Behringer UMC404HD

1067 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.6 /5
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
PACKED with features!
mind if i do, 03.11.2019
Behringer killed it with this one. It is truly a one-time purchase.
For studio and live use, I'd throw this thing in those scenarios and it'd probably work out because of how versatile this thing is.

This thing is crazy good for its price tag. It is packed with features that can only be found on higher-end audio interfaces like the Arturia Audiofuse.
For one thing, it has 4 inputs at a price tag of only around a hundred bucks with individual gain control and pad buttons.
The pre-amps are very good and low-noise, even a tad better than the 2i2's I've noticed, though a bit less good than the Komplete Audio.
The build quality is phenomenal. This thing is built to last forever. That's what I meant by a one-time purchase. If you buy this thing, you won't have to upgrade in a while given its amazing build quality and its versatility.
The monitoring system is amazing and opens up a world of possibilities in the studio in terms of hot-switching between different sources of audio monitoring.

That being said, it does have a few drawbacks. Notably the drivers.
I don't know if it's just the experience I had with my computer but on a Windows 10 it was a nightmare to get the drivers to work properly without interfering with my native audio drivers. I've seen people say the exact opposite of that and that it's a plug & play interface, but I've also seen people say otherwise on the internet.
It also doesn't look the best and it isn't very portable, but that's obviously not what it was made for.

Overall, if you want a very versatile audio interface that is packed with features and that will probably last you forever and are ready to go through a hassle of installing and uninstalling the drivers numerous times to get them to work and aren't concerned with the looks and portability, this is just the best that you can get at this price range. A one-time purchase indeed.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
A decent budget audio interface
Jzohsuh, 01.05.2019
I've had this interface for around 7 months now, and have used it for recording, as well as for multitracks on the road. Mostly good, just keep in some sort of case!

Pros:
+ amazing value for the feature set
+ drivers on windows seem fairly stable- haven't BSOD's the PC yet
+ has XLR, TRS and Phono output connections
+ has XLR-jack combi input sockets
+ has a useful knob for fading between playback and input for monitoring
+ headphone output goes loud enough

Cons:
- Durability: the black paint can be scratched off by things like plugs, so protect with at least a soft case or something!
- Some of the output potentiometers (knobs) have started cracking when you turn them now. Not too much of a problem when recording, but more if you were using it live.
- The output levels are quite low, it doesn't match professional line level. This could be a problem if you don't have much gain on the output device.
- The pad switches noticably increases the noise in the input stage! Use as a last resort, on a very hot input signal.
- There have been issues where the pitch of the output has been lower than the actual pitch recorded in the sound file. Possible due to needing the AC adatper plugged in- I didn't have one plugged in at the time.
- The switch from USB power to AC isn't graceful- it makes a pop.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Absolutely great for the money - but, low output volume...
Jonny Whatshisface, 19.01.2021
Let's be blunt here - this thing gives you 4x inputs, inserts, outputs galore, 20 dB pad on the inputs, line and instrument buttons... This thing is, simply put, some of the best bang for your buck that you can possibly get if you need the extra inputs.

The construction is awesome. It feels like a quality product. All of the knobs feel great when turning - they aren't loose and wobbly, they're very controlled feeling and offer some resistance to turning which gives a pleasant overall feeling. The push/push buttons are nice and responsive as well. There's nothing negative to be said about the unit from a construction standpoint.

For the inputs, the noise floor is extremely low and the overall quality of the MIDAS preamps is awesome. The inputs are crystal clear. And, for grins, I measured the phantom output - it will give you the 48v it says it will.

Now, why does it only get four stars? Because the sound output is simply poo poo. The volume on this is very low - far lower than most other amateur audio interfaces. So much so that I have to put a stereo amp between the monitors and the audio interface to really even push the HS8's. But, is this really a "bad" thing?

Without the stereo amplifier, the HS8's are still able to shake the windows with bass hits. But the volume is just not near where it could be, and the same is true for the headphones jack on the front.

The unit comes with a wall power adapter, so the excuse of most people powering off of USB can't be used here.

Overall, this is a purchase I would certainly still recommend despite the lower than expected audio output.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
All in all it's a good product.
Marius Lau, 28.03.2021
Unit does the job.
Sturdy metal casing, no loose potentiometers or knobs.

Headphones output volume potentiometer sometimes produces some very silent crackles when using it after some time untouched but after few tweaks volume up and down it just disappears and works well.

