Presonus Eris E5

397 Customer Ratings:
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.7 /5
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
features
quality
sound
Those are my new favorites for both mixing/production and enjoying music!
fommof, 28.04.2020
OK, so I was looking to buy a pair of studio monitors primarily for mixing/tracking/production of my own music and secondarily for a neutral medium with which I could fine tune my modeler's presets and maybe enjoy music through them.

Mind that since 2006 I've been listening to music through studio monitors and not hifi speakers and that my old 5" Tascam monitors had gone south, I wanted to keep the budget as low as possible as although I could afford speakers with three times the price, I am not a pro and nowadays I am very practical; just buy something that would do the job and be done with it instead of chasing your own tail.

I read a lot, I listened to some comparisons and I pulled the trigger and bought those and paired them with my Behringer UMC404HD (yet another excellent product that beats products with double the price, but that's another story).

I get anything from zero to some hiss but that depends on the room I use them and the outlet configuration so I know it's not the speakers that may or will cause any hiss (always TRS connection and volume set on max). So, that's that.

I use them in untreated 12-20 square meter rooms, volume wise there is no way you will ever need more volume than they can provide even if you want to throw a small party in the house (50 square meters).

In terms of acoustic treatment, there are at least 3 different settings you can adjust to make things sound right (either by ear or by taking measurements and go from there) but to be honest I only set the bass freqs to -2db as no matter the room, I place them relatively close to the walls (less than 20cm, that is) so that's what gives me the most balanced sound in terms of bass frequencies, but ymmv.

Now, the most important part, the frequencies themselves. There are dozens if not hundreads of monitor speakers out there that are supposed to be flat but they are all different. The trick here is to pick the ones that fits your work in terms of sound fidelity, if you can, and if you own more than one set of monitors so you can cross-reference (different brands/models) that's great too. I find the E5's very balanced, not mid heavy than some of the star monitors out there, not high heavy and not bass heavy either (always by my standards, again, ymmv).

OK, now for the the bass freqs comment since most people out there may think that 5" monitors can't cope with those. Let me put it this way, If you love super accentuated bass freqs, and I am talking about freqs that don't even exist on an original recording (no matter if it's your creation or someone else's) then for your own good just forget all about studio/reference monitors and just buy big HiFi speakers, you will be more happy with that choice. If you are instrested in listening excactly or close enough of what has been recorded and your room is not humongous and you are after a nearfield pair of monitors, then the 5" ones will do just fine and in some cases way better than most of the bigger ones. And if your music consists of sub-bass freqs just look for something else (studio moniors + subwoofer, bigger studio monitors etc.).

The music I record comes from electric guitars and all of them are tuned in standard D, electric bass with 55-110 strings tuned in standard D etc. I can hear everything on the E5's and pretty much as they were recorded. In fact as I am writting this review, I am listening to some Miles Davis mid fifties music and I can hear the uptight bass loud and clear (and that's with -2db on the bass freqs due to speaker placement).

Now, a funny, story, a week after I bough these I invited a dear friend of mine which not only happens to be a professional musician but he also has a recording studio and does recordings/mixing/productions for a living. He owns several studio monitors and not the ones you will find for less than 1000 bucks. So, I told him to check the sound balance because I was a bitt worried about the placement etc. He played through them a few of his songs that he had mixed with his superpro gear just a few weeks before. Within the first seconds he found a few flaws of his mixing that had to do with the drum case! Then we played quite a few of studio recordings of other artists and he just gave me a thumbs up while he was scratching his head about the price. Funny, isn't it?

All in all, sorry but no, the E5's are not the "bestest" of all, there is no such thing. They are VERY balanced and sure a pair of HS5's (more mid and high heavy in my opinion) or 305's (somewhere between the E5's and HS5's in my opinion) may suit you more but those have the best balance for what I do.

I'll be ordering another pair of these for my living room which is where I record (not mix) my music, listen to music, watching movied etc. as I moved them and tried them just to see what they could do and I just love them! That way I would be able to set the guitars and bass sound before the actual recording to properly fit in future mixes (instead of recording first with a particular sound and then EQ it to death to make it sit and cut in a mix).

