Behringer UMC404HD

1067 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.6 /5
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Beyond imagination for that price!
fommof, 07.02.2020
So, I wanted a 4 input USB interface that could record at 48Khz/24bit 4 tracks at the same time without issues in order for me to digitize my master tapes from my 4 channel analoge track recorder.

Mind that I used to have a Scarlette 4i4 1st generation which I never had any issues but I sold it long time ago. I was just about to pull the trigger and buy the Scarlette 4i4 3st gen which costs more or less double the money, until I noticed that not only it had only two line ins (at the back) but since the 1st generation they removed 2 of the front preamps. So, I would have to connect 2 channels to the preamps and 2 channels to the line ins. These two groups of connections have different specs (impedence) so I didn't want to mess around and waist time with any of this.

I read a ton of revivews and although I had never bought any Behringer device worth of 15 euros or more, I pulled the trigger and bought one.

It looks sturdy enough, the manual contains only the basic information but apart from the routins, it is a simple device.

No problems with the Win10 drivers (built 1909) which is always a good thing. That's the only thing I downloaded from the Behringer site, by the way, I don't need anything else. One thing I am already missing is the Control/Mixing Panel of the Focusrite. Don't get me wrong, it's not something you must have, but it was a very good and useful thing to have and the Behringer software is kinda of poor gut it does the job (and when it doesn't do it, you can always set a few things from within the DAWs).

The interface got paired with my Presonus Eris E5, no problems, the E5's have been set to unity (half their volume) and the Behringer takes care of the rest.

I also use the AKG271's and this soundcard can drive'em without any problems (no need for headphone amp in this case).

Now, the important stuff.

The card is dead silent, its convertors "sound" great, I've already digitize quite a few of my material without any issues.

The Mix pot was a little bit odd to me at first (mixes the input sound and playback sound) but that's alright.

Line/Instrument and Pad buttons are very useful, no problems with the quality of the pots etc except that the Volume is way too close to the Mix and if you have big hands/fingers it might be a problem (well, not a problem but maybe a mild inconvinience).

All in all, at that price and with these specs, this might be one of the best purchases I've ever made. the price is ridiculous for what you get, absolutely ridiculous!

So, yeah, I am gonna go ahead and recommend this interface as if you are looking for a card with the specs it packs, you really can't go wrong with the 404HD.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Cheap, good and compatible with Linux
zebarnabe, 22.02.2021
4 channel input/output USB Audio interface that is cheap in price but quite nice in quality, additionally it is plug and play for Linux (tested with Ubuntu 20.04).

The good:
The microphone inputs are quite clean, at least when using condenser microphones with phantom power (slightly more noise than in a SSL2 interface).
The headphone output has more than enough power to drive 250 Ohm headphones (tested Beyer Dynamic DT 990 Pro and DT 297 PV)
The knobs feel really nice, time will tell, but they feel a grade above the ones used in other Behringer consoles.

The quirks:
When monitoring, you can mix the inputs and the outputs with the MIX knob.
For the inputs you can listen to all of them at the same time, and stereo mix them as well by pressing the Stereo/Mono button.
However when monitoring the outputs for channels 3-4 (by depressing the Monitor A/B button) they are completely separated from the rest, including the inputs.

The less good:
The CLIP and SIG LEDs are useful guides, but you need to monitor your levels through software to set the microphones gain (at least until you know how they behave with the interface).
Line level inputs start distorting before clipping, make sure your signals are not too hot (even though they are not clipping distortion will happen), this seems to be more evident at higher frequencies.

The bad:
The line outputs are low, if you are connecting to a pro line level you might find the output insufficient, if you are connecting it to a PA or a mixer down the line, make sure you can pick something with a -10dB option for the level (and even then they might be a bit on the low side with the MAIN OUT at maximum level).

Overall the price leaves little to complain about.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
PACKED with features!
mind if i do, 03.11.2019
Behringer killed it with this one. It is truly a one-time purchase.
For studio and live use, I'd throw this thing in those scenarios and it'd probably work out because of how versatile this thing is.

