Behringer UMC404HD

714 Customer Ratings:
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.6 /5
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
PACKED with features!
mind if i do, 03.11.2019
Behringer killed it with this one. It is truly a one-time purchase.
For studio and live use, I'd throw this thing in those scenarios and it'd probably work out because of how versatile this thing is.

This thing is crazy good for its price tag. It is packed with features that can only be found on higher-end audio interfaces like the Arturia Audiofuse.
For one thing, it has 4 inputs at a price tag of only around a hundred bucks with individual gain control and pad buttons.
The pre-amps are very good and low-noise, even a tad better than the 2i2's I've noticed, though a bit less good than the Komplete Audio.
The build quality is phenomenal. This thing is built to last forever. That's what I meant by a one-time purchase. If you buy this thing, you won't have to upgrade in a while given its amazing build quality and its versatility.
The monitoring system is amazing and opens up a world of possibilities in the studio in terms of hot-switching between different sources of audio monitoring.

That being said, it does have a few drawbacks. Notably the drivers.
I don't know if it's just the experience I had with my computer but on a Windows 10 it was a nightmare to get the drivers to work properly without interfering with my native audio drivers. I've seen people say the exact opposite of that and that it's a plug & play interface, but I've also seen people say otherwise on the internet.
It also doesn't look the best and it isn't very portable, but that's obviously not what it was made for.

Overall, if you want a very versatile audio interface that is packed with features and that will probably last you forever and are ready to go through a hassle of installing and uninstalling the drivers numerous times to get them to work and aren't concerned with the looks and portability, this is just the best that you can get at this price range. A one-time purchase indeed.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
A decent budget audio interface
Jzohsuh, 01.05.2019
I've had this interface for around 7 months now, and have used it for recording, as well as for multitracks on the road. Mostly good, just keep in some sort of case!

Pros:
+ amazing value for the feature set
+ drivers on windows seem fairly stable- haven't BSOD's the PC yet
+ has XLR, TRS and Phono output connections
+ has XLR-jack combi input sockets
+ has a useful knob for fading between playback and input for monitoring
+ headphone output goes loud enough

Cons:
- Durability: the black paint can be scratched off by things like plugs, so protect with at least a soft case or something!
- Some of the output potentiometers (knobs) have started cracking when you turn them now. Not too much of a problem when recording, but more if you were using it live.
- The output levels are quite low, it doesn't match professional line level. This could be a problem if you don't have much gain on the output device.
- The pad switches noticably increases the noise in the input stage! Use as a last resort, on a very hot input signal.
- There have been issues where the pitch of the output has been lower than the actual pitch recorded in the sound file. Possible due to needing the AC adatper plugged in- I didn't have one plugged in at the time.
- The switch from USB power to AC isn't graceful- it makes a pop.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Cináed, 23.03.2020
Incredible bang for your buck in terms of well implemented features, but the headphone out can be a bit quiet, and the windows drivers tend to crash when switching driver modes.

I've used this interface to record a digital piano's headphone out (by means of a Y-split cable) + midi (+VST), a condenser microphone, and electric guitar. In all cases monitoring latency was fine, whether monitoring directly through the interface itself or through Windows 10 on a computer after further processing (VSTs / mixing in auxiliary streams). Listening at 24bit 192kHz at 1024 samples introduced just shy of 10ms of latency without any pops or clicks.

As a DAC the sound quality is stellar, so I keep my head phones hooked up to the interface even when I'm not recording. The problem is though, the interface's Windows driver tends to crash every now and then when software request the device be used in a different buffer mode (ASIO / WASAPI / DirectSound), at which point the interface won't record or produce sound until the computer is rebooted. N.B. this is mostly a non-issue if you're not planning on using the interface as a general computer DAC, and just always run it in ASIO mode with for example a DAW.

Another downside is the head phone monitor jack which can be a bit on the quite side, even at maximum volume. You might need an external amplifier to drive your cans, but your mileage may vary.

At this price point it's very hard to get 4 XLR/jack combo inputs with phantom power at 24 bit 192kHz, with MIDI. The occasional reboot notwithstanding, I can't recommend this interface enough.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
404HD self assessment
Zilwa , 05.04.2020
I intended to buy the behringer UMC404HD to set it up in my home studio and i was really surprised with the build quality of the product. Each knob feels just great and the USB powered cable work just fine. As for the quality of recording so far so good im having a good quality sound with low latency and if anyone is willing to buy this product don't think too much, cause it's a really good value for money product, i also intend it during live performances with my midi controller and a big up to Thomann for its great customer service.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Good audio devices
Q FOR MY FRIENDS, 07.06.2020
if you are looking for a simple but powerfull audio interface here you have what you need for a low budget.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great interface for the price
zildjandrinker, 21.06.2020
I am using the interface for micing my drums. This is an upgrade from a 2 channels very old audio interface. To me, this change has been for the best. The quality of the sound I am getting from this interface is top!
I am recording drums as a hobby. For me is more than enough what I am getting out of it.

