beyerdynamic DT-990 Pro

1653 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.8 /5
  • sound
  • comfort
  • quality
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Almost perfect
125000, 18.02.2018
I bought these, the dt-880 (600ohm) and the hd-650.
And I'll quickly write why I picked the 990's over the others.

Comfort:
The dt-880's were amazing, so comfortable, perfect in my opinion.
While the 990's are really similar, they are tighter on the ears, and I don't like that at all, but they are still quite comfortable.
And the hd-650? They clamp like crazy, I couldn't wear these for over 10 minutes, really uncomfortable.

Sound:
Now this category is objective af, you have been warned.
I used the LP-phone-amp-g103 to drive all of these headphones so there shouldn't be any issues with the amp.
With that out of the way, lets start with the headphones that really disappointed me.
The 880's had a really lackluster low end, you could say non existing, and with basically no bass it was just a clear no for me and I didn't bother any further with them.
The hd-650 sounded like the 990's if someone put an equalizer on them that turned down every frequency past 3khz down 3-6db.
They sounded muddy in my opinion, especially compared to the dt-990's.
With that being said, I love the by some considered sharp highs of the dt-990's, everything sounds crystal clear, not "muddy" or "washed out". I listen to a lot of vocals so that's a must for me. But as I said, it ain't for everybody since some might say the highs are over saturated, and they are, but it sounds nice. It's something I'm looking for in headphones, are you looking for that? If not steer away from these headphones. Cons: they might be too sharp for some and too tiring if used in long sessions. Other cons are the fact that you can really hear if a song is mixed/mastered like shit, you can hear everything. I'm not gonna say sh*t like :"you suddenly hear instruments that you previously didn't hear" if you suddenly heard an instrument that you didn't hear before on decent headphones that's on you. But you definitely hear if someone didn't bother cleaning up the samples he used in his song, and you might need different headphones or speakers to enioy songs that are badly mixed.

price/performance: 10/10, I mean ¤140 for these is a steal, you don't get better audio quality for that price, but you probably gonna need a headphone amp as for almost all 250+ ohm headphones.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Great for the price but needs some tuning
Braddie, 25.08.2020
Let me preface by saying that I'm mostly and IEM guy due to the detail they can provide. However, my best IEM has been the Xiaomi Hybrid Pro HD. Despite not being a bass head I do think that bass is the base in music and usually provides the "body" of a song and is what adds energy to a song. I love being able to hear every single detail in a song as well. A tall order for 115 euro headphones I'm sure. I usually listen to (pop) punk, hardcore, hiphop and jazz and I also bought these for gaming. I tried on a ton of other headphones before trying these so I'll give you an overview of those quickly:

Sony MDR 7506: Not sure what the hype is about, these sounded so bad for me. Analytical but it hurt my ears listening to songs and didn't make for an enjoyable experience
Shure SRH 840: Ok but a bit muddy, also didn't like it that much, sounded worse than my Logitech G430 in my opinion.
AKG K245: These didn't sound too bad. Good bass and mids, highs sounded a bit harsh to me but so did most headsets. Probably the closest to the DT 990 Pro
AKG K275: Absolute trash. Don't even try it. I've seen some good reviews but wow this thing hurt my ears and was not fun to listen to at all.
AKG K361: Not bad but I didn't like the sound signature. Focused more towards vocals. I'd say between the K245 and K361 I'd go for the K245 which has a somewhat warmer sound
Audio Technica ATH-M40X: The sound was good, I preferred it over the M50X which sounded a bit more muddy to me. Build quality is really meh and comfort wise also not the best
Audio Technica ATH-M50X: Marginally better built than the M40x but didn't like the sound as much. Definitely warmer than the M40x, closer to the AKG K245 I'd say.
Audio Technica ATH-M60X: Really good sound for closed backs but the earpads were a bit on the small side. My ears barely fit inside and I can imagine these to be more like on-ears for some people.
Beyer Dynamics DT-770 Pro: Oh wow what a mess. I tried all the different versions and they all sounded like complete crap. Highs were piercing and the bass felt like it was all over the place and recessed. Definitely not a good experience. Would rate these like the AKG K275, terrible and I don't really see what the hype is about.
Beyer Dynamics DT-880 Pro: Overall good sounding headphones, pretty neutral but with a good tone. These sound similar to the DT-990 Pro but a bit warmer.
Sony Fidelio X2HR: Comfortable for my head but they sounded pretty muffled to me. I'd compare them to my cheap 5 euro pair of Xiaomi Piston which has a V-shape. The bass on these is a bit clearer but it's not something I'd listen to analytically. Good for hiphop but ultimately expensive for what they offer.

