero latency monitoring. While there is no fancy on-screen mixer it still works really well with a single knob adjusting smoothly between monitoring playback or incoming signal. Great, simple solution that just WORKS.

So, what's the verdict?

I guess the long term reliability will decide whether this is a good investment or not. There are signs that the build quality isn't the best but it sounds VERY good and is VERY cheap.

I'm generally not a fan of recommending stuff that's poorly built but in this case I'm making an exception. I really feel Behringer has pushed the limits of what is possible at this price point. I might eat my words if my unit breaks down in a years or two but still:

Highly recommended!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great value!
boynamedlen, 30.03.2020
I bought this product primarily for streaming purposes on Twitch, and for recording bass and acoustic guitar. My budget was tight at the time, which was a big reason why I went for this interface.

Other options I considered were the Presonus Audiobox (both the older model and the iTwo) and Focusrite Scarlett 2i2.
The Behringer had all the features I needed while being significantly cheaper than the others. Really, the only thing it had going against it was the brand name. The older Presonus didn't really appeal to me after all.

To get my only criticism out of the way: I had some trouble getting it to work out of the box, mainly because of a driver issue. This is the reason for the one 3 star rating. Once that was sorted, I have never had any problems with it.

It has quickly become my main audio device when I'm on the computer. Whenever I'm listening through headphones, it is through the interface. I has also become my main quiet practice solution for bass, with a Sansamp Bass Driver DI and a few pedals in between.

My recording/producing experience is pretty limited so I can't say that much about the sound quality, but for the average user I think it's an excellent place to start at the very least. I honestly can't really fault this interface based on my own needs. It feels solid and well built, the knobs and switches don't feel cheap at all, I haven't had any problems with bad connections or anything like that and it just sound good.

If it would break, I would look at other options and then most likely get the same one again anyway!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Очень хороший аудио-&#1080
dmitrii_v, 12.06.2020
Очень хороший аудио-интерфейс для начинающих. Я его использую дома, иногда записываю вокал, иногда инструменты. Преампы не идеальные, но очень неплохи.
очень удобна кнопка Mono/Stereo, на многих интерфейсах данного ценового диапазона такой функции нет, она позволяет где в стереообразе будет расположен первый и второй канал. Помимо этого в плюсы можно отнести его 4-х канальность и большой запас в усилении наушников.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Amount of functionality in this thing is crazy
lapsio, 08.06.2020
Initially I was looking for some cheap interface to use at my workplace for calls and I was quite skeptical to be honest. But after using it for a while and comparing to competition like Steinberg or Scarlett - this thing is insane! A/B switch allows you to switch headphone output between channels 1/2 and 3/4. It allows to perform quick A/B comprisons between 2 versions of track simply by playing one version of track to channels 1/2 and second version to 3/4. Ability to freely adjust direct monitor / mic ratio is great. Ability to select mono/stereo direct monitor is also great. Analog inserts are even better. The way how MAIN out is affected by direct monitor knob unlike RCA outputs makes it kind of "4 and a half" channel interface since you can realistically play 1/2, 3/4 and direct monitor mix.

Overall amount of really clever engineering in this thing is superb. I definitely prefer it over my other interfaces which actually had cost me much more than this one. I'll recommend it to everyone.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Feedback on UMC204HD from a NoVo REC
Andrey Kovrizhnykh, 20.01.2021
I thought the card was so-so, but when I tried out ofigel, how cool. For that kind of money, there are simply no competitors, all Focus Wrights and other cards are not equal. The sound is crystal clear, processing at the lowest latency of 32-64 samples, the instrument inputs work very well. The assembly is of high quality, there are no backlashes, the driver is minimalistic, there is nothing superfluous, you cannot get confused. Started up without problems with the driver of the official site. In FL studio and Reaper works well. I reviewed it youtu.be/B6Nf79YTSPE, I think no one did better. Of the minuses, this A / B switch is absolutely useless when controlled through a software driver, just like the stereo / mono keychit button, it would be better to make a second headphone input, you would not have to take a separate amplifier, there is no coaxial input and output, sometimes a very necessary thing ... In general, you can use all the outputs at once, there are no problems using the software. The card can be used as an external mixer without a driver, that's when all the buttons work. Spasabi Thomann for the quality delivery and packaging.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Entry level interface
Jewson, 06.11.2020
For someone who is just trying to get into this kind of stuff, it's great interface, sounds good and is very reasonably priced, great thing about this interface is combo inputs, allowing you to not only record mic level signal but also instrumental and line. My only thing is about placement of the phantom power switch which is in the back, so not very convenient, especially that it is on the bottom part not top.