In conclusion, If you'll be working in relatively small rooms, you don't want to break the bank and your main focus is on mixing/tracking/production (as long as you don't care about sub-bass frequencies) then those should be one of the first candindates.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Low pride and height quality studio monitors.
max_shulz, 14.01.2020
Advantages: Perfect price/quality ratio. Wide possibilities for adjusting to the size of the room and the location of monitors in the space. The middle does not fail, and the low frequencies are enough to tune the bass sounds. The small size allows you to use them even in home studios. Fully justifies the stated characteristics. The metal grid in front of the tweeter allows you to hear high frequencies honestly, without clicking where they are not.
Disadvantages:
What upset me a little at first is the low-frequency speaker is smaller than the claimed 5.25 inches. Of course, judging by the size of the diffuser (which turned out to be 4.5 inches), the speaker, along with its mount, will just be 5.25 inches in diameter, but this spoiled my first impression. After checking all the stated frequencies were confirmed and about the size of the diffuser, I stopped thinking.
The midrange controller on the back panel, in my opinion, manages not the most successful range. I needed to lower the middle quite a bit, taking into account the peculiarities of my room, but along with the" extra " frequencies, some of the high ones were gone. I had to put it in the original position and take into account the small "middle" of the sound.
Comment: Despite the shortcomings, I really liked this model of monitors. The ability to adjust to the room - this is the biggest plus of all Presonus monitors. This particular model I recommend to those who are just starting to engage in sound engineering. But personally, I do not intend to say goodbye to them in the future, as the monitors of the near field, they showed themselves very well. Finally, given the customization options, they can also be used as household speakers, if necessary.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
wow
sonics_nl, 14.01.2020
I jumped from your average pc speaker to the presonus 3.5 and tought "wow that sounds a lot better!", soon replaced the 3.5 for the presonus 5 and the 3.5 sounded boxy with too little bass compared to the 5. The presonus is very natural sounding lively just like my studio headphones. For only 215 euro's strongly recommended. A on/off swith on the front side would have been nice.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
transparent sound
29.04.2016
for 5 inch monitors this provide good stereo image, an clear center image;
they do not compare cu Adam 7 , as a bigger woofer delivers another kind of sound image, but for 5 inch they have great bass balance(so with right settings it is hard to over mix bass volume), the highs are separated very well, the mid image is clear , not muddy, you can hear the vocals nicely.
Stereo image is really nice, you can hear the phantom center of the spund between the two speakers.
I have had heard pioneer sdj05(bigger volume but not clear image separation like eris), m-audio carbon 8 (greater sound but no clear center and overpowering bass), adam 7( much transparent but more expensive, but in my opinion they are the best if you can find them)
i usually set my speakers sideway but with kris 5 i do not have to: the image is wide for vertical position.All the options in the back help
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
AMAZED
Sharon Munch, 25.05.2020
These are absolutly Fantastic. Best value for money...

These are position next to all my synths as my Jamming speakers and they sound just as clear as my rather more expensive mixing monitores.

