beyerdynamic DT-990 Pro 250 Ohm

2564 Customer ratings

4.8 / 5

You have to be logged in to rate products.

Note: To prevent ratings from being based on hearsay, smattering or surreptitious advertising we only allow ratings from real users on our website, who have bought the equipment from us.

After logging in you will also find all items you can rate under rate products in the customer centre.

sound

comfort

quality

1414 Reviews

beyerdynamic DT-990 Pro 250 Ohm
$125
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.
In stock
In stock

This product is in stock and can be shipped immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
1
1
Almost perfect
125000 18.02.2018
I bought these, the dt-880 (600ohm) and the hd-650.
And I'll quickly write why I picked the 990's over the others.

Comfort:
The dt-880's were amazing, so comfortable, perfect in my opinion.
While the 990's are really similar, they are tighter on the ears, and I don't like that at all, but they are still quite comfortable.
And the hd-650? They clamp like crazy, I couldn't wear these for over 10 minutes, really uncomfortable.

Sound:
Now this category is objective af, you have been warned.
I used the LP-phone-amp-g103 to drive all of these headphones so there shouldn't be any issues with the amp.
With that out of the way, lets start with the headphones that really disappointed me.
The 880's had a really lackluster low end, you could say non existing, and with basically no bass it was just a clear no for me and I didn't bother any further with them.
The hd-650 sounded like the 990's if someone put an equalizer on them that turned down every frequency past 3khz down 3-6db.
They sounded muddy in my opinion, especially compared to the dt-990's.
With that being said, I love the by some considered sharp highs of the dt-990's, everything sounds crystal clear, not "muddy" or "washed out". I listen to a lot of vocals so that's a must for me. But as I said, it ain't for everybody since some might say the highs are over saturated, and they are, but it sounds nice. It's something I'm looking for in headphones, are you looking for that? If not steer away from these headphones. Cons: they might be too sharp for some and too tiring if used in long sessions. Other cons are the fact that you can really hear if a song is mixed/mastered like shit, you can hear everything. I'm not gonna say sh*t like :"you suddenly hear instruments that you previously didn't hear" if you suddenly heard an instrument that you didn't hear before on decent headphones that's on you. But you definitely hear if someone didn't bother cleaning up the samples he used in his song, and you might need different headphones or speakers to enioy songs that are badly mixed.

price/performance: 10/10, I mean ¤140 for these is a steal, you don't get better audio quality for that price, but you probably gonna need a headphone amp as for almost all 250+ ohm headphones.
sound
comfort
quality
22
0
Report

Report

IV
Quality for a normal consumer
Ine V 11.01.2021
I've had quite a few headphones over the years for computer usage (Netflix, Youtube and gaming and of course since this year Zoom calls). When my last pair broke because of poor building quality I just decided I needed a more decent pair. Also I wanted to use them for more quiet bass sessions. I never had a pair that could actually handle the sound of my bass well. So I figured, Studio headphones should do.

And well they do. I use them daily for the computer usage I described earlier. For a while I took them to school which they handled perfectly. They're sturdy with a metal frame but just light enough that long time wearing is still comfortable.

Now that I'm wearing these headphones for 6-8 hours a day I do begin to notice the weight but it is not neccesarely disturbing.
So when talking about the sound quality of these. I can only say one thing: it's amazing! The open back produces a very open and light sound. The lower sounds still comes through very well. Even with the open back sound still sounds emerging. It is also nice to be able to hear yourself talking while wearing them on calls. It pairs perfectly with every device I tried to plug it into. As a result I use them for nearly anything.

As for the durability I cannot say much since I've only had them for about 9 months. But they've fallen of my desk a few times and have been carried in my filled backpack (in the sleeve included). But they hold pretty well in normal envoirments with a normal user.

To summarize: I am in love with these headphones because of the sound quality as well as the building quality and ability carry it with you. They're adjustable and comfortable for daily usage. For the price of 120 euros that's all I could ever wish for.
sound
comfort
quality
3
0
Report

Report

MS
They really have too much of high frequencies
Miro S 14.06.2023
Originally I bought DT990 Pro to use in my synth set-up (without a computer) but the coiled cable quickly became problematic, so I plugged it into my computer, replacing DT770 as mixing headphones.

