Harley Benton TE-52 NA Vintage Series
$133
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.
In stock
In stock

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
1
V
Very impressive bang for buck guitar
Voxman 25.09.2021
I've been playing guitar for 50 years, have 11 other electrics inc original USA Fenders, Gibsons, PRS, Patrick Eggle etc. I was knocked out by the overall quality, playability & tones from this budget 'Tele' guitar. The finish, neck, electrics & tone were just excellent. I bought it based on several youtube reviews that were spot on.

I have a 1988 USA Tele Standard & I've played various custom shop Tele's and the pickup tone from these Roswell pickups is blindingly good, especially the neck p/up that sounds better than my USA Tele & the Custom Shop Tele's I've played. A few things to note: these guitars are quite heavy and can vary between 8.5 to 9.5 lbs - mine weighs around 8lb 12 oz. But the neck is superb and makes it amazingly comfortable to play. The stock tuners are serviceable but not great. I upgraded mine to Wilson Deluxe to keep the same vintage vibe but with superior 15:1 smoother tuning. I also had to polish the frets and there were a couple that had to be smoothed down a touch at the ends, but for a guitar at this price point that was no biggie. The chrome 3-piece saddle is fine and intonation was pretty good, but purely out of personal preference I put on Wilkinson brass compensated saddles for more accurate intonation. The only real issue I had with the guitar was that it had microphonic feedback on the bridge pickup. Originally I thought it was the pickup itself and (great service from Thomann) they sent me a replacement pickup. But I found out on 'The Fretboard' forum that it was actually the pickup base plate vibrating - a common theme even on USA Fender Tele's that have the same thinner vintage style base plate. All I had to do was take the base plate off and put some very thin foam or blutac (I used the latter) between the base plate and guitar body, and voila, problem completely fixed! If you should need to do that, you'll need a good power screwdriver as the 6 screws holding the plate are very tight...it will save your wrist and avoid the risk of you ruining the crosshead screws.

Overall this is a terrific guitar, and punches way above it's price-point and it is my go to guitar that's been on my guitar stand almost constantly since I've had it.
features
sound
quality
3
0
Report

Report

R
It's Ok
Refractive 26.03.2022
For the price it's ok, it plays well and looks cool, nothing really wrong with it. It's quite heavy and a nice round neck profile. It just didn't sing for me, I was looking for a snappy country sound, but it just didn't "snap" or chicken pick the way I felt a Tele should, I could have changed the pickups but i felt the body just wasn't resonant enough to get the results I wanted from it.
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

V
I’m happy!
Vizzini 04.05.2022
I bought this because I wanted to add a telecaster to my collection without paying Fender dollars and at the same time, try these Harley Benton guitars that I have been seeing all over the net.
The guitar is heavy (not an issue for me) but for some it may be.
The tuners feel a little weak but so far everything works as it should and
I’m happy with the sound, build quality and dealing with Thomann was great.
I will not be buying another telecaster, this one does what I was hoping it would!
features
sound
quality
1
0
Report

Report

f
Scratch plate askew
frank3447 30.09.2021
I have changed the pups several times the original ones sounded great on low volumes but not too great when cranked up. The scratchplate was askew but was an easy fix. For the money, it's well worth it.
features
sound
quality
1
0
Report

Report

A
Amazing quality for the price...... and then some !!
Anonymous 01.03.2016
Out of the box the build quality appears pretty much flawless. Body finish is immaculate mirror gloss? no visible dents, scratches or scuffs etc. If these are either two or three piece ash, I can't see any join ? it looks like one piece of wood.. Nice chunky but comfy neck and all hardware seems to do its job well. Fret job feels good with no sharp edges that I can feel at all and nut seems well cut. This IS a heavy guitar, but not an issue as I'm just a home player . this guitar just feels amazingly solid. All the classic TE tones are here and the Wilkinson p/ups definitely seem worth the extra bit of money.


A couple of very minor issues. Fitted strings show some oxidation and feel a little rough.Frets look and feel like they could do with a bit of a better dress or maybe even just polishing up will fix this . Some grime or gunk on frets which may be the cause and greyish blob of what I guess is polishing compound on the fingerboard which looks like it will pick or polish off. Also control knobs seated at very slightly different heights and volume a little bit off being true parallel to body. The very highest black dot fret marker is a bit smudged around the edges which again may well polish out.These are very very minor and wouldn't normally even notice them. Any of the above issues I'm sure could be found on guitars 2 or 3 times the price.

Who should by this ?

I have a few mid lower range electrics ?92 Squier Strat MIJ , Epiphone LP Special, Yamaha and promised myself my next guitar would be a ?proper? TE. However, when I heard about HB guitars and what you get for a very low price I changed my thinking. I'm an occasional home player who likes to have variety of guitars for different moods and tones etc. I don't gig and whilst this may not be the sort of guitar that would survive years of touring without some upgrading, it does what I need it to and does it very very well. Seriously when you look at what you get for the money, its amazing how HB are doing this. Forget the name on the headstock, based on feel, tone and build alone you would think you're playing something a lot more expensive . I've never played a ?real? TE or vintage or custom shop model so can't say what they?re like but it's hard to see how the big manufacturers justify some of their prices when you see what you get with this HB.

