Presonus Eris E5

295 Customer Ratings:
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.7 / 5.0
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
31 written ratings
Total
features
quality
sound
Good pair of speakers for the price
emirunalan, 28.10.2019
I'm a music producer and I was looking for a pair of speaker to use for mixing and when I get tired of headphones when writing music. I use them in my bedroom studio. My room is approximately 10 m2 so was looking for about 5" speakers. The balance between frequencies is not perfect, a little bit darker for decent speakers but lets be honest, you can buy only one speaker for that price. If you consider their price, the sound is the best you can get. Also I used Yamaha HS5 before and i prefer Eris. The connection options are really good. You have plenty of options. You can connect to your source via XLR, TRS or RCA. Also they are looking really good on top of my desk.
Pros:
Price (Obliously, the best pair of speakers you can get for this price range)
Suitable for small rooms
They are sounding great
Clear enough for mixing
They look really good

Cons
A bit dark sound for pro use

Would I recommend them? Ofcourse I would. For this price range you can not find better pair of speakers in my opinion. But be sure your room is treated otherwise you can not have a flat response regardless of which speaker you use.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Low pride and height quality studio monitors.
max_shulz, 14.01.2020
Advantages: Perfect price/quality ratio. Wide possibilities for adjusting to the size of the room and the location of monitors in the space. The middle does not fail, and the low frequencies are enough to tune the bass sounds. The small size allows you to use them even in home studios. Fully justifies the stated characteristics. The metal grid in front of the tweeter allows you to hear high frequencies honestly, without clicking where they are not.
Disadvantages:
What upset me a little at first is the low-frequency speaker is smaller than the claimed 5.25 inches. Of course, judging by the size of the diffuser (which turned out to be 4.5 inches), the speaker, along with its mount, will just be 5.25 inches in diameter, but this spoiled my first impression. After checking all the stated frequencies were confirmed and about the size of the diffuser, I stopped thinking.
The midrange controller on the back panel, in my opinion, manages not the most successful range. I needed to lower the middle quite a bit, taking into account the peculiarities of my room, but along with the" extra " frequencies, some of the high ones were gone. I had to put it in the original position and take into account the small "middle" of the sound.
Comment: Despite the shortcomings, I really liked this model of monitors. The ability to adjust to the room - this is the biggest plus of all Presonus monitors. This particular model I recommend to those who are just starting to engage in sound engineering. But personally, I do not intend to say goodbye to them in the future, as the monitors of the near field, they showed themselves very well. Finally, given the customization options, they can also be used as household speakers, if necessary.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
wow
sonics_nl, 14.01.2020
I jumped from your average pc speaker to the presonus 3.5 and tought "wow that sounds a lot better!", soon replaced the 3.5 for the presonus 5 and the 3.5 sounded boxy with too little bass compared to the 5. The presonus is very natural sounding lively just like my studio headphones. For only 215 euro's strongly recommended. A on/off swith on the front side would have been nice.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
transparent sound
29.04.2016
for 5 inch monitors this provide good stereo image, an clear center image;
they do not compare cu Adam 7 , as a bigger woofer delivers another kind of sound image, but for 5 inch they have great bass balance(so with right settings it is hard to over mix bass volume), the highs are separated very well, the mid image is clear , not muddy, you can hear the vocals nicely.
Stereo image is really nice, you can hear the phantom center of the spund between the two speakers.
I have had heard pioneer sdj05(bigger volume but not clear image separation like eris), m-audio carbon 8 (greater sound but no clear center and overpowering bass), adam 7( much transparent but more expensive, but in my opinion they are the best if you can find them)
i usually set my speakers sideway but with kris 5 i do not have to: the image is wide for vertical position.All the options in the back help
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
5 stars all the way
Guitariste Occitane, 15.12.2016
I recently made the mistake of plugging my US 110v speaker monitors into an EU 220v socket...needless to say, they were fried. It was one of the best mistakes ever, because I wouldn't have found these gems. I was wanting to upgrade to some professional monitors without breaking the bank, so after reading a plethora of reviews about the Eris-5, I took the leap. I've been wanting a pair of Yamaha HS-7's forever, but they're very expensive -especially for a musician on a budget. I have to say that the Eris series is on par with any HS series speaker. I know, that's a bold statement...but I can't get over the audio quality of these monitors. They're bi-amp, just like the Yamaha's, so you're sure to get that crisp sound for both hi & low frequencies. True "reference" capability. Same features, but a fraction of the cost. Also, having the ability to switch between 110 & 220v -with easy access to change the fuse, is a blessing. I'm no studio expert by any means, but I know what sounds good being a musician. I find that the kevlar cones have a very distinct sound as well. I totally recommend these & will use them for a long time.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
The best sound you can get for the money
OrtonE, 11.12.2015
I've checked a number of speakers within similar price tag including M-Audio BX5 D2, Behringer B2031A, KRK RP6 RoKit or Samson Resolv SE8. All this speakers got its own character but if you are looking for an affordable and great sounding reference speakers for rock, jazz or acoustic music this are absolutely fantastic. None of the above doesn't sound as good as Eris 5 does. My room is well treated with bass traps and full band absorbers, unfortunately the room size proportions aren't ideal - 4x4.5x2.2m (WLH). The adjustments at the back of this speakers makes a big difference and it helped a lot with setting them up correctly. But don't get me wrong, they still sound very good out of the box. Eris 5 are perfect for this room size with plenty of punch in reserve. I've got them set at 86dB and the gain knob at the back is still set around 30% only. I've already mixed two songs on them that are completely different (a band like RATM and acoustic guitar with flute and a choir) and both sounds excellent on anything else if they sounds good on Eris 5. The results are really excellent! I actually prefer them over Neumann's KH 120 A that we also have at the studio.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Kuzma, 12.08.2019
just received the parcel. Delivery to Russia in less than two weeks.