My first impression when I played some music was like: "My ears! It hurts!" because of the amount of high-frequency content. This was the reason to do the first test with high-frequency rich genres like Trance and Techno.
Here are my observations:

Trance is the most unbearable to listen to. About 90% of tracks attacked my ears with ear-piercing cymbals. It's better with Techno but I got mixed results here as some Techno tracks are more muffled and some have boosted high-frequencies as in Trance music. Besides cymbals like razors, high-frequency content didn't have good separation and it sounded like all cymbals are just one huge mess.
The low end was ok in most cases. It didn't have impact, weight or transient as DT770 but it is there. This is what I thought before I moved to the other music genres.
My other impression was that I don't hear any more stereo space in these headphones than in DT770, which is ridiculous as 770 are closed and 990 are open. I should be able to hear a huge difference.
I tried MP3s and uncompressed flac/wav files. I couldn't stand compressed music most of the time. I'm forgivable in that matter but on DT990 I could hear much more unpleasant artefacts that together with the not-so-great production quality of Trance make the listening experience much less fun than with consumer-grade headphones or even DT770. After listening to more than 100 Trance and Techno tracks I had the feeling that some of them were made or at least tested with DT990 because they were sounding good while others (even those from famous producers) were flat, lifeless and sounded like coming from a tiny box.
To summarize my impressions of Techno and Trance: the majority of tracks in these genres sound bad and unpleasant on DT990.

The second test was with a variety of genres, from Jazz to Ambient, Pop, 80's etc. Here's where "the fun" started. I tried a bunch of reference music for audiophiles out of curiosity (I'm not one of them!).
Immediately I could hear a wide stereo space with instruments filling it from far left to far right. Trance and Techno at best have half of it which is a shame. I could also hear dynamics and "vertical" space between vocals and other instruments in or close to the centre. Another thing that genres in my first test lacked. And I can't blame only dynamic compression which is usual;y too high in modern electronic music because this problem appeared even in older tracks that I know weren't treated with compressors (or just a tiny bit).
DT990 Pro revealed its full glory in this test. Horizontal and vertical space became filled with the joy of good sound. Of course, high frequencies are in front too. DT990 has simply too much of it. But at least it didn't hurt my ears.
The low end is a mixed bag. In some tracks, I missed more of it but I could still hear the punch/transients. Also, genres like Jazz are not bass heavy in the first place. Genres like RnB gave often different experiences. The bass guitar was often enormous and put Trance and Techno to shame. Who could think that "bass genres" will lose to 80's Pop songs? It's probably because DT990 has boosted mid-bass but it has a very good bass extension so it should give genres with sub-bass more "oomph" than I experienced.
DT990 Pro are definitely better with non-electronic dance music genres if someone wants to buy these headphones for casual listening.
Another story is studio use and critical listening. These headphones can reveal every (or at least a lot of it) detail, badly done mixing and mastering. I don't know how they will work as mixing headphones (I'm still on holiday and too lazy to check) but I can already feel that a correction curve will be necessary to at least attenuate a bit of high frequencies. Otherwise, mixers may try to attenuate high frequencies more than they should.
To summarize:
I wouldn't recommend DT990 Pro for casual listening. Most of your favourite songs may be unbearable to listen to. Besides that, as long as you can still hear a high frequency range up to 16kHz as I do, this part of the spectrum will be always taking the space and in front position.
Some people may enjoy genres like Jazz, RnB etc. on those because of the wide stereo space. As long as it doesn't have exaggerated cymbals, you may be fine. If you prefer deeper, more towards mid and bass range sound, avoid DT990 at all costs.
For critical listening, these headphones seem to be alright but once again, high frequencies are spoiling it. Same problem for mixing because besides that, separation in high-end is not that great. I wouldn't recommend DT990 as the only mixing reference for genres like Techno or Trance.
sound
comfort
quality
1
1
Report

Report

B
Shocking good sound quality for the price point!
Blackwatch 16.01.2020
Rather exciting piece of headphones!
Although they have advertised 250 Ohms impedance you average smartphone can drive them pretty well to painfully strong sound pressure level. The caveat however is that if you pair them with a simple amplifier you will unleash the beast <1KHz. I was pleasantly surprised when I first tried them on my phone, then thrilled on my audio interface Komplete 2, finally the HA4 "KOMPLETED" the circle of audio pleasure. I compared them directly to Custom One Pros, Marshall Major and K-701 all four driven from the same source - Komplete 2 + HA4. I equalised the volume to the best of my perception and the DT 990s wiped the the floor with the competition.

