Millenium MPS-850 E-Drum Set

474 Customer Ratings:
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.5 /5
  • playability
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
Excellent value for money
shave and a haircut, 10.07.2019
I purchased the MPS-850 for home practice - I normally play an acoustic drum kit. My only previous e-kit experience was with a converted acoustic kit (mesh heads, triggers, VST, laptop etc). The performance of the MPS-850 is proving far superior. I'll go through the various components one by one.

MODULE
The kit is ready to play the instant you switch it on. This is a huge advantage for me, compared to dealing with laptop, VST, external soundcard etc. Another plus: I can't detect any latency, which makes the playing experience feel very natural. Many of the in-built acoustic type kits sound OK. With the help of the supplied manual I created my own 'User Kit' which I'm very happy with. There are several settings you can tweak to deliver an excellent response from all the individual pieces. I've made good use of the module's USB input, playing along to MP3s. You can also record to USB to listen back to your new grooves. I sometimes run the module's output to a Porter & Davies BC2. That works fantastically well! There are additional features I haven't tried yet e.g. MIDI in/out, Aux In etc. It's a well featured unit, easy to navigate.

BASS DRUM & BASS DRUM PEDAL
The supplied pedal looks like a low budget item, but works surprisingly well. Not quite as fast as my Tama Speedking but I find it perfectly usable for practice. The kick pad is mounted to a sturdy frame, separate to the rest of the rack.

HI-HAT
The MPS-850 is supplied with a 'proper' hi-hat stand. On my acoustic kit I have the hi-hats set quite high and was pleased to find the stand has sufficient height to duplicate my normal hi-hat position. I've seen a few reviews saying the MPS-850 hi-hat can't handle a disco-style open and close pattern. I've found the hi-hat responds quite well but I've had to adapt my foot action slightly to get closer to a realistic sounding feel. So the hi-hat open/close feel's not perfect but it's much better than I was expecting based on other feedback I've read. The chick and splash sounds are very good. A nice sounding 'chick' is easy and very intuitive but a splash requires an extremely rapid down and up foot movement - much faster than required with a regular hi-hat, otherwise you only get 'chick'. It's not a big deal but I'll agree with some others that there's scope for improvement to the hi-hat's open/close response and chick action.

SNARE
As with all the pads, stick response and feel from the mesh head is excellent. Initially I wasn't entirely happy with the sound of ghost notes and faster double stroke snare rolls - they sounded a little too machine-gun. After changing the snare's velocity curve in the module's settings I've now got a more natural sounding drum that handles double-stroke and other rudiment style rolls in a more realistic way.

TOMS
They worked just fine straight out of the box. At first I found the 8 inch pads were too small - I was often hitting the rim - but after adjusting the position and getting used to playing pads that are much smaller than my acoustic kit's toms, my accuracy has improved greatly! I didn't have the same problem with the 2 x 10 inch pads.

CRASH CYMBALS
Both crashes have separate bow and edge sounds. No bell sound. But they're also chokable, which is a great bonus. Once you've worked out exactly how to grab the edge in the right way, choke works perfectly every time.

RIDE CYMBAL
It's a 3 zone ride - bow edge and bell. I've seen a few comments about the bell sound being unreliable, so I was prepared for this to be an issue. What I've found is the bell function will work consistently, but only if it's struck within a very small area i.e. you have to look very carefully at the spot you're striking, which can be difficult at faster tempos. If you were recording with the kit and needed 100% perfect bell response, that could be tricky. Ideally the bell area would be larger, but for practice purposes I don't find it a major problem.

RACK & MOUNTS etc
I've never been a fan of racks, or e-kits for that matter - that's why my first venture into e-drumming was an acoustic to electric conversion - because a conventional drum kit will always look better IMO. So setting aside the fact all racks look like scaffolding, the most important thing is whether the MPS-850 rack is sturdy and reliable. I've had my kit for approx 6 weeks and it's been played for an average of an hour almost every day. So far the rack has been 100% reliable. Nothing has come loose or fallen off. It was easy to assemble, following the diagrams in the supplied manual.

SUMMARY
No doubt about it, the MPS-850 is outstanding value for money. To package such a well featured module along with bass drum (and BD pedal), snare, 4 x toms, 2 x crashes, 3-zone ride, hi-hat and hi-hat stand at this price is hugely impressive. The two supplied manuals are nicely done. One is for rack assembly and the other is a very detailed instruction book for the pads, cymbals and all module settings. I received two copies of each - one in German and one in English. Clear, concise and well written - not a hint of Chinglish!