+Great build
+Fantastic sound
+Amazing price
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Yes. Yes. Yes.
Bedenella, 09.04.2020
I got them for my home setup and for a friend's setup. Great budget setup and sounds really good even at low prices.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
5 stars all the way
Guitariste Occitane, 15.12.2016
I recently made the mistake of plugging my US 110v speaker monitors into an EU 220v socket...needless to say, they were fried. It was one of the best mistakes ever, because I wouldn't have found these gems. I was wanting to upgrade to some professional monitors without breaking the bank, so after reading a plethora of reviews about the Eris-5, I took the leap. I've been wanting a pair of Yamaha HS-7's forever, but they're very expensive -especially for a musician on a budget. I have to say that the Eris series is on par with any HS series speaker. I know, that's a bold statement...but I can't get over the audio quality of these monitors. They're bi-amp, just like the Yamaha's, so you're sure to get that crisp sound for both hi & low frequencies. True "reference" capability. Same features, but a fraction of the cost. Also, having the ability to switch between 110 & 220v -with easy access to change the fuse, is a blessing. I'm no studio expert by any means, but I know what sounds good being a musician. I find that the kevlar cones have a very distinct sound as well. I totally recommend these & will use them for a long time.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Great sound for a good price
Xraiser, 18.05.2020
I wanted an affordable pair of monitors that I could use for home recordings and after some online research and comparisons I went for these.
This is my first pair of studio monitors so I do not have a strong reference point but I must say that they sound amazing. Old songs that I have been listening to for years and years become all of a sudden new experiences as new details are popping up.
Pro:
- wide frequency range that covers most of recording needs;
- great build quality and great look;
- ability to tune the speaker settings based on the room you use them in;
- no pop sound when turning them on/off;
- 3 types of inputs;
Cons:
- some background noise/static/hiss is audible when not playing anything. Although, it might be the cable (sssnake YPK2030) or the laptops that I tested them with.
Overall I am really happy with my purchase and it's hard to find flaws with them so far (after 1 month of use).
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
No competitors in this price range
tiagosc, 20.04.2020
These monitors look and sound good, and in this price range, you can't get any better. They are also pretty small, but powerful. Enough for a full mix, since they extend pretty well to 50Hz. They also give you several options in case your room is not acoustically treated, which is a great feature.

Pros:
- Great sound
- Sound range
- Compact
- Look
- Acoustic treatment features
Cons:
- None
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
The best sound you can get for the money
OrtonE, 11.12.2015
I've checked a number of speakers within similar price tag including M-Audio BX5 D2, Behringer B2031A, KRK RP6 RoKit or Samson Resolv SE8. All this speakers got its own character but if you are looking for an affordable and great sounding reference speakers for rock, jazz or acoustic music this are absolutely fantastic. None of the above doesn't sound as good as Eris 5 does. My room is well treated with bass traps and full band absorbers, unfortunately the room size proportions aren't ideal - 4x4.5x2.2m (WLH). The adjustments at the back of this speakers makes a big difference and it helped a lot with setting them up correctly. But don't get me wrong, they still sound very good out of the box. Eris 5 are perfect for this room size with plenty of punch in reserve. I've got them set at 86dB and the gain knob at the back is still set around 30% only. I've already mixed two songs on them that are completely different (a band like RATM and acoustic guitar with flute and a choir) and both sounds excellent on anything else if they sounds good on Eris 5. The results are really excellent! I actually prefer them over Neumann's KH 120 A that we also have at the studio.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Top value speakers
04.01.2015
The active speaker market appears big nowadays, there are almost "too" many brands and models available. This is is my first set of active studio monitors. I based my selection of Presonus Eris 5 on its technical specs and positive reviews on the net, no possibility to try them myself beforehand. Also the price was very attractive and small monitors suit best my room.
My impression so far is very positive. Sound is precise and in orchestral music I can quite easily pick different instruments from the sound mass. This is amazing for such a small woofer and tweeter. Of course Eris 5 falls a little short in lows, which I fix with Presonus Temblor subwoofer, but even without the subwoofer the overall sound is a pleasure to listen to.
The only drawback I've found is that Eris picks some noise when a mobile phone is nearby and has e.g. a call coming. So keep the mobiles at some distance away.
As a Finn I might appreciate having Genelec speakers. But my current choice of Presonus Eris 5 was a definitely good one and beats the small Genelec's in many ways.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Kuzma, 12.08.2019
just received the parcel. Delivery to Russia in less than two weeks.

