Millenium MPS-850 E-Drum Set

184 Customer Ratings:
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.6 / 5.0
  • playability
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
17 written ratings
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
Excellent value for money
shave and a haircut, 10.07.2019
I purchased the MPS-850 for home practice - I normally play an acoustic drum kit. My only previous e-kit experience was with a converted acoustic kit (mesh heads, triggers, VST, laptop etc). The performance of the MPS-850 is proving far superior. I'll go through the various components one by one.

MODULE
The kit is ready to play the instant you switch it on. This is a huge advantage for me, compared to dealing with laptop, VST, external soundcard etc. Another plus: I can't detect any latency, which makes the playing experience feel very natural. Many of the in-built acoustic type kits sound OK. With the help of the supplied manual I created my own 'User Kit' which I'm very happy with. There are several settings you can tweak to deliver an excellent response from all the individual pieces. I've made good use of the module's USB input, playing along to MP3s. You can also record to USB to listen back to your new grooves. I sometimes run the module's output to a Porter & Davies BC2. That works fantastically well! There are additional features I haven't tried yet e.g. MIDI in/out, Aux In etc. It's a well featured unit, easy to navigate.

BASS DRUM & BASS DRUM PEDAL
The supplied pedal looks like a low budget item, but works surprisingly well. Not quite as fast as my Tama Speedking but I find it perfectly usable for practice. The kick pad is mounted to a sturdy frame, separate to the rest of the rack.

HI-HAT
The MPS-850 is supplied with a 'proper' hi-hat stand. On my acoustic kit I have the hi-hats set quite high and was pleased to find the stand has sufficient height to duplicate my normal hi-hat position. I've seen a few reviews saying the MPS-850 hi-hat can't handle a disco-style open and close pattern. I've found the hi-hat responds quite well but I've had to adapt my foot action slightly to get closer to a realistic sounding feel. So the hi-hat open/close feel's not perfect but it's much better than I was expecting based on other feedback I've read. The chick and splash sounds are very good. A nice sounding 'chick' is easy and very intuitive but a splash requires an extremely rapid down and up foot movement - much faster than required with a regular hi-hat, otherwise you only get 'chick'. It's not a big deal but I'll agree with some others that there's scope for improvement to the hi-hat's open/close response and chick action.

SNARE
As with all the pads, stick response and feel from the mesh head is excellent. Initially I wasn't entirely happy with the sound of ghost notes and faster double stroke snare rolls - they sounded a little too machine-gun. After changing the snare's velocity curve in the module's settings I've now got a more natural sounding drum that handles double-stroke and other rudiment style rolls in a more realistic way.

TOMS
They worked just fine straight out of the box. At first I found the 8 inch pads were too small - I was often hitting the rim - but after adjusting the position and getting used to playing pads that are much smaller than my acoustic kit's toms, my accuracy has improved greatly! I didn't have the same problem with the 2 x 10 inch pads.

CRASH CYMBALS
Both crashes have separate bow and edge sounds. No bell sound. But they're also chokable, which is a great bonus. Once you've worked out exactly how to grab the edge in the right way, choke works perfectly every time.

RIDE CYMBAL
It's a 3 zone ride - bow edge and bell. I've seen a few comments about the bell sound being unreliable, so I was prepared for this to be an issue. What I've found is the bell function will work consistently, but only if it's struck within a very small area i.e. you have to look very carefully at the spot you're striking, which can be difficult at faster tempos. If you were recording with the kit and needed 100% perfect bell response, that could be tricky. Ideally the bell area would be larger, but for practice purposes I don't find it a major problem.

RACK & MOUNTS etc
I've never been a fan of racks, or e-kits for that matter - that's why my first venture into e-drumming was an acoustic to electric conversion - because a conventional drum kit will always look better IMO. So setting aside the fact all racks look like scaffolding, the most important thing is whether the MPS-850 rack is sturdy and reliable. I've had my kit for approx 6 weeks and it's been played for an average of an hour almost every day. So far the rack has been 100% reliable. Nothing has come loose or fallen off. It was easy to assemble, following the diagrams in the supplied manual.