CUSTOMER SERVICE
After a couple of weeks, one of my 10" drum pads (floor tom) developed a fault. The drum would only respond if the mesh head was struck in a very specific area, close to one of the mesh cones that sits between the head and sensor. When I contacted Thomann and described the fault, they asked me to send a video so they could get a better idea of what the problem was. I sent them a short video the following morning. Later the same day they contacted me to let me know a replacement pad was being sent free of charge. Yes, a slight inconvenience having to wait for a replacement but very reassuring to know Thomann were keen to resolve it as quickly as possible. 10/10
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
Superb bang for buck e-drum set!!!
Smileadon, 25.10.2020
After many weeks debating whether or not to buy this drum kit I finally made the plunge. I've been drumming for almost 20 years and have had many acoustic kits during that time. I wanted something that was compact, quiet and usable for home recording and for drum covers in the future. Plus,I live in an apartment.

Connected to my Mac fine, but had to remap the MIDI. Pads were assigned to different notes in my DAW (Logic Pro).

If you're new to drumming, or even have been playing for sometime, this kit would accomodate your needs perfectly. Having said that, people need to understand that an electronic kit plays and feels different from an acoustic kit. So heavy hitters will have to adjust accordingly. It can take a bashing alright tho. My background is Post/Hardcore Rock.

The kit is not perfect out the box (module settings) wise. However, you REALLY need to TWEAK the module so that it suits how you play for a more natural response. (Threshold, sensitivity, velocities, curves, and xtalk etc.) There are many YT Vids that explain all of this, so do your homework. Definitely worth the time. I love that this set has all mesh heads as you can loosen or tighten to mimic the real thing.

PROS
-All Mesh Heads (tunable)
-Full Hi Hat Stand
-Robust Module (can tweak settings unlike similar kits in the same price range)
-Module has volume faders for each pad for quick adjustment on the fly.
-3 zone Ride & chokable cymbals
-Bang for buck. You get a lot kit for the money
-Nice sized kit and compact.
-Works well with VSTs

CONS
-Sounds aren't too bad, but you have enough to get by. Grand for practising.
-Hi Hat doesn't respond quick enough, sometimes the foot splash/open hat continues after foot is pressed down. Really noticable when playing fast. I still need to tweak it a little more to match how i play.
-Rack clamps seem to not tighten but still become loose, so I find myself correcting this often. Like for example the snare support arm, can move with your hand even when the clamp is tightened.
-Rubber rims look flat and squared and seems like there's a lot of space between them and the mesh heads. Can also see metal gap in between them. Isn't a big deal but noticeable.

Overall, I'd highly recommend this drum set, I've owned a Roland TD9 in the past but honestly can't justify the money for big brands anymore, if you're on a budget and want to play/learn drums, this is the kit for you.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
Very happy with my purchase
Govinder, 22.10.2020
I've had the MPS-850 for a couple of weeks now and had a chance to give it a good thrashing, so here are my thoughts in case they're of interest to any potential buyers.

I want to say up front that I scoured the reviews to get as much idea of whether this kit was any good or not prior to purchase and I had it ordered and in the shopping cart and back out again about 4 times over about a 6 week period during which I was clearly being indecisive :-)

Thing is, for me, it is a big purchase that I can just about justify but only if it is worth that expenditure. But it's obvious that I was interested.

So, cut to the chase, is it worth the money ? Absolutely yes.
I have an excellent quality acoustic kit and I hit hard, so I was a little sceptical about the mesh heads and if the rack would stand the use but I needn't have worried. The heads can take more than you might expect and despite the fact that yes, you do play a little softer naturally on an electric kit compared to hammering it out on stage behind a 'proper' kit, it plays well and has a great feel. To be honest you're not really going to be going full on Keith Moon in your living room or spare bedroom anyway are you ?

I'll not bother going into a full review of everything about sounds etc because it's already been covered in most of the other reviews. I'll maybe just mention a few things that I didn't notice in the other ones.
If it's your thing .... I use a double kick pedal with this kit and it works perfectly. I have heard people say that they don't work very well on leccy kits because the beaters aren't hitting the optimum centre spot of the kick drum skin (mesh). Well the response is great and feels very natural to me straight out of the box, but if necessary you can adjust the sensitivity as you choose. I haven't because I don't think it needs it.