Studio monitors perform well. I think this is the best deal for the price. Eris has many controls to adjust the best listening experience in different rooms.

small size, variability of listening, AB class amplifier. all this gives the best experience for you, both for a beginner and for a professional in a home studio

I used Yamaha HS8 before, but for my home studio they were too big and too powerful. Eris e5 is my choice now. I am pleased to purchase Eris E5.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Presonus Eris E5...
rockandroller, 15.01.2019
I think they are just great monitors, I use them in my home studio.
Excellent quality for the price paid,I'm sure I will work with them for long time.
The E5's even have some features that are only found on more expensive monitors (and not even on some of them),like the crossover at 3khz.
Just love my E5's!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
One of the best in this price range
Jimmyrockali, 05.01.2018
These are my first studio monitors. The build quality and sound these provide far exceedes the price you pay for them. I mainly use them for mixing and always reach great resaults. Interestingly they have a built in 3-band eq, so you can adjust it to your preference when simple listening to music and set it flat for mixing. My only problem with these monitors is they somewhat lack in the bass frequencies, but that is easily remedied by adjusting the EQ or adding a subwoofer for mixing.

pros:
-value for money is amazing
-great sound
-built in band eq
-great build quality
-light
cons:
-For mixing you really need to buy a separet subwoofer
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Sounds good, looks good
Aidar K, 07.12.2018
Very beautiful and sturdy monitors. I use them in my home studio. They actually sound good and have a flat response with nice detailed (but not overhyped) low frequencies. More than enough for music production and mixing. They are rather good especially for acoustically unprepared rooms and small studios.

I would recommend these monitors to every musician or mixing engineer, it's a great product really.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Very good quality for the price
Pablo Aparicio, 06.11.2019
Really good sound for a small room. The 5 inch monitors provide good stereo and clear center sound. I think the build quality and sound exceeds the price you pay for them.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Extremely Happy
phil_p, 24.01.2018
Great sound for an advanced Korg Kronos player.
I am not a sound engineer so my evaluation cant go beyond my subjective happiness
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Top value speakers
04.01.2015
The active speaker market appears big nowadays, there are almost "too" many brands and models available. This is is my first set of active studio monitors. I based my selection of Presonus Eris 5 on its technical specs and positive reviews on the net, no possibility to try them myself beforehand. Also the price was very attractive and small monitors suit best my room.
My impression so far is very positive. Sound is precise and in orchestral music I can quite easily pick different instruments from the sound mass. This is amazing for such a small woofer and tweeter. Of course Eris 5 falls a little short in lows, which I fix with Presonus Temblor subwoofer, but even without the subwoofer the overall sound is a pleasure to listen to.
The only drawback I've found is that Eris picks some noise when a mobile phone is nearby and has e.g. a call coming. So keep the mobiles at some distance away.
As a Finn I might appreciate having Genelec speakers. But my current choice of Presonus Eris 5 was a definitely good one and beats the small Genelec's in many ways.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Really nice monitors!
Stan.G, 03.10.2017
These monitors, as any others, require initial adjustment, picking proper settings and positioning. But when you're don,e you'll be happy. Did I say they look cool as well?

