beyerdynamic DT-770 Pro 80 Ohms

1235 Customer Ratings:
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.8 / 5.0
  • sound
  • comfort
  • quality
88 written ratings
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Used them for a few weeks now, love them.
rockcast, 23.08.2019
Firstly, a little bit of background here - my previous cheap headphones broke a while ago so I thought it was finally time for me to buy a decent pair of headphones. I decided to go with these ones due to the praise they get online, and as soon I started using them I realized that they deserve every bit of praise that they get.

Sound 10/10 - I listen to a variety of genres, from techno to classical and these headphones are amazing at delivering great sound in all of them. The bass is very clear and the mids are also good. The highs are also very crisp. In bass-heavy genres, the bass sounds amazing and still manages to make space for all the other frequencies. I have also noticed that with these headphones I hear a lot of subtle sounds in songs that I never heard before.

Comfort 10/10 - These are hands down the most comfortable headphones I have ever used. I can use them for the entire day and forget that they are on my head. They cover my ears completely unlike other "over-ear" headphones that have ear pads that touche your ears. All in all I don't have any complaints here.

Quality 10/10 - Although I haven't used them for a lot of time, the second you touch them you can really feel how sturdy they are. The headband is built of metal and I'm sure that is going to increase the lifespan of these headphones. The only thing that some people may not like is 3 meters long cable, but since I bought them for home use, it is not a problem for me at all.

To sum up I am very happy with these headphones and also with the quick delivery from thomann. If you are looking for versatile headphones that you can use for monitoring as well as for listening to music you can't go wrong with these.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Great sound and quality
AlexBL, 19.12.2017
I use these headphones mostly in studio, but also for music listening.

SOUND: Overall very clear sound with wide stereo image. I find them especially good for rough mixes because of the wide stereo image. Bass is clear and tight, no mud and mush in the low end, which is exceptional at this price level. Mids are well defined and clear. Highs are very nice, but kind of soft, so you will want to take that into consideration while mixing. Most other headphones and monitors will sound brighter and crispier. I personally prefer the tamed highs on DT770, since they allow me to listen for longer, without as much ear fatigue. This is totally a personal preference though. Just so there is no confusion: you can hear all the highs properly (at least in my hearing range, which is up to 17.5 kHz).

COMFORT: 10/10. The ear-pads are magic in my opinion. I can easily wear the headphones for hours without noticing them.

BUILD: Great, as with most of the Beyerdynamic stuff. I have dropped them many times and squished them in my backpack, but there is not a scratch on them. However, if you manage to break them, every part is replaceable and you can buy it from Beyerdynamic.

Overall, I would even say they are cheap for what you get.
PROS:
- Tight bass response (not heavy thought)
- Clear sound
- Exceptional comfort
- Great build
- Sound clarity
CONS:
- Cable is not detachable
- Ever so slightly tamed highs (not a con for me, but some people might not like this)

Highly recommend these!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Amazing headphones!
Sansui 5000x, 04.09.2019
I use them only for listening to the music. Mainly pop, rock and classical music. I connect them either to a PC (Asus Strix Z370 main board with integrated Realtek ALC1220 sound card) or an old Sansui Solid State 5000x amplifier. The power of the integrated main board pre-amp drives them effortlessly. I use the MS Windows drivers. Sounds much better than with the Asus drivers, which lack the lowest bass range and sound annoying. To me, the DT 770 Pro sounds better than the Audio Technica ATH-M30x and Audio Technica ATH-M50x. The Beyerdynamic sounds better balanced and without any annoying frequency gaps like the ATH-M30x. I am not impressed by the "disco sound" of the ATH-M50x either. Especially for a professional headphone at that price. The DT 770 Pro is more universal, more transparent and convenient. Sound is also bigger and more airy. Can't estimate whether the Audio Technica or the Beyerdynamic is better built. The craftsmanship of the Audio Technica looks very neat, but sound wise the Beyerdynamic is better to me in every aspect. They look very cute in reality, though the old "military" design, which i find quite charming.
Service by Thomann was great!
Thank you!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
BEYERDYNAMICS DT 770 PRO 80ohms
Michael5544, 11.09.2014
If your like me and search for a pair to totally furfill your satisfaction. These are the ones for you, tick all boxes even price, to be honest they should be dearer due to others in and under it's league which are far too overpriced.