The headphone output produces lil' noise after pushed around 2 o'clock and the noise increases as you raise the volume. But it's only audible just listening to a sound card headphones output without playing any music. It's inaudible while listening yo music and I listen it around 11-12 o'clock position. You don't wan't to listen that loud anyway :) so no big problem here.

All jack input slots are sturdy. Have not tried RCA outputs but I guess they work as usual.

Connected some outboard gear to process my sounds. Latency is really low only few ms using Reaper via reaInsert or just sending sound via send to hardware and back to soundcard.

Good unit, cheap, use it everyday and no big problems to date.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Cináed, 23.03.2020
Incredible bang for your buck in terms of well implemented features, but the headphone out can be a bit quiet, and the windows drivers tend to crash when switching driver modes.

I've used this interface to record a digital piano's headphone out (by means of a Y-split cable) + midi (+VST), a condenser microphone, and electric guitar. In all cases monitoring latency was fine, whether monitoring directly through the interface itself or through Windows 10 on a computer after further processing (VSTs / mixing in auxiliary streams). Listening at 24bit 192kHz at 1024 samples introduced just shy of 10ms of latency without any pops or clicks.

As a DAC the sound quality is stellar, so I keep my head phones hooked up to the interface even when I'm not recording. The problem is though, the interface's Windows driver tends to crash every now and then when software request the device be used in a different buffer mode (ASIO / WASAPI / DirectSound), at which point the interface won't record or produce sound until the computer is rebooted. N.B. this is mostly a non-issue if you're not planning on using the interface as a general computer DAC, and just always run it in ASIO mode with for example a DAW.

Another downside is the head phone monitor jack which can be a bit on the quite side, even at maximum volume. You might need an external amplifier to drive your cans, but your mileage may vary.

At this price point it's very hard to get 4 XLR/jack combo inputs with phantom power at 24 bit 192kHz, with MIDI. The occasional reboot notwithstanding, I can't recommend this interface enough.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Wow!
Alkabile, 29.12.2020
The best audio interface for money. Stable, resistant and solid.
a bit spartan look, but it has everything one needs. Preamp are good and the Main features are interesting.
absolutely recommended for those who want to start registering.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
404HD self assessment
Zilwa , 05.04.2020
I intended to buy the behringer UMC404HD to set it up in my home studio and i was really surprised with the build quality of the product. Each knob feels just great and the USB powered cable work just fine. As for the quality of recording so far so good im having a good quality sound with low latency and if anyone is willing to buy this product don't think too much, cause it's a really good value for money product, i also intend it during live performances with my midi controller and a big up to Thomann for its great customer service.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
I am giving this one strait a 4
Wall Ace, 24.02.2021
Cheap
Nobs are boring to use, you can’t even tell apart from master to headphones, super packed together.
Good built quality
Makes the recording very cheap and loud sounding
Not the best preamps but for beginners entry you can’t ask for more. I would sa. I found it better than focusrite surprisingly.

At the end. It’s not all about the interface, it’s your Voice which place 4/5 of the Part.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Unbeatable for the price
Frankasian, 10.04.2021
I have this and a certain red metal interface for recording. Does the job just as good but looks less fancy of course.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Extremely good value for money!
Moniker, 27.08.2019
I use this for home recording. This is great value, has a sturdy feel and overall feels like it cost more than it did.

The preamps are surprisingly clean, and overall this sounds great. My only criticism is that the supplied cables are somewhat flimsy, however these are easily replaced.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Good value for money
JurroenB, 09.08.2020
For a simple audio interface with more than two ins and outs and MIDI support, I think this delivers good value for money.
Easy handling, plug-and-play, monitor and mix work good.

