beyerdynamic DT-770 Pro 80 Ohm
$125
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.
In stock
In stock

This product is in stock and can be shipped immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
1
Fd
Delivery to UK and Brexit
From deepest Dorset 17.03.2021
I ordered these, together with a headband and a pair of Sennheiser HD414 pads, on 10 March 2020 and received them in the UK on 17 March 2020, excellently packaged. That’s almost as good as before Brexit. I was charged 20% VAT by Thomann on placing the order and suffered no further charges for duty at the UK border or additional charges from the courier. Thomann’s website indicated that this would be the case for orders to the UK under £135 and this was correct. I never voted for Brexit and I hope I live long enough to see us rejoin the EU (I’m 62 so I probably won’t), though I have no wish to start an argument and respect the views of those who see things differently from me, but in the meantime I will happily continue to order from Thomann and, if this instance is anything to go by, though the process may be a bit clunkier and more complicated than before, I must admit that Brexit has demonstrably not made things impossible. I’m sure there are a multitude of other stories on this subject, both positive and negative, but my experience on this occasion has been 100% positive.

As goes the headphones, I rate them five stars in every respect taking into account their budget price. I also own Amiron Homes, which certainly sound a little better but which don’t quite fit my head as perfectly as the 770s, and I have a pair of 880 250ohms which I think have a significantly different sound signature from the 770s (very precise but understated bass and a gauzy, delicate treble). I am not a fan of closed headphones per se, but sometimes it is the only politic choice when wearing them around the house, and the 770s are the only such headphones I have so far found that I really enjoy the sound of and find comfortable when wearing for long periods. I find that the 80 ohm 770s work well on any device and yet they still benefit from dedicated amplification (which in my case comes in the form of a couple of Little Dot Mk 2 head amps in a couple of different systems. For my 250 ohm headphones these Little Dots are essential).

I like the 770s so much that this is my second pair. Even though I think my Amirons and 880s are better headphones, sonically speaking, I find that I now use the 770s most of all and I would hate to be without them. I find them particularly satisfying when listening to jazz, the Amirons more so with classical. In terms of sheer value for money the 770s make the Amirons look like more of an indulgence that an unequivocal game-changing improvement! And, I don’t feel I have to be so precious in the way I treat these headphones (which is ironic really, given the fact that the Amirons are distinctly more solidly built).

Personally, I think the sound signature of the 880s is so different from the Amirons and the 770s that I would hesitate to compare them. However, I am sure that some people would identify some traits in the sound of the 770s and 880s as being similar and that the Amirons are the more different headphone of the three, but I am describing my subjective experience here and am not trying to be objective. By any measure, the 770 Pro 80s are very comfortable, good sounding headphones that represent very decent value for money.

And, from all I’ve experienced so far, Thomann seem to be an excellent company with first class customer service. It must be something to do with that lovely Bavarian environment!
sound
comfort
quality
22
1
Report

Report

A
Absolutely gorgeous ...
Aydino 29.05.2020
I am a musician, but I preferred the product for listening purposes only and not for studio use.
I researched the product a lot to make the right decision and decided to buy it. I'm extremely happy now.
It performs perfectly in every type of music, including classical music, Blues, Jazz, Rock and local music.
Sound:
Low tones are really tight and clear. There is no mud, it extremely clean. Own stays in its place and does not overshadow other sounds.
High tones are extremely clear and crystal quality.
Mid tones are of sufficient size definitely.
It has a wide stereo image and stage structure.
Now I can hear some sounds I had never heard before.
Comfort:
Headphone fits comfortably on your head, does not cause sweating thanks to soft velvet pillows and does not wring your ears.
So you can use it during long hours.
Build quality:
Thanks to its closed structure and good insulation, it significantly prevents external sounds and allows you to concentrate on music.
Good materials have been used and has a sturdy structure.

I haven't tried the 250 Ohm model, I don't know but I tried it on the 80 ohm model and I realized that I don't need an amplifier. A mediocre laptop did its job well and fed my ears enough when the necessary equalizer settings were made.
It is also highly suitable for use with the phone.

