Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 3rd Gen

2277 Customer ratings

4.8 / 5

You have to be logged in to rate products.

Note: To prevent ratings from being based on hearsay, smattering or surreptitious advertising we only allow ratings from real users on our website, who have bought the equipment from us.

After logging in you will also find all items you can rate under rate products in the customer centre.

handling

features

sound

quality

1208 Reviews

Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 3rd Gen
$105
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.
In stock
In stock

This product is in stock and can be shipped immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
1
bt
About linuxsupport
born to be root 20.04.2020
I bought this device because its predecessor had a pretty good reputation in the linux world. While the 2i2 2nd Gen seemes to have worked right out of the box under linux operating systems, this is no longer the case with the 3rd generation. One can get it working, though.

The problem is that the 2i2 3rd gen ships in mass storage mode. So when you plug it into your computer the first time, it appears like a usb drive and is not usable as a soundcard. It needs to be set into its operational mode before you can actually use it, which is done using Focusrite's control software. But sadly the software is only available for windows and mac. So I had to go to my parents place, plug my scarlett into their old windows pc and download the necessary software from Focusrite, which then performed a firmware update on the device and set it into "sound card mode". After the firmware update the scarlett worked without further configuration on my Arch Linux laptop.

I don't know if there are other ways to set the device into operation mode, so if you don't have access to a windows or mac computer, I would advise against buying this audio interface.

Although, when you got it working, it seems to be a pretty good audio interface and i had no problems so far. Nice sound, very low background noise, good latencies, and I like the direct monitoring feature. I really don't need the 'Air' feature, but that might just be a matter of taste.
quality
features
handling
sound
78
8
Report

Report

W
I don't know why this is the standard
Windowscrashed 08.02.2023
It sounds really good, when it works. I've had more problems with this than with a Behringer almost 1/3 the price. It's sounds just a little better, but not enough to justify the jump in price. The software isn't much better, it randomly decides what your sample rate is, protools at 48Khz? now it's there until you change it. Even if you change the default it will just stay at whatever the program put it at. The Behringer always switches back to what it was at before the program was opened. The buffer needs to be at least 512 or it'll start shitting, sometimes even needing 1024. Behringer needs only 256. The volume pot has started to crackle and pop after less than a year of use and these are known for being hard to service or even get inside.
No pad function, so no high level recording (a problem with some vintage equipment). The buttons are all "digital" if you unplug it and plug it in again your settings will have changed back to default instead of keeping it wherever you had it. I've heard a lot of people speak highly of the product but was very disappointed. I would not recommend this to anyone.
quality
features
handling
sound
6
4
Report

Report

M
Easy to use - works with iPad - sounds great
Martz 07.02.2022
As a beginner in the studio (but not with music), I needed a simple to use 2-channel interface that I could use for electric bass, electric guitar, mic’d classical guitar and vocals. This does it all and translates into a clean (very low noise) recording. IOS has so many really great value recording apps that it was also really important to me that it worked with my ipad. It did - no problems at all. Very happy and don’t feel like I need an upgrade.
quality
features
handling
sound
5
2
Report

Report

v
Massive issues with sound
vvv88 04.12.2022
This device has an annoying issues with sound. Permanent cracks, clicks and other noises while playing guitar if you have some other source of sound such as backing track. And it has problems not only with using its mic and guitar interfaces but with just common use cases such as watching Youtube and playing games. After a short period of time the sound starts to double itself and lag behind the video. If I switch to another audio interface that problem disappears but after switching back to Scarlett it pops up again. I've tried all sample rate and buffer size combinations, reinstall audio drivers and other advices from the Internet but there is no difference, the problem remains the same.
I had a Scarlett solo 2nd gen and it had the similar issue with cracks but that problem was solved just by plugging it in the USB 3.0 interface. But guess what? This new 3rd gen does not support USB 3.0. It is not recognized by the Windows 10 if it plugged in USB 3.0.
quality
features
handling
sound
2
3
Report

Report

A
A great straightforward product to get started
Anonymous 08.02.2023
I needed an audio interface in order to be able to record vocals for songs I've been producing as well as having a more stable connection for monitoring and mixing. I'm a beginner to everything but have found that the Focusrite was the perfect choice.

