Shure SM57 LC

4129 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.8 /5
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
features
sound
quality
THE classic workhorse!
01.08.2016
The SM57 by Shure is a classic live and studio workhorse microphone - no wonder pretty much every studio I've stepped in has had at least four or five of these!
It's a cardioid pattern mic with very strong off-axis rejection, a presence boost around 4 kHz, and a good-roll off in the lower frequencies which makes up for the proximity effect. Like its slightly younger brother the SM58, the 57 is almost indestructible, and almost every part is replaceable in case you do find a way to destroy something. If you find a Shure Unidyne, then this is an older model of essentially the same microphone.
The mic itself is very weighty and feels strong and robust, extremely well constructed. No lead but you get mic clip and carry pouch in the box!
This is a microphone which is suitable for all jobs. As mentioned in other reviews, it is widely used for drum kits and guitar amps etc., but as it was actually first designed for classical instruments, it can be used very effectively for acoustic instruments as well (tested on a harp and electro-acoustic guitars).
The sound of the SM57 up against an amplifier cabinet, such as a Marshall 4x12 or a Fender Bassman, is part of the classic sound of rock, and advanced modelling systems like the Roland VG-99 emulate a 57 up against a cabinet and at various distances, both on and off axis.
People often compare it to its brother the SM58 - but at least in my opinion the 57 has that bit more class when recording a multitude of sounds and I always prefer using it.

All in all, it's no wonder the SM57 is considered the industry standard workhorse microphone - can't go wrong with buying one (or two... or three ;) )! I've used 57s for longer than I care to admit, in various situations (both in the studio and live) and I've never been let down by one so I always highly recommend them!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Simply the best
rockspellsinger, 22.02.2019
I have 2 and I will definitely buy more in the future.
It's true what everybody says about SM57. This mic is a legend. I don't know if I can say anything bad about it, because it reproduce the sound perfectly. It has a clear and warm sound.
I've used it for guitar amp, bass amp, vocals, acoustic guitar and drums, and so far I was very pleased of the output. From my point of view, this is more suitable for live applications, since it doesn't enter in feedback so easily, and in studio I will be using it for guitar / bass amps and toms; otherwise I would go with condensers. But sometimes, even if you have a mic suited for a specific task, it is a good idea to add one of this. It will make the sound more natural.
Like SM58, it's made of metal, looking like it would last a life time. Don't freak out about the rotating / wobbling cap. It is mentioned in the specs that it's supposed to be like that. And unlike SM58, this one is smaller. So.. from my point of view it is worth every penny, even more. I believe this is a must have mic.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
It's a 57
nicouou, 16.10.2020
I mean, what more can you say.
It's a workhorse and it's sound really good. Also works well on vocals with the optional A2WS pop-stopper.

The way this mic handles low-end, I much prefer to the SM58 for vocals. The 58 gets a lot more boomy when you get close. The 57 handles this much better in my opinion.

Despite the 57 and 58 having the exact same capsule, they sound quite distinctly different. Both good, tho.

And it's build like a tank. I do live audio, primarily. This thing is just a go-to. And I've never experienced one malfunction, in spite of how roughly stage gear is handled.
We expect our gear to hold up the "abuse," and this mic certainly does that.

