beyerdynamic DT-990 Pro

1653 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.8 /5
  • sound
  • comfort
  • quality
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Great for the price but needs some tuning
Braddie, 25.08.2020
Let me preface by saying that I'm mostly and IEM guy due to the detail they can provide. However, my best IEM has been the Xiaomi Hybrid Pro HD. Despite not being a bass head I do think that bass is the base in music and usually provides the "body" of a song and is what adds energy to a song. I love being able to hear every single detail in a song as well. A tall order for 115 euro headphones I'm sure. I usually listen to (pop) punk, hardcore, hiphop and jazz and I also bought these for gaming. I tried on a ton of other headphones before trying these so I'll give you an overview of those quickly:

Sony MDR 7506: Not sure what the hype is about, these sounded so bad for me. Analytical but it hurt my ears listening to songs and didn't make for an enjoyable experience
Shure SRH 840: Ok but a bit muddy, also didn't like it that much, sounded worse than my Logitech G430 in my opinion.
AKG K245: These didn't sound too bad. Good bass and mids, highs sounded a bit harsh to me but so did most headsets. Probably the closest to the DT 990 Pro
AKG K275: Absolute trash. Don't even try it. I've seen some good reviews but wow this thing hurt my ears and was not fun to listen to at all.
AKG K361: Not bad but I didn't like the sound signature. Focused more towards vocals. I'd say between the K245 and K361 I'd go for the K245 which has a somewhat warmer sound
Audio Technica ATH-M40X: The sound was good, I preferred it over the M50X which sounded a bit more muddy to me. Build quality is really meh and comfort wise also not the best
Audio Technica ATH-M50X: Marginally better built than the M40x but didn't like the sound as much. Definitely warmer than the M40x, closer to the AKG K245 I'd say.
Audio Technica ATH-M60X: Really good sound for closed backs but the earpads were a bit on the small side. My ears barely fit inside and I can imagine these to be more like on-ears for some people.
Beyer Dynamics DT-770 Pro: Oh wow what a mess. I tried all the different versions and they all sounded like complete crap. Highs were piercing and the bass felt like it was all over the place and recessed. Definitely not a good experience. Would rate these like the AKG K275, terrible and I don't really see what the hype is about.
Beyer Dynamics DT-880 Pro: Overall good sounding headphones, pretty neutral but with a good tone. These sound similar to the DT-990 Pro but a bit warmer.
Sony Fidelio X2HR: Comfortable for my head but they sounded pretty muffled to me. I'd compare them to my cheap 5 euro pair of Xiaomi Piston which has a V-shape. The bass on these is a bit clearer but it's not something I'd listen to analytically. Good for hiphop but ultimately expensive for what they offer.

Beyer Dynamics DT-990 Pro/Edition: Wow, the only pair of headphones I tried on today which I wanted to take home with me. Sound wise nothing came close. Sound stage is wide (though I've heard wider) and imaging is good, it felt like I was at the performance. Bass is really good and detailed with some deep extension, but it's not loud. I don't know how to explain it properly but . Highs were crisp and detailed, not fatiguing at all. Mids were definitely recessed but nothing an EQ couldn't handle. I didn't find the highs piercing at all compared to most other headphones I tried but high hats kinda sound fatiguing. These headphones are good enough to pick up badly mastered songs.

Another user here described the sound as "but in absolute terms the sound is at best muffled -- thin, lacking in clarity, transient response and bass" and I do kind of agree with the headphones sounding a bit thin and veiled. In the first week I thought "wow yeah I can hear mostly every detail, even in the bass, but I'm not really having fun listening to my songs. It was lacking body/power in the bass. Yesterday I messed around with my PEACE EQ, added around 7dB to 39hz and 4dB to 78hz (with -3dB on the pre-amp), slightly lowered the highs and added a tiny bit of mids and WOW do these things come alive. The bass feels like a proper closed back now and I had so much fun listening to my songs that I stayed up until 05:00 in the morning just listening to my favorite songs. It's amazing for the genres I listen to and really shines with Jazz and hiphop now. After these EQ changes it also meant that I could listen at lower volumes because I wasn't chasing the bass and in turn made the sound less fatiguing. These can be driven by an iPhone 6S but it's not as good as using a dedicated dac/amp. I drive these with a Scarlett 2i2 2nd Gen.