I do not prefer very loud sounds. If the earphone is damaged, I get a new one. But my ears should always use them well with me and I must always protect.

I sincerely recommend this product.

Thanks to Beyerdynamic for this beautiful product.
Thomann, Thank you very much for the affordable price and smooth shipping. (Product successfully sent to Turkey.)
sound
comfort
quality
18
0
Report

Report

s
YES YES YES
snakeyay 11.09.2020
Finally, my DT-770's have arrived, I was eyeing these for about 2 months now, going back and forth "should I go for 880 or perhaps 990 or 80ohm or 250 ohm or 770" - as I simply like the way they look.

Regardless, I went with 80 ohm ones and these headphones are kind of a benchmark for every day use headphones for me. Now, I am no audiophile, but I can tell a good pair of cans from bad ones - and these ones do justice on all fronts.

To immediately go into the single and only bad thing these headphones have... or do not have is... the non-detachable cable, meaning if you mess your cable up, yea, you gotta send them back in. If Beyerdynamic could step up to have a detachable cable for these bad boys, that would be more than amazing.

Now onto awesome stuff. Many reviewers here will say that they are "bass heavy", and well... they're really not that bass heavy? I've gone through Beats headphones, Razer Crapkens - THOSE are bass-heavy and not the best sound, at all. But 770's naturally have a bit more "bassier" side due to being closed back headphones. The sound leak is minimal and only if you're blazing the music at high volumes.

The comfort deserves more than 5 stars - those bunny rabbits on your ears are just amazing. Just as a testament to how amazed and awesome these headphones are, I have received my brand new guitar in the same shipment as these headphones. After putting on these headphones I simply sat there and listened to music, that is how amazing they are.

For closure, I run these headphones through Focusrite Scarlett 4i4 3rd Gen audio interface and you achieve the "medium-to-high" volume at 60% of the knob-turn. At 100%, you can listen to it, but that's just blazing and a bit too loud.

Final words, the only reason why I gave Quality 4 stars is because of the non-detachable cable - if you are careful with your cables and you want a pair of amazing cans, look no further.
sound
comfort
quality
9
0
Report

Report

A
Great sound and quality
AlexBL 19.12.2017
I use these headphones mostly in studio, but also for music listening.

SOUND: Overall very clear sound with wide stereo image. I find them especially good for rough mixes because of the wide stereo image. Bass is clear and tight, no mud and mush in the low end, which is exceptional at this price level. Mids are well defined and clear. Highs are very nice, but kind of soft, so you will want to take that into consideration while mixing. Most other headphones and monitors will sound brighter and crispier. I personally prefer the tamed highs on DT770, since they allow me to listen for longer, without as much ear fatigue. This is totally a personal preference though. Just so there is no confusion: you can hear all the highs properly (at least in my hearing range, which is up to 17.5 kHz).

COMFORT: 10/10. The ear-pads are magic in my opinion. I can easily wear the headphones for hours without noticing them.

BUILD: Great, as with most of the Beyerdynamic stuff. I have dropped them many times and squished them in my backpack, but there is not a scratch on them. However, if you manage to break them, every part is replaceable and you can buy it from Beyerdynamic.

Overall, I would even say they are cheap for what you get.
PROS:
- Tight bass response (not heavy thought)
- Clear sound
- Exceptional comfort
- Great build
- Sound clarity
CONS:
- Cable is not detachable
- Ever so slightly tamed highs (not a con for me, but some people might not like this)

Highly recommend these!
sound
comfort
quality
14
0
Report

Report

NM
770 pro - the most convenient. The best sound and comfort!
Natalia Markevich 11.12.2022
A week ago I bought a DT 770/80 from a local store, the production date was spring 20 or 21. It was a display case, I returned it.

Ordered from Thomann. I received headphones manufactured in January 22.

They have a new box design, it is black, orange only on the bottom, in general the design is different.

For the first time I saw that Beyerdynamic sealed the box with a one-time label in the form of its signature bird (logo), now it will be visible if someone opened the box.

