Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 3rd Gen

769 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.8 /5
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Time to create some music
CrackTail, 25.11.2020
So you wanted to start creating your music or record some instruments. Well good for you because this red brick can do just that and more.
Great input, Great protection, doesn't break just like nokia3310, the design is very nice, the box is smaller than my phone and i can share my awful taste of music now to even 1 more person.
After full day of recording and trying to sound like the bands i listen to, i actually make a good song and go to sleep, happy to progress further tomorrow. Well tomorrow comes and i realize how bad everything sounds. I try to mix everything perfectly only to now sound like from some cave underground homeless guy playing with a flute in my nose.
10/10 would throw this brick at my neighbour's window again
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Worth the Price
Ibanez S521-MOL Review, 10.11.2020
TL;DR Version:
Pros:
1. Affordable
2. Solid Build Quality
3. Great Sound Quality and Control

Con:
1. Fingerprint Magnet

Non-TL;DR Version:
I was debating whether I'd purchase a Solo or a 2i2, but after watching and reading reviews, the 2i2 is definitely more future-proof of the two considering its input capacity.

This is my first time trying out and finally owning an audio interface, so I have no further comments except for its great sound and build quality (especially with the rubber stoppers at the bottom to avoid slippage). While not much of a big deal, the body is sort of like a fingerprint magnet and may require additional effort to clean after use.

Software installation was hassle-free, and works great with Reaper. I bought an Ibanez S521-MOL, and it sounds amazing with it.

To anyone who would want to purchase this product, you would probably want a headphone jack adapter (3.5mm to 1/4) as well.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
A fantastic, easy to use interface.
Charlie_McM, 06.01.2021
This interface was very easy to set up, and has some incredibly useful features. As a bassist, the direct monitor function really helps, as sometimes opening Logic is just too much hassle, and being able to just hit one button and be amplified is great.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Solidly built, sounds great
Stephen W, 09.12.2020
It's easy to see why this is so popular! I had gone for a Native Instruments option (which was very good!) but it lacked the physical option on the box for direct monitoring that the 2i2 has. This means that I don't have to make any changes in software to get direct monitoring when I need it.
Would highly recommend.
I only wish that some of the Focusrite options with more balanced outputs also had the direct monitoring switch on the box.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
You can't go wrong with Focusrite!
Epi K., 16.12.2020
If you are looking for a basic home setup with two monitors and a mic for example, this is the audio interface you need. What I love the most with Focusrite is that they give you free access to excellent plugins (i.e. time and tone bundle by Softube etc), which helps you dive into some mixing on your demos. Great recording quality too!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Recording guide tracks and opera singers, teaching voice online
HeldenFurlong, 21.12.2020
I use the 2i2 almost daily (that's a lot for an acoustic musician). Downloading the software was without any problems.

Its ease of use for live stereo recording is fantastic (both of myself with pianist and other singers). For recording guide tracks, direct monitoring is so useful and it gives a clear representation of the sound being recorded. It's simple yet elegant and has worked great with Reaper and GB.

For teaching online I use the direct monitoring to clearly hear myself with headphones on (for less vocal fatigue while teaching for hours a day).

The only con I have is that the USB-C connection socket is on the back of the box and the cable isn't really long enough for some circumstances. But that's being a real nitpick.

Make sure you get the cables you need for mics and a headphone plug adaptor (3.5mm-6.35mm (1/4")).
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Simple, compact, quality!
andrewvysotskiy, 27.11.2020
Great devise for work with the song. It has two separated physical controllers for monitors and headphones what is not in the focusrite solo model. Sound with this audiointerface is detalised and linear. Using with dt770 80Ohm model.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Must Have
Sarahosullivan, 11.11.2020
This is an essential item for anyone thinking of doing recording. It is perfect for beginners to professionals. This product is easy to use for connecting microphones and very easy to set up. I cannot recommend this product highly enough.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great for home-studio.
tiagosc, 20.04.2020
I think at this price level, no other system matches the quality of the Focusrite. Simple and effective. Even the latency is decently small (<10ms) with a sufficient buffer size to record/play anything.

Pros:
- Simple controls
- Low latency
- USB C
- Good gain control
Cons:
- No monitor controllability (besides on/off)

Works perfectly with Ableton Live (it comes with Lite if you do not have it already) and some extra plugins. This is a great interface!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great all rounder
kacper_convi, 11.01.2021
Easy setup. It just works. Sound quality is good for the price. Great starter for anyone looking to get a home studio or a small scale recording space.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Brilliant interface for instruments
Ollerus , 22.10.2020
I've only used it with guitar and i already have a daw but with all the software that comes with this and a bit of elbow grease youve more or less got a studio in a box for the fraction of a studios price.

The interface itself came packaged well, no dents or scratches and the input jacks are all sturdy after much use now.

The signal is very clean and i've managed to get 32 bit out of it for any sound guys out there.