Sound: 5 stars - NO DOUBT ABOUT! (Metal, rock, classical music listener here)
Comfort: 5 stars - Pretty fluffy ear cups. I wear glasses and my deal breaker is that the headphones do not press my ears too hard against the frame of the glasses. I do however fear that during summer the ear cups will be a bit too warm.
Quality: 4 stars - Overall pretty solid BQ. I do not like the way that metal brackets on both sides are attached to the head band (Mechatronics engineer's inner voice says - FLIMSAAY!). Luckily ALL parts can be ordered as spares from beyer when they break. I am also not of fan of the fixed cable... that should've been a detachable 3.5mm jack like many other less expensive headphones. The cable itself is a bit of overkill sized gauge telephone coil. It is massively thick and heavy and absolutely not portable. It's not a big problem for stationary setups but please take in into account for portable intentions - they are not.
sound
comfort
quality
4
0
Report

Report

A
Good Set of Headphones
Aleks_ 18.02.2022
They sound great, After applying some EQ (personally), the sound is very clear, you can very easily distinguish between different instruments and i find they will be useful for many applications.

Without EQ they are lacking in low end a little bit however and the ear pads currently are a bit stiff due to them being new, However i know from experience they are going to get softer and more comfortable as i use them.

I wish they were slightly deeper and or having the inside profiled for my ears as they touch the end, the material is soft so they dont feel uncomfortable and when i don't remind myself of it i forget about it.

Love them, for a £110 its a great deal and a good set of headphones
sound
comfort
quality
2
0
Report

Report

E
Great value open-back with well-balanced sound
Enriconism 24.07.2021
I'm happy with this purchase! I'm not exactly an audiophile, but play and listen to a lot of music and do a small amount mixing / production. My previous headphones were good but exaggerated the bass. I also wanted open-back cups for comfort in long sessions.

These sound clear from low to high volume, and have a very neutral EQ response - I immediately could tell why I had trouble mixing music to sound good both on my old headphones and speakers. With these, the response is much more level and "true".

I am very happy using these when playing a digital piano, again with responsive sound and wide feeling stereo. A bonus using open-back is that when I sing while playing piano with headphones (or just talking in general) it now feels really natural, without that "underwater" voice resonance sensation of closed headphones.

The comfort is very good overall. Cups are large and well padded and easily fit over my ears - no pressure points or discomfort after hours of continuous use, even while wearing glasses. The open back allows to hear the environment around me and prevents hot or "pressured" environment for the ears.

Build quality is good overall, but there are a few edges on the metal and plastic that could be smoother. The metal frame is quite stiff, so it takes two hands to adjust the height of each cup (at least they stay in place!). It's also not possible to adjust the clamping strength of the frame - for me luckily it is a good fit.

I like the long cable with provided jack adapter. It is flexible and light, and can easily span several meters. The coil returns to shape well and does not pull or weigh heavily.

As you would expect, these headphones are not sound-isolating, so you shouldn't use these in a noisy environment. However, the sound does not leak out too strongly. Listening at a reasonable volume, it should not disturb someone sitting next to you. When recording vocals, I have had no issue with "monitor feedback" leaking from the headphones to the mic.

They have held up well over a few months of use now, still seems as new.

PROS
- Great value
- Clean sound with clear frequency response
- Nice size and padding of cups
- Long and light cable
- 6.3 and 3.5mm support

CONS
- Stiff frame with somewhat limited movement or adjustment range
- Cable is fixed to the headphones (understandable at this price point but a detachable / replaceable cable attachment would always be a plus for me)
sound
comfort
quality
1
0
Report

