Behringer U-Phoria UMC204HD

599 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.7 /5
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Impressive for the price!
TrEr, 29.05.2017
I got this interface for using at home on days when my studio is busy with other projects. Just to be able to do some recordings at home, for fun, but it turned out to be much better than expected and has also been used for serious work.

Lets get the bad stuff out of the way first:

-Pots have started crackling after just a few months use. Very disappointing!

-Jack line inputs/outputs feel VERY fragile. Especially the outputs on the back. So far they work fine but this is the kind of quality you just KNOW is going to break. I'm surprised they haven't used better connectors. The headphone and XLR connectors feels ok though,

-After using the interface for a couple of months I started having some trouble with losing connection to the laptop/DAW. It just suddenly was "disconnected" in the middle of a session. It happens very sporadically, perhaps once every 10 hours of use. Still very annoying. I guess I can live with it for home use but it completely rules out any professional applications. If this continues I will have to consider returning the Behringer for repacement/repair but I want to test it with another laptop/DAW first to make sure the problem is not elsewhere in my setup. It does seem very much like the problem is with the Behringer though as I've never had these problems before with the same laptop/DAW.

-I wish there were two headphone outputs. Obviously not a problem when I work alone but there are situations when two headphone outputs would have been nice. Using a splitter to connect two headphones did not work very well. The output could not handle it, causing distortion. I guess you can't have everything at this price/size so not a huge issue I guess.

Ok, so the good stuff:

-Price! Insanely cheap and excellent value for money!

-Sound. Based on sound quality I can easily use this for serious projects. My intention was to get the Behringer just for fun but more and more often I find myself using it to do overdubs for serious projects. I honestly can't tell any difference in sound quality to comparable recordings I do in my studio on RME/SSL interface/converters. I should add that I don't normally use the internal Midas micpres in the Behringer. I have brought home a small rack of gear that wasn't used in my studio. Cheaper stuff like Warm Audio, FMR, Toft etc. And I have to say: The difference between this gear and the more expensive outboard gear in my actual studio is a LOT greater than the difference between the cheap Behringer and my studio's more expensive interface/converters. I should also add that the Midas preamps in the Behringer are totally fine, just a bit characterless for my taste so I prefer to use outboard transformer based preamps if possible. Still, the Midas preamps are definitely not useless like the Behringer preamps of the past. For example, these Midas preamp are FAR superior to the preamps in the ADA8000. I might also add that I absolutely LOVE the fact that Behringer has included inserts on this cheap little interface. This means it's possible to use outboard compression/eq even when using the internal Midas preamps which is a HUGE improvement compared to many other cheap interfaces.

-Size. This was important to me. It fits nicely in a backpack together with a laptop so I can go anywhere (provided there's electricity...) and work on my music.

-Stability... Well, like I mentioned I've had some problems with the Behringer suddenly becoming "disconnected". I'm still not 100% sure if this is a fault with the Behringer or something else in my system (although everything points at the Behringer). But apart from these incidents it has been VERY stable and running efficiently at acceptably low latencies/buffer settings. I'd say the laptop it is connected to is far more likely to be the limiting factor for efficiency.

-Zero latency monitoring. While there is no fancy on-screen mixer it still works really well with a single knob adjusting smoothly between monitoring playback or incoming signal. Great, simple solution that just WORKS.

So, what's the verdict?

I guess the long term reliability will decide whether this is a good investment or not. There are signs that the build quality isn't the best but it sounds VERY good and is VERY cheap.

I'm generally not a fan of recommending stuff that's poorly built but in this case I'm making an exception. I really feel Behringer has pushed the limits of what is possible at this price point. I might eat my words if my unit breaks down in a years or two but still:

Highly recommended!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great value!
boynamedlen, 30.03.2020
I bought this product primarily for streaming purposes on Twitch, and for recording bass and acoustic guitar. My budget was tight at the time, which was a big reason why I went for this interface.

Other options I considered were the Presonus Audiobox (both the older model and the iTwo) and Focusrite Scarlett 2i2.
The Behringer had all the features I needed while being significantly cheaper than the others. Really, the only thing it had going against it was the brand name. The older Presonus didn't really appeal to me after all.

To get my only criticism out of the way: I had some trouble getting it to work out of the box, mainly because of a driver issue. This is the reason for the one 3 star rating. Once that was sorted, I have never had any problems with it.

It has quickly become my main audio device when I'm on the computer. Whenever I'm listening through headphones, it is through the interface. I has also become my main quiet practice solution for bass, with a Sansamp Bass Driver DI and a few pedals in between.