This thing is crazy good for its price tag. It is packed with features that can only be found on higher-end audio interfaces like the Arturia Audiofuse.
For one thing, it has 4 inputs at a price tag of only around a hundred bucks with individual gain control and pad buttons.
The pre-amps are very good and low-noise, even a tad better than the 2i2's I've noticed, though a bit less good than the Komplete Audio.
The build quality is phenomenal. This thing is built to last forever. That's what I meant by a one-time purchase. If you buy this thing, you won't have to upgrade in a while given its amazing build quality and its versatility.
The monitoring system is amazing and opens up a world of possibilities in the studio in terms of hot-switching between different sources of audio monitoring.

That being said, it does have a few drawbacks. Notably the drivers.
I don't know if it's just the experience I had with my computer but on a Windows 10 it was a nightmare to get the drivers to work properly without interfering with my native audio drivers. I've seen people say the exact opposite of that and that it's a plug & play interface, but I've also seen people say otherwise on the internet.
It also doesn't look the best and it isn't very portable, but that's obviously not what it was made for.

Overall, if you want a very versatile audio interface that is packed with features and that will probably last you forever and are ready to go through a hassle of installing and uninstalling the drivers numerous times to get them to work and aren't concerned with the looks and portability, this is just the best that you can get at this price range. A one-time purchase indeed.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Excellent Device for very little money.
gummblefish, 02.08.2017
This isn't the first Audio Interface that I have bought. I have owned several over the years from companies such as Focusrite, M-audio, Line 6, Roland Etc. It is however the first Behringer Interface I have bought.

I use a focusrite Scarlette 18i20 in my Studio and I bought this UMC404HD for doing some video recording and also to act as a secondary device for home. I wasn't expecting this to be that great to be honest, having seen some Behringer products in the past that were less than outstanding. However, I am completely blown away for the quality of the unit especially for how little it costs.

This is a very solidly built device, it feels pretty rugged and made out of metal, though I wouldn't want to go throwing it about, I suspect it would survive a few drops. The knobs are very satisfying and the whole thing does not seem cheap at all.

Sound wise i was pretty impressed. The pre-amps are pretty clean, certainly not 'the best' but they are not bad and I have honestly heard much worse at higher price points. There is easily enough clean headroom on the preamps to get you where you need to be. I have heard that the noise floor on this device is slightly higher than the UMC204HD, this apparently down to this having an extra 2 preamps. You can record at 192khz with this device and there is a mix control for zero latency monitoring which is very handy.

I am very happy with this unit. As I said before for the money I don't think there is a better audio interface by a country mile. 4 ins, 4 outs, solid contruction, pads on each pre-amp. Possibly the only thing I could gripe about is the fact the phantom power switch is on the back, this isn't really a problem for me but it may be for someone else. All in all I don't think anyone would be disappointed with this unit. Behringer have built a solid unit and for very little money. A great bit of kit.

Excellent service by Thomann as usual as well. Very quick delivery to N. Ireland.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
A decent budget audio interface
Jzohsuh, 01.05.2019
I've had this interface for around 7 months now, and have used it for recording, as well as for multitracks on the road. Mostly good, just keep in some sort of case!

Pros:
+ amazing value for the feature set
+ drivers on windows seem fairly stable- haven't BSOD's the PC yet
+ has XLR, TRS and Phono output connections
+ has XLR-jack combi input sockets
+ has a useful knob for fading between playback and input for monitoring
+ headphone output goes loud enough

Cons:
- Durability: the black paint can be scratched off by things like plugs, so protect with at least a soft case or something!
- Some of the output potentiometers (knobs) have started cracking when you turn them now. Not too much of a problem when recording, but more if you were using it live.
- The output levels are quite low, it doesn't match professional line level. This could be a problem if you don't have much gain on the output device.
- The pad switches noticably increases the noise in the input stage! Use as a last resort, on a very hot input signal.
- There have been issues where the pitch of the output has been lower than the actual pitch recorded in the sound file. Possible due to needing the AC adatper plugged in- I didn't have one plugged in at the time.
- The switch from USB power to AC isn't graceful- it makes a pop.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Absolutely great for the money - but, low output volume...
Jonny Whatshisface, 19.01.2021
Let's be blunt here - this thing gives you 4x inputs, inserts, outputs galore, 20 dB pad on the inputs, line and instrument buttons... This thing is, simply put, some of the best bang for your buck that you can possibly get if you need the extra inputs.