Other than that, there is also in my opinion great thing that you have built in 4 outputs (or 2 stereo outputs) that you can patch your sound to, so you can have two diffrent type of speakers. Also a ability to switch the two inputs between mono and stereo is a another good thing. And last, something you won't see much on interfaces these days, classic din-5 MIDI in/out.

What I can also add from my experience is that you should not place your phone near it, it will easily pick up any interference.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Quality product - works perfectly in home studio setting
11.08.2016
I spent a good while researching various audio interfaces in the ¤50-150 price range (Focusrite and Steinberg + others) which were suitable for a home studio setting and this came out on top for me. I've been using it for recording electric guitar into my DAW (Mixcraft 7) and it works exactly the way I was hoping for.

One of my main concerns was finding something that offered little or no latency and the UMC204HD does that, even when monitoring through my PC with a backing track running in the DAW. Nice !

So far I've experimented with the following:
guitar > AI > PC (no effects)
guitar > amp (with effects) > AI > PC
guitar > AI > PC running an amp sim in Mixcraft.

No problems in any of them and a good clear signal coming through each time with latency of around 1ms (which is pretty much negligible).

The unit itself is fairly straightforward to use so the lack of a bulky user manual is harly surprising. When I received it I connected to the Behringer site and downloaded the latest firmware update and read the PDF manual. It took me a lot longer to figure out the parameters in the DAW on my PC (in the end the Wave RT in exclusive mode worked best for me). Connect it to your PC (the usb powers the unit AND transfers the signal), connect the guitar, monitor through the unit or your PC and it's up and running.

A couple of good features on the UMC204HD that I liked include the headphone monitoring volume control knob and the pad buttons on the inputs and I haven't found anything that doesn't work as I would want it to. I don't use MIDI nor am I a vocalist so I haven't tried these settings but I've no reason to think they wouldn't work as well as the instrument-in settings.

All in all for a guitarist / instrumentalist in a small home studio I think this unit will be hard to beat for the price. It's well made, light and portable, feature-rich and does what it's supposed to do and does it very well. I'm certainly very pleased after a couple of weeks of use and I'd recommend it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Fast.
jacekplacek, 27.10.2020
Very low latency. In Propellerheads Reason, with Behringer asio umc drivers set to 128samples i have 6ms input and 4ms output on i7 5820K (y.2014). Smooth with 16 effects on the way (i use it like virtual rig :))
I also checked it with modern x86 tablet and the Reason. It works great.
Unnoticable noise with electric guitar and mic, unless you record silence.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Exactly what I wanted!
cpos, 05.12.2020
Was looking for a cheap audio interface for my new monitors and came across this. Was a bit skeptical at first about the price but when it arrived I was surprised by how sturdy it was and the quality of the sound is phenominal! Definitely would reccomend
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
No tricks
Zsemle, 10.09.2020
I bought this interface to be used in a home studio for recording saxophone. It is my first audio interface ever.

After watching reviews about it, I decided to spend a little bit more than I originally planned, and buy this interface. The features that sold it to me:
- can mix the monitor input level and the output level
- can pad the input - in case your source is very loud
- 192kHz, 24bit, unmatched in this price bracket
- 2 inputs with the same connectors, in case I want to experiment with 2 mics

So far I found no reason why should I have paid 1,5-2x more on a similar product from another manufacturer. Build quality is cool, its a metal box, nothing is wiggling. It feels like a solid product.
The headphone output has enough power to drive a Sennheised HD-280 at only about 30% level for my use.