Software and installation could be configured better.
I have two DAWs, and with one (Samplitude Pro X4) it works better, i.e. all four channels seperated. With the other (Studio One Artist) it only recognises two seperate channels.
Also, Windows settings finds it hard to switch between programs and still see this as my main in- and output. So, changing from Studio One to Firefox, MediaMonkey or Spotify might cause Windows to reset settings to Windows audio . Selecting the program by selecting it instead of Alt+Tab solves this problem.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Nice product
ed den ted, 05.11.2020
Feels very sturdy !
Just a litlle more hum than my other interfaces (Steinberg and Presonus) depending on the kind of input that you make.
But qua price / quality ratio "UNBEATABLE".
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
kimon206, 06.01.2019
Best choise for the money,you can play and record 4 persons at the same time!!very good construction!!you don't need more!!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Begginer/Budget friendly audio Interface
Kostas123k, 20.04.2020
The Behringer UMC404HD is a good option for a begginer in music production or no.It has a lot of connections (4in-4out) and the built quality is above the avarage with metal frame and good quality plastic at knobs,buttons and frontface inputs).I cant find any disadvantage for my use
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Good audio devices
Q FOR MY FRIENDS, 07.06.2020
if you are looking for a simple but powerfull audio interface here you have what you need for a low budget.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great for beginners
Joeken, 28.03.2020
I bought this to test the quality and to be honest, it's fairly decent considering. It's definitely worth the money and a great starter point for anyone who wishes to get into the world of recording. It would suit home demos, personal podcasts, recording MIDI etc. Very handy to have lying around in case you need to record a quick track. Don't drop it - it cannot handle it. I haven't dropped mine, but I've witnessed one falling a couple of inches and it died instantly. Otherwise it does feel sturdy enough and over-all has very decent features.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great Quality / Price
Sodakids, 07.12.2020
Awesome little card for the price !
i won't its an incredible soundcard as its rather entry level kinda equipment , but i'm very satisfied of this soundcard !
Great buy for anyone looking for a cheap and useful soundcard or for starting out !!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great interface for the price
zildjandrinker, 21.06.2020
I am using the interface for micing my drums. This is an upgrade from a 2 channels very old audio interface. To me, this change has been for the best. The quality of the sound I am getting from this interface is top!
I am recording drums as a hobby. For me is more than enough what I am getting out of it.

Pros:
The price-quality relationship ration is unbeatable.

Cons:
It does not have a switch on or off button. For me it is not a problem but good to mention.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great for the price
Earl Langoustine, 24.02.2020
This is a great audio interface for a small setup, and small/sturdy enough that you can bring it places to record onto a laptop. Has all the features you would expect, line/instrument level is nice and you can trim everything to the proper level before it enters the computer. The sound is clean and decent. MIDI sequencing works great with it. One problem with mine: the headphone jack on mine was a little wonky, and I need to nudge it sometimes to get a good connection. Otherwise works great!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
GREAT PRODUCT, FRAGILE USB PORT
Maj Kabobo, 25.03.2020
All in all, great product but the Usb port breaks and i can't connect to the computer anymore even though it's on.
I have had two of this interface and that seems to be the only bad side.
Great product after all. Does the job!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Pretty alright for what it costs.
Arad, 01.12.2019
I moved to it from my Scarlett Solo 1st gen. Quieter preamps but still somewhat noisy with more gain. Still very workable though!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Nothing can beat for the price
Eduardo Oliveira, 05.01.2021
I use it to record drums with multiple mics, and it does the job
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Very cheap and sturdy sound card.
Zisk1, 17.12.2018
I buy this sound card for connection to mono synth. It's small and can be put on every desk, shelf etc.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Behringer UMC 404HD
madDog88, 20.03.2019
Very nice quality interface, good materials, plenty of inputs, especially for the money. The ony gripe i had at the beginning is that the mic input was not recognized in programs like discord, skype etc... I fixed it with a little bit of playing around. Pretty good latency, especially at higher freq ranges.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Very good Audio Interface
03.10.2016
I bought this product to drive my condenser microphone and to record my guitar. It does the job very well

The main positive thing about this interface is its value. Behringer have managed to squeeze a nice amount of inputs and outputs in this little box. The main thing you want in an audio interface is flexibility and sound quality and this provides both. I was surprised at how little hiss comes from the input. Latency is also very good. I consistently achieve 2.8ms latency. Also direct input monitoring is useful for vocalists. The metal build is reasonably solid and the plastic used feels strong.

There are a few downsides to this product. The main one is that it can be prone to electrical noise when using it through USB on some computers. I found that this can be avoided by using the DC mains power plug provided. The other downside of this product is the headphone amp. Although the headphone amp is plenty to drive most headphones it is a bit too powerful for some very sensitive devices like earbuds. With sensitive earbud headphones there is a noticeable hiss also you need to turn the headphone volume very low. It feels like the headphone amp could do with a Pad button as you only have to turn the knob halfway to make it uncomfortably loud.