If your an all rounder like me who wants the best for the studio, best for mixing and best for listen to hard bass tracks. These headphones are your boys. If at that I am still picky that it don't have modern constructive styles in making the wire hardwired. And not detachable, you get over this after researching all the headphones out there with a detachable chord. They either break somewhere be headband or are over priced! Or most of all not as good as the DT 770 with regards to bandwidth and high definition in sound quality. The bass is real and just the punch you want to hear, I had headphones where the bass lacked and have always been disappointed with my past purchases. Being a DJ and full time music tech student.

Bear in mind, all the spares and accessories are just great for the beyerdynamics headphones. If something doesn't feel comfortable or breaks.. parts are available at reasonably prices! on this site.

From 5 Hz you hear such a low frequency that when you give it a lil notch in volume your having a seriously deep bass which not over powering and well balanced, especially with dance music. The vocals are so crisp and those midi instrument sounds, synthesisers are so captivating. The soundstage is excellent. People say it's unrealistic and quite a narrow sound, which makes the accuracy of a track not quite right. But no it's fanstatic!
With regards to an amp, well if you want one get one, but on devices is reasonably loud I can say. I won't be using it on my phone but for college projects mainly I bet they will sound great with my decks too. Built in sound cards will always be enough!

Although I must as you say 'burn in' these headphones but from first listen they top all my headphones. They are great HI FI headphones, are mobile enough and have best studio sound, I spent days researching headphones! I'm all about best studio sound, comfort and robust housing! Get these bad boys for sure.

Michael Beckett
(4th year Honours Music Tech student)
Owner, DJ & (Radio/Content) Producer @
DJ B3ckZ & BuckZ,
Sound Specialists,
DJs & Lighting Technicians.
Virtual Designers Professional
Ireland.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
New experience of sounds
Almas, 01.08.2019
I was looking for something to allow me listening to bass melodies or music reached with awesome basses. I realized that I needed to buy something more specialized and I thought it will be really expensive. However, with this studio headphones, I have felt a new experience of sounds, listening to a wide spectrum of frequencies and also a more integrated sound. In conclusion, I think they are great, I use them all week, all day and I really feel good using them.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Nerius, 23.05.2019
Hi, I am trying to establish home studio using Komplete Audio 2 with Komplete Kontrol M32, as I am not a professional, just to mention the installation went easily no problems at all.
The product looks good as I expected! Windows10/64b.
With a new Beyerdynamic DT-770 Pro 80 sound is clear and sufficient. I gave 4 of 5 for quality, because the plastic could be better, but I am not sure for that price... the rest is perfect.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
High-fidelity with some head pressure
G.L. double bass, 01.06.2019
After about a year of daily use (also in commuting – with the case) my headset works perfectly.

The sound is excellent when I listen to music via soundcard phone output, but delivers a lesser performance when used with a mobile phone. When listening to music with a phone, the left driver developed a rattling noise at higher amplitudes, but the phenomenon never happens with the soundcard.

I've decided to invest in a smaller footprint headphones and with less impedance for daily use and leave this set at home for dedicated use.

The pressure delivered to the side of the head after lengthy use can cause some discomfort and uneasiness.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Bang for your buck
LawrenceMace, 04.02.2019
Really good headphone, clear sound. The 80 Ohms is perfect for people who are working on electronic/bass music since it creates a clear/real presentation of your low as well as your high freguenties, where the mid freq is not muddy but just clean. Highly recommended
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
DT-770 has nothing to prove anymore
Thomassiño, 26.08.2019
I don't need to write anything here, the DT-770 has a strong reputation and is among the best monitoring headphone.
The price/value ratio is unbeatable.
Just go for it, you won't regret!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Happy Lengthy Use!
Trey, 07.10.2018
Use it for critical listening or mixing or tracking; the DT-770 will do the job.

The sound quality is superb and the drivers can do justice to the whole freq spectrum. Bass response is tight without any major bumps or colouring. Really easy to get accustomed to their sound signature, to say the least. Highs are clear and defined. The stereo image is clear and detailed.

For tracking purposes their isolation is also of high quality, with no bleeding back to microphones.