And it's compact enough to easily fit 2 of these, plus the mic clips in a single mic bag.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
I use it for everything
Mik-303, 08.12.2020
It's a well known mic for a very good reason. I am using it for my voice and also to record percussion. Build quality, sound and price are all excellent so I give it a 5/5. My only regret with this product is that I had two of them but now I only have one. I am definitely going to buy one more so I can make stereo recordings with them in the future. Thumbs up.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Versatile Mic
Nick L, 02.03.2015
First things first. I'm not an audio engineer nor am I a recording technician. I record human speech both in an office/studio and on location for podcasts and broadcast. Therefore, I always aim for the very best quality recording whilst restricting my mic cupboard (small box!) to dynamic types due to their robustness and simplicity. I don't record vocalists/singers.
Utilising an RE20 as my main studio mic with an EV635A omnidirectional as my tough, go anywhere outdoor location mic - something was missing. I found myself in need of a general use directional microphone for use at indoor locations whilst on the road, which could also be used as a secondary mic in my studio for guest use.
After reading reviews and relying on gut reaction, (which hasn't yet let me down) I plumped for the SM57. What has surprised me is the sheer vocal quality and depth of this latest acquisition. On it's first outing, recording a subject on location in her lounge at 20-30cm produced a rich, realistic recording with just enough room ambience to stop things sounding sterile and one dimensional. Perfect! Place the mic closer and you get even deeper tones with no downside. So far, I reckon on 50cm as a maximum to maintain directional quality.
For my type of use, I also appreciate that I can just point and record with a minimum of faffing about such as setting up angles and distances etc. Keep the distance within 50cm (closer outdoors) and you won't be disappointed. The body is reassuringly weighty and robust which gives the perception of longevity. The carrying bag is a nice extra and I use the Shure A55M anti-shock clamp which isolates any vibration really well.
And the plastic voice coil guard that freely swivels 360º? I still haven't a clue!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great for professional musicians
Ing. Ghirardini, 03.01.2021
This is perfect for average situations. Legendary, useful, resistant. You can also use this for the voice.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
João Pedro Osório, 14.12.2020
There's really nothing to say about a 57.
It's a 57 after all...
Throw anything at it, it can take it. Couldn't have picked a better first mic for my arsenal. I think everyone should have at least one or two of these.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
This mic will outlast you and probably your children!
vforvelvet, 27.09.2020
Unbeatable sound, build quality and price. Just make sure your interface/preamp can provide enough gain to it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
All you need If you don't know what you need
22.05.2015
If you had only these mics at disposal and made a bad recording with them, and I mean any recording. Then maybe you should find a new job.
Best overall mic for music there is in my experience. Sure you could get much more expensive mics, and record ants feet, but if you want to do a r'n'r record and don't know where to start, start by buying one of these (at least one)
Great rounded up, familiar classic sound, no harshness, no dullness, no hype, no lies, just honest meat and potato sound.
No super details also, but experienced professionals know that all the relevant information is here.
Classic for snare, and guitar cabinets, but also great for r'n'r vocals, bit more open then SM58, little less rejection of outside noise. Very often used for toms too.
Built like tank, feels like cold weapon in hand, no switches, no fuss, that cap at the tip is sturdier than it looks.
This mic for me in every aspect captures essence of r'n'r, from its build to its sound, from its history to its value. It is in the long run THE best value there is as you will probably never have to get rid of it.
If you don't know what to buy, buy this, you won't miss.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
A monster in Live situations
Rade V., 11.09.2015
By all means, this has got to be one of if not the best microphone I have ever used for live purposes. Do bear in mind that this mic was only used in front of celestion V30s which already have a great sound, so it was more a question of documenting the dynamics of the sound and distortion of my amplifier correctly rather than loudness or openness of sound. I play without reverb, with a very drivey, punchy sound that feels very dry at the same time because I use absolutely no pedals. With an orange amp and a V30, cranked to about half capacity, this mic would pick the tone up perfectly, and it would make me consistently happy with how the sound would turn out in the mixing desk when it would come out of the general PA. Power and clarity.

However, I do not have any experience with this mic in a studio, but I have heard amazing things. Frankly, if it could perform so well in such loud settings on a stage where a lot of things are unpredictable in terms of sound distribution through the venue, I am sure it can be tweaked to utter perfection within the confines of a studio.

Most heartily recommended!!!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
benchmark
sentimental liberty, 31.05.2020
man what a device, i knew this model is widely used all around the world, but i did not know i would use that widely in my own recordings.

i've recorded various different pianos, guitars, vocals, foleys, even background noises and you can do it all with this. the fact that it's extremely versatile still leaves me in shock. i've used way more expensive microphones than this, yet i keep coming back to this beauty just in case my experimental recordings with different mics won't work.

once you understand what it does to the sound while recording, the possibilities are endless with it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
An industry classic
Gmege, 07.01.2021
It is a must have in any recording studio. I particularly like it on snares and guitar amps. Really good results with voice as well. If your looking for a not to expensive mic with really good quality this is it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Can't be beat
DavidNotDave , 12.10.2020
is what it is, classic reliable all rounder, can never have enough of these
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
It really is what it say's on the box. Legendary...
Fatih Yener, 19.04.2020
Very hard to break,
Very easy to use,
Looks good,
Comes with a beautiful bag within the box.
Sounds perfect. Especially for micing your guitar amp. It's good for vocals too. Using it with a focusrite 2i2 3rd gen interface and yes there is a whole lot of gain for the interface i'm using it with. Don't need a middle device in between to boost the signal. I am happy with this!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Is there anything to say about this?
Emanuel D , 21.09.2020
The shipping was great, packed well, all good. About the mic, is there anything I can say about it? Oh, I got a sticker in the package!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Classic Microphone
Dionisis, 29.11.2017
When I was younger and knew nothing about mics and recording and setting live stages I kept seeing this mic everywhere, every professional sound engineer had at least 5-6 of those around. Now that I'm more experienced I know why.