Studio monitors perform well. I think this is the best deal for the price. Eris has many controls to adjust the best listening experience in different rooms.

small size, variability of listening, AB class amplifier. all this gives the best experience for you, both for a beginner and for a professional in a home studio

I used Yamaha HS8 before, but for my home studio they were too big and too powerful. Eris e5 is my choice now. I am pleased to purchase Eris E5.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Presonus Eris E5...
rockandroller, 15.01.2019
I think they are just great monitors, I use them in my home studio.
Excellent quality for the price paid,I'm sure I will work with them for long time.
The E5's even have some features that are only found on more expensive monitors (and not even on some of them),like the crossover at 3khz.
Just love my E5's!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Absolute best budget studio monitor
Lambert1, 20.03.2020
They've been praised to me by multiple sound engineers, then countless online reviews. They are mind blowing! Sound is crystal clear and delicate, response is even, the controls behind have allowed me to fine tune them very easily to my room. The stereo image is great, the design is stylish but sober. Also Presonus has dedicated tutorials and explanations that are very clear and well done that you can use for other speaker brand. I am now wondering how on earth did I not purchased them before??!! This is money very very very well spent!
P.S.: I always love their recipe at the end of their user manual, it's very sound-communal spirit!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Extremely Happy
phil_p, 24.01.2018
Great sound for an advanced Korg Kronos player.
I am not a sound engineer so my evaluation cant go beyond my subjective happiness
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Bang for the buck!
Dizzy85, 15.03.2020
Excellent entry-level active monitors. Suitable for a small home studios.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
For the price who can complain
TJWM, 16.06.2020
Yes the low end isn't amazing but for home use for my Nord there perfect :)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Big things in small enclosure
Dmitrijs, 23.02.2016
Had a recording where i could compere these and Tannoy Reveal 8" monitors. Of course even Eris 5 couldn't compete with low end of 8 inch speakers and also sounded a bit muffled. These are more on the midrange side, although if you learn to use them, you can control low end quite good.

The main things is: if you listen music you know and study the sound of these monitors, i think they are great tool to mix on. 3 kinds of connections and acoustic tuning are very useful things that adds great value for this low price!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Very good quality for the price
Pablo Aparicio, 06.11.2019
Really good sound for a small room. The 5 inch monitors provide good stereo and clear center sound. I think the build quality and sound exceeds the price you pay for them.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Sounds good, looks good
Aidar K, 07.12.2018
Very beautiful and sturdy monitors. I use them in my home studio. They actually sound good and have a flat response with nice detailed (but not overhyped) low frequencies. More than enough for music production and mixing. They are rather good especially for acoustically unprepared rooms and small studios.

I would recommend these monitors to every musician or mixing engineer, it's a great product really.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Outstanding for the price
Richard aus Q., 12.11.2018
I needed small monitors for a small "bedroom" home studio with bass ports at the front because I must be near a wall. I search extensively for monitors specs, reviews, etc. These are consistently well reviewed and I know why now. Excellent clarity and there are details in just about any frequency that I hear better on these than my previous monitors.

One big factor that guided my choice is that with a less than perfect room, you can tweak the speaker to, at least, help with the acoustic of the room.

The bass response is clear but I expect that a sub paired with the E5 would be just awesome. I record mostly acoustic and fairly clean stuff so I don't want agressive or bassy sounding speakers.

Price is fantastic for the quality.

Thomann, as always, is unbeatable for their helpfulness and support.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
These are Awesome
AdamT, 16.12.2017
These Studio Monitors are just amazing. Not only are they awesome looking but they sound even better. Great feature to my Recording Studio. Thanks to all at Thomann. Cheers
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Presonus Speakers - good value
K., 31.10.2015
Really good sound for the money, an iec plug (kettle leads) is supplied for each which requires 2 x 13 amp sockets (obviously!) - a shame 1 power power supply cannot be used for both..
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Really nice monitors!
Stan.G, 03.10.2017
These monitors, as any others, require initial adjustment, picking proper settings and positioning. But when you're don,e you'll be happy. Did I say they look cool as well?

Pros:
- Good sound quality
- Phase invertor on front
- Room adjustments
- Variety of input options
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Great small monitors
Peter4070, 03.10.2014
Good quality sound reproduction with nice room eq settings very handy for small studios with corners/walls behind monitors etc
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Presonus Eris E5

$202 €180.17
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.

The price in USD is a guideline price only!

Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Online Guides
Monitor Speakers
Monitor Speakers
In this guide we’ll outline the basic principles of studio monitors, and take a closer look at their most common features.
Online Guides
Home Recording
Home Recording
Home Recording can be very complicated. We're here to offer some advice!
 
