beyerdynamic DT-990 Pro

1169 Customer Ratings:
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.8 /5
  • sound
  • comfort
  • quality
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Almost perfect
125000, 18.02.2018
I bought these, the dt-880 (600ohm) and the hd-650.
And I'll quickly write why I picked the 990's over the others.

Comfort:
The dt-880's were amazing, so comfortable, perfect in my opinion.
While the 990's are really similar, they are tighter on the ears, and I don't like that at all, but they are still quite comfortable.
And the hd-650? They clamp like crazy, I couldn't wear these for over 10 minutes, really uncomfortable.

Sound:
Now this category is objective af, you have been warned.
I used the LP-phone-amp-g103 to drive all of these headphones so there shouldn't be any issues with the amp.
With that out of the way, lets start with the headphones that really disappointed me.
The 880's had a really lackluster low end, you could say non existing, and with basically no bass it was just a clear no for me and I didn't bother any further with them.
The hd-650 sounded like the 990's if someone put an equalizer on them that turned down every frequency past 3khz down 3-6db.
They sounded muddy in my opinion, especially compared to the dt-990's.
With that being said, I love the by some considered sharp highs of the dt-990's, everything sounds crystal clear, not "muddy" or "washed out". I listen to a lot of vocals so that's a must for me. But as I said, it ain't for everybody since some might say the highs are over saturated, and they are, but it sounds nice. It's something I'm looking for in headphones, are you looking for that? If not steer away from these headphones. Cons: they might be too sharp for some and too tiring if used in long sessions. Other cons are the fact that you can really hear if a song is mixed/mastered like shit, you can hear everything. I'm not gonna say sh*t like :"you suddenly hear instruments that you previously didn't hear" if you suddenly heard an instrument that you didn't hear before on decent headphones that's on you. But you definitely hear if someone didn't bother cleaning up the samples he used in his song, and you might need different headphones or speakers to enioy songs that are badly mixed.

price/performance: 10/10, I mean ¤140 for these is a steal, you don't get better audio quality for that price, but you probably gonna need a headphone amp as for almost all 250+ ohm headphones.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Shocking good sound quality for the price point!
Blackwatch, 16.01.2020
Rather exciting piece of headphones!
Although they have advertised 250 Ohms impedance you average smartphone can drive them pretty well to painfully strong sound pressure level. The caveat however is that if you pair them with a simple amplifier you will unleash the beast <1KHz. I was pleasantly surprised when I first tried them on my phone, then thrilled on my audio interface Komplete 2, finally the HA4 "KOMPLETED" the circle of audio pleasure. I compared them directly to Custom One Pros, Marshall Major and K-701 all four driven from the same source - Komplete 2 + HA4. I equalised the volume to the best of my perception and the DT 990s wiped the the floor with the competition.

Sound: 5 stars - NO DOUBT ABOUT! (Metal, rock, classical music listener here)
Comfort: 5 stars - Pretty fluffy ear cups. I wear glasses and my deal breaker is that the headphones do not press my ears too hard against the frame of the glasses. I do however fear that during summer the ear cups will be a bit too warm.
Quality: 4 stars - Overall pretty solid BQ. I do not like the way that metal brackets on both sides are attached to the head band (Mechatronics engineer's inner voice says - FLIMSAAY!). Luckily ALL parts can be ordered as spares from beyer when they break. I am also not of fan of the fixed cable... that should've been a detachable 3.5mm jack like many other less expensive headphones. The cable itself is a bit of overkill sized gauge telephone coil. It is massively thick and heavy and absolutely not portable. It's not a big problem for stationary setups but please take in into account for portable intentions - they are not.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Aleksey Alekseev, 29.06.2020
I have long dreamed about such headphones (beyerdynamic DT-990 Pro) and here it is - done! Headphones came to Russia very quickly. Everything is carefully packed! It can be seen that the team of masters is working! The assembly is very high quality and strong, but if you have something broken from the parts of the headphones, you can buy it separately! Headphones delight me every day! I use them to mix music and just listen to good music in great headphones. When I put them on my head. I don’t feel them at all!
You will have to get used to the wire in the form of a spiral. In fact, it is long, but twisted into a spiral - it is not always convenient, but it’s nothing!
The sound is great! The store is super! Soon I will buy Cubase Pro 10.5 and studio monitors, wait for me to shop;)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Best Headphones I've ever tried
Ty0101, 30.05.2020
Having owned a lot of different (studio & non-studio) headphones over the years and using them for different things (mixing, listening & playing guitar) I can honestly say that I've never tried better headphones for playing guitar through and amp and mixing.
The open back provides a lot of clarity & the soundscape is enormous. You can hear every bit of background noise though so keep this in mind, these are headphones for quiet areas, like studios.
If you want something with a bit more protection against outside noise I'd go for the DT-770.

