Göldo WS045 Fretboard Guard

2500 Customer ratings

4.5 / 5

You have to be logged in to rate products.

Note: To prevent ratings from being based on hearsay, smattering or surreptitious advertising we only allow ratings from real users on our website, who have bought the equipment from us.

After logging in you will also find all items you can rate under rate products in the customer centre.

quality

20 Reviews

Göldo WS045 Fretboard Guard
$2.60
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.
In stock
In stock

This product is in stock and can be shipped immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
1
RP
This doesn't quite do the job
Robert Peterson 10.09.2021
This fretboard guard is fine for polishing the 1st fret through to the 15th fret, but the sides are too wide to fit into the 16th, 17th or any higher frets...even on the longer 25.5 inch scale guitars. This thing won't fit past the 15th fret for sure on shorter scale guitars such as Les Pauls and Juniors. Another problem is that the central slot gap isn't big enough for jumbo frets and the guard "rides on top" of the frets instead of going flush against the fretboard.
And finally, since there's no "grip" on the guard, it tends to move around as you're polishing...so you'll need to use one or two fingers just to keep the guard in place, which makes the act of polishing cumbersome and tedious.
Unless you're REALLY worried about roughing up your fretboard finish with a 100 - 400 grade polishing cloth/eraser, then skip this.
quality
1
0
Report

Report

B
Average piece for your tech bag
Bassface1 30.08.2022
I got this as I needed a quick and easy fix for servicing my instruments. This is cheap and cheerful and It does show. A little flimsy but gets the job done. Overall, average addition to any tech’s tool box and beats taping off the board.
quality
0
0
Report

Report

B
Works but not the best solution
Braddie 28.10.2020
Basically it's just a thin sheet of metal which is easy to bend and is only properly finished on one side. If you're going to be sanding your frets anyway it's smart to take the sharp edges off. I found it hard to keep it in place whilst also sanding, maybe a handle would've been easier for it. Doesn't fit on the very bottom frets but I don't usually tape those off anyway as you don't really risk sanding your fretboard. A bit overpriced for what it is, but it (kinda) works.
quality
0
0
Report

Report

C
Not good, not bad, just meh
CassetteTapeCrackle 15.12.2022
does its job, pay attention to hold it if you go hard on your fret polishing because it will fly off, plus if you got small frets there'll be some room between the fret and the guard, and they don't protect your fretboard much as they don't extend far... Why did I buy this is what I'm wondering really
quality
0
0
Report

Report

F
It work.
Fahd 19.12.2020
Well, all I can say is that it works. Quality could have been a bit better but it works. Even on an 8 string.
quality
0
0
Report

Report

O
Onifur 07.02.2020
Would not say that its completely useless but pretty much. I advise you to get some painters duct tape and tape the extremities of the frets so that the fretboard does not get tainted in anyway.
quality
0
0
Report

Report

p
Guard that is metal on a fretboard?
pitt646 26.05.2018
I think a good plastic one would been better than, a metal one. But it does it's work when you careful that it doesn't move around the fret board
quality
0
0
Report

Report

A
Okay, some issues
Anonymous 09.02.2015
Found two issues with the guard.

One issue is that the edges are stamped, so there is a slight curve to them. If the guard slides along the fret, the outer edge of the guard will leave a small scratch mark on the fretboard. The scratch can be buffed out, but avoid this by adding tape along the outer edges, or by fixating the guard really well.

The other issue is that the guard is a bit too wide to fit on the higher frets. Tried to place it on a Stratocaster fret #21, and it collided with fret #22 before being allowed to rest on the wood.
quality
0
0
Report

Report

H
Helps, but..
Hutmacher 15.04.2020
the thing is a must've, if you want to get into Fret dressing. I found, that I had to do a few mods to it, beforee I could use it. I taped up the inner edges and touched the outer ones with some 1000grid sandpaper, because otherwise, the edges are really sharp and you might scratch your hand or, even worse, the fretboard.
quality
0
0
Report

Report

A
Rough edges
Algirdas 21.05.2013
It looks like it's made of stainless steel so it should last a long time without developing any rust marks. It is also flexible enough to conform to pretty much any fretboard radius. My main criticism is that the guard I received had very rough edges. I don't know if they're all like that or just the one I received, but I didn't want to scratch up my fretboard so I took a metal file and a piece of sandpaper and polished the edges until they felt smooth to the touch. I really wish I shouldn't have had to do that, especially at this price point.
quality
0
0
Report

Report

Göldo WS045 Fretboard Guard