The construction is awesome. It feels like a quality product. All of the knobs feel great when turning - they aren't loose and wobbly, they're very controlled feeling and offer some resistance to turning which gives a pleasant overall feeling. The push/push buttons are nice and responsive as well. There's nothing negative to be said about the unit from a construction standpoint.

For the inputs, the noise floor is extremely low and the overall quality of the MIDAS preamps is awesome. The inputs are crystal clear. And, for grins, I measured the phantom output - it will give you the 48v it says it will.

Now, why does it only get four stars? Because the sound output is simply poo poo. The volume on this is very low - far lower than most other amateur audio interfaces. So much so that I have to put a stereo amp between the monitors and the audio interface to really even push the HS8's. But, is this really a "bad" thing?

Without the stereo amplifier, the HS8's are still able to shake the windows with bass hits. But the volume is just not near where it could be, and the same is true for the headphones jack on the front.

The unit comes with a wall power adapter, so the excuse of most people powering off of USB can't be used here.

Overall, this is a purchase I would certainly still recommend despite the lower than expected audio output.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
I recommend
Somebuddy, 22.02.2021
After 5 years, everything is working perfectly!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
All in all it's a good product.
Marius Lau, 28.03.2021
Unit does the job.
Sturdy metal casing, no loose potentiometers or knobs.

Headphones output volume potentiometer sometimes produces some very silent crackles when using it after some time untouched but after few tweaks volume up and down it just disappears and works well.

The headphone output produces lil' noise after pushed around 2 o'clock and the noise increases as you raise the volume. But it's only audible just listening to a sound card headphones output without playing any music. It's inaudible while listening yo music and I listen it around 11-12 o'clock position. You don't wan't to listen that loud anyway :) so no big problem here.

All jack input slots are sturdy. Have not tried RCA outputs but I guess they work as usual.

Connected some outboard gear to process my sounds. Latency is really low only few ms using Reaper via reaInsert or just sending sound via send to hardware and back to soundcard.

Good unit, cheap, use it everyday and no big problems to date.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Just right for my project
29.11.2016
I've been creating music for 7 years.Always for my own pleasure,nothing professional.Never had opportunity to try nor could i afford to buy one of recommended audio interfaces
out there.Half a year ago i saw umc404hd and of course first thing that was interesting to me was price and number of inputs/outputs .It was all perfect for my home studio project where i needed 4 inputs for me and my band.Its also bundled with free daw,so i gave it a chance.
And i didn't regret.

Pros :
-On my windows10 pc its plug and play,all works,just set it as recording device and thats it.
-Sound is clear ,neutral,crisp .Loud enough preamps gain on about 60 percent no need to increase at least for me,no noise or artifacts etc.
-Preamp for headphones is also loud and i use it all the time when monitoring vocals and listening to music.
-Its powered via usb and there was no need for plugging in power adapter which also comes with interface.
-its well built,feels expensive and durable,buttons responsive and it has led indicator for when its turned on and another one when phantom power is on
-takes soo little space its almost twice smaller than it seems on pictures and it fits perfectly under my pc monitor

Cons;
- Phantom power button is at the back and it powers all xlr 4 inputs ,it would be perfect if there were separate buttons for inputs but its ok.

All in all :
For the price i just couldnt find anything better and i dont need anything better,it does all i need and i does it well!!.It sits in the corner taking little space and allowes me to record my music effortlessly.I would recommend it to anyone who decides to build affordable small home studio as i did
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Behringer UMC404HD
Edwin', 23.07.2019
I'm using this interface for my home studio, where I editing soundtracks for commercials and for my own music. This interface offers something special for a low price - really good quality and more inputs. Comparing this with Focusrite's - Behringer gives you more Inputs, same quality and better price.

Pros:
1. Standart interface which is easy to use.
2. Good 48V Ph. power.
3. Good price for 4 in/out.
4. Classy looks and comfortable.

Cons:
1. I would need more sound/gain from Interface. It sounds too quiet without any amplifier's help, even if monitors are good and loud enough.