The 250 Ohm impedance might deter you from going for this instead of the 770 with 80 Ohm, but I didn't even have any issues with driving these headphones through my Oneplus 6 3.5mm jack. These days a lot of devices have built-in soundcards capable of pushing enough power through.

The cups are very soft and large enough even for big ears. They can get a bit warm, but nothing uncomfortable, even in 25 degree weather. The weight is also distributed in such a nice way that I don't feel it at all, even after 4-5 hours of non-stop use. The clamp keeps it in place even when bending down.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Absolute classic in the genre
Valio, 18.06.2020
There should be a reason why those headphones can be seen in almost every studio. They really sound as neutral as they can without 'colouring' the sound excessively, and still have this 'baller' sound to it. I also own DT-770 Pro and they definitely sound slightly different, but they are closed back and are more suitable for recording in a booth where you don't want to bleed the track into the microphone, while these aren't suitable for that. If you need a second opinion for mastering a track, 990 are definitely in it's stride for the job.

Pros:
All of them

Cons:
None of them

Conclusion:
Just buy them, you would never regret this purchase.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
DT-990
Will F., 03.12.2013
I bought the 250 ohm version of these headphones and they work out of my laptop's headphone port.

These headphones are light as a feather and are incredibly comfortable. They are able. The frequency response is very even except towards the higher limits of human hearing.

remember that these headphones are meant to be light-weight for a reason. THey are intended for studio use and are meant to be taken care of.

Therefor, I will warn you that these headphones are not durable and are not meant to be abused beyond their intended use. If you are looking for more durable headphones that can take more abuse, with a decent response, you may want to check out the ATH-M50's. However, those are significantly heavier.

As far as frequency response goes and pleasurable listening. These headphones are well priced. There are better headphones even by this same company. However, it seems that at this price, these have better performance per unit currency.

Bottom line is, you are not going to find a perfect headphone for every application. So, make a choice. If you are looking for headphones for monitoring, mixing, general indoor listening, studio use then I highly suggest these.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Price to Accuracy? 3 thumbs up!
Dennis Dom, 21.12.2019
The Beyerdynamic DT 990 PRO are slightly better critical listening headphones than its brother DT 770 PRO, thanks to its open-back design. I had 770 for a long time and now finally I got this gem in my hand. Both headphones are similarly built and are comfortable. They are practically the same headphones, but the 990 are open and the 770 are closed-backs.

For me 990 appear to be more consistent in term of frequency response every time I re-positioned (the 990) and re-play the same test track.
About the accuracy, the easiest way to express this is like when I'm driving and it's raining LIGHTLY, so the windshield with wipers off is 770 and windshield with wipers on is 990.

Pros? Open back.
Cons? Open back.
Happy ears = happy mood
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Amazing headphones
Svarog, 27.05.2020
I got these after years of using closed back headphones. I'm mad at my self that I didn't get these earlier.
Not only are they comfortable for long time use, but the soundstage is excelent.
I'm using them for mixing when I'm not able to use my monitors, or to check details in the sound. This open back design not only gives them a nice wide soundstage, but the ear fatigue after mixing for hours is so much lower compared to other headphones I used. Usually after long mixing session on headphones, when I take them off I feel relief, as if the pressure in my head has finally stopped. With these headphones there is no that kind of pressure, it's like I've been mixing on speakers.
I only wish that the plastic parts had a bit more premium feeling, and that they come with straight and not coiled cable, or that you could disconnect cable with connector.

Pros:
excilent sound, very comfortable, low ear fatigue after long sessions.

Cons:
Plastic parts feel a bit cheap, come with non detachable coiled cable.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Totally recommend
m7sen, 07.06.2020
The best headphone I ever tried
no more headset
Arrived in 14 days but due to current situation it is acceptable
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Entry level feedback
Shujun, 22.11.2018
I use this product for gaming as well as listening for music.

Gaming:
The spatial orientation these headphones offer is incredible. I can always recognise from which direction the sound is coming, giving me an edge in certain games.

Music clarity:
I can clearly distinguish between the high and lows as well as different instruments when using these for music listening, especially when using them to listen to some classical music. My music range goes from classical to rock and metal, mixed with some trance and house as well, and I've used these to listen to all of them. I do find myself tweaking the EQ from time to time depending on the genre I'm using them for, but overall I am really pleased with the sound quality that they offer.

Comfort:
They are horrible during the summer for me personally, can't really stand the head and when using these during the summer it's even worse. Earbuds all the way.

If you have no such problems (eg. during colder times for me). They are really comfortable, I can use them for hours without having the slightest discomfort.

