Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 3rd Gen

1044 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.8 /5
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
About linuxsupport
born to be root, 20.04.2020
I bought this device because its predecessor had a pretty good reputation in the linux world. While the 2i2 2nd Gen seemes to have worked right out of the box under linux operating systems, this is no longer the case with the 3rd generation. One can get it working, though.

The problem is that the 2i2 3rd gen ships in mass storage mode. So when you plug it into your computer the first time, it appears like a usb drive and is not usable as a soundcard. It needs to be set into its operational mode before you can actually use it, which is done using Focusrite's control software. But sadly the software is only available for windows and mac. So I had to go to my parents place, plug my scarlett into their old windows pc and download the necessary software from Focusrite, which then performed a firmware update on the device and set it into "sound card mode". After the firmware update the scarlett worked without further configuration on my Arch Linux laptop.

I don't know if there are other ways to set the device into operation mode, so if you don't have access to a windows or mac computer, I would advise against buying this audio interface.

Although, when you got it working, it seems to be a pretty good audio interface and i had no problems so far. Nice sound, very low background noise, good latencies, and I like the direct monitoring feature. I really don't need the 'Air' feature, but that might just be a matter of taste.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great price for what it can do
Bunny Power, 24.04.2021
It's no wonder that the scarlett 2i2 3rd gen has become one of the most popular options for low budget content creators today.
for its humble price not only does it pack more pre-amp power then the competitos withinin the pricerange, it offers great functionality aswell.
with the mono and stereo hardware monitor built at the front, you can easily adjust your own volumes
and with the combojacks at the front u can easily plug in 2 mics or two instruments to get going with some crazy sound effects!
i was afraid because of the image here on thomann because i thought it looked like the hull was made out of plastic and the whole thing looked a bit flimsy... well its not
when u get this thing home youll see it has a darker red colour and is made of metal/aluminium and doesnt look at all like a plastic toy
i recomend this product 4/5 stars
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
denisldniv1995@gmail.com
Denis Ledenev, 28.03.2021
The sound card is made of very high quality, which hardly anyone would argue about.
I had to work with her many times in the recording studio, and I was always happy with the result. This sound card is suitable for both music writing and voice recording.

Very user-friendly and stylish interface. The LED lights look really cool.
A reliable metal case will help you keep your sound interface for a long time, I personally made sure of its strength several times :)

If you really value good quality, then this sound card in this price segment will be the best choice for a musician.

Perfectly writes sound from all inputs (Line / Instr.) Very pleased with the headphone switching engine, either only the sound from the computer, or also the sound of the recorded instrument. It is also very convenient that the channel overload indicators are located in the body, it is convenient to adjust the microphone sensitivity. Of course, phantom power is pleasant (it is still not available on all audio cards). The assembly and appearance are completely beyond praise. Very robust aluminum body, and precisely fitted parts. In general, the view is very presentable and "expensive". A wonderful device that is firmly fixed on the desktop
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Time to create some music
CrackTail, 25.11.2020
So you wanted to start creating your music or record some instruments. Well good for you because this red brick can do just that and more.
Great input, Great protection, doesn't break just like nokia3310, the design is very nice, the box is smaller than my phone and i can share my awful taste of music now to even 1 more person.
After full day of recording and trying to sound like the bands i listen to, i actually make a good song and go to sleep, happy to progress further tomorrow. Well tomorrow comes and i realize how bad everything sounds. I try to mix everything perfectly only to now sound like from some cave underground homeless guy playing with a flute in my nose.
10/10 would throw this brick at my neighbour's window again
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Super Happy!
Jonas Lange, 02.04.2021
I'm using this audio interface with my XLR microphone and my electric guitar, to simulate amplifiers in Cakewalk TH3. I'm extremely happy with it. Everything feels and looks high quality and the controls are intuitive. There's nothing bad to say about the sound, playing guitar in TH3 feels like it's straight through an amp, no delay whatsoever and a great full sound. All together an amazing product that does what it's designed for extremely well while looking good. I don't really know much about audio, but it's very user friendly and pretty much self explainatory in all aspects.

The only thing I had missed was that the headphone output is a 6,35mm (1/4 inch") jack and the interface does not come with an adapter for 3.5mm Headsets. Audiophiles probably have those laying around everywhere, or 6.35mm jacks on their headphones to begin with. As I'm just getting started with music, I had to buy one. Not an issue, they're less than an euro, just something worth mentioning. Other than that, zero issues.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Crackling and other issues in Windows 10
schnitzel0, 10.09.2020
TL;DR: crackling and popping audio in Windows. Threads complaining about this problem dating back years with no clear fix. Solution involves fiddling with obscure Windows settings until something works.

