Shure Beta 52A

752 Customer ratings

4.8 / 5

You have to be logged in to rate products.

Note: To prevent ratings from being based on hearsay, smattering or surreptitious advertising we only allow ratings from real users on our website, who have bought the equipment from us.

After logging in you will also find all items you can rate under rate products in the customer centre.

features

sound

quality

259 Reviews

Shure Beta 52A
$169
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.
In stock
In stock

This product is in stock and can be shipped immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
1
D
Awesome
Drumperson 17.12.2021
Do you want to record your bass drum? Do you want to record a bass amp? Buy this microphone. Captures full, thick sounds without coloring them which lets you have a field day mixing later.
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

ST
Bass drum king
STEFANOS TZOVARAS 26.12.2021
The king of bass drum mics. Extremely low frequencies . The built quality is unbelievable. Highly recommended
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

M
Great job
Michaello32 11.03.2023
All perfect quick and professional
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

S
Great Mic
Sciortie 29.05.2024
Makes the drum kit sound excellent, perfect for the bass drum
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

AA
Sturdy mic that sounds great.
Anders A. 01.05.2014
I've used mostly this and the AKG D112 and I have to say I like the Shure Beta 52 better. Even though the frequency response is pretty similar I do prefer the sound coming from the Shure.

The build quality is great, and if feels like you could choose a Beta 52a as you weapon of choice in the coming zombie apocalypse and you'd stand a pretty good chance.

I do wish they had designed the "holder" for the mic a bit differently, I find that the mic is to tall to work good with floor kick stands. But then again I don't have the most flexible of stands.

I have (contrary to the other review) used this on bass amps and I really like it, maybe not as a solo mic, but as a complement (with a 57 and/or a line signal) it's nice, this has been mostly heavily distorted bass. Recording clean bass might very well be different story,
features
sound
quality
2
0
Report

Report

K
i like it
Kristaps 12.12.2019
I like more oldschool sounding bass drums. Audix D6, i think is a great mic, but not for recording, it has too much eq, it makes every bassdrum sound good. I wanted more character in my bassdrum sound. So there were two mics that everyone recomended in my budget, AKG D112 and this Shure. Everywhere where i listened they sounded quite similar, but for my taste, Shure had a bit more bottom. I realy like it, and i have found that this mic sounds the best, when you put this mic outside of bass drum, right where the heads hole is. It the way how i have seen Benny Greb micking his bass drum, and some Kings of Leon records where recorded that way too. I like it!
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

m
Excellent
marich 24.10.2021
This mic is must have for rock/metal kick recording
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

L
Excellent for low frequencies and high SPLs
Lookaji 27.05.2024
It is heavy and feels very solid (and worthy) in the hands due to its sturdy construction and mobile coil.
The included support offers a wide angle of adjustments, very cool and useful.
Handle with love, tighten properly and let it grab the long waves at any rate.

I am using it for miking a didgeridoo with optimal results and looks damn cool in front of it.

Pricey, but I won’t trust the cheapo-grande replicas for same performance as this is the original Shure quality.

The provided bag is pretty but useless as it is not padded.
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

D
The classic, can't go wrong
DriesSD 02.12.2019
Classic kick drum mic. Has a bit difficulties with picking up click of the bass drum, but it blends in perfectly with a pressure zone microphone in the bass drum itself. Quality is top notch, but very heavy.
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

J
It does what it says on the tin
James2242 19.05.2014
A studio and live classic, this is a lovely mic, solid and sturdy. It's great for rock and pop in particular and with kicks above 20". Works well on jazz kicks but I'd generally pick a D112 for that application. The mic attachment location is much better than the D112 though and it's relatively easy to place. A must for any studio in my opinion.
features
sound
quality
1
0
Report

Report

Shure Beta 52A