Beyer Dynamics DT-990 Pro/Edition: Wow, the only pair of headphones I tried on today which I wanted to take home with me. Sound wise nothing came close. Sound stage is wide (though I've heard wider) and imaging is good, it felt like I was at the performance. Bass is really good and detailed with some deep extension, but it's not loud. I don't know how to explain it properly but . Highs were crisp and detailed, not fatiguing at all. Mids were definitely recessed but nothing an EQ couldn't handle. I didn't find the highs piercing at all compared to most other headphones I tried but high hats kinda sound fatiguing. These headphones are good enough to pick up badly mastered songs.

Another user here described the sound as "but in absolute terms the sound is at best muffled -- thin, lacking in clarity, transient response and bass" and I do kind of agree with the headphones sounding a bit thin and veiled. In the first week I thought "wow yeah I can hear mostly every detail, even in the bass, but I'm not really having fun listening to my songs. It was lacking body/power in the bass. Yesterday I messed around with my PEACE EQ, added around 7dB to 39hz and 4dB to 78hz (with -3dB on the pre-amp), slightly lowered the highs and added a tiny bit of mids and WOW do these things come alive. The bass feels like a proper closed back now and I had so much fun listening to my songs that I stayed up until 05:00 in the morning just listening to my favorite songs. It's amazing for the genres I listen to and really shines with Jazz and hiphop now. After these EQ changes it also meant that I could listen at lower volumes because I wasn't chasing the bass and in turn made the sound less fatiguing. These can be driven by an iPhone 6S but it's not as good as using a dedicated dac/amp. I drive these with a Scarlett 2i2 2nd Gen.

Build quility wise the only thing that worries me about the Beyer Dynamics are the plastic sliders for head adjustment and no removable cable. Every Beyerdynamic in the store had cracked sliders. They're cheap to replace but still not the best design obviously. Comfort wise the Fidelio X2HR and the DT880 and DT990 Edition were better but these are a close 2nd. Clamping force is somewhat high but the pads are super comfortable (though my ears do touch the driver side). The coiled cable is heavy but feels sturdy enough.

Conclusion: Good headphones but need some EQ work to reach their full potential. If you need something for home use in the €50-€200 range I wouldn't hesitate to go for these over any of the other options, otherwise I'd recommend the Audio Technica ATH-M60X.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Quality for a normal consumer
Ine V, 11.01.2021
I've had quite a few headphones over the years for computer usage (Netflix, Youtube and gaming and of course since this year Zoom calls). When my last pair broke because of poor building quality I just decided I needed a more decent pair. Also I wanted to use them for more quiet bass sessions. I never had a pair that could actually handle the sound of my bass well. So I figured, Studio headphones should do.

And well they do. I use them daily for the computer usage I described earlier. For a while I took them to school which they handled perfectly. They're sturdy with a metal frame but just light enough that long time wearing is still comfortable.

Now that I'm wearing these headphones for 6-8 hours a day I do begin to notice the weight but it is not neccesarely disturbing.
So when talking about the sound quality of these. I can only say one thing: it's amazing! The open back produces a very open and light sound. The lower sounds still comes through very well. Even with the open back sound still sounds emerging. It is also nice to be able to hear yourself talking while wearing them on calls. It pairs perfectly with every device I tried to plug it into. As a result I use them for nearly anything.

As for the durability I cannot say much since I've only had them for about 9 months. But they've fallen of my desk a few times and have been carried in my filled backpack (in the sleeve included). But they hold pretty well in normal envoirments with a normal user.