Build quility wise the only thing that worries me about the Beyer Dynamics are the plastic sliders for head adjustment and no removable cable. Every Beyerdynamic in the store had cracked sliders. They're cheap to replace but still not the best design obviously. Comfort wise the Fidelio X2HR and the DT880 and DT990 Edition were better but these are a close 2nd. Clamping force is somewhat high but the pads are super comfortable (though my ears do touch the driver side). The coiled cable is heavy but feels sturdy enough.

Conclusion: Good headphones but need some EQ work to reach their full potential. If you need something for home use in the €50-€200 range I wouldn't hesitate to go for these over any of the other options, otherwise I'd recommend the Audio Technica ATH-M60X.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
They're Good
Alex Pintinho, 18.12.2020
They are a good pair of headphones, I recommend. Open sound and a lot of detail. I use headphones 99% of the time, when mixing and mastering and they do just fine.

I had a bit of an issue with my left speaker, it rattles a bit sometimes, and it is always the left channel, so I assume they came faulty, Thomman was able to replace them. Now I have an issue with the headphone jack, it is a bit dented, I must have moved away with the headphones on and damaged it. Probably my fault but as I said I always work with headphones for about 20 years now and this never happened to me before.

But I have to say that I am happy with them overall, they have a good sound and I am happy to work with them.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Great, but need tweaking for comfortable listening
Martijn-vdH, 16.06.2020
Use cases: Gaming, listening to different music genres, watching videos

The good:
- Build quality. It feels rugged for the most part, except the connection between the headband and the drivers.
- Replacement parts are super easy to find and readily available.
- The sound is, after tweaking EQ a bit, wonderful
- Comfortable, although not for too long in my experience. The head band starts to hurt my head after a while, just like the Edition version of these headphones did.
- Very nice soundstage. Not too wide, but everything can be pinpointed perfectly, whether it's enemies in games or elements in music/videos.

The bad:
- Non-detachable cable. The cable feels very sturdy though, but I like being able to switch between coiled/straight cables.
- The highs were so sharp they started to hurt my ears while listening. This can be reduced by tweaking the EQ a bit, but this is my main reason for returning them.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
ESESESES, 24.11.2020
I use them for recording and listening to music through my interface into my laptop. Soundwise they are great for the price and definietly fit my needs as a hobby-producer. The build quality is everything I could ask for so far (I've used them daily for 6 months) as they feel very sturdy and well made.

What I don't like, which is a big deal, is how they sit on my head. They hurt my ears almost immidietly and I get fatigue. I only use them for short periods at a time. I have small ears. However, I do believe this is very subjective. My ears and top of the head usually tend to hurt and itch from all headphones I've tried. My friend has the same headphones, and he doesn't experience this and use them all the time.

All in all, I believe this is the most price worthy studio head phones there are.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Excellent, naturalistic, non-fatiguing sound
Han-earl, 22.04.2020
I use these as a second pair for mixing, and for listening back to the master. These headphones have an excellent, naturalistic, non-fatiguing sound. So convincing that I have on one occasion forgotten that I was not listening through monitors (I accidentally walked away from my desk with the headphones still on my head).

Good for the initial mix, and for getting a good overview and sense of balance of the mix, but I suggest you may go elsewhere for surgical work. I prefer something like the Sony MDR-7506 for its ability to highlight the ugly, mid and high frequency range. Of course, being open-back, the spill means I would not recommended it for tracking.

Heavier than average, but the headband is comfortable; not being too tight while still secure over your head. Certainly more comfortable than the Sennheiser HD-25. Ear pads are a velour material which, while not exactly making for a sweat-free experience, at least isn't vinyl or fake-leather. I wouldn't like to use these in high-temperature, high-humidity environments, but I don't know of any headphones I would like to use in those conditions.

While the construction is a mix of plastic and metal, the only part that feel flimsy are the plastic ear cups, and not the first area that I would expect to get damaged physically.

Concerns? Cable noise does transfer to the earpads. And the tight, short coiled cable may or may not suite you (the weight of the cable is not insignificant on your head especially as it's only on attached on the left side). With an impedance of 250 Ohm, just make sure you are feeding it from a source with enough drive (for reference, my phone would not drive it, but, surprisingly, my old laptop has no problem with it). You should not, however, have any issues with most mixers or audio interfaces.