Comfort wise, 770s can be worn over long hour sessions and still not hurt your ears, while the velouté padding is cool and comfortable to the skin. The clamping is strong enough to hold them firmly, but not irritating to the cranium.

Beyerdynamic's classic is built up to high material and design standards, leaving me with no worries concerning their longevity. I have "dragged" them everywhere I go, used and abused them over the last 7 months with not even signs of wear still. I was worried about the fix cable design, but it hasn't given me any trouble, nor does it seem to be going bad any time soon.

Definitely would buy again in case of loss!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Top Class
Marty M., 10.02.2019
Worth every cent.
Super in Voice Over and broadcast situations.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Good Headphone for many applications
Leif H., 19.02.2014
Hello,

as I was looking for an allround headphone, I thought as a student, it would be the best to spend my money for one good headphone, rather than to buy a few ones for different occasions. I checked different headphones and reviews and in the end bought the Beyerdynamic. To make it short, it was the right choice and I'm using them for about 1 1/2 year now.

My thought about what field of application the headphone would be used, were the following. I wanted the opportunity to practise in private if I want (E-Bass and E-Guitar), listen and/or record musik, and also to have the opportunity to use it, when I want to watch a movie on my Laptop. That was also the reason why I bought the 80 Ohms version. In the end, I'm not really watching much movies, so I can't really tell you how they work with that. I used them once with my smartphone (at home), wouldn't really take them out, as the sound of most sound processors in these things are, apart from modern music loudness war, not really good enough. But the Headphones really did make a good jog. As I bought the 80 Ohms version, volume wasn't an issue, so if you want to take a very good studio headphone out on your walk, it might be working ;) .

But for listening, recording and practising, they are really nice headphones with a good sound delivery from high to lows. You really need to like it, to have closed headphones, but I'm very happy with my choice, to have bought them.

I also find them very comfortably to wear over a longer period. Yes, at certain points your ears can get a bit warm, bit if you find it to much, stand up, get yourself a new coffee or take a breath of fresh air to reboot your system ;) .
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Almost perfect!
Barmaleus, 18.09.2018
I use these for mixing at home and listening to music.
Very comfortable headphones.

Was really surprised with a solid low end, which was almost non-existent in my KRK 6400 headphones.

Overall, very pleased. The only downside is a non-removable cable. I would use a coiled cable when sitting at my table and a long, straight cable when tracking/standing far from the table.

Do I recommend them? Hell yes.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
My second pair
VinceZebra, 13.05.2019
I bought an identical pair 15 years ago. They still work perfectly. But I left them in our summerhouse 2500 km away. So I need them now. They are just German quality. What else can I say? If Beyerdynamic ever made them in China, I would not be buying from them again. Germany= good. China= crap.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
a great purchase
wololo, 28.01.2019
Quality:
I have had these for years now and they are bulletproof. I have traveled with them and used them every single day for years on end and they still look brand new.
These are made from leather, metal and thick hard plastic and a hard wearing yet soft material for the cushions.
Comfort:
They are very light with thick cushions and offer a lot of adjustability.
Sound:
Because these are 80Ohms i have had zero issues with driving these with a regular jack on my computer, i rarely have to put the volume above 20. Everything is clear yet still on the warm side of things unlike some studio headphones which are too precise for casual listening.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Top sound, comfort and build.
Old Murray, 26.05.2018
I bought these after hearng good stuff about them, considering the price range and what I was after. I use them to monitor when I play guitar (throught the amp) and for general music listening.
Unlike previous headphones I used to monitor, the sound is practically the same as what comes out of my amp, hardly any difference. That is was I was looking for. It does need a spike in volume but that typical for these kind of headphones. The build quality is sturdy and super comfortable to use. Could have come with a detachable cable but it's not that important to me. The sound quality and the soundstage is amazing. It's not flat (but for the price range it's damn similar) and, as previous reviews said, the highs are pretty pronounced but it's balanced with good bass (not overly saturated, no irritable sub-bass frequencies) and present but clear mids, making the highs stand out as clarity, which for me is a nice touch, since I'm looking for fast decaying frequencies and no overhanging blurbs of sound like my previous Bose or Technics had. Overall very satisfied and recommend to anyone looking good headphones to monitor guitar/bass or drums.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
2 years of use, and so good, so far!
24.07.2016
I'm always very relutant when it comes to producing with headphones, however I can trust my mixing decisions on the Dt-770, as they have helped me countless times so far.
They have a clean and true sound, which will help you to uncover any small detail that you might missed using audio monitors, they also have a very stable low-end freq response which, as most of you might know, is hard to get when it comes to headphones.
I normally use headphones on the final mix/mastering phase, to polish those small details, however I have used the dt's a few times to build a track from scratch, and they always stand up very well to the challenge.
About the comfortability aspect, the way they could be more confortable was if they came with a massage kit inserted on the pads in the first place... I had a few headphones in the past, some good (even more expensive than the dt's), some so-so, and the dt-770 are maybe the only ones that I could use an entire day without feeling any kind of discomfort.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
The best I have ever owned
Roger5270, 24.01.2015
These headphones are light, comfortable and have a really good sound reproduction. As a sound engineer and recording studio engineer true reproduction is very important. These headphones fill that role perfectly.