To summarize: I am in love with these headphones because of the sound quality as well as the building quality and ability carry it with you. They're adjustable and comfortable for daily usage. For the price of 120 euros that's all I could ever wish for.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Amazing
The real Herzog, 31.08.2020
I have a home "studio" in the living room therefore my room isnt suited for serious mixing or mastering work and I went with this headphones for serious checks and detailed sound design. Well, they are amazing. I dont have any experience with proper headphones as these are my first but the clarity of sound and the stereo image I get with them are simply amazing. It feels like the sound is coming from all around me and behind me...great stuff really. I can already see the difference in my production sound wise. The low end is also nice and clear. I would only mention, since I read before buying that people said they can work for hours and hours with them, I can't. After 1,max 2h they feel a bit heavy on my ears and head. But in the end I take that as a reminder to make breaks...
I strongly recommend to anyone that cant afford to blast their speakers or doesnt have the budget for proper speakers. I would compare this to Adams speakers for clarity for sure. Anything below that the headphones can top it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
A versatile pair of headphones
Sashiimi, 14.12.2020
I use this mainly for gaming and do music production on the side.

I decided to get these since I had a cheaper pair of very good sound headphones that were not comfortable at all.

These ones, on the comfort are exceptionally good. I use them, sometimes, up to 16/18 hours in a single day with barely any strain (though, to be fair, you obviously start getting uncomfortable after that many hours). But the key point is, I noticed that my headaches reduced significantly since buying these headphones.

Sound quality wise they are amazing. Sounds are clear and distinct, with a good and wide soundstage due to their open nature. This is good for spatial awareness in music and gaming as well. One downside of this is, when doing home office in calls / recording voice, you can get quite a bit of noise bleed into the microphone, which is something to be aware of.

This is then, very suitable to use in quieter environments but not so much on the opposite since you will hear everything outside of your computer and they will hear what you're hearing as well.

One remark that I have are the pads, which are getting in the flatter side after roughly six months of use. For this reason, I intend to buy new pads and wash these ones properly, to see if they regain their fluffiness. Though, to be fair, please don't forget about the long usages that I have with these guys.

Thoroughly impressed.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Aleksey Alekseev, 29.06.2020
I have long dreamed about such headphones (beyerdynamic DT-990 Pro) and here it is - done! Headphones came to Russia very quickly. Everything is carefully packed! It can be seen that the team of masters is working! The assembly is very high quality and strong, but if you have something broken from the parts of the headphones, you can buy it separately! Headphones delight me every day! I use them to mix music and just listen to good music in great headphones. When I put them on my head. I don’t feel them at all!
You will have to get used to the wire in the form of a spiral. In fact, it is long, but twisted into a spiral - it is not always convenient, but it’s nothing!
The sound is great! The store is super! Soon I will buy Cubase Pro 10.5 and studio monitors, wait for me to shop;)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Shocking good sound quality for the price point!
Blackwatch, 16.01.2020
Rather exciting piece of headphones!
Although they have advertised 250 Ohms impedance you average smartphone can drive them pretty well to painfully strong sound pressure level. The caveat however is that if you pair them with a simple amplifier you will unleash the beast <1KHz. I was pleasantly surprised when I first tried them on my phone, then thrilled on my audio interface Komplete 2, finally the HA4 "KOMPLETED" the circle of audio pleasure. I compared them directly to Custom One Pros, Marshall Major and K-701 all four driven from the same source - Komplete 2 + HA4. I equalised the volume to the best of my perception and the DT 990s wiped the the floor with the competition.