Pros:
The price-quality relationship ration is unbeatable.

Cons:
It does not have a switch on or off button. For me it is not a problem but good to mention.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great for beginners
Joeken, 28.03.2020
I bought this to test the quality and to be honest, it's fairly decent considering. It's definitely worth the money and a great starter point for anyone who wishes to get into the world of recording. It would suit home demos, personal podcasts, recording MIDI etc. Very handy to have lying around in case you need to record a quick track. Don't drop it - it cannot handle it. I haven't dropped mine, but I've witnessed one falling a couple of inches and it died instantly. Otherwise it does feel sturdy enough and over-all has very decent features.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Begginer/Budget friendly audio Interface
Kostas123k, 20.04.2020
The Behringer UMC404HD is a good option for a begginer in music production or no.It has a lot of connections (4in-4out) and the built quality is above the avarage with metal frame and good quality plastic at knobs,buttons and frontface inputs).I cant find any disadvantage for my use
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
GREAT PRODUCT, FRAGILE USB PORT
Maj Kabobo, 25.03.2020
All in all, great product but the Usb port breaks and i can't connect to the computer anymore even though it's on.
I have had two of this interface and that seems to be the only bad side.
Great product after all. Does the job!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great for the price
Earl Langoustine, 24.02.2020
This is a great audio interface for a small setup, and small/sturdy enough that you can bring it places to record onto a laptop. Has all the features you would expect, line/instrument level is nice and you can trim everything to the proper level before it enters the computer. The sound is clean and decent. MIDI sequencing works great with it. One problem with mine: the headphone jack on mine was a little wonky, and I need to nudge it sometimes to get a good connection. Otherwise works great!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Pretty alright for what it costs.
Arad, 01.12.2019
I moved to it from my Scarlett Solo 1st gen. Quieter preamps but still somewhat noisy with more gain. Still very workable though!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Extremely good value for money!
Moniker, 27.08.2019
I use this for home recording. This is great value, has a sturdy feel and overall feels like it cost more than it did.

The preamps are surprisingly clean, and overall this sounds great. My only criticism is that the supplied cables are somewhat flimsy, however these are easily replaced.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Very cheap and sturdy sound card.
Zisk1, 17.12.2018
I buy this sound card for connection to mono synth. It's small and can be put on every desk, shelf etc.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Decent Budget Interface
kparkyn, 28.04.2017
Nice interface overall, great feel and build quality for the price. unfortunately has slightly more hiss on the input lines than ideal, but perfectly workable. Power over USB is very handy, and knobs all have very nice response. Combo TS/XLR inputs are also very useful. Overall, very good deal for low cost.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Very good Audio Interface
03.10.2016
I bought this product to drive my condenser microphone and to record my guitar. It does the job very well

The main positive thing about this interface is its value. Behringer have managed to squeeze a nice amount of inputs and outputs in this little box. The main thing you want in an audio interface is flexibility and sound quality and this provides both. I was surprised at how little hiss comes from the input. Latency is also very good. I consistently achieve 2.8ms latency. Also direct input monitoring is useful for vocalists. The metal build is reasonably solid and the plastic used feels strong.

There are a few downsides to this product. The main one is that it can be prone to electrical noise when using it through USB on some computers. I found that this can be avoided by using the DC mains power plug provided. The other downside of this product is the headphone amp. Although the headphone amp is plenty to drive most headphones it is a bit too powerful for some very sensitive devices like earbuds. With sensitive earbud headphones there is a noticeable hiss also you need to turn the headphone volume very low. It feels like the headphone amp could do with a Pad button as you only have to turn the knob halfway to make it uncomfortably loud.

Despite the minor issues this remains a very capable interface and will suit the needs of the majority of home recording environments.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Behringer UMC 404HD
madDog88, 20.03.2019
Very nice quality interface, good materials, plenty of inputs, especially for the money. The ony gripe i had at the beginning is that the mic input was not recognized in programs like discord, skype etc... I fixed it with a little bit of playing around. Pretty good latency, especially at higher freq ranges.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
somebody_once_told_me, 12.05.2019
For the price, its one of the best interfaces available (to my knowing). Sturdy, easily monitored, sounds the best you can get for the price, all tho some of the controls are a bit harder to grasp the use of.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
31.01.2017
For the price this thing costs it's really an unbealivable machine, with all the hardware features it has.
It may not sound as loud as others audio interfaces in the market but that actually leaves you more room to add the sound characteristics you want, with the right software, and you can eventually make it sound as good as any other.
Best interface in this price range for sure
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
kimon206, 06.01.2019
Best choise for the money,you can play and record 4 persons at the same time!!very good construction!!you don't need more!!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Behringer UMC404HD

$111 €93.97
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.