It seems to me that they have a different cord, it is similar to the Shure 840, but not so rough, sounds are not transmitted through the cord just as before. This is very pleasing.

Sound - I think they sound different, clearer bass.
Headphones tolerate the equalizer well.
Maybe even high ones are not so annoying.

Ribbon Support Kit - Changed the stopper of the vertical rotation of the cups.
Now the cups can be deployed as if your chin is wider than your skull. In my opinion, it's worse, you can lose some of the sound insulation if you make the size smaller than your head.
(You can visually see the difference between this part in my 990 and in the new 770). Probably they did this so that the headphones would fit more comfortably on the head. But they could be bent before, this is a completely iron construction. This is the most comfortable design in the world!

My scales say that the headphones have become less than 10 grams. I have it 295 grams (this includes part of the cord).

Recently I have had at home (this does not count what I listened to in stores):
DT990/250 (it's too bright for me and don't want to open),
shure 840 (they don't need EQ the least of all, they put pressure on the ears, they tend to bend a lot, the wire transmits vibrations),
akg 361 (put pressure on the ears, the wire transmits a lot of vibrations and rustles),
T60RP (good, semi-open option, but needs an EQ)
DT770/80 (EQ required)
DT250/250 caught out of balance,
DT231 (good option, but put pressure on the ears),
Sennheiser 560S (need an equalizer, put pressure on your ears).

Headphones are shoes + speaker, you need to measure and listen.

I'll leave the 770/80 headphones - this is a good option. I still have the T60RPs for their bass and comfort, even though they weigh 395 grams.
ps maybe I could listen to another 660S, 1540, 1770 at home, but 770 is a very cool option, it makes no sense to pay more.

for Beyerdynamic - I will never buy 700X, 900X why did you reduce the inner width of the ear pads and add weight (((((

By the way, I really like that they have a non-removable cord !!!!! It transmits less vibrations and rustles than a plug + connector mounted in a cup.
sound
comfort
quality
16
0
Report

Report

r
Used them for a few weeks now, love them.
rockcast 23.08.2019
Firstly, a little bit of background here - my previous cheap headphones broke a while ago so I thought it was finally time for me to buy a decent pair of headphones. I decided to go with these ones due to the praise they get online, and as soon I started using them I realized that they deserve every bit of praise that they get.

Sound 10/10 - I listen to a variety of genres, from techno to classical and these headphones are amazing at delivering great sound in all of them. The bass is very clear and the mids are also good. The highs are also very crisp. In bass-heavy genres, the bass sounds amazing and still manages to make space for all the other frequencies. I have also noticed that with these headphones I hear a lot of subtle sounds in songs that I never heard before.

Comfort 10/10 - These are hands down the most comfortable headphones I have ever used. I can use them for the entire day and forget that they are on my head. They cover my ears completely unlike other "over-ear" headphones that have ear pads that touche your ears. All in all I don't have any complaints here.

Quality 10/10 - Although I haven't used them for a lot of time, the second you touch them you can really feel how sturdy they are. The headband is built of metal and I'm sure that is going to increase the lifespan of these headphones. The only thing that some people may not like is 3 meters long cable, but since I bought them for home use, it is not a problem for me at all.

To sum up I am very happy with these headphones and also with the quick delivery from thomann. If you are looking for versatile headphones that you can use for monitoring as well as for listening to music you can't go wrong with these.
sound
comfort
quality
3
1
Report

Report

KS
King in headphones world
Konrad S 08.04.2022
Those are perfect. Reference sound and you feel like you hear all instruments separately. Very light and comfortable.
sound
comfort
quality
1
0
Report

Report

i
ivanbardov 27.07.2021
For me it took some time to adjust to the sound. Probably due to extensive low-end or maybe some reverb-like effect.
I have had bunch of different headsets, but all of them are mostly lower consumer-grade and not from this league. Therefore I am not a pro when it comes to sound, just an amateur musician / music lover.
With this headset I am able to hear from as low as 20hz to about 19KHz, so it's good to check the low end after attempting to mix on Adam A5x. Perception of sound is pretty much love/hate thing, so there's not much I can say. Probably there is more low end here than it should be, but I am not sure. With this headset I can clearly hear all instruments as separated with minimal effort, which is good.
Not sure if 80Ohm version has "flat" response, but I definitely don't regret buying it. Can confirm that I can hear "more" of the music rather than using cheaper headphones.