Word of warning to anyone buying this as their first dabble in interfaces however is to research latency and how to handle it and for the love of all thats holy watch the tutorials, it's like free sound tech tuition for those that know a little to intermediate tech guys.

Overall decent bang for yor buck, would buy again if i lost mine rather than look at another
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 3rd gen
theincredibleme, 30.03.2020
I bought this to record my bass during quaratinte because i couldn't go to the studio anymore .
And my first thaught was " why didn't i buy this 10 years ago" such a revelation to be able to record yourself so clearly , helps me a lot for my techniques ( specially avoiding fretbuz and muting in general) . Also great recording tool and great software that comes with it.
I picked ableton and am very satisfied with it.

so if you consider buying this , stop hesitating.

br,
Matthias
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
wow!
MindyBeatz, 06.12.2020
Such a good interface, didn't disapoint the reviews . The best one for sure. It was a plug and play and easy to configure interface.
Recommend 10/10
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great interface at great price
HHHugo, 10.01.2021
at this price range the 2i2 is unbeatable, its packed with features without compromising on quality, the setup was easy and works well with fl studios.

the led VU meters are great for setting up the levels and the different monitoring modes also come in handy

there is a reason why the scarlett interfaces has become well known among amateur producers!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
the best
fran?, 08.10.2020
I really like
this is highly recommended for people who start really is wonderful
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Next Level
Jordo, 19.07.2020
After years of working on larger desks, and only rarely using all 16 inputs for the occasional drum recording, I looked to streamline for space. But this delivers next level of quality. I went to upgrade my pickups to help with clarity & response, but honestly swapping to this made all the difference. The quality is insane, it's incredibly simple and responsive to DAW's and plug-ins and with a wealth of free software it's a no brainer.
it's also brushed metal so very nice to touch. Fits perfectly on any table.
just get it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Well worth the money
The Jordanator, 06.10.2020
An excellent USB interface. Solid construction, very easy to use. In fact, setting the levels on this is probably the easiest of any interface I've ever used due to the bright, coloured halos around the gain knobs. This makes gain staging very easy. Also, the combo XLR / 6.3 mm input jacks are incredibly useful and I don't know why more interfaces don't offer this functionality when it's available on the more budget models.

Sounds is excellent, however I've compared it with some other interfaces which sounded better. The difference isn't worlds apart (and less noticeable in a mix) however the price differences are dramatic and I would say this is unbeatable value for money. And as always sound is subjective, while I think other more expensive interfaces have better preamps, I still really like the sounds processed through the scarlet preamps.

Very compact, I have travelled with it and recorded using my laptop (instead of my usual desktop) and it has been solid. I normally use it with windows and have had no problems with drivers crashing unlike some of the other interfaces I've tried which are more direct for Mac users.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Almost perfect
Molly_N, 17.07.2020
good build quality, intuitive controls, very beginner user-friendly to set up. replacing a prior audio interface and this is like night and day.
Slightly concerned about the small usb-c connector in the long run but otherwise this is just going to live on my desk for a long time.

great for seamlessly switching between driving monitors and headphones without unplugging anything . I would advise this over the solo if you might want to control monitor and headphone vol separately
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
perfect for home practice and recording
Tw1G, 16.12.2020
I switched from the M-audio fast track USB to the Scarlett 2i2 and the latency is much better (using cubase) and the sound is less glitchy. The recording quality is very good and the design is solid and simple. Impressive little box that I recommend
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
T.Bal, 15.04.2020
Plug'n'play audio interface, works flawlessly with both my mac and windows machine. Tried it with amplitube and garageband, really like it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Best choice!
Vladyslakis, 30.08.2020
Best beginner interface on the market!!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Very good
Anonymous4, 09.09.2020
Absolutely low noise A/D D/A converter, build quality very high, Windows 10 driver installation without problems. Can't complain.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Quality audio interface for first timers
Kappadegoodboi, 02.12.2020
Not real experience needed to use this one if you're new to home recording. Step-by-step videos are included, as well as some lite versions of DAWs.

Money for value, not something that you will need to upgrade in the years to come.

Just make sure to get some cables too!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Magic In The Mini Box
Asintha, 02.01.2021
Great way to record your own music. Thank you Thomann Team you guys are always the best.!!!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Satisfied Customer!
Jayvi, 13.10.2020
Originally, my plan is to use it in my Bass Guitar recording for my YouTube channel, but was so happy when I can even use it in my livestreaming and be able to connect my condenser mic and my band audio thru focusrite. I am satisfied with sound quality.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 3rd Gen

$148 €121.85
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.

The price in USD is a guideline price only!

Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Online Guides
Computer Based Studios
Computer Based Studios
This article will look at how to integrate a computer into different studio environments, and will highlight the issues of functionality and connectivity.
Online Guides
Recording E-Guitars
Recording E-Guitars
Our aim is to explain the basic process of recording the electric guitar!
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.