I haven't had any problem with finding the (apparently elusive g-spot) bell of the ride cymbal that others have mentioned and it doesn't need hitting harder or anything like that, it's very nicely playable actually. And while I'm mentioning cymbals - the choke function is great when you have found how to do it. It's very easy to use but makes it more 'real' sounding and less 'electric' kit.
Hi - hat .... what can I say - great to have a proper one and works well once you get used to it. Never had more than a floor pedal and flat plastic cymbal for a hi-hat on my previous electric kit.

Last thing I'll mention that I haven't seen anyone talk about is that the module and kit has very low latency which is great. I like to play online with other people around the world and latency of getting the signals around and through a computer before you even involve the randomness of the internet and it's volatile connections and speed, is the biggest issue. The MPS-850 has performed extremely well in this department so I'm happy with that too.

So in conclusion, I am over the moon with my purchase. The kit as a whole far exceeds the price tag and is easily a match for other 'named' brand equipment selling at a far higher price. It ticks all my boxes for what I require from an electric practice kit and to be honest I can't praise it highly enough. I'm sure that kits that cost many hundreds of pounds more, have more features and samples and voices and songs on them but if you really can't find anything you like on the MPS-850 module then I'm sorry but I think you're being rather over critical.

(My only criticism would be that you can't specify a time to have it delivered so I had to collect from the parcel carrier depot but that's nothing to do with the product).

A great kit. I'm a very happy customer.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
The best E-Kit for the price
Sadeem al Bakry, 23.03.2020
I am a metal drummer, I've owned and have been playing acoustic drums for the past 8 years, I recently moved house and have been having trouble with my neighbours due to the noise while also wanting to record with my band, I bought GGD samples and started looking for electronic drums, I found this drum kit and just by reading the feature sheet, I knew it was perfect for me!

Pros:
- Cheap price
- all cymbals are chokable
- ride with bell (triple-zone)
- all pads are two-zone
- Fairly large sizes
- durable rack
- mesh pads feel nice
- everything triggers well enough
- inputs can be split to add more pads
- kick pedal and hi-hat stand included
- sample import
- aux in
- faders to mix the sound
- overall has a lot of great features.

Cons:
- Ride bell only sometimes triggers if hit really hard and really accurately
- a lot of x talk
- my crash 2 input was single-zone
- module sounds are not very realistic
- sample import only allows one-shot samples
- very sensitive triggers but not very dynamic in terms of velocity

overall I would recommend this kit to anyone with a budget of under $1000 because although the module sounds arent great, you can use sample software such as GGD, Superior drummer or steven slate drums, and have large pads to enjoy, the only other drumkit to compare this to is the Alesis crimson or the Alesis DM10 and both of those kits are much more expensive with similar features just larger sizes (by only 2 inches) and unless if your main problem comes from the ride, just use a splitter cable, use tom 4 as a single-zone pad, and get a triple-zone ride which would make this kit the best drum kit under $1000
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
Awesome price/quality relation
Penguin0, 09.05.2020
This is my 2nd e-drums. My previous was a Roland td-12 from about a decade ago
I'm used to play acoustic and electronic drums and so you can understand my pov.

This millennium drums it's very good quality for buck but do not expect excellent top quality.

It is easy to setup, easy to get it running, the rack seems durable enough but I wouldnt be dismounting this too often, it sounds well enough, the module has tons of customisations, the triggers seems to be catching most of the strokes ( if you increase sensitivity it can go almost real) if you are using double pedal, the kick sens must be increased quiet a lot because you are not hitting the middle. Cymbals are ok but sometimes crashes are triggering 2nd zone on rim.. also the ride bell is hard to trigger. The hihat stand seems legit but you must get accustomed.
Over all, 100% recommend, specially since the next go is more than double the money.

I've paired this with superior drummer and a clarett interface. I'm getting very nice numbers in terms of delay and sounds fantastic.

If you need a practice drums this won't disappoint you. For professional use, it may get a bit short but it will put a good fight against other big numbers.

Thomann has worked very well and they have a reliable but low budget product.

The shipment was fast, in 3 days at home.