Report

A
Nothing quite like a Beyerdynamic
Atlesque 12.09.2021
I remember 10 years ago I put on my first DT-990 and I've never wanted any other headphones. They sit incredibly comfortably, even for hours upon hours of use. The quality of the air cushions, the headband and the cable are all top notch. I've tried headphones 10 times the price and they still used cheap plastics and cushions that fell apart after a mere year of use. Not so with these cans. My last pair would've lasted my a decade had I not made the stupid mistake of sleeping in them (protip: don't. They are very comfortable, but the cable can break when abused by sleeping with your weight on it). Oh, and the sound! The headroom is insane. Even better than some of Beyerdynamic's higher end cans! The only pair of studio headphones you'll ever need!
sound
comfort
quality
2
0
Report

Report

Tr
Amazing
The real Herzog 31.08.2020
I have a home "studio" in the living room therefore my room isnt suited for serious mixing or mastering work and I went with this headphones for serious checks and detailed sound design. Well, they are amazing. I dont have any experience with proper headphones as these are my first but the clarity of sound and the stereo image I get with them are simply amazing. It feels like the sound is coming from all around me and behind me...great stuff really. I can already see the difference in my production sound wise. The low end is also nice and clear. I would only mention, since I read before buying that people said they can work for hours and hours with them, I can't. After 1,max 2h they feel a bit heavy on my ears and head. But in the end I take that as a reminder to make breaks...
I strongly recommend to anyone that cant afford to blast their speakers or doesnt have the budget for proper speakers. I would compare this to Adams speakers for clarity for sure. Anything below that the headphones can top it.
sound
comfort
quality
2
0
Report

Report

AA
Aleksey Alekseev 29.06.2020
I have long dreamed about such headphones (beyerdynamic DT-990 Pro) and here it is - done! Headphones came to Russia very quickly. Everything is carefully packed! It can be seen that the team of masters is working! The assembly is very high quality and strong, but if you have something broken from the parts of the headphones, you can buy it separately! Headphones delight me every day! I use them to mix music and just listen to good music in great headphones. When I put them on my head. I don’t feel them at all!
You will have to get used to the wire in the form of a spiral. In fact, it is long, but twisted into a spiral - it is not always convenient, but it’s nothing!
The sound is great! The store is super! Soon I will buy Cubase Pro 10.5 and studio monitors, wait for me to shop;)
sound
comfort
quality
6
1
Report

Report

BW
Parfait pour l'edit et l'aide au mix
Bert Werbrouck 21.06.2021
Les plus:
- Très bonne qualité de fabrication, comme d'habitude avec les casques Beyer.
- Très confortable pour les longues sessions, ce qui est très important
- Pas trop difficile à "driver". Même s'il est en 250 ohms, c'est ok sur ma scarlett 18i8 ainsi que sur la sortie casque de mon portable récent mais moyenne gamme. Pratique aussi pour les longues formations en distanciel (le côté ouvert du casque rend le tout hyper confortable)
- Peu flatteur, détaillé et précis, ce qui est clairement ce que j'attendais. Je l'utilise le plus pour des edit de pistes et il est vraiment pratique pour vérifier qu'il n'y ait pas de pops, clics, que les fades soient naturels lorsqu'on cleane les pistes, etc. Il doit aussi avoir des avantages au niveau du mix (pour certaines applications) et même de la prise, si vous utilisez des dynamiques peu sensibles sur une voix par exemple (ce n'est pas recommandé mais la repisse serait très faible et ça peut mettre à l'aise les chanteurs.euses qui n'ont pas l'habitude de chanter avec un casque fermé).

Les moins:
- ... son côté peu flatteur et précis. C'est pas un casque "plaisir". On retrouve la signature typique des casques beyer, avec peu être un côté un peu plus "bright": extension dans les basses généreuse, médiums très légèrement creusés, aigus hyper détaillés. Perso, j'adore.
- Le cable attaché... mais tout est remplaçable (en ce compris le cable) donc ce n'est pas trop un souci
- Le soundstage est toujours aussi impressionnant que sur mes DT770 mais pour un casque ouvert je m'attendais à un changement un peu plus net. C'est peut-être une question d'habitude... ou juste que les DT770 sont très impressionnants de ce point de vue pour des casques fermés.

En résumé: c'est fiable, précis, solide et pas trop cher donc si vous voulez un casque ouvert, foncez
sound
comfort
quality
0
0
Report

Report

beyerdynamic DT-990 Pro 250 Ohm