I got this to record guitar and I made it my daily driver for audio so as to not constantly switch between pairs of headphones. Got a dedicated mic to use with it.

There is noticeable crackle during audio playback in Windows 10, and there are users complaining about this on the internet for years at this point. I don't know what fixed it for me, I had to fiddle endlessly with sample rate, buffer size and a bunch of obscure Windows settings hidden behind several layers of menus.

Besides this, friends sometimes complain that my mic sounds bad or even static-y or robotic in Discord.

All of these issues are unacceptable for a piece of gear that is supposed to be used for serious audio work.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Popular for a reason
Roemer, 25.04.2021
This is the best audio interface you are able to get at this price point, end of. As a producer, I was blown away by the amount of software that is included with this product, addictive keys and splice for free! It doesn't get much better than that. Cant come up with anything that is wrong with this product, I can 1000% recommend this to anyone in the market for an audio interface!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Ton-Unterbrechungen
canbay, 22.03.2021
Es gibt Tonunterbrechungen in Kombination mit Macbook Pro (Big Sur 11.2.3/ 3.1GHz i7 16GB DDR3).
Ein Ticket bei Focusrite hat leider nichts gebracht. Die Reaktion war eine Standardreaktion, wie z.B. aktualisiere Treiber, versuche Direkt-Monitoring. In meiner Ticketbeschreibung habe ich deutlich erwähnt das ich diese Standardaktionen durchgeführt habe.
Meine Erwartung wäre z.B. gewesen, das ich durch irgendeine Einstellung eine Log-Datei generiere und diese wird vom Hersteller analysiert.
Anscheinend funktioniert das Produkt in anderen Konstellationen .. ist ja sehr beliebt.
Leider musste ich es zurückschicken.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Worth the Price
Ibanez S521-MOL Review, 10.11.2020
TL;DR Version:
Pros:
1. Affordable
2. Solid Build Quality
3. Great Sound Quality and Control

Con:
1. Fingerprint Magnet

Non-TL;DR Version:
I was debating whether I'd purchase a Solo or a 2i2, but after watching and reading reviews, the 2i2 is definitely more future-proof of the two considering its input capacity.

This is my first time trying out and finally owning an audio interface, so I have no further comments except for its great sound and build quality (especially with the rubber stoppers at the bottom to avoid slippage). While not much of a big deal, the body is sort of like a fingerprint magnet and may require additional effort to clean after use.

Software installation was hassle-free, and works great with Reaper. I bought an Ibanez S521-MOL, and it sounds amazing with it.

To anyone who would want to purchase this product, you would probably want a headphone jack adapter (3.5mm to 1/4) as well.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Potis kratzen nach einem halben Jahr schon
kartoffel_enthusiast, 17.02.2021
Das Produkt ist in sich super - Sound ist TOP, der Treiber läuft auf macOS sowie Windows rund in die Mitgelieferte Software ist auch ein nette plus.

Aber ich kann kein Produkt empfehlen, dass nach so kurzer Zeit (6 Monaten) bereits ein Kratzen auf den Potis der Kopfhörer und der Mic-Eingänge aufweist. Nach 12 Monaten ist das jetzt so stark, dass ich eine retoure beantragt habe. Es ist normal das eines Tages das anfängt, Analoge Hardware hält nicht für immer, aber mein Vorgänger, der Steinberg UR22 mk2 hat es mehr als 4 Jahre ohne kratzen geschafft.

Produkt ist an sich mega, aber solche billigen potis kann man nicht vertreten.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Solid.
Magdowich, 23.02.2021
You have already watch lots of review so i just want to tell you some different -not general- pros and cons :D
Cons:
3 color signal level parameter not that useful
you only have one phantom power button for two channels
there isnt typec to type c cable in the box, it isnt thunderbolt or usb 3 device, it is USB2.0 audio interface with USB-C connection.
headphones knob is too close to monitor volume knob -little hard to reach sometimes-
pros:
dedicated volume knob for headphones
smaller than last gen -on size-
looks and feels solid
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Happy that I finally have something that suits my long-term needs!
Guy Declerck, 29.04.2021
I used to own a Tascam that did the job, then I went to the Audient iD14 because I heard great things about the audio. But it was so complicated to have Direct Monitoring on the Audient! I struggled to find out how to have DM in general and I'm glad I just bought the carlett 2i2 instead.
I used it to record guitars, bass, acoustic and vocals and I'm sure I'll continue using it for a long time! The options for Direct Monitoring are right in front of you which was important for me to record D.I stuff late at night! Over the moon with this interface for this price!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
ro f, 25.12.2020
I like excellent sound quality, simple design and low price
I don't like Quick start Tool - online registration which unlocks device and makes it fully operational
Registration process is anything but quick
I think it is overkill for such simple and cheap device and I would be much more satisfied if it was plug an play
I don't like USB C to USB A cabel and USB C plug on rear panel because they don't feel robust
I have cracking noise on windows OS when using sample rate higher then 48 kHz
For home recording it is a good choice so I'm satisfied
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Easy to use and excellent sound
Aruvarr, 14.02.2021
Upgraded to this one from Scarlet 2i2 1st generation after 8 years !
Build is good and ergonomic rock.
Use it for XLR Audiotehnika 2035 mic and recording guitar/instruments. AIR button adds really good charm to sound and voice similar to 4k Enhancement effect.