Quality:
They do feel a bit flimsy at times, but if you handle them with care they should be fine for a very long period of time.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
so far so good
dumbdummy, 02.03.2020
You can work hours and hours with the headphones it's comfortable , rich sounding and fun to work with. I like it thank you Thomann
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
SabreAzul, 25.12.2019
For the price, you can't get better.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Excellent Headphones!
09.06.2015
I have tried several headphones throughout the years of my life and these has to be the best I have ever owned.
They are very comfortable even after several hours.
They are light on the head but tight so you can actually move your head without to fear that they will fall off.
Be aware that you will need an audiocard that can support up to 250 Ohm to make them perform at it's best, but they work very well with anything less as well.
The only negative part I've found so far is that the clamping effect on the head might be a little too tight from time to time so it might get a little uncomfortable, but just a tiny little so not really anything to worry about (this is of course after several hours of use).
These headphones work perfect for all I do, that includes listening to music, videos, films, studio work, gaming, everything basically! I haven't found a single time where they didn't perform well enough for what I wanted them to do.
They feel very very solid as well.

Therefore I have decided to give it an overall 5 stars, but -1 star on comfort because of the small discomfort because of the clamping effect, but that's not really something I haven't experienced on other headphones.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Superb
StringerUK, 07.02.2019
I use these for a small home studio setup instead of monitors. I am no audiophile but they sound at least as good as other friends home/studio rooms with decent monitors. The bass is full and rich and the highs are clear and sharp. They are also super comfortable.
Perhaps I would hear an improvement with some mid-high end sennheisers but I think for the money you can't go wrong with these.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Benchmark
Ya.Ma 94, 26.10.2018
I bought this product for writing music, since I travel a lot and do not have the opportunity to carry monitors with me, this is a great alternative.I am very pleased with the quality of the goods, they sit very comfortably on my head, I don?t even feel that I have headphones on my head.The first time I use an open type of headphones and do not regret what I bought, now I can write music for 5 hours without a break, thank you very much.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
High ohm great advantage in these jobs
Pro db mixing & mastering service, 14.05.2019
the headset is a complete lottery. But you may leave the road; as the ohms decreases, the volume increases, thd increases, but as the ohm rises, the volume decreases, but thd decreases the sound, the cleaner comes and the restability increases.
With this logic, I preferred the 250 ohms version. I would prefer the 600 ohm version if it was in stock.
So I knew what to hear before buying the headset. I just couldn't guess the frequency response. Did not regret beyerdynamics.
The ears are airing because the sides are open. I don't think there's anything else as important as ear on a headset. Comfort is quite comfortable.
The upper frequencies are not harsh but the presence is pronounced.
The stereo field could have been a bit wider.
From the moment you wear it is very quiet and comfortable.
The lower frequencies are organic when listening from a speaker. Test benchmark made with dac1. I'm satisfied.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Rumors are true
SamiJ, 05.01.2018
It's as good as they say about these headphones. Best quality-price ratio in my opinion. Of course with about 6+ years old motherboards like mine, you need probably headphone amplifier to bring out the true potential what DT-990 Pro can produce.
Comfortable too and as the manufacturer says, its easy replace almost any part of the headphones if something breaks.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Schiit stack + DT-990 Pro
Mo Al, 29.05.2020
With the Schiit Stack (Magni + Modi), It's capable of 32 Bit/ 192K sample rate.

Beautiful piece, but do note the 250ohms needs an amp to fully work.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Awesome
05.03.2017
First time I'm using open back headphones and I totally recommend them. I'll never listen music to close back anymore. The close back are good for monitoring, but if I just wanna listen or record these are the best.
The build quality is great, not to mention that they are modular, so every part can be replaced, I didn't need that, but it's something worth mentioned.
Sound is very clear, and it's amazing the outside world can be perceived well enough while enjoying the headphones sound.
Especially helpful also for parents who whats to listen to quality music while keeping the ears on their kids too.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Top preis leistung!!
von Kennel, 26.11.2018
Eignen sich hervorragend als Referenz beim Mischen, absolut Spitze fuer den Preis!!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Symphony for the ears
First, 16.05.2017
Best headphones for homerecording - price versus quality. That unit has really balanced low and in my opinion not too clear high. It's many details in sound. What's more after few years of work I feel comfortable. This is best staff in this price range.

I recommend it so much! Have a nice mixs in your home studios!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Buy Quality
11.05.2016
I've had these headphones for 10 years and apart from some of the paint being faded on the ear cups they are in excellent condition.

I did buy new ear pads for them 2 years ago but 8 years out of one set isn't bad and I only replaced them because the foam was compressed a bit.

I have quite large ears so the cups touch them and it starts to annoy after about 3 hours or so but apart from that they are light, accurate, reliable headphones.

