Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 3rd Gen

514 Customer Ratings:
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.8 /5
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
About linuxsupport
born to be root, 20.04.2020
I bought this device because its predecessor had a pretty good reputation in the linux world. While the 2i2 2nd Gen seemes to have worked right out of the box under linux operating systems, this is no longer the case with the 3rd generation. One can get it working, though.

The problem is that the 2i2 3rd gen ships in mass storage mode. So when you plug it into your computer the first time, it appears like a usb drive and is not usable as a soundcard. It needs to be set into its operational mode before you can actually use it, which is done using Focusrite's control software. But sadly the software is only available for windows and mac. So I had to go to my parents place, plug my scarlett into their old windows pc and download the necessary software from Focusrite, which then performed a firmware update on the device and set it into "sound card mode". After the firmware update the scarlett worked without further configuration on my Arch Linux laptop.

I don't know if there are other ways to set the device into operation mode, so if you don't have access to a windows or mac computer, I would advise against buying this audio interface.

Although, when you got it working, it seems to be a pretty good audio interface and i had no problems so far. Nice sound, very low background noise, good latencies, and I like the direct monitoring feature. I really don't need the 'Air' feature, but that might just be a matter of taste.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Crackling and other issues in Windows 10
schnitzel0, 10.09.2020
TL;DR: crackling and popping audio in Windows. Threads complaining about this problem dating back years with no clear fix. Solution involves fiddling with obscure Windows settings until something works.

I got this to record guitar and I made it my daily driver for audio so as to not constantly switch between pairs of headphones. Got a dedicated mic to use with it.

There is noticeable crackle during audio playback in Windows 10, and there are users complaining about this on the internet for years at this point. I don't know what fixed it for me, I had to fiddle endlessly with sample rate, buffer size and a bunch of obscure Windows settings hidden behind several layers of menus.

Besides this, friends sometimes complain that my mic sounds bad or even static-y or robotic in Discord.

All of these issues are unacceptable for a piece of gear that is supposed to be used for serious audio work.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Each gen gets noticeably better
midoriya, 11.09.2020
I felt like I needed a new interface and chose this one since I already had 2 focusrite interfaces in the past..

and I have to say that the new gen is definitely a step up from the previous ones, feature wise (the air knob), quality wise and the overall feel of the 3rd gen is alot better!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great for home-studio.
tiagosc, 20.04.2020
I think at this price level, no other system matches the quality of the Focusrite. Simple and effective. Even the latency is decently small (<10ms) with a sufficient buffer size to record/play anything.

Pros:
- Simple controls
- Low latency
- USB C
- Good gain control
Cons:
- No monitor controllability (besides on/off)

Works perfectly with Ableton Live (it comes with Lite if you do not have it already) and some extra plugins. This is a great interface!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Very nice sound card
explorerc, 26.06.2020
This sound card is really nice and well built, It is actually small, not so big. I use it with my guitar. I play from my amp via emulated output to Focusrite and using sennheiser hd pro 280 monitor headphones. Also using with Bias fx positive grid. So far so good, in my opinion the only problem is software installation part, very complicated, you have to open different accounts for softwares and download setup step by step and there are many free software coming with this product, that was the one of the reasons why I bought this, and for me the easiest installation was bias fx positive grid. I am not a producer or very good musician or whatever, I play for myself mostly, and I wanted to learn little bit about recording and so on, but yeah obviously need to work on it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 3rd gen
theincredibleme, 30.03.2020
I bought this to record my bass during quaratinte because i couldn't go to the studio anymore .
And my first thaught was " why didn't i buy this 10 years ago" such a revelation to be able to record yourself so clearly , helps me a lot for my techniques ( specially avoiding fretbuz and muting in general) . Also great recording tool and great software that comes with it.
I picked ableton and am very satisfied with it.

so if you consider buying this , stop hesitating.

br,
Matthias
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Simply a great interface for a great price!
TobiasTK, 12.09.2020
It's fantastic. Works amazing for plugging monitors in the back, Great sounding inputs with very cool preamps, stereo and mono direct monitoring. What more could you ask for?
Very low latency for tracking also.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Would Recommend
Hallucyn8, 01.09.2020
I bought this primarily for capturing audio from my DJ controller for live streaming but also with a view to recording instruments in the future.

The sound quality is perfect, it is easy to use and with very helpful setup features to guide you along the way.