If you reading this and you are not very sure, I'll tell you, buy even if it is not on stock, as soon they receive they will send. Thank you Thomann
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
Still early days, but...
afsartori, 21.10.2020
I only played it for about 7h, and I can already tell you a few things. Overall, it's a decent kit. I like that it has 4 toms, 2 crashes, ride, high-hat, snare and kick drum, like a proper drum kit. It sounds decent, but could be better. Presets aren't that many, but it's sufficient for practicing and having fun. Built-in tracks are also fun, but sometimes too simple and not plenty enough. These are details. There are three things that annoy me the most: 1) it's not very responsive. Sometimes you have to hit a bit too hard to get the right trigger on the ride and on the high-hat. 2) Some cables are not long enough. This is a problem for me, because I am left-handed and I share the kit with a right-handed player. Every time I want to play, I want to swap the positions of the kick and the high-hat, but the cables coming from the control box don't allow for the high-hat to be placed much farther than its default position. So I get very limited and cannot access the rest of the kit. I will try to solve this by buying extension jacks. 3) Initially I had a problem with the high-hat, which kept rotating away from me. I solved it by screwing the mounting pole better. Last but not least, the kit is not as quiet as you'd hope. If you play it late night and your neighbour is on the other side of the wall, I'm pretty sure he'll still hear you.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
Amazing to get back to playing
TheKen, 24.03.2020
As a beginner/Imtermediate who spend nearly 10 without a drum kit, this kit is a Godsend!

The price you pay for what you get is very, very reasonable.
The kit isn't too loud when your playing and can be easily folded away if you don't have too much room in your house. The sound quality is brilliant especially when you sit down and tweak all the settings to how you want them. Mighty fun going through all the voice sounds too. There are endless combinations. All rims can be triggered and reset, the crashes and ride can be choked. It's got it all.

Anyone who is picking up drums, getting back into them or simply can't have a full acoustic kit where they live, this is the one for you.

There are a few small cons of course, though they aren't anything to cry about.
1: The highhat can be tedious sometimes using the splash but figured out you have active it when open then close the pedal to get it to work. Muscle memory takes care of the rest.

2: The ride bell has to be given a good hard and precise hit to trigger it. It can be inconsistent at times even at that.

3: I'm currently having a issue with the usb recording not playing the full track recorded after I plug into my computer. Could be a simple fix but still working on it.

Regardless of the cons, this kit was 10/10 IGN worth the money!
As for the last con, if you play on using the midi outlets they work perfect.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
Great starter amateur electronic drum kit.
rickmusic , 23.11.2019
Ok let's get straight to it.

If you can not play the drums and would like to learn and are not able to facilitate an acoustic drum kit, then this is the drum kit for you. I would suggest the build quality for this kit is best suited for compact playing and practicing within the studio as apposed to live performance.

Why did I consider this drum kit in the first place?
. Drum configuration.
. Cost.
. Response and feel. Being a composer, rather than use a midi controller to enter in drum parts, I'd like to increase the realism by playing it in real time.

. Drum configuration.
The Millennium kit comes with the right amount of drums and cymbals. Not too many to be overkill, but enough to be creative and play various genres of music. Nice.

. Cost.
The best E-Drums out there are Roland. However, two things: Musicians are artists and artists don't have huge amounts of money. There's no two ways about it, Roland needs to review the cost of its drums. Secondly, I'm not sure if it's because of a differing music scene in Japan or if they're focusing too much on AI or what, but making their e-drums look more like acoustic drums for aesthetic reasons is an unnecessary cost. Therefore the price tag for this set for what you get, is great.

4 reasons why I'm returning the kit, leaving the most deciding factor until the end.
1. The sounds. I didn't expect the sounds to be amazing for the price tag, as I'll predominantly be using sample libraries so not a huge deal.

Here's where the kit goes from a five star to a two:

2. I don't see the point of making e-drums the same size as acoustic drums as it doesn't have a bearing on the sound and compromises on compatibility along with cost. However, I feel that the snare is just a tad too small when playing cross stick. Could perhaps be larger to around 12'.
3. Any ride cymbal in the world that has a bell does not have a bell that small. Cymbal needs to be larger as does the bell.
4. Hi Hat. It has an open sound and closed sound. However if you wish to play hi hat with your foot and splash the cymbals, you can't. If you're playing subtle grooves like a disco or funk hi hat part with the open/close, it doesn't really respond.