My recording/producing experience is pretty limited so I can't say that much about the sound quality, but for the average user I think it's an excellent place to start at the very least. I honestly can't really fault this interface based on my own needs. It feels solid and well built, the knobs and switches don't feel cheap at all, I haven't had any problems with bad connections or anything like that and it just sound good.

If it would break, I would look at other options and then most likely get the same one again anyway!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Очень хороший аудио-&#1080
dmitrii_v, 12.06.2020
Очень хороший аудио-интерфейс для начинающих. Я его использую дома, иногда записываю вокал, иногда инструменты. Преампы не идеальные, но очень неплохи.
очень удобна кнопка Mono/Stereo, на многих интерфейсах данного ценового диапазона такой функции нет, она позволяет где в стереообразе будет расположен первый и второй канал. Помимо этого в плюсы можно отнести его 4-х канальность и большой запас в усилении наушников.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
I am not an expert.
Marukolt, 23.04.2020
For the price i think we cant expect much. It does its job. One thing i struggled a bit was i couldn't use my interface and listen on you tube for music reference at the same time, when selecting the UMC driver. It was frustrating. But after i installed Asio4ALL driver, it worked perfectly. So be aware if you have the same problem as me, just select a different driver for your driver interface. About the sound, well like i said I am not an expert, it does the job, and that's what matters to me.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
good stuff
ghostboi, 16.09.2020
really nice audio interface for the price. there's enough controls for a small home recording situation and its sturdy so i wont break it too easily, hopefully.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
3 months later
18.02.2017
After having used this sound card for 3 months now, i can gladly say it's exactly what i was looking for. The inputs signal is great, however i must admit it does clip rather easily if you push the gain on the channels. This is normal though for an interface in this price range you wouldn't expect it to set the standards. One of the only sound cards in this price range with MIDI i/o (trust me i have done a lot of research). One of the cool features i found in addition was the possibility to plug pedals to it.

I use this to record my Mic and Guitar in mono and sometimes a synthesiser in stereo, for the road it's perfect small and compact with very heavy duty build. It hasn't taken much damage, but it has taken somewhat of a beating during my travels (i tend to put everything in my backpack).

If you're looking for a small sturdy little companion, i would definitely recommend this bad boy.

Pros:
- Cheap
- Good build
- Great sound

Cons:
- Always have to watch the clip alert (until you get the hang of the gain levels over different instruments)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Almost perfect
IvoMinchev, 11.10.2020
I expected bigger plugin capacity.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Sleek and reliable Audio Interface
snug, 22.07.2019
I have been using it for 3 months with no problems. Audio performance is great quality and the knobs feel great. I do not have any complaints about the product, but I only give 4 instead of 5 stars because of the way the microphone monitoring level is a bit confusing sometimes. This is because there is a knob to adjust how much to listen to microphone monitor, and a 2nd knob to adjust master headphone level. However when turning the knob to adjust microphone it also lowers the rest of audio coming through headphones, aka adjusts the "mix" between microphone and for example music. And getting this balance perfect is always a bit of a finetuning process. However it's a pretty sturdy and goodlooking quality interface. I would recommend to buy!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
happy with this entry level audio-interface
Nandopandoh, 16.11.2018
it does the job, I'm not an audio expert, I needed a audio interface for using my studio-monitors. also using a synth MicroKorg S on it, it does clip pretty quick, so my gains are set on 11hrs. The PAD is kinda useless in my opinion, it just reduce the gain, in other words it putting the volume down. I kinda regret that I didn't bough the version with 4 inputs, money wise it isn't so much more, and then your more future proof. (more inputs means more instruments)
MIDI works great, also works great with my studio monitors: JBL 308
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Inexpensive but decent interface
derBerliner, 27.03.2019
Sure there are better interfaces out there. But with the Behringer UMC204HD you get a good performer for a moderate price. Sounds good and latency is more than just usable.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Good audio interface
Georgi Vasilev, 01.05.2017
I've purchased the Behringer U-Phoria UMC204HD audio interface to run my desktop audio through it. I am using it mainly for video editing and every now and then to record some voice overs with it. So far I haven't had any problems using the interface. I like that it's solidly build and it's housing is made out of metal. Feels sturdy and nice on touch. It also looks good. It has the Midas microphone preamps which I can say are pretty good and a great steal for the price of the interface. They are quite and I am pleased with the produced sound of my voice recordings. I don't use the MIDI on it currently but it's a nice feature to have if I decide to compose some music in the future. The sound card has all the needed features for small or home studios such as balanced TRS inputs and outputs, RCA output, XLR inputs for your mics, pad on each of the two channels, line or instrument levels selector, A/B monitoring, headphones out etc. I haven't experienced any delays but as I said I using it for video editing so don't load many audio effects to test that. All in all it's a great little audio interface for your sound needs and at this price point totally recommended by me!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
very nice interface
jaimefck, 07.12.2018
looks sturdy, its easy to use, sounds great. I couldnt ask more from it at this price. I would definetly recommend this for a complete beginner.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Behringer U-Phoria UMC204HD