Sturdy construction and feels like a quality product.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Fast to set up, easy to use
RandyS, 17.09.2019
After battling crackling and popping and the horrible drivers that came with the EIE Pro for years, then trying to use a Xenyx 1002 USB, I was ready to pull my hair out. I splurged to get this relatively higher priced USB interface, and so far I am very happy.
Use: I use this with Windows 10, Cubase 8.5, Premiere Pro, and whatever else I have around on hand.
Pros: Nice, small, good looking, and no more wall wart to plugin. Almost flawless installation on Windows 10 with great video tutorials focused on getting started and usage for various purpose.
Cons: A minor hang on install, but it went away with restart.
My only concern is the small micro USB data/power jack that seems a nit vulnerable. I have seen these often fail on USB power banks. I'd like to see a recessed socket that uses the plastic of the plug to support/protect both the socket and plug a bit, instead of just relying on the brittle metal connector.
I'd also like to see a power switch, as I never turn the computer off. It is easy enough to dial the volume down, but the unit is always on. Hopefully this isn't aproblem.
These are the only reasons I give a 4/5 on features.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Amazing
WiillGB, 22.09.2020
Amazing product for recording at home.
I bought it to start recording for the first time. It it simple to use, compact, super solid, and the controls feel amazing.
Phantom power option to power microphones, dual imput to play and sing at the same time, or record two people at the same time...

It even comes with free software ! I chose Pro Tools First. it's easy to use and works perfectly with the focusrite.

a great purchase, i recommend you get one !
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Almost perfect
Molly_N, 17.07.2020
good build quality, intuitive controls, very beginner user-friendly to set up. replacing a prior audio interface and this is like night and day.
Slightly concerned about the small usb-c connector in the long run but otherwise this is just going to live on my desk for a long time.

great for seamlessly switching between driving monitors and headphones without unplugging anything . I would advise this over the solo if you might want to control monitor and headphone vol separately
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
T.Bal, 15.04.2020
Plug'n'play audio interface, works flawlessly with both my mac and windows machine. Tried it with amplitube and garageband, really like it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Worth my money
jama fando, 14.09.2020
does exactly what i expected it to do.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
May be its not for me
A&L, 26.06.2020
Its a nice little audio interface (and it's really small)
it does not cost much, what it does it does well. but the sound quality has nothing special really, and I found the air a gimmick that I cant see my self using using.
Build construction is okay, main volume control feels a bit cheap, head phone out is okay don't expect it to drive difficult cans..
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
There's a reason this is so popular
GoWithTheFloat, 30.03.2020
I am amazed at how good this is for the price. The latency is extremely low and it handles both guitar DI and mic wonderfully. Ableton Lite comes with the purchase and absolutely does the trick if you simply want to record a demo or something similiar. For me who likes to record alone in a quick and comfortable way this is as much "plug n play" as it gets with these, and it doesn't tear a hole in my wallet. All in all superb quality and I will keep using this for a long time
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Awesome for a bedroom setup
Chris P Bacon, 08.04.2020
Really nice preamps and D/A converters. I have used it for voice and electric guitar recording and i'm perfectly satisfied with the sound quality i get. If i were to try to enhance my recordings further i'd spend my money on treating my room instead of upgrading from this interface.
Straight plug and play in to my mac and i have never encountered any issues att all.
Really nice feeling pots as well!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Best choice!
Vladyslakis, 30.08.2020
Best beginner interface on the market!!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great audio interface!
macriti, 04.07.2020
An amazing interface, with superb build quality and sound, which comes with tons of free plugins and subscriptions.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Next Level
Jordo, 19.07.2020
After years of working on larger desks, and only rarely using all 16 inputs for the occasional drum recording, I looked to streamline for space. But this delivers next level of quality. I went to upgrade my pickups to help with clarity & response, but honestly swapping to this made all the difference. The quality is insane, it's incredibly simple and responsive to DAW's and plug-ins and with a wealth of free software it's a no brainer.
it's also brushed metal so very nice to touch. Fits perfectly on any table.
just get it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Overall great starter
ockpii, 30.06.2020
This is a great interface not only to get started with music production, but also a great companion for the more advanced in career on a more portable setup. Features great sounding pre-amps as well as extremely user-friendly interface.

I would have liked more potent headphone amps and two separate microphone amps like some higher up models have. That being said, there is really is a big versatility with this model, though it is definitely best used for small sessions, due to the fact that it has few inputs and outputs (though I have used a headphone splitter to great effect to address this point).

Overall, solid purchase for the beginner-intermediate range of music production.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
GREAT ! GREAT ! GREAT !
Kodzin, 11.09.2020
Great product!
I would recomend it to anyone who is starting up, needs something on the go, or professional use.
If u dont need more then 2 Mic inputs, u found your device.
Using it to record mostly hiphop artist.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Good product, not the best drivers
Jamie Stivala, 11.05.2020
Use: Streaming and Recording

Clarity: So the clarity is a give on take. When it works well it is amazing, however sometimes (especially in VOIP application such as Discord), the sound starts to get choppy. The only work-around I have found to this is to use the web browser version of the application. On all the professional software, OBS, Audition, etc, it works just fine. It seems to be either a problem with the drivers or something I can't seem to understand. I have opened a ticket with Discord and we are working on fixing it.