I had to buy my old boss a pair cause he kept borrowing mine!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Kupart, 06.02.2018
Great sound, the best I've heard. Durable and comfortable.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Super comfortable
22.04.2016
If there was a 6th star for comfort I would have given it, the velour cups on these headphones are so nice. These are a very honest sounding pair of headphones and I would definitely recommend them to anyone. I regularly use them for mixing when I can't use monitors. The only con is that they come with a soft bag, not a case. So if you're looking to travel and need them secure that might be a concern for you.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Amazing tone!
08.06.2016
Nice tone it realy is but my slightly large head is not enjoying the adjustable lengths, a bit wierd - adjusting lenght increases headroom but does not remove presure from your ears. Thankfully I dont use them too often for longer periods of time, so whenever I use `em I realy enjoy the sound and not having a fear of braking them. Nice set! I have both open and closed, both worth!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

beyerdynamic DT-990 Pro

$111 €99.14
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.

The price in USD is a guideline price only!

Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-33
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
(1)
Recently Viewed
Harley Benton Electric Guitar Kit CST-24T

Harley Benton Electric Guitar Kit CST-24T, ST Electric Guitar Kit; Body: Solidwood (wood color may vary) with Binding; Neck: Maple with Binding; Fingerboard: Amaranth; Neck Mount: Bolt On; Inlays: Dots; 24 Frets; Nut Width: 42 mm (1,65"); Scale: 635 mm...

(72)
Recently Viewed
Presonus AudioBox USB 96 Black

USB Interface 2 x 2 USB 2.0 interface 24-bit / 96 kHz, 2 Mic / instrument inputs: XLR combo jack, 2 Line outputs: 6.3 mm jack balanced, MIDI input and output, Stereo headphone output: 6.3 mm jack, USB 2.0...

Recently Viewed
Numark Mixtrack Platinum FX

4-Deck DJ Controller With jog wheel displays and performance pads per deck for access to cues, loops, faders, cuts and samples, Quick start effects with dual paddle triggers, 24 Bit audio output, 3-Band EQ and filter control for creating...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Source Audio SA 270 - One Series EQ2

Source Audio SA 270 - One Series EQ2 Programmable Equalizer; 10-band equalizer effects pedal, 10 adjustable frequency bands ranging from 31 Hz to 16 kHz with +/- 18 dB boost/cut for each band, parametric equalization capabilities to adjust the frequency...

Recently Viewed
Behringer CP1A

Behringer CP1A; power supply module for Eurorack systems; LED indicators for +12V, -12V and +5V rails; connectors for 2 flying bus boards; power rating: 1A (+12V) / 1A (-12V) / 0.5A (+5V); width: 4 HP; depth: 52mm: including: external power...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Celemony Melodyne 5 studio UD 4 studio

Pitch and Timing Correction Software and Plugin (download) Update from Celemony Melodyne 4 studio to Melodyne 5 studio Largely free processing of monophonic and polyphonic audio material at the frequency and time level in excellent sound...

Recently Viewed
Marshall Electronics VAC-23SHU3

Signal converter / converter SDI / HDMI to USB 3.0 Web presenter streamer, Converts SDI & HDMI signals to USB 3.0, The HDMI input also has an active loop-through output to loop the signal through, which can then be...

Recently Viewed
Marshall Stockwell II Black

Marshall Stockwell II Black Bluetooth Speaker, 2x 10 W Woofer, 2x 5W Tweeter, class D amplifier, bluetooth 5.0, Multi-Host-Funktion (simply switch between two bluetooth devices), frequency 60-20000 Hz, input: 1x 3,5mm stereo jack, controls: volume, bass & treble, upt to...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Mackie CR8S-X BT

Mackie CR8S-X BT; Active 8" Multimedia Subwoofer with Bluetooth wired Remote Control; Frequency Range: 40 Hz - 180 Hz (-3 dB); max. SPL: 112 dB; Amp: 200 Watt Class D; adjustable Crossover Frequency (40 Hz - 180 Hz); adjustable Input...

Recently Viewed
Harley Benton PowerPlant PowerBank+

High-end battery power supply for effects pedals Can be used as a power bank not only for effect pedals, but also for most of the multiple power supplies available on the market such as Harley Benton, Strymon, MXR, Palmer,...

Recently Viewed
Aputure AL-MX

Aputure AL-MX; compact bi-color head light; 5-step setting of temperature and brightness; Color temperature from 2800 K to 6500 K; Booster mode for 30% more output at the push of a button; built-in Li-ion battery can be charged via micro...

Recently Viewed
Turbosound TS-12W350/8W

Turbosound TS-12W350/8W, 12" Woofer, 8 Ohms, 350 Watts RMS, 1400 Watt Peak, 61 Hz - 3 kHz, SPL: 95 dB (1 W / 1 m), Rigid aluminum die-cast frame, Mounting hole diameter: 299 mm (11.77"), Overall Diameter: 316 mm (12.44"),...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.