At this price point, I'm can't think of a better sounding pair of open-back headphones. Recommended for mixing and listening.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Value priced professional headphone
AliC, 22.03.2014
I bought this mainly for an extra reference of my mix. I have been researching and realised this is one of the headphone that is popular in the industry, with such price tag, I am happy to buy it and have a try.

Building quality:
Excellent built with metal components used for the size adjustment. This is important as I had a Shure SRH 1840, the plastic part means it breaks easily and i had that to be repaired in 6 months. But this one definitely would bot cause such issue.

Wearing comfortability
Very comfortable with soft ear pad, a lot better than AKG in this aspect, slightly tight at the beginning, but loosen after couple of weeks. No issue even after a long period of wearing.

Sound and response
I found this sound similar with the DT770 pro, except more soundstage and depth, very subtle, not as warm as 770 pro. I found 990 less coloured. Though it is a open designed, certainly the sound leakage is minimised. Compare to 880 pro, i would say 880 pro is more neutral sound. So 990 is some where in between.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Amazing for Mixing. Not for all-round listening.
Gear Dabbler , 17.05.2020
The sound and clarity between layers is phenomenal. I'm a complete rookie with this kind of stuff, and doubted how there can be such thing as headphones designed specifically for mixing. Once I put these on my head I understood. I didn't really enjoy listening to music on them over my low-grade Sony WH-CH700N, but they will certainly be used for mixdowns and analytical listening.

Build quality is great. No aspect of it feels cheap.

Not as comfortable for me as I've heard from other reviewers. Again, my Sony WH-CH700N's are way more comfortable. DT's hurt my head after wearing for a while. They are also very clunky so not suitable to ever have around your neck.

So yeah. Great once used for what they are made for.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Tcha , 08.05.2020
overall great phones.. comfortable, pretty good sounding..
doesn't stop outside noises though ..
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
GOOD reputation, and for GOOD reason.
HaKaryan , 19.10.2020
I use them for mixing vocals , and LONG editing sessions,
and the reason i got them was "ear fatigue" , and in that area they shine! they are super comfortable, not too heavy, and as they are open back, you really can feel every tiny nuance of an effect you add to the chain. i am able to edit out reverbs so much better with them, and , i can go for longer sessions .
for the price? amazing value, a must have in the studio.
a bit of cons: the cable is very rigid and not detachable, which is ok i guess for just desk work, but maybe with time the cable will soften up. i hope:) They are 250 OHM , and they require every bit of it, they are almost always on 9 (out of 10) , and my interface headphones amp can easily drive a 250 ohm headphones, (i have other 250 ohm headphones that are MUCH louder) so i will say these headphones are "gain hungry:"
But, as opposed to the dt 1990 that cost 4 times as much, this is an amazing value , and you should consider them as your main mixing/mastering/editing set.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Momin, 03.06.2020
It's probably one of the most comfortable headphones I've ever had, feels light to wear it. I do however have a problem when it comes to mixing, everything sounds deceptively great, then I check the sound on other devices (speakers, other headphones) and it's somewhat horrible. So I always have to go back and forth until I get it right.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Okay for the price
Ampelia, 12.08.2020
I bought these for a friend and had the chance to use them for a few hours. I can only compare them to the Sony MDR-7509HD which I have for more than a decade and am very fond of (granted, they're of another price range but they're closed-back and of almost 2 decades old technology).

Good things first -- build quality is quite good, accessories are nice and the fact ear pads are replaceable is very useful in the long run. Too bad the cable isn't removable but given their price I think it's reasonable. Comfort-wise they felt okay, maybe a bit stiff on the ears but they were steady and you always felt like you could move around. Lastly, as an open-back design, it felt like they still provided some isolation from the environment and didn't spill too much as well.

Next, the not-so-good things -- well, I just can't relate at all with the remarks by others here about the clarity or balance of these headphones. They sound okay for the price, I guess, but in absolute terms the sound is at best muffled -- thin, lacking in clarity, transient response and bass. I didn't crank them up, so I don't know if they distort at high levels. I also felt they weren't revealing enough -- a couple of tracks I know exhibit subtle mid-range distortion in a couple of places just didn't come through. The amp I used was a Drawmer MC2.1 monitor controller, but like I said, sound-wise I'm comparing to the excellent Sonys which sound great on that amp (actually, anywhere I've used them all these years), so YMMV.