Sound: 5 stars - NO DOUBT ABOUT! (Metal, rock, classical music listener here)
Comfort: 5 stars - Pretty fluffy ear cups. I wear glasses and my deal breaker is that the headphones do not press my ears too hard against the frame of the glasses. I do however fear that during summer the ear cups will be a bit too warm.
Quality: 4 stars - Overall pretty solid BQ. I do not like the way that metal brackets on both sides are attached to the head band (Mechatronics engineer's inner voice says - FLIMSAAY!). Luckily ALL parts can be ordered as spares from beyer when they break. I am also not of fan of the fixed cable... that should've been a detachable 3.5mm jack like many other less expensive headphones. The cable itself is a bit of overkill sized gauge telephone coil. It is massively thick and heavy and absolutely not portable. It's not a big problem for stationary setups but please take in into account for portable intentions - they are not.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Studio quality headphones
Dunderklumpen, 05.02.2021
I use these in my studio for mixing and have spent many hours listening to music in the DT-990's. I use headphones all the time professionally as well as privately (have used Sony, AKG, Sennheiser on different occasions) and these have become my go-to's.

I really like the soundstage and the fairly linear response they give. I'm sure there are more "hi-fi" and audiophile worthy headphones available - but the DT-990's give a good frequency representation and seems to produce reasonable mixes for me. As with any pair of headphones you need to get used to them and reference other sources as well to calibrate your mix output.

Compared to the DT-770 (closed back version) they obviously open up and allow for a lot more "air" and transient response. But the open back construction also make them unsuitable to track music since they bleed the sound into the environment.

Comfort is ok. The ear pads are soft enough and they fit nicely around my (I guess normal sized) ears. But I have yet to wear any headphones that doesn't tire your ears after prolonged wear. It's just a fact of life.

Why only 4 stars for comfort? My only gripe with these is the stupid coiled cable which is a nuisance as it tends to pull at my head no matter how I set it up. A much better option would be the straight cable which I have on the DT-770's.

The Beyerdynamic DT-990's are sturdy and built for professional use. Most importantly, spare cables and pads are available.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Super-Awesome for everyday-use
DT990, 08.04.2021
Pros: No problems at all, connector is working fine even though being used heavily (also dog apparently wanted to listen sth with these and have dropped these down several times), super-comfortable ear pads (at least for me) and those can also be replaced with new-ones if necessary.

Cons: Treble-tones (high-tones) are a little worn after a couple of years of use. Not the best ones for reference-headphone-use after heavy use.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
They're Good
Alex Pintinho, 18.12.2020
They are a good pair of headphones, I recommend. Open sound and a lot of detail. I use headphones 99% of the time, when mixing and mastering and they do just fine.

I had a bit of an issue with my left speaker, it rattles a bit sometimes, and it is always the left channel, so I assume they came faulty, Thomman was able to replace them. Now I have an issue with the headphone jack, it is a bit dented, I must have moved away with the headphones on and damaged it. Probably my fault but as I said I always work with headphones for about 20 years now and this never happened to me before.

But I have to say that I am happy with them overall, they have a good sound and I am happy to work with them.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Just right
Angel Angeles III, 26.03.2021
I'm using this for mixing and mastering. It's just got a very clear sound to it and very honest. Very good sound stage and natural sound. It won't replace my monitors but it's a good pair of cans.

Be mindful that the coiled cable is unremovable. If you're gonna move side to side on a big desk, this pair might not be for you.

The box though... when it arrived at home it's a little mangled already and the headphones inside was already loose. Thankfully the product has not got a single scratch. I think Thomann can do a better job at shipping this particular product.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
DT-990
Will F., 03.12.2013
I bought the 250 ohm version of these headphones and they work out of my laptop's headphone port.

These headphones are light as a feather and are incredibly comfortable. They are able. The frequency response is very even except towards the higher limits of human hearing.

remember that these headphones are meant to be light-weight for a reason. THey are intended for studio use and are meant to be taken care of.

Therefor, I will warn you that these headphones are not durable and are not meant to be abused beyond their intended use. If you are looking for more durable headphones that can take more abuse, with a decent response, you may want to check out the ATH-M50's. However, those are significantly heavier.

As far as frequency response goes and pleasurable listening. These headphones are well priced. There are better headphones even by this same company. However, it seems that at this price, these have better performance per unit currency.

