Shure SM57 LC

4129 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.8 /5
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
features
sound
quality
overhyped? or an essential classic, juries still out
drummer in Liverpool, 02.12.2020
excellently strong build quality, but thinly voiced. Bought on advice, only been using this for a snare drum so far, finding it best on the underside given the crispy sound of this mic. Yet to try its full range on a guitar amp or similar - While I can see why this mic has such a strong reputation, I prefer the sound of my snare even in C1000s overheads to this SM57 close up in different positions. That said it does sound clear and bright on its own and really will take a beating, both sonically and physically - for a £100 mic, I am impressed and pleased to have it in the 'tool kit'
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Best friend, 27.09.2020
Very durable microphone. I use them for recording electric guitars with clean amps. I am satisfied.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
A studio must have.
Uminety, 30.10.2017
There's a reason for virtually every studio everywhere to have a bunch of this hanging arround for the past fifty years . They're cheep, versatile, resistent and well built.
You can use one of this in studio conditions on snares and drums all arround (there's people that even use them on bass drums), guitar cabinets from funk to metal.
Even in live conditions this are great for vocals.
if you what to record a snare drum just throw one SM57 and you wont be desapointed by the result
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Shure SM57 LC vs Rode NT1-A
Stefriet, 03.04.2019
I got both the Shure SM57 LC and the Rode NT1-A to compare them to each other. My goal is to record music at home.

Both have their charms. The Shure SM57 LC is very sturdy and has the benefit that it doesn't need phantom power. It's also a lot lighter and smaller. Both do well in the lower sound ranges. Although I would say that the Rode NT1-A does slightly better in that aspect. But in high sound ranges the Rode NT1-A is a clear winner. It has a crisper sound than this microphone. This is by all means a very good and though microphone for a good price. But if you have to pick one I would suggest the Rode NT1-A, which is only slightly more expensive.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
25.04.2015
Great for snare, guitar amps and live vocals.
This mic acts great in a live environment or in a studio. It seems to boost the frequencies that can get lost whilst in a muddy sounding live environment, keeping a clear sound from what you are trying to capture, and not picking up other sounds such as cymbals.
If you are using it for studio recording, it will be perfect, I can see why pretty much every studio has one. It will need a bit of EQing but not nearly as much as some other mics in this price range. If you want a very 'live' sounding kit, this mic works very well straight off.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great mic
Piotr Samek, 29.10.2020
This mic doesn't need to be introduced to anyone. It is just one of the most popular and does the job excellent in any given conditions. The best in its price range for recording electric guitar.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
09.09.2015
Shure 57 is a very versatile mic, and can be a lifesaver if you have a mic that breaks down on you. You probably heard it before, but this is probably the most used mic of all time. Used by beginners to professionals.

I've used it live on drums, vocals, amps with great results.

In all my years doing sound, I've never had a shure sm57 break down on me.
Very good build quality. I read an article were they took a shure 57 and buried it in the ground for 2 months, and then dug it up, and it worked flawlessly!
That tells you how much it can handle.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
SM57
William2096, 27.11.2014
The SM57 is a great microphone for all kinds of uses, i use it on acoustic guitar along with my Sontronics stc20 and it sounds great. I also use it on guitar amps and on the snare drum. It has a warm sound which is smooth and full, really nice. I bought this as part of a kit with Thomann and received a mic stand and an Xlr lead which both work perfectly though if you bought this on its own i believe you would only get the mic and the nice fake leather carry case it comes in. Overall this is a great mic which you should get because you will need it no doubt.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
The great, yet inexpensive Studio Mic.
07.09.2016
If you ask nearly anyone who runs a professional recording studio, "Do you have a Shure SM57?" they might look at you and ask, "are you are serious?" Of course they do.
The reason is that its sound good and but they can record practically anything. It will record vocals, drums (particularly!), guitar cabs, bass cabs, acoustic guitars, brass, stuff that is really loud and its great for digitech jamman microphone to.For people starting their home studios that don't have a lot of cash, this is one mic to get.
The SM57 is a dynamic microphone with a cardioid, directional pattern. A dynamic mic like the SM57 does not need phantom power, which makes it more adaptable to mixers and recorders that don't have this feature.It records what it points to and rejects stuff from the side and from behind it.You can scream into the sm57 and the mic will not shatter.While it does not need phantom power, it does need a lot of gain at the preamp when recording softer sounds. That can bring in more noise.It's a great professional mic.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Most used for a reason
PW23, 04.04.2019
What else to say than that this is the microphone most people use to record their guitar with. The sound is good for the price and this will always remain a standard in any recording environment.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Classic good sound
15.09.2016
It was great sound mic for almost all istruments especially for snare drum, but for me too much bleeding on snare drum. For me is better option ATM 230 or i5.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Strong
OliJ, 21.02.2019
Strong dynamic microphone, works well on snares, but also can be used for many things such as voices, good deal and worth the price.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
A must in every mic collection
Richard aus Q., 16.03.2019
What is there to say about this mic that is not already well known? :)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Nice
Somemusicguy, 28.03.2020
Most people seem to use these on instruments, especially drums. I find them really nice for vocals. I like the darker sound they have. It means I spend less time EQ'ing. Just be sure to use a pop shield!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great sounding, affordable mic!
thefragmentsoffiction, 07.08.2014
Recently I started needing to work sound for full bands at bigger venues. As a result, I wanted a little more control over the level and spread of electric guitars and other instruments. I bought the Shure SM57 as they were highly recommended by my sound technician friends. I already have experience with the Shure SM58 too, which is pretty much the same product and has proven to be amazing.