I had one difficulty setting it up. I will not mark it up as a fault of the product, as it very likely happens with other interfaces too, but It might drive the uninitiated crazy:
I am using Audacity on windows 10 for recording. The way I do it is that I play a backing track, and record the input simultaneously. At first I got errors trying to do this, which stated that the refresh rates don't match, and was unable to proceed.
In order to solve this, you have to set everything to 192khz, everywhere. Go into windows' sound setting too, for both the input and the output.

All in all, very satisfied with the purchase.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Best in class
Goodwilly, 26.03.2021
That 24 Bit 192 kHz tool has everything U can need from audio interface: 2 combo inputs with hi-Z switch, MIDI In/Out, mono switch and even 2 inserts - what to want more? It is not an audiphil level with 100 dB dynamics, but ... for the price is perfect!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Behringer U-Phoria UMC204HD
iD14, 12.08.2020
Incredible interface. Complete in every aspect. Recommended
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great Value Audio Mixer!
Daire Meehan, 25.10.2020
Great audio mixer with many different features and options. Would highly recommend as it is great value.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Very Good
Majkol, 22.03.2021
I would say the only annoying thing is the headphone preamp.
The rest is working excellent.
I use it in my home recording studio.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Enough for me
fisherbim, 12.09.2020
I need it for recording acoustic and electric instruments. Needed 2 inputs for a mic and direct recording. Needs EQ, kind of on the bright side. Outputs are great for future expansion, oh, and the midi, too.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Perfect for beginners: Best in price range
Some guy with a name, 03.02.2021
The features and preamp quality are amazing for the price range. Never had any driver issues, just plug and play. No latency issues. Basically none of the issues you would expect with a cheap interface. Perfect for beginners or experienced producers looking for a spare portable interface
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great budget audio interface!!
CCSoundzz, 11.05.2020
This unit does everything you need it top do. You have headphone amp, stereo input capture, multiple outputs, microphone phantom power, MIDI, etc., etc.

The unit itself seems quite stout and much more stable than the other budget DACs. It sits where you put it despite cables tugging on it. As with other DACs, it is self-powered through USB.

I'm impressed! Yes, there is a bit of mains related noise at 60 Hz and harmonics but its level is more than 120 db below reference so of no audible consequence at all. There is also a spike at similar level at 10 Khz. Other than that, the response is very clean. The value the behringer provides is impossible for me to imagine. All those connectors, controls, ADC and DAC jammed into a product for €80! Definitely a good buy!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
the soundcard works great with guitar rig 5
Steven van den Brink, 13.07.2020
It was a bit of a hassle to find the right drivers for this card, but when i finally did, the product worked like a charm.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
I am not an expert.
Marukolt, 23.04.2020
For the price i think we cant expect much. It does its job. One thing i struggled a bit was i couldn't use my interface and listen on you tube for music reference at the same time, when selecting the UMC driver. It was frustrating. But after i installed Asio4ALL driver, it worked perfectly. So be aware if you have the same problem as me, just select a different driver for your driver interface. About the sound, well like i said I am not an expert, it does the job, and that's what matters to me.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Perfect for small projects
CDavid, 29.09.2020
bought this soundcard for a stop-motion project with my kids during the covid lockdown. I actually was very surprised by the built quality and sound. I am used to work with Hi-end studio gear so I did not expect too much. I'm pretty shure you can't find any better for this price. I will use it more than expected.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Clean preamps
GeoBota, 04.07.2020
Pretty good as an interface
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
NSantos, 10.02.2020
nice machine for best price
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Good interface for this price.
Simon Hebar, 18.12.2020
Interface work imidatly (after installing driwers on windows 7). It is compact. Sound is really good. I give 4 stars becaise I have problems with backgroun noice. I am really satisfied.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Compact, does it's job okay
DoesThisCompute, 18.06.2019
I use this in live settings where it has not been ideal in terms of signal to noise ratio and latency. With a DI between this box and the main PA it's either been a big hum on the channels or a fair amount of noise. On the other hand, it's very compact and does it's job quite alright. The onboard features and easy interface (layout) are nice.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Behringer U-Phoria UMC204HD