Bottom line is, you are not going to find a perfect headphone for every application. So, make a choice. If you are looking for headphones for monitoring, mixing, general indoor listening, studio use then I highly suggest these.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
1 cm short of perfection
Nänad , 04.01.2021
I bought them and used them with Scarlett 2i4 and Clarett 8 Pre USB. In both cases DT-990 Pro work perfectly, and for 250 Ohm headphones, they are actually not that quiet. They work in both scenarios. Even with my Samsung phone, I can still use them, but probably not on a bus or at the train station.

If I remember correctly, one high quality 1/4 to 1/8 inch adapter is also shipped with them, and there is a black bag that can be used to pack them and shield them from the dust, scratches during the transport etc.

However, for a 190 cm tall guy, although they fit, would be more enjoyable if they could spread 1 cm more. As I said, they fit, but I kinda have to slightly "pack" the bottom of my ears inside
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Absolutely in love
steadyokay, 01.10.2020
I bought these only cause I used to only have closed-back ones, which were often used for part of the mixing process and thought it be worth a try to test open-back and it's night and day.
I expected these to be far more annoying in terms of loudness leaving the headphones and being able to listen to outside noise, but it's actually not as exaggerated.
The experience is way less taxing on your ears. You can work for longer hours without feeling like your head might just explode.
One thing I do consider a "con" is that they can feel a bit tight on the head and I don't have such a large one, but this has happened to me with practically every headphone ever.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Excellent for it's price point.
CreativeS, 18.11.2020
Note: I am a newbie to the headphone community, so this purchase was my first actual headphones that don't sound crap.

I was in the market for new headphones since I wanted to move away from the "gaming" headphones due to the horrible sound quality and marketing gimmick like RGB which is sure nice for aesthetics but the price mark up doesn't justify it at all.

Anyways these headphones are surprisingly easy to drive. Currently not using an amp and they sound loud at 100% volume although I plan to get an amp in the future.

I mostly use these headphones for serious music listening and gaming. I haven't fully tested how this headphone performs during gaming sessions but wow it performs amazing while listening to music, you can hear the instrument separation and the clarity is amazing for it's price.

Pros for me:
- Really comfortable
- Amazing sound
- Easy to drive without an amp despite it being 250 ohms (YMMV but since I have a high-end motherboard it can apparently "drive up to 1000 ohms")
- Open back design. I was originally going to buy the DT 770 Pros but I saw that the 990 and 770 are priced the same so I wanted to check out how open back headphones perform.
- Quality. Headphone is built to last.

Cons for me:
- Cable isn't detachable. Not really an issue honestly but it would be nice to have custom cables to fit your setup.
- Bad for my wallet. Buying this headphone will lead me to buy another one (currently looking at the DT 1990 now).
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Great, but need tweaking for comfortable listening
Martijn-vdH, 16.06.2020
Use cases: Gaming, listening to different music genres, watching videos

The good:
- Build quality. It feels rugged for the most part, except the connection between the headband and the drivers.
- Replacement parts are super easy to find and readily available.
- The sound is, after tweaking EQ a bit, wonderful
- Comfortable, although not for too long in my experience. The head band starts to hurt my head after a while, just like the Edition version of these headphones did.
- Very nice soundstage. Not too wide, but everything can be pinpointed perfectly, whether it's enemies in games or elements in music/videos.

The bad:
- Non-detachable cable. The cable feels very sturdy though, but I like being able to switch between coiled/straight cables.
- The highs were so sharp they started to hurt my ears while listening. This can be reduced by tweaking the EQ a bit, but this is my main reason for returning them.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
ESESESES, 24.11.2020
I use them for recording and listening to music through my interface into my laptop. Soundwise they are great for the price and definietly fit my needs as a hobby-producer. The build quality is everything I could ask for so far (I've used them daily for 6 months) as they feel very sturdy and well made.

What I don't like, which is a big deal, is how they sit on my head. They hurt my ears almost immidietly and I get fatigue. I only use them for short periods at a time. I have small ears. However, I do believe this is very subjective. My ears and top of the head usually tend to hurt and itch from all headphones I've tried. My friend has the same headphones, and he doesn't experience this and use them all the time.