If you thinking or comparing about Focusrite or this one, I would recommend to give it a shot with Behringer. In my opinion, Behringer is a really quick growing brand from a good quality perspective. I also have Behringer's studio 50 monitors, so combined these two - unbelievable sound for a good price.
It is also an amazing way out for acoustic drums sound recording. I'm a drummer in a band. So now I have my own Interface for 4 microphones, individual monitor, and I actually can adjust the sound of any mic just like that. Everything is close to my drums and many of problems have been sold even for an underground band.

In general: great product for a too good price, but just a little bit too quiet, so I would also recommend an amplifier combine with this interface.

Peace out!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Cináed, 23.03.2020
Incredible bang for your buck in terms of well implemented features, but the headphone out can be a bit quiet, and the windows drivers tend to crash when switching driver modes.

I've used this interface to record a digital piano's headphone out (by means of a Y-split cable) + midi (+VST), a condenser microphone, and electric guitar. In all cases monitoring latency was fine, whether monitoring directly through the interface itself or through Windows 10 on a computer after further processing (VSTs / mixing in auxiliary streams). Listening at 24bit 192kHz at 1024 samples introduced just shy of 10ms of latency without any pops or clicks.

As a DAC the sound quality is stellar, so I keep my head phones hooked up to the interface even when I'm not recording. The problem is though, the interface's Windows driver tends to crash every now and then when software request the device be used in a different buffer mode (ASIO / WASAPI / DirectSound), at which point the interface won't record or produce sound until the computer is rebooted. N.B. this is mostly a non-issue if you're not planning on using the interface as a general computer DAC, and just always run it in ASIO mode with for example a DAW.

Another downside is the head phone monitor jack which can be a bit on the quite side, even at maximum volume. You might need an external amplifier to drive your cans, but your mileage may vary.

At this price point it's very hard to get 4 XLR/jack combo inputs with phantom power at 24 bit 192kHz, with MIDI. The occasional reboot notwithstanding, I can't recommend this interface enough.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
I should have bought this the first time! (for podcasting)
The Jamma, 26.10.2020
I really think that this is an excellent piece of kit for podcasting, its perfect because you have 4 mic/line inputs which means you can have an incoming live skype call and music/background sounds while you record your voice as well - all on separate tracks for processing later. This unit also has MIDI I/O which is a bonus, and i really like the mono button to do mono reference listening.

There's loads of versatility on the back with multiple outs and inserts, the sound is as good as it gets to my ears.

One minor issue is the clip leds, i wish they had an orange before the red (i.e. green, orange and red) for the input level metering, because if you clip, it really sounds horrible. I had to re-take 3 times whilst getting to know that, and who stares at their input meters when being creative! But get used to that and no problem.

Overall, a fantastic bit of kit at a great price which is perfect for my podcasting.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Unexpected sound and functionality quality
kzutronic, 27.01.2021
I needed a 4 channel recording sound card and i went for this UMC404HD. Actually i was not expecting much just wanted to use it for my jams and home recordings. But wow, built quality is great and sound quality is also amazing. I even feel like listening sound quality is better on my monitors compared to my old interface. I don't know if it is true, my ears are misleading me or actually the converters are better, but there is no complaint at all. And inputs have no noise at all when recording.

For now i did not install any drivers or anything and it just works with both my mac and windows 10 machine.

Would totally recommend to everybody needing 4 channels for their home studio. Thanks Thomann for fast delivery.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Basically Berhinger classic
HCJ , 19.12.2020
Behringer make what you want for less, and this is basically that. 4 inputs, phantom power, and decent quality, for much less than the Scarlett equivalent.

While both Scarlett and Behringer make quality products, this is a metal bodied 4 input machine with a super ow price range. Very Versatile, good quality
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
The sound of UMC404HD is clear but there is ground/buzz noise.
Eugene Jake, 06.04.2020
CONS: The only Issue I found is the buzz noise, I can't remove even with power supply, maybe my guitar is the problem. I already use the PAD, the good thing is it minimize it.
The front of Casing has a lot of scratches but there is plastic on it.
Edit: (Mic does not affect ground noise. Make sure you have good electricity connection to avoid ground noise, which in fault in my part.)

PROS: Multiple Input with lots of features, in my opinion this is good compare to other brand with same price but less input and maybe no MIDI.
Edit: (It drives my dynamic mic SM58 easily at 60-75% without noise. At 75%, It can hear my whisper easily using SM58. I think good in ASMR.)