Ultimately, their biggest advantage is their price and potential longevity due to replaceable ear pads, but they just don't have a sound I'd call usable in any serious context.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Loudness voiced
Pofa, 22.08.2019
Very confortable and well build.
For my personal taste I don't like very much how is voiced. Some emphasis around 100Hz and all above 4000Hz, while the middle range 500-2000 is scooped. So is pleasant, a little dark but not (for me) a good reference for mixing.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Careful of Ohms in terms of volume, boosting the lows and highs a little
Ruffenbark Woofington, 03.05.2017
These are fine, but you're not going to get super loud without a headphone amp, not a problem yet, but will be at some stage when im really trying to hone in on a sound.These weren't as loud as I had thought they'd be because I hadn't educated myself on Ohm's, someone buying could do with a cheap headphone amp

Also, if you're looking for flat response, go for the 770's. I'd read on the forum these were the job (for mixing), but now know they colour the sound at the low and high end of the spectrum a wee bit. This can serve a purpose too, but bear in mind these are the 'fun' headphones in this range. As I said, go for the 770's if you want it flat.

Super comfy, shocked at the comfort level. I've no frame of reference except cheap Sony mdr v-150's, but wow!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
great sound, headset on heavier side
lucadit, 18.09.2020
soundwise really great.
preferring lightness of DT 330 mk2.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Extremely Comfortable Headphones
07.06.2014
You could wear these headphones for weeks, and you won't feel any discomfort. Sound quality is great, reproduces the sub bass frequencies very well, and also has balanced mids.

Having owned these headphones for almost 3 years, they wore out after heavy use after 2 years, with the left ear phone rattling on sub bass frequencies below 60Hz. Unfortunately this seems to be a general issue on many forums!

Other than that great pair of headphones!
5 stars for comfort
5 stars for sound
3 stars for durability
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Slightly unbalanced
Blickfanger, 21.12.2010
Overall the sound of these headphones is pretty good and nicely detailed. The openness is very pleasant and the built quality is fine. However, I find the low end overblown, meaning that it sounds as if someone has upped the level of the subwoofer. So I give this headphone to people who need to be impressed with fat lows. For my own mixing and mastering needs I have acquired a Sennheiser HD800 instead. This is in a totally different price class of course, but it is also in a totally different sound quality class. Especially when used with a good headphone amplifier, like Violectric HPA V200 or SPL Phonitor.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Good headphones but..
Erkan D., 10.11.2013
These were my very first headphones for studio work. Albeit my studio is just a home studio, I still required something to mix in since my room was untreated. At first, I had trouble with the bass frequencies because these headphones handled them very well. And by that I mean there was simply too little lows in them, which made me crank out some more lows in the mix. But it didn't translate well on other sound systems, and I could tell I had mixed with too much bass. However, once I got used to this, I was able to compensate for it and my mixes turned a LOT better.

I actually managed to mix a whole metal album with these cans, and once I learned how they work, I mixed quite well. All the people I know who heard the album said it sounded great. It's thanks to these cans.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Good professional product
Elen_Cr, 11.01.2020
Good sound quality, high reliability. It is not very convenient to work for a long time - heavy headphones, fatigue quickly accumulates.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Studio grade product
Rockmanstar, 22.11.2019
Very good in quality and sound. One disadvantage is a twisted wire. It gives you some level of discomfort pulling your head aside once the wire is highly-strung. I wish I could replace it to a straight wire.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Evaluation of DT990 PRO
30.11.2016
Extremely comfortable,very sensitive to any changes of incoming signal,great low end ...BUT...NOT good for mixing or mastering.If you are listening favorite show they will be great,but if you want linear,studio monitoring they will disappoint you ,especially the hi end is so inappropriate that even hurt.Probably beatmakers can use it because of nice low end.Good for specific work,but not for studio mixing because of missing middle and weird hi end.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Goodwilly, 25.03.2021
First in first I tried them for mixing and ... sorry Bayedynamic, but they are absolutely unbalanced in region of "S" sounds (5-8 kHz), so sounds to harsh and prickly in this area. Low frequecies are strong and little undetailed. Stereo scene is not as big as in AKG k702, but still big enough to listen to music of any genre.
DT990 is a very good headphone in this price range and their popularity is absolutely understandable, but for mixing/mastering ... they are far away from reference type of headphone.
For any other purpose U can find frequency response they reproduce is fantastic, so just try it and judge them in Urself!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

beyerdynamic DT-990 Pro

$129
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-33
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Online Guides
Headphones
Headphones
Headphones are basics for any studio or DJ. But not all headphones are created equal.
Online Guides
Home Recording
Home Recording
Home Recording can be very complicated. We're here to offer some advice!
 