All in all, I believe this is the most price worthy studio head phones there are.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Excellent, naturalistic, non-fatiguing sound
Han-earl, 22.04.2020
I use these as a second pair for mixing, and for listening back to the master. These headphones have an excellent, naturalistic, non-fatiguing sound. So convincing that I have on one occasion forgotten that I was not listening through monitors (I accidentally walked away from my desk with the headphones still on my head).

Good for the initial mix, and for getting a good overview and sense of balance of the mix, but I suggest you may go elsewhere for surgical work. I prefer something like the Sony MDR-7506 for its ability to highlight the ugly, mid and high frequency range. Of course, being open-back, the spill means I would not recommended it for tracking.

Heavier than average, but the headband is comfortable; not being too tight while still secure over your head. Certainly more comfortable than the Sennheiser HD-25. Ear pads are a velour material which, while not exactly making for a sweat-free experience, at least isn't vinyl or fake-leather. I wouldn't like to use these in high-temperature, high-humidity environments, but I don't know of any headphones I would like to use in those conditions.

While the construction is a mix of plastic and metal, the only part that feel flimsy are the plastic ear cups, and not the first area that I would expect to get damaged physically.

Concerns? Cable noise does transfer to the earpads. And the tight, short coiled cable may or may not suite you (the weight of the cable is not insignificant on your head especially as it's only on attached on the left side). With an impedance of 250 Ohm, just make sure you are feeding it from a source with enough drive (for reference, my phone would not drive it, but, surprisingly, my old laptop has no problem with it). You should not, however, have any issues with most mixers or audio interfaces.

At this price point, I'm can't think of a better sounding pair of open-back headphones. Recommended for mixing and listening.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
High end boost
Pagan Vibes, 03.02.2021
The quality is perfect. But the most important thing is sound. Of course you won't be able to mix everything monitoring only in the headphones but still, it is a very good source to double-check! But you have to be aware that even though the overall sound quality is good - there is still some obvious boost of high end. It sounds like with an applied saturator, so the best solution would be something like dsonic headphones.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
best headphones i've ever used
glxfy, 12.03.2021
If you're a mixing/mastering engineer and want a pair of headphones you can trust... grab these. So confy because of the open back and the best quality-price ratio i could find. + Beyerdynamic are an experienced brand that knows what they're doing
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Value priced professional headphone
AliC, 22.03.2014
I bought this mainly for an extra reference of my mix. I have been researching and realised this is one of the headphone that is popular in the industry, with such price tag, I am happy to buy it and have a try.

Building quality:
Excellent built with metal components used for the size adjustment. This is important as I had a Shure SRH 1840, the plastic part means it breaks easily and i had that to be repaired in 6 months. But this one definitely would bot cause such issue.

Wearing comfortability
Very comfortable with soft ear pad, a lot better than AKG in this aspect, slightly tight at the beginning, but loosen after couple of weeks. No issue even after a long period of wearing.

Sound and response
I found this sound similar with the DT770 pro, except more soundstage and depth, very subtle, not as warm as 770 pro. I found 990 less coloured. Though it is a open designed, certainly the sound leakage is minimised. Compare to 880 pro, i would say 880 pro is more neutral sound. So 990 is some where in between.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
very very low sound
Ballzi, 15.03.2021
I just wouldn't use it anymore, I cant hear all the sounds.
for me it was a bad purchase.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
DT 990
Rylens, 18.01.2021
Perfect. Bought mine in 2016 and they are still flawless. Recently I changed my ear pads and they are like spanking brand new. :)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Best of the best
xOfficialSophie, 09.04.2021
Beste koptelefoon die ik ooit heb gekocht
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Absolute classic in the genre
Valio, 18.06.2020
There should be a reason why those headphones can be seen in almost every studio. They really sound as neutral as they can without 'colouring' the sound excessively, and still have this 'baller' sound to it. I also own DT-770 Pro and they definitely sound slightly different, but they are closed back and are more suitable for recording in a booth where you don't want to bleed the track into the microphone, while these aren't suitable for that. If you need a second opinion for mastering a track, 990 are definitely in it's stride for the job.