Therefore a great beginner e-drum kit for the price. If Thomann were to make the kit with a more responsive hi hat, slightly larger sturdier snare, larger ride, similar price tag, i'll be the first one in line to buy it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
Not for heavy hitting metal players.
heavy hitting metal drummer i guess..., 04.10.2020
im struggling to find the worth of this electric kit, the high hat does not function like an acoustic hat at all, and am hardly able to play it the way i would want to, the drums themselves are not very loud through the headphones negating its use of being a quieter alternative to the acoustic set up, and dont get me started on the clamps that hold the angle of the snare and toms, im having to use a peice of shoelace to stop the angle of the snare from dropping as im playing, now granted, i play metal and i have a "slightly" heavy hand, but this should not be happening, ive tightened the clamps to within an inch of their life and still it drops, also the maximum hight of this kit without some sort of block or something else to raise it up makes me feel like this was designed with children in mind who are short, and dont hit hard, not very happy tbh with this purchase.

TLDR: hi-hat does not function like acoustic counterpart, clamps dont hold up under slight heavy hitting, and its too short on the legs.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
good
Amr gamal, 09.01.2020
Let's agree first that there are four icons in e-drums world roland,yamaha,atv and pearl with high price so don't compare mps 850 with them but mps beat alesis drums in price and spare parts price and availability and customer care
mps have same Build quality of alesis and almost same sound
another comparison xdrum,fame vs mps850 same build quality, sound and less price but there is no spare parts for fame drums on musicstore website and when you ask after send many mails without response from them says spare parts will be available soon but soon never come so big zero for customer care and customer experience , xdrum have a limited spare parts on website
I gave 5 stars for mps depend on Value for the price
note"my friend have fame DD ONE and his 12 inch snare pad was dameged from 6 month ago and its not available till now "
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
Great for the money
ninjadingle, 18.05.2020
I bought this kit as a way of getting back into drumming after an absence of 10 years - and I'm so glad I did!

First thing that attracted me to this was the value for money aspect, a kit with all mesh heads, 4 tom pads, 2 crashes and a ride, and a real hi-hat mechanism, for this price? More than happy with it! When it arrived I was impressed how small it all packed down to, hardly any space wasted in the box.

Next is the hardware - it's actually pretty good. A double braced hi-hat stand? A reasonably good kick pedal? Included? Go on then! The kick pedal is easily adjustable and, one tightened to my liking, seems to be responding well. The hi-hat took a little getting used to for triggering correctly, but that's the nature of electronics I guess.

Sounds - they're ok. Be prepared to sit down with the manual and adjust the sensitivity, crosstalk, voices etc of all your pads to get it to a place where it mimics your kit well and grace notes are captured correctly. But you'll be well rewarded for your efforts. The menu system isn't too bad to navigate, once you understand the layout you can adjust pretty much anything quite quickly. I like the tuning aspect too, quite easy to go from a low, fat snare drum to a higher piccolo snare.

Only real cons for me is the restrictions placed on positioning things. I play a 1 up, 2 down tom arrangement with a second snare on the other side of my hats, so thought it would be easy to replicate this with the kit. When I set the kit up initially I found it too narrow across the front, the sides felt too cramped. So I swapped the longer side arms for the shorter centres (kudos that you can actually interchange them) and things felt a lot more natural. However in doing so my hi-hat is now directly in front of my drum module, and I've had to mount my second snare on the upright of the rack. But it works, now the module is set I only really need to adjust kits every now and again. It would be good if we could buy hardware sections separate, so I could get some longer arms to replace the short ones! Fittings seems robust, nothing's moved unless I want it to.

All in all a great little kit, awesome value for money and well worth consideration, even though it's not a brand name kit (there's nothing on there really advertising the fact it's a Millenium kit so you shouldn't feel embarrassed using a "budget" make).
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
Fantastic kit for its money
lexkab, 23.09.2020
I bought this kit as an upgrade from my Alesis Nitro. It has impressive amount of pads and even a hi hat stand, not to mention mesh pads. The built in kit sounds are ok but can be customized, connection to the computer was not a problem
This kit is perfect for practicing at home, not taking too much space and quiet
Pros:
+ hi hat on a stand with hat simulator
+ 10 piece
+ mesh pads
+ overall assembly quality
+ looks pretty cool
+ ok for double kick pedals
+ metronome options: can do 1/4, 1/8 clicks etc
+ recording to the usb stick
+ equalizer for different pads
Cons:
- some built-in kit voices arent mind blowing
- sometimes issues with midi input on mac
- have to replace the pad on bass drum after a week
- no learning options in the module(vs old alesis) if you need that

Overall it's a great choice for a home kit, I am quite happy with it, feels more natural than entry level Alesis I had before
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
Muy satisfecho
Andy corb, 07.05.2020
I've just assembled it and can't listen to it cause I'm missing the adapter for the headphones, you speaking about its hardware, it is excellent value for money. It is really good quality and performing seems pretty realistic.
By the way, I'm not a beginner. I'd been playing for years but had to quit and I'm re-taking up. I believe I'm going to enjoy it. Don't hesitate...
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
Solid Affordable Kit
Kyouki_IE, 06.05.2020
I had an electronic drum kit years ago, but I was never able to play it because it was too loud and the house wasn't suitable for it. So I'm pretty much a beginner. With this kit, it was pretty easy to set up and get started learning drums.