 
 
 
 
Download
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
11
(11)
Recently Viewed
Audient iD4 MKII

USB-C Audio Interface 24 bit / 44.1 - 96 kHz, ADC dynamic range: 121 dB, DAC dynamic range: 126 dB, @Class A Audient console microphone preamplifier, Mic Gain 58 dB,

Recently Viewed
Alesis Nitro Expansion Pack

Expansion set for Alesis Nitro Mesh Kit Consist of 1x 10" One-Zone Pad and 1x 08" ON zones Tom Pad, Includes necessary rack clips, cymbal holder, L-rods and cables

Recently Viewed
L.R.Baggs Voiceprint DI

Impulse Response di pedal for acoustic guitar Voiceprint DI measures the acoustic response of your guitar by leveraging the processing power of your iPhone® to accurately capture your guitar’s one-of-a-kind voice., Notch filter, Anti-feedback function, Phase circuit, Serial FX…

Recently Viewed
Fender Dhani Harrison Ukulele Tq

Tenor Ukulele with Pickup Dhani Harrison Signature Model, Size: 3/4, Top: solid Ovangkol, Back and sides: Ovangkol, Neck: NATO, Fretboard: Ovangkol, Phases of the moon fretboard inlays, Back with engraving, Nut width: 35 mm (1.375"), 19 Frets, Pickup with…

Recently Viewed
Otamatone Neo White

Otamatone Neo, Electronic sound toy / synthesizer, standard size, selection of various sounds via new studio smart phone app, cross link of smart phone and Otamatone via cable, power plug for external power supply, stereo headphone jack, volume adjustable, playing…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
iZotope Spire Studio 2nd Generation

iZotope Spire Studio 2nd Generation; mobile recording studio with lithium-ion battery (up to 4 hours runtime); 2 tracks can be recorded simultaneously; up to 8 tracks per project can be played back; recording format: 24-bit / 48 kHz; up to…

Recently Viewed
Sonor SS 1000 Snare Stand

Sonor SS 1000 Snare Stand, 1000 hardware series, gearless basket adjustment, double braced, stable rubber foots,

Recently Viewed
Endorphin.es Ground Control

Endorphin.es Ground Control; Eurorack module; performance sequencer; 24-pads keyboard for realtime programming; USB-B port and MIDI in/out for using external MIDI devices and DAW integration; 3 melodic tracks with CV/Gate outputs; 8 drum tracks with trigger outputs; 24 pattern per…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Sonarworks SoundID Reference Headphon EDU

Sonarworks SoundID Reference for Headphones EDU (ESD); headphone calibration plugin; Educational version: requires proof of eligibility; adjusts the frequency response to get a flat and neutral sounding headphone; enables a more precise evaluation of recordings and mixes when using an…

Recently Viewed
Electro Harmonix Ripped Speaker Fuzz

Electro Harmonix Ripped Speaker Fuzz; Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar & Bass; low Fuzz settings emulate Vintage Lo-Fi Distortion Sounds created by a Razor Blade applied to a Speaker Cone, a loose Tube or a faulty channel on a Recording…

Recently Viewed
Otamatone Neo Black

Otamatone Neo, Electronic sound toy / synthesizer, standard size, selection of various sounds via new studio smart phone app, cross link of smart phone and Otamatone via cable, power plug for external power supply, stereo headphone jack, volume adjustable, playing…

Recently Viewed
Zoom PodTrak P4

Podcasting Recorder Four microphone inputs (XLR, P48V phantom power switchable), Four headphone outputs with individual volume controls (3.5mm stereo jack), Gain control and mute button per input, Mix minus function for automatic feedback suppression for incoming calls, Connection of…

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.