Pros:
All of them

Cons:
None of them

Conclusion:
Just buy them, you would never regret this purchase.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

beyerdynamic DT-990 Pro

$129
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-33
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Online Guides
Headphones
Headphones
Headphones are basics for any studio or DJ. But not all headphones are created equal.
Online Guides
Home Recording
Home Recording
Home Recording can be very complicated. We're here to offer some advice!
 
 
 
 
 
Download
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
11
(11)
Recently Viewed
Audient iD4 MKII

USB-C Audio Interface 24 bit / 44.1 - 96 kHz, ADC dynamic range: 121 dB, DAC dynamic range: 126 dB, @Class A Audient console microphone preamplifier, Mic Gain 58 dB,

Recently Viewed
Alesis Nitro Expansion Pack

Expansion set for Alesis Nitro Mesh Kit Consist of 1x 10" One-Zone Pad and 1x 08" ON zones Tom Pad, Includes necessary rack clips, cymbal holder, L-rods and cables

Recently Viewed
L.R.Baggs Voiceprint DI

Impulse Response di pedal for acoustic guitar Voiceprint DI measures the acoustic response of your guitar by leveraging the processing power of your iPhone® to accurately capture your guitar’s one-of-a-kind voice., Notch filter, Anti-feedback function, Phase circuit, Serial FX…

Recently Viewed
Fender Dhani Harrison Ukulele Tq

Tenor Ukulele with Pickup Dhani Harrison Signature Model, Size: 3/4, Top: solid Ovangkol, Back and sides: Ovangkol, Neck: NATO, Fretboard: Ovangkol, Phases of the moon fretboard inlays, Back with engraving, Nut width: 35 mm (1.375"), 19 Frets, Pickup with…

Recently Viewed
Otamatone Neo White

Otamatone Neo, Electronic sound toy / synthesizer, standard size, selection of various sounds via new studio smart phone app, cross link of smart phone and Otamatone via cable, power plug for external power supply, stereo headphone jack, volume adjustable, playing…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
iZotope Spire Studio 2nd Generation

iZotope Spire Studio 2nd Generation; mobile recording studio with lithium-ion battery (up to 4 hours runtime); 2 tracks can be recorded simultaneously; up to 8 tracks per project can be played back; recording format: 24-bit / 48 kHz; up to…

Recently Viewed
Sonor SS 1000 Snare Stand

Sonor SS 1000 Snare Stand, 1000 hardware series, gearless basket adjustment, double braced, stable rubber foots,

Recently Viewed
Endorphin.es Ground Control

Endorphin.es Ground Control; Eurorack module; performance sequencer; 24-pads keyboard for realtime programming; USB-B port and MIDI in/out for using external MIDI devices and DAW integration; 3 melodic tracks with CV/Gate outputs; 8 drum tracks with trigger outputs; 24 pattern per…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Sonarworks SoundID Reference Headphon EDU

Sonarworks SoundID Reference for Headphones EDU (ESD); headphone calibration plugin; Educational version: requires proof of eligibility; adjusts the frequency response to get a flat and neutral sounding headphone; enables a more precise evaluation of recordings and mixes when using an…

Recently Viewed
Electro Harmonix Ripped Speaker Fuzz

Electro Harmonix Ripped Speaker Fuzz; Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar & Bass; low Fuzz settings emulate Vintage Lo-Fi Distortion Sounds created by a Razor Blade applied to a Speaker Cone, a loose Tube or a faulty channel on a Recording…

Recently Viewed
Otamatone Neo Black

Otamatone Neo, Electronic sound toy / synthesizer, standard size, selection of various sounds via new studio smart phone app, cross link of smart phone and Otamatone via cable, power plug for external power supply, stereo headphone jack, volume adjustable, playing…

Recently Viewed
Zoom PodTrak P4

Podcasting Recorder Four microphone inputs (XLR, P48V phantom power switchable), Four headphone outputs with individual volume controls (3.5mm stereo jack), Gain control and mute button per input, Mix minus function for automatic feedback suppression for incoming calls, Connection of…

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.