Good for working with sound as starting point to pro.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great Audio Interface!
CaptainObviouslyLame, 12.02.2021
I bought this so I could record my guitar, it works perfectly as advertised, I had slight issues with gain but it was fixed by installing the drivers. Very easy to use, I recommend!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
first class product, beautifully made
SaylingLow, 15.03.2021
Impeccable audio quality, easy controls well laid out in a solid case.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
What more could you want?
Ross B, 27.02.2021
This thing is perfect for my needs.

I can't imagine why you'd look at anything more expensive if you only need two inputs!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Recording guide tracks and opera singers, teaching voice online
HeldenFurlong, 21.12.2020
I use the 2i2 almost daily (that's a lot for an acoustic musician). Downloading the software was without any problems.

Its ease of use for live stereo recording is fantastic (both of myself with pianist and other singers). For recording guide tracks, direct monitoring is so useful and it gives a clear representation of the sound being recorded. It's simple yet elegant and has worked great with Reaper and GB.

For teaching online I use the direct monitoring to clearly hear myself with headphones on (for less vocal fatigue while teaching for hours a day).

The only con I have is that the USB-C connection socket is on the back of the box and the cable isn't really long enough for some circumstances. But that's being a real nitpick.

Make sure you get the cables you need for mics and a headphone plug adaptor (3.5mm-6.35mm (1/4")).
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Very good quality
Ivo T., 19.02.2021
Fast delivery, and good product quality. The description perfectly matches the delivered item.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Perfect for home studio
Mgold.music, 09.02.2021
For GTR or Voc it's the best interface for this price!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
considered best interface on a low budget
MoonCat, 30.03.2021
awesome all round, widely considered the best interface on a budget. many reviews both online and on youtube. that's why i bought also a friend had one and it sounded amazing. plus free 3 year warranty here on thomann. which is pretty rare these days. with almost unbeatable prices. 99% of the time.

the only reason i gave 4 stars for features is it doesn't have a midi in and out. but is available on the model up
so what are you waiting for!!!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 3rd gen
theincredibleme, 30.03.2020
I bought this to record my bass during quaratinte because i couldn't go to the studio anymore .
And my first thaught was " why didn't i buy this 10 years ago" such a revelation to be able to record yourself so clearly , helps me a lot for my techniques ( specially avoiding fretbuz and muting in general) . Also great recording tool and great software that comes with it.
I picked ableton and am very satisfied with it.

so if you consider buying this , stop hesitating.

br,
Matthias
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Couldnt get sound after 30 mins of installing
norila, 23.11.2020
I really wanted to love this soundcard as I had a 2i4 gen 2 for many years BUT after 30 mins, I could not get sound out of this card.

To be clear, I have been a hobby producer for 10 years and have had over 7 different audio interfaces through the years and this was the first one that I could not get to work.

On macos mojave, I was able to get the inputs to work but not the outputs. After messing around with drivers, reboots, etc. I just gave up and put it back in the box.

Plugged my Behringer 404hd back in and it worked. Also tested Motu M2, NI Audio 2 and these worked as expected (plug and play in macos). I really wanted to love this card but just had too much trouble.

I saw a few others had the same problem and assumed they did something wrong. I guess I am in that camp now!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Nothing bad to say about this product
kilovanni, 20.01.2021
I bought this interface to be able to plug my instruments to my PC for recording and monitoring. I run a Linux-based distribution on my PC and was a bit scared if this product would work out of the box or not. To my surprise, it worked right away, just plug-and-play! No setup or needlessly complicated setups needed. Works like a charm with Ardour and Audacity with JACK as the audio backend.