The price in USD is a guideline price only!

Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Online Guides
Computer Based Studios
Computer Based Studios
This article will look at how to integrate a computer into different studio environments, and will highlight the issues of functionality and connectivity.
Online Guides
Recording E-Guitars
Recording E-Guitars
Our aim is to explain the basic process of recording the electric guitar!
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
(3)
Recently Viewed
Behringer 140 Dual Envelope/LFO

Behringer 140 Dual Envelope/LFO; Eurorack module; two independent analog ADSR envelope generators; for each envelope: manual trigger button, Gate input, sliders for Attack, Decay, Sustain and Release, 2 signal outputs and inverted output; analog LFO with 5 waveforms; sliders for...

Recently Viewed
Novation Launchkey 49 MK3

USB MIDI kKeyboard 49 Velocity sensitive keys, 16 RGB illuminated velocity sensitive pads, Scale and chord mode, Arpeggiator, Capture MIDI function, MIDI mappings, Device lock, Pitch bend and modulation wheel, 2 x 16 Character display, 8 Controls, Keys for...

Recently Viewed
Stairville LED Vintage Bowl 50 RGBA

Stairville LED Vintage Bowl 50 RGBA DMX, 60 W LED, 50 cm; decoration element for stages, clubs and events; stable metal construction; illuminated reflector with unique look; technical data: Light source: 60 Watt RGBA 4in1 LED; Control: DMX (4/6/8 channels),...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Harley Benton Dullahan-FT 24 BKS

Headless Electric Guitar Ergonomically shaped alto body, Maple neck, Bolt-on neck attachment, Maple fretboard, Black offset dots fretboard inlays, Modern C neck profile, Fretboard radius: 350 mm (13.78"), Scale: 648 mm (25.51"), Nut width: 42 mm (1.65"), Graph Tech...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Electro Harmonix Oceans 12 Reverb

Electro Harmonix Oceans 12 Reverb; Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar & Bass; Based on the Oceans 11 with even more reverbs and functionality; two simultaneous, independent, stereo reverb engines; 24 Presets and advanced I/O allowing for stereo in/out or mono...

Recently Viewed
Genelec 8030 RAW

2-Way Active Studio Monitor Linear frequency response: 54 - 20,000 Hz (± 2 dB), Max. SPL level (sound pressure level): 110 dB SPL (peak per pair with music material at 1 m distance), Speakers: 105 mm (4") woofer, 19...

Recently Viewed
TC-Helicon Go Twin

2-Channel audio / MIDI interface for mobile devices Integrated microphone preamplifier, Phantom power: +48 V, 2 Microphone / line / instrument inputs: combo XLR / jack 6.3 mm, 2 Line outputs: 6.3 mm jack balanced, Stereo headphone output, 2...

Recently Viewed
Blue Spark Blackout SL

Large Diaphragm Condenser Microphone Polar pattern: Cardioid, Frequency response: 20 - 20000 Hz, Sensitivity: 34.9 mV / Pa at 1 kHz (1 pa = 94 dB SPL), Output impedance: 50 ohms, Max. sound pressure level: 136 dB SPL (1k...

(2)
Recently Viewed
Behringer 112 Dual VCO

Behringer 112 Dual VCO; Eurorack module; two identical analog VCOs in one module; selectable waveforms: triangle, sawtooth and squarewave/pulse; adjustable pulsewidth and PWM CV input with attenuator; octave-switch and fine-tune control knob; hard and soft sync; 3 pitch CV inputs...

Recently Viewed
Novation Launchkey 37 MK3

USB MIDI Keyboard 37 Velocity sensitive keys, 16 RGB illuminated velocity sensitive pads, Scale and chord mode, Arpeggiator, Capture MIDI function, MIDI mappings, Device lock, Pitch bend and modulation wheel, 2 x 16 Character display, 8 Controllers, Keys for...

(2)
Recently Viewed
Harley Benton Dullahan-AT 24 TBK

Headless Electric Guitar Ergonomically shaped alto body, Maple neck, Bolt-on neck attachment, Maple fretboard, Black offset dots fretboard inlays, Modern C neck profile, Fretboard radius: 350 mm (13.78"), Scale: 648 mm (25.51"), Nut width: 42 mm (1.65"), Graph Tech...

Recently Viewed
Darkglass Element Cabsim/Headph. Amp

Darkglass Element Cabsim/Headphone Amp; Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar & Bass; practical practice tool; intuitive operation using three fully-tactile slider potentiometers with positioning LED's; 5 cabinet simulations; Aux In & Bluetooth to listen to back in tracks while playing, rehearsing,...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.