$79
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Online Guides
Computer Based Studios
Computer Based Studios
This article will look at how to integrate a computer into different studio environments, and will highlight the issues of functionality and connectivity.
Online Guides
Recording E-Guitars
Recording E-Guitars
Our aim is to explain the basic process of recording the electric guitar!
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
11
(11)
Recently Viewed
Audient iD4 MKII

USB-C Audio Interface 24 bit / 44.1 - 96 kHz, ADC dynamic range: 121 dB, DAC dynamic range: 126 dB, @Class A Audient console microphone preamplifier, Mic Gain 58 dB,

Recently Viewed
Alesis Nitro Expansion Pack

Expansion set for Alesis Nitro Mesh Kit Consist of 1x 10" One-Zone Pad and 1x 08" ON zones Tom Pad, Includes necessary rack clips, cymbal holder, L-rods and cables

Recently Viewed
Sonor SS 1000 Snare Stand

Sonor SS 1000 Snare Stand, 1000 hardware series, gearless basket adjustment, double braced, stable rubber foots,

Recently Viewed
Electro Harmonix Ripped Speaker Fuzz

Electro Harmonix Ripped Speaker Fuzz; Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar & Bass; low Fuzz settings emulate Vintage Lo-Fi Distortion Sounds created by a Razor Blade applied to a Speaker Cone, a loose Tube or a faulty channel on a Recording…

Recently Viewed
Otamatone Neo White

Otamatone Neo, Electronic sound toy / synthesizer, standard size, selection of various sounds via new studio smart phone app, cross link of smart phone and Otamatone via cable, power plug for external power supply, stereo headphone jack, volume adjustable, playing…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
iZotope Spire Studio 2nd Generation

iZotope Spire Studio 2nd Generation; mobile recording studio with lithium-ion battery (up to 4 hours runtime); 2 tracks can be recorded simultaneously; up to 8 tracks per project can be played back; recording format: 24-bit / 48 kHz; up to…

Recently Viewed
Endorphin.es Ground Control

Endorphin.es Ground Control; Eurorack module; performance sequencer; 24-pads keyboard for realtime programming; USB-B port and MIDI in/out for using external MIDI devices and DAW integration; 3 melodic tracks with CV/Gate outputs; 8 drum tracks with trigger outputs; 24 pattern per…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Blackmagic Design Pocket Cinema Camera Pro EVF

Blackmagic Design Pocket Cinema Camera Pro EVF; Viewfinder fits Pocket Cinema Camera 6K Pro; Viewfinder with internal proximity sensor, 4-piece glass diopter, built-in status info display and digital test chart; Video and power connections: via Pocket Cinema Camera 6K Pro…

2
(2)
Recently Viewed
Universal Audio UAFX Astra Modulation Machine

Enforcement Pedal Stereo modulation, With chorus, flanger and tremolo effects, True or Buffered Bypass, Preset storable, Additional effects downloadable, Live / Preset mode, Dual processor UAFX Engine, 2 Inputs: 6.3 mm pawl (input 2 for stereo connection), 2 Outputs:…

Recently Viewed
Otamatone Neo Black

Otamatone Neo, Electronic sound toy / synthesizer, standard size, selection of various sounds via new studio smart phone app, cross link of smart phone and Otamatone via cable, power plug for external power supply, stereo headphone jack, volume adjustable, playing…

Recently Viewed
Zoom PodTrak P4

Podcasting Recorder Four microphone inputs (XLR, P48V phantom power switchable), Four headphone outputs with individual volume controls (3.5mm stereo jack), Gain control and mute button per input, Mix minus function for automatic feedback suppression for incoming calls, Connection of…

Recently Viewed
Aputure Accent B7c

Aputure Accent B7c; smart 7W RGBWW LED bulb; uses the same colour mixing technology as the Nova P300c, covering the same colour temperature spectrum from 2000 to 10000 Kelvin; built-in Li-Po battery with a runtime of up to 70 minutes…

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.