 
 
 
 
Download
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
(5)
Recently Viewed
Line6 Pod GO

Line6 Pod GO; Multi Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar; over 300 effects and models from Helix, M-Series and Legacy products, up to 6 simultaneous amp, cab, and effects models including a looper and a speaker cabinet simulation (Third-Party IR loading),...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Harley Benton Electric Guitar Kit CST-24T

Harley Benton Electric Guitar Kit CST-24T, ST Electric Guitar Kit; Body: Solidwood (wood color may vary) with Binding; Neck: Maple with Binding; Fingerboard: Amaranth; Neck Mount: Bolt On; Inlays: Dots; 24 Frets; Nut Width: 42 mm (1,65"); Scale: 635 mm...

(72)
Recently Viewed
Presonus AudioBox USB 96 Black

USB Interface 2 x 2 USB 2.0 interface 24-bit / 96 kHz, 2 Mic / instrument inputs: XLR combo jack, 2 Line outputs: 6.3 mm jack balanced, MIDI input and output, Stereo headphone output: 6.3 mm jack, USB 2.0...

Recently Viewed
Behringer CP1A

Behringer CP1A; power supply module for Eurorack systems; LED indicators for +12V, -12V and +5V rails; connectors for 2 flying bus boards; power rating: 1A (+12V) / 1A (-12V) / 0.5A (+5V); width: 4 HP; depth: 52mm: including: external power...

Recently Viewed
Sennheiser RR 5000

Sennheiser RR 5000 In-Ear wirelesss headphone - attention! no transmitter included! just for extension of RS5000! srechargeable wireless headphone, three different hearing profiles, up to 70 m range, 125 dB SPL, up to 12 h running time, frequency response: 15...

Recently Viewed
Thomann Guitar Rug

Thomann Guitar Rug; high-quality guitar rug in robust velour quality; flame resistant; certified; manufactured in Europe; dimensions 1.60 x 1.90 m;

Recently Viewed
Seymour Duncan Power Stage 200

Seymour Duncan Power Stage 200, compact pedalboard-mounted power amp, 200 Watts at 4 Ohms, can power cabinets with 4-16 Ohms, suitable for direct amplification of effects pedals, small enough for placement on pedalboards, Cab Sim and EQ switchable for phones...

Recently Viewed
Tascam Model 12 Bag

Tascam Model 12 Bag; carrying bag for Tascam Model 12; padded; external pocket for Accessories; incl. shoulder strap and carrying handle; internal Dimensions: 343 mm × 99 x 360 mm (WxHxD)

Recently Viewed
CAD Audio U49

CAD Audio U49; USB large-diaphragm condenser microphone; Frequency response: 20 Hz - 20 kHz; Conversion: 16 bit / 44.1 kHz; polar pattern: Cardioid; adjustable echo effect for microphone signal; Headphone output with 3.5 mm stereo jack; Class Compliant for MAC...

Recently Viewed
Behringer Eurorack Stand 3-Tier

Behringer Eurorack Stand 3-Tier; desktop stand for mounting up to 3 Eurorack 104 cases (item 463669) or 3 Behringer synthesizers (e.g. Pro-1, Wasp Deluxe, K-2, Neutron, Model D, Cat); variavle width (70 HP, 80 HHP or 104 HP); rugged aluminum/steel...

Recently Viewed
Nura nuraloop

Nura nuraloop bluetooth in-ear headphone - personalised Sound, 16+ hours wireless battery, Active Noise Cancellation, Social Mode, TouchDial controls, Wireless and wired, aptX HD Bluetooth® 5, Sweat resistant, Voice calls, Automatic on/off, In the box: 1x NuraLoop, 1x analog cable,...

Recently Viewed
Supro Blues King 10 Combo

Tube combo for electric guitar Channels: 1, Power: 5 watts, Preamp tubes: 1 x 12AX7, Power tubes: 1 x 6V6, Equipped with: Custom-Made 10" speakers, Controls: Volume, Treble, Bass, Reverb, Master, Switch: Boost, Drive, Effects: Spring Reverb, Input: 6.3...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.