Superlux HD-681

5684 Customer ratings

4.5 / 5

You have to be logged in to rate products.

Note: To prevent ratings from being based on hearsay, smattering or surreptitious advertising we only allow ratings from real users on our website, who have bought the equipment from us.

After logging in you will also find all items you can rate under rate products in the customer centre.

sound

comfort

quality

1837 Reviews

Superlux HD-681
$22.60
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.
In stock
In stock

This product is in stock and can be shipped immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
1
Ni
Not exactly Pro standards, but superb for music and gaming on a budget!
Nate in Belgium 07.06.2020
I bought these to listen to music and for playing PC games after reading online recommendations. I have them connected to a Monolith Liquid Spark headphone amp connected to my PC's onboard DAC line out.

My main decision was based on sound quality, imaging and price. I liked the noted sound signature listed on the Superlux website and from reviews I've read. I have to say I'm actually blown away with how they sound! These have a nicer sound signature than my old Sennheiser HD580s. Yes they are cheaply built, but look how much they cost. I'm sure if you look after them and treat them with respect they will last long enough. My biggest complaint is the clamping force and thin earpads. Very uncomfortable, I've ordered thicker velour pads from China to compensate.

Pros: Spacious sound with good clarity, depth and punch making them ideal for gaming. Gorgeously musical. Ridiculous price.

Cons: Treble forward. Not going to compete with high end headphones (but snapping at the heels of phones costing 5-10x as much). Clamping force is probably the worst I've encountered. Build quality fits what you pay for...cheap.
sound
comfort
quality
6
1
Report

Report

J
Well worth the price
JJ_III 12.08.2019
I needed a pair of headphones for work just to filter out some noise and helping to focus. I tried out couple cheap ones, but was very disappointed with sound quality every time. I already had a pair of Superlux HD-330's which I had been very happy with for about four years already. I checked back and forth between them and these (and HD-660) but decided to give these a shot.

Enough blabbering - these headphones are absolutely worth the price. The sound is pretty clear and the phones are comfortable to wear. They are a little bass heavy though so keep that in mind if you are considering between these and some other ones. But for my purpose, casual music listening while in work, they are just perfect. They are semi-open, but I'd be ready to call them open. It's good when someone tries to reach out from outside as they don't need to shout. On the other hand they are massive enough to be seen so other understand that they might need to raise voice — good perk compared to earphones.

Overall strongly recommended for casual use. Notice still that the given 5 stars is strongly quality-price ratio -based, so if you want the best sound quality I would recommend spending a bit more.
sound
comfort
quality
5
0
Report

Report

WW
How is this even possible!
Wietse Willemse 30.08.2019
First, a quick shoutout to Thomann for handling the order perfectly and delivering the headphone to the Netherlands within two days.

This headphone is worth every penny and puts my much more expensive JBL E50BT to shame. Great sound stage and replacable earpads.
The earpads themselves are decent, but if room temperature is above 25 degrees your ears will start to sweat.

If you like bass you will need an amp and an equalizer for these cans. Without amp the bass distorts quite fast, even at low volume.
On a desktop pc I’ve used APO equalizer with 15 bands and the following settings to get the best results;

25hz +10
40hz +10
63hz +10
100hz +10
2500hz -5
4000hz -5
6300hz -5
10000hz -5
16000hz -5

Bottomline; I could never recommend these headphones enough!
sound
comfort
quality
1
0
Report

Report

N
Very positively surprised!
Nak0r 28.03.2020
I bought these as i wanted a cheap headset just to monitor things at night to not disturb the neighbors. Bought them specifically because i'm very used to wearing AKG headsets and love how comfortable they are, and these looked similar in construction.
I was not disappointed! Extremely comfortable like the AKGs, though not as well ventilated, my ears tend to heat up if wearing them for a while. As for the sound, i've seen some people complain about harsh top end, but i find the sound extremely pleasing! Bear in mind though: both the bottom and top ends are slightly to moderately hyped, so consider these more of a "hi-fi" type headset than any kind of monitoring solution.
sound
comfort
quality
1
0
Report

Report

D
Just Good
DrumminMountain 14.02.2022
While ordering a new electronic drum kit i figured i needed some wired headphones and without much research i added these to my basket.

I've used them for a couple days now and while they are not the best headphones i own, i am happily suprised with the sound and quality.

even for my big head they are comfortable to wear
sound
comfort
quality
0
0
Report

Report

Sf
good value
SuperLux for less money 13.12.2022
sound is very good, and they are comfortable on ears.
sound
comfort
quality
0
0
Report

Report

LE
Luis Emanuel Silva 27.05.2020
This headphones sound incredible for its price. For less than 20€ I don't believe you can find any headphones with better quality.
I use them to mix and to hear my recordings and for now I'm very very happy!
The only con is that they look like they are a little fragile. But I'm usually very careful so it doesn't seem to be a problem for me.
sound
comfort
quality
1
0
Report

Report

I
Comfy - Excellent audio range
IbbyG 24.02.2022
first headphones (in so many many many years) that I can use without feeling pressure on my ears!
offers superior audio quality with a full range suitable for monitoring while recording multiple instruments
sound
comfort
quality
0
0
Report

Report

e
Amazing sound
eleven11 06.08.2022
I have been using these headphones for just a couple of days now and I haven't even burned these in yet. (headphones sound better after 50+ hours of usage at loud volumes)

These beat any other headphones I have including way more expensive ones and the sound is absolutely amazing.

I have been reading reviews about them being too tight or that the earpads are very uncomfortable I absolutely do not agree with these reviews, I can have them on for long periods of time without them bothering me.

I have also read that people complain about them having too much treble or "brightness" again I do not agree with this I think they sound absolutely perfect.

As far as quality goes I don't know how long these are going to last me but I am hoping it's a long time since I found my new favorite pair of headphones.
sound
comfort
quality
0
0
Report

Report

B
Unexpected quality
Ber 14.02.2014
A friend of mine told me about the Superlux HD681 and I was really excited, because he told me, that they sound really good and are also cheap. So I ordered one of those headphones. It comes in a cheap package, as you would expect it for that price. There were the headphones, a screwable 3,5mm to 5,6mm jack and an bag. I don't really know what to do with the bag, but who cares. The cable is very long, so these headphones are not really made for walking around in the city, but you can move quite wide in your house. My first headphones broke so I wrote Thomann customers' service and they sent me new ones without any problem. My new headphones are working and working, so I just had no luck with the first ones. I ordered a second pair just because they are so great. When you google it, you will find some modifications for these, but I really didn't want to change anything yet. You really can buy these, just to find out, what a good price for solid quality is.
sound
comfort
quality
1
0
Report

Report

Superlux HD-681