Despite the minor issues this remains a very capable interface and will suit the needs of the majority of home recording environments.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Behringer UMC404HD

$119
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Online Guides
Computer Based Studios
Computer Based Studios
This article will look at how to integrate a computer into different studio environments, and will highlight the issues of functionality and connectivity.
Online Guides
Recording E-Guitars
Recording E-Guitars
Our aim is to explain the basic process of recording the electric guitar!
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
2
(2)
Recently Viewed
Line6 Relay G10TII Transmitter

Line6 Relay G10TII Transmiiter, 2,4 GHz plug and play Wireless transmitter for Relay G10 systems or Spider V series from Spider V 60, with internal receiver, audio frequency range 10 - 20.000 Hz, automic frequency setup, 118 dB SPL max.,…

2
(2)
Recently Viewed
Line6 Pod GO Wireless

Line6 Pod GO Wireless; Multi Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar; over 300 effects and models from Helix, M-Series and Legacy products, up to 6 simultaneous amp, cab, and effects models including a looper and a speaker cabinet simulation (Third-Party IR…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Harley Benton TableAmp V2 BlueTooth

Harley Benton TableAmp V2 BlueTooth, compact amplifier with great features for play-along and sing-along with streamed music using the integrated Bluetooth feature, ideal for acoustic guitar, ukulele, electric guitar, vocals and music, 30 watt RMS, 1x 5" bass woofer +…

Recently Viewed
Arturia Pigments 3

Arturia Pigments 3 (ESD); virtual synthesizer; four sound engines with variable sound sources; Harmonic Engine with up to 512 partials; Wavetable Engine with a total of 164 wavetables; Utility Engine with sub-oscillator and two noise sample layers; Jup-8 V4 low-pass…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Roli Lumi 1 Snapcase Black

Roli Lumi 1 Snapcase Black; sturdy and magnetic cover around the LUMI Keys for a slim and seamless fit; protects the LUMI Keys during transport and storage; easily folds into a stand for mobile devices; dimensions (W x D x…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Korg SQ-64

Polyphonic Step Sequencer with 4 Tracks 3 Melody tracks with 8-fold polyphony and 16 patterns of 64 steps each, Drum track with 16 monophonic sub-tracks, 64-Key matrix with illuminated buttons, OLED display, Editing modes per melody track: gate, pitch…

Recently Viewed
Alesis Harmony 61 MKII

Alesis Harmony 61 MKII Keyboard with 61 piano style keys, 300 sounds, 300 rhythms and 40 demo songs, speakers, headphone output 3,5 mm, powered via batteries (6x AA not included!), incl. skoove 3 month premium online lessions, dimensions: 948 x…

Recently Viewed
SSL 500-Series SiX Channel

Solid State Logic 500-Series SiX Channel; Channel Strip; with SuperAnalogue mic preamp and 5-way LED indicator; +48V phantom power; with phase and HPF switches; separate instrument/line input on front panel with Hi-Z switch (1MO); switchable 2-band EQ with bell and…

Recently Viewed
Lewitt LCT 140 Air Matched Pair

Lewitt LCT 140 Air Matched Pair - 2 matched small diaphragm condenser microphones, polar pattern: cardioid, frequency range: 20 Hz - 20 kHz, sensitivity: 14.6 mV/Pa, -36.7 dBV/P, max. SPL: 135 dB, low-cut: 80 Hz (12 dB/oct), pad switch: -12dB,…

Recently Viewed
Rode VideoMic Me-C

Rode VideoMic Me-C; condenser directional microphone; suitable for Android devices with USB-C connector; integrated USB type-C plug; 1/2" condenser capsule; polar pattern: cardioid; front pickup angle: 90°; sturdy aluminium housing with ceramic coating; built-in microphone preamplifier with DA converter (24Bit…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Universal Audio UAFX Starlight Echo Station

Effects Pedal Stereo delay, With tape, analogue, and digital effects, True or buffered bypass, Presets can be stored, Tap tempo mode, Additional effects can be downloaded, Dual processor UAFX engine, Live / preset mode, 2 Inputs: 6.3 mm jack…

Recently Viewed
IK Multimedia UNO Synth Pro Desktop

Analog synthesizer Paraphonic analog synthesizer with step sequencer, arpeggiator and effects section, Three wave morphing oscillators with PWM, sync, frequency and ring modulation, dual state variable filter with 24 modes, amplifier, Original OTA filter from the UNO Synth as…

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.