The microphone is very sturdy and has great build quality. It feels like there is very little that can go wrong or break. It almost seems humorous that they include a small 'protective' case. I suppose its main function is to keep the mic clip and mic together? I just wish the case signalled which microphone it contained as all of the Shure mic cases look exactly the same!

As previously mentioned, I originally bought the product to mic up acoustic instruments and guitar amps (acoustic and electric). The mic works great in both situations, particularly with electric guitar amps. Its amazing how much you can alter the sound to such great effect by changing the angle/position of the mic due to how close you get it to the speaker.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
An All-rounded Robust Beast!
Joel760, 04.09.2013
I have owned two of these for the last 6 years and have only just got around to buying myself another one. These microphones are probably one of the best value for money pieces of kit you could buy. I have used them at every live event and pretty much every single studio session i have been involved with. You really wouldn't be doing wrong with at least 5 of these. Again I will be back for more, thats for sure. Thomann, you guys are the best. THANKS!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Gewoon goed.
28.12.2016
Ik heb deze shure sm57 lc al enige tijd in mijn bezit en ik vind hem gewoon goed!!!
Als amateur neem ik met deze mic meestal gitaar of snare/hi-hat op. Ik vind dat de shure sm57 een eerlijk geluid naar mijn DAW stuurt en is heel robuust.(kan dus wel tegen een stootje)
Kortom, een stevige mic die zowel live als in de studio gebruikt kan worden met een degenlijk en eerlijk geluid.

Gewoon goed !!!!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
A must for every studio
Calvin B., 01.06.2013
The SM 57 is renowned as a guitar amp mic and it really performs up to its name.

Very durable construction and one can be sure that they can enjoy the performance of this mic for a very long time.

We also used several times for micing vocals and I can say we were impressed by the quality of the end result. Vocal wise, it is more useful for males. A note of caution ... If using it for vocals, use it in combination with a good pop filter.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Always Reliable
Bilo, 03.03.2014
The Shure SM57 is my first and probably my last microphone for bigger Gigs.
This micro and my Fender hot rod deluxe are a really good team.
Of course this is my only one and i may not have the biggest experience, but it sounds
really great in every situation.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great instrumental microphone!!
19.08.2016
I love this microphone, and i can be used in many different situations. Right now i am using it as a vokal mike, because it is so directional, that even in a crammed studio, you can avoid the backfeed from your head high monitors, when you're standing right next to it....
Only thing i never really understood on the 57's, why does the head cap have to be so loose, feels a bit cheap...?
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Works as expected.
Thomas9706, 27.10.2014
Works as expected. No complaints here.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Industry standard
11.01.2017
Real all-rounder dynamic mic for studio or live. I use it to record various drums, guitar cabinets, percussion, bass and so on. Really solid, built like a tank. Quite strong bump in the frequency response around 5-7 kHz. This can be pleasant or not, depending on the source and the desired sound.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
An useful microphone for many situations
Samuli L., 08.12.2013
Useful microphone for every musician. This is good for recording electric guitars. Place it near your amp speaker and you get good sound just By doing that. If you like you can also add condenser microphones to capture the room sound.

Other Instruments I have recorded with this microphone include percussions (congas, djembe and bongos. It is also good for snare drum.

In addition to studio uses its a reliable live microphone you can basicaly use for any instrument. It does its job very well with guitar cabinets and drums. The SM 57 is well built and there is no fear it could break down easily.

This microphone even works as a vocal microphone for some voices in live or studio use. Like SM 58 this is a good purchase for any musician. IF necessary, The SM 57 and 58 can be used with nearly everything in a live gig or studio session.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Love it!
15.09.2016
Works great and it's comfortable to hold. The recording quality is above norm. I regret not buying it sooner.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
First mic
10.02.2017
Many say, that this is the first microphone anyone intending to record music should get. While I did make a mistake buying it to record acoustic guitar, I do realize that it has recording amps as it's main application, so I'm not able to fully appreciate it. Outside it's comfort zone 57 might not perform as well as you'd expect, but it's a classic nonetheless. And a well-built one, too. It comes with a nice bag and a Shure sticker, which is nice :)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Shure SM57 LC

$92 €76.47
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.

The price in USD is a guideline price only!

Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-35
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Phone: +49-9546-9223-20
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.