Millenium MS 2005

12938 Customer ratings

3.7 / 5

You have to be logged in to rate products.

Note: To prevent ratings from being based on hearsay, smattering or surreptitious advertising we only allow ratings from real users on our website, who have bought the equipment from us.

After logging in you will also find all items you can rate under rate products in the customer centre.

handling

stability

quality

755 Reviews

Millenium MS 2005
$12.60
The shipping costs are calculated on the checkout page.
In stock
In stock

This product is in stock and can be shipped immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
1
A
Worst product I've ever bought. Period.
Anonymous 21.02.2016
I've bought MANY great stuff from Thomann over the years, including a lot of budget stuff (that included some Millenium stuff which turned out to be great) but this stand is probably the worst thing I've ever bought. Sorry folks.

The most important bits that bear most of the pressure (the boom) that should be made out of alloy or metal are made of plastic. I originally bought somewhere between 20 and 30 of these stands some time ago, some of which I still have packed like new somewhere. I took out 8 of these stands for a job and ALL the booms broke on first use. Tighten them a bit too far and the plastic snaps and breaks. Never got around to use the rest of them as they aren't trustworthy.

While live sound isn't the kindest of situations on any kind of equipment, I have used stands from other manufacturers that have lived up for the job for years. These stands sadly did not live up to the job and I've basically given some away to anyone who needed an emergency stand, along with a warning that it's a disposable stand.

Terrible product overall, even for the money. Sorry Thomann!
handling
stability
quality
20
3
Report

Report

z
Falls apart... DO NOT BUY.
ziiofswe 07.12.2021
Bought two of these back in... uh... 2013. (Time flies!)
I've touched them ONCE when I set them up for my home drum kit.
Suddenly (within a few months, I think?) one of them just fell apart by itself.
Upon inspection, the plastic part where the boom sits turned out to be JUNK. Full of cracks. VERY weak construction.
I managed to get it somewhat together again with some of that fameous "duct tape" that has saved so many before...
The other stand is just as bad, I haven't dared moving it because then that too will fall to pieces.
I should've written the review back then but forgot. I got reminded now when I needed to borrow them for another drum kit and the ting just fell apart again. I doubt I can save it this time...
Sure, they were cheap but the money were still wasted... and now I'm missing two boom mic stands for a recording session in a couple of days.
handling
stability
quality
1
0
Report

Report

It
Far too fragile
Is this important ? 28.02.2022
This microphone stand is far too fragile. The plastic boom articulation is very bad, I have more then 10 of them, they are all unusable after let's say, maximum 1 or 2 years...
handling
stability
quality
0
0
Report

Report

TM
The worst item to penny-pinch on.
T Molloy 01.06.2021
Don't buy a cheap stand.
A quality K&M stand isn't that expensive and when can you ever say in music that you can get something cheap AND have it forever.
This stand, on the other hand, is not fit for use. Because of the plastic locking screw, it WILL break no matter what setting you use it in. Also, it will not reliably hold any worthwhile microphone that has a metal chassis while it's 'working'.
Buying this will not save you money, it will bring you grief.
handling
stability
quality
0
0
Report

Report

SS
Great idea but poorly executed = Poor product
Stefan S. 733 10.08.2013
I bought a few of these MS-2005 stands for use in our band studio since we were on a very tight budget and discovered that the hinge part where the boom meets the vertical part of the stand is made out of extremely cheap and brittle plastic (!!?) which cracked and pretty much fell to peices within a couple of months while being set up permanently on our drumkit (without really even moving it and also being very careful knowing that it was plastic).

I made a reclamation on a couple of them so far and got a couple of the same as replacement, but i havent really bothered with the other stands although they all have broken in the same way.

I really liked the idea of these stands though since you can mount two mics on the same stand and also if you have more than one of these stands you could borrow a boom and mount more than one boom on the same stand to save space, but this idea was poorly executed unfortunately and i even spoke to Thomann about it and suggested that they change the hinge part to metal instead.

I have now replaced the boom parts with high quality booms from K&M (K&M 211/1) instead which can be bought here at Thomann since the vertical part including the cast metal base seems to hold up very well (we have had these stands for a few years now). I have been very satisfied with this solution, but the MS-2005 as delivered is an extremely poor example of a boom stand and not recommended by me.
handling
stability
quality
5
1
Report

Report

p
DOES NOT ROTATES THE ARM?
pedromau 23.12.2017
I bought 7 of these.
I knew the construction was cheap, but I opened 3 of them, and none of them rotates the arm. I'm feeling a bit stupid because I can't rotate the arm, and I don't know if it's my fault or if the products are damaged. Either way, it's the 1st stand I can't rotate, so there's something really wrong with this.

Will return all of them for sure.

DO NOT buy this.
handling
stability
quality
0
0
Report

Report

E
Millenium MS-2005 Microphone Stand
Esla 03.05.2016
Edited at 2021/07/01

Tldr: Do not buy this.

Now on to the detailed review:

The stands look fine and I love the height of them. They're surprisingly well finished and weighty for the price and feels reasonably sturdy.

Where these stands completely break down is the clamping mechanism for the boom arm itself. Not only does it not clamp hard enough to carry heavy microphones or even light microphones when extended horizontally, it requires you to tighten it to such a degree that the very flimsy plastic on the inside of it completely shatters and crumbles.

I have had this happen to every single one of these stands that I've bought, and can attest that is an issue with this particular product, as I've bought other types of microphone stands and used them for the same microphones and at the same angles, and have had no trouble with those.

What saddens me most is that the other 95% of this microphone stand is actually very well made and sturdy, but this one single part of it makes it entirely unusable unless you take extensive effort to make the job it has to do easier. Which is not what you want to be thinking about when you're in the middle of working and helping artists.

If ever they make a version of this product that has a different tightening mechanism I'd be very much interested, but until then, just the one star.
handling
stability
quality
0
0
Report

Report

O
Get something else
Oresbius 24.07.2019
Get something else. I know is cheap and that's why I have it, but when you set up a mic you need it there and when you do that you need to do it easy. Nothing is easy and steady with that even for a studio job
handling
stability
quality
0
0
Report

Report

d
utter waste of money
dekmantel 09.11.2017
beware: spend the extra euro and buy something decent. i had used the stand four times, then the boom just broke off. no rough use or anything, just while adjusting it. during its swansong to the ground it pulled along an audio technica vocal mic, causing the latter to get a nice dent in both the grill and its pick up pattern.

so yeah, don't do it - it's not worth the trouble. thomann has a good assortment of stands that might be slightly more expensive, but also a lot more reliable.
handling
stability
quality
0
0
Report

Report

A
Absolute garbage.
Anonymous 09.04.2015
I ordered 3 of these. All three were broken in under 1 month. Yes, it's easy to handle, I give it to it. But the first died when a singer set it without unscrewing the screw and it immediately destroyed the holding mechanism (a.k.a the plastic ridges that hold a rubber sheet together) and it no longer held. So I really looked after the other two but they both broke at the screw and fell into two pieces. Positive side: They can hold a relatively heavy microphone with the boom extended, even sideways. Negative side: They are absoulte garbage and your favourite microphone is going to end up falling onto the ground no matter what.
handling
stability
quality
0
0
Report

Report

Millenium MS 2005