The closed back format provides good attenuation of external sound, but is not perfect in a live situation.

Highly recommended for quality, price and overall value
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Nice headphones, the best ones in the price range
CesarLupis, 29.04.2018
I use the headphones mainly for music production at my home studio and sometimes while traveling. The headphones are really nice, the quality is really good they have a nice low end that has no kind of conflict with the other frequencies which is a common problem with some other headphones that are in the same price range, this is really nice at the moment of mixing or mastering a song. However, I noticed that when I use the headphones with a smartphone the mid frequencies might get a little bit dulled.
The comfort of the headphones is from the best ones I've ever tried, you might use them for hours and hours and you will not notice that you are even wearing them (I really loved the way Beyerdynamic designed this article). Talking about the design of the headphones I can say that I did not like the long cable and that they are not designed for being portable (because I also use them for traveling as I mentioned, and this problem might be annoying), however, if you will just use them in the studio this might not be a problem for you. Despite those little problems, the headphones are in general really good for their price (I could say they are the best ones in this price range). I would highly recommend buying these ones, nevertheless you can add some money to your budget and get something better, but at the end who decides if buying or not this product are you, I hope this feedback text help you to take the best decision for you.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Best
Jakub Stalmirski, 27.01.2019
I use it for home recording and it's the best buy i could do. The sound is so good, and for long hours mix you don't feel any discomfort. The great think is you get long cabel. You can change the pats. I think those will last for very long time. I use it most of the time to record and mix guitar tracks. And i enjoy doing it with those headphones.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Excellent reference headphones
itsallaboutthegroove, 19.02.2019
DT770s are my personal benchmark for reference/studio headphones, and they're definitely my favourites in this price range.

I find them a little clinical for casual listening, and the passive noise isolation is just OK, but for detailed listening (e.g. mix reviewing) in quieter environments they're excellent. I've also enjoyed using them for film editing and video games.

Very comfortable for extended sessions and the long cable is a nice touch too (especially useful for movie or gaming sessions, when they're plugged into an amplifier under my TV ? I can sit on the sofa a couple of meters away)

However, for some applications like drum tracking or air travel I prefer using my Shure SE215s, which have much better passive noise isolation.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
filograves, 26.12.2017
Nice headphones, good if you're lookin' for something that you can use easily for more or less everything.
You can't change the jack's wire.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Very satisfied.
07.03.2017
I've been going through a lots of different headphones and finally I think I'm not gonna search any further. These headphones seem like all I need. I don't know about the expensive ones, but at this price I'm sure it's the best you can get. They sound very close to my studio monitors, except the bass is a little more audible. But overall I find them almost perfect.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Confortable
AROSS, 11.01.2019
I bought it for the studio. Very flat, except in the high frequencies, but that is its characteristic. So the sound is rather sweet. I chose this one to not destroy my ears during sound takes.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Great for live sound and studio
Peter Tamas, 03.05.2019
I use the DT770 for live sound and post production works as well. I think it’s the best all around headphone in this price range.
Not too bright, not too bass heavy. Natural sound. Great reference headphones.
It’s like an SM57 in the professional headphone businesses.
Maybe you can get better ones for more money, but it’s an industry standard.
Very comfortable, yet robust. I always just throw it in my Peli along with mics and DIs and still works fine after years of abuse.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

beyerdynamic DT-770 Pro 80 Ohms

$108 €98.32
Plus $33 shipping

The price in USD is a guideline price only!

Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-33
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
(765)
Recently Viewed
Shure SE215-CK

Dynamic sound-isolating in-ear earphones Special edition exclusively available from Thomann, Dynamic micro-driver, Shields over 90% of ambient noise, Suitable for in-ear monitoring as well as HiFi listener for e.g. MP3 player, Ear-insertion, Impedance: 20 Ohm, Sensitivity: 107 dB SPL/mW,...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Yamaha Stagepas 1k

Yamaha Stagepas 1k, portable active PA system, 1000W (HF:190W+LF:810W) power output, 12" subwoofer for low frequency, 1.5" x10 slim line array speaker for high frequency, digital mixer (3 mono mic/line + 1 stereo line), multi band comp mode for master...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Electro Harmonix BASS9 Bass Machine

Effects pedal for electric guitar Generates different bass sounds from the instrument signal, No special pickups necessary, With a new algorithm that has been revised for transposing one to two octaves down with superior dynamics and optimised tracking, 9...

Recently Viewed
Sennheiser HD-600 New Version 2019

Headphones Vibrant, Open, Circumaural, Impedance: 300 Ohm, Sound pressure level: 97 dB, Transmission range: 12 - 39,000 Hz, Two-sided cable routing, 3 m Cable with 3.5 mm jack connection, Weight without cable: 253 g, Weight with cable: 309 g,...

(2)
Recently Viewed
XVive U3C Microphone Wireless System

Digital wireless microphone transceiver system For use with condenser microphones, Integrated phantom power: 48 V / 12 V, Works without battery or mains power, Integrated rechargeable lithium rechargeable battery, Range up to 20 m / 70 ft. (without obstacles),...

Recently Viewed
Roland DJ-707M

Roland DJ-707M; DJ-Controller; 4-channel Serato DJ Pro controller with 4 decks; combines a portable live sound audio mixer, loudspeaker management system and performance DJ controller; built-in 24-bit/48 kHz audio interface; 4-band output EQ, multiband compressor and limiter on each Master,...

Recently Viewed
Polyend Poly 2

Polyend Poly 2; MIDI to CV interface; supports all Midi USB controllers with class compliance; USB Type B port for direct connection to computer/DAW; four gate & pitch outputs; first, next & channel mode; twelve configurable CV outputs; scales function;...

Recently Viewed
Stairville BEL1 Battery Event Light 15W

Battery-Powered RGBAW LED Spotlight Flexible spotlight with integrated battery for ambient lighting, Beautifully subdued housing makes possible an unobtrusive set-up, High light output and vivid colour rendering ensure an impressive ambience, Battery operation and the intuitive menu enable a...

(2)
Recently Viewed
Marshall Kilburn II Black

Portable Bluetooth Speaker Loudspeaker equipment: 20 W Woofer and 2 x 8 W tweeter, Class D power amplifier, Frequency range: 52 - 20,000 Hz, Bluetooth Standard V 5.0, Input: 3.5 mm Mini jack for MP3 player etc., Volume control....

Recently Viewed
KMA Audio Machines Logan Overdrive

Effect Pedal for Electric Guitar & Bass Open and very touch-responsive, High-headroom-design (up to 25 dB)solos, Perfect for use as a preamplifier with IR Cab-Sim or amp-less, 3-band Active EQ with adjustable middle frequency, Middle footswitch to boost solos,...

Recently Viewed
Sequenz Volca Rack

Synthesizer Rack Offers enough room for up to 4 Korg Volcas, Sturdy aluminium frame, Rubber legs for a secure hold, Side panels are made from wood, Asymmetrical side panels enable 2 different kinds of installation, Dimensions: 411 x 242...

Recently Viewed
Stairville BEL1+ Battery Event Light 15W

Battery-Powered RGBAW LED Spotlight Flexible spotlight for ambient lighting, with integrated battery and wireless DMX, Beautifully subdued housing makes possible an unobtrusive set-up, High light output and vivid colour rendering ensure an impressive ambience, Battery operation and a cableless...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.