SUMMARY
No doubt about it, the MPS-850 is outstanding value for money. To package such a well featured module along with bass drum (and BD pedal), snare, 4 x toms, 2 x crashes, 3-zone ride, hi-hat and hi-hat stand at this price is hugely impressive. The two supplied manuals are nicely done. One is for rack assembly and the other is a very detailed instruction book for the pads, cymbals and all module settings. I received two copies of each - one in German and one in English. Clear, concise and well written - not a hint of Chinglish!

CUSTOMER SERVICE
After a couple of weeks, one of my 10" drum pads (floor tom) developed a fault. The drum would only respond if the mesh head was struck in a very specific area, close to one of the mesh cones that sits between the head and sensor. When I contacted Thomann and described the fault, they asked me to send a video so they could get a better idea of what the problem was. I sent them a short video the following morning. Later the same day they contacted me to let me know a replacement pad was being sent free of charge. Yes, a slight inconvenience having to wait for a replacement but very reassuring to know Thomann were keen to resolve it as quickly as possible. 10/10
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
MPS-850 Review. SICK DRUM SET!
Edwin', 22.09.2019
I'm using this drum set for recording and for pop-rock band rehearsal. For ten years I used to play with acoustic drums only. I've actually bought these drums with huge risk, that I wouldn't even like it. But when I saw it is actually sick drum set and I fell in love with them really quick. Let's make it clear with pros and cons.

Pros:
1. Realy good looking, way less space taking (then acoustic drums), comfortable drums set.
2. Unbelievable recording quality. I fell in love with the sound of those drums really quick.
3. Easy to built and dismantle.
4. Good quality original pre-sets. You can actually unpack them and play in lots of different styles.
5. Integrated Pitch, reverb and compressor help to make it sound more real, unique and with 550 voices, you can actually record whatever you can imagine.
6. Comfortable to play, good quality materials used.

Cons:
The only con I see - kick pedal is pretty weak and doesn't look to hold for a long time. But it is possible, that it's been damaged while shipping.

Would I recommend this E-Drum Set for a badass drummer? Trust me guys, I do. It's really insane E-Drum Set for records, for gigs, for rehearsals and for your own metronome practising. Sounds good, effects good, dynamics good, materials good. You should give it a shot. Price and quality ratio - perfect.

Have fun, you guys!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
The perfect choice!
Carnivore, 03.10.2018
If you are either a begginer/intermediate drummer seeking for the perfect instrument to practice and develop your skills or a skilled drummer in need of something to fit in your apartment and play late nights, this is the perfect choice.

I was pleasantly surprised with the quality (including the fixtures and stands) after reading more than one interview complaining about those. Are these made out of plastic? Of course they are! At this price point, what is to be expected? Titanium?? Beign careful you will have this set up in minutes, for a quality comparable to drum sets costing twice as much.

Playability is semi professional and natural, and the sound selection is useful, reasonably broad and varied (of course you can always go midi here and plug straight to more professional soundsets).

Compared to Rolands, to name but one, you will end up having something better in terms of quality if you compare this set with other at similar price point. That, plus double the features. Many months today after daily use, and nothing to complain about.

To render this set into something more professional, you might consider replacing the bass drum pedal (the one provided is not bad at all, gets the job done, but if you are already accustomed to more professional resources, chances are you will miss that) and probably add a regular cymbal stand or two to have more flexibility in terms of playing real state. Aside from that, you can plug this set to the plugin of choice (in my case EZ drummer metal soundsets) and you will be in for a 100% pro solution.

In case you are a begginer, this set will enable you to transition easier to an acoustic set (compared to Roland entry level options, for instance) and will be a breeze to transition to high end MIDI drum sets.

This is, in my most sincere opinion, and absolute winner!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
Feature-rich and best for value kit
Exci, 14.03.2019
First of all, I'm a complete beginner. Having done some research for e-drum kits around this price range, this knocks everything else out of the park.

Pros:
The fact you get a three-zone ride as well as mesh pads on all drums and a proper hi-hat stand are all very good selling points for me. Having your hi-hat actually move up and down along the pedal (and only wobble when the hi-hat is open, just like an acoustic kit) is in my opinion essential for a realistic feeling of playing the drums. You can't get a real hi-hat stand with other kits anywhere near this money range.