Would 100% recommend if you are looking for an audio interface that works with Linux-based operating systems!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Satisfied Customer!
Jayvi, 13.10.2020
Originally, my plan is to use it in my Bass Guitar recording for my YouTube channel, but was so happy when I can even use it in my livestreaming and be able to connect my condenser mic and my band audio thru focusrite. I am satisfied with sound quality.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 3rd Gen

$149
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Online Guides
Computer Based Studios
Computer Based Studios
This article will look at how to integrate a computer into different studio environments, and will highlight the issues of functionality and connectivity.
Online Guides
Recording E-Guitars
Recording E-Guitars
Our aim is to explain the basic process of recording the electric guitar!
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
2
(2)
Recently Viewed
MOTU UltraLite mk5

USB 2.0 Audio Interface With USB C connector, ESS Sabre32 Ultra DAC technology, 24 Bit / 44.1 - 192 kHz, Precise level meters for all analogue inputs/outputs with high-resolution OLED display, 2 Microphone / line / Hi-Z inputs via…

Recently Viewed
Line6 Relay G10TII Transmitter

Line6 Relay G10TII Transmiiter, 2,4 GHz plug and play Wireless transmitter for Relay G10 systems or Spider V series from Spider V 60, with internal receiver, audio frequency range 10 - 20.000 Hz, automic frequency setup, 118 dB SPL max.,…

Recently Viewed
Kawai KDP-120 B

Kawai KDP-120 B Digital Piano - 88 weighted keys, RH-CII keyboard and Harmonic Imaging (HI), three sensors, 88-key piano sampling, 15x sounds, Shigeru Kawai SK-EX sound, Shigeru Kawai SK-EX concert grand piano sound with new low balance volume feature, which…

Recently Viewed
IK Multimedia UNO Synth Pro Desktop

Analog synthesizer Paraphonic analog synthesizer with step sequencer, arpeggiator and effects section, Three wave morphing oscillators with PWM, sync, frequency and ring modulation, dual state variable filter with 24 modes, amplifier, Original OTA filter from the UNO Synth as…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Roli Lumi 1 Snapcase Black

Roli Lumi 1 Snapcase Black; sturdy and magnetic cover around the LUMI Keys for a slim and seamless fit; protects the LUMI Keys during transport and storage; easily folds into a stand for mobile devices; dimensions (W x D x…

Recently Viewed
Harley Benton TableAmp V2 BlueTooth

Harley Benton TableAmp V2 BlueTooth, compact amplifier with great features for play-along and sing-along with streamed music using the integrated Bluetooth feature, ideal for acoustic guitar, ukulele, electric guitar, vocals and music, 30 watt RMS, 1x 5" bass woofer +…

2
(2)
Recently Viewed
Line6 Pod GO Wireless

Line6 Pod GO Wireless; Multi Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar; over 300 effects and models from Helix, M-Series and Legacy products, up to 6 simultaneous amp, cab, and effects models including a looper and a speaker cabinet simulation (Third-Party IR…

Recently Viewed
SSL 500-Series SiX Channel

Solid State Logic 500-Series SiX Channel; Channel Strip; with SuperAnalogue mic preamp and 5-way LED indicator; +48V phantom power; with phase and HPF switches; separate instrument/line input on front panel with Hi-Z switch (1MO); switchable 2-band EQ with bell and…

2
(2)
Recently Viewed
Otamatone Neo White

Otamatone Neo, Electronic sound toy / synthesizer, standard size, selection of various sounds via new studio smart phone app, cross link of smart phone and Otamatone via cable, power plug for external power supply, stereo headphone jack, volume adjustable, playing…

Recently Viewed
Arturia Pigments 3

Arturia Pigments 3 (ESD); virtual synthesizer; four sound engines with variable sound sources; Harmonic Engine with up to 512 partials; Wavetable Engine with a total of 164 wavetables; Utility Engine with sub-oscillator and two noise sample layers; Jup-8 V4 low-pass…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Korg SQ-64

Polyphonic Step Sequencer with 4 Tracks 3 Melody tracks with 8-fold polyphony and 16 patterns of 64 steps each, Drum track with 16 monophonic sub-tracks, 64-Key matrix with illuminated buttons, OLED display, Editing modes per melody track: gate, pitch…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Otamatone Neo Black

Otamatone Neo, Electronic sound toy / synthesizer, standard size, selection of various sounds via new studio smart phone app, cross link of smart phone and Otamatone via cable, power plug for external power supply, stereo headphone jack, volume adjustable, playing…

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.