You won't get too far if you're into analog recording because you only have 2 inputs in this model, but if you're looking to produce music digitally with a DAW, this model is great.

Additionally, I found very useful all the bundled software and benefits that you get when you buy this product. You have access to the Lite version of Ableton and Pro Tools, which are the standard softwares for digital and live music production respectively. On top of that, there's lots of samples and packs to get your creative juices flowing!
quality
features
handling
sound
2
0
Report

Report

L
best choice
Lianaut 07.04.2022
If you know what you need and you are used to the Focusrite, then it is a good product for you. It handles everything perfectly, works as described.
quality
features
handling
sound
1
0
Report

Report

JL
Super Happy!
Jonas Lange 02.04.2021
I'm using this audio interface with my XLR microphone and my electric guitar, to simulate amplifiers in Cakewalk TH3. I'm extremely happy with it. Everything feels and looks high quality and the controls are intuitive. There's nothing bad to say about the sound, playing guitar in TH3 feels like it's straight through an amp, no delay whatsoever and a great full sound. All together an amazing product that does what it's designed for extremely well while looking good. I don't really know much about audio, but it's very user friendly and pretty much self explainatory in all aspects.

The only thing I had missed was that the headphone output is a 6,35mm (1/4 inch") jack and the interface does not come with an adapter for 3.5mm Headsets. Audiophiles probably have those laying around everywhere, or 6.35mm jacks on their headphones to begin with. As I'm just getting started with music, I had to buy one. Not an issue, they're less than an euro, just something worth mentioning. Other than that, zero issues.
quality
features
handling
sound
5
0
Report

Report

L
Junk!
Loadiam 20.05.2023
I have had two Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 3rd Gens in less than two years. My first one had faulty USB solder connection leading the device to drop in an out every time I bumped my desk or the audio interface. Thomann being total legends sent me a new one no questions asked.

The second one was a not faulty, but I have had annoying audio issues on four separate computers ever since. Crackling, buzzing, dropping out, robotic feedback the lot. Contacted Focusrite directly, they gave me some demo drivers which helped for a little while, back all the issues came back. They have not offered to take the device in and service it. Communication just fizzled out and now I am left with an expensive red box taking up space on my bookshelf.

I tried full computer reinstalls, different USB cables, lengths, connection points, speeds etc. Different drivers for chipset, graphics, everything. When it worked the audio interface was great, when it did not it was a nightmare.

I bought a UA Volt 2 just to make sure I was not going mad, to make sure the issues were not my computers and I have had zero issues in the last month. I was going to buy the Volt 2 in the beginning, I could have saved myself a whole lot of time and money if I had done just that in the first place.

I would not recommend a Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 3rd Gen to my worst enemy.
quality
features
handling
sound
1
1
Report

Report

k
Simple and works as expected (used on Linux and OpenBSD)
karchnu 21.06.2022
I use the Scarlett on all my machines, both Linux and OpenBSD, with different microphones, mostly audio-technica AT2020.

While recording, the sound is very low, for some reason. I have to put the control knob to the max to hear something. But that's kinda fine, I can easily make it louder with the software I use to record (ffmpeg) and the sound is fine.

For the features, it seems that other brands (such as Beringher) are doing better for the price. Actually, the former version of Scarlett did include more outputs. So that's definitively something to notice for this price.

Still, I use this tool almost every day for more than a year now, and it is working great. I own several Scarlett, including older models, they all work perfectly.

Of course, being on Linux and OpenBSD, I do not use the provided software. Not that I would actually care, but since I didn't test it, I can't comment on it.
quality
features
handling
sound
0
0
Report

Report

C
Time to create some music
CrackTail 25.11.2020
So you wanted to start creating your music or record some instruments. Well good for you because this red brick can do just that and more.
Great input, Great protection, doesn't break just like nokia3310, the design is very nice, the box is smaller than my phone and i can share my awful taste of music now to even 1 more person.
After full day of recording and trying to sound like the bands i listen to, i actually make a good song and go to sleep, happy to progress further tomorrow. Well tomorrow comes and i realize how bad everything sounds. I try to mix everything perfectly only to now sound like from some cave underground homeless guy playing with a flute in my nose.
10/10 would throw this brick at my neighbour's window again
quality
features
handling
sound
15
2
Report

Report

Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 3rd Gen