Additionally getting 2 crashes, a ride and 4 toms for this price? It's a steal! I cannot comment on the kit's durability as I have just received this set - we'll see how it holds over time.

The sounds that come with the module are ok, nothing special, but I plan on using it with software on my PC and therefore that is not important for me.

Cons:
Two issues worth mentioning however, which are not a huge deal but they're worth mentioning:

Firstly, the snare drum trigger will trigger a rim shot even if you just touch the rim and not the pad itself. If you use some software like EzDrummer you will be able to configure touching the rim as a cross stick OR a rimshot, but at least as far as I can tell, you cannot do both rimshots and cross sticks on the snare. To be honest I'm not sure how much you'd have to go higher in price of a snare trigger to have proper rimshot and cross stick functionality.

Second, while the ride is a three-zone cymbal, getting the bell to trigger has been inconsistent for me as very often I get a bow sound instead of a bell when I'm quite clearly hitting the bell with the tip of my stick. I've spoken with support and unfortunately that's how it is. Oh well - possible future upgrade.

Overall, for the price that you're paying you're getting a really good kit that doesn't look like a toy and it has everything you need. Absolutely recommended for beginners and possibly intermediate-level players too.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
It is what it is, but for price/value, spectacular choice non-pro
Thor in my dreams, 22.05.2019
Bought this only to play at home. It is small, quiet, does not take much space. Works, sounds, responds well. Sounds and kits are adequate and easy to tweak. I especially like the individual volume controls, very handy changing kits. For all you get here, you just cannot beat the price.

Other reviews have mentioned inadequate phones output level, I have everything at max but it is enough for me.

A whole lot good (especially for the price) and probably all you need at home or for a fixed gig. Probably not sturdy enough to pack and move a lot, this is not pro equipment but a good value.

3 bads I see....

1. the hi-hat spring is not strong enough to open fast (not adjustable) so not capable of disco hi-hat. I will look for an additional spring to add somewhere, should not be too hard to fix this but it certainly should not come this way out of the box ! And, of course, there is no "loose" sound, just open and close.

2. the ride bell is impossible to trigger reliably so that very useful effect is just not available.

3. cymbal choke is also unreliable

Is it all you want. No.
Is it all you need? At home or in church, yes.
Is it worth the money? YES!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
Best Electronic Drum kit for the money
InspiredDead, 24.11.2018
Build quality excellent, Sounds great, Only very minor issue,, headphone volume could be higher. Not tested on Amp yet.
Having the ability to adjust just about everything makes this a quality piece of kit.
Setup was very easy and all worked correctly from the onset.
Would recommend this kit to anyone, just starting through to professional drummer. Good range on inbuilt kits which can be altered and new kits created. Evan the songs are easy to play along with if your new drummer and also has a metronome to help you keep in time..
One last thing - What I tried to find out but no-one could answer:
SPACE NEEDED FOR THIS KIT........
When put together it will EASILY fit in the space of 1.5m wide X 1.1m deep, that is Including the drum stool in the playing position. Height from floor to top of my highest crash cymbal is 1.20m.
Hope this helps........
JUST EXCELLENT........ Thank you Thomann.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
Don't pay for a brand name !!!!!
Drum Monster, 22.07.2019
Hi all,
If you're like me sat on the fence to purchase an electronic drum kit really don't go with the "I must have a Brand name kit"
You need to buy from Thomann the Milenium 850 bundle wow what value for money.
Easy to put up, to use and is the dogs danglies to play.
2 cons: like any stool / throne not soooo comfy ,,,, you wont be able to put the sticks down and we wonna start a band .
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
Excellent Practice Kit
bsl24, 08.05.2019
I have been looking at replacing my old e-drum kit for a while and ended up buying the Millenium MPS-850 as it was over 2x cheaper than my 1st choice Roland TD-17KVX.

Use: I only use it for practicing at home.

Pros: Sturdy frame and fully adjustable mounts, I managed to position all pads and cymbals exactly like they are set up on my acoustic kit. Mesh pads feel very close to normal drum heads and you can adjust the tension to your liking. The drum module has a lot of options for tweaking the sounds, kits, songs, etc.