HANDLING: It takes 5 days to arrive here in PH even if there is outbreak. The packaging is safe, there is small damage on box but not on the item. The only problem is UPS, they didn't update me well in tracking page. But they call me when they arrive here.
Edit: (But in Thomann side, they arranged my order pretty quickly. I understand the delay due to pandemic)

TIPS: I prefer to use WASAPI(Windows7 or 10), the latency around 1-5ms(not roundtrip) with 64-256 samples. That consume less CPU load compare to ASIO which is buggy with loud noise when you select the less than 64 samples.
Edit: (WASAPI can take 2-inputs only, much better to use the driver(ASIO) came from Behringer. IMO, I can't tell the difference from 64-512 samples which is 4-10ms roundtrip. It is sound like direct monitoring)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Perfect as an interface for a giging keyboardist!
Tyler Duggan, 04.02.2021
This sturdy construction has enough channels to run stereo sound and a click to our X32 mixer. It is easy to power, I only plug it into my laptop and we're ready to go. It's compact enough to just throw it in your keyboard bag and you're off. Perfect for home recording, as well.

Pro's:
- Small enough to transport inside your keyboard bag
- Midas preamps
- 4 inputs
- sturdy metal construction

Cons:
- not enough cowbell
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Best on a budget
Cmac, 27.07.2017
Use.
To send midi to my Synthesizers and also to send audio to my speakers.

I bought this product for the specific purpose listed above. the fact it has 4 inputs is an added bonus , whilst i only need one to record my synth , it allows me to exude a bit of confidence if i ever find myself in a situation where i want to Multi track a band hehe xD

The product finish is very sleek and a smooth touch , having a monitor switch allows me to check my mixes on 5 inch monitors at ease while main monitoring is done on 8 inch monitors its nice to be able to get a change of opinion very fast .

Pros and cons

Pros
- Budget friendly i was hard pushed to find a AI with this level of flexibility .
-Smooth finish.
-Led signal to show clipping.

Cons
- Knobs are slightly close together , doesn't bother me but just letting you folks know.

It does exactly what i need it to do and it does them well , Audio quality is also very clear very low signal or noise hiss etc. if your on a budget its hard to turn your nose at it offers a wide range of function at a soft price on the wallet .
Overall if you don't care about aesthetics (Not that it looks bad) its your go to for a band and audio monitoring at such a good price.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Very good for price but not blown away
16.11.2016
I hesitated when buying this interface for a very long time. It was a toss up between the Steinberg UR44 and the Behringer UMC404HD. Both have the same sampling rate and bit depth options (which I wanted as a choice for mastering work in case a client sent in a 192kHz/24bit mix).

I choose the Behringer in the end because of a large number of reviews I read online and the price-tag. The reviews all boasted that it was just as good as interfaces that we're twice the price and more. That the preamps were top quality, etc, etc.

To my surprise I think that while this is a ridiculously good product for the price, its not as good as people are saying. Basically it comes down to little things that bothered me but may not annoy another user. For instance there was no driver/software for Macs so all I/O has to configured either inside your DAW or through Apple's own audio settings. Thats fine but I feel like you're potentially limited to the settings of the DAW you would be using regardless of the interfaces features.

Another little pedantic (i understand a lot of my issues with this interface are pedantic) problem I had with this interface was the how flimsy and light the product feels. Particularly the XLR/TRS inputs on the front.

However, saying all that, the sound is great! the preamps are really transparent and with the 24bit depth the noise floor is barely heard.

Also the AD/DA converter chip in the interface (which I found it very hard to find information on before buying) is really clean and I've yet to hear an artifact added to the sound.

All in all I'm pretty happy with the product and its ticking all the boxes...I just wish it was a bit more versatile on the software end of things and a bit more durable feeling (however saying that I've had not issues with durability yet, it just feels flimsy).
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Wow!
Alkabile, 29.12.2020
The best audio interface for money. Stable, resistant and solid.
a bit spartan look, but it has everything one needs. Preamp are good and the Main features are interesting.
absolutely recommended for those who want to start registering.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Excellent
Norwegian user, 12.02.2021
It does exactly what it should. Nothing more, nothing less. No noise, no latency issues. Just quick setup and nice recording. To this price, this is one of a kind.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Steal for the price
Vishu, 18.08.2020
I did a lot of research before buying this Audio Interface. I was split between this and the 2i2 before I settled in this. This unit met and even exceeded my expectations.