This mic is a true workhorse and will do a very satisfying job no matter where you set it, but it especially likes guitar amps and drum snares. I've used it mainly for recording guitars at home and it always delivers. with clarity and warmth and an even round sound, everything I hope to get out of my setup I get effortlessly by using this microphone. Even when I try recording with another mic I also have this one on too. Live I've used it for guitars and also for vocals with success every time. I also have the Shure A2WS matching windscreen and the bag is also a nice add-on.

It's also worth mentioning that this mic will just not die no matter what you do to it. Mine has been dropped from 10 meters high, stepped on, thrown at a wall, had guitar cabinets accidentally set their full weight on it, etc. and it only had one bad-ass scar to show. This mic is rock'n'roll.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great mic for recording and vocals
Ronsthebg, 13.06.2020
I don't think you can get a better mic for the price, especially for recording with amps. Sure, there are better mics out there but not in this price range. Shure has always been known for their quality mics and this particular mic has been around a long time. I would recommend this mic if you are looking for quality and clear audio.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
A workhorse
Reverend Strat, 21.05.2020
A really versatile mic that works for vocals and instruments. It's a workhorse. I say go for it, you don't get any better for the money's worth. And in the end it's about skill, environment and other gear as well, so don't overemphasize the mic. You'll do just fine with it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
SM57
Neelius, 07.08.2020
Got it for my studio usage.

Legendary SM57, nothing to add except - great price for a great mic!

Highly recommended for any high gain or transient recording.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Industry Standard.
Jack B., 26.03.2020
One of those mics that can do just about everything well,
bought several of these along with some 58's for a local open mic night, needed something that could do just about anything, acoustics, guitars, snares (a personal favourite) cajon's.
does just that. can't go wrong
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
The perfect mic
Guvna, 05.06.2020
There's nothing I could say to add to this mic's reputation - its the industry standard for a reason.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
best mic in the market
jjohhny, 11.10.2020
best mic in the market for guitar no matter genre dont forget lemmy used it for vocals too!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Reference for cabinets mic
Charly303, 29.09.2020
Very nice for tracking, specially guitar cabinets !
Used this over a year to record a Dumble clone. Very clean and useful !
A reference for tracking guitar sessions !
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
One of most classic mics
Mike Kampitakis, 27.10.2020
I use this mic for almost everything. Guitars (for both electric in cab and acoustic in body), snares, toms, traditional instruments, and even for vocals. An absolute bang for the buck in this price range. If you need to buy one and only one mic, chose this one. 3 start only for feautures becasuse it hasn't basicaly any. No polar patern change, no hight pass filters, nothing. It does only one thing and it does it amazingly well.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Awesome Mic
Paaf, 26.06.2020
Use :
I use it mainly to record guitars and sing, it is very polyvalent and does what I expect from it. Can only recommend it!

I don't use it everyday but all I can say is that it is perfect for almost any kind of recording.

I did not have a big budget but I needed a mic to record guitar and voices. So I chose to buy the Sure SM57 LC and I am really not disapointed. Very versatile. not much more to say.

Pros
It is extremely polyvalent so you can use it with almost everything, it is small. I bought in a bundle with a stand. Everything is quite sturdy. It is the first mic I buy so I can't compare with others bit I am entirely satisfied with it.

Cons
Nothing much to say, of course you can get mics for a specific purpose but for the price, this one is really perfect if you only want to buy one mic. It is a bit heavy but it's okay.

If you hesitate, do not, you will for sure not regret buying it as it is one of the best mic you can find for this price!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Shure SM57 LC

$92 €76.47
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.

The price in USD is a guideline price only!

Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-35
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Phone: +49-9546-9223-20
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.