Setup took a few hours, but I like to take things slow and be certain of everything, it's probably easy to set it up in an hour or two if you work quickly.

The mesh pads are nice. My old kit had rubber pads, and it was so loud! Mesh pads are much quieter when you hit them.

Be aware that even though mesh pads are quieter than rubber, this can still be a bit loud. If you are living at home and plan to keep this in an upstairs bedroom, you might not get to play it too often. If you have your own house and have space for it downstairs, like me, it's very manageable.

Sounds are pretty decent. Not realistic, but good enough. I will eventually hook this up to a computer to record midi and then use a drum plugin, so the built in sounds don't matter, but for practicing they are fine.

I should note, I haven't even used the kick pedal from this kit because I bought a double bass pedal at the same time. If you plan to play metal that's probably the best option.

All in all, the kit wasn't super expensive, but it has plenty of features, plays well, and I'm delighted to have it here so I can sit down and play/learn some drums. Definitely recommend to anyone who has the space and setup for it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
Unfortunate Experience
KaiRB, 02.07.2020
Unfortunately, I didn't have a very good experience with this drum kit and have had to return it.
I was in high hopes with this kit after seeing video demos on YouTube, as well as demos on this site as well, however didn't have any of that once it arrived.
The kit itself once setup looks great, and feels great mesh-wise, however, I was sent the wrong part for the snare drum which was a sign straight away, and the hi-hat, despite setting it up correctly multiple times, also was not working at all.
The sound, even on max volume I could barely hear it through any headphones. I had to chuck it through my 4x12 Marshall Amp to be able to actually hear it, would not work with anything else.
For whatever reason on random kits as well, it would keep playing different sounds on the kick drum, including on the "Metal" kit, it would keep adding on this cheery-go-lucky sound effect as well, which just made it sound awful for what would be a "Metal" kit.
The only kit I actually liked was the Marimba one... it's the only one that actually sounded good in my opinion, and that's saying something for what should be a drum kit.
So to conclude, I might've just had a dodgy kit, but in my opinion it was definitely not worth the wait and excitement, and definitely not worth the £529.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
Ugis, 14.09.2020
Great quality! Very close to real drums!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
for the money? outstanding
martyb, 24.08.2020
so i bought this as an alternative to 'actual' band rehearsals, due to covid. it was a wise purchase. sounds great. the features are good, plenty of nice kits installed and the ability to load another 99 is pretty cool!
ive had a little issue with varying sound via headphones, little fluctuations of levels, but nothing that dampens my love for playing these drums. the mesh heads are very responsive - there is a mention that you can change the head of the bass drum round to the plastic side and whilst it seems like a good idea - im too afraid to try so im learning to be less punchy with the pedalling!
all in all, a great piece of kit with features that would cost 2 or 3 times as much if it was branded by Roland, Yamaha, Alesis.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
Feature-rich and best for value kit
Exci, 14.03.2019
First of all, I'm a complete beginner. Having done some research for e-drum kits around this price range, this knocks everything else out of the park.

Pros:
The fact you get a three-zone ride as well as mesh pads on all drums and a proper hi-hat stand are all very good selling points for me. Having your hi-hat actually move up and down along the pedal (and only wobble when the hi-hat is open, just like an acoustic kit) is in my opinion essential for a realistic feeling of playing the drums. You can't get a real hi-hat stand with other kits anywhere near this money range.

Additionally getting 2 crashes, a ride and 4 toms for this price? It's a steal! I cannot comment on the kit's durability as I have just received this set - we'll see how it holds over time.

The sounds that come with the module are ok, nothing special, but I plan on using it with software on my PC and therefore that is not important for me.