Its a sturdy little package, which is built solid and has very good pots and buttons. I read people had issues with the drivers, but if you download the official drivers from the Behringer website, the setup of the interface is a breeze and the latency is extremely low.

I have been using this for home music production. The verstality of the device is really amazing. I currently have my
- electric piano connected through MIDI
- condensor mic connected through XLR
- electric guitar conected through TRS
The interface deals with all three with 0 issues, and has a really low noise floor. I find the amplification also to be sufficient for my needs.

I would highly recommend this interface for anyone who is on the fence.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Probably the best money can buy (Windows 10)
KILL7, 25.08.2020
Really impressive, as far as low cost interfaces go. The preamps are great, I doubt you'll find better at this price with the features. There's inserts for each channel too, which you won't often find on smaller interfaces. Build is solid, weighty, less flimsy than I imagined - it feels quality. Knobs and switches are smooth and feel solid.

My only gripe is that I didn't just go ahead and buy the UMC1820 instead!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great price for a great sounding interface.
Chazzy_d, 03.04.2020
I bought this to replace an old Roland 2 input interface as my gear had outgrown it. The thing that appealed to me most was having 4 inputs so I could simultaneously record 4 tracks, but the thing that really blew me away was the clarity of the inputs and outputs. No longer do I get a hum or any interference, my HS7s sound better than they did before and my acoustic guitar recording has improved greatly.

I use this in my home studio, mainly to record acoustic guitar and vocals, but I also record my Telecaster (into a DeVille) and a Korg Volca FM straight into the behringer inputs. I have this interface running into a 2018 27" iMac with Logic Pro and it works perfectly, no messing around with installation, it just works!

I can't think of anything that's not to like about this product, I guess my only regret is that I didn't pay the extra and get the 8 inputs as my list of gear that I want is growing (isn't everyones?).

If 4 is all you need for a home studio set up, then buy this interface immediately. It rocks.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Excellent interface for the price.
Jontique, 20.04.2021
I got this device about 2 years ago to replace an integrated sound card on my PC, so I'm reviewing the product from this angle.

+I immeaditely noticed a much crisper and punchier audio from the headphone output, so highly recommended if you are looking for an USB audio card. Headphone output is quiet until roughly 75% of the volume dial, but after that there's some white noise, works well with lower impedance headphones (M50x and Shure SRH1540), it gets plenty loud.
Later on I added a headphone amp (Schiit Magni 3 Heresy) and it works really well as a DAC as well!

Also using to record a Audio-Technica AT2020 and a guitar, no issues such as hiss or latency with either one. Supports ASIO drivers without any issues.

+ Everything, really. It's a great product despite Behringer's old track record.

- Missing power button, but it has been "on" for the most part for a couple of years now without issues
- Sometimes drivers. Usually needs a couple of pc reboots to work after installing the driver after which there are no issues.

Great product for the price. If you don't need multiple recording devices, I'd recommend the 202HD.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Unbeatable value
Howard, 24.02.2020
Used in my home studio, with Cubase 10, Studio One, and from time to time Reaper.
I bought this to replace my dead Focusrite Saffire Pro 14. Almost as a kind of a backstop. But it works really well, albeit that the configuration app is a bit basic to say the least. It's typical Behringer, built down to a price but at the same time doing what it says on the box.
For a home studio it has my recommendation; if you want four inputs there really doesn't seem much benefit in investing in a more expensive unit.
Pros: easy to use, 4 channels and MIDI. Nice pre-amps. 2 monitor outs, Pad button on front inputs. Reliable USB connection. It 'just works' as the saying goes.
Cons: very simplistic control app. Not the lowest latency I've seen in a USB interface (use Studio One and it is a non issue). Quite wide (if that matters to you). Not the strongest build quality in the world, but more than good enough.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Behringer UMC404HD