Cable is pretty thin and flexible, but looks sturdy. Sadly it is non-removable. But that's okay for this price.
On the head it sits pretty firmly and tight. At first it felt tight, I tend to take headset off regularly to prevent sweating. However, there is no pain for my ears, they are pretty comfortable inside those earcaps.

Bag feels very cheap and could be a bit bigger, it takes a lot of effort to place headset inside. But that's minor thing and I hope that most of the cost of the product went to the headset itself.

Conclusion: solid 4.5 out of 5 amateur stars, I guess.
Totally worth the money.
sound
comfort
quality
0
0
Report

Report

IS
No wonder these are used in studios
Ivo S 30.05.2022
This is pretty much a classic. I've had these for 5 years now and there's nothing wrong with them nor do I see anything going wrong with them in the forseeable humanity's future.

Sturdy as anything can get in today's world. You'd have to go out of your way to break them.

Sound is good, not really an audiophile but I think with proper push from dac/amp everything is there. Might be more on the bass side, but I feel that's really down to closed back design. They seem fairly balanced.

Comfort might be an issue. If you want headphones that cancel out everything around you, they do that. They do that very well. The problem is if you try to use these headphones for daily use behind PC as you main source of sound. Your head will feel pressed, hot and just a bit uncomfortable after hours of use. Do note, after hours of use which these headphones were not designed to. They are studio headphones and it shows.

It's all more for intermediate dips into music world rather than everyday workhorse that delivers everything for you. Still, really REALLY good headphones.
sound
comfort
quality
1
0
Report

Report

M
BEYERDYNAMICS DT 770 PRO 80ohms
Michael5544 11.09.2014
If your like me and search for a pair to totally furfill your satisfaction. These are the ones for you, tick all boxes even price, to be honest they should be dearer due to others in and under it's league which are far too overpriced.

If your an all rounder like me who wants the best for the studio, best for mixing and best for listen to hard bass tracks. These headphones are your boys. If at that I am still picky that it don't have modern constructive styles in making the wire hardwired. And not detachable, you get over this after researching all the headphones out there with a detachable chord. They either break somewhere be headband or are over priced! Or most of all not as good as the DT 770 with regards to bandwidth and high definition in sound quality. The bass is real and just the punch you want to hear, I had headphones where the bass lacked and have always been disappointed with my past purchases. Being a DJ and full time music tech student.

Bear in mind, all the spares and accessories are just great for the beyerdynamics headphones. If something doesn't feel comfortable or breaks.. parts are available at reasonably prices! on this site.

From 5 Hz you hear such a low frequency that when you give it a lil notch in volume your having a seriously deep bass which not over powering and well balanced, especially with dance music. The vocals are so crisp and those midi instrument sounds, synthesisers are so captivating. The soundstage is excellent. People say it's unrealistic and quite a narrow sound, which makes the accuracy of a track not quite right. But no it's fanstatic!
With regards to an amp, well if you want one get one, but on devices is reasonably loud I can say. I won't be using it on my phone but for college projects mainly I bet they will sound great with my decks too. Built in sound cards will always be enough!

Although I must as you say 'burn in' these headphones but from first listen they top all my headphones. They are great HI FI headphones, are mobile enough and have best studio sound, I spent days researching headphones! I'm all about best studio sound, comfort and robust housing! Get these bad boys for sure.

Michael Beckett
(4th year Honours Music Tech student)
Owner, DJ & (Radio/Content) Producer @
DJ B3ckZ & BuckZ,
Sound Specialists,
DJs & Lighting Technicians.
Virtual Designers Professional
Ireland.
sound
comfort
quality
3
0
Report

Report

beyerdynamic DT-770 Pro 80 Ohm