Cons: My main issue is with the hi-hat controller. Opening and closing does not always respond as it should. The other one is the ride bell trigger - you need to hit hard to trigger it.

Sounds and kits: Pre-configured sounds and kits are ok, have not tried setting up custom ones or importing samples yet, I guess you can improve the overall experience by doing that.

In a summary, I am very happy with the purchase, a huge step up from my previous kit. Excellent value for money.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
Nothing can beat it at this price range!
Martin Cieslar , 17.10.2018
Bought it for our drumer for home practicing, Blown by the quality, great sound samples, well built, cannot find anything better at this price range.
Well recomended!

EDIT:
After cca 20 hours of playing first problem showed up. Mesh on kick pad ripped and started tear apart which surprised me. Wouldnt expect that after such short time of playing. Thomann offered new 8'' Millenium mesh to replace with.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
mamka, 16.01.2019
Thank you for the superior product is the best choice after very much searching I recommend it inexplicably ..
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
Really in love!
Wouterdl, 07.05.2019
This is a very good electronic drumkit. Easy to install and adjustable. If you have any doubt about buying a electronic drumkit, my advise is to buy this kit, trust me!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
Unbeatable cost/benefit
SamuelDantas, 10.01.2019
First Thomann product that I bought and to use with Superior Drummer 2, so I was not expecting this high level of quality for this price. Well built cymbals (all dual-zone), toms (center and edge trigger), pedals and hi-hat machine. The drum head material really mimics a real one and the noise is completely fine.

Pros
- 2 crash cymbals
- 4 toms
- Nearly perfect hi-hat machine
- Really good drum heads
- Kick drum head easily suitable for double pedal
- Works flawlessly with Superior Drummer 2 with USB or MIDI cable
- Rack with easily customizable positions (I'm left-handed so I needed to move the ride to the left)

Cons
- Ride bell needs a bit stronger hit to trigger properly
- Hi-hat cable too short
- Hi-hat cymbal lock not fixing properly

All other brands are not even close to this cost/benefit rate!
It's a steal for that price! No regrets whatsoever!
Highly recommended!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
Great Drumkit for a reasonable price
ionaa, 23.01.2019
So far I've used it a few months at home to practice. It's been a blast drumming on the MPS-850 kit.

Loads of sounds, many tweakable options, effects and metronome.
Despite the positive points, it lacks good audio mixing options, there is not really an option to extend with some extra cymbals, and the materials used do feel a bit cheap.

Overall, for the money, it's a decent kit with many options but it really is a 'what you see is what you get' thingy, no expansions possible and the provided hardware(Kick pedal etc.) could definately be upgraded if you're a serious drummer.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
Millenium e drum set
Mal L., 11.03.2019
I LOVE IT! Real pedal set up, real hi hat stand, extra crash cymbal and extra tom, brilliant! Big, chunky and tough. The cymbals can be chocked, they have various hit zones, the snare can be rim showed. Well made, almost infinatly adjustable, there?s a lot to this kit, I can?t keep off it. I?m really really impressed with it, the build quality is well made and chunky
It is a shame however that the pre programmed songs can?t have the drums muted so you?re playing along with the songs with the drumming as well.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
Great beginners and practice kit
Mileata, 17.12.2018
I received this kit recently and have been impressed with it. I used to play an acoustic kit when I was younger and haven't played in over 20 years. I decided to get back into drumming but needed something quiter to practice on. I never played on E-drums before and I have been very impressed with how much they feel like an acoustic kit. The module is very user friendly and easy to navigate. The drum sounds are quite good and I like that you can add new ones. Over all it's great to play on, I would recommend.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
joel sarmiento, 13.06.2019
Reliable, budget-friendly drum kit with professional Look
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
MikhailV, 11.01.2019
I took 850 for MIDI to use with PC. Just when it went out on sale in august. So far so great. Good practice set. Half a year of usage. Used two pads with a module with my acoustic kit for one special gig.

I keep it at home. And its huge. When I dont need move together moving parts so the drum set takes like 0,80m2. I dont like that hihat moves around when I play and I from time to time I plastic instead of triggers.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Millenium MPS-850 E-Drum Set

$555 €502.52
Plus $33.37 shipping

The price in USD is a guideline price only!

Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
gb
Phone: +49-9546-9223-40
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
(8)
Recently Viewed
Behringer K-2

Analog semi-modular synthesizer Monophonic sound generation, 2 VCOs with 4 waveforms and ring modulation, VCO Mixer, Resonant high-pass and low-pass filters, LFO with triangular, sawtooth and rectangular waveforms, 2 Analog envelopes for VCA and VCF, Signal processor with amplifier,...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Zoom F6

14-Track Multitrack Field Recorder 32-Bit float recording via dual AD converter, 6 Inputs with XLR / TRS combo jacks, Compact and lightweight aluminium housing, High-quality microphone preamps with up to 75 dB gain, Noise: -127 dBu (A weight, gain...

Recently Viewed
Mooer Tone Capture GTR

EQ Sampler for Pickup Guitars Allows you to record the sound and tonal character of any guitar, Can be used as an EQ effects pedal without a sampler, 7 Built-in presets for EQ settings and saved guitar sounds, Awitchable...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Fender SQ LTD Bullet Strat TTQ

Electric Guitar Limited edition, Body: Poplar, Neck: Maple, Fretboard: Indian Laurel, Neck profile: C neck profile, Scale: 648 mm, Fretboard radius: 241 mm, Nut width: 42 mm, 21 Medium jumbo frets, Pickups: 3 Single coils, Standard synchronised tremolo, 5-Way...

Recently Viewed
Sony WF-1000XM3 Black

In-Ear Bluetooth Earphones Truly wireless, Wireless via Bluetooth, Optimisation of digital music files with DSEE HX, HD processor QN1e for noise reduction, Ergonomic tri-hold structure, Google Assistant, 6 mm Driver - dome (copper voice coil), Frequency range 20 -...

Recently Viewed
Thomann DP-51 WH

Thomann DP-51 WH Digital Piano - 88 weighted hammer action keys with three sensors, 40 sounds, polyphony 128 notes, 50 styles, 60 songs, reverb, chorus, sequencer, dual-mode, split-mode, metronome, Master EQ, transpose function, speaker system 2x 15W, 3x pedals, USB...

(2)
Recently Viewed
Yamaha PSS-A50

Keyboard 37 Velocity-sensitive slim keys, 32 Voice polyphony, 42 Voices (instruments), 138 Arpeggio types, Phrase Recorder, Motion effect, USB MIDI connection, Battery and USB bus power supply (USB power adapter sold separately), 1.4 W speaker, Headphone jack, USB to...

Recently Viewed
iZotope Ozone 9 Standard EDU

iZotope Ozone 9 Standard EDU (ESD); mastering software; Educational version (requires proof of eligibility); compact mastering toolkit with numerous editing possibilities; Master Assistant helps get to a logical starting point by using the sonic profile of the audio; choose from...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Roland MC-707

Roland MC-707; Groovebox; ZEN-Core Sound Engine with up to 128 voices polyphony; 8 parts; 8-track sequencer with 128 steps maximum; 16 clips per sequencer track; up to 8 Loop tracks with Time Stretch and Pitch Shift; 3000 preset tones and...

Recently Viewed
Fender Squier LTD Bullet Mustang HH S

Electric Guitar Limited edition, Body: Poplar, One-piece neck: Maple, Fretboard: Indian Laurel (Laurel), Neck profile: C-shape, Scale length: 610 mm, Nut width: 42 mm, 22 Medium jumbo frets, Pickups: 2 Dual humbuckers, 1 x Volume and 1 x tone...

(4)
Recently Viewed
Mooer GE150 Amp Modelling & Multi

Mooer GE150 Amp Modelling & Multi Effects; multi-effects processor; 55 high-quality amp models from the Micro Preamp series; 26 different default cabinet simulations (IRs); supports 3rd party impulse responses (IRs, 2048 pts.); in 10 free user presets; 40 drum rhythms...

Recently Viewed
Yamaha PSS-F30

Keyboard 37 Mini keys, 32 Voice polyphony, 120 Voices (instruments), 114 Styles and Smart Chord Function, 30 Songs, Free digital songbook, Various functions (sustain, metronome and more!), Power supply via battery or USB bus (USB power adapter sold separately),...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.