Cons:
Two issues worth mentioning however, which are not a huge deal but they're worth mentioning:

Firstly, the snare drum trigger will trigger a rim shot even if you just touch the rim and not the pad itself. If you use some software like EzDrummer you will be able to configure touching the rim as a cross stick OR a rimshot, but at least as far as I can tell, you cannot do both rimshots and cross sticks on the snare. To be honest I'm not sure how much you'd have to go higher in price of a snare trigger to have proper rimshot and cross stick functionality.

Second, while the ride is a three-zone cymbal, getting the bell to trigger has been inconsistent for me as very often I get a bow sound instead of a bell when I'm quite clearly hitting the bell with the tip of my stick. I've spoken with support and unfortunately that's how it is. Oh well - possible future upgrade.

Overall, for the price that you're paying you're getting a really good kit that doesn't look like a toy and it has everything you need. Absolutely recommended for beginners and possibly intermediate-level players too.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
The perfect choice!
Carnivore, 03.10.2018
If you are either a begginer/intermediate drummer seeking for the perfect instrument to practice and develop your skills or a skilled drummer in need of something to fit in your apartment and play late nights, this is the perfect choice.

I was pleasantly surprised with the quality (including the fixtures and stands) after reading more than one interview complaining about those. Are these made out of plastic? Of course they are! At this price point, what is to be expected? Titanium?? Beign careful you will have this set up in minutes, for a quality comparable to drum sets costing twice as much.

Playability is semi professional and natural, and the sound selection is useful, reasonably broad and varied (of course you can always go midi here and plug straight to more professional soundsets).

Compared to Rolands, to name but one, you will end up having something better in terms of quality if you compare this set with other at similar price point. That, plus double the features. Many months today after daily use, and nothing to complain about.

To render this set into something more professional, you might consider replacing the bass drum pedal (the one provided is not bad at all, gets the job done, but if you are already accustomed to more professional resources, chances are you will miss that) and probably add a regular cymbal stand or two to have more flexibility in terms of playing real state. Aside from that, you can plug this set to the plugin of choice (in my case EZ drummer metal soundsets) and you will be in for a 100% pro solution.

In case you are a begginer, this set will enable you to transition easier to an acoustic set (compared to Roland entry level options, for instance) and will be a breeze to transition to high end MIDI drum sets.

This is, in my most sincere opinion, and absolute winner!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
Millennial MPS-850 super!
Denis Skuratov, 11.03.2020
Planned to use the Millenium MPS-850 E-Drum for home workouts, but after assembling the installation (very easy to assemble, all labeled, cables signed), heard the sound of the installation and saw its appearance (almost like an acoustic installation). decided to use the MPS-850 in the group. You can replace Electronic Cymbal Pads with acoustic Cymbal. It is profitable to buy Millenium MPS-850 E-Drum in sets. Thank you Thomann! I recommend it to everyone.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
Hi hat bug
Helder_Portugal, 14.07.2020
Hi hat keep "sounding" even when closed. Just found out on youtube that it has getting common.
Not very sturdy.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
really please
Wolfen2k, 09.07.2020
As a back street gigging drummer who plays for the enjoyment of it, functionality and cost has always come first. Dont mind spending some money for something of value for what I need, and this fits that bill for me. I just wanted a kit to practice on but which felt close enough to a real kit to enjoy. The mesh heads help reproduce this and the addition of a hi hat on this kit compared to normally higher priced sets was a big factor for me. I dont think I need to add more than some of the other reviews on here as think they cover most facts, but I can say its a fun kit to play and after looking around at lots of similar priced sets I dont think there is much that comes close on cost.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
Love it
paradoct, 18.05.2020
I waited for a few months for this too come into stock. its perfect for anyone like me who loves too drum but doesnt take it too seriously. Its got great mesh heads and a real hi hat stand. Worth every penny.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
Excellent for practicing
Ruud_NL, 28.01.2020
Really nice quality e-drum kit, especially considering the price. The mesh heads are excellent. The mesh bass drum pad is great too and is something you don't see in many kits at this price. The 10" snare and 2 different size toms (2 x 8" and 2 x 10") perfectly mimic my acoustic setup. It also helps that the snare and the 'floor toms' are 10". The sound module is okay too, with plenty of decent sounding drum variations and some funny and funky sounds too.
The only thing I am not 100% convinced about is the hi-hat module. It feels sluggish to open and isn't fast enough for fast open hi-hat accents. At this price it comes highly recommended, even with the less than perfect hi-hat unit.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
Very Good And Affordable
AlexTilleyDrums, 13.05.2020
An incredible e-drum kit for an affordable price. it pairs amazingly in my DAW (Logic Pro X) i use SSD 5.5 with it and it works very well :)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Millenium MPS-850 E-Drum Set

$595 €502.59
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.