$119
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Online Guides
Computer Based Studios
Computer Based Studios
This article will look at how to integrate a computer into different studio environments, and will highlight the issues of functionality and connectivity.
Online Guides
Recording E-Guitars
Recording E-Guitars
Our aim is to explain the basic process of recording the electric guitar!
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
2
(2)
Recently Viewed
Line6 Relay G10TII Transmitter

Line6 Relay G10TII Transmiiter, 2,4 GHz plug and play Wireless transmitter for Relay G10 systems or Spider V series from Spider V 60, with internal receiver, audio frequency range 10 - 20.000 Hz, automic frequency setup, 118 dB SPL max.,…

2
(2)
Recently Viewed
Line6 Pod GO Wireless

Line6 Pod GO Wireless; Multi Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar; over 300 effects and models from Helix, M-Series and Legacy products, up to 6 simultaneous amp, cab, and effects models including a looper and a speaker cabinet simulation (Third-Party IR…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Harley Benton TableAmp V2 BlueTooth

Harley Benton TableAmp V2 BlueTooth, compact amplifier with great features for play-along and sing-along with streamed music using the integrated Bluetooth feature, ideal for acoustic guitar, ukulele, electric guitar, vocals and music, 30 watt RMS, 1x 5" bass woofer +…

Recently Viewed
Arturia Pigments 3

Arturia Pigments 3 (ESD); virtual synthesizer; four sound engines with variable sound sources; Harmonic Engine with up to 512 partials; Wavetable Engine with a total of 164 wavetables; Utility Engine with sub-oscillator and two noise sample layers; Jup-8 V4 low-pass…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Roli Lumi 1 Snapcase Black

Roli Lumi 1 Snapcase Black; sturdy and magnetic cover around the LUMI Keys for a slim and seamless fit; protects the LUMI Keys during transport and storage; easily folds into a stand for mobile devices; dimensions (W x D x…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Korg SQ-64

Polyphonic Step Sequencer with 4 Tracks 3 Melody tracks with 8-fold polyphony and 16 patterns of 64 steps each, Drum track with 16 monophonic sub-tracks, 64-Key matrix with illuminated buttons, OLED display, Editing modes per melody track: gate, pitch…

Recently Viewed
Alesis Harmony 61 MKII

Alesis Harmony 61 MKII Keyboard with 61 piano style keys, 300 sounds, 300 rhythms and 40 demo songs, speakers, headphone output 3,5 mm, powered via batteries (6x AA not included!), incl. skoove 3 month premium online lessions, dimensions: 948 x…

Recently Viewed
SSL 500-Series SiX Channel

Solid State Logic 500-Series SiX Channel; Channel Strip; with SuperAnalogue mic preamp and 5-way LED indicator; +48V phantom power; with phase and HPF switches; separate instrument/line input on front panel with Hi-Z switch (1MO); switchable 2-band EQ with bell and…

Recently Viewed
Lewitt LCT 140 Air Matched Pair

Lewitt LCT 140 Air Matched Pair - 2 matched small diaphragm condenser microphones, polar pattern: cardioid, frequency range: 20 Hz - 20 kHz, sensitivity: 14.6 mV/Pa, -36.7 dBV/P, max. SPL: 135 dB, low-cut: 80 Hz (12 dB/oct), pad switch: -12dB,…

Recently Viewed
Rode VideoMic Me-C

Rode VideoMic Me-C; condenser directional microphone; suitable for Android devices with USB-C connector; integrated USB type-C plug; 1/2" condenser capsule; polar pattern: cardioid; front pickup angle: 90°; sturdy aluminium housing with ceramic coating; built-in microphone preamplifier with DA converter (24Bit…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Universal Audio UAFX Starlight Echo Station

Effects Pedal Stereo delay, With tape, analogue, and digital effects, True or buffered bypass, Presets can be stored, Tap tempo mode, Additional effects can be downloaded, Dual processor UAFX engine, Live / preset mode, 2 Inputs: 6.3 mm jack…

Recently Viewed
IK Multimedia UNO Synth Pro Desktop

Analog synthesizer Paraphonic analog synthesizer with step sequencer, arpeggiator and effects section, Three wave morphing oscillators with PWM, sync, frequency and ring modulation, dual state variable filter with 24 modes, amplifier, Original OTA filter from the UNO Synth as…

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.