Get one !!!
features
sound
quality
11
0
Report

Report

DT
TE-52 NA
Dmitriy Tikhonov 07.02.2022
In general, the tool is normal. But there are a couple of little things about the technique, it's:
1. The upper threshold, the strings get stuck in it after each band.
2. The frets are not polished and the strings slide badly on them.
There is also a shoal on cosmetics, at the first inspection of the guitar, I immediately noticed that the varnish on the back of the neck was falling off, but I thought that I could live with it. But in the future, the varnish continued to fall off in other places. I wrote about this situation in support, but still have not received a response.
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

RK
TE52 NA VINTAGE
Rocky Koast 24.10.2021
I'm no expert; this is my first electric guitar.
It tuned up easily and holds the tuning well. Seems well set up out of the box. Some protective plastic films to remove, which necessitated loosening some screws & control knobs to remove completely. I suppose this is normal..
I like the looks.
I chose this model because of its simplicity. As a novice, easier for me to learn..
The only negative thing I can say about this guitar is that it's really heavy! Not too big a deal for me personally as I use a wheelchair most of the time; don't play standing up.
Seems good value for money!
features
sound
quality
1
0
Report

Report

A
Happy with my TE-52
ACurley 03.08.2020
So, first new e-guitar purchase for me since my Peavey T-60 in 1979. I wanted something different and decided on the Tele style with single-coils. I mainly just entertain myself but also play e-guitar in church band. Definitely an acoustic guy playing and electric.

Overall, I am happy with the purchase. It arrived in Virginia Beach from Germany really fast - shipped Monday and arrived Wednesday. It was very well packed. Fit and finish is excellent. The neck is nice. The pickups and controls are good. I like the way it sounds - 3 distinctive tones from the three settings. Volume and tone knobs are solid and provide good adjustments. I've been making some GarageBand recordings that sound really pretty good.

I think the finish on the body is a little glossy for my taste but nothing I would change. It is a heavy guitar but not quite as heavy as my peavey. Beefy neck but I like it.

The tuning machines were rather poor quality - very loose and didn't grab right away. I replaced these with an inexpensive set which is much better. The nut was not good - third fret up on the lower strings were out of tune. With a new nut, string trees and tuners (~$40) I'm good to go. Would buy it again.
features
sound
quality
1
0
Report

Report

o
A honorable tribute to the 50's classic
oscar.sobrino 10.12.2021
I had literally no expectations from this guitar, I always wanted a T-Model and since 2015 I left all my gear back home, and didn't have a chance to play any Electric Guitar, until the day this beauty arrived at my place.

The neck: never in my life, not even my 2006 Fender Standard Telecaster had a neck so smooth, the frets required some polishing and the nut screams "please replace me!", but after some setting up, I can't just stop playing it. Never gets sticky, the more you play, the smoother it gets.

The body: if you read the reviews, it's not a myth: it is a heavy guitar. However, it also gives this guitar character, it functions as a solid foundation for modding and I'm pretty sure with some care this instrument can last for months.

The electronics: Pick-ups are ok, no hum and minimal feedback when adding overdrives. Not a good option if you're looking for shredding solos, chugging, etc. Potentiometers, switch and plug definitely could use a replacement. Try using the default for the first 3 - 6 months, and then look for an upgrade.

They could definitely use a Serial Number, I would love to track the guys who carved and built my specific guitar, because after 5 years of no playing, I got such a solid instrument I'm very happy I kept trying and learning guitar.
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

D
A lot of guitar for little money
DPM2021 09.06.2022
I don't often give reviews on gear but I felt I needed to on this particular guitar.
I bought one of these used a few weeks back just to satisfy my curiosity and in case I didn't like it. It was superb buy but it's a heavy guitar. It had a few war wounds so I said I'd buy a brand new one.
Wow. It was very playable out of the box. Lovely neck and the tone was instantly there.
I have a huge amount of Telecasters and if I'm honest this is my go to guitar.
Not really sure how Harley Benton can make these at this price point given the quality.
I've had €1000 guitars that don't play this good.
My only criticism is that more care needs to be taken in the factory with the bare slab of wood. There's a few dents in the wood around the saddle which can't be felt as it's got the varnish covering it but they are there.
Also and this crops up time and time and probably for everyone else who buys Harley Benton guitars. The box it comes in and the internal packing needs to be improved. 6 pieces of styrofoam, a bubble bag and a flimsy box do nothing to protect this guitar given how heavy it is. And especially when these get shipped by Thomann abroad and how the shippers handle them. Thomann also need to improve how they actually pack them in their own cartons. More packing material around the guitar itself to stop it moving. I bought a guitar off Reverb.com coming from Italy and it's was full of foam beads.
I bought the Harley Benton David Gilmour strat a while back and that was utterly destroyed when I got it. Selector switch was smashed as was the pickguard and the neck was dented.
Thomann did replace it but a little more thought around packing these would be better.
Those negatives aside, if you don't care about the brand on the headstock, this is an amazing guitar.
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

Harley Benton TE-52 NA Vintage Series