$79
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Online Guides
Computer Based Studios
Computer Based Studios
This article will look at how to integrate a computer into different studio environments, and will highlight the issues of functionality and connectivity.
Online Guides
Recording E-Guitars
Recording E-Guitars
Our aim is to explain the basic process of recording the electric guitar!
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
11
(11)
Recently Viewed
Audient iD4 MKII

USB-C Audio Interface 24 bit / 44.1 - 96 kHz, ADC dynamic range: 121 dB, DAC dynamic range: 126 dB, @Class A Audient console microphone preamplifier, Mic Gain 58 dB,

Recently Viewed
Alesis Nitro Expansion Pack

Expansion set for Alesis Nitro Mesh Kit Consist of 1x 10" One-Zone Pad and 1x 08" ON zones Tom Pad, Includes necessary rack clips, cymbal holder, L-rods and cables

Recently Viewed
Sonor SS 1000 Snare Stand

Sonor SS 1000 Snare Stand, 1000 hardware series, gearless basket adjustment, double braced, stable rubber foots,

Recently Viewed
Electro Harmonix Ripped Speaker Fuzz

Electro Harmonix Ripped Speaker Fuzz; Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar & Bass; low Fuzz settings emulate Vintage Lo-Fi Distortion Sounds created by a Razor Blade applied to a Speaker Cone, a loose Tube or a faulty channel on a Recording…

Recently Viewed
Otamatone Neo White

Otamatone Neo, Electronic sound toy / synthesizer, standard size, selection of various sounds via new studio smart phone app, cross link of smart phone and Otamatone via cable, power plug for external power supply, stereo headphone jack, volume adjustable, playing…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
iZotope Spire Studio 2nd Generation

iZotope Spire Studio 2nd Generation; mobile recording studio with lithium-ion battery (up to 4 hours runtime); 2 tracks can be recorded simultaneously; up to 8 tracks per project can be played back; recording format: 24-bit / 48 kHz; up to…

Recently Viewed
Endorphin.es Ground Control

Endorphin.es Ground Control; Eurorack module; performance sequencer; 24-pads keyboard for realtime programming; USB-B port and MIDI in/out for using external MIDI devices and DAW integration; 3 melodic tracks with CV/Gate outputs; 8 drum tracks with trigger outputs; 24 pattern per…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Blackmagic Design Pocket Cinema Camera Pro EVF

Blackmagic Design Pocket Cinema Camera Pro EVF; Viewfinder fits Pocket Cinema Camera 6K Pro; Viewfinder with internal proximity sensor, 4-piece glass diopter, built-in status info display and digital test chart; Video and power connections: via Pocket Cinema Camera 6K Pro…

2
(2)
Recently Viewed
Universal Audio UAFX Astra Modulation Machine

Enforcement Pedal Stereo modulation, With chorus, flanger and tremolo effects, True or Buffered Bypass, Preset storable, Additional effects downloadable, Live / Preset mode, Dual processor UAFX Engine, 2 Inputs: 6.3 mm pawl (input 2 for stereo connection), 2 Outputs:…

Recently Viewed
Otamatone Neo Black

Otamatone Neo, Electronic sound toy / synthesizer, standard size, selection of various sounds via new studio smart phone app, cross link of smart phone and Otamatone via cable, power plug for external power supply, stereo headphone jack, volume adjustable, playing…

Recently Viewed
Zoom PodTrak P4

Podcasting Recorder Four microphone inputs (XLR, P48V phantom power switchable), Four headphone outputs with individual volume controls (3.5mm stereo jack), Gain control and mute button per input, Mix minus function for automatic feedback suppression for incoming calls, Connection of…

Recently Viewed
Aputure Accent B7c

Aputure Accent B7c; smart 7W RGBWW LED bulb; uses the same colour mixing technology as the Nova P300c, covering the same colour temperature spectrum from 2000 to 10000 Kelvin; built-in Li-Po battery with a runtime of up to 70 minutes…

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.