The price in USD is a guideline price only!

Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-40
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Recently Viewed
Thomann DP-28 Plus

Digital Piano 88 Weighted keys with hammer action, 25 Sounds, Metronome, 50 Rhythms, 192-Note polyphony, Modes: Layer, Split, Duo Mode, Twinova, Reverb and Chorus, Music library with 100 preset songs, Transpose function, Bluetooth Midi for Pianotool App (iOS and...

Recently Viewed
Blackmagic Design ATEM Streaming Bridge

Blackmagic Design ATEM Streaming Bridge; Video converter that can receive an H.264 stream from any ATEM Mini Pro and convert it back to SDI and HDMI video; this allows video to be distributed to remote locations on a local Ethernet...

(2)
Recently Viewed
Behringer Filtamp Module 1006

Behringer Filtamp Module 1006; Eurorack module; analog Filter and VCA; 24dB low-pass filter with manual controls for cutoff-frequency and resonance; 2 adjustable signal inputs; 2 CV inputs with attenuators for VCF and VCA; Keytracking input for VCF with attenuator (1V/Oct.);...

Recently Viewed
Decksaver Behringer RD-8

Decksaver Behringer RD-8 - cover for Behringer RD-8; Protects against dust, dirt, liquids and impacts; Milky transparent surface; High quality; polycarbonate; Dimensions (LxWxH): 49,3 x 26,0 x 3,9 cm; Weight: 0,535 kg

Recently Viewed
Decksaver Behringer MS-1

Decksaver Behringer MS-1 - cover for Behringer MS-1; Protects against dust, dirt, liquids and impacts; Milky transparent surface; High quality; polycarbonate; Dimensions (LxWxH): 57,0 x 26,8 x 4,80 cm; Weight: 0,67 kg

(2)
Recently Viewed
Presonus PD-70

Presonus PD-70; dynamic speaker and recording microphone; perfect for for spoken-word applications like podcasts, live streaming or traditional broadcast; polar pattern: cardioid; sensitivity: 1.6mV/Pa; frequency range: 20Hz - 20kHz; Output Impedance: 350 ohms; rugged construction; Integrated hard mount and...

(1)
Recently Viewed
the t.bone SC 420 USB Silver Desktop-Set

Microphone Set USB studio large diaphragm microphone with USB connection for direct operation on the computer, No additional drivers required, Directional characteristic: cardioid, Frequency response: 30 - 18000 Hz, Sensitivity: 25 mV / Pa, Max. sound pressure level: 140...

(4)
Recently Viewed
iZotope Tonal Balance Bundle CG 2

Plug-in Bundle Crossgrade from any paid-for iZotope-/Exponential audio product to Tonal Balance Bundle, Professional software tools for producing, mixing and mastering, Supported formats (64-bit): VST 2/VST3/AU/AAXnative/NCP, System requirements: Windows 7 (64-bit), Mac OSX 10.11.6 - 10.14.4, paid-for and registered...

Recently Viewed
Toontrack EZX Modern Metal

Toontrack EZX Modern Metal (ESD); expansion pack for Toontrack EZ Drummer 2 (item 399369) / Superior Drummer 3 (item 419735); produced and recorded by Will Putney at his Graphic Nature Audio studios in New Jersey; contains 6 individual drum sets...

Recently Viewed
Electro Harmonix Pitch Fork+ Pitch Shifter

Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar and Electric Bass Pitch shifter, 2 Independent pitch shifting engines with a range of +/- 3 octaves, Detune +/- 99 cents and full control of the individual engines, 8 Modes including X-MOD: a cross...

Recently Viewed
Varytec VR-260 Video Ring Light LED Bi

Varytec VR-260 Video Ring Light LED BiLight with integrated rechargeable battery; perfect video and photo ring light with adjustable color temperature and countless mounting possibilities for tripods, mobile devices and cameras. Integrated rechargeable battery with USB power output to charge...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Roland TR-6S Rhythm Performer

Drum Machine With 6 instruments, Contains the sounds of the Roland classics TR-909, TR-808, TR-606, TR-707 and more, ACB modeling technology plus stereo sample import and playback, SD card slot for importing your own mono and stereo samples (WAV...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.