Pros:
- Good sound quality
- Phase invertor on front
- Room adjustments
- Variety of input options
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
These are Awesome
AdamT, 16.12.2017
These Studio Monitors are just amazing. Not only are they awesome looking but they sound even better. Great feature to my Recording Studio. Thanks to all at Thomann. Cheers
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Big things in small enclosure
Dmitrijs, 23.02.2016
Had a recording where i could compere these and Tannoy Reveal 8" monitors. Of course even Eris 5 couldn't compete with low end of 8 inch speakers and also sounded a bit muffled. These are more on the midrange side, although if you learn to use them, you can control low end quite good.

The main things is: if you listen music you know and study the sound of these monitors, i think they are great tool to mix on. 3 kinds of connections and acoustic tuning are very useful things that adds great value for this low price!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
great monitors for a small studio
peterv1971, 03.11.2014
Good compact 'across the range' studio monitors. with crisp highs and punchy lows. some great acoustic handling features for adapting to a corner or small studio space. Very reasonably priced..
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Outstanding for the price
Richard aus Q., 12.11.2018
I needed small monitors for a small "bedroom" home studio with bass ports at the front because I must be near a wall. I search extensively for monitors specs, reviews, etc. These are consistently well reviewed and I know why now. Excellent clarity and there are details in just about any frequency that I hear better on these than my previous monitors.

One big factor that guided my choice is that with a less than perfect room, you can tweak the speaker to, at least, help with the acoustic of the room.

The bass response is clear but I expect that a sub paired with the E5 would be just awesome. I record mostly acoustic and fairly clean stuff so I don't want agressive or bassy sounding speakers.

Price is fantastic for the quality.

Thomann, as always, is unbeatable for their helpfulness and support.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Good product
ifacoustic, 04.11.2019
Hi
Robust, good sound with enough bass
Works fine in my 12m2 home studio
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Great small monitors
Peter4070, 03.10.2014
Good quality sound reproduction with nice room eq settings very handy for small studios with corners/walls behind monitors etc
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Tried and can recommend
Cica, 27.11.2013
Brilliant clear sound. Nice feature for bass cut-off while potting into corner of the room.
Can only recommend, definitely worth the money
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Good pair of Monitors for what you pay.
Pedro Mayor, 14.06.2018
The quality of the speakers are impeccably justified by the price. You get what you pay for. Of course they don?t sound stunning, but they get the job done perfectly well for a starting producer an amateur home studio or even just for high quality listening. Controls on the back are handy to adapt to the room your in. If you're not looking to spend more than 300 euros for a decent pair of monitors, this is it. It is definitely not too bass heavy, and offers a great flat response IF you set it up correctly. I might be upgrading soon, but only because I feel like I need to step up my studio game altogether.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Great workaday monitors
Fuzzy mush, 06.07.2017
I needed a pair of monitors that I could work with all day without ear fatigue. Many small monitors are 'nasty' in the mids, 'gritty' at the top, and over hyped at the bottom. These Eris E5s are none of those, in fact, the quality of sound from such a small package still makes me smile.

Pros:
Great sound for all day working.
Enough facilities to taylor them to your room.
Plenty loud enough!
They have great focus too, so a smallish sweet spot, but get in the middle and the detail is excellent.

Cons:
The right hand one thumps when you turn it on. Quality control should have caught that.

Colin Owen.
His Place Malvern.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Au top
03.01.2016
Il me fallait des enceintes de proxy qui puissent envoyer du gros du lourd mais aussi du precis et avec lesquelles je pourrais mixer mes enregistremets de facon optimale sans pour autant me ruiner ...... Elles sont impeccables et disons qu un petit sub leur sera profitable si vous comptez envoyer des infras sans les faire fremir ! mais pour le prix , ne cherchez plus elles sont dans le haut de panier sans soucis et de loin !! go go go ! je les utilise depuis 8 mois ( plus ou moins) et aucun probleme a signaler tjs au top !
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
3 years have gone by and continue to work smoothly
Gonçalo Cabral, 11.12.2015
3 years have gone by and continue to work smoothly, it seems to me to be a reliable company although they are made in china they still work as in the beginning, good entry level monitors
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Presonus Eris E5

$199 €180.67
Plus $33 shipping

The price in USD is a guideline price only!

Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Online Guides
Monitor Speakers
Monitor Speakers
In this guide we’ll outline the basic principles of studio monitors, and take a closer look at their most common features.
Online Guides
Choosing a Computer
Choosing a Computer
Computers can be very complicated. We’'re here to offer some advice!
 
 
 
 
 
Download
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
Recently Viewed
Behringer RX1602 V2

Behringer RX1602 V2; 16-channel monitor line mixer; 16 balanced TRS connector inputs for stereo or mono use; great headroom; Monitor / FX transmitter controls per section with global master transmit control; Monitor / FX signal via headphone output; 2 x...

Recently Viewed
LAB Gruppen PDX3000

2-Channel amplifier with DSP function Power: 2x 1000W @ 2 Ohm, 2x 1500 W @ 4 Ohm, 2x 800 W @ 8 Ohm, 3000 W Peak, Class-D power amplifier, DSP configuration on front panel or via USB connection and...

Recently Viewed
the box MBA120W MKII

the box MBA120W - 120W compact powered speaker with integrated MP3 and bluetooth player and UHF ( 863 - 865 MHz) wireless microphone system, 3x inputs for wired sources (microphones or instruments), line out (6,3mm Jack), integrated PSU and rechargeable...

(4)
Recently Viewed
PRS SE Custom 24 BG 35th Anniv

Electric Guitar Limited edition, Body: Mahogany, Top: Maple with flamed maple veneer, 3-Piece neck: Maple, Fretboard: Rosewood (Dalbergia latifolia), Neck profile: Wide Thin, Old School Bird fretboard inlays, Scale: 635 mm, 24 Frets, Pickup: 2 PRS TCI "S" humbuckers,...

Recently Viewed
Mooer GE 250

Mooer GE 250 Amp modelling & Multi Effects, multi-effects pedal, 70 high-quality amp models from the Micro Preamp series, 32 different default cabinet simulations (IRs), supports 3rd party impulse responses (IRs, 2048 pts.) in 10 free user presets, 60 drum...

Recently Viewed
Harley Benton TUBE15 Celestion

Harley Benton TUBE15 Celestion Combo; Tube Combo Amplifier for Electric Guitar; channels: 1; power: 15 watts; pre-amp tubes: 3x ECC83/12AX7; power-amp tubes: 2x EL84; equipped with: 12" Celestion seventy speaker; controls: gain, volume, tone, bass, middle, treble, reverb; switches: power...

Recently Viewed
the box pro DSX 112

Active Full-Range Speaker High-quality wooden cabinet, 2000 W Class D power amplifier, Contents: 12" woofer and 1" compression driver (1.35" VC), Built-in DSP with 4 presets, Low Cut, Maximum SPL (sound pressure level): 128 dB, Dispersion pattern: H 90°...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Tannoy Gold 5

Active Studio Nearfield Monitor 5" Dual Concentric Coaxial System, 0.8" Titanium tweeter with Tulip WaveGuide, 200 Watt Class-AB Bi-Amp, Bass reflex system, Frequency range: 70 - 20,000 Hz, Maximum SPL: 107 dB, Front panel controls for volume and tweeter...

Recently Viewed
Zildjian 16" Planet Z Crash

Zildjian 16" Planet Z Crash, Regular Finish, Material: Nickel Silver, your entry to the Zildjian cymbal world, made in U.S.A.,

Recently Viewed
9.solutions 5/8" Rod Set 1000mm

5/8" Rod set 2 Threaded rods including 1 connector, Length per rod: 1000 mm, Female thread at rod end: 3/8", Rod diameter: 16 mm, Material: Aluminium, Weight (per rod): 390 g

Recently Viewed
Harley Benton TE-40 LH TBK Deluxe Series

Electric Guitar Left hand model, Body: Basswood, Top: Ash, Bolt-on neck: Maple, Fretboard: Pau Ferro, Fretboard radius: 350 mm, 22 Frets, Scale: 648 mm, Nut width: 43 mm, Dual action truss rod, Pickup: 2 Roswell HAF AlNiCo V humbuckers,...

Recently Viewed
Fun Generation BP 108 A

Battery Operated Active 2-Way Speaker Equipped with: 1x 8" Speaker and 1x 1" compression driver, Power: 60 W peak, Maximum SPL: 109 dB, Frequency range 75 - 18,000 Hz, 2-Band EQ, Integrated media player with display, SD card slot,...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.