Comprehensibility: As I said, this product is an extremely good pre-amp/interface for the price. Arguably one of the best, however, the Discord incompatibility was a big bummer to me (workaround of using the browser version works fine so not to much of a bummer)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Dovile, 01.06.2020
It is a very good interface for home recordings. The sound is very good and clear. Even the design is very nice. Red color catches the eye! haha
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Does everything I need
RobertSk, 30.06.2020
Can't complain, got exactly what I paid for. No surprises here.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
WOW!
Ali Toushkan, 16.06.2020
Just a simple word. WOW!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 3rd Gen

$142 €122.41
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.

The price in USD is a guideline price only!

Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Online Guides
Computer Based Studios
Computer Based Studios
This article will look at how to integrate a computer into different studio environments, and will highlight the issues of functionality and connectivity.
Online Guides
Recording E-Guitars
Recording E-Guitars
Our aim is to explain the basic process of recording the electric guitar!
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
(6)
Recently Viewed
Behringer RD-6-SR

Behringer RD-6-SR; Analog Drum Machine; 8 Drum-Sounds: Bass Drum, Snare Drum, Low Tom, High Tom, Cymbal, Clap, Open Hi-Hat und Closed Hi-Hat; volume control for all instruments and the Accent track; build-in distortion effect with controls for intensity and tone;...

Recently Viewed
Fender Billie Eilish Concert Ukulele

Fender Billie Eilish Concert Ukulele, concert ukulele, signature, top and body sapele, nato neck, hardwood neck laminated, neck binding, 16 frets, nut width 35mm (1,375"), scale 381mm (15"), fishman kula preamp, open gear tuners, abalone rosette, finish black satin with...

(2)
Recently Viewed
Harley Benton Dullahan-FT 24 Roasted IB

Headless Electric Guitar Ergonomically shaped alder body, Bolt-on neck: Roasted Canadian flamed maple, Roasted maple fretboard, Fretboard inlays: Black offset dots, Neck profile: Modern C, Fretboard radius: 350 mm, Scale: 648 mm, Nut width: 42 mm, Graph Tech TUSQ...

Recently Viewed
Fender CuNiFe Wide Range Humb. Neck

Fender CuNiFe Wide Range Humbucker Neck; Telecaster Humbucker; Resistance: 10.1 - 10.7k; Color: Chrome

Recently Viewed
Blackmagic Design UltraStudio Monitor 3G

Blackmagic Design UltraStudio Monitor 3G; Video output device for 3G-SDI and HDMI playback via laptop or desktop computer equipped with Thunderbolt 3; supports professional SDI and HDMI monitoring in 10-bit broadcast quality of material from common editing software such as...

Recently Viewed
Presonus AudioBox 96 Studio Ult 25th An

USB Audio Interface Recording Set Consists of AudioBox USB 96 25th Anniversary Edition, Studio One Artist + Studio Magic Plugin Suite (Ableton - Live Lite, Arturia - Analog Lab Lite 3 and many more) (ESD download), Eris E3.5 active...

Recently Viewed
Nux Optima Air NAI 5

Nux Optima Air NAI 5; Effects Pedal for Electric & Acoustic guitar; dual-switch acoustic guitar simulator with a preamp for acoustic and electric guitar, 15 built-in acoustic guitar profiles with IR level control, 9 Preset slots; Controls: Reverb, IR Level,...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Thomann ComboDesk88 - designed by Zaor

Producer Workstation Designed by Zaor, Ideal for home and project studios, Extremely sturdy and ergonomic construction, 19" Racks with a total of 3x 3 U, Includes cover plates for 19" racks for expanding the table surface and rack rail,...

(4)
Recently Viewed
Behringer RD-6-AM

Behringer RD-6-AM; Analog Drum Machine; Acid Smiley Edition; 8 Drum-Sounds: Bass Drum, Snare Drum, Low Tom, High Tom, Cymbal, Clap, Open Hi-Hat und Closed Hi-Hat; volume control for all instruments and the Accent track; build-in distortion effect with controls for...

Recently Viewed
Kala U-Bass Nomad 4 NT

Kala U-Bass Nomad 4 NT, acoustic-electric U-Bass, 20 13/16" (528 mm) scale, 29 3/8" (746 mm) overall length, Mahogany top, Mahogany back and sides, Mahogany neck, 16 frets, Rosewood fingerboard, Graph Tech NuBone nut, composite saddle, custom black die cast...

Recently Viewed
Larry Carlton S7FM TBL

Electric Guitar Body: Alder, Top: Flamed maple, Bolt-on neck: Roasted maple, Fretboard: Roasted maple, Abalone Dots fretboard inlays, 22 Medium jumbo frets, Scale length: 648 mm (25.5"), Fretboard radius: 241 mm (9.5"), Nut width: 42 mm (1.65"), Bone nut,...

Recently Viewed
RME HDSPe AIO Pro

RME HDSPe AIO Pro; 30-channel PCI Express audio interface; 192 kHz / 24 bit; ADI-2 Pro converters AK5572 and 2 x AK4490; the entire analog input range relies on the circuit design of the ADI-2 Pro (+24 / +19 /...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.